Reviews of Mavilla


"'"

(South Africa) Jacques du Preez | 4 December 2015

"Great Experience , Very friendly hosts"


"Great service"

(South Africa) Michelle Roux | 24 November 2014

"We had a great stay and very personal service. Felt right at home and the breakfast was delicious! Definitely recommend people to stay here. "


"Very comfortable"

(South Africa) Brian Davey | 17 November 2014

"We stayed two nights at Mavilla and it was very comfortable. It was a pity that the weather was raining as we didn't get chance to try out the pool area or even sit on the balcony of our room. Breakfast was an english breakfast and was more than ample food. Tea and coffee was not available in the..."

more

"We stayed two nights at Mavilla and it was very comfortable. It was a pity that the weather was raining as we didn't get chance to try out the pool area or even sit on the balcony of our room. Breakfast was an english breakfast and was more than ample food. Tea and coffee was not available in the rooms but they have a system downstairs where you help yourself to as much as you like. Would highly recommend."


"Baie dankie"

(South Africa) Ronell Hoogenboezem | 24 April 2013

"Baie dankie vir al die gasvryheid. Dankie ook vir 'n baie netjiese kamer. Ons was beindruk en sal beslis weer daar tuisgaan as die geleentheid hom voordoen. Net spyt ons moes so vroeg vertrek."


"Exceptional hospitality"

Nicki Green | 3 February 2013

"The owner is extremely welcoming and helpful and really makes her guests feel at home. The property is lovely. It has character and all the bedrooms are and carefully and tastefully furnished. There is a secluded fairly large swimming pool which I think is an essential when visiting anywhere in So..."

more

"The owner is extremely welcoming and helpful and really makes her guests feel at home. The property is lovely. It has character and all the bedrooms are and carefully and tastefully furnished. There is a secluded fairly large swimming pool which I think is an essential when visiting anywhere in South Africa in the summer. The breakfast is excellent and coffee is always available."


"Mavilla Guest House"

(South Africa) Lizzy Botha | 3 December 2012

"I had a very pleasant stay at Mavilla. My hostess were very very friendly and everything clean and comfortable."


"Enjoyed a lot"

(South Africa) P IETER JACOBS | 26 November 2012

"Enjoyed our stay very well treated."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Jim Adkins | 28 May 2012

"Very nice and comfortable room, delicious breakfast, warm and friendly hosts."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Ruth Pienaar | 21 March 2012

"Comfortable accommodation and friendly service!"


"Very nice"

(Namibia) Daniela Kemp | 10 December 2011

"A very charming guest house with very nice hosts. Child friendly and helpful. Home away from home."


"Farewell evening"

(Germany) Holger Philippin | 3 October 2011

"Lovely hosts. A lot of information about good wineries. Good accommodation near Cape Town."


"Pleasure"

(South Africa) Susan Clark | 19 April 2011

"A great base from which to visit the vineyards. Vic and Esme were friendly and helpful, looking up directions for us. The rooms were clean and had some lovely finishing touches. It was a plearure to stay there."


"Excellent!"

(South Africa) Phillip du Preez | 20 March 2011

"Excellent! Very nice place, well appointed, and clean. Esme the perfect hostess, great breakfast. Certainly a place to return to. Well situated to shops, Volkskombuis and the Varsity."


"Treasure, this one"

(United Kingdom) Austen Andrews | 18 February 2011

"Wow! What a great stay. So comfortable and such quality. will be back and, of course, will recommend to all our friends. "


"Mavilla Stellenbosch"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 7 December 2010

"It was good and enjoyable."


"Mavilla Stellenbosch Guest House"

(Netherlands) Jan Adriaans | 6 December 2010

"We had a very nice stay and very likely will come back sometime in the future. I would happily recommend this place to others. The hosts are very nice, warm, friendly and helpful, the location is nice, quiet but close to everything and secure, and room was very comfortable as well."


"Mavilla "

(South Africa) Anonymous | 16 November 2010

"Very friendly, beautiful furniture. Lovely place to stay."


"Mavilla rocks"

(South Africa) Wayne Amsterdam | 27 September 2010

"All I can say is splendid. Ten out of ten would be an under achievement. Mavilla deserves 12 out of ten on my score card. What a lovely place to stay. Quiet, beautiful garden, elegant clean rooms and friendly host in Vic and Esmie. Mavilla has the complete package. If couples look to get away from t..."

more

"All I can say is splendid. Ten out of ten would be an under achievement. Mavilla deserves 12 out of ten on my score card. What a lovely place to stay. Quiet, beautiful garden, elegant clean rooms and friendly host in Vic and Esmie. Mavilla has the complete package. If couples look to get away from their daily routines. I would recommend Mavilla Guesthouse. The host are friendly and they will go out of their way to make you feel at home and the cherry on the cake is the Traditional Farm style breakfast what a winner. Thanks again Esmie and Vic for making the weekend a great memory."


"Marvilla - Marvellous "

(South Africa) Ariel Roberto Lopez | 19 July 2010

"Como su nombre lo dice es una maravilla la atencion del primer momento , tuvimos que cambiar los planes y adelantar unanoche la estancia reservada y lo cambiaron sin problemas..

una familia muy atenta y comenzamos haciendo la ruta del vino desde temprena . un abrazo grande

ir a comer ..."

more

"Como su nombre lo dice es una maravilla la atencion del primer momento , tuvimos que cambiar los planes y adelantar unanoche la estancia reservada y lo cambiaron sin problemas..

una familia muy atenta y comenzamos haciendo la ruta del vino desde temprena . un abrazo grande

ir a comer a un lugar que esta muy cerca llamado la romantica , es un lugar tipico con un muy buen precio y ambiente de rugby y gente del pueblio joven..

ariel "


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Sarah Newton | 12 May 2010

"Comfortable and enjoyable. The hosts were very friendly and helpful."


