Reviews of Mimosa Lodge


"LOVELY ROOM AND STAFF"

(South Africa) David Morris | 2016-03-22 20:53:52.0

"The Garden Suites are charming en-suite rooms over the road from the main hotel and are to be recommended as they are large and quiet. Ours had a huge bed (Room 204) and the added bonus of a fabulous outside bath / shower where we wallowed under the Karoo moon and stars... The staff were charming al..."

more

"The Garden Suites are charming en-suite rooms over the road from the main hotel and are to be recommended as they are large and quiet. Ours had a huge bed (Room 204) and the added bonus of a fabulous outside bath / shower where we wallowed under the Karoo moon and stars... The staff were charming although the room was available only after 4.00 PM but well worth the wait. The room would have been perfectly finished with bathrobes and better quality/sized soap but these oversights did not detract from an otherwise most enjoyable stay. "


"Perfect getaway"

(South Africa) sabrina brix | 2012-01-09 11:59:01.0

"The perfect getaway to relax and enjoy haute cuisine in a friendly atmosphere!

I will definitely recommend Mimosa Lodge and be back myself."


"Delicious dinner"

(Netherlands) Mrs Holtman van Unen | 2010-01-03 12:23:54.0

"We stayed only one night (Christmas Eve), but it was excellent. Everyone was so friendly and Christmas dinner was delicious! Nobody was in a hurry so it felt very relaxing. There were guests from all over the world. It was a pity that is was only for one night."


"Dinner was out of this world. "

(Greece) Chris Ward | 2008-10-04 21:31:15.0

"From the beginning we were made welcome and the staff was very friendly. Our room was great and very comfortable. Dinner was out of this world. We certainly can recommend it!"


"Mimosa Lodge"

(Singapore) Mr Hoey | 2008-05-18 10:59:26.0

"OK but not worth a 4 * rating. No al la carte menu."


"Van Eyssen Cape Town trip April 08"

(South Africa) Mr Van Eyssen | 2008-04-14 10:30:19.0

"Excellent accommodation. Very clean and neat.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was great. Dinner was excellent.
Definitely be visiting you again.
Thank you."


"A little bit of Switzerland in Africa"

(Great Britain) Mr Peers | 2007-04-13 18:54:11.0

"It was a very pleasant stay in convivial surroundings. It is staffed by a friendly Swiss family who have brought their culinary expertise and taste into this delightful town."


"Mimosa Lodge - the ideal stop-over between Cape Town and Garden Route"

(Netherlands) Mr Rabe | 2007-03-04 20:33:36.0

"We used Mimosa Lodge for accommodation, stopping over on our way from the Garden Route back to Cape Town. It was the ideal place to spend our last night in South Africa.

We had a very warm welcome, a very spacious and very tastefully decorated room (modern with a distinct African touch), a..."

more

"We used Mimosa Lodge for accommodation, stopping over on our way from the Garden Route back to Cape Town. It was the ideal place to spend our last night in South Africa.

We had a very warm welcome, a very spacious and very tastefully decorated room (modern with a distinct African touch), a gorgeous garden with a nice pool, and excellent dinner. If I was to look for anything negative, the only thing I would say is that the additional price on top of the dinner to upgrade to "wine & dine" was quite heavy taking into account that the wines were good but not top notch. But hey, we had a great evening and the whole experience was sure worth the money, anyway.

When leaving, we were allowed to use our room longer and the facilities even longer still, which was extremely helpful and we could enjoy the garden again before leaving.
So no doubt where to stay when looking for a place in Montagu!

"


"Make sure you eat here when you stay."

(United Kingdom) Allan Ross | 2007-02-12 18:04:11.0

"The Lodge is nicer than the web site suggests. We stayed in a basic room which was clean and tidy and fine for a short stop over. However it is the restuarant and service that makes this place special. There is a set menu 4 course meal every night at 7.30 pm - which you can book as a resident. You ..."

more

"The Lodge is nicer than the web site suggests. We stayed in a basic room which was clean and tidy and fine for a short stop over. However it is the restuarant and service that makes this place special. There is a set menu 4 course meal every night at 7.30 pm - which you can book as a resident. You are invited to a have a pre dinner drink in the lovely gardens at 7 pm with the other guests. This was really nice as everyone got a chance to meet up and discuss their holidays. You then go through to the dining room for a nice set meal with the option (which most took) of a selected glass of wine for each course. Swiss born Chef Bernard pops out to make sure that you are enjoying the excellent food and takes questions to do with the wine or food.

After dinner, you can pop through to the Club Room for an after dinner drink with the other guests.

We had a nice night and made a few new friends, all very informal and great value at around 300 - 350 Rand each (incl all the wines).

Good location in the town. Very helpful staff. Highly recommended."


"Wonderful Atmosphere"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Wilson | 2007-01-08 18:52:27.0

"Wow! Go back in history, loved the atmosphere of the Victorian style hotel, and has lost none of its originality. Wonderful and excellent welcome. Has the most relaxing garden, all staff very friendly, dinner was superb, but speed of delivery of dinner was far too slow. Would definitely recommend."


"Road trip"

(South Africa) zaahier jacobs | 2006-12-01 00:23:36.0

"The saying is true'dont judge a book by its cover'a real little jewel.



























"


"One night "

(United Kingdom) MrsWright | 2006-01-11 14:26:47.0

"On arriving later than planned, we were delighted to receive a very warm and relaxed welcome to Mimosa Lodge. Enjoyed the pre-dinner drinks followed by a delicious meal and wines. We topped this with a few more drinks and cheese board enjoyed whilest sitting in the gardens talking to friendly strang..."

more

"On arriving later than planned, we were delighted to receive a very warm and relaxed welcome to Mimosa Lodge. Enjoyed the pre-dinner drinks followed by a delicious meal and wines. We topped this with a few more drinks and cheese board enjoyed whilest sitting in the gardens talking to friendly strangers until quite late. The rooms were very comfortable, and the only fault that I would like them to address is the electric socket, which would not hold my hair curler in place. Although we did not have enough time in our schedule to enjoy the full facilities, we would not hesitate to recommend Mimosa Lodge to anyone - especially the delicious cuisene."


"Mimosa Lodge Review"

(South Africa) Alex Smith | 2005-07-25 15:36:20.0

"We has a great stay at the lodge, the staff was friendly and helpfull. The rooms are stylishly decorated and the breakfast excellent. Thank you Bernard"