Reviews of Cheerio Trout Fishing & Holiday Resort


"Cheerio resort"

(South Africa) anonymous | 10 May 2021

"The accommodation was clean spacious and well appointed. Lovely big deck. Lots of nice walks in the area."


"Breathtaking nature in homely comfort"

Marianne Van Zyl | 2 May 2018

"Loved the beautiful Forrest cottage, the king size bed with a royal view of the woods. The gardens are breathtaking and we had a lovely time strolling around with our little kids, having picnics and playing in little streams. They also enjoyed the jungle gym and swimming pool and we enjoyed the tenn..."

more

"Loved the beautiful Forrest cottage, the king size bed with a royal view of the woods. The gardens are breathtaking and we had a lovely time strolling around with our little kids, having picnics and playing in little streams. They also enjoyed the jungle gym and swimming pool and we enjoyed the tennis court. Kitchen very well equipped. Enjoyed evenings by the fireplace. The gravel road was also well looked after, so it was a pleasure driving in and out to visit other places in the area. Will definitely be back. "


"Friendly resort in secluded location"

Ian Bratt | 4 January 2018

"Well equipped self-catering cottage in secluded resort about 10 minutes from Haenertsburg.
About 2km off the main R71 along a dirt road in poor condition.
Unfortunately the power went out on the third day due to a tremendous thunderstorm and wasn't back on when I left 60 hour later !
Swimmi..."

more

"Well equipped self-catering cottage in secluded resort about 10 minutes from Haenertsburg.
About 2km off the main R71 along a dirt road in poor condition.
Unfortunately the power went out on the third day due to a tremendous thunderstorm and wasn't back on when I left 60 hour later !
Swimming pool was very welcome in the hot weather."


"Hospitality"

Jenni Gous | 10 July 2017

"Jady is wonderfully welcoming and warm. The cottage was superbly clean and very well stocked with everything we needed. The mountain air was crisp and healthy! The atmosphere is relaxed and enjoyable."


"Nice weekend away"

(South Africa) Kim van Greunen | 11 July 2016

"We stayed in Paul's cottage which was cozy & comfortable, you get what you pay for. Fireplace and electric blankets were well needed in the chilly mountains in winter.

"


"Rus in die natuur..."

(South Africa) Innecke Dednam | 12 October 2015

"Ons het heerlik gebly, baie netjies en goed toegerus, die mooiste natuurskoon en rustigheid."


"Fabulous, comfortable place to relax"

(South Africa) Elsie van Wyk | 13 July 2015

"Our whole family enjoyed the stay at Cheerio very much. The dams and gardens are stunning and there are great paths to walk and just enjoy the beauty and fresh air. The cottage kitchen is very well equipped (the best I have ever seen), there are lovely electric blankets on all the beds, nice soft to..."

more

"Our whole family enjoyed the stay at Cheerio very much. The dams and gardens are stunning and there are great paths to walk and just enjoy the beauty and fresh air. The cottage kitchen is very well equipped (the best I have ever seen), there are lovely electric blankets on all the beds, nice soft towels, the water is hot instantly and the fireplace with complimentary wood is great. I give Cheerio a well deserved 5 star rating and would love to go back for a longer stay one day. The surrounding area is also lovely and the Haernetsburg with it's classic style and atmosphere is just 3km away. We had no problems using the road leading to Cheerio in our small sedan. Thanks for a great stay and your hospitality. "


"We had a great time!"

(South Africa) Gerna Erasmus | 27 April 2015

"Our family really enjoyed our stay at Cheerio Trout Fishing and Holiday Resort. The facilities were excellent, the views from our cabin were spectacular and the staff at Cheerio were very helpful. We will definitely recommend Ceerio Resort to our friends and family. 
"


"A tranquil and serene winter experience at Cheerio"

(South Africa) Hanlie van der Merwe | 30 July 2013

"Although the booking was done at short notice, everything was in order at our arrival. The evening winter cold was neutralised by a beautiful fire in the fireplace and warm blankets on the beds.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of out of season whilst still enjoying strolls on the lovely hiking..."

more

"Although the booking was done at short notice, everything was in order at our arrival. The evening winter cold was neutralised by a beautiful fire in the fireplace and warm blankets on the beds.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of out of season whilst still enjoying strolls on the lovely hiking trails. Bird watching was still excellent and we even managed to see a pair of Knysna louries. This place is worthwhile to visit any time of the year, although the out-of-season

tariff is a bit steep."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Abhinav Gupta | 27 December 2012

"Stay was wonderful. Excellent views and scenic location."


