Reviews of Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm


"Rustige verblyf."

(South Africa) Helena | 5 December 2021

"Annalie was friendly and hospitable. Food was delicious. Quiet stay on farm."


"Another great stay, at Van Zylsvlei"

(South Africa) John | 5 April 2021

"Another great stay, at Van Zylsvlei! This is the ideal stop over for a long trip. The older we get, the better it is to have a break on the long trips. Last year we drove through and were as tired from the long trip, as we were when we went on Leave. This year we celebrated my beautiful Wife's Birth..."

more

"Another great stay, at Van Zylsvlei! This is the ideal stop over for a long trip. The older we get, the better it is to have a break on the long trips. Last year we drove through and were as tired from the long trip, as we were when we went on Leave. This year we celebrated my beautiful Wife's Birthday with a drink and a lovely Karoo supper at Van Zylsvlei. It was something to look forward to as the suppers are always delicious. Our Hosts were as perfect as the accommodation was. It was a lovely interlude on a perfect Holiday. See you again next year!"


"Gasvryheid uit die boonste rakke!"

Mariana Hauptfleisch | 23 April 2017

"Ons het baie laat by akkommodasie aangekom met karavaan. Die ontvangs het sommer rondawel beskikbaar gestel sodat ons nie nog moes omry na karavaanpark. Heerlike ontbyt!"


"'"

(South Africa) Estelle Gaylard | 2 January 2017

"Perfect stopover between Joburg and Cape Town. Warm welcome from Annalie, the dogs and the little lamb. Rooms were neat and clean and the swimming pool most refreshing after a long hot drive."


"'"

(South Africa) Barbara McLean | 14 January 2016

"We have stayed at Van Zylsvlei on our trip to Johannesburg and back for the past 8 or 9 years. After a long hot road trip it is always so refreshing to stop at Van Zylsvlei and be met with a warm welcome by Annalie. We would recommend Van Zylsvlei to anyone wanting a secure pleasant overnight stay i..."

more

"We have stayed at Van Zylsvlei on our trip to Johannesburg and back for the past 8 or 9 years. After a long hot road trip it is always so refreshing to stop at Van Zylsvlei and be met with a warm welcome by Annalie. We would recommend Van Zylsvlei to anyone wanting a secure pleasant overnight stay in Colesberg."


"Very pleasant"

(South Africa) Bruce Finlayson | 16 October 2013

"Very pleasant. Rooms spotless. Food good. Friendly owners. What more could you want"


"Basic but lovely"

(South Africa) Naledi Sefoka | 7 June 2013

"We arrived at Van Zylsvlei on a cold winter's night and were met with a warm plate of food, a cozy room with a heater and hot water for a bath. We were traveling with our 4 month old son and the owner was more than happy to get his bottles washed and sterilised for us and on the whole this was a won..."

more

"We arrived at Van Zylsvlei on a cold winter's night and were met with a warm plate of food, a cozy room with a heater and hot water for a bath. We were traveling with our 4 month old son and the owner was more than happy to get his bottles washed and sterilised for us and on the whole this was a wonderful stay. It was fairly basic but had everything you could need for an overnight stay. I would stay here again."


"Bossie "

(South Africa) Bossie Boshoff | 7 January 2013

"We had a great one night stop over found the place spotless the dinner was awesome just sorry we had to leave again so early in the morning. My grand daughter had a ball seeing the buck and helping to feed the baby calf. I will definetly stop over again and recommend it to family and friends.
more

"We had a great one night stop over found the place spotless the dinner was awesome just sorry we had to leave again so early in the morning. My grand daughter had a ball seeing the buck and helping to feed the baby calf. I will definetly stop over again and recommend it to family and friends.

Thank you."


"Nice"

(South Africa) Hugh Deane | 21 September 2012

"Room comfortable. Very quiet and a nice breakfast."


"Pragtig"

(South Africa) Rika du Toit | 21 May 2012

"Gerieflike pragtige oornag verblyf - met pragtige linne! Perfekte pet-friendly akkommodasie. Kan dit verseker aanbeveel."


"Charming "

(South Africa) Kathy Cowling | 1 January 2012

"Set within lovely surroundings and the food was great."


"Fantastic surprise"

(South Africa) Philip Rounce | 18 July 2011

"After an unpleasant overnight stay at another venue in Colesberg on the way down to Grahamstown we were very worried about what to expect from our overnight stay booked at Van Zylsvlei on the return trip. We need not have worried. With a warm reception (by both the receptionist and the dogs), warm a..."

more

"After an unpleasant overnight stay at another venue in Colesberg on the way down to Grahamstown we were very worried about what to expect from our overnight stay booked at Van Zylsvlei on the return trip. We need not have worried. With a warm reception (by both the receptionist and the dogs), warm and clean room, hot water and extremely friendly service, we could not have been happier. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others. "


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Martie Coetzee | 16 July 2011

"Very enjoyable stay. Reception friendly and dinner and breakfast was super! We would have loved to spend some time in front of the fire, but due to gas shortages, it was not possible."


"Pleasantly surprised"

(South Africa) Herman Badenhorst | 21 May 2011

"We were pleasantly surprised. Excellent service and value for money. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The accommodation is simply superb and the food excellent. Thank you very much. We will certainly visit you again next time."


"Warmth it is"

(South Africa) Ebrahim Mahomed Vahed | 7 May 2011

"Warmth from the heart. Warmth to the bath. Warmth from the bed. Warmth, is all need said."


"Great"

(South Africa) stephan Keulder | 4 May 2011

"Uitstekende waarde vir geld, kan dit vir enige iemand aanbeveel.

Excellent value for money. Can recommend it to anyone."


"Recommend"

(South Africa) Christine Bester | 20 April 2011

"Very nice place. Friendly reception. Will use again and recommend to other people."


"Brilliant stopover"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 25 February 2011

"Great hospitality, great food and beer. The location is ideal. "


"Will be back"

(South Africa) Barbara McLean | 14 January 2011

"Stayed overnight on our way to Johannesburg and on our return to Cape Town. Van Zylsvlei is an oasis in the Karoo. Very comfortable accommodation and delightful home cooked meals. Been going there for years and will certainly return on our trips to Johannesburg."


"Friendly and helpful"

(South Africa) Melanie Payne | 5 January 2011

"I was there very briefly, just for an overnight stay, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again."


"Personal and friendly"

(South Africa) Michael Schutte | 12 July 2010

"The service was very personal and friendly. The kind you only get when the actual owners are running the place themselves. We felt very welcome and wish we could have stayed longer."


"Lovely experience"

(South Africa) Barbara McLean | 6 April 2010

"Annelie and Deon very friendly and hospitable hosts. Accommodation very comfortable and just what was required after the drive from Johannesburg. Been to van Zyls Vlei on numerous occasions and the experience of stopping over there just get better and better. Even in the middle of a Karoo thunder ..."

more

"Annelie and Deon very friendly and hospitable hosts. Accommodation very comfortable and just what was required after the drive from Johannesburg. Been to van Zyls Vlei on numerous occasions and the experience of stopping over there just get better and better. Even in the middle of a Karoo thunder storm power failure Annelie and Deon served the dinner without any problems. Quite an experience having dinner by oil lamp just as it would have served in days gone by. Well done Annelie and Deon look forward to seeing you on our next trip to Johannesburg."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Paul du Toit | 29 March 2010

"Relaxing, quiet!!!"


