Reviews of Berghouse and Cottages


"Therapy for the soul"

(South Africa) Lizby | 28 January 2020

"We had an awesome two days, our cottage was cozy and comfortable. Stunning berg views. Will definitely visit Berghouse and cottages again. Thank you for sharing your beautiful place with us."


"To selebrate my dads 90 birthday"

Annalie Pienaar | 22 April 2018

"We enjoyed every minute. All the family together with wonderful views and lovely houses. Thank you"


"Great overnight stop"

Wendy Ellington | 22 September 2017

"Loved the meals, views and we'll organised. Private.
Would stay again for longer. "


"The endless view"

Marc Van Uytvanck | 22 August 2017

"The quietness and view. The romantic accommodation!"


"Scenery"

John Leyland | 28 May 2017

"Scenery, quiet, great views, invigorating climare"


"fireplace"

Michelle Fox | 6 May 2017

"nice relaxing holiday, beautiful fireplace, rooms are nice and cozy. "


"Our Mountain Stay"

Freek Van Wyk | 2 May 2017

"We enjoyed the views and tranquility"


"'"

(South Africa) Ilse Breytenbach | 28 December 2016

"WeHad a lovely time at the Berghouse.We loved the privacy and the incredible views. The house was comfortable and had all we needed."


"A wonderful place "

(Botswana) Chantelle Hartley | 16 June 2016

"We had a great stay, the facilities were good and the staff are friendly.
Establishments Response:
..."

more

"We had a great stay, the facilities were good and the staff are friendly.
Establishments Response:
Thank you for your kind words and recent visit. We enjoyed hosting you all and look forward to the same privilege in the near future.With warm regards from staff and owners in the Northern Drakensberg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa"


"Loved it!!"

(South Africa) Roz Hewitt | 13 June 2016

"Lovely place-perfect place for my toddler to run wild and the miniature horses were so sweet. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again!
more

"Lovely place-perfect place for my toddler to run wild and the miniature horses were so sweet. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again!
Establishments Response:
Thank you for your kind words, and for visiting our little mountain paradise, we enjoyed hosting you all and hope to see you back soon.With warm regards from a snowy chilly Drakensberg."


"What an Adventure"

(South Africa) ANICKE STEYN | 4 April 2016

"Only when you experience this GEM for real, in person, not on a website, can the beauty of this place be justified.

I'm so glad we did not go with the every-day commercialized options for accommodation and found this place!

The warmth of the hosts, the surrounding beauty of mountains..."

more

"Only when you experience this GEM for real, in person, not on a website, can the beauty of this place be justified.

I'm so glad we did not go with the every-day commercialized options for accommodation and found this place!

The warmth of the hosts, the surrounding beauty of mountains - the incredible breakfast and supper, the view, the activities, horse riding experience, the cosy cottage with such beauty - everything left us in awe!

We will most definitely come back and refer our friends and family!

"


"Berghouse cottages"

(South Africa) Chris Wilcock | 8 September 2015

"We stayed at Berghouse (cottage 1) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cute cottage was rustic but fully equipped for a wonderful relaxing 3 days. The cottages are set far apart from each other so that each is really quiet and private. I can unreservedly recommend Berghouse"


"Wonderful family getaway!"

(South Africa) Debbie Lombard | 17 June 2015

"Had a lovely relaxing break at the Berghouse and Cottages. Great setting and views spectacular. The kids loved playing with the little ponies and loved their horse rides. My husband loved the mountain bike trails, and I loved curling up by the fire or on the picnic blanket with my book :) Lovely rel..."

more

"Had a lovely relaxing break at the Berghouse and Cottages. Great setting and views spectacular. The kids loved playing with the little ponies and loved their horse rides. My husband loved the mountain bike trails, and I loved curling up by the fire or on the picnic blanket with my book :) Lovely relaxed vibe and safe for the kids. Can really recommend ordering the odd meal from the main house, which they can deliver to your cottage. Really delicious, especially the breakfast! Will definitely be back!"


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Kate Allison | 1 April 2015

"Phezulu at the Berghouse is a stunningly decorated, fully equipped cottage in the most beautiful berg surroundings. We loved the ponies in the garden and enjoyed a 6 km walk to the Tugela river from the driveway. The environment was very friendly and peaceful, with help from the owners whenever we n..."

more

"Phezulu at the Berghouse is a stunningly decorated, fully equipped cottage in the most beautiful berg surroundings. We loved the ponies in the garden and enjoyed a 6 km walk to the Tugela river from the driveway. The environment was very friendly and peaceful, with help from the owners whenever we needed it."


"Epic weekend away!"

(South Africa) Erin Roberts | 3 November 2014

"What a treat! Amazing friendly hosts who have thought out their guest cottages very well. The outdoor facilities available are lovely as well with mountain bike tracks, beautiful walks and stunning horse rides. Highly recommend the Berghouse and am hoping to return soon! "


"Beautiful"

(South Africa) Lindi Pienaar | 19 December 2013

"Beautiful and relaxing. We will definitely return!"


"Beautiful peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Maretha Lombard | 13 December 2013

"The scenery is lovely and the accommodation excellent. We had an extremely relaxing few days far from the rush of city life surrounded by green hills and mountains. Keep it up."


