Reviews of Forest Cottage


"A Beach Cottage in the Clouds"

(South Africa) Keith | 6 October 2020

"We had a lovely weekend. The Beach Cottage was great. Everything we needed. The hike was challenging but very refreshing to walk in the forest in the clouds. We received a very warm welcome. We will definitely visit again. "


"Amazing service, hospitality"

Odette van der Merwe | 30 January 2018

"This place is just amazing. The staff are all super friendly, the food is good. Anita and Paulos go out of their way to assist with anything you might need. Wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. No signal is absolute blissful. The hike to the waterfall almost killed me but it was worth it as I got engaged..."

more

"This place is just amazing. The staff are all super friendly, the food is good. Anita and Paulos go out of their way to assist with anything you might need. Wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. No signal is absolute blissful. The hike to the waterfall almost killed me but it was worth it as I got engaged there. Access to the lodge is somewhat daunting and because of that we opted to stay at the lodge the whole weekend and not visit Dullstroom during our visit. It resulted in my fiancŽ's plans being changed in proposing at the Birds of Prey Rehab centre to proposino at the waterfall. When we left on Sunday he decided to still propose again at the Birds of Prey Centre (take note future husbands). As mentioned, the road leading to the lodge is a bit daunting and I wouldn't recommend you tackle it without a high clearance vehicle. However, they do offer you a service to collect and drop you off at the entrance for a fee. It is highly recommended. All in all a wonderful experience. We are definitely returning!"


"Getting away from 'it all"

Anna Lourens | 17 April 2017

"We were looking to get away from the city and people and touch base with silence and nature for a bit, and that is exactly what we got. The piece of nature and privacy one encounters there is invaluable, it seems a little piece of paradise that is still untouched and edged in time. Good clearance o..."

more

"We were looking to get away from the city and people and touch base with silence and nature for a bit, and that is exactly what we got. The piece of nature and privacy one encounters there is invaluable, it seems a little piece of paradise that is still untouched and edged in time. Good clearance on vehicle needed, but for peeps going, its the first thing Anita from the lodge asked us, and it was what vehicle we had and alternative arrangements can be made and they can meet you part of the way. The Forest Cottage is as one would imagine early forest cabins would be, except much more luxurious and it has everything one would need for a self catering weekend away and more, all you need to take with you is your clothes and food. The hike through the forest to the waterfall is a must and well worth it as it transports you to another world from the moment you set foot in it. It is so beautifully quiet with the bustling water and bird sounds that speaking was not necessary at all, its about listening, the quieter you are the more you hear, respect for nature, it was great not to see any littering, loved the fairy signs along the way. Truly a trip worth taking, we will definitely endeavour to visit again...this time i shall be visiting the spa for sure."


"Forest Creek Stay"

Jackie Kotzee | 10 April 2017

"We had a wonderful stay at the Beach Cottage. The dŽcor is done with so much detail, it is truly amazing. The walk to the waterfall is misleading if you compare the ' easy walk' from the website to the actual climb...we never made it to the waterfall, we were not prepared for the rocks and difficu..."

more

"We had a wonderful stay at the Beach Cottage. The dŽcor is done with so much detail, it is truly amazing. The walk to the waterfall is misleading if you compare the ' easy walk' from the website to the actual climb...we never made it to the waterfall, we were not prepared for the rocks and difficult terrain as we would have liked to be. People must just be informed that it is not that easy. I was also a bit disappointed that we were not as near Dullstroom as we thought. The staff at the lodge is wonderful. They really go the extra mile for their guests. This was a wonderful weekend."


"Wonderful getaway"

(South Africa) Tshepo Mohuba | 22 February 2017

"Wonderful mountains surrounding the lodge. The Cottage is well removed from the lodge and provides a lot of privacy. It is a bit of a schlep in terms of spontaneously deciding to walk to the top as there is no network coverage in the area to organise a lift. Overall not a terrible experience."


"Paradise "

(South Africa) Yvette Els | 6 February 2017

"The most amazing romantic weekend. Everything blends in so well together. The gazebo candlelight dinner is a definite must for all couples and the walk in the forest up to the waterfall is so peaceful, tranquil and beautiful. The staff is all so friendly and helpful. Forest Creek cottage is a re..."

more

"The most amazing romantic weekend. Everything blends in so well together. The gazebo candlelight dinner is a definite must for all couples and the walk in the forest up to the waterfall is so peaceful, tranquil and beautiful. The staff is all so friendly and helpful. Forest Creek cottage is a real gem being a secluded, self catering and private cottage 500m from the lodge. All and all it was an amazing weekend and the memories will live forever. We will most definitely return."