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Angela Binneman | 25 March 2010

"We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Warm reception and great food! "


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Josef Valis | 23 March 2010

"Nice rondavels, quiet and safe place. Real value for money.

Will stay there again and recommend to my friends."


"Karoo Hospitality"

(South Africa) Gerhard Schoombie | 23 March 2010

"Real Karoo hospitality and tranquillity. We enjoyed our stay very much"


"Recommended"

(South Africa) stephen Posthumus | 16 February 2010

"We had a wonderful stay at van Zylsvlei."


"Lovely overnight stay!"

(South Africa) Diane Macnamara | 25 January 2010

"We will definitely be staying over again, on our next trip!!!"


"Overnight stop"

(South Africa) Don Hodgkinson | 17 January 2010

"An ideal overnight stop between Durban (or Johannesburg) and Cape Town.

The Eskom power outage was well managed and did not cause undue inconvenience."


"Our stay at Van Zyls Vlei"

(South Africa) Lynn Brammer | 8 January 2010

"Very warm welcome by wonderful hosts. Spotlessly clean and everything one needs after a long trip. Delicious home cooked meals. Very tranquil and peaceful surrounds. We will definitely be back again. Many thanks. Lynn & Uwe Brammer - Amanzimtoti, Kwa Zulu Natal."


"Good value for money."

(South Africa) Alastair Lawrence | 6 January 2010

"Charming hosts, well organised, clean and comfortable accommodation, enjoyable meals, quiet and restful environment. "


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Moira Richards | 9 September 2009

"Clean, comfortable, very peaceful and restful, Friendly service by owner Dion."


" Aandete en ontbyt was heerlik!"

(South Africa) Johan Hattingh | 18 July 2009

"Annelie is Õn uitstekende, vriendelike en borrelende gasvrou. Die akkommodasie was gerieflik en het in ons behoeftes voorsien, (al was dit die koudste tyd van die jaar in Colesberg!!), aandete en ontbyt was heerlik!"


"Baie vriendelik"

(South Africa) Gert Havenga | 8 January 2009

"Ons gesin- totaal van 9 volwassenes en 6 kinders,- het aldaar oorgebly op 2/01/2009. Die ontvangs was baie vriendelik en die swembad het lekker verligting gebring na 'n lang dag se reis.Hoewel die kamers basies is, het dit voldoen aan die vereistes.

'n Heerlike boere ete teen 'n baie billike ..."

more

"Ons gesin- totaal van 9 volwassenes en 6 kinders,- het aldaar oorgebly op 2/01/2009. Die ontvangs was baie vriendelik en die swembad het lekker verligting gebring na 'n lang dag se reis.Hoewel die kamers basies is, het dit voldoen aan die vereistes.

'n Heerlike boere ete teen 'n baie billike prys is smaakvol voorgesit en is baie geniet. Baie dankie vir die vriendelike ontvangs deur beide Deon en Analie. "


"Very pleasant stay. "

(South Africa) Joan Rankin | 26 November 2008

" The staff were hospitable and friendly and the dinner was enjoyable. "


"Pet Friendly"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 15 September 2008

"Comfortable & relaxing.

I was particularly happy that my dog was made welcome"


"Thank you for a lovely experience!"

(South Africa) Charles Hopkins | 25 July 2008

"We were a group of 17 conference goers who needed last minute instructions to reach the place, and were directed with friendliness. Annelie and Deon were most helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed a dinner (with pudding) we slept well and appreciated the wonderful Karoo morning."


"Baie geniet"

(South Africa) JOHAN STEENKAMP | 21 July 2008

"Ek en my pas getroude vrou het die verblyf by Van Zyls Vlei baie geniet. Baie dankie vir julle gasvryeid en behulpsaamheid. "


"Great service, good stay"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 8 July 2008

"What really impressed me was the time it took for the hostess to get back to us after booking online. It was 19:30 or later and it only took a couple of minutes to book our reservation online with her. The stay was also really great and I was glad to see that we were allowed to bring our pets along."


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Lance Palmer | 20 April 2008

"Only stayed over night , but enjoyed our short time there. Hosts were friendly and accommodating ."


"Enjoyed our stay"

(South Africa) Helen Walker | 15 April 2008

"Really enjoyed it. Thank you very much for the hospitality! will be back!!!"


"Very good"

(New Zealand) Hans Pretorius. | 10 March 2008

"Our hosts were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, we recommend the food, it was really good. Nothing was too much for our hosts!! We only stayed 1 night but would definitely stay there again if we travel through the Karoo!!"


"Very friendly hosts."

(South Africa) Henry van der Walt | 15 January 2008

"Very satisfied with the accommodation and food."


"A great relaxed stay"

(South Africa) Moira Richards | 9 January 2008

"The place was clean, comfy, quiet and the hosts friendly and helpful. Dinner was excellent Karoo lamb and Malva pudding !"


"Enjoyed"

(South Africa) sandy hurdial | 8 January 2008

"We enjoyed the stay especially my girls. There was a nice open garden where they played volleyball with their dad, while I relaxed and enjoyed the quiteness"


"We had a great stay"

(Germany) Anonymous | 7 January 2008

" -compliments to the new owners "


"Good"

(South Africa) carol crandon | 5 January 2008

"Good place to stop over - stayed one night"


"Good"

(South Africa) Karen Beukmann | 1 January 2008

"Friendly, nice and clean. "


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 28 December 2007

"We enjoyed our stay at this establishment."


"Value for money"

(South Africa) Kim Hough | 24 December 2007

"Very pleasant. Comfortable beds. Real value for money."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Ashleigh Walker | 27 November 2007

"I was well received in a very homely type of establishment. The hosts and staff are very friendly and accommodating and the stay was enjoyable. I made use of the facility again on my return from Cape Town because I had enjoyed the stay there and was welcomed even though at short notice and arriving ..."

more

"I was well received in a very homely type of establishment. The hosts and staff are very friendly and accommodating and the stay was enjoyable. I made use of the facility again on my return from Cape Town because I had enjoyed the stay there and was welcomed even though at short notice and arriving at a later hour. Despite the lateness of the hour, I was also provided with a meal as requested. "


"Many thanks"

(South Africa) Jane Hudson | 8 July 2007

"Have just returned from an SA-wide tour. Van Zylsvlei was our first stop and measured up very well against all the B&B's we stayed in and significantly better than some! Many thanks to Annalie for attention to detail and a genuine concern for our comfort and pleasure. Would recommend this facilit..."

more

"Have just returned from an SA-wide tour. Van Zylsvlei was our first stop and measured up very well against all the B&B's we stayed in and significantly better than some! Many thanks to Annalie for attention to detail and a genuine concern for our comfort and pleasure. Would recommend this facility to anyone."


"Enjoyed stay"

(South Africa) dave symm | 2 July 2007

"We were very comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast. Will use again for over night from Cape to Gauteng."


"Perfect oasis"

(South Africa) John Oliver | 28 June 2007

"Arrived late in the dark and left early in the dark. All arrangements worked out fine. Perfect oasis on trip from KZN to Cape. Comfortable, quiet, warm and reasonably priced."


"Overnight May 19 2007"

(South Africa) Dave Rushman | 25 May 2007

"A very WARM welcome at reception from Annalie. The room, although basic, was very comfortable apart from sagging bed. Great country atmosphere with good food and friendly barman(Deon). Will definitely use this stop-over again. "


"Stay at van Zyl"

(South Africa) jacobus Groenewald | 8 May 2007

"It was wonderful.

