Reviews of Sunny Lane


"If you need peace and quiet this place is for you."

(South Africa) Abeda | 4 November 2020

"The landlady Barbara, is very welcoming and helpful and not at all intruding. We stayed in the studio and it had everything we needed from bedroom to kitchen. We had a very peaceful and relaxing few days."


"wonderful moment"

Mark Ephraim (Christian) | 10 April 2017

"This was a relaxed atmosphere which we enjoyed. The place was perfect and the scenary was excellent. Franschhoek is truly a magnificent location for a visit. The experience was awesome"


"Private "

Ronel Roodt | 3 April 2017

"Everything was perfect"


"'"

(South Africa) Marietjie Scholtz | 9 December 2016

"Lovely accomodation. Lots of space and walking distance from all the shops and restaurants."


"Comfortable self catering accommodation"

(England) Sharon Bridges | 18 March 2016

"Neat, clean, affordableand well positioned for all Franschhoek has to offer. Pool was most welcome after wine tasting on a hot day!!"


"Natalie&Earl"

(South Africa) Natalie Jansen | 7 September 2015

"We had a very lovely stay at Sunny Lane. Enjoyed the beautiful weather and appreciated the quick assistance, warm welcoming and quick response. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to those I know travelling to he area."


"'"

(South Africa) Chloe Walker | 27 July 2015

"Myself and my friend spent the weekend at Sunny Lane and we had a lovely time. It really is a home away from home with all your basic necessities we felt right at home. Thanks to Barbara for the hospitality. We will definitely be back"


"Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) cliff Bebington | 19 July 2015

"Another great stay, greatful for underfloor heating with all the snow.Good to be so central."


"Great Place to stay. "

(South Africa) Agosthino Goliath | 22 June 2015

"We loved our cozy room with the heated floors, its in town and perfect for a winter getaway."


"Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Danielle Eloff | 13 October 2014

"We made a booking at Sunny Lane on short notice and still got excellent service. Thank you for your hospitality and helpfulness during our stay. We really enjoyed it and will be back again! "


"Very sweet and comfortable"

(South Africa) Stefanie Mazuch | 8 September 2014

"We had a wonderful time at Sunny Lane. It was very clean, comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed our weekend away from Cape Town at a fully furnished apartment with a pool. Nothing was missing, we had a great stay. Franschhoek has a lot of lovely shops and markets and a nice viewpoint. Thank you for the l..."

more

"We had a wonderful time at Sunny Lane. It was very clean, comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed our weekend away from Cape Town at a fully furnished apartment with a pool. Nothing was missing, we had a great stay. Franschhoek has a lot of lovely shops and markets and a nice viewpoint. Thank you for the lovely stay and time we had at your accommodation."


"A lovely place to stay"

(South Africa) Cheryll Cocking | 5 May 2014

"We stayed in the larger apartment for four nights and found it very comfortable. Nicely furnished and the kitchen is well equipped. Unfortunately the weather was too cold to make use of the pool. It is well situated with lovely views of the mountains, is in a quiet location and within walking dis..."

more

"We stayed in the larger apartment for four nights and found it very comfortable. Nicely furnished and the kitchen is well equipped. Unfortunately the weather was too cold to make use of the pool. It is well situated with lovely views of the mountains, is in a quiet location and within walking distance of town. We enjoyed the company of BarbaraÕs very friendly cat, Popcorn. Good value. We can definitely recommend Sunny Lane! "


"Excellent value"

(South Africa) alison van onselen | 26 January 2014

"Lovely spacious cottage with the swimming pool on our doorstep.Will definitely be back and will recommend to our friends. Excellent value. "


"Great spot for a Franschhoek stay"

(South Africa) Tamara Oberholster | 6 January 2014

"We loved our stay at Sunny Lane. My husband and I stayed in the smaller apartment for two nights and found it ideal - well kitted out, good use of space and within walking distance of town. Barbara was very helpful and her gorgeous cat, Popcorn, made sure we felt welcome. It was great to have pool a..."

more

"We loved our stay at Sunny Lane. My husband and I stayed in the smaller apartment for two nights and found it ideal - well kitted out, good use of space and within walking distance of town. Barbara was very helpful and her gorgeous cat, Popcorn, made sure we felt welcome. It was great to have pool access too. We definitely recommend Sunny Lane!"


"Delightful place"

(South Africa) Theo Kemp | 28 October 2013

"Delightful place to stay, central to all amenities, clean and spacious. We enjoyed our stay and confidently recommend it to anyone needing self catering accommodation. "


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Chrissie de Villiers | 20 June 2013

"Perfect accommodation for a single person wanting to eat out every day. Pleasant walk to shops & restaurants. Always was dubious about underfloor heating but must admit in winter it's great.

Lovely little cottage and friendly cat!

Will definitely book again at Sunny Lane next time I tr..."

more

"Perfect accommodation for a single person wanting to eat out every day. Pleasant walk to shops & restaurants. Always was dubious about underfloor heating but must admit in winter it's great.

Lovely little cottage and friendly cat!

Will definitely book again at Sunny Lane next time I treat myself to a birthday in Franschhoek!"


"Very nice place"

(Namibia) Eddie Graham | 19 March 2013

"Very nice place to stay. Will definetely recommend or stay there again. Barbara was very accommodating and the unit has modern furnishings and is very cosy."


