Reviews of Mac Mac Forest Retreat


"A Wonder Winter Camping Adventure"

(South Africa) Zelsche | 9 July 2018

"I would like to thank Mac Mac Forest Retreat for the wonderful service that they have provided, not only were they friendly and very helpful but we also considered them to be part of our little winter adventure. Their night patrol really ensured a feeling of safety, and fire wood they had delivered ..."

more

"I would like to thank Mac Mac Forest Retreat for the wonderful service that they have provided, not only were they friendly and very helpful but we also considered them to be part of our little winter adventure. Their night patrol really ensured a feeling of safety, and fire wood they had delivered to us every night, really contributed to warm cosy and sociable evenings, especially in this winter - weather. We would definitely recommend you guys to any other people that are interested in looking for a place to camp, and given the fact that the shower water was always warm is always a great bonus thank you for the excellent service! We really enjoyed our stay at Mac Mac Forest Retreat."


"The view"

Magda KrŸger | 11 January 2018

"a lot of things laying around, not so pleasant smell due to the frog breeding, but 'n lovely homey feel and very comfie beds!"


"Quiet stay to recharge "

Nerina Wilmans | 7 October 2017

"Bathrooms can improve. Minimal wood supplied although it was confirmed that it would be supplied. Bathrooms water outlet leaked underneath one of our tents. On the bright side, safe and quiet. Awesome views. Still was a nice stay"


"Some of the lovliest people i've met. "

Candra Naidoo | 7 July 2017

"Thank you for a lovely stay. I can genuinely say, I've met some of the nicest, friendliest, God-filled people on my trip.
The safari tent was amazing, and so much more than what we expected or hoped for.
The place is lovely and we will definitely come again.

Thank you so much! "


"Safari Tent"

Vanessa Lategan | 20 June 2017

"Shop opening hours could be improved. Overall an amazing stay! Friendly Staff, Friendly Security."


"Value for money"

Juanita Pelzer | 2 May 2017

"The retreat is set in a beautiful location and the staff are very friendly. However, the ablution facilities could use some attention (e.g. dusty, full of spider webs, old dirty curtains, etc.). "


"'"

(South Africa) Tessa Olivier | 23 January 2017

"Absolutely wonderful"


"'"

(South Africa) madeline Oelllermann | 5 April 2016

"Good location to explore Panorama route. Mostly private. Good service from Dominique, although some suggestions left."


"Awesome Customer Service!!!"

(South Africa) Arun Kumar Singaravelu | 29 March 2016

"The Reception of the Client and service for really good but the maintenance was a bit low.

Thanks for the Accomodation.

Regards,

Arun.

"


"Family retreat"

(South Africa) Kevin Bracegirdle | 29 March 2016

"I just would like to thank the whole team at Mac Mac Retreat. They were all very friendly and helpful. Even our four legged friend had a blast.
"


"'"

(South Africa) P[Hil Openshaw | 26 January 2016

"Brilliant"


"Lieux inattendue "

(South Africa) Liotard Sebastien | 19 January 2016

"RŽservation de derni�re minute, tente safari, cadre sympa, vŽgŽtation....Parfait pour la nuit passŽe sur place."


"Nature lovers"

(South Africa) Leila Veerapan-Lewis | 21 December 2015

"we stayed in safari tent. Water n electricity was there. The beautiful nature on our doorstep. But still need all camping equipment for cooking. Washing dishes. FireBut I enjoyed my stay the owners were helpful. And the location it great to all site seeing and towns."


"Visit of Mac mac forest retreat"

(South Africa) Nerina Wilmans | 13 October 2015

"We visitit the retreat for a week. What a wonderful week. People were so friendly and helpful. We felt right at home. This was exactly what we were looking for in a break from reality. Wonderful views. No complaints. We will definitely be visiting them again as there is so much to see and do, the ti..."

more

"We visitit the retreat for a week. What a wonderful week. People were so friendly and helpful. We felt right at home. This was exactly what we were looking for in a break from reality. Wonderful views. No complaints. We will definitely be visiting them again as there is so much to see and do, the time was just not enought.


Thank you for a great stay and thank you for the hospitality.

See you soon"


"'"

(South Africa) helen v d westhuizen | 28 September 2015

"What a pleasant place to stay staff was helpfull and friendly bathrooms clean definitly a yes"


"Great hospitality"

(South Africa) Antoinette Smith | 19 February 2015

"Thank you to everyone at Mac Mac. The hospitality was great and they went the extra mile to make our experience even better!I will definitely recommend the establishment to other families!"