"Hear the quietness"

(South Africa) John Cronje | 10 September 2013

"A very pleasant stay was had in a lovely part of the country. Conveniently close to the RN National Park +- 20km from the cottages."


"An absolute gem!!"

(South Africa) Shannon O'Connell-Jones | 18 June 2013

"What an absolute gem!! We absolutely loved our stay at the Berghouse and Cottages! We stayed in the Thandanani cottage - a lovely quaint cosy cottage! The hosts are lovely! The views magnificent! We will most definitely be back! "


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Alistair Tuckett | 18 May 2013

"Wonderful."


"Highly Recommend"

(South Africa) Kerryn Krige | 9 May 2013

"Sometimes you don't want to write a good review as you realise your favourite place may lose some of its magic as it becomes more popular. But it would be sinful to keep The Berghouse and Cottages secret. The accommodation is excellent and is only surpassed by the astonishing views of the Ampitheatr..."

more

"Sometimes you don't want to write a good review as you realise your favourite place may lose some of its magic as it becomes more popular. But it would be sinful to keep The Berghouse and Cottages secret. The accommodation is excellent and is only surpassed by the astonishing views of the Ampitheatre which are yours to enjoy. Don't forget your mountain bikes or trail running shoes - the property is big, well networked with paths and owner Vaughn is on hand with advice on where to go and what to do. He was also a surprising font of knowledge on trees - it was far more interesting to ask him about the local greenery than page through our very intimidating tree-books to figure out what was growing where. I highly recommend this venue - it is excellent value for money, and a real treat. "


"You get more than expected"

(South Africa) karlien coetzer | 15 April 2013

"What excellent accommodation! The serenity, silence and views were awesome! We will definitely go back!"


"Beautiful, peaceful location"

(United Kingdom) Karen Cumbers | 15 March 2013

"My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay in Phinda Cottage. Even though the weather had closed in, the views were astounding. The hosts were warm and welcoming and the accommodation was immaculate. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back."


"Peaceful place with beautiful views"

(South Africa) Estrela Figueiredo | 23 January 2013

"We had a very pleasant stay. The cottages have beautiful views and the place is very quiet and peaceful. The walking trails in the property are very nice. The food was good and the hosts very helpful."


"Short stay"

(South Africa) Mark Tayler | 4 August 2012

"We only stayed one night on a trip from Johannesburg to Durban, highly recommended, would like to have stayed longer, maybe next time."


"At the end of the road"

(France) Barnaud Antoine | 29 April 2012

"After a long gravel road, you arrive on a top of the hill in a beautiful place with a magic view of Drakensberg, Chantal with her charming smile is here as a perfect hostess. After a quiet night in the charming cottage you have a wonderfull breakfeast and you are ready for the world conquest."


"Peaceful"

Mike Psaltis | 2 April 2012

"Incredibly peaceful and quiet. Amazing views!"


"Great"

(South Africa) Lisa Labuschagne | 26 March 2012

"This place is great if you like a peaceful atmosphere, wide open spaces, animals, and of course a great view of the mountain. We will be going back in the near future."


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Marina van der Merwe | 22 March 2012

"This was a great get-away at the right time and to a very special place! Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the environment!"


"We loved this beautiful cottage!"

(South Africa) Bert Prinsloo | 5 February 2012

"We will book this cottage again any time! Just beautiful - the views and the dŽcor. Didn't want to leave."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Maartin du Toit | 12 December 2011

"Thank you for the lovely weekend. We absolutely loved it and will definitely come back for another romantic weekend!"


"Great"

(South Africa) theunis Snyman | 1 November 2011

"Excellent accommodation, kind landlord, best scenery and mind bobbing great nature!"


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Glen Coltman Coltman | 14 August 2011

"My family and I had a wonderful stay at Berghouse and Cottages. Our hosts were very friendly and hospitable and the area amazing. The views were incredible! The quiet - food for the soul!"


"Great!"

(South Africa) Jo Da Silva | 1 June 2011

"The views are breathtaking, the accommodation romantically rustic and the hosts friendly and charming. What more could you ask for? "


"Great"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 8 March 2011

"A stunning location, with wonderful hospitality. Cottage was well equipped, food was superb, we couldn't recommend it more highly."


"Beautiful"

(South Africa) Patrick Corue | 9 February 2011

"What a great place to stay! The accommodation was just perfect. Clean, very cosy cottage, very stylish. The view was just fabulous and what a surprising and deliciously prepared breakfast! Amazing! Would definitively recommend it to anyone!"


"Restful"

(Israel) Sergey Karfman | 4 November 2010

"Very restful place with very friendly people."


"Berg House and Cottages"

(Lesotho) Wendy Fath | 6 August 2010

"This lovely, secluded spot is well worth the approximate 3kms dirt road driveway. Views of the Drakensberg Mountains are stunning. Cottages are well-appointed and comfortable. The little things can say a lot, and Vaughn and Chantal pay attention to these: strange as it may seem, the gorgeous smellin..."

more

"This lovely, secluded spot is well worth the approximate 3kms dirt road driveway. Views of the Drakensberg Mountains are stunning. Cottages are well-appointed and comfortable. The little things can say a lot, and Vaughn and Chantal pay attention to these: strange as it may seem, the gorgeous smelling handmade bath soap (lemon grass) was a wonderful small touch of luxury, Vaughn coming to invite us to view their local browsing Eland and their very friendly dog who is an eager companion on walks around the property. A great stay."


