Reviews of Mount Serene


"Amazing!"

(South Africa) Mallory | 16 February 2021

"We stayed in the converted train carriage! It was amazing. The train is in mint condition and it was such a unique experience!

Peaceful, quiet and very relaxed and was so nice to have our own pool!

Wonderful weekend away!"


"RECOMMENDED"

(South Africa) anonymous | 8 April 2019

"Fantastic stay, neat and clean. Very comfortable and quiet.
Can recommend to anyone looking to have a nice quiet peaceful getaway.
"


"Tranquility"

(South Africa) Juanita | 16 December 2018

"It was amazing, if you need to really rest and get away from the noise of the city and people. This is really the place to go to. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. It's just you and nature. No people around you it was amazing. Especially if you are an introvert like me. Lol. We will definite..."

more

"It was amazing, if you need to really rest and get away from the noise of the city and people. This is really the place to go to. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. It's just you and nature. No people around you it was amazing. Especially if you are an introvert like me. Lol. We will definitely keep going back there. "


"REST !"

(South Africa) Richard | 17 October 2018

"I wanted a place of rest and that's what we got it is so amazing and peaceful.
Stayed in the cottage and had a fantastic relaxing and peaceful time.
What you see in the photos is what you get, clean and functional. Boy does that bed sleep well, or was that the just the fresh air and smell of..."

more

"I wanted a place of rest and that's what we got it is so amazing and peaceful.
Stayed in the cottage and had a fantastic relaxing and peaceful time.
What you see in the photos is what you get, clean and functional. Boy does that bed sleep well, or was that the just the fresh air and smell of the bush.
We didn't want to leave !
thank you Mount Serene.
"


"Sneak away"

Marlette Greyling | 8 April 2018

"It was a serene get-away with slow walks and soft lingering in the pool..."


"Walking up the Magalies berg"

Marina Van Wyk | 19 March 2018

"Going up the mountain is tough, but the reward is remarkable. This was our second time at the rock cottage and we would love to go there again, however the barbecue blows the smoke in your face and could do with an improvement."


"The whole experience"

Hazel Blair | 4 March 2018

"The privacy, the night sounds, the relaxing surroundings. Really was a great, albeit, too short, stay.....We'll definitely do it again."


"Lovely weekend away"

Thomas Atkinson | 5 February 2018

"The coach is really something impressive and the kids loved it. Spacious with a private splash pool, patio area with braai facilities and functional kitchen. Couldn't ask for more if you just want some private R&R"


"Peaceful & Quite"

Helen Blair | 11 December 2017

"Our second time staying at Mount Serene, very peaceful and quite relaxing place to spend a weekend."


"It was exactly how the unit was described.Quiet,secluded and peaceful."

Sienta du Toit | 4 November 2017

"The splash pool was the best to cool down and have a sundowner."


"Kwirky accomodation, the kids were so excited!"

Kirsty Chater | 11 September 2017

"As you would expect from a train- the passage is narrow, but it is surprisingly roomy! The kitchen is well equipped, only thing lacking is an oven- but one gets by without a hitch. I loved it- the quality of the wood that these trains were build from is stunning. Would really recommend it for a fun ..."

more

"As you would expect from a train- the passage is narrow, but it is surprisingly roomy! The kitchen is well equipped, only thing lacking is an oven- but one gets by without a hitch. I loved it- the quality of the wood that these trains were build from is stunning. Would really recommend it for a fun weekend away. Don't expect an ordinary holiday _"


"The privacy of the cottage was amazing - loved the fireplace."

Cheryl nAIDOO | 26 June 2017

"Loved the stay. Would have liked to have a hotter shower especially in this cold weather - but, stil enjoyed our stay."


"Safe hiking "

Renate Heese | 2 June 2017

"Very clean and neat "


"Nice and quiet surrounding "

Cliff Van Diggelen | 14 May 2017

"Very cosy with the fireplace. Real time to chill."


"Serene it is"

(South Africa) Nadine Laroy | 9 January 2017

"Cozy, quiet and in middle of nature... Mount Serene deserves its name. The cottage was very comfy and hiking trail delightful. Will definitely come back. Thank you to Glenda (& team) who promptly assisted when needed, even on Xmas day :)"


"Mount Serene over Christmas "

(South Africa) Michelle Arendse | 27 December 2016

"We spent Christmas at Mount Serene & it was amazing! The whole 'train sleeping' increased the positive experience we had - age of our group included toddlers, teenagers, young adults and mature adults. Thank you!! "


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Chandre Nortje | 19 December 2016

"loved it. I will recommend it to all my friends!"


"Great experience"

(South Africa) Louise Kotze | 29 November 2016

"Lovely experience. Enjoyed our stay. Very private and peaceful. Lots of birdlife. Clean and neat. Bathroom roof neads repair and here and there a few things need attention before they are beyond repair. This would be a great shame. Would be lovely if there were more fans or ceiling fans perhaps......."

more

"Lovely experience. Enjoyed our stay. Very private and peaceful. Lots of birdlife. Clean and neat. Bathroom roof neads repair and here and there a few things need attention before they are beyond repair. This would be a great shame. Would be lovely if there were more fans or ceiling fans perhaps....very hot when trying to sleep!! Overall we loved it and will return in future."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Safiyya Kadwa | 21 November 2016

"Excellent weekend getaway"


"'"

(South Africa) Herman Sauerman | 7 November 2016

"My wife and I needed a secluded breakaway to rethink a few things in our business and personal life. Mount Serene gave us that time relax, and to reconnect with nature. we enjoyed the stone cottage and will definitely visit again. secluded - for sure. private - for sure. Practical - for sure. I will..."

more

"My wife and I needed a secluded breakaway to rethink a few things in our business and personal life. Mount Serene gave us that time relax, and to reconnect with nature. we enjoyed the stone cottage and will definitely visit again. secluded - for sure. private - for sure. Practical - for sure. I will recommend this place to my associates, friends and family."