"All that is needed"

(South Africa) Petrus Maritz | 12 January 2015

"Had a nice stay, friendly staff and it is primitave but all that is needed are provided for. Safe "


"Peacefully Rustic"

(Swaziland) Elysa MacLellan | 3 October 2014

"If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. If you want old fashioned houses with the bare basic furnishings at a great price and set in a tranquil but yet very convenient location, then this is the place for you. We took our 5 kids there and had a great time hiking up the mountain behin..."

more

"If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. If you want old fashioned houses with the bare basic furnishings at a great price and set in a tranquil but yet very convenient location, then this is the place for you. We took our 5 kids there and had a great time hiking up the mountain behind the retreat, playing on the playground, swimming in the pool, hanging out at the pub and grill, relaxing and reading, as well as making day trips to Kruger and the Panoramic Route. What we did not do was spend time staring at a tv or computer screen as there is neither wifi or tv in the cottages. We also took day trips to Kruger Park, the Panoramic Route, Pilgrims Rest, Nelspruit, etc. I loved how quiet it was and that my kids could just be kids. We would definitely stay at the Mac Mac Forest Retreat again."


"Comfortable House for Family"

(South Africa) Seth Meyers | 25 September 2014

"A nice surprise tucked in the mountains.

Very easy to find, right on the road between Sabie and Graskop, near to some fantastic natural sights. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful surroundings. Great price. Highly recommend. "


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Riaan Pohlman | 13 September 2014

"The Safari tents were very comfortable, I had some requests that ordinarily retreats would not grant. Upon arrival all the requests I made for the tent was there. The people (staff & owner) are very friendly and make you feel at home & the food was great! Will definitely recommend them to my friends..."

more

"The Safari tents were very comfortable, I had some requests that ordinarily retreats would not grant. Upon arrival all the requests I made for the tent was there. The people (staff & owner) are very friendly and make you feel at home & the food was great! Will definitely recommend them to my friends.

Riaan"


"Basic and clean, friendly staff"

(South Africa) Gavin Groenmeyer | 11 August 2014

"We stayed over at Mac Mac for a weekend. Facilities all worked well. Accommodation slightly old and worn. I found the beds to be comfy. A TV in the rooms would have been appreciated, otherwise all the utensils needed were provided in the kitchen.

Lovely bar area at reception where you can mee..."

more

"We stayed over at Mac Mac for a weekend. Facilities all worked well. Accommodation slightly old and worn. I found the beds to be comfy. A TV in the rooms would have been appreciated, otherwise all the utensils needed were provided in the kitchen.

Lovely bar area at reception where you can meet new people and hosts always willing to help. Lovely hiking trails from here through the forest and lovely central location on Panorama Route.

Basic and clean accommodation that I would recommend for people doing a whistle stop on the Panorama Route. "


"'"

(South Africa) Lollo Van In | 5 August 2014

"I had a great time, combined with friendly and efficient service from the personnel. Many thanks for a great weekend."


"Great"

(South Africa) yolanda powell | 17 June 2014

"Great place, value for money, beautiful view. Beds very uncomfortable."


"Camping "

(South Africa) Osana Robertson | 6 May 2014

"Great view and sites for camping. Ablutions are rustic and offer no privacy if there are a lot of people camping.They are clean. Hosts were great and attended to all our needs."


"It was very good"

(South Africa) rhulani ubisi | 26 December 2013

"We really enjoyed our stay, the owner and her employees were very friendly, and security was very tight, the place was neat as well but the chickens were disturbing us, quad bikes and paint balls were not working though the owner said she will fix everything but otherwise we had a great time, and we..."

more

"We really enjoyed our stay, the owner and her employees were very friendly, and security was very tight, the place was neat as well but the chickens were disturbing us, quad bikes and paint balls were not working though the owner said she will fix everything but otherwise we had a great time, and we are planning to visit again."


"Loved it"

(South Africa) Rudi Witteveen | 26 June 2013

"We enjoyed the stay at the Retreat. The facilities are adequate for campers and we found ourselves short of nothing. The people are really friendly and helpful. I will certainly be back."


"Amazing"

(South Africa) Jannetje Louw | 7 January 2013

"The site and bathrooms was nice, clean and maintained. Had a lovely stay!"


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Debbie Kemp | 2 May 2012

"We stayed at Mac Mac for 5 days and had a great time. The camping site we were assigned was lovely, with great views of the valley. Activities for the family are plentiful, and the resort is centrally loacted for the area and the usual touritst attractions.

My only reservation would be that t..."

more

"We stayed at Mac Mac for 5 days and had a great time. The camping site we were assigned was lovely, with great views of the valley. Activities for the family are plentiful, and the resort is centrally loacted for the area and the usual touritst attractions.