"Weekend in Franschoek"

(South Africa) Adrie Fick | 19 March 2013

"This is a pleasant place to stay for a few nights. Felt welcome and the room had all the necessaties for a short stay. Very peaceful and quiet and I alsobloved to dool down in the pool. Close to the main street to walk down and browse in the shops."


"A lovely place to stay"

(South Africa) Rosalind Heyland | 4 December 2012

"I stayed in the larger of the two appartment's at Sunny Lane and was very happy there. Lots of space and all the facilities that I needed. A wonderful patio and garden area were a real bonus. Barbara, who ran the business was very accommodating and as a single, female traveller I felt very safe and ..."

more

"I stayed in the larger of the two appartment's at Sunny Lane and was very happy there. Lots of space and all the facilities that I needed. A wonderful patio and garden area were a real bonus. Barbara, who ran the business was very accommodating and as a single, female traveller I felt very safe and happy there. Sunny Lane suited my needs very well and I would definitely return."


"Sunny Lane"

(United States of America) Charles Sandifer | 28 May 2012

"This is a very nice place; clean, sparkling, comfortable, and easy, easy easy walk to town. Minor cooking facilities available for the super frugal, but we ate at restaurants."


"Thank you!"

(South Africa) Marisa Sliep | 7 May 2012

"Thank you for a wonderful stay at Sunny Lane ... the underfloor heating made it so nice and cosy!"


"Small, neat and excellent location"

(South Africa) Alewyn Burger | 12 April 2012

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunny Lane! The apartment is small but neat, and perfectly located in Franschhoek! If overall you spend a lot of time in your room in Franschhoek, you're doing it wrong!"


"Private"

(South Africa) Kelly Robertson | 22 March 2012

"Very comfortable and private. Enjoyed our stay."


"Just beautiful and so close to the village"

(South Africa) Renee Coughlan | 19 March 2012

"Very spacious unit with lovely decor and everything you could need for a peaceful stay. The village of Franschhoek is within walking distance and we enjoyed the strolls into town and eating at the local restaurants - French Connection and Bread & Wine at Moreson are highly recommended! I miss the ..."

more

"Very spacious unit with lovely decor and everything you could need for a peaceful stay. The village of Franschhoek is within walking distance and we enjoyed the strolls into town and eating at the local restaurants - French Connection and Bread & Wine at Moreson are highly recommended! I miss the friendly cat!"


"Happy!"

(South Africa) Dr Maritz | 4 January 2012

"Had a very peaceful stay, we will definitely use it again."


"Great place"

(South Africa) Craig McKenzie | 5 December 2011

"Very pleasant time. Very spacious and easy-living rooms. Lovely pool! It is great value for money!"


"Had a great stay at Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Janine Nel | 5 December 2011

"We really enjoyed our stay. Had a nice braai, chalet was clean and Sunny Lane was close to everything. We will most definitely come again. Thank you!"


"Splendid!"

(South Africa) Lindsay Edwards | 26 October 2011

"I thought Sunny Lane was splendid! Beautiful accommodation within a perfect setting in the heart of Franschhoek.

Everything we needed!"


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Lauren van der Merwe | 17 August 2011

"We had a lovely restful stay at Sunny Lane. The unit was well equipped and Pete and Barbara were very helpful when we needed assistance with our car."


"Great"

(South Africa) Gail Ferguson | 21 May 2011

"The second time we have stayed at Sunny Lane and as delightful as before! Underfloor heating most welcome in the cooler winter months."


"A charming place to stay!"

(Switzerland) Christina Schnell | 13 January 2011

"We stayed at the larger apartment and enjoyed it so much. There is lots of lavender on the pathway to the porch of the apartment. It is very spacious and well-equipped. The centre of town is within walking distance. Sunny Lane and Franschoek are absolutly worth to go!"


"Sunny Lane"

(Namibia) Anonymous | 16 December 2010

"Overall had a great stay in Sunny Lane in the smaller apartment. Good value and good security. Barbara is a wonderful host. Quiet and peaceful. It was very hot while we were there and had to leave door open at night which meant that the family cat who is very friendly became a regular visitor which ..."

more

"Overall had a great stay in Sunny Lane in the smaller apartment. Good value and good security. Barbara is a wonderful host. Quiet and peaceful. It was very hot while we were there and had to leave door open at night which meant that the family cat who is very friendly became a regular visitor which might be a problem if you have cat allergies. Bring your own shampoo as none provided."


"Very nice"

(Switzerland) Christina Schnell | 26 November 2010

"What a lovely place. We really enjoyed this spacious, nicely furnished apartment and the hosts. Thank you very much."


"Tranquility "

(South Africa) Ryan Jacobs | 21 September 2010

"Sunny lane really provides a satisfaction of peace and quiet. Everything about this place is really punctual and would go again. "


"Wonderful weekend"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 14 June 2010

"What a wonderful weekend in a cosy, gorgeous apartment! The perfect base from which to explore Franschhoek - will definitely be back!!"


"Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Claire Procter | 12 April 2010

"Lovely spot - really enjoyed it"


"Beautiful setting"

(South Africa) Emma Parkin | 23 January 2010

"- and very clean. Will be back next year!"


"A lovely, quiet location"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 18 January 2010

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunny Lane - it really is a quiet location just a short walk from the centre of the town. The suite stays nice and cool even in the heat of the day, and if all gets too much, the pool gives a cooling dip."