"Berghouse and Cottages"

(South Africa) Richard Astle | 5 July 2010

"We only had two nights at the Berghouse - not nearly long enough. Great accommodation, wonderful views. I will have to go back."


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 21 April 2010

"The venue is beautiful and our stay was relaxing and thoroughly enjoyed by all."


"What a View!"

(Netherlands) Anonymous | 23 March 2010

"Our stay at Berg House & Cottages was great! The views and the peace & quiet is something you don't get anywhere. The rooms are beautiful!

"


"Perfect stay!"

(Germany) Dr. Klaus Richter | 28 February 2010

"Perfect stay with a great view! To days were definitely not enough, will return soon..."


"Relaxing and enjoyable."

(South Africa) Farrel Levin | 17 December 2009

"Our stay was relaxing and as commented previously, it felt like one of the last natural places on the planet where one can stay and enjoy..."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 30 June 2009

"Was wonderful to get away from the city and to relax and take in the fresh air of the mountains!

Would definitely visit again."


"The place to go to."

(South Africa) Willie du Plessis | 1 June 2009

"We had a great and fabulous time. Just a pity we only had a weekend available. We will be back SOON. Thank you Vaughn."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Dawie steyn | 11 May 2009

"Wonderful relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff and pleasant hosts"


"Great three days but not long enough."

(South Africa) Tom Hopkins | 19 March 2009

"The cottage and views were as we expected them and better.

You are allowed to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings and the welcome from Vaughn & Chantal put us at ease and one feels at home.

The accommodation is very informal, homely and welcoming.

The views are spectac..."

more

"The cottage and views were as we expected them and better.

You are allowed to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings and the welcome from Vaughn & Chantal put us at ease and one feels at home.

The accommodation is very informal, homely and welcoming.

The views are spectacular and the walks easy or a bit more for those who that exercise.

The next time we visit we will stay longer and get involved in other activities such as fishing and biking and visit other places in the area.

Keep up the good work and thanks for the rest. We have recommended Berg House and Cottages to our friends and even strangers."


"Beautiful place"

(South Africa) Tom Van Arkel | 9 February 2009

"This is a beautiful place with spectacular views. We will be back."


"House off the beaten track"

(Germany) Martina Hummel | 6 December 2008

"All rooms are placed in houses separate to the owner's. We didn't see other guests and felt very private. Breakfast and dinner were served in our own kitchen or on the patio. The French descendant landlady loves to cook herself (very recommendable!) and the landlord loves to get his guests known. We..."

more

"All rooms are placed in houses separate to the owner's. We didn't see other guests and felt very private. Breakfast and dinner were served in our own kitchen or on the patio. The French descendant landlady loves to cook herself (very recommendable!) and the landlord loves to get his guests known. We enjoyed the talks with him about work, life in South Africa and the best walks in the Royal Natal NP.

You should consider that you need about 8 hours for a climb on the amphitheatre as the starting-point is still 1,5 hours away from the location. We then preferred the walk in the park at the foot of the amphitheatre.

And: the way to the farm includes 3 (or 5?) km narrow, steep gravel road.

Try it!!!"


"Cottage was awesome"

(South Africa) Marianne Voice | 3 November 2008

"We were pleasantly surprised by our view & cottage. I was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The view from our cottage was awesome !! Thank-you !!"


"Absolutely Beautiful Area"

(South Africa) Andre Nel | 3 November 2008

"We had a lovely stay, waking up to the site of the beautiful mountains, made for absolutely stunning photo opportunities."


"A place with superb views and even better meals.."

(United Kingdom) john coe | 16 August 2008

"We really enjoyed our stay here, very quiet and picturesque....

We really enjoyed the meals and they were well worth the money, nicely presented to your door in a hamper...a lovely touch, meaning you can still feel as if your on your own in this beautiful countryside.."


"Stunning Location and Lovely Food"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 9 August 2008

"We all enjoyed our stay at the Berghouse, the location of our cottage was absolutely stunning with a marvellous view of the amphitheatre. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and delivered to our cottage in pretty picnic baskets.

Thank you to Vaughn and Chantal for our stay, short and sweet!"


"Peacefull and relaxing!"

(South Africa) Jason Farquhar | 28 June 2008

"I was as said above peacefull and relaxing. A nice quiet break from the hustle and bustle of the city."


"GREAT WEEKEND"

(South Africa) Kathy Oliver | 19 May 2008

"Lovely place for a relaxing weekend - we certainly did not feel the need to move. Will be back for a longer stay to make use of it as a base to explore the Northern Drakensberg.

There was plenty to do to keep our 6 year old fully occupied and we never took advantage of all that was on offer."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 2 April 2008

"We both enjoyed the stay very much and wished that it could have been longer"


"Amazing views"

(United Kingdom) Matt and Tabitha Shaw | 29 March 2008

"Our stay was great - the cottage was in a spectacular location with amazing views."


"I will be back."

(South Africa) Louzane van Niekerk | 26 March 2008

"Looking for a relaxing experience then Berghouse is just the place. The views are absolutely stunning. Fantastic walks close by. Vaugh & Chantal are friendly and hospitable. I will be back."


"Wonderful"

(United Kingdom) ann hutchison | 14 March 2008

"This was really a wonderful place to rest and renew tired souls.