"Mavilla guest comment"

(South Africa) Dupre Lombaard | 15 March 2010

"The Hugo's are indeed a real down to earth couple who understand a guest's needs - lovely bed gives a good night's rest, clean linen that invites use, delicious caring breakfast that gives a good start to a day and a positive attitude towards their town and their people that inspires one to move aro..."

more

"The Hugo's are indeed a real down to earth couple who understand a guest's needs - lovely bed gives a good night's rest, clean linen that invites use, delicious caring breakfast that gives a good start to a day and a positive attitude towards their town and their people that inspires one to move around."


"Mavilla Stellenbosch stay"

(United Kingdom) William Cowie | 7 March 2010

"We had a ball!! Met a crackling Irish couple... well Martin is Irish and his wife Ineka is Dutch. Next night we met 2 German couples. They say that Brits and Germans don't get on ... no way Pedro ...we got on like a house on fire speaking a mixture of German, English with a smattering of French ..."

more

"We had a ball!! Met a crackling Irish couple... well Martin is Irish and his wife Ineka is Dutch. Next night we met 2 German couples. They say that Brits and Germans don't get on ... no way Pedro ...we got on like a house on fire speaking a mixture of German, English with a smattering of French and some gobbledegook, long story. If you want accommodation in Stellenbosch give Mavilla a try, we did and weren't disappointed. Oh.. and the breakfasts are scrummy! These hosts are the real deal... Cant do enough for you. I asked if there was an honesty bar, and when they said no they gave us a bottle of wine gratis to keep us going! Its nice to be nice!! This is what holidays are all about. Relaxed friendly atmosphere."


"Wonderful Stay"

Laurenz Ott | 9 February 2010

"We were happy to be at Mavilla Guesthouse. Very friendly people, helpful. The rooms are very clean with beautiful interior design. The value, when you except Stellenbosch-rates, is excellent. With the car 5 minutes into the centre of Stellenbosch. When we will come back to Stellenbosch, Mavilla Gues..."

more

"We were happy to be at Mavilla Guesthouse. Very friendly people, helpful. The rooms are very clean with beautiful interior design. The value, when you except Stellenbosch-rates, is excellent. With the car 5 minutes into the centre of Stellenbosch. When we will come back to Stellenbosch, Mavilla Guesthouse will be our first choice."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Anna-Mart Venter | 17 December 2009

"Vic and Esme were excellent hosts and immediately made me feel at home.

I would definitely recommend Mavilla to fellow travellers. "


"Nice place for reasonable price"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 15 December 2009

"We only stayed for one night, but the guesthouse was nice and clean. The room was small, but very comfortable and en suite. Convenient location to the main part of town."


"Great B/B"

(South Africa) Ken Gosnell | 27 April 2009

"Well located within 1.5 kilometres of the Town Centre. The B/B was very clean and well appointed and our hosts certainly went out of there way to make our stay comfortable. We would certainly stay at 'Mavilla' again when in the area and would recommend it to other's."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Werner van der Westhuizen | 14 April 2009

"Excellent - great hospitality, clean, neat, centrally located, will definitely stay there again!"


"Mavilla Guest House"

(South Africa) Shelley Nell | 9 March 2009

"We booked the entire guest house for the weekend. It was a wonderful 'home-away from home' experience and Esme was a wonderful hostess. She went out of her way to accommodate our group (6 adults and 6 children) and even though we literally 'took over' she was very friendly and patient with the child..."

more

"We booked the entire guest house for the weekend. It was a wonderful 'home-away from home' experience and Esme was a wonderful hostess. She went out of her way to accommodate our group (6 adults and 6 children) and even though we literally 'took over' she was very friendly and patient with the children which meant we could really relax! I would recommend Mavilla if you have children and are looking for a central guest house in Stellenbosch. The rooms were lovely (we used all 4) and our kids slept in the lounge area. Great choice for a group of friends!"


"Recommended"

(Canada) Beverly Enns | 27 February 2009

" We stayed four nights at the Maville Stellenbosch Guest House. The owners are welcoming, friendly and made us feel right at home during our stay in Stellenbosch area. The accommodations were clean and offered privacy with the ensuite in each bedroom. The balcony and sitting area allowed for quiet e..."

more

" We stayed four nights at the Maville Stellenbosch Guest House. The owners are welcoming, friendly and made us feel right at home during our stay in Stellenbosch area. The accommodations were clean and offered privacy with the ensuite in each bedroom. The balcony and sitting area allowed for quiet evening reading and relaxing with a glass of wine from the local wineries. Stellenbosch is within an hours drive from Cape Town and the site seeing you may want to take in there but there are plenty of sites to enjoy in the Stellenbosch area as well."


"Very pleasant,"

(South Africa) John Boonzaier | 23 January 2009

"Willing people. Nice room which was very clean."


"Excellent breakfast"

(South Africa) Roger Fisher | 4 December 2008

"Made very welcome, lovely hosts,excellent breakfast, bedroom a little small."


"Recommended"

(United Kingdom) Trish Scott | 2 December 2008

"We enjoyed our stay very good hospitality,good breakfasts. Vic and Esme made us feel very welcome. Would definitely stay there again."


"Recommended"

(United Kingdom) Marianne Van der Lip | 1 September 2008

"We were very impressed with the friendly service, homely atmosphere and excellent accommodation - to be recommended."


"We had an awesome stay -"

(South Africa) Leanne Naidoo | 16 July 2008

" what wonderful hosts! we really appreciated the personal touches... "


"Wonderful - really great. "

(South Africa) Nicola Gee | 3 June 2008

"Were made to feel at home by both Vic & Esme, and Esme's small touches to the guest house, rooms and her breakfasts were absolutely terrific. Felt well and truly spoilt. We know where to stay when next we are in Stellenbosch."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Viv Bolton | 26 March 2008

"We only wish we could have stayed longer! Esme went out of her way to help us with additional needs, eg braai on our first night where she provided us with everything we needed, ironing which we needed for the wedding, etc. Vic was also very attentive and helpful whenever we saw him."