"Total R&R"

(South Africa) Mandy Joubert | 10 October 2016

"If you are in need of a quiet, restful break away, Mount Serene is the place to go. The cottage is stunning, very private yet you dont feel isolated. Glenda the host is very hospitable. Her dog Bandit visited and he was a pleasure to have around - we looked forward to his visit each evening. This is..."

more

"If you are in need of a quiet, restful break away, Mount Serene is the place to go. The cottage is stunning, very private yet you dont feel isolated. Glenda the host is very hospitable. Her dog Bandit visited and he was a pleasure to have around - we looked forward to his visit each evening. This is a place you can conect with nature in all its glory. Will be back."


"Coach at zero speed"

(South Africa) Peter Grube | 12 August 2016

"Just what we liked. Simple, everything provided and peace. Great birdwatching even in winter.

Flick, Pete and Joan"


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Joy Van Deventer | 10 August 2016

"Had a lovely visit and look forward to visiting there again in the summer - was a most enjoyable stay and really most accommodating!!!"


"Relaxing spot in the Magaliesberg"

(South Africa) Andrew Parsons | 5 July 2016

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the restored coach, which was very cozy despite the cold weather outside. The location was very quiet and scenic and a short drive from Joburg. The owners are very friendly and accommodating.
"


"'"

(South Africa) Suzette stone | 6 June 2016

"Very nice and quite place to relax.Place clean and neat.The kitchen is well stocked, you need not to bring any thing with.

"


"'"

(South Africa) Janet Havenga | 4 April 2016

"Absolutely fantastic stay in the cottage. All the comforts of home with peace and tranquility thrown in. Our dog was so at home and was excited with the daily walks as well. Aptly named as all w experienced was serenity and peace. Love the rock pool as we had a week of great weather.will definitely ..."

more

"Absolutely fantastic stay in the cottage. All the comforts of home with peace and tranquility thrown in. Our dog was so at home and was excited with the daily walks as well. Aptly named as all w experienced was serenity and peace. Love the rock pool as we had a week of great weather.will definitely be going back."


"Peace and quite"

(South Africa) Pietrisia Pretorius | 30 March 2016

"What a lovely time we had. We found the couch was absolutely gorgeous.The area is so private with beautiful views of the Magalies mountains. We will definitely visit them again."


"'"

(South Africa) Hilja Kerrigan | 8 March 2016

"What a gem of a place.
It was so wonderful to spend a weekend all alone, seeing no one and just having a place to ourselves.
The bird life is amazing and the little splash pool a total delight.
Thank you so very much."


"Mid W. stay"

(South Africa) Hennie Van Der Walt | 2 March 2016

"Baie lekker rustig, plek baie mooi skoon, al wat jy nodig het is in die plek. Daar is egter van die goed wat aandag nodig het wat al redelik oud is. Die swembad was n plesier, net baie moelik om in en uit te klim. Die huis kort egter baie dringend aandag, die mure bars uitmekaar sowel as van die kas..."

more

"Baie lekker rustig, plek baie mooi skoon, al wat jy nodig het is in die plek. Daar is egter van die goed wat aandag nodig het wat al redelik oud is. Die swembad was n plesier, net baie moelik om in en uit te klim. Die huis kort egter baie dringend aandag, die mure bars uitmekaar sowel as van die kaste in die kamer en in die kombuis."


"Weekend family getaway close to home"

(South Africa) Schade Kruger | 24 February 2016

"Our family of 8 booked the coach for a weekend & thoroughly enjoyed it. We got what we were looking for, a spot in the country, just an hour or so's drive from home & where we had privacy as a family. Quirky accommodation, cris..."

more

"Our family of 8 booked the coach for a weekend & thoroughly enjoyed it. We got what we were looking for, a spot in the country, just an hour or so's drive from home & where we had privacy as a family. Quirky accommodation, crispy-clean bedding, lovely peaceful location with no tv to distract you & two beautiful dogs on the premises who guide you when you take a walk. We had all we needed & who knew 8 people could enjoy a splash pool so much! If you want to get away, not too far from Joburg& you enjoy the privacy of not being disturbed by others, this is a lovely place to chill & relax with family."


"great"

(South Africa) Sam Dowson | 28 December 2015

"Very quiet and peaceful. Just what I needed"


"Mount Serene for Peace and Quiet"

(South Africa) irene Snyman | 2 November 2015

"What a lovely Cottage to stay in, comfortable and enough space. We really enjoyed the idea of having the pool right at the door. This was exactly what we needed, peace, quiet and no other people around, just us and the trees and birds.Thank you for a relaxing weekend."


"Impressed!!"

(South Africa) Johannis Goote | 9 February 2015

"We spent one night (to our regret - we wich we could stay for several!!) in the railway coach.We were very impressed the moment we arrived at the coach.All the reddish woodwork is utter beauty! It is clear that the owner spent a lot of tender loving care in the restoration - inside and out.Everythin..."

more

"We spent one night (to our regret - we wich we could stay for several!!) in the railway coach.We were very impressed the moment we arrived at the coach.All the reddish woodwork is utter beauty! It is clear that the owner spent a lot of tender loving care in the restoration - inside and out.Everything was very neat.The kitchen is much better equipped than we're used to for the price!The surroundings is very quiet and peaceful - though Mount Serene is on a farm and not a nature reserve the veld and trees are beautiful - yes, Serene in deed!We will become familiar faces at Mount Serene and bring friends with, from time to time!"