Many wonderful walks nearby , and many interesting drives to other venues.

Wonderful hosts who went out their way to help make this a fantastic holiday"


"Memorable stay"

(South Africa) Amelda Myburgh | 2 January 2008

"We had a great time! Very relaxing and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Thank you for a memorable stay."


"Good Value for Money"

(South Africa) Delphine du Toit | 25 December 2007

"It was a delightful pleasure - rustic setting, wonderful hospitality, great little wood stove. Not too crazy about the exotic trees though. Good value for money."


"Charming"

(South Africa) Roland du Preez | 22 December 2007

"We enjoyed our stay at Berghouse. The cottage was charming and quaint. It was the beauty and quiet that we enjoyed so much. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definately be back again some day (I hope soon)"


"Welcoming"

(South Africa) Nigel Beck | 18 December 2007

"Good, we felt welcome."


" We enjoyed our stay."

(Germany) Helga Barth | 25 October 2007

"Stunning views, nice atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful hosts. "


"Perfectly situated"

(Germany) Reckel | 21 October 2007

"Unfortunately we had 2 days rain / cold and only could admire the wonderful landscape and views to the Amphitheater on our departure. For hikingtours the grounds are perfectly situated. Our little selfcatering cottage was small and simply equipped but suitable - the fireplace was exactly the right c..."

more

"Unfortunately we had 2 days rain / cold and only could admire the wonderful landscape and views to the Amphitheater on our departure. For hikingtours the grounds are perfectly situated. Our little selfcatering cottage was small and simply equipped but suitable - the fireplace was exactly the right compensation and gave us the cosiness we need! "


"Weekend getaway"

(South Africa) tracey lynch | 4 September 2007

"I took my husband and two babies away for the weekend of our 5th wedding anniversary, the Berghouse and cottages was the best thing i could have done, we had the most relaxing weekend, no cooking or cleaning and a safe, beautiful environment. our meals were brought to us in our cottage, that was li..."

more

"I took my husband and two babies away for the weekend of our 5th wedding anniversary, the Berghouse and cottages was the best thing i could have done, we had the most relaxing weekend, no cooking or cleaning and a safe, beautiful environment. our meals were brought to us in our cottage, that was like home away from home.

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful we will most definitely be back - with friends and family the next time. thank you"


"Berghouse comments"

(South Africa) Andrew Miller | 16 August 2007

"Lovely stay, thanks. we'll definitely be back..."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Coenie Viljoen | 10 July 2007

"Good views, provide a relaxing atmosphere. Nice place for a family getaway, spending the evenings together at the fireplace playing some games. Good idea that there is no TV."


"Spectacular!!!"

(Canada) Kerry Norris | 9 July 2007

"I have visited many places in the Drakensberg and The Berghouse is one of my favorite spots. The service was excellent. We felt totally pampered when our breakfast and dinner was delivered to our cottage. The food was fresh and homemade. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The views were breathta..."

more

"I have visited many places in the Drakensberg and The Berghouse is one of my favorite spots. The service was excellent. We felt totally pampered when our breakfast and dinner was delivered to our cottage. The food was fresh and homemade. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The views were breathtaking. Thank you to everyone at The Berghouse for the unforgetable stay. We WILL be back!!"


"What a lovely place!"

(South Africa) Celmari Willemse | 18 June 2007

"It was an experience of a lifetime, and would very much like to visit the place again sometime in the future! We were welcomed warmly and friendly, and that tells a lot about the kind of people who own the place.

I would recommend it to other people to experience what we had that weekend! more

"It was an experience of a lifetime, and would very much like to visit the place again sometime in the future! We were welcomed warmly and friendly, and that tells a lot about the kind of people who own the place.

I would recommend it to other people to experience what we had that weekend!

Kind regards

Celmari and Pieter"


"AMAZING"

(South Africa) Tracey-Lee Ridderhof | 14 May 2007

"I wish i could think of words to describe the awesome time that we had in the Berghouse.

Vaughn was so friendly. we didnt feel like just a number, he made us feel like we belong.

it was amazing... Thank you Vaughn, and thank you to SafariNow.com for making it so easy to find and book..."

more

"I wish i could think of words to describe the awesome time that we had in the Berghouse.

Vaughn was so friendly. we didnt feel like just a number, he made us feel like we belong.

it was amazing... Thank you Vaughn, and thank you to SafariNow.com for making it so easy to find and book amazing accommodation.

We went on a 2 and a half week tour of SA, and this was the perfect way to end off our holiday. THANK YOU"


"Peaceful Retreat!"

(France) Connie Jubber | 18 April 2007

"We were able to have a wonderfully peaceful, relaxing weekend, enjoying magnificent views, walks, horserides & awesome nature.

Thanks to our hosts for their friendliness & hospitality. We would love to visit again some time!"


"Peace"

(South Africa) Sally Weighill | 16 April 2007

"Very good - peace, fresh air, walking and fishing. Further from the Amphitheatre than we realised but it didn't matter. Major problem with a leaking roof, but this will be fixed and was met with good humour on guest and landlords sides. Will go again if we can."