" Recommended 100%! "

(South Africa) Gertrud Faa§ | 1 March 2008

"Great hospitality, calm and warm atmosphere, good breakfast. Rooms are furnished romantically and in harmony with the architecture of the house, pool is nice and cool and next to a shady place to rest. I only stayed a couple of days, but it felt like a long, peaceful holiday."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Trudie Coburn | 25 January 2008

"Fantastic"


"Fantastic"

(United Kingdom) Tom Glason | 16 January 2008

"Perfect in every way!"


"Our stay was fantastic"

(South Africa) Adele Pretorius | 26 November 2007

"Everything was to our liking and the hosts were very accommodating with all our special needs. It was as if staying at home.

Thank you!"


"Great Location"

(South Africa) Lynn Hellenberg | 16 July 2007

"Great Service, Great Location, only downside was the creaking bed which was easily overlooked as we had a Great time.

Thank you to Vic and Esme"


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Alett Hattingh | 12 July 2007

"Thank you very much, you made us feel at home and the accommodation was fantastic."


"Enjoyed our stay"

(South Africa) John Davies | 29 May 2007

"Thanx for the service. We did indeed enjoy our stay at Mavilla. Vic and Esme were the perfect hosts. "


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Erika van der Hoven | 12 May 2007

"Thank you very much to Vic and Esme, it was lovely!

The friendliness is truly South African, you do us proud.!

The antique furniture is georgeous, the stay was short but sweet."


"Highly recommendable"

(South Africa) Ricus Serfontein | 8 May 2007

"It was a most enjoyable stay, with Vic and Esme the perfect, most friendly hosts. "


"Very nice and friendly!"

Anonymous | 7 May 2007

"VERY nice and friendly hosts! We had misunderstood the distance somewhat, assuming one could walk into the town centre, but the info is rather that it takes a few minutes by car. Otherwse accurate info."


"What a find!"

(South Africa) Candice Lopes | 2 May 2007

"Absolutely delightful! Our room was exquisite, with such attention to detail and full of personal touches. We stayed for 2 nights, couldn't bare to leave and begged to stay on another night! Vic is full of great suggestions for dinner or a day trip and the breakfast's were exceptional! SO friend..."

more

"Absolutely delightful! Our room was exquisite, with such attention to detail and full of personal touches. We stayed for 2 nights, couldn't bare to leave and begged to stay on another night! Vic is full of great suggestions for dinner or a day trip and the breakfast's were exceptional! SO friendly and accommodating - we really felt at home. A perfect place to stay - homely yet perfectly central - we will DEFINITELY visit again."


"Satisfaction guaranteed"

(United Kingdom) brian potter | 24 March 2007

"We were treated like members of the family by our hosts Vic & Esme making our stay a memorable one."


"A week in wonderland..."

(United States of America) Steve & Cathy Kay | 8 March 2007

"Mavilla was perfect for us because it was easy walking distance to a mall that had a post office, grocery store, and a good Italian restaurant that served as a sports bar, too. We could also walk to several other restaurants as well as downtown Stellenbosch. The hosts were wonderful and full of co..."

more

"Mavilla was perfect for us because it was easy walking distance to a mall that had a post office, grocery store, and a good Italian restaurant that served as a sports bar, too. We could also walk to several other restaurants as well as downtown Stellenbosch. The hosts were wonderful and full of conversation and helpful hints, as well as making dining reservations and tea times. Breakfast was always ready & waiting, with lots of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast, and the usual egg dish with bacon or sausage. The pool was larger than most (but not big by any means) but just as cool (unheated). This was a convenient location for driving to the vinyards, golf courses, Cape Town itself. The room we had was antuiquely finished, very comfortable. The only caution I would have is that if you are allergic to cats, beware. There were a lot of them, but even though my wife is allergic, we didn't have a problem because the cats are kept (somehow) out of the guest areas, as far as we could tell. This is a very good value, and if you stay for any period of time, you will come to know Vic & Esme as they are very personable. The place is very clean, comfortable, and secure. We will recommend Mavilla especially to our wine drinking, golfing friends. "


"Mavilla Guesthouse"

(South Africa) Kay Kaplen | 15 November 2006

"Friendly and extremely helpful host and hostess, lovely home, wonderful night's sleep. We congratulate them on the success of their guesthouse and wish them every success. Will definitely recommend people to stay at Mavilla!"


"Mavilla"

(Netherlands) rico sillevis | 26 October 2006

"de mensen van mavilla in stellenbosch zijn zo aardig en gastvrij.

dat zeker alle lof hen toekomt.

dat je zeker als je naar afrika gaat deze mensen zult gaan bezoeken.

alle foto,s op hun site kloppen tot in detail.

het guest house kunnen we zeker aan iedereen aanbevelen ..."

more

"de mensen van mavilla in stellenbosch zijn zo aardig en gastvrij.

dat zeker alle lof hen toekomt.

dat je zeker als je naar afrika gaat deze mensen zult gaan bezoeken.

alle foto,s op hun site kloppen tot in detail.

het guest house kunnen we zeker aan iedereen aanbevelen midden in het wijngebied en het historische stellenbosch.

voor ons staat vast we gaan zeker terug naar mavilla

ada en rico sillevis Tiel . Nederland ."


"Our overnight stay at Stellenbosch"

(United Kingdom) penny fisher | 17 October 2006

"Extremely helpful and informative host and hostess. First floor lounge area was an asset."