"Great value"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 5 December 2009

"Fabulous studio apartment 5 minutes walk from village. Quiet, comfortable. Lovely outdoor area and use of pool included. "


"Sunny Lane Guest House Franschook "

(South Africa) Sue Hammons | 23 November 2009

"Great accommodation, good location and very good value. It made a very nice end to our stay. I will pass this on to friends and family. "


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Robert Barrow | 3 November 2009

"We were very impressed with our stay at Sunny Lane. The rooms were large very clean and very well fitted out."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Elna Vermaak | 1 December 2008

"Very good"


"Pretty little place"

(South Africa) kim southworth | 26 November 2007

"Sunny Lane was nicer than the pictures seen online - it was relaxing amongst all the jasmine and lavender and peaceful.. a pretty little place! "


"Stunning time"

(United Kingdom) Charlotte Saunders | 29 March 2007

"We did have the most stunning time and Sunny Lane was just perfect for us. It really was a lovely apartment and very private, which was super."


"Lovely and peaceful"

(South Africa) Wendy Solomon | 21 November 2006

"We had a lovely time at Sunny Lane. It was so quiet and peaceful. It's really a home away from home."


"Sunny Lane October 2006"

(Australia) Kay Chambers | 12 November 2006

"The accommodation was great, location fabulous - everything we were looking for!"


"Excellant value!"

(South Africa) Emanuele Lemme | 22 April 2006

"The large unit we stayed in had all we needed and more. Very functional yet still very beautiful and warm. Just what a self-catering unit should be. Makes an excellent base from which to explore a beautiful part of the country. Definitely felt like a home away from home. Throw in excellant value for..."

more

"The large unit we stayed in had all we needed and more. Very functional yet still very beautiful and warm. Just what a self-catering unit should be. Makes an excellent base from which to explore a beautiful part of the country. Definitely felt like a home away from home. Throw in excellant value for money and it's hard not to recommend."


"Quiet Retreat"

Anonymous | 4 April 2006

"We only stayed 1 evening but were very impressed with the accomodation. It was a wonderful haven during our hectic travels across S.A."


"A Great Stay"

(South Africa) Ray Johnson | 1 February 2006

"Our holiday was based on staying at places that we have always driven to (AND FROM) before! Franschoek was one of these places. Sunny Lane was exactly what we expected, and we not only enjoyed our 2 nights there immensely, but we want to do it again (for longer) next year. Franschoek is central a..."

more

"Our holiday was based on staying at places that we have always driven to (AND FROM) before! Franschoek was one of these places. Sunny Lane was exactly what we expected, and we not only enjoyed our 2 nights there immensely, but we want to do it again (for longer) next year. Franschoek is central and makes a great base from which to explore many aspects of the Western Cape. Our hosts were concerned, but unobtrusive - and we felt completely 'at home' at Sunny Lane."


"Sunny Lane"

Anonymous | 5 December 2005

"We had a superb stay at Sunny Lane. Within walking distance from the town centre, the location is ideal and yet it is situated in a very peaceful spot. We thought Franschhoek was beautiful and wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights."


"Very Much Enjoyable"

(United Kingdom) joanna moore | 30 November 2005

"We very much enjoyed our stay at sunny lane. A very good quiet location (we have a 3 month old daughter) with easy walking distance to town. We did not use the kitchen facilities as there are so many restaurants and our daughter was kind to us!

The apartment is spacious and nicely decorated a..."

more

"We very much enjoyed our stay at sunny lane. A very good quiet location (we have a 3 month old daughter) with easy walking distance to town. We did not use the kitchen facilities as there are so many restaurants and our daughter was kind to us!

The apartment is spacious and nicely decorated and represents excellent value for money.

The booking procedure was easy and the directions perfect.

Thank you"


"Sunny Lane, Franschhoek"

Anonymous | 7 November 2005

"Had a lovely time, clean & spacious apartment very close to the centre of town with very friendly owner."


"Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Trish Lewin | 19 September 2005

"Gorgeous! had such a nice night away!

thank you!"


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Charmel Wilkinson | 6 September 2005

"It's a beatiful place and well accommodated. It's a real value for your money. I told all my friends and family to go to Sunny Lane if you want peace and quiet. It's just a pity you have to leave early, and the fact that there is no microwave and braai facilities.

I'll definitely come in s..."

more

"It's a beatiful place and well accommodated. It's a real value for your money. I told all my friends and family to go to Sunny Lane if you want peace and quiet. It's just a pity you have to leave early, and the fact that there is no microwave and braai facilities.

I'll definitely come in summer again!!!!

Sunny Lane have responded that a microwave has subsequently been installed and a weber braai is available for use (it is just stored away to prevent rusting). Guests need just ask for it."


"Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Philip Roux | 27 June 2005

"My wife, Shirley, and I had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay."


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) Sally | 28 March 2017

"The Hostess was friendly, the bedrooms was spacious and very comfortable. I enjoyed it and would definitely go back again."


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Alet | 17 October 2016

"Our stay was very nice and comfortable at Sunny Lane. We really enjoyed every moment of it."