"Magic"

(South Africa) Tiffany | 16 April 2007

"Thank-you to Vaughn and Chantal! The Berg House and Cottages was a fantastic place to spend our weekend. We had gorgeous views, excellent facilities and the best part was heaps of privacy. "


"Destress"

(South Africa) segran poobalan | 26 March 2007

"Relaxing enviroment and extremely helpful owner Vaughn with things to do and places to visit. Will definitely recommend to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life "


"Will Return"

(South Africa) Stephen Yaldwyn | 26 March 2007

"Most enjoyable, relaxing and great hosts."


"Lovely place to stay and really nice people"

Anonymous | 12 March 2007

"We loved to stay at Berghouse and Cottages. Its a really lovely place. Vaughn and his wife Chantal are very nice person who gave us information about hiking trails and so on."


"Fantastic accommodation"

(Germany) Danny Guethlein | 18 February 2007

"Highly recommendable! When we read about the Drakensberg mountains, there couldn't be place that would fit more to our expectations than the Berghouse. This laid-back beautiful place was definitely the best accommodation we had on our South Africa holidays. Chantal and Vaughn are very friendly and ..."

more

"Highly recommendable! When we read about the Drakensberg mountains, there couldn't be place that would fit more to our expectations than the Berghouse. This laid-back beautiful place was definitely the best accommodation we had on our South Africa holidays. Chantal and Vaughn are very friendly and helpful. They gave us lots of good advice of what to do. We did exciting and fast horse riding and we made a huge fire at stone henge. The only thing we didn't like was, that we had to leave :-) If you want to know more about this place, just find out yourself, you won't regret it. "


"Berg Holiday"

(South Africa) Hennie Du Plessis | 13 December 2006

"It was for me and my Family one of the best vacations we ever had. The stone cottage was a great experience and I would recommend it to anybody who wants to relax away from the rat race. Making a fire in the middle of the 'stonehenge' while the sun sets over the berg is an experience not to be misse..."

more

"It was for me and my Family one of the best vacations we ever had. The stone cottage was a great experience and I would recommend it to anybody who wants to relax away from the rat race. Making a fire in the middle of the 'stonehenge' while the sun sets over the berg is an experience not to be missed. The view of the Drakensberg escarpment is wonderful. Thanks for a great vacation."


"Top of the world!!"

(Belgium) Isabelle Verstraeten | 28 November 2006

"This is really one of the best places in the world to relax and feel one with nature and his elements. The cottages are clean and intimate. The breakfast that is delivered in a basket is delicious. If we lived closer to the Drakensberg we would come to this place every year.

Thanks for e..."

more

"This is really one of the best places in the world to relax and feel one with nature and his elements. The cottages are clean and intimate. The breakfast that is delivered in a basket is delicious. If we lived closer to the Drakensberg we would come to this place every year.

Thanks for everything!!"


"Enjoyable stay"

(United Kingdom) Barry Pugh | 4 November 2006

"We had an enjoyable stay - the location should have been terrific, but the 'contolled burns' did nothing for the views. The accommodation was very good and the breakfast was excellent.

Unfortunately, being a Sunday, the availability of dinner was VERY limited. Yes, we would recommend Berghou..."

more

"We had an enjoyable stay - the location should have been terrific, but the 'contolled burns' did nothing for the views. The accommodation was very good and the breakfast was excellent.

Unfortunately, being a Sunday, the availability of dinner was VERY limited. Yes, we would recommend Berghouse."


"Enjoyable stay"

(United Kingdom) Chris Glaister | 31 October 2006

"We had a lovely time staying at the Berghouse Cottages. and found Vaughan and Chantel very hospitable,"


"Marvelous!"

(Mozambique) Per Wingqvist | 30 October 2006

"World class views from panorama window and dining place outside is enough to motivate the stay. On top of this a really nice and functional house and a fantastic host. See you next time!"


"Astonishing"

(South Africa) Carin Hattingh | 3 October 2006

"Nothing can describe the peace and tranquility found. Away from everything but surrounded by the beauty and majestic mountains. This is an experience needed for every-one who needs to touch base with himself again. Thankyou."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Jacques JVR | 23 September 2006

"Fantastic!! Awesome view and location. Friendly people(and farm dogs..)

Road in very good condition. This made our first aniversary very special.

Thanx 'alot!!"


"An unforgettable vista "

(South Africa) Hendrik Wannenburg | 13 August 2006

"Our introduction to an unforgettable vista is a twisting gravel road that, although it appears challenging, deposits even the most low-slung sport model safely at the Berghouse. The stay at the Berghouse (our choice was the two-people self catering cottage) was restful and almost humbling in the pre..."

more

"Our introduction to an unforgettable vista is a twisting gravel road that, although it appears challenging, deposits even the most low-slung sport model safely at the Berghouse. The stay at the Berghouse (our choice was the two-people self catering cottage) was restful and almost humbling in the presence of the majestic Drakensberg . Lookout points, an hourÕs hiking (or less) from the Berghouse offers a 270 view of the Drakensberg that few other self-catering locations in the vicinity can match.

The ponies are gentle on their inexperienced riders and the guides are experienced and patient. The 4x4 routes offers stunning views into deep valleys and take you to the banks of the nearby river, a perfect picnic spot.

Our hosts provided the kind of professionalism and care that rounded off a perfect break-away for city slickers."


"'We'd do it again'"

(South Africa) Diane Gent | 15 July 2006

"Lovely stay. The dirt road isn't that bad - my Corsa made it quite easily!Personal touches and personal attention not found at other larger establishments - thanks to Vaughn and Chantal for a lovely week!"


