Reviews of Stonecutters Nature Lodge


"Beautiful and picturesque"

Alison Visagie | 24 July 2017

"Other than a bit of road noise, the place is beautiful"


"Nice breakaway and good trout fishing"

Wiets Roos | 25 June 2017

"I enjoyed one of my best flyfishing weekends at Stonecutters Lodge 30km from Dullstroom. The fishing facilities are on point with the two dams and river generously stocked with rainbow trout. I stayed in Cobbles Nr. 3. The accommodation was neat, clean and tended to on a daily basis. On the down si..."

more

"I enjoyed one of my best flyfishing weekends at Stonecutters Lodge 30km from Dullstroom. The fishing facilities are on point with the two dams and river generously stocked with rainbow trout. I stayed in Cobbles Nr. 3. The accommodation was neat, clean and tended to on a daily basis. On the down side, the two sleeper rooms (Cobbles) are situated close to the highway and the road noise can be disturbing to some. I experienced a problem with the gas braai in my Unit on the second night. Although the staff at the lodge attended to the problem within a few minutes, the issue could not be resolved the same night."


"Stonecutters Lodge"

Saskia Le Roux | 2 May 2017

"Beautiful setting, however just too close to the main road to Lydenberg, so the tranquility is disturbed by the noise of the traffic"


"the staff were fantastic and very accomodating"

Taryn Lessing | 22 March 2017

"beautiful setting, wonderful location and the staff were fantastic especially Ewe. Will definitely be back."


"Amazing place, amazing amenities"

(South Africa) Amy Bonanno | 18 April 2016

"From Liesl, the manager, through the Lodges and the grounds of Stonecutter's, everything was amazing and wonderful. The ambiance, scenery, and location was idyllic. The property, the amenities, like having kindling and fire wood easily accessible, was helpful and so kind. We're definitely returning ..."

more

"From Liesl, the manager, through the Lodges and the grounds of Stonecutter's, everything was amazing and wonderful. The ambiance, scenery, and location was idyllic. The property, the amenities, like having kindling and fire wood easily accessible, was helpful and so kind. We're definitely returning to Stonecutter's Lodge in Dullstroom, and we're getting the Trout Lodge. It was all so amazing over the weekend and we can't wait to return. A must for any visitor to Dullstroom. "


"A GREAT GETAWAY"

(South Africa) Nina Robertson | 27 October 2015

"We had a wonderful few days at Stonecutter's, our hostesses were amazing, the food great, and I can not find one negative.
I would return and recommend Stonecutter's anytime."


"Great food, immaculate rooms "

(South Africa) Stephen Paterson | 10 February 2015

"We had a really nice weekend at Stonecutters.No problem for the Harley to do the few 100 metres of dirt leading up to the lodge. Braai pack was very nice quality meat."


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Corinne Touw | 8 September 2014

"Our stay at Stonecutters was very enjoyable. The breakfasts and dinners were first class.

Would highly recommend staying there."


"A little peace of heaven"

(South Africa) Deon Lengton | 8 April 2013

"We stayed at the Trout House - excellent accommodation excellent location and views of the trout dams. All you could ask for. No complaints and no negative feedback."


"Fabulous"

(South Africa) Gavin Parsons | 9 July 2012

"Many thanks to Lesley & the staff of Stonecutters. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend on value, food and views...a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience."


"Perfect"

(South Africa) Annamaria Pouncett | 10 April 2012

"Idyllic - perfect for a peaceful and restful weekend."


"Great"

(South Africa) Annemarie Cloete | 30 January 2012

"It was a great weekend and the facilities and food were excellent! We will definitely come again."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Rose Beckett | 29 April 2011

"We had a wonderful stay. Lovely cottage and service was excellent. We had everything we required and everyone was very welcoming. We will definitely go again."


"Magic simply magic"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 8 February 2010

"Our stay was absolutely amazing.

Stonecutters have a special feel and the staff really went out of their way.

The food was absolutely amazing , especially breakfast next to the little pond .

Thanks everyone, it was fabulous"


" Idyllic two days "

(South Africa) Kristy Suttner-Stride | 9 January 2010

"We had an idyllic two days rest at Stonecutters. The views, the ambiance, the accommodation, the beautiful big bed and the delicious food all added to the experience. Thanks to all who contributed!"