"Nice atmosphere in beautiful town"

(South Africa) Karpath | 19 October 2015

"Sunny Lane is beautiful quite place with a nice litte pool to relax.
We felt very comfotable during our stay. The facilities of the accomodation are not the latest but acceptable. "


"Our Sunny Lane Visit"

(South Africa) Tossie | 10 October 2015

"We very much enjoyed our stay at your guest house. it was very tranquil. A very peaceful and quiet environment. Our stay was very comfortable. Had everything we needed. To not have to do the dishes and make the beds regardswas heaven.
You will definitely see us again.
Kind regards
Tossie..."

more

"We very much enjoyed our stay at your guest house. it was very tranquil. A very peaceful and quiet environment. Our stay was very comfortable. Had everything we needed. To not have to do the dishes and make the beds regardswas heaven.
You will definitely see us again.
Kind regards
Tossie & David "


"Sunny Lane Review dec-jan 2015"

(South Africa) Mrs broadhurst | 12 January 2015

"Well appointed and close to the village. Private and very comfortable. Hospitable host and all functions in the accommodation worked well. Would certainly recommend it."


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Oliver | 22 December 2014

"Wonderful stay at Sunny Land Guest House. Beautiful surroundings, pretty garden, close to town and lovely room. We'll be back!"


"Secluded comfort"

(United Kingdom) Mr Mills | 9 December 2014

"Quiet, simple and unpretentious, with a friendly cat. Large rooms, excellent walk-in shower, good TV. Fully equipped but not the latest in appliances in the kitchen. Lovely owners and a very efficient maid service. Pool looked great (too cold to use in early November). Excellent location."


"Weekend away at Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Mr Roems | 19 November 2014

"Barbara checked the morning before we arrived to confirm when we were arriving, and was waiting when we arrived. Very friendly. Establishment was clean, everything worked and met our expectations in that regard (The wifi was pleasantly fast)
The pool was also in very good nick, was not able to ..."

more

"Barbara checked the morning before we arrived to confirm when we were arriving, and was waiting when we arrived. Very friendly. Establishment was clean, everything worked and met our expectations in that regard (The wifi was pleasantly fast)
The pool was also in very good nick, was not able to use due to poor weather.
Location is close to the main road and all amenities were within walking distance, wouldn't take more than 10 minutes."


"Sunny indeed"

(South Africa) Mrs Heron | 29 September 2014

"Sunny lane is a lovely self-catering facility in the heart of the Franschhoek village. Close to nearby restaurants and shops. The rooms are set in a secluded private courtyard setting. Spacious, light and airy. Would definitely recommend it if you want accommodation which gives you the flexibility o..."

more

"Sunny lane is a lovely self-catering facility in the heart of the Franschhoek village. Close to nearby restaurants and shops. The rooms are set in a secluded private courtyard setting. Spacious, light and airy. Would definitely recommend it if you want accommodation which gives you the flexibility of choice to eat out for every meal or to have a quiet evening at home sitting on the pretty veranda under the grapevine."


"Peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Mr van huyssteen | 8 September 2014

"Sunny Lane met all our expectations and more. The view is stunning and the room comfortable. It is centrally situated in a lovely neighbourhood and the restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We can recommend Sunny Lane and will definitely return.
Good value for money.
"


"Lovely stay in Franschhoek!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 July 2014

"We stayed at Sunny Lane and had a great Bastille Weekend! Can really recommend the cottage."


"Pleasant stay at Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Mrs MARAIS | 11 June 2014

"The rooms were clean. Everything went well. There were no problems at all. I would recommend to others and revisit as well."


"2 nights at Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Mrs GOMM | 22 April 2014

"Very comfortable stay with ever thing that worked. Will be going back."


"SUNNY LANE, FRANSCHHOEK"

(South Africa) anonymous | 17 March 2014

"Even on a dull day Sunny Lane would live up to its name. A tumbling cascade of magenta bougainvillea offset by the white walls greeted us at the gate. Once through the gate a path leads to the accommodation and beyond was a sparkling pool. We stayed in the smaller of the two cottages which was cle..."

more

"Even on a dull day Sunny Lane would live up to its name. A tumbling cascade of magenta bougainvillea offset by the white walls greeted us at the gate. Once through the gate a path leads to the accommodation and beyond was a sparkling pool. We stayed in the smaller of the two cottages which was clean, comfortable and had plenty of information brochures. It adequately suited our needs for the weekend but best of all it was so close to the main street and amenities which meant we could walk and not have the hassle of finding parking for the car. Truly good value for money."


"Franschhoek calm"

(France) Dr Collett | 12 January 2014

"We had a great stay with both rooms it was very peaceful. The beds are good, the swimming pool is a good size and clean. The larger room is very big and very comfortable - an apartment with a large bathroom and a very big bedroom as well as a living area. Both rooms have lovely vine terraces.
I ..."

more

"We had a great stay with both rooms it was very peaceful. The beds are good, the swimming pool is a good size and clean. The larger room is very big and very comfortable - an apartment with a large bathroom and a very big bedroom as well as a living area. Both rooms have lovely vine terraces.
I hope to go again.
"


"good value in Franschoek"

(South Africa) Maureen C | 10 December 2013

"I spent a very pleasant 3 nights in Sunny Lane in December 2013 in the smaller of the two self catering rooms. It was simply equipped with everything I needed. Loved the small patio overlooking the garden and the company provided by the family cat. Barbara was friendly and helpful. 2 min walk to the..."

more

"I spent a very pleasant 3 nights in Sunny Lane in December 2013 in the smaller of the two self catering rooms. It was simply equipped with everything I needed. Loved the small patio overlooking the garden and the company provided by the family cat. Barbara was friendly and helpful. 2 min walk to the centre of the village. Good value."