"What a lovely peaceful place"

(South Africa) Christo Heuer | 31 January 2015

"A pity we only found out about this place recently.Definitely will be my favourite destination for a quiet and relaxing break - close to the city but yet feels like you are 1000's of kilometers away from anything."


"Stone Cottage"

(South Africa) Peter Ellis | 2 January 2015

"If you need to get away from the maddening crowd, faulty traffic lights and the noise of urban living, then consider this place. We recently immersed ourselves in the bird life and beauty of this totally-private rustic retreat. Time took on a much slower beat. We went out hiking everyday, the best ..."

more

"If you need to get away from the maddening crowd, faulty traffic lights and the noise of urban living, then consider this place. We recently immersed ourselves in the bird life and beauty of this totally-private rustic retreat. Time took on a much slower beat. We went out hiking everyday, the best part of which was the way the owner's 2 border collies insisted on accompanying us, even showing us the way at times! And in the heat of the day we certainly appreciated the plunge pool. Accommodation was clean and satisfactory. Our 3-day stay was a good experience. A big thank you to our hosts."


"'"

(South Africa) June Shaw | 29 September 2014

"We stayed at Mount Serene Stone Cottage for four nights, very clean. I loved the peace, and the splash pool to cool off. I would suggest this place for people who needs a break from everyday busy life. Thank you Rob, lovely place.

Janet Shaw, South Africa"


"'"

(South Africa) Juanita Leask | 26 September 2014

"Stunning! Had the most relaxing 3 days staying in the Stone Cottage - bird life fantastic! Private splash pool an absolute treat and no housekeeping contributed to the quiet, uninterrupted atmosphere and privacy. "


"Fantasties!"

(South Africa) Pierre Jordaan | 15 September 2014

"n Ongelooflike ervaring!!Baie netjies en volledig toegerus. Gaan defnitief weer hier oorbly!!

An amazing experience! Very clean and fully equipped .

Will definitely stay here again!"


"Such a peaceful place!"

(South Africa) thenjiwe tshivhase | 20 August 2014

"We stayed only for a weekend and wished we could stay a bit longer. The kids loved the train set up and my little girl loved playing with the dogs! I must say everything was just quite right, from finding the tea & sugar in the kitchen to comfortable beds.The fireplace made all the difference since ..."

more

"We stayed only for a weekend and wished we could stay a bit longer. The kids loved the train set up and my little girl loved playing with the dogs! I must say everything was just quite right, from finding the tea & sugar in the kitchen to comfortable beds.The fireplace made all the difference since it was a bit chilly. You even forget there is no TV! I would definitely go back!"


"'"

(South Africa) David Wolsky | 12 August 2014

"Beautiful scenery, quiet, clean, and just generally lovely."


"Stone Cottage"

(South Africa) Sanrie Fourie | 21 July 2014

"We enjoyed the stay. This is the place to go for a couple that wants time away from the busy city and family. They will see us again"


"Great Weekend"

(South Africa) Anjalee John | 5 May 2014

"My family and I had an awesome, relaxing time at Mount Serene, the coach was lovely and my kids loved the experience.

We would surely love to go back again!

Thank you Rob for the awesome time, we really felt comfortable"


"A retreat"

(South Africa) James Odell | 30 April 2014

"Staying in the historic railway coach was fun! Rustic yet cosy in the compartments and casual in the dining sitting area. The kitchen being in a galley is challenging but we made do! On the raised patio we relaxed around the braai plek. :)

There are 3 different walks with the furthest one up ..."

more

"Staying in the historic railway coach was fun! Rustic yet cosy in the compartments and casual in the dining sitting area. The kitchen being in a galley is challenging but we made do! On the raised patio we relaxed around the braai plek. :)

There are 3 different walks with the furthest one up to the top of the mountain. Spectacular views!

Ablution area clean and very hot water!"


"Baie aangenaam"

(South Africa) Corne Pitzer | 24 March 2014

"Wat 'n aangename ervaring. Stil en rustig. Al wat jy hoor is die vo‘ls en die beeste. Baie, baie lekker."


"The Coach"

(South Africa) Stiaan Meyer | 17 March 2014

"The stay in the coach was fantastic. It revived a lot of memories. It was a fantastic experience especially for my two grand sons."


"Relaxing weekend getaway"

(South Africa) Yvette Kulik | 17 February 2014

"We spent a very relaxing weekend recharging our batteries at Mount Serene. We stayed in the Coach - the kids LOVED it. Not having a tv was a nice break from reality and we enjoyed the short hike to the plateau. Will definitely be recommending it to our friends."


"Fantastic little gem"

(South Africa) Suzanne | 27 January 2014

"Fantastic little gem, ideal for a romantic getaway to reconnect and recharge. Definitely recommend it. Just don't forget peaceful sleep or tabard ;) "


"Briliant"

(South Africa) Stiaan Meyer | 2 January 2014

"There are three words to describe the stay at Mount Serene. BRILLIANT! BRILLIANT! BRILLIANT! An awesome place to let your hair down, relax and celebrate nature. Even better place to celebrate your anniversary. "


"We will definitely return very soon!"

(South Africa) Bronwyn Lehmann | 17 December 2013

"We arrived in the sweltering heat only to be welcomed by a lovely splash pool, just big enough for the two of us. The house was quaint and private, just what we needed. "


"Stone cottage"

(South Africa) Viv McKinlay | 9 December 2013

"Just what was needed - to get away to somewhere quiet and peaceful.

Nothing but the sound of birds.