"Great"

(South Africa) david reyneke | 14 July 2011

"Beautiful area. Great surroundings."


"Recommended"

(United Kingdom) David Brex | 16 June 2011

"We both very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this resort."


"Great place, and not just for anglers"

Christopher thomas | 28 March 2011

"We only spent one night at Cheerio, but wish we'd been able to spend a few more nights there. It's located in a glorious spot with beautiful views and nice gardens/walks to boot. The chalet we stayed in was extremely well equipped for self-catering, and very comfortable indeed. For us the Cheerio ce..."

more

"We only spent one night at Cheerio, but wish we'd been able to spend a few more nights there. It's located in a glorious spot with beautiful views and nice gardens/walks to boot. The chalet we stayed in was extremely well equipped for self-catering, and very comfortable indeed. For us the Cheerio certainly lived up to the description we were given and we'd have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and acquaintances, and indeed, we already have. "


"Peace and tranquility"

(South Africa) Wally Key | 28 September 2010

"We would have liked to stay much longer. Fantastic place and hosts. Basic unit but providing all one needs for a very comfortable stay. Absolutely enjoyable breakfast provided. Thank you very much for an enjoyable stay."


"Great Getaway"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 12 July 2010

"Short and Sweet. Little heaven"


"Stay in Mountainview cottage at Cheerio Trout Farm"

(South Africa) Grietjie stopforth | 1 June 2010

"Most enjoyable. Very tranquil environment. Great opportunity to relax and get out of the city. Very very beautiful!!"


"Business trip"

(South Africa) Elize Opperman | 18 March 2010

"Work colleagues stayed over for one night. Very pleasant atmosphere. Very friendly staff and the monkeys made it all worth while. Will definitely return for a family holiday. Thank you very much. See you soon "


"Cheerio..a lovely place to stay"

(South Africa) Andre Viviers | 17 January 2010

"Stayed at Cheerio for a couple of days...a lovely venue, good service and beautiful for a family holiday or just to break away on your own. Very recommendable!"


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Deon van der Westhuizen | 12 October 2009

"Peaceful weekend weather cool and rain, but still lots of flowers. Accommodation good, would like info/pamphlets on activities in area."


"Had a most enjoyable stay!"

(South Africa) Marjon Haffner | 16 August 2009

"I was very impressed with the Rainbow cottage that we stayed in. Very comfortable with a stunning view from the veranda. "


"We will definitely be back!"

(South Africa) Karen Azar | 27 July 2009

"We had a lovely stay at Cheerio this weekend. It was very cold but thats not the management's fault. "


"Fishing and Fun at Cheerio Trout Farm"

(South Africa) Glynne Rosselli | 20 July 2009

"We spent only one night there but had a lovely time. Our accommodation was lovely, my husband caught a trout - he was pleased, the children enjoyed the space to run and we all had a scrumptious breakfast at the Tea Garden next door."


"Cheerio Farm Trout Fishing Lodge"

(South Africa) Johan Hattingh | 18 July 2009

"Vriendelik ontvang. Netjiese, skoon en gerieflike akkommodasie. Pragtige omgewing."


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Mary de Kock | 27 October 2008

"Cheerio Farm is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed at. We arrived at night, so when we opened our curtains in the morning, we were completely amazed at the breathtaking beauty of the mountains and forests right outside our window! The staff were very helpful and even came and built..."

more

"Cheerio Farm is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed at. We arrived at night, so when we opened our curtains in the morning, we were completely amazed at the breathtaking beauty of the mountains and forests right outside our window! The staff were very helpful and even came and built a fire for us in the cottage because it was cold a rainy. We went for a long walk in the forest and to the 4 dams on the property. One of the dams is a fly fisherman's paradise! We saw trout rising the whole time that we stood there and watched. The cottage was immaculately clean and very cozy. We stayed in Rainbow cottage. We will definitley return soon and highly recommend it to other travellers looking for some real R&R. "


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Pauline Kovacs | 6 October 2008

"We enjoyed the stay so much that we stayed for an additional night and will be taking some family members with us when we go again."


"Good"

(South Africa) Mike Maughan-Brown | 30 June 2008

"Excellent value for money. I would stay there again."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Christopher Whittle | 19 March 2008

"Yes my stay was very nice and will go there again.

