Reviews of La Provence d'Afrique


"Great time at La Provence d'Afrique"

(South Africa) Charl | 1 July 2019

"Good service, friendly staff and an awesome rustic feel.
Thank you to Jeremia and the staff for a relaxing weekend."


"La Provence d'Afrique"

(South Africa) RUDOLPH | 24 April 2019

"This is the most beautiful and interesting place we`ve been to so far, really enjoyed the stay there, the service is excellent and the food is good and the surroundings are absolutely fantastic, there is just one word for this place, WOW!!!!!.....very romantic and a great place to just relax!!!!!!"


"The theme is delightful and we enjoyed the walk with our guide Innocent."

Mary Hutchison | 18 March 2018

"The place kept to its promise of Provence.
However, there were a few snags. The shower in one room that we occupied does not drain the water out. The drain is not fitted properly and the water simply sat at the bottom of the bath located under the shower. This is certainly not in line with..."

more

"The place kept to its promise of Provence.
However, there were a few snags. The shower in one room that we occupied does not drain the water out. The drain is not fitted properly and the water simply sat at the bottom of the bath located under the shower. This is certainly not in line with good hygiene and customer service.
The locking mechanism for the door to the honeymoon suite did not work. A new lock was put in, but this did not work either.
The site advertised an outside pool, but the only pool was the one at the spa which could only be used if no clients were using the spa facilities.
The gardens are beautiful and the forest walk was super."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) George Van der merwe | 29 February 2016

"We had a great relaxing time. The staff is very special and nothing is to much effort."


"Blissful"

(South Africa) Tersia Nel | 27 October 2014

"Fabulous! We enjoyed our stay tremendously. It is a beautiful, romantic setting, enhanced by friendly, attentive staff and good food.

Highly recommended. "


"Anniversary weekend"

(South Africa) Vanessa Wozniak | 4 February 2014

"My husband and I spent our 1st Anniversary weekend here. It was very rustic and romantic. We enjoyed it a lot. The food was really nice and different. The French atmosphere was done nicely. "


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Eduan Hattingh | 30 September 2013

"What a wonderful experience. This was a total surprise. The whole place was excellent and the service great. a special thanks to Jeremiah. If you want a relaxing romantic weekend away, this is the place to go. PS, Try the honeymoon suite!!! "


"Magical Land"

(South Africa) Caroline Lavers | 18 September 2013

"Spectacular, Magical a real getaway from the 'norm' - I found La Provence reasonably priced. The staff where very friendly warm and helpful although I think they could use a few extra hands. I recommend this exquisite place. Anyone who liked the movie Lord of the Rings and appreciates art and beauty..."

more

"Spectacular, Magical a real getaway from the 'norm' - I found La Provence reasonably priced. The staff where very friendly warm and helpful although I think they could use a few extra hands. I recommend this exquisite place. Anyone who liked the movie Lord of the Rings and appreciates art and beauty, a true time warp into mystery and fantasy land. "


"Superb!"

(South Africa) Sarah Wilson | 19 August 2013

"I would definitely recommend La Provence to anybody wanting a relaxing and romantic getaway. The staff are incredible, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was delightful and relaxing. From picnic style dinners in the 'street cafe' to breakfasts by the river, cheese platters for lunch and a dri..."

more

"I would definitely recommend La Provence to anybody wanting a relaxing and romantic getaway. The staff are incredible, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was delightful and relaxing. From picnic style dinners in the 'street cafe' to breakfasts by the river, cheese platters for lunch and a drink at the local 'pub' - our mini holiday felt like we were in the south of France, right in the middle of Magaliesberg! We look forward to returning again soon."


"Overpriced"

(South Africa) Derek Radue | 22 July 2013

"Lovely weekend but completely overpriced."


"Exceptional"

(South Africa) Michael Mann | 10 July 2013

"I am involved in the National Grading system and 3 Stars just does not do it justice. The rooms are exquisite, service is top notch, food is outstanding and attention to detail is 2nd to none. We were fortunate enough to be the only guests, which for our honeymoon, was extra special; albeit surpr..."

more

"I am involved in the National Grading system and 3 Stars just does not do it justice. The rooms are exquisite, service is top notch, food is outstanding and attention to detail is 2nd to none. We were fortunate enough to be the only guests, which for our honeymoon, was extra special; albeit surprising. I travel this great country for a living and stay in all sorts of places, La Provence D'Afrique is one of the best value for money experiences you can get. "


"Fantastic stay"

(South Africa) Amanda Baxter | 7 May 2013

"Jeremiah is a fantastic host and looked after us very well!! The atmosphere is peaceful and tranquil, a little bit of heaven. Our room was beautiful and the finishing touches make all the difference!! It was lovely to curl up in front of the fireplace on the chilly evenings!

Thanks again for ..."

more

"Jeremiah is a fantastic host and looked after us very well!! The atmosphere is peaceful and tranquil, a little bit of heaven. Our room was beautiful and the finishing touches make all the difference!! It was lovely to curl up in front of the fireplace on the chilly evenings!

Thanks again for the hospitality and delicious meals!"