"Very relaxing with excellent hospitality and activities"

(South Africa) Chan Hum Coue | 25 August 2016

"My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our mid-week break at Forest Creek Lodge and Spa and we would highly recommend it to anyone. The lodge greeted us with a much appreciated welcome drink and a friendly smile and we were treated with great hospitality through our entire visit. The Forest Cottage was ..."

more

"My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our mid-week break at Forest Creek Lodge and Spa and we would highly recommend it to anyone. The lodge greeted us with a much appreciated welcome drink and a friendly smile and we were treated with great hospitality through our entire visit. The Forest Cottage was brilliant and catered for everything that we wished for with an outdoor braai area, gas stove and a comfy bed. The hike to the waterfall with a picnic for two is a must-do activity and the most peaceful hike you will ever have. There are more than enough activities to cater for all kinds of tastes and the horseback ride is also recommended. We finished our visit with a relaxing combo spa treatment and it was the perfect way to wind-down from a hectic city lifestyle. Thanks to all the staff for going out of their way to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Michelle Coetsee | 2 July 2016

"We really enjoyed the peacefulness, wiw what an amazing setting...and the cottage was very cozy and very well equipped."


"Sublime"

(South Africa) Zahn Abreu | 11 April 2016

"Forest Creek is a magical place in the middle of no where. It's so peaceful, it allows one to unwind and truly enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains.
We loved the Forest Cottage and have already recommended it to family. We would definitely come back!
We thoroughly enjoyed our hike up to ..."

more

"Forest Creek is a magical place in the middle of no where. It's so peaceful, it allows one to unwind and truly enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains.
We loved the Forest Cottage and have already recommended it to family. We would definitely come back!
We thoroughly enjoyed our hike up to the waterfall as well as the Forest picnic. We were sad to have to leave.
Thank you for the hospitality.
"


"Fantastic!"

(South Africa) James Stewart | 12 October 2015

"We stayed at the Forest Cottage for our 10th Anniversary and were absolutely thrilled with the tranquility and peacefulness we experienced there. The walk to the waterfall was amazing but the highlight for us was definitely the Gazebo Dinner! A huge thank you to Anita, JoJo and the rest of the staff..."

more

"We stayed at the Forest Cottage for our 10th Anniversary and were absolutely thrilled with the tranquility and peacefulness we experienced there. The walk to the waterfall was amazing but the highlight for us was definitely the Gazebo Dinner! A huge thank you to Anita, JoJo and the rest of the staff for an unbelievable stay and for allowing us to share in their little place of Heaven."


"Hidden treadure"

(South Africa) liesl de koning | 14 July 2015

"A must to go there, very romantic and totally secluded with loads of activities"


"'"

(South Africa) stephanie Jardim | 29 June 2015

"We had the most amazing time!! What a magical place with peace & tranquility. Anita & Mush are doing a great job to let us feel comfortabl. We will defnitely come back again, felt too short for us :-))Amazing amazing amazing!!!!!"


"AWESOME"

(South Africa) celeste louw | 14 May 2015

"very private, absolutely stunning, awesome romantic getaway"


"SNQA-CLAUDINE"

(South Africa) aithne dietrich | 8 May 2015

"What an amazing experience. Forest Cottage was just absolutely breathtaking.The evenings at the fireplace, the sound of nature. Baboons, birds....everything so clearly. To see the stars and the moon with absolutely no hindrance from man made sky scrapers. Gorgeous! The walk to the waterfall totally ..."

more

"What an amazing experience. Forest Cottage was just absolutely breathtaking.The evenings at the fireplace, the sound of nature. Baboons, birds....everything so clearly. To see the stars and the moon with absolutely no hindrance from man made sky scrapers. Gorgeous! The walk to the waterfall totally worth the beauty that awaits up there. And don't miss out on the horse riding. We really had a special honeymoon. We loved everything about this place."


"Great getaway"

(South Africa) Antoinette Van der Merwe | 26 March 2015

"Very nice. Great staff, and the food was amazing."


"Lovely venue"

(South Africa) Damian Buys | 19 January 2015

"Had a great time, very rustic and beautiful."


"Forest Cottage"

(South Africa) Trevor Kleyn | 5 August 2014

"A break from all the daily stresses - a picturesque setting and peaceful surroundings. I enjoyed the various walking trails and spent hours bird watching. This was a spectacular experience and one I will always remember."


"Stunning"

(South Africa) Jako Els | 15 October 2013

"Really worth the trip and the money. Very quite and peaceful. Will surely go back again."