The cottage is delightful, comfortable and away from anywhere. Took my 4 legged friends who had an absolute ball."


"Relaxing"

(South Africa) justin lotter | 25 November 2013

"We really had a relaxing weekend in the Stonne cottage, the most enjoying part was that there was no other people in site. Thanks Rob."


"Rejuvenating"

(South Africa) Raven Morehen | 16 June 2013

"Peaceful and stunning. Rejuvenating and the perfect hideaway to find inner peace."


"Pleasantly surprised"

(South Africa) francis arnszej | 19 May 2013

"Not knowing what to expect I was pleasantly surprised, accommodation great. But the walk up the Mountain twice and the view from there beats everything. I definitely come back."


"Lovely, quaint cottage on the slopes of the Magaliesburg"

(South Africa) Cath Carr | 8 April 2013

"The stone cottage is a quaint cottage well kitted out for 2 people. It is a comfortable base from which to explore the Magaliesburg, or to chill around the private pool. Very affordable and highly recommended for a couple's time away. "


"Getaway from the city"

(South Africa) Derek Reid | 18 March 2013

"Mount Serene is great for people wanting to get away from the rat-race of city life. Really peaceful and quiet. The Coach is also a novel place to stay in .... only thing missing was the motion and sound of being on the rails, otherwise the experience was just like being on a train in the good old..."

more

"Mount Serene is great for people wanting to get away from the rat-race of city life. Really peaceful and quiet. The Coach is also a novel place to stay in .... only thing missing was the motion and sound of being on the rails, otherwise the experience was just like being on a train in the good old days!"


"Great self- catering overnight escape"

(South Africa) Nicki Duff | 14 January 2013

"Spent the weekend away as a couple in the Stone cottage on the property. It was just at the bottom of the property away from the main house, and fairly private. Had own plash pool and was HUGE inside, withe comfy bed, great and great living area. Lovely hike to the top of the mountain. Close enoug..."

more

"Spent the weekend away as a couple in the Stone cottage on the property. It was just at the bottom of the property away from the main house, and fairly private. Had own plash pool and was HUGE inside, withe comfy bed, great and great living area. Lovely hike to the top of the mountain. Close enough to both Magaliesburg and Rustenburg and far away from Jhb for a good trip away. Would go there again as a couple."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Ina Gericke | 29 December 2012

"Thank you for a lovely stay. We will definitely return. The coach was evertything we needed. The birds and sunsets was just awesome. It really brought memories back of vacations on the train as a kid."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Smangele Dumalisile | 29 November 2012

"We had a wonderful stay at both the coach and the cottage...definately going back!"


"Feedback"

(South Africa) Hilton Parkes | 25 November 2012

"What an awesome place! One would never have guessed it. Definitely the place we'd want to stay again and again! Excellent, really!"


"All in one"

(South Africa) Chantelle Lee | 15 October 2012

"This was just what we were looking for - A private place where we could unwind and the kids could have fun. Great place for family time."


"Relaxing stay"

(South Africa) Christine Watts | 17 September 2012

"Simple accommodatation, great setting. Has a nice walking trail on the property."


"Stone cottage"

(South Africa) Gerhard du Toit | 14 September 2012

"Fantasties. Alle geriewe waaraan jy kan dink is in die cottage. Jy vat net kos saam. Ek was met honeymoon en niemand het ons gepla nie. Tot die eienaar se twee honde was liefdevol. Sal beslis weer gaan en aanbeveel. Dankie Rob."


"Amazing location"

(South Africa) Stephanie Detert | 25 June 2012

"An amazing location with beautiful scenery and privacy. The cottage, although having everything you need, is quite 'dated' and could do with a revamp and some homely touches to add some warmth and atmosphere."


"Awesome "

(South Africa) deshnee moore | 30 April 2012

"A lovely and tranquil and serene place. A great getaway from city life.

The owner Rob is very accommodating and respectable person. Will definitely return!"


"Peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Netta Henegan | 13 February 2012

"Wonderful location and venue to get away from it all. Could not have asked for more."


"Excellent "

(South Africa) Izak Stoltz | 13 February 2012

"This is an excellent place to get away from your busy life and have some rest, peace and tranquillity. The Coach is very well equipped and one of the best places that we have ever stayed in. We would recommend it to everyone and definitely make use of it again in future. The location is ideal as it ..."

more

"This is an excellent place to get away from your busy life and have some rest, peace and tranquillity. The Coach is very well equipped and one of the best places that we have ever stayed in. We would recommend it to everyone and definitely make use of it again in future. The location is ideal as it is very close to Johannesburg and Pretoria - you don't need to travel for hours to get there and once you are there, all the pressure and stress of city life and work disappears. The hospitality of the owner, the peace and tranquillity and the location, as well as the accommodation, makes this the ideal spot to get away from the city."


"Weekend away"

(South Africa) Paul West | 30 January 2012

"Once again we had a stunning, relaxing and peaceful time at the Stone Cottage at Mount Serene. Everything you need for a quick breakaway from the city."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) 6111Lukas Collard | 12 January 2012

"Wonderfully quiet. Can really rest here and have peace. Clean and wonderful service. Pool really needs steps."


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) mike webb | 9 January 2012

"We found the stone cottage to be pleasant and welcomed the isolation of its location."


"Serenity!"

(South Africa) Natasha Fernandes | 6 January 2012

"Our stay at Mount Serene was wonderful. The Coach was very authentic and a lot of fun for our six-year-old daughter. The view was spectacular. We were treated to very warm hospitality from the owner and we felt very welcome. Will definitely be visiting again in the future!"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Juan Cornelius | 3 January 2012

"This is definitely one of the best self-catering venues we've ever stayed in. When they say you only need to bring swimming towels and food, they really mean it. Everything was there, including all the peace and quiet you could want.