"Stunning accommodation"

(South Africa) Dan Berglund | 1 October 2006

"This place is so comfortable, with very helpful and friendly hosts, one could imagine staying here for a long time"


"Wonderful"

Anonymous | 27 September 2006

"We had a wonderful stay at Mavilla Guest Lodge.

We were made to feel very welcome by Vic and Esme and the accommodation was more than adequate.

Thanks and see you soon."


"Great Stay at Mavilla"

Anonymous | 3 May 2006

"We had an awesome stay with Vic and Esme - they were so friendly and hospitable. Nothing was ever too much to ask - and we asked for lots especially after the Cape Epic - washing, bike storage, extra breakfast etc.. They definitely went the extra mile...even bought a brand new camp cot for our 17 mo..."

more

"We had an awesome stay with Vic and Esme - they were so friendly and hospitable. Nothing was ever too much to ask - and we asked for lots especially after the Cape Epic - washing, bike storage, extra breakfast etc.. They definitely went the extra mile...even bought a brand new camp cot for our 17 month old son. Breakfast was great! Thanks guys - we will be back for sure!!!!"


"Good place with friendly people "

(Brazil) Patricia | 22 November 2017

"This is a good place to stay. Comfortable, clean, safe and good neighbourhood. The owners are very friendly and will make you feel at home. I recommend it. Thanks for everything.

Patricia "


"First stop"

(Sweden) Milton | 4 November 2017

"It was so nice to stay at house, and we where helped with a lost suitcase. Nice discussions with the owner. Love to be back. "


"Excellent Stay"

(South Africa) Martinette | 9 February 2017

"Our stay felt like home, because the accommodation was very comfortable. Esme was a real sweetheart telling us to which restaurants to eat at and places to see. The location is also conveniently situated it took us not more than 5 minutes to get where we needed to be. The bedrooms was decorated so c..."

more

"Our stay felt like home, because the accommodation was very comfortable. Esme was a real sweetheart telling us to which restaurants to eat at and places to see. The location is also conveniently situated it took us not more than 5 minutes to get where we needed to be. The bedrooms was decorated so cute and spacious. It’s also in a quiet environment, more than I expected and a great value for money."


"Pleasant Owners"

(South Africa) Mathilda | 19 January 2017

"I enjoyed my stay at Mavilla. Esme and Vic really went out of their way to accommodate me and I’m thankful for that. The rooms was spacious, well equipped and well kept. I loved the environment and I really had a great time."


"Warm and Welcoming "

(South Africa) khendyl | 11 December 2016

"Thoroughly enjoyable. Clean and quaint rooms offer a cozy environment. Wonderful welcoming service from the owners. "


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Charlotte | 17 August 2016

"Thank you very much Vic and Esme for your hospitality. It was pleasant to have spent time at your home when my daughter was not well and she felt better in the comfort of your home.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The place is close to everything that we needed includin..."

more

"Thank you very much Vic and Esme for your hospitality. It was pleasant to have spent time at your home when my daughter was not well and she felt better in the comfort of your home.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The place is close to everything that we needed including drive to the university.

Thanks for the little chats we had about Olympics, Krugersdorp and Centurion visits.

"


"A pleasant stay in Stellenbosch"

(South Africa) Mr Raw | 10 March 2015

"A very pleasant stay in a clean and well run B&B in a quiet area. Esme' and Vic were both very helpful."


"Great place to stay in the Winelands."

(United Kingdom) ELING | 13 February 2015

"We were made to feel very welcome by Esme and Victor who run this B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Esme entertained us with her charming sense of humor and sparkling personality. Seeing to our every need was no problem for her. We felt like staying at Mavilla forever. The house is ta..."

more

"We were made to feel very welcome by Esme and Victor who run this B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Esme entertained us with her charming sense of humor and sparkling personality. Seeing to our every need was no problem for her. We felt like staying at Mavilla forever. The house is tastefully decorated and our room had it's own private balcony framed by lush foliage. An exceptionally pleasant stay. We will definitely stay there again.
"


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mrs Brown | 9 February 2015

"We had a very pleasant stay at Mavilla and enjoyed our interaction with our host and hostess! They were very entertaining."


"Home From Home"

(South Africa) Yartu | 17 November 2014

"On arrival at the guest house I mentioned that I was not feeling well.
The owner knocked on our door to see that I was okay and asked whether she could get me anything for my cough. It also rained heavily on the Friday when we went out for dinner to celebrate our anniversary, and she insisted th..."

more

"On arrival at the guest house I mentioned that I was not feeling well.
The owner knocked on our door to see that I was okay and asked whether she could get me anything for my cough. It also rained heavily on the Friday when we went out for dinner to celebrate our anniversary, and she insisted that I borrow her daughters rain jacket. She really went beyond the call of duty to ensure that we were looked after and that we were comfortable. The place to me was home from home and the owner took the same care with each guest to assure that they lacked nothing."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Lambert | 17 April 2014

"Wonderful stay at Mavilla. Will definitely make use of you again and recommend to others."


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mrs greenspan | 6 March 2014

"We had a great stay and will make use of you again. We will recommend to others."


"Comfortable stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 February 2014

"Good day
We enjoyed our stay.
Thank you for accommodating us."


"Mavilla accomodation"

(South Africa) Dr zondagh | 3 February 2014

"First timer and we enjoyed our stay at Mavilla. The room and leisure area were neat and spacious. Breakfast was to standard and served on time. Esme and Vic are very nice people and we will definitely stay there again in future."


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mr terblanche | 16 January 2014

"My view in a few words which you can use as a motto:

"This guesthouse is even better than your own home. Come and give it a go"

Blessings to you
"


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mr Barclay | 25 November 2013

"I had a pleasant stay and would recommend to others looking for accommodation in Stellenbosch."


"lo."

(South Africa) Ms Fourie | 21 October 2013

"We had a good stay at this guesthouse and would recommend it to others."


