South African accommodation
directory & bookings

Nannarous Town House
Location: Colesberg (Northern Cape)
Price: R280 - R350 (per person sharing)
Type: Guest house ( 6 rooms/units )
Child policy: Children are charged as adults.
Reviews: (17 reviews)
Request a Quote and Book
 
Reviews
Average customer review
Number of reviews: 17
 

  Warm and friendly
(South Africa)   Ms Van Amstel 02 May 2014
Mid way between Cape Town and Pretoria Cost effective Warm and friendly people.

  Nannarous, Coleberg overview
(South Africa)   anonymous 07 January 2014
Nannarous is a homely place, where you collect your own milk with a little jug from the fridge in the main kitchen. We enjoyed our tea on the patio under the grapevine and apricot tree, despite the fact that the apricots were dropping like hailstones. The hosts made us feel welcome and we enjoyed the scenic walk to Bordeux Restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was good. Nannarous is clean, the beds are comfortable, the showers are hot and the towels are soft. It has an old-world historic feel to it, which we loved. It is great value for money.

  Sleep-over at Nannarous
(South Africa)   Mr Daneel 23 December 2013
It is worth the while to break your journey and stop over at Nannarous in Colesberg. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I made my booking 2 months in advance, and although I did not reply on their mail requesting arrival time, everything was ready and waiting when we pulled in. Paperwork was brought to my room to complete, and receipt for cash given without requesting one. Fresh milk was even available in the kitchen for our use.
The place has a rich history, and it is worth chatting to the owner who is eager to share interesting bits re. Colesberg and your accommodation. We slept in the missionary built in 1830, right next to the little church also now changed into overnight accommodation. Breakfast was better than the Wimpy, so do not rush out to early the next morning.

  Always nice!
(South Africa)   Mrs Huegen 04 March 2013
For us the best place to stay on or from the way to the Cape!

  Nannaerous Colesburg
(South Africa)   Mr Nixon 27 February 2013
We Found it adequate and clean for a one night stop over.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The breakfast was good, and again the staff were very accomodating.

  Perfect for a One Night Stopover
(South Africa)   Mrs watson 07 January 2013
Friendly staff, clean, quaint, comfortable. Even a bag of toys for our two small children! Thank you. We were completely surprised to find such a place in Colesberg and will definitely be back should we make the trip from Johannesburg to Kenton again.

  Always Nice!
(South Africa)   Mrs Huegen 08 October 2012
For us it is still the best place for an overnight stop to or from the Cape!

  Nannarous Town House
(Australia)   Mr Dalgity 25 June 2012
We had a very pleasant stay at Nannarous Town House which was a convenient stop midway between Johannesburg & Cape Town. The rooms were clean & quiet, friendly service with a very nice breakfast to see us off in the morning. Would definitely stay there again.

  Vrede
(South Africa)   Elmarie Fuller 23 June 2012
Stilte na 'n besige kwartaal vol jongmensstemme in my ore - dis wat ek wou hê om my alleenvakansie te begin... Toe ek 5h dankbaar stilhou voor Nanna-huis, word ek met warm smiles en 'n vriendelike handdruk verwelkom. En die aand was vol vrede en die reuk van die aarde. Snoesige bed in 'n pragtige kamer. Mooie badkamer. Die stilte laat my vergenoegd. Die beddegoed ruik soos sonskyn. Ek sien uit na die ontbyt wat vriendelike hande vir my voorberei. Hier sal ek beslis weer kom oornag!


(Translated by RoomsForAfrica)

Quiet after a busy quarter full of young people's voices in my ears - that's what I wanted to start my holiday . When I stopped at 5pm in front of Nannarous, I was welcomed with warm smiles and a friendly handshake. The evening was full of peace and the smell of the earth. Cozy bed in a beautiful room. Nice bathroom. The silence left me contented. The bedding smelled like sunshine. I looked forward to the breakfast which friendly hands prepared for me. I will definitely come here again to overnight!

