Reviews of Roodepoort Farm Self-Catering


"What an awesome place "

(South Africa) Jeandri | 4 January 2019

"Upon our arrival we walked into the most beautiful, modern little place.
We found it super neat and tidy and not once were we disturbed by other guests, loud noises or anything else.
It’s such an awesome little place with sheep crossing your path and the view is absolutely spectacular. more

"Upon our arrival we walked into the most beautiful, modern little place.
We found it super neat and tidy and not once were we disturbed by other guests, loud noises or anything else.
It’s such an awesome little place with sheep crossing your path and the view is absolutely spectacular.
If I could give Roodepoort Farm 6 stars I would. "


"Breathtaking"

(South Africa) Yolanda | 6 August 2018

"Absolutely stunning! Mountains are breathtaking and majestic. Quiet and tranquil surroundings."


"Tintin, what a joy!"

Johannie Van Rensburg | 8 March 2018

"What a surprise was our first time visit to Roodepoort guest farm, to be in such a beautiful environment, the grazing cattle and sheep was an experience! We will definitely return to the Tintin trailer"


"Great for a quiet weekend away."

Lieneke Pieterse | 4 February 2018

"We stayed in Lexi's Quirky Cottage for a weekend and would recommend it to any couple. The views are stunning and the cottage is well equipped an very private. The dirt road can be challenging when it rains, but overall everything was great. We will definitely be going back."


"Peace and Quiet"

Carin Vd Merwe | 11 August 2017

"Loved the location, beautiful scenery. Kitchen equipped for everything you can think of. Very nice place. The road is very gravelly - you have to keep in mind this is located on a farm and this is out of the owner's control. Will definitely visit again."


"Serene, comfortable stay"

Bertus Ras | 13 March 2017

"What a lovely weekend at Lexi's, you will not be disappointed. The unit was so quaint, but with more than enough facilities. Cutlery and crockery to feed an army, complimentary rusks, milk and bottled water. Seriously comfortable bed. Absolutely stunning views (especially from the bath!!). And the p..."

more

"What a lovely weekend at Lexi's, you will not be disappointed. The unit was so quaint, but with more than enough facilities. Cutlery and crockery to feed an army, complimentary rusks, milk and bottled water. Seriously comfortable bed. Absolutely stunning views (especially from the bath!!). And the peacefulness. We saw one other person during the weekend, and that was Austin waiting for us upon arrival. Oh, and the cows that grazed behind the unit. Other than that, nothing. It was sublime. We will definitely be back! I'm not sure how chilly it gets in winter, but there is a gas heater for the bedroom and an electric heater for downstairs. A fireplace would have been ideal, but that would mean we'll never leave the unit! Thank you so much Anton and Lene!"


"Awesome!!"

(South Africa) Alet Van Niekerk | 23 November 2016

"Romantic, cozy, private,breathtaking views!!!

Love it, Love it!! Love it!!"


"Tranquility at it's best!"

(South Africa) Amy | 7 November 2016

"We spent the last weekend at Lexi's Quirky Cottage and if isolation and peacefulness is what you're after, you won't find better! The cottage is well stocked with all the basics you may need, and a few extras like Tabard, rusks, some milk and bottled water ;) There are quite a lot of flies, and no a..."

more

"We spent the last weekend at Lexi's Quirky Cottage and if isolation and peacefulness is what you're after, you won't find better! The cottage is well stocked with all the basics you may need, and a few extras like Tabard, rusks, some milk and bottled water ;) There are quite a lot of flies, and no amount of insect repellent or Tabard can save you, but I suppose that comes with the territory. We had a wonderful weekend of relaxation! Thank you!"


"Lovely little getaway from the city!"

(South Africa) Dana Cato | 16 August 2016

"We stayed at Lexi's for an anniversary getaway weekend. Such a cute little place tucked away in the mountains, with views that are just out of this world! Wow! The peace and quiet was wonderful. The cottage was cosy and clean, and felt warm and welcoming upon our arrival! We were sad to leave, so we..."

more

"We stayed at Lexi's for an anniversary getaway weekend. Such a cute little place tucked away in the mountains, with views that are just out of this world! Wow! The peace and quiet was wonderful. The cottage was cosy and clean, and felt warm and welcoming upon our arrival! We were sad to leave, so we'll have to come back! :)"


"Weekend break away "

(South Africa) Judith Kearney | 4 July 2016

"We were blown away by the beautiful surroundings. The wind blowing hard at night made it sound like the earth was singing but inside we were warm and cozy. The bathtub experience, amazing. It's a little close to the main house and we are more hideways orientated but other than that... AMAZING!! And ..."

more

"We were blown away by the beautiful surroundings. The wind blowing hard at night made it sound like the earth was singing but inside we were warm and cozy. The bathtub experience, amazing. It's a little close to the main house and we are more hideways orientated but other than that... AMAZING!! And well kept. Fotos doesn't do it justice. Thank you Len�."


"Quirky love"

(South Africa) Loura Lindford | 29 February 2016

"From the moment we walked into the cottage, one could see and feel the love that goes into the place. Pictures doesn't do it justice, as it is even more beautiful. Even though it is self catering, the hosts made sure the small things are there, like coffe, tee, milk, and even homemade rusks! We real..."

more

"From the moment we walked into the cottage, one could see and feel the love that goes into the place. Pictures doesn't do it justice, as it is even more beautiful. Even though it is self catering, the hosts made sure the small things are there, like coffe, tee, milk, and even homemade rusks! We really enjoyed our stay, we just didn't spend enough time using all the faccilities as we were there for the Beerfest in Clarens but we will definetely return. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone!!"