"COMFORTABLE STAY IN MISERABLE WEATHER!"

(South Africa) Mrs Jenkinson | 18 November 2013

"We choose one of the most dreadful weekend’s weather wise to go away for a weekend but the minute we arrived at Sunny Lane felt at home. We had a most comfortable stay with cosy under floor heating in the bedroom, comfy bed, hotel package DSTV in the lounge where my husband could enjoy his sport an..."

more

"We choose one of the most dreadful weekend’s weather wise to go away for a weekend but the minute we arrived at Sunny Lane felt at home. We had a most comfortable stay with cosy under floor heating in the bedroom, comfy bed, hotel package DSTV in the lounge where my husband could enjoy his sport and every other amenity to think of to make one's stay comfortable and relaxing - even a coffee machine. The location is wonderful, almost in the centre of Town and one can walk around to browse the shops, restaurants, pubs, etc. I told the host, Barbara, that I will definitely be back to enjoy the outdoors, i.e. pool, garden etc with the rest of my family. Thank you Sunny Lane."


"Sunny Lane review"

(South Africa) Mrs Van Graan | 5 November 2013

"We have spent three nights at Sunny Lane guesthouse and enjoyed the country-feel of the property and our children stayed two nights. We were treated kindly by the very friendly owners and all our needs were met. We loved the space and the scenery, the fact that we enjoyed privacy and that we could g..."

more

"We have spent three nights at Sunny Lane guesthouse and enjoyed the country-feel of the property and our children stayed two nights. We were treated kindly by the very friendly owners and all our needs were met. We loved the space and the scenery, the fact that we enjoyed privacy and that we could go for long walks in the area. Sunny Lane is very centrally situated and we had easy access to shops and tourist spots. I have already recommended the guesthouse to my friends. Most of all, we found the prices very reasonable. We will definitely go back there again.
Thanks to Rooms for Africa.com for advertising this guesthouse! Good luck, Karin van Graan
"


"Now we know where Heidi and Peter stay when they visit Francshoek."

(South Africa) Ms De Kock | 25 September 2013

"With snow top mountains all around you, heated floors a good mattress, enough hot water, fresh bedding and birds to wake you instead of an alarm what more can you want. Summer time perhaps? To also enjoy the inviting swimming pool and loungers. Sunny lane is quiet and peaceful. The rooms are neat a..."

more

"With snow top mountains all around you, heated floors a good mattress, enough hot water, fresh bedding and birds to wake you instead of an alarm what more can you want. Summer time perhaps? To also enjoy the inviting swimming pool and loungers. Sunny lane is quiet and peaceful. The rooms are neat and well equipped. Privacy is respected and you only see cats walking pass or birds in the trees. This was the best weekend away for the best price ever. We will be back soon."


"Good value for your money!"

(South Africa) Ms de Wet | 30 June 2013

"Highly recommended. Perfect accommodation, a culinary feast on your doorstep or if you want to, you can cook at home. Short pleasant walk to shops & restaurants. Under floor heating in winter is great. Lovely little cottage and friendly cats. Will definitely book again at Sunny Lane next time we tre..."

more

"Highly recommended. Perfect accommodation, a culinary feast on your doorstep or if you want to, you can cook at home. Short pleasant walk to shops & restaurants. Under floor heating in winter is great. Lovely little cottage and friendly cats. Will definitely book again at Sunny Lane next time we treat ourselves to a break in Franschhoek."


"Dream spot !!"

(Netherlands) Mrs van Roosmalen | 21 March 2013

"What a wonderful place to stay, clean, romantic, a true dream spot!!
Good beds as well. I definitely would recommend this place.

The owner was very nice and helpful. Everything was more than alright.
"


"Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Mr Davidson | 7 January 2013

"Very pleasant, quite and within easy walking distance from amenities. Will book again."


"Nice separate room in Franchoek"

(Estonia) Mr Reining | 28 February 2012

"Very nice private room, pool, fridge, kitchenette.
Franschoek is very nice place."


"the french connection"

(South Africa) Mr Rietmann | 22 December 2011

"In South Africa the closest you can get to France is to visit Franschhoek. And good affordable accommodation in Franschhoek is most cetainly to be found in Sunny Lane. Comfortable, clean and fully equipped, Sunny Lane has everything you need right in the heart of the town. We particularely loved the..."

more

"In South Africa the closest you can get to France is to visit Franschhoek. And good affordable accommodation in Franschhoek is most cetainly to be found in Sunny Lane. Comfortable, clean and fully equipped, Sunny Lane has everything you need right in the heart of the town. We particularely loved the bed linen - so soft and white. Sunny Lane is a self catering guesthouse and all you need to do is to visit a winery, the cheese shop and the bakery and enjoy a most delicious meal a la francaise on the porch! I can warmly and sincerely recommend Sunny Lane."