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mrs Stevens | 24 April 2013

"Enjoyed our stay and we were treated with friendly professionalism. Our Hostess displayed tactful warmth and care. We would certainly recommend Mavilla to others! "


"would stay again!"

(New Zealand) anonymous | 29 March 2013

"We would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to others. It was a very good value and everything about the place was just right. Upon arriving in Stellenbosch with not much forethought, we soon found out decent accommodation at a fair price is hard to come by. But after finally findin..."

more

"We would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to others. It was a very good value and everything about the place was just right. Upon arriving in Stellenbosch with not much forethought, we soon found out decent accommodation at a fair price is hard to come by. But after finally finding Mavilla, I feel we found one of the few good values there! The hosts are very welcoming without being too in your face, the place is totally spotless, very quiet and safe neighbourhood, easy access to town, gorgeous breakfast, comfy bed, nice pool, quaintly decorated…really we could not have needed more. Especially for the price in Stellenbosch, I don’t think you can get better. I’m not saying its luxury accommodation at all but it was very nice for the price. Highly recommended for those that just want a clean, quiet place to explore the area from."


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Mr Pretorius | 14 February 2013

"Upon arrival I received a friendly greeting that made it feel more like I’m home than a guesthouse. I was shown to my room and asked what time I would like to have breakfast and then I was left alone.

It was a pleasure to go about my normal routine without feeling like a stranger in someone..."

more

"Upon arrival I received a friendly greeting that made it feel more like I’m home than a guesthouse. I was shown to my room and asked what time I would like to have breakfast and then I was left alone.

It was a pleasure to go about my normal routine without feeling like a stranger in someone else house. Due to the hot weather during my stay there was always a constant supply of chilled water with lots of ice which helped a lot.

I would definitely be a return customer if I am in that area again.
"


"Proper Southern African Hospitality"

(Swaziland) Ms Cowie | 4 April 2012

"Delightful hosts! Creative, delicious breakfasts and real Southern African hospitality. Vic and Esme went out of their way to see that I was comfortable and enjoying my stay. The room was very comfortable and well furnished with wonderful water pressure! But the highlight was the owners' delightful ..."

more

"Delightful hosts! Creative, delicious breakfasts and real Southern African hospitality. Vic and Esme went out of their way to see that I was comfortable and enjoying my stay. The room was very comfortable and well furnished with wonderful water pressure! But the highlight was the owners' delightful personalities and hospitality. I will book again next time I go to Stellenbosch."


"Friendly Host - Nice Room"

(Luxembourg) Mr Beunens | 30 March 2012

"We stayed in the smallest room "Victoria", which was really adequate for two people! The room was nicely decorated.
Our hosts Esmé and Vic were very nice, and explained us all we wanted to know, and more about the region, where to go, and where not.
The (cooked) breakfast was basic, but good..."

more

"We stayed in the smallest room "Victoria", which was really adequate for two people! The room was nicely decorated.
Our hosts Esmé and Vic were very nice, and explained us all we wanted to know, and more about the region, where to go, and where not.
The (cooked) breakfast was basic, but good.
This is not a luxury B&B, but if you are looking for something good, nice and central in Stellenbosch, this is the place you should book!"


"Mavilla----a Home from Home stay"

(South Africa) Mr Saks | 29 December 2011

"Last Wednesday evening our niece got married at Molenfliet just outside Stellenbosch, and we had the pleasure of spending two nights at Mavilla, which I'd found on the RoomsForAfrica website. From the moment we arrived at the gate on Tuesday morning, and were greeted first by the formidable resident..."

more

"Last Wednesday evening our niece got married at Molenfliet just outside Stellenbosch, and we had the pleasure of spending two nights at Mavilla, which I'd found on the RoomsForAfrica website. From the moment we arrived at the gate on Tuesday morning, and were greeted first by the formidable resident Boerboel, Jasper's welcoming roar, and then by both Esme and Victor, we knew that we had chosen well. Our hosts made us feel so welcome and comfortable, and we so appreciated the little touches such as chocolates on our pillows. Victor went out of his way by offering to have us follow him to find the wedding venue. We were also offered the facility of secure parking at neighbours across the road. Our rooms, as well as the ones occupied by my brother and our son and his wife, were spotlessly clean and well appointed. We enjoyed two simple but tasty breakfasts prepared and served by Esme, who readily accommodated our menu preferences. By the time we left last Thursday morning we said our goodbyes as if to long standing friends, who had shown us such warmth and friendliness. Should we ever be in Stellenbosch again, we would without a doubt choose to stay at Mavilla again "


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) anonymous | 18 December 2011

"Very clean and spacious accommodation. Fine breakfast. Very friendly hostess. Would stay there again."


"Malvilla your faraway home"

(Netherlands) Mr Jansen | 21 November 2011

"It's a very nice home. The owners are making your stay very pleasant. It's a clean and comfortable house with a swimming pool. You can make use of the fridge, internet and coffee/tea can be made the whole day. The breakfast is great. The house is about 3 km from the centre of Stellenbosch. A great p..."

more

"It's a very nice home. The owners are making your stay very pleasant. It's a clean and comfortable house with a swimming pool. You can make use of the fridge, internet and coffee/tea can be made the whole day. The breakfast is great. The house is about 3 km from the centre of Stellenbosch. A great place to visit Stellenbosch and his wine routes."


"April in Mavilla"

(United Kingdom) Nickie and Andrew | 27 April 2011

"What a delightful place! Vic and Esme made us so welcome - and Esme provided beautifully cooked breakfasts, different every day, with a special vegetarian version for Andrew. The room was delightful - comfortable bed, nice ensuite, lovely decor, little private balcony - and we had the use of an ex..."

more

"What a delightful place! Vic and Esme made us so welcome - and Esme provided beautifully cooked breakfasts, different every day, with a special vegetarian version for Andrew. The room was delightful - comfortable bed, nice ensuite, lovely decor, little private balcony - and we had the use of an extra balcony at the front of the house as well as a cosy sitting room for relaxing with a book when it was a bit windy outside. Very well located - easy walk to the shops for odds and ends and only a few minutes' drive into the centre of Stellenbosch (we also could have walked this easily). We would definitely recommend Mavilla."