The food the room were excellent and

We got a very friendly welcome"


"Very good"

(South Africa) NOEL BRINTON | 19 April 2007

"Annalie was very hospitable."


"Feedback on stay"

(South Africa) John Coetzee | 14 March 2007

"Experience was friendly and efficient.

Perhaps better signage to bar facilities?

Also the exit road North does not say 'To N1' which would give more confidence when turning onto gravel road (I understand this is a municipal not B&B issue)

I have already recommended to a friend..."

more

"Experience was friendly and efficient.

Perhaps better signage to bar facilities?

Also the exit road North does not say 'To N1' which would give more confidence when turning onto gravel road (I understand this is a municipal not B&B issue)

I have already recommended to a friend who is travelling on 28th March."


"Great to overnight on your way to Cape Town"

Anonymous | 15 January 2007

"Van Zyl's is a great place to overnight on your way to Cape Town. The food is very traditional and very tasty."


"Stay-over"

(South Africa) Taryn Azevedo | 8 January 2007

"The experience at Van Zylsvlei was excellent from start to finish. We arrived late at night, and arrangements were made for our late check-in. The accommodation, although basic, is neat and tidy and the Rondavel offers a unique experience. "


"Good value"

(South Africa) Tony Lydall | 6 January 2007

"The hosts were friendly and helpful and made our stay as pleasant as possible, compensating to a large extent for the fairly basic facilities eg no TV in one of our rooms. However, at the price, we got good value and would definitely consider staying there again."


"THANKS!"

(South Africa) Lorretta Muller | 2 January 2007

"Baie dankie vir jul vriendelikheid, die kos was baie lekker, die kamer is gerieflik genoeg vir oorslaap alhoewel die bed minder gerieflik was, (het met seer rug opgestaan) ons sou 'n TV in die kamer waardeer het as deel van die pakket. In die algemeen voldoen aan vereistes net vir 'n gewone oorslaa..."

more

"Baie dankie vir jul vriendelikheid, die kos was baie lekker, die kamer is gerieflik genoeg vir oorslaap alhoewel die bed minder gerieflik was, (het met seer rug opgestaan) ons sou 'n TV in die kamer waardeer het as deel van die pakket. In die algemeen voldoen aan vereistes net vir 'n gewone oorslaap."


"Lovely setting"

(South Africa) Thomas Surmon | 21 April 2006

"Yes we enjoyed our stay thank you - room was lovely and clean - plenty of space - will definitly call again.

Lovely setting."


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) Stefanie | 13 February 2017

"The accommodation was really nice. Everything went really well with our stay, it was in fact a marvelous experience. The staff was helpful and it’s a lovely place for a stopover."


"Very Nice Stay"

(South Africa) Sue | 9 February 2017

"I loved the convenient location, the good food and the fact that the place had everything we needed. It was a perfect stopover on our way to the coast."


"Excellent stay"

(South Africa) Anna | 26 January 2017

"We had an overnight stay at van Zylsvlei. The hosts were friendly and extremely helpful. The accommodation was spotless and very comfortable. We also had dinner in the on-site dining room. Delicious Karoo lamb and tasty puddings. All in all highly recommended."


"Always A Pleasure Ataying At Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Japie | 9 January 2017

"I’ve been staying at Van Zyksvlei for about 20 years now and I always enjoy it there. I always go back for more, because the place is nice, the food is always delicious and the staff gives the greatest service. My stay is always pleasant and that is why I enjoy going back."


"Friendly"

(South Africa) Barend | 2 November 2016

"I really liked it at Van Zylsvlei B&B. The place is nice, tidy and everyone was friendly. "


"Pleasant Surprise"

(South Africa) Madèle | 10 October 2016

"Wow! Lovely. Friendly owners. Waited for us even though we arrived a bit later. Loved the bar and supper was great. Rooms were neat and everything smelled fresh. We had a lovely night's sleep and would definitely stay over again."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) pieter | 16 September 2016

"I enjoyed my stay at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm, everything was in order. The service was great and I had absolutely no problems."


"Fabulous Stay"

(South Africa) Catherine | 1 June 2016

"We had a wonderful stay, a very lovely place. The guest house is well maintained and well organised. The owner was very hospitable and friendly, they made us feel really welcome. It was a wonderful stopover in the middle of nowhere, we had a great stay."


"Awesome Stay"

(South Africa) Adille | 18 April 2016

"We had a super fantastic stay, everything was really nice. The rondawel was lovely and the whole environment of the B&B was amazing. Breakfast was also really delicious. Thank you for a great overnight stay!"


"Clean and Friendly"

(South Africa) anonymous | 22 January 2016

"Room was clean and nice. Family room is good for 3 kids and 2 adults. All staff was kind and friendly."


"My wonderful stay at Van Zylsvlei B & B Guest Farm "

(South Africa) Jacob | 10 January 2016

"The rooms were beautifully furnished which helped us to have a wonderful sleep. We really enjoyed our stay at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm."


"Great Stay"

(Japan) Hiroyuki | 6 January 2016

"I had an awesome stay at this establishment. The service and staff were five star quality and the rooms very clean and tidy. I will recommend to friends and family and will certainly be back to re-visit."


"Awesome Establishment"

(South Africa) Michelle | 4 January 2016

"Our stay at this establishment was nothing less than fantastic. I really enjoyed my stay and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The service was amazing as well. I will highly recommend this establishment and will definitely re-visit."


"Excellent Establishment"

(South Africa) Ilona | 29 December 2015

"My stay at this establishment was fantastic. It wasnt our first time being here so we felt right at home. I would definitely recommend and will definitely revisit :)"


"Perfect."

(South Africa) Ben | 3 December 2015

"They never disappointed us one bit. The service is good; the rooms are clean and neat. I will recommend them to others. They had everything we needed."


"What a wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Herman | 18 November 2015

"We were on our way back from Sedgefield and we were looking for a place to sleep over when we found this little gem.
The staff was friendly and professional and booking was painless.
I will definitely use this place again.
"


"Colesburg stay "

(South Africa) anonymous | 14 September 2015

"A friend of ours recommended this place to us and I must say we had such a pleasant time! We only stayed one night but everything was in order and we would refer others as well."


"A regular"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 May 2015

"We have used this accommodation a few times already and are very happy with it. People should give it a try."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Schild | 22 April 2015

"What an excellent time it was here as everything was an absolute pleasure for us."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Terblanche | 22 January 2015

"We have stayed at Van Zylsvlei often and they never disappoint. The service is good; the rooms are clean and neat. I will recommend them to others."


"Nice Stay"

(South Africa) Conradie | 22 January 2015

"I had a nice stay at Van Zylsvlei. It was clean and comfortable. They had everything we needed. I will recommend them to others."


"Nice"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 January 2015

"I had a nice stay. It was a nice place for a break. They have everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable. I will recommend them to others."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Mr Nel | 20 January 2015

"I had a good stay at Van Zylsvlei. It had everything I needed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I will recommend them to others. "


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Schuttler | 14 January 2015

"I had a good stay. The rooms were neat and clean. I will recommend them to others. "


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Potgieter | 13 January 2015

"I had a lovely stay at Van Zylsvlei. The people were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were neat and comfortable. I will recommend them to others. "


"Dogs welcome"

(South Africa) Burke | 8 January 2015

"Van Zylsvlei is a great stop over when travelling from CT to Joburg.
For us it was about accommodating our dog & the staff & owners are very dog friendly people. Rooms are comfortable, food is basic but tasty and there is a good bar to grab a drink after a long journey.
"


"Lovely Place"

(South Africa) Mrs Hauser | 5 January 2015

"We spent one night at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm on our way down to Plettenberg Bay in December 2014. Our rondaval was really clean and modern. Breakfast was very filling and well presented. We will definitely be back on our next trip down to the Cape."


