Reviews of Kunguru Lodge (Tri Active)


"Great simple spot"

(South Africa) Catherine | 6 January 2020

"Lovely simple spot to stay when visiting the Elgin valley. Very accommodating and attentive hosts and attention to detail. "


"Fours stars for Tri Active!"

(South Africa) Christine Barnard | 9 February 2015

"What a lovely treasure! We loved every minute of our stay in our 'Forrest tent' - it felt like we were somewhere in Botswana camping in the wild. Our tents were well equipped and clean, and the area quiet and peaceful. We loved the little fairy lights lightning our path to our tent in the evening.Th..."

more

"What a lovely treasure! We loved every minute of our stay in our 'Forrest tent' - it felt like we were somewhere in Botswana camping in the wild. Our tents were well equipped and clean, and the area quiet and peaceful. We loved the little fairy lights lightning our path to our tent in the evening.The staff were lovely - friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was very nice. We can't wait to come back again. See Tri Active soon!"


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) Bruce Rogerson | 23 June 2014

"Warm greeting and made to feel extremely welcome. The accommodation was clean and tidy.

Regret that there was no hot water! Otherwise very pleasant!"


"Victor Timkoe (Cycling Group)"

(South Africa) Victor Timkoe | 5 May 2014

"We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is super friendly and willing to make our stay as pleasant as it was."


"Great"

(South Africa) Sean Williams | 6 November 2013

"Great food and stunning place to stay..the only thing was the noise from the N2, but that you can't change..the tent was hot which was uncomfortable during the day and the mattress was not that comfortable..food was EXCELLENT thank you."


"Perfect overnight break"

(South Africa) Ed Mouton | 21 October 2013

"We loved our stay at Tri active, if you are looking for a venue where your pets will be made to feel just as welcome as you are then this is the place for you. Fantastic staff who I genuinely think enjoy providing good service."


"Mtb training camp"

(South Africa) Alison Futter | 13 November 2012

"Ideal location for Mtb training camp. Basic permanent tent accomodation with good facilities to recover after a ride and home cooked meals."


"Great"

(South Africa) Alan Kemp | 12 April 2010

"It was great to get away just for 1 night, the luxury tents are perfect, heated blankets for the cold mountain air and to wake up to a fantastic breakfast made the whole experience wonderful. "


"Perfect for getting away from it all"

(South Africa) Cleo Dodgen | 4 May 2009

"The tented lodge was just what we were after...nestled between the Paul Cluver estate and forest, this place is perfect for getting away from it all. The host was warm and wonderful and the food was delicious! Not for people who dislike the cold though..the nights can get rather chilly!"


"Tri-Active stay"

(South Africa) Sydney Horn | 20 April 2009

"Basically an over-nighter. Would not mind staying longer and checking out whats on offer nature-wise."


"5-star hospitality"

(South Africa) Penelope | 18 September 2017

"I took my 12-year-old son away for the weekend to run the Obstacle Course Race at Old Mac Daddy and we definitely chose the best place to stay. We had a beautiful wooden cabin tucked away in a bird-filled forest and even had a peregrine falcon visit us while we were having the breakfast that was bro..."

more

"I took my 12-year-old son away for the weekend to run the Obstacle Course Race at Old Mac Daddy and we definitely chose the best place to stay. We had a beautiful wooden cabin tucked away in a bird-filled forest and even had a peregrine falcon visit us while we were having the breakfast that was brought to us to enjoy on our comfy stoep. The chef enthusiastically prepared a delicious vegan dinner for us and all the incredibly friendly staff treated us like VIP guests from the moment we arrived, taking care of our every need and desire and always with a smile. The weekend turned cold but we had electric blankets, cosy bedding and we were offered a heater on arrival. We had a tea and coffee making facilities and there was a great area for my son to kick a ball. The dining area was warmed by a fire and there were games to play before and after dinner. I highly recommend this lodge for a family getaway, a place to chill with friends or somewhere to go as a work team for a facilitated (by a highly qualified trainer) team-building event. I hope to have a reason to return. When you book, be sure to say what kind of stay you require as there are a variety of cabins to choose from and the staff will assign one based on your exact requirements."