"Stonecutters - a relaxing Eve"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 12 October 2009

"We really enjoyed our sadly short stay at Stonecutters. The staff are efficient, friendly and competent. The actual accommodation and facilities are extremely well thought out and are there to make the guests feel really relaxed. Overall the establishment is very organised and one gets a sense of..."

more

"We really enjoyed our sadly short stay at Stonecutters. The staff are efficient, friendly and competent. The actual accommodation and facilities are extremely well thought out and are there to make the guests feel really relaxed. Overall the establishment is very organised and one gets a sense of continuous improvement. It is a pity that we were there for such a short period."


"Thanks for a wonderful stay "

(South Africa) Anonymous | 8 September 2009

"My husband and I wanted a quick getaway - as the home away from home - and we got precisely that when we stayed at Stonecutters. The staff were friendly and hospitable. With Lydenburg and Dullstroom not too far away, we had the pleasures of being out and about and also enjoying the relaxing atmosphe..."

more

"My husband and I wanted a quick getaway - as the home away from home - and we got precisely that when we stayed at Stonecutters. The staff were friendly and hospitable. With Lydenburg and Dullstroom not too far away, we had the pleasures of being out and about and also enjoying the relaxing atmosphere of the lodge. Fly fishing was a must and with no experience whats so ever, we enjoyed learning a new art and had fun in the process! :)"


"Stonecutters Lodge"

(South Africa) John Addis | 8 September 2009

"Stonecutters Lodge is one of the very best establishments we have stayed at and certainly exceeded our expectations. What impressed us the most is their attention to detail in all aspects of the services they provide. Well done to Lesley, Margi and their staff. "


"Magical breakaway!"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 24 August 2009

"We had an amazing weekend anniversary..... the food was brilliant, the hospitality warm and the setting breathtaking.... Thanks for everything Leslie.."


"Stonecutters Lodge"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 8 July 2009

" Wonderful welcome, well cared for. Only negative - it was very dry and brown (mid winter) - would have been nice to have the gardens around the buildings watered."


"Fantastic Stay"

(South Africa) Jonelda | 2 August 2017

"The owners warmly welcomed us on arrival. It was quite late but the staff were still available to assist us. They were really friendly and helpful. The place is incredibly peaceful and beautiful. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. Everything was neat and tidy. Staff attended to the rooms d..."

more

"The owners warmly welcomed us on arrival. It was quite late but the staff were still available to assist us. They were really friendly and helpful. The place is incredibly peaceful and beautiful. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. Everything was neat and tidy. Staff attended to the rooms daily. The atmosphere was great for taking hikes, or even just enjoying looking at the stars at night. Really amazing. I would recommend Stonecutters Lodge to anyone and I would revisit."


"Perfect stay"

(South Africa) Elton | 17 July 2017

"We were blown away to the site of how beautiful the place was when we arrived. The layout of the plants and trees just gave it a fulfilling feeling. Going inside the place it was neat and very clean. We were absolutely comfortable. The view from our bedroom was spectacular. We received good friendly..."

more

"We were blown away to the site of how beautiful the place was when we arrived. The layout of the plants and trees just gave it a fulfilling feeling. Going inside the place it was neat and very clean. We were absolutely comfortable. The view from our bedroom was spectacular. We received good friendly service from staff on duty. I would definitely recommend this lodge to others. "


"Stonecutters Lodge Is A Lovely Place"

(South Africa) anonymous | 24 April 2017

"Stonecutters Lodge is a lovely place. Clean, spacious and comfortable stay. Staff was helpful and friendly. Can definitely recommend. "


"Beautiful Scenery"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 February 2017

"The environment was stunning, it was very relaxing and the accommodation was comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay there again."


"Amazing Stay"

(South Africa) Sam | 3 February 2017

"The setting of the units was very nice, I enjoyed the lovely food and the service was excellent. They were friendly, welcoming and made me feel at home. "


"Gorgeous"

(South Africa) Naseema | 29 August 2016

"The service was excellent, the breakfast was scrumptious and the location is perfect for a romantic retreat."


"Fabulous Stay"

(South Africa) Richard | 28 August 2016

"From the booking to the arrival, the personalised service was excellent and friendly. Our rooms were well appointed and spotless. Stonecutters is one of those places where if you don’t want to see other people, you don't but if you do you can. Lovely walks along the meandering river and stocked trou..."

more

"From the booking to the arrival, the personalised service was excellent and friendly. Our rooms were well appointed and spotless. Stonecutters is one of those places where if you don’t want to see other people, you don't but if you do you can. Lovely walks along the meandering river and stocked trout dams for the fisherman. All in all a relaxing stay which is what we wanted."