My only reservation would be that the ablutions could be improved - they are a bit scarce, although there were some under development when we were there so this may be resolved soon. otherwise a lovely spot."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Daphne Jacobs | 10 April 2012

"Awesome place to stay and relax. Love the vibe and culture they create. It is truly a family breakaway and safe for your children."


"Freindly service"

(South Africa) Ivan Sanders | 9 June 2008

"Friendly and extremely helpful people! Excellent value for money. Good food nice pub on site."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Cheryl Clark | 13 May 2008

"We really enjoyed our stay. Establishment was clean and well kept. We even had the help get our fire going which was a blessing."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Este Steenkamp | 30 April 2008

"It was very nice staying there."


"STUDENT TOUR"

Anonymous | 11 September 2007

"Lecturers and students all had a very good time - thank you very much!

Historical Studies,

UJ"


"mac mac forest retreat"

(South Africa) martin marŽ | 20 August 2007

"Very very nice"


"Will be back soon"

(South Africa) Henk Oberholzer | 10 July 2007

"Thank you for the hospitality and value for money accommodation. Will be back soon!!"


"Forest retreat"

(South Africa) Donald McMillan | 10 April 2007

"Comfortable and spacious. Great views. A little too close to the road i.e. noise"


"Good"

(South Africa) Pieter Badenhorst | 27 February 2007

"Good for a budget stay. There was however no warm water at the top apartment on Sunday. Did check the gas bottle, but the flame didn't stay. One toilet between 10 people? Please invest in another one at the top apartment.

Thanks!"


"Unforgetable"

(Italy) Lucia Di Domenico | 14 February 2007

"Very nice place, the accommodation is super and the staff is Wonderful...

We spent our first night in South Africa with them and it was inforgettable.......Thanks a lot

"


"Enjoyed our stay"

Anonymous | 29 January 2007

"Complete breakaway from the city"


"Happy stay"

(South Africa) Gesina Bester | 13 November 2017

"We as family stay at the Mac Mac Falls retreat and it was great! We definitely recommend the Safari tents at Mac Mac Waterfall Retreat.
This was home for 3 days and everyone at the retreat was kind and helpful to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you we will stay there anytime!!"


"Pleasant Stay "

(South Africa) Liz | 22 June 2017

"We had a good night`s stay. The accommodation was clean, everything was in place and well-kept. The service was good, staff was welcoming and we had a satisfying stopover and would go back again."


"Great Place"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 January 2017

"It’s a great place and the accommodation was great. "


"Great Experience"

(South Africa) HILDA | 21 September 2016

"I absolutely loved it, the place is clean, cosy and peaceful. The service is very good and welcoming. I would go back anytime and recommend it to anyone."


"Nice Stay at Mac Mac Forest Retreat"

(South Africa) HANITA | 27 July 2016

"We had very nice stay, all was fine and pleasant. "


"A pleasant getaway...."

(South Africa) Janine | 9 May 2016

"I liked it however, please note we only spent one night at the retreat so it was cery difficult to give feedback because we arrived after dark and left before sunrise (to participate in the Forest to Falls MTB event). We made a little fire, had a lovely warm shower, and went to bed. Everything we ..."

more

"I liked it however, please note we only spent one night at the retreat so it was cery difficult to give feedback because we arrived after dark and left before sunrise (to participate in the Forest to Falls MTB event). We made a little fire, had a lovely warm shower, and went to bed. Everything we needed was there, and I did not expect much for the affordable price.

There were also no chairs at the fire place, but I assume you expect people to bring their own camp chairs?
The staff very kindly brought us 2 chairs.

I will visit the retreat again.

"


"Scenic"

(South Africa) tania | 28 March 2016

"Welcoming staff were warm and friendly. Free wood was offered. Camping grounds are neat and tidy. Lovely views of mountain range. Ablution blocks had hot water. We enjoyed our overnight stay. All in all worth it."


"Lovely stay."

(South Africa) van dyk | 18 December 2015

"My nights spent at Mac Mac Forest Retreat was really lovely, the views were beautiful and I will definitely return."


"Mac Mac Forest Retreat"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 April 2015

"I had a good stay at Mac Mac Forest Retreat. It was clean and neat. It was well equipped. "


"Good"

(South Africa) Vania | 12 January 2015

"I did not stay for the full duration that I had booked but I had a good stay here. I'd definitely like to revisit the place. Recommended."


"Good stay"

(South Africa) Chiloane | 30 December 2014

"I had a good stay at Mac Mac Forest. It was clean and the staff were friendly. I will recommend them to others."


"Short stay"

(South Africa) Ms Bird | 3 June 2014

"My one night stay was very good, everything went well. The views were beautiful and I will definitely return and recommend to others as well."