"Superp"

(South Africa) giesela | 25 January 2017

"It was a beautiful experience. I enjoyed my stay there, loved the food and I think the tented rooms was amazing."


"Winter Stay"

(South Africa) Celeste | 11 August 2016

"We enjoyed our stay at Kunguru Lodge.
The staff were really friendly and helpful.
The accommodation was clean and it was lovely to have electric blankets on the beds.
I do think I would go again, but in the summer.

"


"Lovely Overnight Stay"

(South Africa) Heinrich | 21 April 2016

"We had a great stay at the Kunguru Lodge, it was a lovely place for a overnight, and the tents were also surprisingly comfortable and roomy inside. We completely enjoyed our stay! Thanks"


"Basic & pleasant"

(South Africa) Lyn | 16 March 2015

"Basic, but pleasant accommodation. Cute cabins. All essentials catered for. Staff friendly and helpful. "


"A truly nice place"

(South Africa) Alex and Marlene Flett | 16 March 2015

"We found the personnel at the lodge very helpful friendly and flexible. More than most places with high Star ratings.
We were able to relax and be ourselves.

Thank you "


"Good establishment"

(South Africa) Mrs le roux | 26 February 2015

"The stay was really good and I'm sure we will make use of them again. We really enjoyed it. The staff was so friendly and the food was lovely. The accommodation was nice and clean as well and it certainly met with our expectations and catered to our needs."


"Love it!"

(South Africa) Bezuidenhout | 29 December 2014

"I loved my stay at Tri Active, we have been there before. I love the upgrades they have made. I hope to return again soon! I highly recommend them."


"I love this place"

(South Africa) Ms Mitchell | 29 April 2014

"We were welcomed with absolute warmth and smiles when Brian greeted me, about 2mins after parking. I hadn't even gotten out of the car yet :)
We were showed around, filled in the necessary paperwork and were asked to wait in the dining area for a short while as he needed to check if our "room" w..."

more

"We were welcomed with absolute warmth and smiles when Brian greeted me, about 2mins after parking. I hadn't even gotten out of the car yet :)
We were showed around, filled in the necessary paperwork and were asked to wait in the dining area for a short while as he needed to check if our "room" was ready. If I may, we arrived there just after 1pm and the check in is only 14:00. Not even 15mins later Brian called me and explained that our "room" is ready and that he is happy to check us in. He walked with us, gave us an idea of what the place is about and also explained that because they were hosting a bachelor's party, they opted to accommodate us farthest away from the "noise" as he called it. When we got to the "room", he explained what is in the "room" and that we are more than welcome to ask him anything should we need to.
He then left us to indulge in the magnificent wonder that we have just met. The "room" is actually a tent. And it's so camp-like but has the pleasures of a hotel room. So call it the best of both :)
We had a wedding at Houw Hoek Inn so we never really got to enjoy the beauty of this place. But we were surely made to feel most comfortable in the short time that we were there. For breakfast, we were welcomed and offered to sit at any table we felt comfortable. They explained that there are a variety of cereals, coffee, juice or tea that we may have while we wait for our breakfast. Our order was taken, after which we just sat talking. Enjoyed the surrounds very much. Our breakfast was brought shortly after we ordered and it was made according to what we expected.
We were approached by a lady, whose name I do not know :(. And she greeted us with so much warmth. Asked about our stay, if we're comfortable and also asked about the wedding and if we had a good time. It's so nice when people remember who you are and where you were. She didn't ask details but she knew that we were at a wedding. And it was the first time that we met her.
To summarise my stay; it was Awesome. Like I said to Brian, it was definitely the first of more visits. I can't moan even if I wanted to.
Thank you Tri Active Lodge for a wonderful time (even though it was just too short).
"