"engagement week"

(South Africa) chantelle stotter | 26 June 2006

"It was great a great break away. I will treasure the moments forever as WE got engaged on the mountain. The hospitality was exceptionally good. We loved the fact that it was only natures sounds in the back ground and the two of us (NO TV'S, OR RADIO'S ). Unfortunatly it ended too soon."


"Good value & beautiful views"

(South Africa) Ronel van Zyl | 1 May 2006

"Very pleasant and private stay indeed. Accommodation neat and clean with everything you need. Fireplace in the lounge the highlight. Its a quick drive from Johannesburg and the gravel road to the Berghouse & Cottages shouldn't be a deterrant at all.

Access easy.

Looking forward to the..."

more

"Very pleasant and private stay indeed. Accommodation neat and clean with everything you need. Fireplace in the lounge the highlight. Its a quick drive from Johannesburg and the gravel road to the Berghouse & Cottages shouldn't be a deterrant at all.

Access easy.

Looking forward to the new cottages being planned."


"Great Place "

Anonymous | 27 March 2006

"We loved and will definitely go back. The only problem we had was the roads."


"Great"

(South Africa) Thomas de bruin | 12 January 2006

"Thank you! We had a wonderful time and would recommend it to friends. The only thing that we missed was proper braai-utensils. But the view was beautiful & we had the most relaxing holiday! Thank you!

Thomas & Gerhard"


"Berg Cottages"

(South Africa) Heather Jenkins | 12 January 2006

"Unfortunately the weather was not good for our stay. We did not see a mountain, the view marred by mist! The cottage we stayed in, although lovely and adequate for our needs was incredibly noisy in the rain. The drips off the tree overhead was amplified on the roof. We left a day early, exhausted! I..."

more

"Unfortunately the weather was not good for our stay. We did not see a mountain, the view marred by mist! The cottage we stayed in, although lovely and adequate for our needs was incredibly noisy in the rain. The drips off the tree overhead was amplified on the roof. We left a day early, exhausted! If the roof had have been thatched, or not surrounded by trees it would have been much more pleasant. I am sure, had the weather been favourable, our opinion would have been very different. "


"Berg House"

(South Africa) wald� Boshoff | 9 January 2006

"Thanks we enjoyed the stay alot, very relaxing. "


"Very good view and very comfortable"

Anonymous | 20 December 2005

"We stayed in the 8 sleeper cottage and it was very comfortable. I would recommend this place."


"Berg House"

(United Kingdom) Joe Legge | 28 November 2005

"Wonderful setting, very good accomodation and ovely hosts."


"Scottish Berg Visit"

(United Kingdom) David Greer | 19 September 2005

"A very warm welcome in this delightful place to stay. The track to the accommodation is a bit rough and requires patience (2.5km) but the effort is well worth it. Lovely cottages with a spectacular view and room to walk around the property too. Excellent breakfast served if required. The ability to ..."

more

"A very warm welcome in this delightful place to stay. The track to the accommodation is a bit rough and requires patience (2.5km) but the effort is well worth it. Lovely cottages with a spectacular view and room to walk around the property too. Excellent breakfast served if required. The ability to have a communal fire and watch the moon/stars is a big bonus."


"All was Great"

Graham | 16 September 2005

"I could not have asked for a nicer more relaxing holiday. Vaughn and Chantal were great and I will definitely be going back next year.

Thanks,Graham

"


"Berg House & Cottages"

Anonymous | 30 August 2005

"My partner and I had the most amazing weekend. The cottage is quaint and homely and Vaughn is a great host. Horseriding is a must as well as building a fire and having a braai overlooking the mountains. There's so much to do in the surrounding area that you'll never be bored. We'll definitley be bac..."

more

"My partner and I had the most amazing weekend. The cottage is quaint and homely and Vaughn is a great host. Horseriding is a must as well as building a fire and having a braai overlooking the mountains. There's so much to do in the surrounding area that you'll never be bored. We'll definitley be back!"


"Fantastic spot"

(Eritrea) Tim Wehrle | 9 August 2005

"The proprieters are wonderful and accommodating with good knowledge of the local attractions. Our daughter loved the horseback ride provided on-site. Cottage was huge and comfortable, and the view off the back porch truly amazing. Careful if you have a low-clearance vehicle coming up the long unpave..."

more

"The proprieters are wonderful and accommodating with good knowledge of the local attractions. Our daughter loved the horseback ride provided on-site. Cottage was huge and comfortable, and the view off the back porch truly amazing. Careful if you have a low-clearance vehicle coming up the long unpaved road off the R74 ... it's rough.

Comment from Operator - We are happy to announce that we have recently constructed a new access route to THE BERGHOUSE AND COTTAGES - a vast improvement to the old route and road mentioned above."


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Lydia | 3 June 2017

"We had a very pleasant stay at Berghouse and Cottages. We loved the quiet and isolated atmosphere. The breakfast and dinner was delicious."


"Absolutely Amazing"

(South Africa) Gillian | 25 May 2017

"The place was well appointed, area peaceful and the view is one of the best in South Africa. The owner was hospitable and made me feel welcome. For tranquillity and peacefulness I would definitely go back."