"Good-value, peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Mr Bennett | 19 April 2011

"Beautiful Franschhoek has a bit of a reputation as an expensive destination. And certainly there is some pricey accommodation, ditto for restaurants and wine farms. But Sunny Lane offers a spacious, clean and relaxing place to stay, a short walk from the busy main road. The larger of the two suites ..."

more

"Beautiful Franschhoek has a bit of a reputation as an expensive destination. And certainly there is some pricey accommodation, ditto for restaurants and wine farms. But Sunny Lane offers a spacious, clean and relaxing place to stay, a short walk from the busy main road. The larger of the two suites has a lounge, dining room, TV room, kitchen and bedroom with big cupboards and a bathroom (with bath and shower) and toilet. You can sit outside on the little stoep or step down to the well-wooded swimming pool area, where a braai is available for your use. The tranquillity of the garden is something to be experienced. As paranoid city-dwellers we were kindly allowed use of a garage but we noticed that many Franschhoek residents park in the streets. The accommodation cost my wife and I R550 a night. Being bargain hunters, we found the Pick ‘n Pay food shop in the main road maintained the town's gourmet reputation at a fraction of the cost of the restaurants, ideal for self-caterers. And the Franschhoek Cellars, also within walking distance, was a cheerful non-snobby place that provided delicious and delightful wines and cheeses for tasting. Sunny Lane, in Akademie Street, passes the test with honours."


"Sunny Lane lives up to its name in Beautiful Franschoek"

(New Zealand) Jenny Yates | 30 March 2011

"Within easy walking distance to the town, Sunny Lane was great value, with a good pool; and set in very private, pretty and secure garden. Unit was small but OK for 2 of us. We had the unit attached to the back of the garage. The other one is attached to the house. Both verandahs look into each othe..."

more

"Within easy walking distance to the town, Sunny Lane was great value, with a good pool; and set in very private, pretty and secure garden. Unit was small but OK for 2 of us. We had the unit attached to the back of the garage. The other one is attached to the house. Both verandahs look into each other which wasn't a problem while we were there, but both together would be particularly suitable for 2 couples travelling together.
"


"Very enjoyable stay at Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Mrs Otto | 10 December 2010

"Sunny Lane is a wonderful place to stay when you visit Franschhoek. You can walk down to the shops which is so close. The rooms are neat and everything is there if you want to stay in and cook a meal for yourself. The owner Barbara is very helpfu and friendly. The swimming pool is clean and very inv..."

more

"Sunny Lane is a wonderful place to stay when you visit Franschhoek. You can walk down to the shops which is so close. The rooms are neat and everything is there if you want to stay in and cook a meal for yourself. The owner Barbara is very helpfu and friendly. The swimming pool is clean and very inviting after a long days exploring the wine routes. There is basic T.V. but a DSTV channel which are not shared would really be a big bonus to the rooms as this is the only negative point for us."


"Happyness is"

(South Africa) Mr Beckett | 8 November 2010

"I have stayed in Franschhoek multiple times before, and none of those places gets close to Sunny lane! Affordable and luxurious!"


"Enjoyable despite the rain!"

(United Kingdom) Mr Pearce | 27 October 2010

"The Sunny Lane facility is excellent. Set in a quiet street only a short walk from shops and restaurants, the apartment we occupied for two nights is well equipped for self catering with large pleasant rooms. The small swimming pool in the grounds would have added to our enjoyment but we stayed in e..."

more

"The Sunny Lane facility is excellent. Set in a quiet street only a short walk from shops and restaurants, the apartment we occupied for two nights is well equipped for self catering with large pleasant rooms. The small swimming pool in the grounds would have added to our enjoyment but we stayed in early spring before the pool was ready or the water warm enough - and it rained, good for the grapes but wet for us. Having a comfortable apartment to return to, out of the rain was most welcome. Friendly owners, comfortable apartment - recommend."


"Fantastic Place"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Springthorpe | 23 September 2010

"We stayed at Sunny Lane for 6 days in September and loved our stay. The location is perfect for strolling down to all the fantastic restaurants in Franschhoek and the surrounding countryside and vineyards. The accommodation was spacious, clean and had everything we needed, some of the equipment is a..."

more

"We stayed at Sunny Lane for 6 days in September and loved our stay. The location is perfect for strolling down to all the fantastic restaurants in Franschhoek and the surrounding countryside and vineyards. The accommodation was spacious, clean and had everything we needed, some of the equipment is a little dated but all fully functional. The only issue we had was given the location a couple of decent wine glasses to appreciate the fantastic local wines would have been great, but you can't really count that as a major complaint!"


"Stay at Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Paul Rixom | 28 June 2010

"My wife and I recently stayed in the small self-catering unit at Sunny Lane and we found it clean, comfortable and very good value for money. A very nice surprise was the under-floor heating which kept the room at a very pleasant temperature.

There is also a delightful private courtyard are..."

more

"My wife and I recently stayed in the small self-catering unit at Sunny Lane and we found it clean, comfortable and very good value for money. A very nice surprise was the under-floor heating which kept the room at a very pleasant temperature.

There is also a delightful private courtyard area with a swimming pool. Sunny Lane is situated on a quiet back street but is only a short walking distance to all the attractions of Franschhoek.

It all goes to show that you can stay in Franschhoek without spending a fortune!