"Van Zylsvlei"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 December 2014

"They are very hospitable and know how to make you feel welcome. I will recommend them to others."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 December 2014

"I had a really good stay. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. "


"Friendly and accomodating"

(South Africa) Shannon | 6 June 2014

"We stayed over at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm both on our way to Cape Town and back to Johannesburg. It is easily located just off the highway and doesn't require any major detour, making it very convenient. The reception was very friendly (the friendly dogs are the first to greet you!) and accommod..."

more

"We stayed over at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm both on our way to Cape Town and back to Johannesburg. It is easily located just off the highway and doesn't require any major detour, making it very convenient. The reception was very friendly (the friendly dogs are the first to greet you!) and accommodating to our arrival hours. The little rondawels are very neat and cozy. Highly recommended!"


"Pleasantly surprised"

(South Africa) Mr de Waal | 14 April 2014

"We pre- arranged for late arrival with Van Zyl's, and arrived well after dark. The rondawel where we stayed was clean, and well appointed. Top quality bedding. The bathroom is spacious and the shower enormous. We enjoyed a freshly prepared supper in the dining room. Surprisingly, the wait for supper..."

more

"We pre- arranged for late arrival with Van Zyl's, and arrived well after dark. The rondawel where we stayed was clean, and well appointed. Top quality bedding. The bathroom is spacious and the shower enormous. We enjoyed a freshly prepared supper in the dining room. Surprisingly, the wait for supper was not long (I've waited longer at fast food establishments). All in all, this will be our stop-over of choice from now on."


"short stay"

(South Africa) Hennie du Plessis | 7 April 2014

"Our stay was only a few hours - from 23h00 until 05h30. Although we didn't even meet our host, everything was well organized over the phone and was done as promised. We slept like babies in the cosy room and was off early after a nice cup of coffee. Thank you, we will visit again and definitely reco..."

more

"Our stay was only a few hours - from 23h00 until 05h30. Although we didn't even meet our host, everything was well organized over the phone and was done as promised. We slept like babies in the cosy room and was off early after a nice cup of coffee. Thank you, we will visit again and definitely recommend Van Zylsvlei to friends and family. "


"Fatastic place"

(South Africa) Mr Brazier | 5 March 2014

"Thank you for a lovely stay. We've been here before and still love it. The staff are friendly and we will recommend to others."


"Abe Uys"

(South Africa) Abe Uys | 24 February 2014

"This facility is strategically situated, and well managed.
The facilities are adequate for a stopover and is recommended.
"


"Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Mrs Fletcher | 10 January 2014

"There is a nice country atmosphere and I loved the chickens in the grounds which gave it a nice rural feel."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Mrs Medcalf | 7 January 2014

"Was the perfect place to stay after a long drive, we were tired & the welcome received was wonderful. Rooms were very clean & the Dinner & service was amazing.
We would definitely stay again & recommend to everyone.

"


"Overnight at Van Zyl's Vlei"

(South Africa) Louis + Elize Coffey | 8 July 2013

"It was great to stay at Van Zyl's Vlei again after a 5 year absence.The service and hospitality were much appreciated."


"A Jewel"

(South Africa) Mr Mouton | 4 April 2013

"What a relief and fantastic place to stay after 1200 km driving through severe traffic conditions and road works. We had a friendly reception and a good nights sleep. "


"A little oasis of Karoo peace"

(South Africa) Dr marshall | 2 February 2013

"Driving into the gravel drive way, the first impression one has is of a smiling welcome, then a happy greeting from a friendly little Dachshund and two Labradors. A calf is quite likely to be resting under a tree to watching you in typical ruminative bovine fashion. The rondavels are thatched and co..."

more

"Driving into the gravel drive way, the first impression one has is of a smiling welcome, then a happy greeting from a friendly little Dachshund and two Labradors. A calf is quite likely to be resting under a tree to watching you in typical ruminative bovine fashion. The rondavels are thatched and cool with excellent bathrooms attached. All is spotless and clean. Tea and coffee is available in each room and the facility is licensed should anything stronger be required. The food is more than adequate after a long days travel. The Karoo peace and marvelous starry nights seep into you, and the evening is marvelously cool after the heat of the day. All this is a pleasure to experience at Van Zylsvlei. I highly recommend this facility as an overnight resting place for anyone passing through Colesburg."


"Overnight at Van Zylsvlei"

(South Africa) anonymous | 10 January 2013

"Found the stay at the farm very enjoyable, with the hosts being very friendly and helpful to assist us with a car problem. The environment was relaxing and the big trees cool and calming after a hot days driving. The food was very good and also reasonably priced. The room was clean and very functio..."

more

"Found the stay at the farm very enjoyable, with the hosts being very friendly and helpful to assist us with a car problem. The environment was relaxing and the big trees cool and calming after a hot days driving. The food was very good and also reasonably priced. The room was clean and very functional. "


"One Nights Stay in the Karoo"

(South Africa) Mr Morrison | 30 December 2012

"A warm welcome met us and was offered drink at the bar while waiting for our room. Once settled in our clean adequate room though basic. We took a walk to the pool that turned out to be a real adventure. Along the way we met the baby calf, the springboks (no not the rugby team, a real bok family) an..."

more

"A warm welcome met us and was offered drink at the bar while waiting for our room. Once settled in our clean adequate room though basic. We took a walk to the pool that turned out to be a real adventure. Along the way we met the baby calf, the springboks (no not the rugby team, a real bok family) and the friendly dogs. We opted to eat in the comfortable dining area, a set menu that is selected before 6 pm. As we sat down at 7 pm our meal came out like clock work by a smiling waitress. A real home cooked meal, well presented and generous portions helped these tired travelers sleep. The room was a little hot even with the ceiling fan on full blast, well I guess that’s the Karoo for you. I give Van Zylsvlei a big thumbs up the kids loved it, the wife slept like a baby and me? Well I wrote this review. "


"Lekker Rustig! [Nice and Quiet]!"

(South Africa) Fanus Venter | 24 December 2012

"Hoewel die oppervlakte van die teerpad vanaf Colesberg na Van Zylsvlei sleg is, is dit steeds die moeite werd om hulle te besoek en daar oor te slaap. Die atmosfeer en die mense is wonderlik! Die storm (amper het dit gehael) was onverwags, maar die ontvangs was BAIE hartlik! ons het die kos en die v..."

more

"Hoewel die oppervlakte van die teerpad vanaf Colesberg na Van Zylsvlei sleg is, is dit steeds die moeite werd om hulle te besoek en daar oor te slaap. Die atmosfeer en die mense is wonderlik! Die storm (amper het dit gehael) was onverwags, maar die ontvangs was BAIE hartlik! ons het die kos en die verblyf regtig geniet.


[Translation by Google Translate]

Although the surface of the road from Colesberg from Zylsvlei was bad, it's still worth to visit and sleep over them. The atmosphere and the people are wonderful! The storm was unexpected, but the reception was very warmly! we really enjoyed the food and the accommodation."


"Thank You for Great Service"

(South Africa) Ms M Visser | 1 October 2012

"I want to give a special thank you to Annalie at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm for accommodating us.