We will definitely be back!"


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Natalie Hawken | 6 December 2011

"We had a thoroughly enjoyable time here. The surroundings were incredibily peaceful and the train carriage was stunning! Thank you Mount Serene for a great weekend."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Trysh Strauss | 28 November 2011

"We had a wonderful time at Mount Serene. The coach is great and our son absolutely loved the idea of sleeping on a train. We enjoyed the private splash pool and of course, we always welcomed the beautiful resident dogs, Lady and Bandit. Thank you for our stay, we really enjoyed it and will most cert..."

more

"We had a wonderful time at Mount Serene. The coach is great and our son absolutely loved the idea of sleeping on a train. We enjoyed the private splash pool and of course, we always welcomed the beautiful resident dogs, Lady and Bandit. Thank you for our stay, we really enjoyed it and will most certainly be back."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Charlie Moneron | 20 November 2011

"I had a lovely stay and will recommend it to my friends!"


"Peaceful venue"

(South Africa) Paul West | 10 October 2011

"We spent the weekend at Mount Serene in the Stone Cottage and found it to be exactly what we were looking for, a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We'll be back. "


"Peace of mind"

(South Africa) Phindile Mkhwanazi | 12 September 2011

"The place is very calm. We are well rested. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the city life."


"Mount Serene"

(South Africa) Ansie Fourie | 19 August 2011

"The coach is wonderful for a weekend away for a family. I enjoyed the time with children and grandchildren and the kids had a great time. "


"Mount serene"

(South Africa) Sheila Swanepoel | 10 August 2011

"We had a great time. The cottage is lovely with everything you need and more. Rob was even so kind to put a vase of fresh flowers in the cottage for us. The water was too cold to swim but we will be back for that in December. Thanks for everything."


"Serene and quiet"

(South Africa) Lauren Levin | 18 July 2011

"It was a very quiet and serene breakaway. The chalet was amazing and the views spectacular. The hosts were very gracious and did not interfere with us at all. Well equipped and well maintained. Definitely going back again when I can for another tranquil relaxing break. The directions were perfect a..."

more

"It was a very quiet and serene breakaway. The chalet was amazing and the views spectacular. The hosts were very gracious and did not interfere with us at all. Well equipped and well maintained. Definitely going back again when I can for another tranquil relaxing break. The directions were perfect and I was highly impressed."


"Great"

(South Africa) Paul Bester | 21 March 2011

"Our stay was lovely and the two bags of wood was most welcome. If you want to rest, this is the place. The owner is very friendly and we enjoyed the walks in the mountains. We enjoyed the splash pool and the beautiful garden surrounding the cottage. I will recommend this place to anyone who wants to..."

more

"Our stay was lovely and the two bags of wood was most welcome. If you want to rest, this is the place. The owner is very friendly and we enjoyed the walks in the mountains. We enjoyed the splash pool and the beautiful garden surrounding the cottage. I will recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from city life. Stunning. "


"Nice"

(South Africa) Nteseng Koane | 18 March 2011

"Pleasant and had fun with the girls."


"Amazing place"

(South Africa) Annette Engelbrecht | 7 March 2011

"It was our second time at Mount Serene and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. What we love most about it is the peace and quiet as well as the privacy. You have to go look for someone if you want to talk to them. They also built a braai and extended the roof which we thought was great!"


"Comfortable stay"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 7 February 2011

"We spent a weekend in the stone cottage. It is a lovely drive and the cottage is secluded and private. Everything one needs is provided. Overall we enjoyed ourselves. "


"Mount Serene"

(South Africa) Rebecca Elsey | 26 October 2010

"Lovely place, really quite and the paddling pool was great fun. Staying in the train coach was definitely a experience I can recommend. Though I only give it 4/5 due to lack of entertainment, good thing we brought a portable radio with us."


"Lovely!"

(South Africa) Joyce Evans | 15 October 2010

"Thank you so much for letting us make use of your cottage. It was what we wanted peace, no noise and no children no people!!!! Just us and the bush!!! Lovely...the accommodation was so luxury more than what we expected one can see that thereÕs a lot of love in the cottage!!!!! Thetwo2 dogs made us f..."

more

"Thank you so much for letting us make use of your cottage. It was what we wanted peace, no noise and no children no people!!!! Just us and the bush!!! Lovely...the accommodation was so luxury more than what we expected one can see that thereÕs a lot of love in the cottage!!!!! Thetwo2 dogs made us feel so loved by just sitting with us and being content!!!!! Will really visit you again and will advertise you to everyone and thank you two Safarinow, I would never have found this gem if it wasn't for you."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Vaughn Gonzalvers | 4 October 2010

"I had a wonderful time at Mount Serene. Best place to relax and just have fun without hassle."


"Peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Louise Opperman | 27 September 2010

"Was amazing to get away from it all, and just forget everything while relaxing in nature. Beautiful surroundings. Splash pool is an excellent idea. Stunning, private stone cottage. Will definitely see us again. "


"Mount Serene"

(South Africa) Ken Wessels | 20 September 2010

"Very freindly and accomodating hosts. We all had fun staying in the train coach. All we needed and more."


"Weekend at Mount Serene"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 20 July 2010

"Beautiful, secluded place, ideal for a weekend getaway! Staying in the railway carriage was a wonderful experience for me and my 7 girlfriends, unique accommodation idea! We enjoyed every bit of it!"