"Thank you, Mavilla!"

(New Zealand) Tina Mihaere-Rees | 14 January 2011

"Thank you so much, Vic, Esme, your 10 feline and 2 canine companions for your amazing hospitality. The rooms were clean, tidy, quiet and very cute, breakfast was delicious and even our washing was done. The 5 minute walk to the supermarket, at the end of the road, was really handy and Stellenbosch h..."

more

"Thank you so much, Vic, Esme, your 10 feline and 2 canine companions for your amazing hospitality. The rooms were clean, tidy, quiet and very cute, breakfast was delicious and even our washing was done. The 5 minute walk to the supermarket, at the end of the road, was really handy and Stellenbosch has really nice restaurants and lots of cool things to look at. Gorgeous. We totally recommend.
"


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mrs Baxter | 26 October 2010

"The hospitality was warm and friendly and all our needs were met and it is certainly somewhere we would happily stay over again."


"Owner a Delight."

(United Kingdom) Mrs Kelly | 10 April 2010

"We had a lovely clean room. Mavilla is well located, close to the town centre in a very nice suburb of Stellenbosch. The host was a delight and made every effort to make guests welcome with sweet little touches like rosebuds on towels and napkins at breakfast.

Good value for money. We only ..."

more

"We had a lovely clean room. Mavilla is well located, close to the town centre in a very nice suburb of Stellenbosch. The host was a delight and made every effort to make guests welcome with sweet little touches like rosebuds on towels and napkins at breakfast.

Good value for money. We only stayed one night but it was very pleasant.
"


"Small with nice room's, good breakfast and swimming pool."

(Germany) Mr Steiger | 26 March 2010

"The B&B was ok for us because we were situated near the city of Stellenbosch and the wine route.
The owner was kind and always ready to help.
We stayed in South Africa for more then 4 weeks and can say this B&B was ok. We didn’t need more!
"


"Nice place to stay"

(United Kingdom) Mr Witt | 8 February 2010

"What a charming and welcoming place. Although a little bit away from the centre of town, it was nice, quiet and comfortable. "


"Mavilla review"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Stacey | 19 November 2009

"Esme is a wonderful hostess. Nothing is too much effort, we stayed three nights unintentionally sampling all the rooms, including the four poster. Very comfy, lovely breakfasts. Esme was able to fit us in an extra night and though it meant moving bedrooms it was no trouble for her.
Some extras t..."

more

"Esme is a wonderful hostess. Nothing is too much effort, we stayed three nights unintentionally sampling all the rooms, including the four poster. Very comfy, lovely breakfasts. Esme was able to fit us in an extra night and though it meant moving bedrooms it was no trouble for her.
Some extras turned up unannounced for breakfast and were all met with the same warmth and welcome.
It was a pleasure to stay."


"Mavilla Stay"

(South Africa) Mrs michelle | 25 September 2009

"What a lovely place to have stayed.A real home away from home. Everything was superb,the attention to detail,beautifully and stylishly decorated,the scrumptious breakfast and ofcourse the wonderful hosts Vic and Es.Thank you Mavilla,cant wait for my next visit!"


"Excellent B&B"

(South Africa) Danie Smit | 3 September 2009

"Mavilla is a great place to stay. Great value for money. Topclass.
Thanks to all the staff."


"Well Priced and friendly service!"

(South Africa) Mr Goch | 11 August 2009

"Was given a warm welcome by the friendly owners. Room was of a good standard and had everything you will need. The breakfast in the morning was also nice, overall it is good value for money and is in central Stellies, what more could you want ;-)"


"Mavilla April 09"

(United Kingdom) Mike & Sue Swingler | 14 April 2009

"We stayed for 5 nights in April 09 and had a wonderful time. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts great and the hosts brilliant. It is a very convenient location for visiting the Stellenbosch area."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Mrs Bekker | 26 January 2009

"We had to stay for one night in Stellenbosch due to a wedding we had to attend. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Vic and Ester (the owners). Our accommodation was fresh and clean and our breakfast was quite sufficient. Vic and Ester have been in Stellenbosch for many years and if you need any ..."

more

"We had to stay for one night in Stellenbosch due to a wedding we had to attend. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Vic and Ester (the owners). Our accommodation was fresh and clean and our breakfast was quite sufficient. Vic and Ester have been in Stellenbosch for many years and if you need any info as to where to go and what to do, they would know exactly how to help you. Thanks for a pleasant stay!"


"Mavilla Review"

(South Africa) Ms Bradley | 22 January 2009

"Lovely home from home feeling. Hosts are friendly, unassuming and create a warm, relaxed atmosphere."


"Very good "accueil""

(Reunion (French)) Mr Fornes Marin | 21 January 2009

"Excellent B & B. The room downstairs is too little for two guests, but our stay was pleasant and Victor is so nice."


"Review - Mavilla, Stellenbosch"

(Netherlands) Mr van de Gevel | 25 November 2008

"Mavilla is a lovely quiet B&B nearby the centre of Stellenbosch. It is run by friendly couple who are dedicated to serve you in their best possible way. The rooms are nice and neat with their own bathroom with shower. We like our stay in Mavilla, which was a good home base to explore the surrounding..."

more

"Mavilla is a lovely quiet B&B nearby the centre of Stellenbosch. It is run by friendly couple who are dedicated to serve you in their best possible way. The rooms are nice and neat with their own bathroom with shower. We like our stay in Mavilla, which was a good home base to explore the surroundings of Stellenbosch, which is definitely worthwhile to do so."