We arrived quite late, 1 am, on Friday the 28th September and the key to our room was conveniently left at reception with a note as to where to find our room. The overall look of the room/cott..."

more

"I want to give a special thank you to Annalie at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm for accommodating us.

We arrived quite late, 1 am, on Friday the 28th September and the key to our room was conveniently left at reception with a note as to where to find our room. The overall look of the room/cottage was great. It was very neat and very clean. All in all it was a great place to stay and I would most definitely recommend Van Zylsvlei to anyone looking for accommodation in Colesberg.

Thanks again Annalie for everything.

Best Regards
Moné Visser
"


"Moeg gery"

(South Africa) anonymous | 25 September 2012

"We enjoyed staying in the facilities for our convenience after a long drive from Mossel Bay and after the excellent breakfast taking on the next phase of our journey to Vereeniging. Thank you for the pleasant and friendly atmosphere being created at lodge and we will be using it more in the future."


"Heart- warming stay in the Karoo"

(South Africa) Mrs Kotze | 3 May 2012

"Very nice place, friendly people, warm atmosphere, good food, nice dining. Room were everybody joins in conversation, cute parrot, nice beds! Overall: I recommend this place! Thanks Annalie!"


"Pleasing"

(South Africa) Mr Van Zanten | 2 May 2012

"Clean and neat establishment. Good food. The owners are animal lovers."


"Comfortable room with beautiful bathroom"

(South Africa) Mrs Pienaar | 18 January 2012

"We were welcomed very friendly and I was very surprised to see such a huge bedroom and beautiful bathroom! We really enjoyed our stay.

"


"Van Zyl's Vlei; a great place to stay over night"

(South Africa) Mike Ashford | 10 January 2012

"We have stayed overnight several times during the past 4 years and each time we like it more. It has been slowly renovated and offers friendly and helpful service, home cooking and a really laid-back dog to complete the picture. Being able to park next to your room is a big plus for older people and..."

more

"We have stayed overnight several times during the past 4 years and each time we like it more. It has been slowly renovated and offers friendly and helpful service, home cooking and a really laid-back dog to complete the picture. Being able to park next to your room is a big plus for older people and strolling around under the stars without the need for security walls is a pleasure. We will definitely be back! "


"Basic but Wonderful Hospitality."

(South Africa) anonymous | 31 December 2011

"We had a wonderful welcome and the food is excellent.

They are currently renovating so our room was quite basic.
"


"We enjoyed our stay."

(South Africa) Mr Versfeld | 29 December 2011

"On 19 December 2011 my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm.
The reception was very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed supper while we were there and found the service good and the food pleasant.
The only change we would like to see is that the sliding door..."

more

"On 19 December 2011 my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm.
The reception was very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed supper while we were there and found the service good and the food pleasant.
The only change we would like to see is that the sliding door, separating the bathroom from the bedroom, be replaced by a normal door as it had been some time in the past.
We would recommend Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm to anyone wanting a place to rest."


"Overnight @ Van Zylsvlei B & B"

(South Africa) Mrs Gouws | 17 December 2011

"A warm welcome awaited us and the food was deliciously, farm style and home cooked. Very clean and neat bedrooms and bathrooms.
Already recommended Van Zylsvlei to friends and family! "


"Perfect overnight venue"

(South Africa) Mr van der Westhuizen | 12 December 2011

"Ons oornag by Van Zylsvlei was net wat ons wou gehad het. Die kamers het alles gehad wat ons nodig het en was pynlik netjies en skoon. Almal was baie gasvry en behulpsaam. Ons sal ook weer teruggaan net vir die kos - die skaaptjops was heerlik.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

Our over..."

more

"Ons oornag by Van Zylsvlei was net wat ons wou gehad het. Die kamers het alles gehad wat ons nodig het en was pynlik netjies en skoon. Almal was baie gasvry en behulpsaam. Ons sal ook weer teruggaan net vir die kos - die skaaptjops was heerlik.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

Our overnight at Van Zylsvlei was just what we wanted. The rooms had everything we needed and was painfully neat and clean. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. We will go back just for the food - the lamb chops were delicious."


"Pleasant stay in Van Zylsvlei B&B"

(Netherlands) Mrs Karsijns | 8 December 2011

"The lady and her husband welcomed us very warmly. We had a good night in their rondavel and a lovely breakfast."


"Short but pleasing stay."

(South Africa) Ms Harling | 15 March 2011

"We arrived late and in the rain to the guest farm but thanks to the excellent directions provided we found our way there without a problem even seeing some bunnies along the drive. When we arrived we were greeted by two wonderfully friendly dogs and a super star manager. After a quick explanation an..."

more

"We arrived late and in the rain to the guest farm but thanks to the excellent directions provided we found our way there without a problem even seeing some bunnies along the drive. When we arrived we were greeted by two wonderfully friendly dogs and a super star manager. After a quick explanation and payment we were sent on our way to the cottage we'd booked. It was clean, tidy with enough space for all our stuff and enough hot water for three much needed showers.

Unfortunately our stay was short and we weren't able to experience the food etc but we'll definitely be making our way there again on our next trip hopefully for a longer stay. I definitely will be recommending this guest house to any friends or family travelling in that direction."


"Christmas Eve at Van Zylsvlei B&B - Home away from home"

(South Africa) Ms Waldeck | 8 January 2011

"Christmas Eve at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm, created memories that will last a long time. We were greeted with warm friendly smiles, from where we were taken to a lovely, comfortable family room with crispy white bedding where we could rest after our long journey. Karoo chops, ribs, salads, Christm..."

more

"Christmas Eve at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm, created memories that will last a long time. We were greeted with warm friendly smiles, from where we were taken to a lovely, comfortable family room with crispy white bedding where we could rest after our long journey. Karoo chops, ribs, salads, Christmas cake and Malva pudding to die for. It was prepared especially by the hostess as she realised that Colesberg would not be offering us anything nearly as good. The Guest Farm, was that night the next best place to home, with guests talking and laughing around the fire as if they were old friends. I leave you with this remark from my two children aged 11 and 13....“Those people were so friendly... can we go and visit them next time when we drive down to Cape Town?” Allow yourself to stop over and experience real Karoo hospitality at its best."


"Karoo stopover"

(South Africa) Ms White | 8 January 2011

"Not wanting to do the long haul between Cape Town and Joburg in one day, we opted for a midway Karoo stop at the Van Zyl's Vlei Motel. We enjoyed a friendly welcome from the owners and dogs, pottered around the resort which has a pool for those hot Karoo summer days. Walked at bit in the Karoo bus..."

more

"Not wanting to do the long haul between Cape Town and Joburg in one day, we opted for a midway Karoo stop at the Van Zyl's Vlei Motel. We enjoyed a friendly welcome from the owners and dogs, pottered around the resort which has a pool for those hot Karoo summer days. Walked at bit in the Karoo bush and took in the fresh Karoo air, watched the sunset, and had an early evening braai outside our double rondavel, before collapsing into bed under the cool thatch for the night. The resort was clean, as were the rooms. We didn't stay for breakfast as we left early the next morning. It's also nice that it's just outside of Colesburg, not in the hub-bub of the town, and was a welcome oasis in the dry Karoo scrub! "


"Van Zylsvlei December 2010"

(South Africa) anonymous | 3 January 2011

"The Motel was exactly as expected. Clean comfortable and ideal for an overnight stop on the way to Cape Town. The meals were wholesome and the service was good."