"Heaven on Earth"

(South Africa) Hilary | 24 April 2017

"Peace and quiet. Awe-inspiring view of the mountains. Well appointed cottage. Attentive management. Lovely walks, mountain bike trail and 4x4 routes.
Will visit again."


"Beautiful Place"

(South Africa) Gert Basson | 9 April 2017

"My wife and I went there on our honeymoon and it was perfect. The cottage is literally in the mountains.
Each morning the cleaning lady came and cleaned the cottage. For self-catering that was awesome."


"The Place To Be!!!"

(South Africa) Gavin | 10 January 2017

"After a rather busy 2016, my wife and I decided to take a 4 day break in the mountains just to get away from the hectic year end we had. I decided on Berghouse as it looked peaceful and quiet, just what we were looking for to unwind. The first impression when we arrived was how neat and tidy it was!..."

more

"After a rather busy 2016, my wife and I decided to take a 4 day break in the mountains just to get away from the hectic year end we had. I decided on Berghouse as it looked peaceful and quiet, just what we were looking for to unwind. The first impression when we arrived was how neat and tidy it was! And the view of the Drakensberg Mountains from Berghouse is spectacular to say the least. The cottage was immaculate and spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. I had mentioned that I was going there to a colleague and she did tell me it was fantastic, and she was right! The hospitality was first class, and thank the staff for their professionalism and dedication.
We did a lot of walking while we were there, even though there was a light rain for two days. Got to see some eland and a lot of different birdlife. Being an avid photographer, I had a great time taking photographs of the birdlife and the horses at Berghouse.
One thing I mentioned to my wife was how quiet it was, with only the birds chirping and the occasional horse noises being all you heard!
At night we would sit and relax on the veranda of our cottage with a glass of wine and just savour the tranquillity of the place.
We will definitely visit Berghouse again. Would love to do it in winter with the snow on the mountains!
So till next time Berghouse, we will savour the memories from our weekend.
"


"Blissfully Quiet Retreat"

(Namibia) Dirk | 27 September 2016

"We found the cottages at Berghouse warmly and cosy furnished and enjoyed the breathtaking views of the Drakensberg, while the beautiful garden and quiet surroundings ensured that we got all the rest we needed. We also loved the fact that we could take short walks and do some bird watching. The ponie..."

more

"We found the cottages at Berghouse warmly and cosy furnished and enjoyed the breathtaking views of the Drakensberg, while the beautiful garden and quiet surroundings ensured that we got all the rest we needed. We also loved the fact that we could take short walks and do some bird watching. The ponies around the house's give the place an even more peaceful feeling. This is one place to which we would like to return. "


"Lovely Time"

(South Africa) anonymous | 9 September 2016

"I had a lovely time, the experience was so awesome. Everything was in order, the rooms were tidy, and the service was great.


"


"Wonderful experience!!!"

(South Africa) Celeste | 25 July 2016

"Wonderful experience!!! Loved the view- the food was awesome. Spectacular view and atmosphere. We enjoyed the peace and quite, the kids loved the horses. We will visit Berghouse again. "


"Charming cottage with a view of a green valley ( surprising Africa)"

(Italy) angela | 1 April 2016

"We liked it a lot to stay there for 2 nights in the first part of our trip to South Africa. Very nice place, kind people, good and genuine food.
"


"Heaven on earth"

(South Africa) NATALIE | 27 January 2016

"Berghouse and cottages is heaven on earth. To wake up to the sounds of wild birds and the beautiful ponies roaming outside your room. It was so quiet. The rooms are lovely and we would open the blinds in the morning, and enjoy the breath taking scenery of the mountains, ponies and birds. The shower ..."

more

"Berghouse and cottages is heaven on earth. To wake up to the sounds of wild birds and the beautiful ponies roaming outside your room. It was so quiet. The rooms are lovely and we would open the blinds in the morning, and enjoy the breath taking scenery of the mountains, ponies and birds. The shower is so spacious and all the other facilities are just what you need for a holiday. Wow I was so relaxed after losing my father and going through a lot of trying times. I feel refreshed, thanks to Berghouse. Vaughn and his wife are lovely hosts and even share stories about their life on the farm. If you want to visit heaven on earth visit them!"


"Great "

(South Africa) yolande | 31 July 2015

"There was absolutely nothing wrong and we had a nice stay. We would make use of the accommodation again."


"Very happy to have stayed here"

(South Africa) Chanelle | 14 July 2015

"This establishment is set in the mountains which really stood out the most for us. We had such a wonderful time. We would highly recommend this establishment to others, because it is really such a nice place."


"Wonderful place"

(Netherlands) Gitta voss and arthur roose | 15 February 2015

"Beautiful place with stunning view, lovely owners and staff. Delicious meals. Great!!"


"Fine"

(South Africa) Frans | 21 January 2015

"I was happy with the stay at this accommodation and I will return one day in the future."


"A chilled getaway"

(South Africa) Christian | 7 November 2014

"The stay was wonderful. I would absolutely recommend it for people who need time away and to recharge as the place is so relaxing."


"Berghouse and Cottages"

(South Africa) Mrs Van Niekerk | 8 August 2014

"We had a great stay. We would definitely make use of the Berghouse again and recommend to others."


"Very good stay"

(South Africa) Ms Van Heerden | 15 July 2014

"My stay at Berghouse and Cottages was lovely. I would recommend it to others and also revisit."