"More than we expected"

(South Africa) Rianne Slater | 5 March 2013

"La Provence d'Afrique and Goblins Cove is everything and more than we expected. Our room was so beautiful and the food was very delicious! Jeremia is a host and manager 1000. I can recomend this place to anybody who needs some rest and time away from home!"


"Relaxing"

(South Africa) Amanda Nel | 27 November 2012

"We had a wonderful stay. The picnic meals were delightful and the massage was out of this world."


"Very unique"

(South Africa) Ane' Meyer | 14 August 2012

"Very unique establishment, great food and friendly staff. Sound seemed to travel through the rooms though and we could hear every other couples conversation."


"La Provence d' Afrique"

(South Africa) Kirsty Pelger | 10 July 2012

"We loved the suite that we occupied and breakfast was delicious. Jeremiah was an absolute star as a manager. The cleaning staff were naughty, leaving milk for us to drink that was about to go sour and not giving us dry towels. Jeremiah was kind enough to sort the milk out and refill our cookie jar. ..."

more

"We loved the suite that we occupied and breakfast was delicious. Jeremiah was an absolute star as a manager. The cleaning staff were naughty, leaving milk for us to drink that was about to go sour and not giving us dry towels. Jeremiah was kind enough to sort the milk out and refill our cookie jar. The dessert on Friday night was not nice - R25 for hot chocolate is also a bit steep because it was really not worth it. Other than all of that, we really enjoyed our stay. The food at Goblins Cove was delicious and the service there was great. We would return for a few nights again."


"Brilliant"

(South Africa) dawid de klerk | 9 July 2012

"It was one of the best places we been to. Its a must go and see. Thank you so much for every thing, will go back there in a hartbeat."


"Stay at La Provence"

(South Africa) darryl leibowitz | 8 April 2012

"Rooms excellent, service excellent and dinner and breakfast was great. The only problem was that the rooms were close to the road, so a bit noisy. Beautiful gardens and setting."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Chris V Niekerk | 17 October 2011

"The pictures on the web is a true reflection of this place. Lovely rooms. Management go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. A real jewel in the Magaliesburg."


"Exceptional"

(South Africa) Faan Bornman | 8 August 2011

"Our stay was exceptional! The relaxing atmosphere, excellent food and quality of life experienced made it a wonderful weekend."


"Gorgeous venue!"

(South Africa) Charmaine Hewer | 1 August 2011

"Gorgeous venue, awesome service and awesome food. Only negative, the noice from the road in 'La Passion'."


"Perfect romantic getaway"

(South Africa) Nokuthula | 18 December 2017

"The place is really perfect for a romantic getaway, peaceful and very relaxing"


"BEAUTIFUL"

(South Africa) Sheila | 4 September 2017

"As it was our 40th wedding anniversary, I was looking for a weekend away that was different. And different it was.
The place is beautiful and the rooms are decorated perfectly to give it the french feel. Our weekend was fantastic. The staff at La Provence D'Afrique are excellent, and always will..."

more

"As it was our 40th wedding anniversary, I was looking for a weekend away that was different. And different it was.
The place is beautiful and the rooms are decorated perfectly to give it the french feel. Our weekend was fantastic. The staff at La Provence D'Afrique are excellent, and always willing to assist with anything. Jeremia was an excellent manager and was always on hand ready to assist. We will definitely recommend it to family and friends"


"Amazing Stay "

(South Africa) Nthabiseng | 17 July 2017

"We had a great time. The highlight of our stay was sitting outside by the river having breakfast in the morning. The hospitality was awesome, staff was extremely friendly and made us feel at home. Definitely going back again."


"An Awesome Stay"

(South Africa) Ellen | 19 December 2016

"Thank you Jeremia and staff for your awesome service and friendliness. We had an awesome stay. Will recommend you guys anyday.
Regards Stephen and Ellen Crous"


"French Hospitality in Magalies...Really Outstanding."

(South Africa) Sarie | 13 November 2016

"Our romantic getaway started with champagne upon arrival sweetened with a cherry and strawberry...
Our room, the Le Passion was beautifully decorated in red "passionate" colours, decorative candles and serviced with clean linen and towels.
Dinner on day one was served in the courtyard of the..."

more

"Our romantic getaway started with champagne upon arrival sweetened with a cherry and strawberry...
Our room, the Le Passion was beautifully decorated in red "passionate" colours, decorative candles and serviced with clean linen and towels.
Dinner on day one was served in the courtyard of the street cafe. An utmost cosy atmosphere enhanced with French music. The food was served in a dinner basket. The menu included a green salad, special bread basket, veggies, chicken and mushrooms....and the most divine dessert.
Breakfast was served in a basket the next morning on the terrace next to the river. Couples were enjoying breakfast at beautifully set-up tables. The menu included fresh fruit and yogurt, fresh fruit juice, poached eggs on flapjacks and tea and coffee.
We then enjoyed a full body hot stone message in the zen garden and spa. Do not miss out on this offer. This was truly amazing.
Dinner on day 2 was served in the main house. The menu included beetroot with balsamic beans and goat’s cheese, beef cooked in red wine and mushrooms, veggies and apple strudel with cream and mint.
This venue offers great ambiance with a genuine French feel, excellent service and value for money, with a strong and special appeal to the art lover.
"


"Lavishly Spoilt"

(South Africa) Michele | 11 July 2016

"My daughters and I enjoyed a French adventure. Lovely food, rooms and people. Will definitely advise anyone to spend time at this beautiful place."