"Pleasant Surprise"

(South Africa) Mrs Michau | 6 December 2010

"I was so pleasantly surprised by Van Zylsvlei. One never quite knows what to expect. I received such a warm welcome from Anneli, and was immediately shown to a lovely spacious room with a newly renovated large shower. The room was attractively furnished and the setting is so tranquil. It was lovely ..."

more

"I was so pleasantly surprised by Van Zylsvlei. One never quite knows what to expect. I received such a warm welcome from Anneli, and was immediately shown to a lovely spacious room with a newly renovated large shower. The room was attractively furnished and the setting is so tranquil. It was lovely to wander around the grounds and relax before enjoying a delicious home cooked dinner.
I can definitely recommend Van Zylsvlei and look forward to visiting again."


"van zyl's vlei"

(South Africa) Mr Barrett | 26 October 2010

"Our stay at van Zyl's vlei B&B was most enjoyable. The host and hostess were most gracious and helpful. The accommodation and the meals were very good."


"Good place to rest"

(South Africa) Mr Bass | 3 August 2010

"Good accommodation. Very clean and very neat. Friendly hosts who attend to every need. Also, the dogs on the property also make you very welcome and even go walking with you!"


"Weary travellers"

(South Africa) Ms wakeford | 21 March 2010

"Great stop over en route to the Eastern Cape. Friendly hosts. Best lamb for dinner! "


"Extremely pleasant stop over"

(South Africa) Mr Alborough | 19 March 2010

"The Van Zylsvlei B&B was a fantastic place to stop over! The people were very friendly and created a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The accommodation was great and the food fantastic!

I will definitely recommend this B&B to all travelling in this part of the world.
"


"Peaceful stopover"

(South Africa) Mr Kavonic | 17 January 2010

"Very pleasant and clean - easy to find and far enough away from the highway and town to drown out any traffic noises. Very welcoming and friendly hosts - nice to sit and have a beer in the garden after a long trip."


"van Zyl's Vlei - oasis for weary travellers"

(South Africa) Mrs Oelofse | 5 January 2010

"Since my childhood our holiday destination has always been the Western Cape. In those days we used to travel the "old road" and either stayed over in Colesberg or Beaufort West. For the past few years my husband and I travelled the "new road" and did not always stay over at one of the many halfway..."

more

"Since my childhood our holiday destination has always been the Western Cape. In those days we used to travel the "old road" and either stayed over in Colesberg or Beaufort West. For the past few years my husband and I travelled the "new road" and did not always stay over at one of the many halfway stops. This year we decided to make our stay over part of our holiday. I remembered having seen the Van Zyl's vlei sign on the N1 and decided to enquire about available accommodation. We were very fortunate to get a booking and with great anticipation looked forward to our visit there!
We were not disappointed! We were met by a very friendly Mrs Annalie Dohne and immediately felt at home. Mr Dohne who served us in the bar was also a very generous host. Even Grandma who seems to help out with the admin made us feel welcome. Our rondavel was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities required. (Who in any event wants to watch television if you can sit outside and gaze at the stars!) The Karoo lamb which we had for dinner was superb! I can only conclude that our stay at Van Zyl's Vlei matched our expectations and I trust that the Dohne's will continue to deliver their good service in 2010 and that it will be a prosperous year for them and be an oasis to many other weary travellers!"


"Van Zylsvlei"

(South Africa) Ms JOUBERT | 4 January 2010

"My room was perfect and clean. The host and staff was very helpful and so friendly. I had a very good breakfast. I am recommending this venue to my friends and clients and will surely book in advance for my next trip to the Cape!
Excellent value for money!
Thanks a lot!"


"Great Place to stay"

(South Africa) Ms Weaver | 4 January 2010

"After a long journey from JHB it was great to be received with such vigour from Annelie & Deon.
Rooms are lovey & food is wonderful. Thank you for all you hospitality - we will definitely see you when we next travel to Knysna!"


"Homely atmosphere"

(South Africa) Mr Mamburu | 1 January 2010

"The reception was excellent and the meals were good. Rooms good for the purpose of overnight stay while on route somewhere. "


"Very family friendly"

(South Africa) Mrs Laughland | 16 December 2009

"The B & B was very quaint and super for my 4 young boys. They were able to ride their bikes, feed the rabbits and have a swim in the farm like pool. The hospitality was great. Thank you for a very good nights sleep."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Ms Coetzer | 7 December 2009

"It is a lovely place to stay, they even provide mosquito repellent. The owners are very professional, and let every guest feel at home. The food was really good. We will really recommend it to every one that will be travelling on that route."


"Friendly owners"

(South Africa) Mr van de Giessen | 23 November 2009

"The owners went out their way to make it nice and comfortable. Food outstanding."


"Evaluation: Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Mr Kruger | 23 October 2009

"I was impressed with the professionalism and high level of electronic technology involved in the reservation of the accommodation process. Being situated about 5 km out of town lends a pleasing country atmosphere to the guest facility. The affordable accommodation was neat and catered for all our ne..."

more

"I was impressed with the professionalism and high level of electronic technology involved in the reservation of the accommodation process. Being situated about 5 km out of town lends a pleasing country atmosphere to the guest facility. The affordable accommodation was neat and catered for all our needs required for an overnight stay. If the fresh air and quiet surroundings of a country farm is your requirement, then this guest farm is a must as your overnight stay between Gauteng and the Western Cape."


"Good Service At No Extra Cost."

(South Africa) Mr Haasbroek | 6 October 2009

"We were two families coming back from Knysna on our way home to Heidelberg (Gauteng). We arrived at Van Zylsvlei at 22H30 and the staff were at their posts with a smile. The accommadation was neat and clean. Just what the doctor ordered for a sleepy head. The next morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfa..."

more

"We were two families coming back from Knysna on our way home to Heidelberg (Gauteng). We arrived at Van Zylsvlei at 22H30 and the staff were at their posts with a smile. The accommadation was neat and clean. Just what the doctor ordered for a sleepy head. The next morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast to fill the tummies for the long road.
Very well done. Thank you.
"


"Van Zyl's"

(South Africa) Mr Lander | 1 October 2009

"A good stay over in the middle of the Karoo basic but comfortable and the owners were friendly and committed to make the business a success.
We wish them all of the best during their upgrade and will recommend them to our friends."


"Lovely surroundings...homely atmosphere"

(South Africa) Mr Lombaard | 21 July 2009

"Van Zyl's B and B is a little gem in the Colesberg area. Friendly staff make one feel at home immediately. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished. I will most certainly stay there when I pass through Colesberg again. "


"Northern Cape Welcome"

(South Africa) Mr Reid | 16 July 2009

"After a tiresome journey by car from CPT , we arrived at Van Zylsvlei Guest Farm.(Got married the previous day) The reception that we received made us feel at home. No hassles when checking in and a personalised welcome. Friendly service and delicious meals made our stay enjoyable. The minus zero de..."

more

"After a tiresome journey by car from CPT , we arrived at Van Zylsvlei Guest Farm.(Got married the previous day) The reception that we received made us feel at home. No hassles when checking in and a personalised welcome. Friendly service and delicious meals made our stay enjoyable. The minus zero degrees during the night was not felt because the electric blanket and heater protected us against the cold."