  Millinium luxury in history....
(South Africa)   Mrs Myburgh 06 May 2012
On arrival I had to phone for directions, the phone was answered and I was directed to the front door in the friendliest manner ever. Booking in took a mere 5/7mins and I was amazed at the stunning decor and buildings, the garden, though small, in the best condition. My pug-Pixie was more than welcome and that is a BIG plus in many a animal lovers book. The breakfast was of top quality and absolutely fabulous. I would like to describe Nannarous as a bit of Provence-Italy meets Karoo-SA!!! This establishment gets a 5star thumbs up from me and my guests. It was the best mid-trip stay-over I've had in a very very long time! Thank you to the friendly staff @ Nannarous Townhouse Colesberg... You have defined the art of making a tired traveler feel at home!

  Very good value for money!
(South Africa)   Mrs Targosz 17 April 2012
The perfect overnight stay on your way to the coast or back! Very friendly and flexible! Delicious breakfast! Very good value for money! Thanks!

  Welcome after a long drive
(South Africa)   Mrs McMurray 09 January 2012
This was our second overnight stay at Nana Rous and, as before, we were welcomed warmly by our host and immediately made to feel at home. We were booked into the "Blue Room" which apparently is infamous for its temperamental water pressure in the bathroom - this being the only "problem" we experienced.
Our friendly and helpful host however soon sorted this out and within minutes, we were able to run a nice hot bath and relax after the long drive from Knysna. The bedroom is tastefully furnished and the bed very comfortable and most important, the accommodation is very clean which I am sure is not that easy to achieve in buildings as old as Nannarous, which we were told was originally built in 1860! Breakfast was good, well prepared and presented and the staff smiling and friendly. Our host gave us a good background to the building and a guided tour of the original church and rectory which now forms part of Nannarous. We will definitely overnight there again and will recommend Nannarous to our friends!! We wish Nannarous much success in the future!!

  Home away from home
(South Africa)   Mr Nieman 24 March 2011
A wonderful place to stay. The service was friendly and efficient. Very conveniently situated near to the the N1, as well as within walking distance to restaurants. The gardens have an Olde World charm and the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Covered parking behind a locked gate is a bonus.

  This was a real gem
(South Africa)   Mr Lockwood 16 March 2011
We arrived after the drive from Johannesburg. Street signage in Colesburg was not good but we asked for directions and arrived at Nannarous House. Must admit that from first outside appearances we were somewhat concerned. But it is over 200 years old and once we had passed into the courtyard at the rear, it was like a small garden of Eden. Parking is secure and locked.

The rooms were very quaint and well laid out. We had everything we needed and all was tastefully done. After the journey, it was like a breath of fresh air. I would recommend this establishment to all. We rebooked for our return journey.

  "Halfway to Cape Town"
(South Africa)   Niki Brandt 19 February 2011
There is no better sight than the lights of Colesburg when you have had to battle the trucks and roadworks, just to get halfway to CT. Nannarous has a welcoming front "stoep" and equally welcoming owner, Kenneth. We arrived in the pouring rain, dashed in, dashed out for supper at Bordeaux (mmmm Karoo lamp chops and a good shiraz). The (well equipped) green room is beautifully laid out with an old fireplace as the headboard, a wonderfully firm mattress and a huge geyser in the bathroom with plenty of piping hot water. Breakfast was great, and as a cat lover, the owners huge, friendly, fluffy "maître d" made us feel very special. Will we be back.

  Nannarous Town House B&B
(South Africa)   anonymous 03 January 2011
We had a very pleasant stay. Good location, clean and friendly staff.

  Home away from home
(South Africa)   Mr Meintjes 27 August 2010
It was an absolute pleasure to have stayed at Nannarous Town House.
The staff were extremely friendly and very proficient. A job well done by the staff. There was no rushing at check in or departure, no hassle whatsoever. An awesome experience.


 
 

Request a Quote and Book
Sign up for travel news & special offers