"What an awesome Little place"

(South Africa) Tiaan Kotze | 11 January 2016

"We stayed in Lexi's quirky cottage. The first thing that took our breath away was the beautiful mountains ! and Views from the cottage. The cottage itself is exactly that quirky ! The Cottage is cute with a beautiful interior. It has everything you need.

It offers magnificent views of the val..."

more

"We stayed in Lexi's quirky cottage. The first thing that took our breath away was the beautiful mountains ! and Views from the cottage. The cottage itself is exactly that quirky ! The Cottage is cute with a beautiful interior. It has everything you need.

It offers magnificent views of the valley and surrounding mountains. The best was switching the lights off and lying in the bathtub watching the stars ! The farm is close enough to Clarens to go out meander around the little town.

Loved it !

"


"Perfect getaway from the city"

(South Africa) Tarryn | 4 May 2018

"We visited Roodepoort Farm in May 2018 and loved our stay. We stayed in the beautiful Lexi's Quirky Cottage - perfect for a couple with amazing views and doors both upstairs and downstairs that open completely really letting in nature. It was so relaxing and peaceful. Being a work farm there are she..."

more

"We visited Roodepoort Farm in May 2018 and loved our stay. We stayed in the beautiful Lexi's Quirky Cottage - perfect for a couple with amazing views and doors both upstairs and downstairs that open completely really letting in nature. It was so relaxing and peaceful. Being a work farm there are sheep that pass the cottage on the other side of the security fence but they add much entertainment. The mountains behind the cottage are breath taking and the hike is an absolute must with so many different views and canyons from the top to see.

It is a great stay for nature lovers and is not too far from town - there is however a dirt road which takes about 25 to 30 minutes to travel if going slowly. The quality of the road isn't bad but it is quite long - to be expected if you truly want to be away from the hustle and bustle, tucked away in a piece of paradise.

The cottage was well equipped with some lovely little touches on arrival and very clean. The wooden doors could use some maintenance or tlc. Apart from that our only drawback was that there wasn't a fireplace , which would have made this the ultimate stay. Electric blankets and heaters are included so we didn't feel the chilly nights but a fireplace would add that amazing ambiance.

Strongly recommend visiting.

"


"Breathtaking views and absolute tranquility"

(South Africa) Lloyd | 1 May 2018

"We stayed at Roodepoort Farm for the last 2 days of a 2 week long road trip through RSA. It was far beyond what the pictures could show and we had the absolute best time there. I would go back in a heartbeat!"


"Magical"

(South Africa) Beatrix | 29 January 2018

"We stayed in Lexi's Cottage and it was absolutely magical.
We will definitely be back."


"Relaxing stay"

(South Africa) Matshepiso | 1 November 2017

"I like the fact that the place was peaceful and quiet. It was private. I had a great view from my bedroom. The room was so spacious, clean and tidy. Very comfortable. The owners were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay at this resort and I would recommend it to others. "


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Roelene | 10 July 2017

"No words can describe how incredible our stay was. The view from our bedroom was spectacular. The place is so clean and comfortable. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. Staff helpful and accommodating. The facilities of the farm was a difference to your everyday normality. I enjoyed the pe..."

more

"No words can describe how incredible our stay was. The view from our bedroom was spectacular. The place is so clean and comfortable. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. Staff helpful and accommodating. The facilities of the farm was a difference to your everyday normality. I enjoyed the peace and quiet. We are planning to stay here again and I will recommend the place to anyone."


"Great Venue"

(South Africa) Michael | 22 February 2017

"The cottage itself was clean and fully equipped with everything I needed. We also had lots of privacy and the staff was great."


"Had A Really Good Time."

(South Africa) Karabo | 1 February 2017

"The service I received was good and the staff was welcoming. The place is quaint, it was clean and had a lovely view. We had a really good time."


"The Beauty Of The Earth"

(South Africa) Mathapelo | 12 January 2017

"The location is a beautiful display of God's splendor. It really makes the farm worth visiting.

Besides the bats that visit at night, the accommodation itself is lovely.

"


"A Very Good Stay"

(South Africa) Peter | 2 December 2016

"The location was well situated. It was clean and the bedrooms as well as the beds was comfortable. How everything was set-up was great. We enjoyed it and would go back again. I have already recommended the place to friends and family."


"Phenomenal Stay"

(South Africa) Francois | 4 November 2016

"We had a fantastic stay and would love to re-visit soon. The place is secluded and their facilities are actually really good. They certainly gave attention to detail which was great. The guy in charge was friendly and helpful. Rusks, coffee, tea, sugar and milk was provided in the cottage. If you wa..."

more

"We had a fantastic stay and would love to re-visit soon. The place is secluded and their facilities are actually really good. They certainly gave attention to detail which was great. The guy in charge was friendly and helpful. Rusks, coffee, tea, sugar and milk was provided in the cottage. If you want to have privacy then this is the place to be."


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 24 October 2016

"Our stay was really good. It was quirky and they had everything we needed and has met all our requirements. We enjoyed it so much."


"Excellent Value For Money"

(South Africa) Patrick | 26 September 2016

"We stayed in the cottage this past weekend and what a pleasant and stunning stay.
The cottage is very well equipped and such awesome decor, exactly what farm style determines.
We didn't get to meet the owners, but our very efficient and caring staff member, Austin, was on call. He greeted u..."

more

"We stayed in the cottage this past weekend and what a pleasant and stunning stay.
The cottage is very well equipped and such awesome decor, exactly what farm style determines.
We didn't get to meet the owners, but our very efficient and caring staff member, Austin, was on call. He greeted us and showed us around our cottage before making sure all was okay before leaving us. The next day, he popped his head in to make sure all was okay.

The surroundings call for reflection and peace. We will definitely return.

It was exactly what we needed and the farm itself is beautiful enough to enjoy what our beautiful country has to offer!"