"So eager to please"

(South Africa) Mr Grobler | 20 June 2009

"We all know that things do not always run smoothly. The test for good service often lies in the way problems are solved. In our case, our hosts had been let down by maintenance people during renovation work. The result was that we discovered at about 19:45 that we had no hot water. They did all th..."

more

"We all know that things do not always run smoothly. The test for good service often lies in the way problems are solved. In our case, our hosts had been let down by maintenance people during renovation work. The result was that we discovered at about 19:45 that we had no hot water. They did all the necessary things to solve the problem, always eager to please. By 20:30 it was all systems go, albeit in a different unit. We will gladly recommend them to other travellers."


"Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm Review"

(South Africa) Mr Finlayson | 18 May 2009

"Nice and tranquil, perfect for a stop over on a long trip."


"Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Mr Boshoff | 8 May 2009

"I was mostly impressed with the very high quality and personal service that I received from the hosts. My room was in an excellent condition, and all facilities required were available and in very good working order. The food was very well prepared and delicious. I highly recommended for a very nice..."

more

"I was mostly impressed with the very high quality and personal service that I received from the hosts. My room was in an excellent condition, and all facilities required were available and in very good working order. The food was very well prepared and delicious. I highly recommended for a very nice 'stopover'

"


"A pleasant surprise"

(South Africa) Ms K & E Lambrechts | 29 April 2009

"Great value for money and a superb location make Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm the perfect stopover en route to almost anywhere in South Africa. We stayed there on our way to and from the KKNK in Oudsthoorn during April 2009. The accommodation was spotless, comfortable and well equipped. Meals were no..."

more

"Great value for money and a superb location make Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm the perfect stopover en route to almost anywhere in South Africa. We stayed there on our way to and from the KKNK in Oudsthoorn during April 2009. The accommodation was spotless, comfortable and well equipped. Meals were not included in the overnight tariff, but could be ordered at a very reasonable price. We had dinner on both occasions and thoroughly enjoyed the Karoo lamb chops with vegetables, as well as drinks afterwards in the fully licensed bar with our friendly hosts Deon and Annelie. We rounded off our stay with an early morning jog enjoying the beautiful Karoo sunrise and left for our destination refreshed - an experience well worth repeating."


"A homely experience"

(South Africa) Mrs M Trassierra | 27 April 2009

"My daughter and I were travelling from Cape Town to Johannesburg and were treated with a warm welcome. The rooms were homely, inviting and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we were given personal treatment by the owner of the establishment, who was very friendly. Most importantly, the rates w..."

more

"My daughter and I were travelling from Cape Town to Johannesburg and were treated with a warm welcome. The rooms were homely, inviting and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we were given personal treatment by the owner of the establishment, who was very friendly. Most importantly, the rates were very affordable. I will definitely stay there again."


"Good Value for Money"

(South Africa) Mrs Frost | 16 April 2009

"After about 7 hours travel we booked into Van Zylsvlei. A clean room and good food were very welcome. Our hosts Deon & Annalie were very friendly. We will be back. "


"Overnight stay"

(South Africa) van Rooyen | 20 March 2009

"Perfect for our one night stopover, great value for money"


"NZ Visit"

(New Zealand) Mr Green | 17 January 2009

"Having not used B & B in New Zealand, this establishment is very definitely of a high order, and an enjoyable overnight stay. A pity about the high heat!"


"A little piece of homely country"

(South Africa) Ms Raunich | 12 January 2009

"Thanks for making our journey to the Cape relaxing. We had a fantastic dinner, clean and well equipped rooms and friendly people. A half way stop that we definitely recommend.
Thanks
Nina and Tatjana
"


"Cape trip"

(South Africa) Mr Green | 8 January 2009

"Excellent hospitality, with well cooked and delicious food. Rooms were comfortable and completely adequate.
This is applicable to both visits.
"


"My stay at Van Zylsvlei"

(South Africa) Mr du Plooy | 6 January 2009

"Even though the establishment does not look as great as on the photo's this is overcome by the friendliness of the people that owns the place that make you feel at home from the time of your arrival. I would recommend a stay over to enjoy the friendly Karoo hospitality.

I would suggest that..."

more

"Even though the establishment does not look as great as on the photo's this is overcome by the friendliness of the people that owns the place that make you feel at home from the time of your arrival. I would recommend a stay over to enjoy the friendly Karoo hospitality.

I would suggest that they check the rooms before you arrive as there is very little rooms and could be checked quickly as we had a little house guest in the form of a small bat, luckily I'm not squeamish and just helped the little critter out of our room.

Another thing that quite bothered us as we come from Gauteng is that our rooms lock did not work from the inside.

It was however all and all not a bad experience at all."


"Feedback on Van Zylsvlei B&B in Colesberg"

(South Africa) anonymous | 5 January 2009

"The service and hospitality of the hosts was excellent, very good value for money. "


"Good old fashioned hospitality"

(South Africa) Mrs Ashford | 5 January 2009

"Clean basic rooms with everything from fan to anti mosquito mats. It is an extremely child friendly place with a swimming pool, swings and bird aviary. The meals were simple and delicious and very warm hospitality. Fantastic value for money. We will definitely stay here again."


"A oasis in the Karoo!"

(South Africa) Mr Delport | 4 January 2009

"After a long warm day on the road it was a heaven to sit in the shade of the big trees and enjoy a cold drink. The kids were delighted to cool down in the pool. We were pleasantly surprised by the true to the Karoo hospitality, the hosts really tried to cater for every need. As the tummies started r..."

more

"After a long warm day on the road it was a heaven to sit in the shade of the big trees and enjoy a cold drink. The kids were delighted to cool down in the pool. We were pleasantly surprised by the true to the Karoo hospitality, the hosts really tried to cater for every need. As the tummies started rumbling a tasty meal was served at a very affordable price. Even the aftercare was mentionable, after we left some of our belongings behind. Annalie really went out of her way to make sure to keep it safe until we could fetch it again. We can recommend Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm anytime as a stay over on your way through the Karoo."


"Friendly Overnight Accommodation"

(South Africa) Ms Mcintyre | 30 December 2008

"Annelie & Deon are excellent hosts. The rooms are comfortable, clean & adequate for an overnight stop & the meals homely & delicious. The atmosphere is relaxed & Deon & Annelie go out of their way to cater for ones every need."


"Friendliness vs Cleanliness"

(South Africa) Mr Crawley | 24 December 2008

"The whole atmosphere is filled with friendliness and peacefulness. If peace was on sale, I would have thought that Van Zylsvlei had bought it all! The rooms are clean and you cannot help but sleep like a baby. You will not leave there feeling you should have gone somewhere else!"


