Union Buildings


The Union Buildings in Pretoria were built between 1910 and 1913 and were designed by Sir Herbert Baker. The Buildings house the offices of the President of South Africa, and are also the official seat of the South African government. Made from light sandstone, the Union Buildings have a wing on either side designed to represent the English and Afrikaans languages and the unity cultures. The Buildings are surrounded by beautiful, terraced gardens with a wide variety of indigenous plants. The gardens are open to the public and provide amazing views of the city of Pretoria.

Map of Union Buildings