"Tranquil Escape"

(South Africa) Gareth Nelson | 6 May 2013

"Absolutely stunning place, so relaxing, peaceful and tranquil. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and get in touch with nature then this defiantly the place for you. Wonderfully private and picturesque, staff are friendly helpful and efficient. Such a soothing ..."

more

"Absolutely stunning place, so relaxing, peaceful and tranquil. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and get in touch with nature then this defiantly the place for you. Wonderfully private and picturesque, staff are friendly helpful and efficient. Such a soothing and relaxing experience off the beaten track. Only down side are road up to farm itself, would highly recommend a 4x4 but well worth it when you finally reach your destination. Beware of potholes craters on the road between Dullstroom and Lydenburg, it is very dangerous. Besides those two aspects, i adored it and will defiantly go back."


"Wonderful relaxing"

(South Africa) Jolandi Engelbrecht | 10 July 2012

"It was exactly what I wanted for my weekend away - gluweihn by the fire reading all my un-opened magazines. I will definitely be back to try all their wonderful amnenities they offer! The staff is amazing and attentive and I thank them for an amazing weekend!"


"Nature unspoilt"

(South Africa) Niko van Rensburg | 25 August 2011

"Beauty incarnate rules with this piece of unspoilt, tranquil, pure natural forest, veld, river and mountain. And the special treatments in the spa, the unpretentious set-up all adds to an unforgettable experience. We shall most definitely return there!"


"Forest Cottage"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 24 August 2010

"Our stay in the cottage was wonderful. Very private and well catered for. Scenery is amazing. Will visit again if I have a chance."


"Forest Creek Lodge"

(---Not Specified---) Anonymous | 29 December 2009

"Amazing views, hiking trail beautiful and relaxing."


"Weekend away at Forest Cottage"

(South Africa) Phillip Haupt | 7 September 2009

"Beautiful scenery, very relaxing and private. The perfect balance between the outdoors and luxury. It will definitely be recommended and I will be returning."


"Such a lovely, quiet space"

(South Africa) Laurel | 27 March 2018

"Our stay at Forest Lodge was the loveliest escape from it all! Peace, quiet and beautiful surroundings – the kitchenette was perfect and, above all, clean (a big thing in my life) and packed with good quality crockery and cutlery – also a big thing. Thank you to the friendly staff for a wonderful we..."

more

"Our stay at Forest Lodge was the loveliest escape from it all! Peace, quiet and beautiful surroundings – the kitchenette was perfect and, above all, clean (a big thing in my life) and packed with good quality crockery and cutlery – also a big thing. Thank you to the friendly staff for a wonderful weekend away!"


"Review - Forest Creek Forest Cottage"

(South Africa) Elza | 14 March 2018

"We had a really relaxing time in a beautiful setting. It was peaceful and quiet with just the noise of the stream nearby. The forest is amazing. We enjoyed our walks through the forest next to the stream. The cottage is fully equipped with everything one needs to have a comfortable stay."


"Tranquil and scenic"

(South Africa) Penny | 30 March 2017

"My husband and I enjoyed a few days at Forest Cottage. Beautiful view of the mountains, peaceful and quiet. The staff are friendly and attentive. Great walks in the forest and to the waterfall."


"Loved it."

(South Africa) Stacy | 21 December 2015

"I had a very nice time at Forest Cottage and will be back for another visit. Units were fully equipped. I enjoyed every moment and would recommend this establishment.
"


"MUST BE ON YOUR BUCKETLIST"

(South Africa) Mrs snyman | 3 November 2014

"The minute we took the turn off I was in another world. A kind of carefree attitude became part of me and lasted until I closed your gate behind me. This was one of the most memorable weekends I have ever had.

My husband and I had a serene moment while sitting at a very big rock on the Du..."

more

"The minute we took the turn off I was in another world. A kind of carefree attitude became part of me and lasted until I closed your gate behind me. This was one of the most memorable weekends I have ever had.

My husband and I had a serene moment while sitting at a very big rock on the Duiker route. We did not speak a word to each other for 10 minutes but I felt so connected to him and he to me. The fact that we were in the Forrest Cottage made the weekend even better. Only us, the bush, birds and the feeling that you are dreaming and don't want to wake up to bring the dream to an end.

The mist over the mountains made everything more spectacular. I can write a book about my weekend. Early morning quick splash was better than any session at the psychologist.

We decided that we actually do not want to tell anyone about this piece of paradise, but realized that it is impossible to keep this a secret. We are definitely back next year for our (me and my husband) 50th. Staff are really excellent, well informed, friendly and very professional. Bush Picnic, fantastic. See you in 2015.

"


"Forest Cottage"

(South Africa) Mr Lister | 19 May 2014

"It was excellent. I had a very nice time there and will be back for another visit. I definitely recommend it to others and will book with Rooms For Africa again. "


"Just what you need..."

(South Africa) Ronald & Elize | 23 August 2013

"We needed time off. Off from the rat race, off of the planet. Driving up to the cabin on arrival, a Duiker confirmed our booking. On our departure another Duiker sent us off standing next to the cabin. A perfect weekend. Forest Creek Lodge, perfect."