Highly recommended!
"


"Sunny Lane"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 1 June 2010

"Very comfortable and great value for money within easy walking distance of Franschhoek. "


"Review"

(New Zealand) anonymous | 9 May 2010

"We enjoyed our stay. The setting in Franschoek is magnificent with beautiful mountains all around. The location of the unit is really good and a short walk to really nice shops and cafes. "


"Perfect place for two couples"

(Sweden) Mr Sonden | 12 March 2010

"We had a great two weeks long stay. With Sunny Lane as our base we explored the wineries in Franschhoek and Stellenbosch by foot and by car. After a full day of exploring we spent the late afternoons on the terrace and in the pool. In the evening we fired up the grill or took the short walk to one o..."

more

"We had a great two weeks long stay. With Sunny Lane as our base we explored the wineries in Franschhoek and Stellenbosch by foot and by car. After a full day of exploring we spent the late afternoons on the terrace and in the pool. In the evening we fired up the grill or took the short walk to one of Franschhoek's great restaurants. The apartments suited our needs very well (four adults and two infants) and were serviced daily (except weekends). We can highly recommend Sunny Lane! "


"February 2010 Review"

(Spain) Mr Anderson | 24 February 2010

"In a great central location, no need for driving in the evening to enjoy all the restaurants. As for the winelands, they are excellent. Accommodation is clean and basic."


"Weekend stay at Sunny Lane"

(Australia) Martine | 7 January 2010

"Sunny Lane is in a very convenient part of town. The self-catering cottage was clean and provided everything we needed. The cottage is not serviced on weekends. "


"Sunny Lane - Franschhoek South Africa"

(Uganda) Mr Hjortdal | 26 October 2009

"Very good value for money. Nice, quiet, clean and cosy guesthouse. Nice privacy and to me much better than the usual hotel hustle.
"


"Nice Little Guest House in Town"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 October 2009

"Convenient little guest house. Has everything you need for a weekend of wine tasting and eating out. The pool is also great as it can get hot in the summer!"


"Another gem"

(United Kingdom) Mr Bubbear | 8 February 2009

"A very pleasant stay but too short. The accommodation was excellent and the welcome friendly.
I was able to book my return seats via the internet - an invaluable service not provided by all.
This was our first trip to South Africa and our first wholly DIY trip. We'll be doing it again based ..."

more

"A very pleasant stay but too short. The accommodation was excellent and the welcome friendly.
I was able to book my return seats via the internet - an invaluable service not provided by all.
This was our first trip to South Africa and our first wholly DIY trip. We'll be doing it again based on the experience of this time."


"Sunny Lane Franschhoek"

(South Africa) Mrs Paterson | 15 December 2008

"The units were both neat and clean with very comfortable beds. The pool was most refreshing in the heat of summer.
As the two units are very close together it would be ideal to have two couples book out the units.

We certainly enjoyed ourselves!"


"Perfect romantic getaway!"

(South Africa) Ed & Sharon Freeman | 22 October 2008

"Down the lavender lined garden path, our self catering cottage at Sunny Lane in Franschhoek exceeded all our expectations. It was spacious, airy, comfortable, private, secure and very clean. We had the use of the swimming pool which was lovely on a hot day. Our hosts Barbara and Peter were very frie..."

more

"Down the lavender lined garden path, our self catering cottage at Sunny Lane in Franschhoek exceeded all our expectations. It was spacious, airy, comfortable, private, secure and very clean. We had the use of the swimming pool which was lovely on a hot day. Our hosts Barbara and Peter were very friendly and helpful.
The cottage was conveniently situated in a pretty street, quiet, set well back a couple of blocks up from the main road, yet only a few minutes walk down to all the restaurants and shops. We would have no hesitation in recommending Sunny Lane to any visitors wishing to stay in Franschhoek on a self-catering basis.
"


"Nice place"

(South Africa) Ms Antonazzo | 23 June 2008

"A nice, quaint place in walking distance from town. Spacious and heated floors for winter!"


"We loved it!"

(United Kingdom) Ms Benzacar | 2 June 2008

"Sunny Lane was great. A lovely little oasis in a fantastic location in central Franschhoek. We loved it! The owner was friendly, but left us largely on our own, which was nice after we had spent a fair few nights in one of the up market resources (equally lovely, but we just fancied chilling a bit..."

more

"Sunny Lane was great. A lovely little oasis in a fantastic location in central Franschhoek. We loved it! The owner was friendly, but left us largely on our own, which was nice after we had spent a fair few nights in one of the up market resources (equally lovely, but we just fancied chilling a bit). Sunny Lane offered just that opportunity to chill. It is set back from the main house down a delightfully lavender scented lane, has a lovely terrace with vines growing on it and access to a small kitchenette and the house pool. It was clean and serviced daily while we were there. Incredible value for money. We will definitely recommend Sunny Lane to friends visiting South Africa and may even return ourselves since we both enjoyed our stay so much."


"Sunny Lane Franschhoek"

(United Kingdom) Mrs du Toit | 14 April 2008

"Many thanks for an excellent stay in the pretty room in Sunny Lane.
Lovely house, gardens and pool and very quiet. Easy walking distance
to the lovely shops and restaurants of beautiful Franschhoek.
"


"Spacious, friendly and peaceful"

(South Africa) Ms Farrelly | 11 February 2008

"Spacious with everything you need. Walking distance to centre. Very friendly and welcoming family. Beautiful and peaceful outdoor areas to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. We had a wonderful stay!"


"Relaxing and peaceful Accomodation"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 January 2008

"Rooms where spacious and neat as well as the bathroom, living room and kitchen area. Much bigger than what we've seen on the internet. Good value for your money. Stunning Pool area with quiet surroundings. Safe for little ones to play around."