"The Best Accomodation Ever"

(South Africa) Mr & Mrs Russell | 30 June 2014

"We have had the best experience ever at your establishment. The Cottage was quaint and really had everything one would need. The Sherry on arrival (enough for 2 nights) was such a lovely thought and just what we needed when the sun set. We had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts there and the food was fit f..."

more

"We have had the best experience ever at your establishment. The Cottage was quaint and really had everything one would need. The Sherry on arrival (enough for 2 nights) was such a lovely thought and just what we needed when the sun set. We had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts there and the food was fit for a King and your chef Thuli can compete to the best in the country and come out tops. She really went to a lot of trouble.
There is just nothing we could find fault with at all. Thanks for a wonderful 2 nights stay and be sure you are on the top of our "recommendations" list to our friends and family."


"A View without limits"

(South Africa) Mr de Villiers | 15 January 2014

"The view is amazing. Cottages were clean and the access road was in a good condition even after the good rainfall. Very central & gives opportunity to visit other places in the vicinity."


"Comfy little cottage!"

(South Africa) Mr Midgley | 29 November 2013

"When searching for cottage style, self-catered accommodation in the northern Drakensberg, the Berghouse and Cottages looked exactly what we were looking for and upon arrival, were pleasantly surprised to find the cottage to be exactly what we wanted! A perfectly sized, cosy cottage for two with a be..."

more

"When searching for cottage style, self-catered accommodation in the northern Drakensberg, the Berghouse and Cottages looked exactly what we were looking for and upon arrival, were pleasantly surprised to find the cottage to be exactly what we wanted! A perfectly sized, cosy cottage for two with a beautiful, ever changing view of the mountains and across to the magnificent Amphitheatre. With a little fireplace to enjoy some nice wine in front of and a well-equipped kitchenette to prepare a yummy dinner after a long days hike.
The Berghouse and Cottages are perfectly located, close to the Royal Natal National Park, where we spent 2 days hiking the trails and exploring the wild!
With friendly staff and owners, we were made to feel very comfortable and were given all the info we needed to make the most of our stay and adventures in the areas.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful place with an authentic feel from which to enjoy this wonderful part of the world!
"


"Berghouse - Tranquility"

(South Africa) anonymous | 17 September 2013

"So therapeutic with amazing views, MTB track, (not for the faint hearted though) and walks. Would definitely recommend it."


"A short stay at Berghouse"

(United Kingdom) Dr Joubert | 7 April 2013

"Berghouse and cottages is a friendly family-run establishment with one big house and a few small cottages to rent. We had a kind welcome, and were directed to our small cottage. The cottage was charming, clean and comfortable. We had a fabulous view, and loved the peace and quiet of the place.
O..."

more

"Berghouse and cottages is a friendly family-run establishment with one big house and a few small cottages to rent. We had a kind welcome, and were directed to our small cottage. The cottage was charming, clean and comfortable. We had a fabulous view, and loved the peace and quiet of the place.
On our second day we asked for an evening meal in our cottage. It was very good.
"


"Wow! What a wonderful place"

(South Africa) Alice Erasmus | 25 February 2013

"What a wonderful place. Our stay at Berghouse was out of this world! The scenery of the mountains was breathtaking, the cottages are very well equipped and the fact that B&B and dinner was provided made our stay the most memorable ever, since I did not have to cook anything. If you love home cookin..."

more

"What a wonderful place. Our stay at Berghouse was out of this world! The scenery of the mountains was breathtaking, the cottages are very well equipped and the fact that B&B and dinner was provided made our stay the most memorable ever, since I did not have to cook anything. If you love home cooking, the chef will definately not disappoint and the delivery of our food basket was always on time. Friendly people and rest for your soul. The best by far."


"Berghouse and Cottages - Abigail's first holiday"

(South Africa) Mrs White | 26 December 2012

"The holiday was special for us as it was our daughter Abigail's first holiday- she is four months old.

The Berghouse & Cottages was a stunning place. The scenary was beautiful and tranquil. Great to be outdoors and part of nature. The ponies and horses were so gorgeous.

The cottage..."

more

"The holiday was special for us as it was our daughter Abigail's first holiday- she is four months old.

The Berghouse & Cottages was a stunning place. The scenary was beautiful and tranquil. Great to be outdoors and part of nature. The ponies and horses were so gorgeous.

The cottage that we stayed in was nice and clean. The kitchen had everything that we required. It was really nice not to have to clean and do dishes as there was someone who came in everyday , so you really felt like you were on holiday.

The hospitality was great and the owners were very friendly.

Would definitely recommend the place and revisit!"


"Berghouse and Cottages"

(Netherlands) Mrs Soepenberg | 23 August 2010

"It's was a very cute cottage - Vaughn was very friendly and we had a good time. The view is excellent."


"Berghouse and Cottages"

(Belgium) Mr Vandenplas | 22 August 2010

"Unique setting. Beautiful views. Friendly people. Good food. Far away from everything. Nice open fire."


"Pleasant location"

(Canada) | 22 May 2008

"Nice place especially the view on the Berg and the quietness. Vaughn was very supportive and his recommendation to have dinner at the "Caterpillar and Catfish" was the best, what an excellent food. However having dinner on the sight is not advisable. Also an SUV is recommended to get there."