"Heavenly"

(South Africa) Chantel | 30 May 2016

"We had an absolutely heavenly stay. La Provence is such a beautiful and unique place, the decor is so different and quirky, I loved it. The rooms are so spacious and cosy, and with the high ceilings really amazing. There is a very relaxed feel about the establishment and it was also so romantic. We ..."

more

"We had an absolutely heavenly stay. La Provence is such a beautiful and unique place, the decor is so different and quirky, I loved it. The rooms are so spacious and cosy, and with the high ceilings really amazing. There is a very relaxed feel about the establishment and it was also so romantic. We enjoyed the massages by the river side, it felt like you u right on the river. The food was really lovely, the "dinner basket” was a different experience but it was wonderful. We loved everything about our stay."


"Helena Small"

(South Africa) Helena | 3 May 2016

"We enjoyed our stay, very clean and the food was excellent, the food basket is a very nice surprise definitely not what you would expect.
Jeremiah was very friendly and accommodating for all our specific needs.


"


"Excellent value for money myoli beach"

(South Africa) Willie | 14 April 2016

"Stayed at the resort for 3 days and the room was excellent. The resort is very close to the beach and i really enjoyed my stay there excellent value for money."


"The best place to celebrate a special occasion"

(South Africa) zelmine | 18 August 2015

"I made the booking at La Provence for my friend and her sister. As I have been there before I knew it would be so special for them. Now they can't stop talking about the place. Thank you for making it the best experience! "


"Magaliesburg"

(South Africa) dawid | 3 June 2015

"My stay here last month was really brilliant. The place is lovely and I felt comfortable in my room."


"Little piece of france"

(South Africa) Belluigi | 3 May 2015

"The little place is wonderful. It's perfect for a very quiet weekend away. We needed some peace and quiet so it suited us very well. The rooms were beautiful but not for everyone's taste. Go to the chalets instead of the French area. The cheese platter was fantastic and more than what 2 people could..."

more

"The little place is wonderful. It's perfect for a very quiet weekend away. We needed some peace and quiet so it suited us very well. The rooms were beautiful but not for everyone's taste. Go to the chalets instead of the French area. The cheese platter was fantastic and more than what 2 people could eat. The romantic dinner basket was okay.
I did not like the soup starter and the veggies. The pie was good but would have been great if it did not have too much pepper. The desert was plain and simple. Breakfasts were very good, the setting for breakfast was perfect. Besides for some complaints about the main meal the only other problem is how close you are to the main road.
The guesthouse gives you ear plugs but not everyone can sleep with ear plugs. The manager in charge is one of the highlights of the stay. Jeremiah was brilliant and saw to all our needs. He even looked disappointed if we were not interested in doing one of the amazing things that he had to offer. Another great part of the stay is the massages. The massage ladies were amazing. Good couples get away."


"Romantic getaway in Magaliesberg"

(South Africa) Mr Hunter | 23 March 2015

"La Provence in Magaliesberg is an ideal getaway from the hustle and bustle of the Corporate environment. This establishment offers you and your partner an opportunity to relax, unwind and breathe in the fresh air of the Magaliesberg. Excellent, comfortable rooms and a feeling of a French affair. Bre..."

more

"La Provence in Magaliesberg is an ideal getaway from the hustle and bustle of the Corporate environment. This establishment offers you and your partner an opportunity to relax, unwind and breathe in the fresh air of the Magaliesberg. Excellent, comfortable rooms and a feeling of a French affair. Breakfast at the river side is perfect. "


"manjefique"

(South Africa) Saunders | 16 March 2015

"The décor is absolutely beautiful. Loved the breakfast by the river. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the books in the room. I would love to go back there again."


"Relaxed and revitalising"

(South Africa) van Vuuren | 16 March 2015

"We had a pleasant stay at La Provence d'Afrique. From the breakfast to the spa treatment was fantastic. Thank you to the staff of La Provence.
"


"Absolute Indulgence"

(South Africa) Batchelor | 2 March 2015

"Breathtakingly beautiful venue with amazing staff to ensure a memorable experience. A must for the Romantic at heart."


"High service standards"

(South Africa) Mr McArthur | 2 December 2013

"La Provence d'Afrique sets a very high level of service standards. They’re very attentive to your needs. Thank you for accommodating us."


"A little bit of France in Magalies"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 September 2013

"One of the best places I think I have ever stayed it. The food was amazing and the staff were all so pleasant and always helpful. The scenery was so breathtaking and it felt more like home than being away from home. The French inspiration made it extremely romantic. We will definitely return and re..."

more

"One of the best places I think I have ever stayed it. The food was amazing and the staff were all so pleasant and always helpful. The scenery was so breathtaking and it felt more like home than being away from home. The French inspiration made it extremely romantic. We will definitely return and recommend it to our friends. Thank you for the fairytale."