"Stayover"

(South Africa) Mr Palmer | 29 June 2008

"I flew to Cape Town on the morning of the 27th June to accompany my fiancé and her daughter back to Durban by car. We only managed to leave Cape Town at 13.00 - I was worried because I knew we had along way to go, and had no idea how long the trip would take. Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm was extreme..."

more

"I flew to Cape Town on the morning of the 27th June to accompany my fiancé and her daughter back to Durban by car. We only managed to leave Cape Town at 13.00 - I was worried because I knew we had along way to go, and had no idea how long the trip would take. Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm was extremely helpful and courteous. We arrived at the guest farm at 21:00. We were greeted by the stand-in manager, who had stayed up to await our arrival and he was extremely pleasant to us. He got us settled and only then did he go off to sleep. Breakfast was very nice - a good selection of cereals was laid out for us, as well as other choices. Although it was very cold the rooms were well equipped with heaters, coffee, tea etc. The service was excellent. Thank you Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm. Keep up the good standards. Should we have to stay over again it will definitely be at your establishment. "


"Good solid farm lodging"

(South Africa) Mr Wijnberg | 21 June 2008

"Great hospitality, clean rondavels with piping hot bath water, clean sheets and electric warmers to get the bed nice and warm. Coffee/Tea in room and great DSTV reception. Great farm style food, and no worries about getting second helping. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will book there again, wh..."

more

"Great hospitality, clean rondavels with piping hot bath water, clean sheets and electric warmers to get the bed nice and warm. Coffee/Tea in room and great DSTV reception. Great farm style food, and no worries about getting second helping. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will book there again, when in Colesberg next time"


"Review for Van Zylsvley"

(South Africa) Alett du Plessis | 17 June 2008

"Our brief stay at Van Zylsvlei was quite pleasant. The hosts Deon & Annelie are very friendly and hospitable. Our room was quite nice, and the Karoo dinner served with sherry beforehand to warm the cold evening was excellent. We will certainly visit again."


"Cosy"

(South Africa) Mrs Lotz | 5 May 2008

"When we arrived we were received with so much hospitality. The guest farm was very cosy and well organized. We were handed our keys to our room which was so comfortable and neat.
We watched the rugby in the bar, with the most incredible company from the local farmers.
The supper was outstan..."

more

"When we arrived we were received with so much hospitality. The guest farm was very cosy and well organized. We were handed our keys to our room which was so comfortable and neat.
We watched the rugby in the bar, with the most incredible company from the local farmers.
The supper was outstanding - Karoo lamb chops and veggies. My husband had 2 plates as he really enjoyed the food and it was no problem for them. Then we had nice home made pudding.
Breakfast the next morning, also outstanding! Definitely to be recommended!"


"Rain in the Karoo?"

(South Africa) Ian Manson | 5 May 2008

"Yup, it sure rains in the Karoo! We arrived at van Zylsvlei B&B in the pouring rain to be warmly greeted by our hostess Annelie. She immediately apologised for the leak that was awaiting us in room 2, and, on request, provided extra towels to mop up the puddle in the bathroom. We had a pleasant meal..."

more

"Yup, it sure rains in the Karoo! We arrived at van Zylsvlei B&B in the pouring rain to be warmly greeted by our hostess Annelie. She immediately apologised for the leak that was awaiting us in room 2, and, on request, provided extra towels to mop up the puddle in the bathroom. We had a pleasant meal in the comfortable dining room, washed down with a very reasonably priced bottle of Durbanville Hills Merlot which came recommended by our host Jan. The room was cosy, the bath water piping hot as the thunder rolled around us. After a hearty breakfast we hit the road for Cape Town, and happily the rain had abated. At R80 per person for dinner (excl. the wine) and breakfast, it was worth adding this to the room cost."


"A Unique Experience"

(South Africa) Mrs Esterhuysen | 31 March 2008

"We arrived hot, tired and left refreshed, well fed and relaxed. The food was excellent, especially the pumpkin fritters. Real South African hospitality at its best.
Thank you."


"Perfect!"

(South Africa) Mr AJ Bellamy | 31 January 2008

"We had a very Relaxing and cool stay at Van Zyls Vlei, despite the Very Hot Weather our room was nice & cool with a massive Bathroom. Thanks"


"Van Zylsvlei B & B Review"

(South Africa) Mrs Basson | 7 January 2008

"We were very happy with Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm, as they accommodated us at the last minute, and they are pet friendly. When we arrived we were shown to our room immediately, even though we were a little early.

Just as we stopped outside the room the owner made an effort to come and gr..."

more

"We were very happy with Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm, as they accommodated us at the last minute, and they are pet friendly. When we arrived we were shown to our room immediately, even though we were a little early.

Just as we stopped outside the room the owner made an effort to come and greet us personally. Unfortunately my one child (a maltese poodle) seems to suffer from little dog syndrome, and proceeded to enter into a wrestling match with the resident Labrador, which he subsequently lost, but he had to learn the hard way that it was not his home. He was very careful after that.

We were unable to dine in the dining room, as our other "child" cannot be left unattended without barking and disturbing the rest of the patrons, so we opted to order dinner, and eat in the room.

We were very happy with the service, and the friendliness of everyone, and we will definitely make use of their hospitality en route to Cape Town next time.

They were very accommodating, even with the wrestling match which took place on their premises, and were kind enough to even allow us back in the future.

We can't wait to return."


"FarmStyle"

(South Africa) Ms Visser | 7 January 2008

"Colesberg is the half-way stop for any Gautengger driving to the Cape, and Van Zylsvlei B&B provided a very warm welcome for us weary travelers. The excellent breakfast the next morning gave us enough energy to tackle the rest of the drive. We will definitely be staying there again."


"Mr"

(South Africa) Mr pereira | 7 January 2008

"Thank you for a very friendly and welcoming reception. Accomodation was very comfortable and very clean and quiet. Bathrooms could do with a shower instead of a bath though."


"vanzyl'svlei the place to stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Hardie | 6 January 2008

"Really good lamb chops(Karoo of course).Our room was very comfortable and our hosts extremely pleasant and made us feel completely at home. We stayed there some 15 years ago and it is even better than we remembered. Quiet, peaceful off the main road, you feel as though you are miles away from the bu..."

more

"Really good lamb chops(Karoo of course).Our room was very comfortable and our hosts extremely pleasant and made us feel completely at home. We stayed there some 15 years ago and it is even better than we remembered. Quiet, peaceful off the main road, you feel as though you are miles away from the bustle of the main road which you can see in the distance. No noise, wonderful. We will stay there again
"


"Van Zylsvlei Farm"

(South Africa) Mrs Nel | 3 January 2008

"Friendly people and peaceful but really very basic."


"Warmth"

(South Africa) Mrs Hepburn | 19 November 2007

"This guest house epitomizes hospitality. It advertises "Karoo hospitality" and it lives up to its name. The prevailing feeling is of warmth - not in the sense of heat but of welcoming, embracing openness and friendship. No task was too much to make our stay memorable. Even the dogs came to greet..."

more

"This guest house epitomizes hospitality. It advertises "Karoo hospitality" and it lives up to its name. The prevailing feeling is of warmth - not in the sense of heat but of welcoming, embracing openness and friendship. No task was too much to make our stay memorable. Even the dogs came to greet us respectfully at the door of our room. The accommodation and the food were both excellent. I will definitely return if I have the opportunity. Thank you Annelie and Deon!"


"Overnight stop-over"

(South Africa) Mr Moore | 4 November 2007

"This is the third overnight stop-over at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm and there are already noteworthy improvements currently being undertaken by the new Management.

Likes - what we did like about Van Zylsvlei was the warm friendly welcome we received on our arrival and the cleanliness and c..."

more

"This is the third overnight stop-over at Van Zylsvlei B&B Guest Farm and there are already noteworthy improvements currently being undertaken by the new Management.

Likes - what we did like about Van Zylsvlei was the warm friendly welcome we received on our arrival and the cleanliness and comfort of the re-vamped chalets. There was plenty of hot water on-tap to wash off the travel grime and as this Guest Farm is situated well off the main N1 highway, there was no night traffic noise to disturb one's well needed sleep. The Management were most accommodating in seeing to our well-being and comfort throughout the evening and although limited in choice, the dinner was well presented, cooked to perfection and very tasty indeed.

Dislikes - Limited menu choice.
"