"Peaceful getaway"

(South Africa) George Coetzee | 29 April 2010

"We spent 4 rainy days (coach), which we thoroughly enjoyed. Even the fact that the kids had to remain indoor 90% of the time was not a problem as they could enjoy the novelty of the coach instead. Mt Serene is truly a peaceful family getaway with a bit of farm thrown in. What is also nice is that it..."

more

"We spent 4 rainy days (coach), which we thoroughly enjoyed. Even the fact that the kids had to remain indoor 90% of the time was not a problem as they could enjoy the novelty of the coach instead. Mt Serene is truly a peaceful family getaway with a bit of farm thrown in. What is also nice is that it's totally un-commerciallised."


"Peace and tranquillity"

(South Africa) Patricia d'Arcy | 8 February 2010

"Our overseas visitors just love the peace and tranquillity of Mount Serene. We joined them for a day and just loved the train carriage and splash pool.

What a nice place to recharge the batteries, getaway and really have a break. Rob is very welcoming as was the beautiful collies who roam ar..."

more

"Our overseas visitors just love the peace and tranquillity of Mount Serene. We joined them for a day and just loved the train carriage and splash pool.

What a nice place to recharge the batteries, getaway and really have a break. Rob is very welcoming as was the beautiful collies who roam around. "


"Serene is definitely the word!"

(South Africa) Andrea thornton-Dibb | 19 January 2010

"What an amazing weekend away! I would recommend Mount Serene to anyone and will definitely be going back in the future!"


"Very nice. "

(South Africa) John Seaman | 14 December 2009

"Like the bushveld idea with the Oasis in the centre.

Will definitely come again"


"Mount Serene"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 27 October 2009

"Our weekend at Mount Serene was lovely, very relaxing. We didnt hear or see anyone, its so quite and peaceful!"


"We had a wonderful stay. "

(South Africa) Melonie Nagel | 19 August 2009

"The accommodation was simple yet it catered for every need. All the little things like that were supplied like fire wood, candles, matches, bath soap, coffee and tea etc. Some of the things we all tend to forget when packing. The owner was very friendly and even though there was a misunderstanding w..."

more

"The accommodation was simple yet it catered for every need. All the little things like that were supplied like fire wood, candles, matches, bath soap, coffee and tea etc. Some of the things we all tend to forget when packing. The owner was very friendly and even though there was a misunderstanding with the booking he handles the situation extremely professional and we truly appreciated it. I have already told all my friend about it and recommended they try it out for a nice relaxing time. We will certainly be returning in warmer weather as I'd love to use the pool facility and take on the hikes in the mountain. "


"Relaxing weekend"

(South Africa) Willie Van Vuuren | 11 August 2009

"We had a very enjoyable, relaxing weekend. The facility was clean and restrooms hygienic and clean. My wife really liked the bedrooms the way the coach was transformed. Mountain climbing was our first experience and it was really relaxing, hope to do it soon again. We admired the dogs for their sens..."

more

"We had a very enjoyable, relaxing weekend. The facility was clean and restrooms hygienic and clean. My wife really liked the bedrooms the way the coach was transformed. Mountain climbing was our first experience and it was really relaxing, hope to do it soon again. We admired the dogs for their sense for play and intelligence. I would really refer this breakaway to anyone who like the peace and quite of the veld. "


"Great Family getaway"

(South Africa) Adel Van Vuuren | 17 July 2009

"We got lost and only arrived really late. We arrived to a warm welcome and warm coach already prepared for us by the hosts. The place was beautiful, the view, the unit just everything. I have small kids and was scared of the no tv issue. We spent so much time together and was exhausted at night...."

more

"We got lost and only arrived really late. We arrived to a warm welcome and warm coach already prepared for us by the hosts. The place was beautiful, the view, the unit just everything. I have small kids and was scared of the no tv issue. We spent so much time together and was exhausted at night. I really recommend this to anyone that wants to spend valuable time with their family. I'm already planning my next visit but this time hubby and I will try the romantic getaway."


"Father's Day weekend"

(South Africa) Wendy Cummins | 22 June 2009

"We had a wonderful weekend where even the 3 kids forgot that cartoon network existed and played hide-and-go-seek for a change. The surroundings are so peaceful and quiet - would definitely recommend Mount Serene to all my friends."


"Sshhhhh ..."

(South Africa) Jolene Maree | 5 January 2009

"Our stay at Mount Serene (The Cottage) was a very peaceful and relaxing week! The hosts are very helpful with any needs you may have - you just need to ask and they will assist as best as they can! I will definitely be referring it to friends and family for a quiet stay away from the hustle and bu..."

more

"Our stay at Mount Serene (The Cottage) was a very peaceful and relaxing week! The hosts are very helpful with any needs you may have - you just need to ask and they will assist as best as they can! I will definitely be referring it to friends and family for a quiet stay away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life."


"Fantastic"

(United States of America) Juanita Carson | 18 November 2008

"The views were fantastic. We stayed in the coach and it was well-equipped and comfortable. The hosts were helpful and helped us find a great restaurant nearby.I would definitely go again!"


"Fantastic spot!"

(United Kingdom) Brennan Woollands | 26 September 2008

"We really enjoyed ourselves. The cottage was nice and clean and the splash pool was well used. With the bird life and mountain scenes it was a great place to get away from it all. What a relaxing time we had. "


"Quaint Mountain Stay"

(South Africa) Minet Visser | 22 September 2008

"Our stay in the 1937 train coach against the slopes of the Magaliesburg was as relaxing and beautiful as we had hoped. The train provides a unique setting, with a number of little touches that occasionally made me wish the train was still moving. The setting was just lovely with beautiful mountain..."

more

"Our stay in the 1937 train coach against the slopes of the Magaliesburg was as relaxing and beautiful as we had hoped. The train provides a unique setting, with a number of little touches that occasionally made me wish the train was still moving. The setting was just lovely with beautiful mountain views. "


"Tranquil and relaxing."