"Nice and comfortable"

(United Kingdom) Mr Morgan | 24 November 2008

"This place is nice and comfortable and the period decor. Really nice. Breakfasts were lovely, the rooms clean and well appointed and done in a lovely old Cape style. The location is quiet and convenient and an ideal base for the Wineland routes and Stellenbosch. The hosts are really friendly and hel..."

more

"This place is nice and comfortable and the period decor. Really nice. Breakfasts were lovely, the rooms clean and well appointed and done in a lovely old Cape style. The location is quiet and convenient and an ideal base for the Wineland routes and Stellenbosch. The hosts are really friendly and helpful and everything is done to a high standard. I'd happily recommend Mavilla to anyone."


"Mavilla - can recommend!"

(South Africa) Mrs Spath | 11 November 2008

"Our hosts were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. We can only recommend their guest house."


"Fabulous people!"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Matthews | 6 November 2008

"We stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour. Our hosts were very welcoming and kind and made us feel very at home. They went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay. Their house is spacious and clean and very central to the demands of Stellenbosch. We would recommend anyone to stay her..."

more

"We stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour. Our hosts were very welcoming and kind and made us feel very at home. They went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay. Their house is spacious and clean and very central to the demands of Stellenbosch. We would recommend anyone to stay here! Thanks! "


"Pleasant house"

(France) Mr & Mrs Lavarda | 27 October 2008

"A very pleasant house with a beautiful decoration, guests charming, good restaurants nearby and the city centre nearby. Who could ask for more? A little expensive, however, given the size and equipment room
"


"Better than Home Away from Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Goulding | 27 October 2008

"Unfortunately I was only able to stay at Mavilla for one night (my husband for 2) but it was a real treat! From the moment we arrived at the front door our hosts (Esme initially) made sure that we were comfortable and right at home.

Having pre -arranged a slightly early arrival, our room ..."

more

"Unfortunately I was only able to stay at Mavilla for one night (my husband for 2) but it was a real treat! From the moment we arrived at the front door our hosts (Esme initially) made sure that we were comfortable and right at home.

Having pre -arranged a slightly early arrival, our room was clean and ready. I loved the stained glass windows and period furniture coupled with the luxury of more modern items like warm duvets and the extremely comfortable mattress on the bed. An extra fluffy blanket had been provided "just in case" it was needed for a chilly night. Our room had a small, private balcony as an added bonus.

Tea and coffee were "on tap" in the dining room and I was treated to a very welcome cup on arrival. Esme was extremely gracious and hospitable. Although breakfasts were listed as "continental" she went out of her way to make us a cooked breakfast (as the B&B was relatively quiet)!

Both Esme and her husband Vic were very knowledgeable and helpful about the Stellenbosch area. A plus is that the centre of town is a very comfortable and pleasant 10min walk from Mavilla and Die Boord shopping centre is just around the corner.

I was most impressed when I arrived back at the villa late in the afternoon, having walked into town to browse the shops, to find Esme very worried that I was lost and might get wet in the threatening rain storm - to the extent that I think she was about to come and look for me in her car! That's why I believe Mavilla is better than a Home Away from Home! And I will definitely return again one day - hopefully with the whole family."


"Stellenbosch"

(United Kingdom) Mr McElveen | 21 October 2008

"The owners were wonderful - very friendly and kind. Mavilla is a really great base for exploring the Western Cape. Lovely gardens and pool, and some great bargains to be had in the local markets, we bought a beautiful 30kg mahogany hippo called Stellenbosch! Enjoy."


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Ms Krauss | 8 October 2008

"Outstanding value for money - the people are friendly and extremely accommodating. Excellent breakfast and the rooms are tastefully decorated.
"


"Cosy, friendly and lovely"

(South Africa) Mrs Engelbrecht | 12 August 2008

"This establishment really went above and beyond. Their rooms are neat, tidy and it’s the friendliest people I've ever met - you can see they really love having you there. They are very helpful and see you as part of their family while living there. I would like to thank them for all their hospitalit..."

more

"This establishment really went above and beyond. Their rooms are neat, tidy and it’s the friendliest people I've ever met - you can see they really love having you there. They are very helpful and see you as part of their family while living there. I would like to thank them for all their hospitality and friendliness. It was a very pleasant experience and I would recommend them to everybody."


"Very welcoming hosts for first night stay in South Africa"

(United Kingdom) Mr Harold | 30 March 2008

"This Bed and Breakfast is situated in a quiet residential area but still within walking distance of the town of Stellenbosch. It was our first stop after picking up our car at Cape Town International Airport.

The hosts, Vic and Esme, made us feel most welcome, they are a lovely couple, very..."

more

"This Bed and Breakfast is situated in a quiet residential area but still within walking distance of the town of Stellenbosch. It was our first stop after picking up our car at Cape Town International Airport.

The hosts, Vic and Esme, made us feel most welcome, they are a lovely couple, very helpful and very hospitable.

My wife and I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a quality Bed & Breakfast at reasonable cost."


"Warm atmosphere, lovely rooms"

(Germany) Mr Resch | 11 March 2008

"Nice place to stay some days. Rooms and lounge are very nicely decorated / furnished; Esmee and Vic are very nice hosts and will give you any advice you’ll need. Breakfasts are superb. Only drawback: noise from Strand Str. which is pretty close. Would stay again, thanks ;-)"


"B+B economy"

(United Kingdom) Mr Carlisle | 22 February 2008

"Welcoming, clean and comfortable, with pool. Good value and handy for the town."


"Mavilla Guest House"

(United Kingdom) Mr Stansfield | 8 February 2008

"A real homely place. Excellent friendly service that made one feel at home immediately. Will recommend it to any one we know visiting your fabulous country."