"Stay at Sunny Lane"

(South Africa) Ms Petersen | 14 January 2008

"We stayed at Sunny Lane for a few days on route to George. The accommodation and environment was relaxing and very much pleasurable. We enjoyed everything about the accommodation and will definately be returning for a stay upon our next visit to the town. We have already referred friends and family ..."

more

"We stayed at Sunny Lane for a few days on route to George. The accommodation and environment was relaxing and very much pleasurable. We enjoyed everything about the accommodation and will definately be returning for a stay upon our next visit to the town. We have already referred friends and family to Sunny Lane. Thanks again to our hosts for a wonderful stay."


"Sunny Lane - a charming place to stay in Franschoek"

(United Kingdom) Mr Smith | 2 January 2008

"Sunny Lane is a delightfully located self catering facility located in the garden of a family home in Franschoek. It is very convenient for the attractions of the village but is well placed in a quiet little backwater. The two apartments were ideal for the three of us on our trip and offered really ..."

more

"Sunny Lane is a delightfully located self catering facility located in the garden of a family home in Franschoek. It is very convenient for the attractions of the village but is well placed in a quiet little backwater. The two apartments were ideal for the three of us on our trip and offered really good value for money for the location. The swimming pool was of a reasonable size and very clean and we would happily have spent our entire stay around it.
However it is difficult to award more than three stars. This is not a luxurious establishment and the time is probably approaching when a little refurbishment is required and we would only recommend to others on the understanding that they must not expect it to match many of the other, albeit more expensive, properties available in the area.
However for us it was absolutely charming and we will almost certainly return to stay on our next visit to South Africa. "


"Perfect town location"

(Ireland) Ms Flynn | 12 December 2007

"We stayed for two nights in Sunny Lane and thoroughly enjoyed it and would have no problem recommending it to our friends. When you open the gate you are greeted by a wonderful lavender lined pathway to the cute cottage with its perfect terrace which we enjoyed our meals and drinks on. The owners ar..."

more

"We stayed for two nights in Sunny Lane and thoroughly enjoyed it and would have no problem recommending it to our friends. When you open the gate you are greeted by a wonderful lavender lined pathway to the cute cottage with its perfect terrace which we enjoyed our meals and drinks on. The owners are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive and the location is perfect for exploring Franschhoek and the surrounding beautiful countryside!"


"Good stay in Franschhoek"

(South Africa) Michelle Marani | 5 September 2007

"Stayed in Sunny Lane for 2 nights, the room was bigger than expected, clean and more then adequate for our weekend. "


"Sunny Lane - 06 July"

(South Africa) Mr Hlongwa | 16 July 2007

"Comfortable - however the tea-set could be freshly filled for the new guest. T

he place seems to be collecting some dust under the bed and over the tea-set."


"A gem"

(South Africa) Melanie Tait | 16 July 2007

"The aroma of lavender greets you as you walk through the green wooden door. Destination: Franschhoek. Address: 30 Akademie Street.
Bliss await in a picturesque town.
Sunny Lane self catering overnight accommodation in Franschhoek is a charming little gem, situated in the heart of the village..."

more

"The aroma of lavender greets you as you walk through the green wooden door. Destination: Franschhoek. Address: 30 Akademie Street.
Bliss await in a picturesque town.
Sunny Lane self catering overnight accommodation in Franschhoek is a charming little gem, situated in the heart of the village.
The suites are fully equipped, with under floor heating as an added bonus, which kept us warm during our Winter stay. We stayed in the larger apartment which consist of a lounge and open-plan kitchen, plus double bedroom with full bathroom en-suite.
The suites each has its own patio - to soak up the tranquility of the garden and the mountain view.
Sunny Lane offers affordable luxury and is the perfect stay in the food and wine capitol of South Africa."


"Very Good Self-Accomodation with Heated Floors"

(Sweden) Mrs Amundsen | 1 July 2007

"Very good apartment with a lot of space. The heated floor was really good in the cold mornings in June. Situated near to the centre in a quiet neighbourhood. "


"Nice room, but service not really good"

(Germany) Ms Mester | 7 December 2006

"The room was small but nice. When we arrived, the door and the window were open and a cat lies on the bed. Because of the lavender around the house a lot of moths were flying in the room, some even died in the bed! (A fly-grating would help.)

During our 4-night stay nobody cleaned the sleep..."

more

"The room was small but nice. When we arrived, the door and the window were open and a cat lies on the bed. Because of the lavender around the house a lot of moths were flying in the room, some even died in the bed! (A fly-grating would help.)

During our 4-night stay nobody cleaned the sleeping and the bathroom. The day before we left the accommodation, Barbara wrote us a letter to tell us she will not be at home before next day´s afternoon and we should let the outstanding money in the room."


"Great Location, Great Value"

(Uganda) anonymous | 13 September 2006

"Sunny lane is a quiet, clean, simple accomodation. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. We loved the pleasant morning sun and breakfast on the deck and we really appreciated the swimming pool at the end of the summer day.

We would certainly return and recommend the accomodation..."

more

"Sunny lane is a quiet, clean, simple accomodation. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. We loved the pleasant morning sun and breakfast on the deck and we really appreciated the swimming pool at the end of the summer day.

We would certainly return and recommend the accomodation."