(South Africa) Natasha Lewry | 7 July 2008

"The hosts were extremely welcoming and accommodating. The accommodation was fantastic. Staying in the coach was different to the usual and very exciting especially for the kids, who had never been in a coach before. We had a fantastic time!"


"Stunning"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 19 May 2008

"It's a great place, just to relax and to do nothing. will be going there again"


"Serene in a true sense"

(South Africa) Faten Aggad | 4 May 2008

"If you are looking for a truly calm, relaxed get away then this is the right place to go to.

The self-catering cottage is nicely kept with everything you need. a lovely pool and a braai area allows you to have a relaxed afternoon or dinner. For nature and bird lovers it is also great.
more

"If you are looking for a truly calm, relaxed get away then this is the right place to go to.

The self-catering cottage is nicely kept with everything you need. a lovely pool and a braai area allows you to have a relaxed afternoon or dinner. For nature and bird lovers it is also great.

Facing the Magaliesburg mountain one cannot help but relax and enjoy.

It is conveniently situated: 30mn drive from the Rustenburg Mall and 40 mn drive from Hartebeerspoort dam.

The hosts are also great since they truly give their guests their 'space'. In fact we only saw them twice - when we picked up the key and when we dropped them off.

Great place that we would highly recommend to anyone looking for a get away, be it a couple on a romantic trip or business people needing to get away from the buzz of the city. "


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 18 February 2008

"Fabulous"


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) iAn Stephens | 12 February 2008

"We enjoyed every second of our stay, there were no discordant moments at all. Thank you."


"Perfect romantic getaway"

(South Africa) Raksha Khan | 4 February 2008

"I sent my brother-in-law and his wife for Honeymoon to Mount Serene, we dropped them of and left. It is a Perfect romantic getaway if you just want time alone. The owners were so hospitable and friendly.

"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Leo Govender | 29 January 2008

"If anyone is looking for a quiet getaway then Mount Serene is the place."


"MOUNT SERENE... Just that - Serene !"

(South Africa) Francois Croukamp | 7 August 2007

"It was a fabulous place - very private and secluded and very romantic. How about heating the splash pool's water for winter times ??? All in all a very nice experience."


"Quiet and peaceful"

(South Africa) Celeste | 26 March 2018

"We had a lovely weekend away. The splash pool is perfect for a quick cool down. Fully equipped. Nice and private especially if you just need to relax and rest."


"Amazing"

(South Africa) Balebetse | 13 February 2018

"We had a wonderful, relaxing time at Mount Serene. We are definitely going back soon. The host is such an amazing woman, loving and caring with a warm heart."


"Awesome stay"

(South Africa) Leon | 23 October 2017

"This place ticked all the boxes of what we wanted and needed...It was perfect. The place was well located. An old styled but unique place.The owner made us feel incredibly welcome and she was very friendly and helpful. It was peaceful and private. We even had our own private pool which was amazing. ..."

more

"This place ticked all the boxes of what we wanted and needed...It was perfect. The place was well located. An old styled but unique place.The owner made us feel incredibly welcome and she was very friendly and helpful. It was peaceful and private. We even had our own private pool which was amazing. The en suite bedroom was spacious, tidy and comfortable. Everything we needed was available to us. If you looking for a good relaxing place, this would be it. We are planning to go back again, and I would recommend it to others. "


"A wonderful romantic experience."

(South Africa) Pheto | 4 September 2017

"My wife and I had a good time.We needed to spend some romantic time together and we did.Thank you Linda."


"Always A Pleasure!"

(South Africa) Rod | 31 July 2017

"We had a great stay in The Coach this weekend! Always nice to get away to the peace and quiet this place has to offers, and being in a 1937 coach gives you a lovely "back in time" feel that really adds to your break! Will be back!! :)"


"A WOW WEEKEND"

(South Africa) Pieter | 1 March 2017

"We've had such a wonderful weekend!!! Glenda-so friendly!! The cottage -clean and beautiful!! No tv, no noises-only the bird and baboons far away in the mountains and......silence!!!! The paths through the bushes were awesome.
A beautiful place to come closer to the Lord!!!
Thank you!!! Will..."

more

"We've had such a wonderful weekend!!! Glenda-so friendly!! The cottage -clean and beautiful!! No tv, no noises-only the bird and baboons far away in the mountains and......silence!!!! The paths through the bushes were awesome.
A beautiful place to come closer to the Lord!!!
Thank you!!! Will visit again and again!"


"Stunning Place"

(South Africa) Vennessa | 16 February 2017

"I had an awesome experience. Loved the privacy and the long walks. Mount Serene is perfect for a relaxing getaway. I`ll recommend and definitely will go back."


"Stunning Stay"

(South Africa) Carla | 27 November 2016

"Amazing stay with stunning views. Very secluded which is just what you need when you want to break away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Owner is very sweet and accommodating and the place was immaculately clean. The private splash pool was a huge bonus! Definitely going back!"


"Absolute Gem Of A Place!"

(South Africa) Karen | 24 October 2016

"We had a girls break-away the past weekend and opted to spend the time at Mount Serene, What a quaint, lovely place. Peaceful and truly living up to it's name of being serene. We enjoyed every second of our time there. The experience of living in The Coach was absolutely lovely. Highly recommended! ..."

more

"We had a girls break-away the past weekend and opted to spend the time at Mount Serene, What a quaint, lovely place. Peaceful and truly living up to it's name of being serene. We enjoyed every second of our time there. The experience of living in The Coach was absolutely lovely. Highly recommended! If you are looking for a break away from televisions and the bustle of every day life. This place is a "must experience"! Our hostess was lovely and welcoming and very accommodating!
Thanks for an amazing stay!"