Thank you."


"Good"

(Netherlands) Kea Onstein | 10 December 2007

"We only stayed for 2 nights, and it had been pouring all the time. That did not make it very enjoyable. But with good weather it would have been just wonderful."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) marisia van vreden | 12 November 2007

"Very good"


"Wonderful."

(South Africa) Fabian Arends | 30 October 2007

"Unfortunately the few days we spent in the area did not give us sufficient time to explore more of the beautiful countryside and even the region in and around Cheerio Trout Farm. I will definitely make use of your hospitality in the near future and recommend the establishment."


"Our stay was fantastic"

(South Africa) Lani Henning | 8 October 2007

"The most amazing surrounding. Lots of space, plenty walks and the flowers were amazing. The owners are friendly and homely people. Will definitely return!"


"Out of this world!"

(South Africa) Chris Sadie | 16 September 2007

"The location was absolutely breathtaking. And the place itself was out of this world!"


"Very good"

(South Africa) Robert Terblanche | 23 July 2007

"Comfortable,quiet and relaxing, Carol and Alf were very helpful and informative, will definitely go back hopefully will catch some of those elusive trout"


"Our overnight stay - fantastic"

(South Africa) Dawn Van Tonder | 22 May 2007

"We only stayed overnight - arrived at about 2.00p.m. on Friday 18th May 2007 and were welcomed by Carol who is really a fantastic person. Later I took a walk through the gardens and meet up with Carol who also introduced me to her husband who was also very friendly. The chalet also has everything ..."

more

"We only stayed overnight - arrived at about 2.00p.m. on Friday 18th May 2007 and were welcomed by Carol who is really a fantastic person. Later I took a walk through the gardens and meet up with Carol who also introduced me to her husband who was also very friendly. The chalet also has everything one wants in it. We had a braai that evening and just sat watching the sun go down. It really was lovely and very quiet. As we had just come from the Kruger National Park this was an ideal place to rest overnight and then carry on with our journey back home to Alberton. We are planning holiday to the Kruger National Park next year in May again and we will (if there is accommodation available) be booking in on our way down and back. I have told all my friends about the place and hope they will all follow our footsteps in the near future."


"Very Pleasant Overnight"

(South Africa) Eileen Fleming | 27 September 2006

"Cheerio Farm is in a beautiful part of the country, we would like to go back when the weather is better, we had a very cold night and woke up to a cold, damp foggy morning. Our hostess Carol was very nice and provided us with an adequate breakfast. We were in Rainbow chalet, it was very comfortabl..."

more

"Cheerio Farm is in a beautiful part of the country, we would like to go back when the weather is better, we had a very cold night and woke up to a cold, damp foggy morning. Our hostess Carol was very nice and provided us with an adequate breakfast. We were in Rainbow chalet, it was very comfortable and had everything you would need for a self-catering weekend. The best was a lovely log fire which we really enjoyed as it was so cold."


"TERUGVOERING"

(South Africa) Ida Visser | 29 August 2006

"Gasvrou, Carol baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig - so ook haar man. Chalets mooi netjies skoon en warm atmosfeer. Lekker kaggelvuur. Hout word volgende dag opgevul en vuurmaakplekke skoongemaak. (Handdoeke word voorsien, so ook alle skoonmaakmiddels vir badkamers en kombuis - vadoeke ingesluit. Cha..."

more

"Gasvrou, Carol baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig - so ook haar man. Chalets mooi netjies skoon en warm atmosfeer. Lekker kaggelvuur. Hout word volgende dag opgevul en vuurmaakplekke skoongemaak. (Handdoeke word voorsien, so ook alle skoonmaakmiddels vir badkamers en kombuis - vadoeke ingesluit. Chalets word ook soggens skoongemaak - vloere vee en was; skottelgoed word gewas; badkamers word skoongemaak - dit kry mens nie maklik by selfcattering chalets nie- puik) Pragtige omgewing. "


"Cheerio Farm"

(United States of America) paula lowe | 26 April 2006

"We came straight here after our flight from the US. What a pleasant and perfect place to stay enroute to the kruger Park. The owner could not have been more delightful (Carol). And we shall definitely recommend this to our friends and would love to return. Paula Lowe"


"Van Onselen Family"

(South Africa) Ricky Van Onselen | 13 February 2006

"Very peaceful and quite. Clean, neat and refreshing forest environment.