"Awesome "

(South Africa) Madito | 15 July 2016

"Comfortable and well equipped rooms - they have all essentials you may need. "


"stonecutter lodge "

(South Africa) lethiwe | 8 November 2015

"We had a wonderful stay, what my hubby and I needed for a weekend away from the busy life of Jozi.
Thank you very much
"


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Gerda | 14 August 2015

"We had a very nice stay. The food at Stonecutters was excellent. Would visit again. Recommended"


"Stonecutters Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs naude | 11 September 2014

"We had a lovely stay. This is a place we would make use of again and recommend."


"Awesome! Warm!"

(South Africa) Mrs STEWART | 14 July 2014

"What an awesome stay! We had a very warm welcome. The room and bathroom had under floor heating for a nice, warm, cosy evening! We will go back! Thank you Stonecutters."


"GREAT STAY"

(South Africa) Mr BLAINE | 25 September 2013

"Very clean and comfortable, with very friendly staff. Well kept river frontage and dams, so very good fishing. We will be back."


"Dawie & Dot"

(South Africa) Dawie | 27 June 2011

"From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was just fantastic!! The food, the staff, everything was 5 star. We went for the pure purpose to unwind and relax and that's exactly what we did. We were sad to leave and we will be returning in the very NEAR future. Thank you once again, you guys ..."

more

"From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was just fantastic!! The food, the staff, everything was 5 star. We went for the pure purpose to unwind and relax and that's exactly what we did. We were sad to leave and we will be returning in the very NEAR future. Thank you once again, you guys were great."


"Brilliant stay and Stonecutters"

(South Africa) Mr Prinsloo | 8 March 2010

"We had a wonderful stay at Stonecutters. The area is beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful and the room was top class. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks for a great time!"


"Gem in the Country"

(South Africa) Francois | 21 June 2009

"Stonecutters is a gem in the country. Brilliant accommodation, with friendly people. Everybody would find something here. As a photographer I loved it, my wife wants to go back to fish. We only did a short walk but I can see that you can spend a couple of days walk as well."


"Stonecutters 25-27 Apr 2009"

(South Africa) Ms Pretorius | 4 May 2009

"Great food, great service, very friendly staff, beautiful place.

What else can one say?

We'll be back!
Thank you for an excellent experience

The accommodation is superb and the ambiance restful - just the place to spoil yourself for a weekend break."


"A quick stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Janse van Rensburg | 24 March 2009

"We were warmly greeted by Claire, who came out to our car to meet us.

We were well informed of the dinner schedule and the food was to die for! The cats, fire and huge couches made us feel right at home.

The units were clean and very nicely furnished.

We felt safe with t..."

more

"We were warmly greeted by Claire, who came out to our car to meet us.

We were well informed of the dinner schedule and the food was to die for! The cats, fire and huge couches made us feel right at home.

The units were clean and very nicely furnished.

We felt safe with the guard walking past every now and again.

One can see that the owners take pride in their establishment because the premises was very clean and looked after and according to the photo album in the Manor, they went through a lot of effort to tidy up the farm.

The only thing that bothered us was the traffic from the road. You never get the feeling that you are in the middle of nowhere because you are constantly aware of the trucks and car on the tar road adjacent to the farm.

Otherwise - lovely!"


"What a tranquil experience!"

(South Africa) Mrs Maryke Stassen | 3 November 2008

"We were looking for a very quite, peaceful break away from the stress and rush of city life. The weekend at Stonecutters were one of the best decisions we made in months! We heard frogs, birds, insects etc that we never hear in Pretoria. This weekend was the breakthrough for our decision to sell our..."

more

"We were looking for a very quite, peaceful break away from the stress and rush of city life. The weekend at Stonecutters were one of the best decisions we made in months! We heard frogs, birds, insects etc that we never hear in Pretoria. This weekend was the breakthrough for our decision to sell our franchise and house in Pretoria and to move to the country side for a much more peaceful life. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed catching tadpoles and admiring every little strange insect they could see. They even took a photo of moths' giant white eggs! We would never forget this weekend, because for the first time in months we had no stress, no exhaustion, no sleepless nights. Thank you to everyone that made this possible."


"Stonecutters Lodge - A home away from home"

(South Africa) Mr Glen Lazarus | 1 October 2007

"Whilst the title is so cliché, this was exactly my feelings of the recent stay we had at Stonecutters Lodge. Everything was perfect and the staff - exceptional. It was as if you are considered part of the family. The lodge itself was also magnificent. Well worth the stay. "