"among the friendliest people i have ever met !!!"

(Ireland) Mr Woods | 24 January 2008

"Upon arrival we were greeted by the lady of the house, who couldn't have been nicer, showed us to our room and showed us the kitchen and then the pool, we went into town for dinner and when we came back our hosts, now including the man of the house offered us some wine and chatted with ourselves and..."

more

"Upon arrival we were greeted by the lady of the house, who couldn't have been nicer, showed us to our room and showed us the kitchen and then the pool, we went into town for dinner and when we came back our hosts, now including the man of the house offered us some wine and chatted with ourselves and other guests for hours, it was really friendly.

The room was a perfect size, plenty of storage space for cases and bags under the 18th century victorian (i believe it is victorian anyway, is not my area of expertise) four poster bed.

I certainly cannot complain, it was a very pleasurable stay, pity we couldn't stay longer !!!

Mavilla is 10 out of 10 in my book !!!"


"Mavilla"

(Sweden) Mr Smedberg | 7 January 2008

"Nice place to stay at.
Clean and nice rooms.
Lovely owners.
I`ll be back."


"Great Stay"

(New Zealand) Kyle & Emma | 19 December 2007

"The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Great Location for the wineyards"


"A home from home"

(United Kingdom) Mr and Mrs Barthorpe | 11 November 2007

"We spent a couple of nights in Stellenbosch on honeymoon, and were made to feel very welcome at Mavilla. The room was comfortable, with a large bed and a view towards the mountains. Breakfast was excellent. Vic and Esme were very welcoming, and offered excellent suggestions of places to eat. The gue..."

more

"We spent a couple of nights in Stellenbosch on honeymoon, and were made to feel very welcome at Mavilla. The room was comfortable, with a large bed and a view towards the mountains. Breakfast was excellent. Vic and Esme were very welcoming, and offered excellent suggestions of places to eat. The guest house is in a quiet part of town, with all facilities nearby, so makes an ideal location for a stay in the winelands. Highly recommended."


"Wedding"

(Namibia) Mr Bartsch | 31 October 2007

"The accommodation was brilliant and our hostess Esme was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

We will definitely come and stay there again."


"A homely stay"

(South Africa) Mrs De Kock | 18 September 2007

"We truly had a wonderful stay at Mavilla. Good food, excellent rooms and some good South African hospitality. We will always recommend Mavilla to our friends."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Mr Garcin | 25 July 2007

"Very nice cosy rooms. House is well located in a peaceful neighbourhood close to the historic centre of Stellenbosch. People very welcoming and willing to share about the history of the area.
I recommend the fire place during the cold winter nights."


"Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mrs Less | 4 June 2007

"The first thing that struck me was the closeness to the town of Stellenbosch and Die Boord Centre as well as the wonderfully quiet and upmarket suburb that Mavilla is situated in. Directions were provided and the Guesthouse was a breeze to find.

Upon arrival at Mavilla either Vic or Esmé a..."

more

"The first thing that struck me was the closeness to the town of Stellenbosch and Die Boord Centre as well as the wonderfully quiet and upmarket suburb that Mavilla is situated in. Directions were provided and the Guesthouse was a breeze to find.

Upon arrival at Mavilla either Vic or Esmé are on hand to welcome you personally, assist with luggage if necessary and escort you to your room. The rooms are light and airy each with their own en-suite bathroom. Towels and linen are provided, but remember to pack in your shampoo, conditioner and hair dryer.

Downstairs in the dining area is a fridge, microwave, tea and coffee-making facilities and cutlery and crockery just in case you find yourself coming back with a takeaway, which would be sacrilege as the Guesthouse is close to some of the best restaurants and wine farms in Stellenbosch.

Breakfast is served at your convenience and includes muesli, cereals, fruits, yoghurts and juice plus a full hot breakfast on request, handled by Esmé herself and all included in the price.

The hospitality is warm and friendly and by the time you leave Mavilla you'll feel like part of the family - I know I did!"


"The special touch"

(Germany) Malcolm Elias | 19 April 2007

"Very special. Atmosphere is very familiar from sitting by the pool with the hosts to the opportunity to savour the local wine. The whole place is full of those small things from the antique furniture to those little things that make spending a night here a special experience. Very highly recommended..."

more

"Very special. Atmosphere is very familiar from sitting by the pool with the hosts to the opportunity to savour the local wine. The whole place is full of those small things from the antique furniture to those little things that make spending a night here a special experience. Very highly recommended you won't be disappointed."


"Excellent stay at Mavilla Guesthouse"

(South Africa) Ms Willemse | 11 January 2007

"We enjoyed our stay at Mavilla Guesthouse very much. It was our last stop on our way back to Centurion after our trip through the Western Cape, and it did not dissappoint.

The owners made us feel exceptionally welcome, and they were also very helpful interms of places worth visiting in Ste..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay at Mavilla Guesthouse very much. It was our last stop on our way back to Centurion after our trip through the Western Cape, and it did not dissappoint.

The owners made us feel exceptionally welcome, and they were also very helpful interms of places worth visiting in Stellenbosch and also the best restaurants in the area.

Our room was a bit on the small side, but other than that, we had everything we could ask for.

It was well worth the visit!
"


"My stay at Mavilla"

(South Africa) Mr Barnard | 5 January 2007

"What a pleasant surprise. The rooms are part of a modern house, private enough and the fan provides sufficient air flow for the room to be cool. The owner is exceptionally friendly and pleasant without being intrusive. Everything worked well that should work and the breakfast is superb. The pool..."

more

"What a pleasant surprise. The rooms are part of a modern house, private enough and the fan provides sufficient air flow for the room to be cool. The owner is exceptionally friendly and pleasant without being intrusive. Everything worked well that should work and the breakfast is superb. The pool is a must in summer time. Well worth the money."