Easy forest walking trails."


"Review Cheerio Farm"

(South Africa) Neels Joubert | 12 November 2005

"Very pleasant stay. Caro and her husband very supportive and friendly."


"An amazingly relaxing home away from home!"

(South Africa) Nicole | 10 July 2017

"Cheerio Trout Fishing and Holiday Resort left a profound impression on me. The beautiful mountain views, delicate flowers and rolling streams is just what we needed to relax and unwind. Stone cottage was wonderfully clean. The log fire place was the final touch on our romantic getaway. Thank you for..."

more

"Cheerio Trout Fishing and Holiday Resort left a profound impression on me. The beautiful mountain views, delicate flowers and rolling streams is just what we needed to relax and unwind. Stone cottage was wonderfully clean. The log fire place was the final touch on our romantic getaway. Thank you for the friendly hospitality. Definitely worth the trip!"


"Refresh your Soul!"

(South Africa) Daphne Lee | 9 March 2016

"Spent the night at Stone cottage where the attention to detail was excellent! Staff friendly and helpful - advised us on shortcut to beautiful gardens and best birding areas. Genuine peace and quiet as well as a magnificent sunset!
Will definitely be back when the azaleas and cherry trees are i..."

more

"Spent the night at Stone cottage where the attention to detail was excellent! Staff friendly and helpful - advised us on shortcut to beautiful gardens and best birding areas. Genuine peace and quiet as well as a magnificent sunset!
Will definitely be back when the azaleas and cherry trees are in bloom although might be busy then.
"


"Paul's Place"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Elkin | 29 January 2015

"Paul's Place is a very attractive cottage. Well appointed and very peaceful. Set in beautiful grounds and with friendly owners, it is a lovely place to relax."


"Cheerio Resort"

(South Africa) Irmgard Penzhorn | 11 October 2014

"A most comfortable stay. Clean and well equipped with everything one needs. Lovely scenery. I would recommend this establishment to anyone."


"Cheerio Trout Fishing & Holiday Resort"

(South Africa) Mrs Adlam | 8 April 2014

"We had a wonderful stay. This is a place I would visit again and recommend to others."


"Peace and tranquility"

(South Africa) Mrs Coetzer | 8 January 2014

"We enjoyed every second of our stay. Scenery is awesome and we had really nice strolls in the beautiful gardens. Wonderful to wake up with birds singing outside the window. I would really recommend anyone who needs to de-stress to visit this establishment."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Ms Elzerman | 23 September 2013

"We had a very pleasant stay at Cheerio Trout Fishing & Holiday Resort. The accommodation was lovely and the owner was very kind.We will definitely recommend the lodge to friends and family."


"Nice & cosy stay"

(South Africa) Zelda Schwarzer | 9 July 2012

"We had a lovely one night stay over in the cosy Stone Cottage. Friendly staff on hand and very clean premises."


"Nature's get-away"

(South Africa) Mr Smit | 12 January 2012

"What a great place to wind down and enjoy a bit of quiet time in nature, while still enjoying the comforts of modern living with clean modern cottages. I really enjoyed the beautiful hiking trials maintained by Cheerio. Although I am not a fisherman, I am surely going to take up trout fishing afte..."

more

"What a great place to wind down and enjoy a bit of quiet time in nature, while still enjoying the comforts of modern living with clean modern cottages. I really enjoyed the beautiful hiking trials maintained by Cheerio. Although I am not a fisherman, I am surely going to take up trout fishing after watching others catch trout out of their scenic pond bordering a plantation. "


"Cheerio Trout Fishing Lodge - the place you wanna be at!"

(South Africa) Mr Mphaphuli | 4 August 2009

"From the warm reception you receive from the owner, Carol None`, to the plush vegetation and aesthetic layout of the chalets, augmented by a beautiful pool area and a crystal clear dam with jumping fish, as if to say "welcome" to the visitors; and to the great service from the cleaning ladies (who s..."

more

"From the warm reception you receive from the owner, Carol None`, to the plush vegetation and aesthetic layout of the chalets, augmented by a beautiful pool area and a crystal clear dam with jumping fish, as if to say "welcome" to the visitors; and to the great service from the cleaning ladies (who seem to be there just when one needs them, but are gone before you complain about your space), Cheerio Trout Fishing Lodge is where you want to be, come rain or sunshine! "