"Unforgettable experience!"

(South Africa) Mia | 8 September 2016

"A beautiful, authentic train carriage on a wonderful spot, we enjoyed it tremendously! Very well equipped and romantic place!"


"Lovely break in highly original accommodation"

(South Africa) Nadia | 27 April 2016

"We stayed in the train carriage for 3 nights. We loved the feel of sleeping in an authentic train car - so different to other self-catering accommodation. The rooms, kitchen and bathroom were spotless. Owners are very friendly. A must-try."


"The perfect weekend getaway from the stress and worries of the city "

(South Africa) Thandi | 5 July 2015

"Mount Serene provided the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of JHB life and the beauty of it is that it was merely an hour's drive away from the city. Since the establishment is located conveniently close to Rustenburg (approximately 30 mins away), although we were in a remote setting we we..."

more

"Mount Serene provided the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of JHB life and the beauty of it is that it was merely an hour's drive away from the city. Since the establishment is located conveniently close to Rustenburg (approximately 30 mins away), although we were in a remote setting we were never too far away from the city to get supplies or visit one of the city's restaurants. I would definitely recommend Mount Serene to anyone who wants to have a weekend country getaway that's conveniently located close to two major cities, that is JHB and Rustenburg."


"Great"

(South Africa) Botha | 26 February 2015

"The stay went perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We look forward to returning as it's a lovely place."


"Mount Serene"

(South Africa) anonymous | 22 January 2015

"I had a good stay at Mount Serene. It was clean and comfortable with spacious rooms. I will recommend them to others."


"November 2014 Visit"

(United Kingdom) Nichols | 12 November 2014

"This was our second visit to Mount Serene and it can only be described as Serene! The perfect place for a complete chill out!"


"Fantastic stay"

(South Africa) Mrs van Loggerenberg | 13 May 2014

"It was great. I had a fantastic stay. Booking process via Rooms For Africa was good. Highly recommended. "


"Holiday stay"

(Botswana) Mr Geza | 23 October 2013

"This is a nice environment if you require peaceful surroundings. Ideal for family. A must visit place and good on your pocket too."


"Great getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs Van Deventer | 25 March 2013

"A well needed rest out in the beautiful quiet bushvelt. How interesting to also learn the history of the old train coach. The view of the Magalies Mountain and beautiful sunsets breathtaking. The weather also played its part and many cooling splashes were enjoyed in the pool. This is a real gem and ..."

more

"A well needed rest out in the beautiful quiet bushvelt. How interesting to also learn the history of the old train coach. The view of the Magalies Mountain and beautiful sunsets breathtaking. The weather also played its part and many cooling splashes were enjoyed in the pool. This is a real gem and we will return here for the tranquility."


"Great Stay at Mount Serene"

(South Africa) Mr HU classen | 29 January 2013

"Thanks so much Rob. This was a great stay. Extra wood for free was a bonus. Everything so nice and clean! We will spread the word and will be back for sure."


"An Unusual Night in the Magaliesburg"

(South Africa) Mr Morrison | 7 January 2013

"I found the place just as I was beginning to wonder if I had taken a wrong turn, the sun sinking behind the mountain's fast. After opening the farm gate we drove the km or so up a gravel trail better suited to 4 x 4 though the Toyota Runx made it with a bit of gas here and there - wow this place fee..."

more

"I found the place just as I was beginning to wonder if I had taken a wrong turn, the sun sinking behind the mountain's fast. After opening the farm gate we drove the km or so up a gravel trail better suited to 4 x 4 though the Toyota Runx made it with a bit of gas here and there - wow this place feels like something out of the twilight zone we got to the "coach" a converted railway carriage from 1950 or so. Rob showed us to the train and explained everything we needed to know for a good night’s sleep.!
We then headed to a local restaurant for our supper. On our return from eating it all looked very different and I was glad we found the accommodation before finding a suitable eatery. Don't try this in the dark.
My two boys immediately started telling scary stories and imagining all sorts of things once back on board the train they fell asleep like babies whilst my wife and I lay awake wondering about the train.
It was clean and really fun. The kitchen an original relic from the train when in service was great and well stocked for self catering.
There is a little pool and a braai area, I could easily imagine staying there for a few nights and just unwinding but sadly we had to depart early.
All in all an interesting stop over I would stay in again but with no scary stories!
"


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Ms Mkwanazi | 10 December 2012

"We had a great time over the weekend with my partner at Mount Serene. It's quite a nice, beautiful and quite place to relax. We took a walk and enjoyed looking at the beautiful nature. I will most definitely recommend the place to my friends.

We will definitely go back again.

We ha..."

more

"We had a great time over the weekend with my partner at Mount Serene. It's quite a nice, beautiful and quite place to relax. We took a walk and enjoyed looking at the beautiful nature. I will most definitely recommend the place to my friends.

We will definitely go back again.

We had fun!"


"I Wish I Could go Back"

(South Africa) Ms Petlele | 3 October 2012

"Thank you so much for the hospitality, we really enjoyed the privacy that we had. The rain on Friday was a cherry on top as I had a peaceful sleep.

Thank you once again to Rob and his wife and see you soon.

Lerato and Kamogelo.
"


"Most relaxing private getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs Middleditch | 14 August 2012

"We had the most peaceful secluded relaxing time in the Honeymoon stone cottage. Thoroughly enjoyed it, and the unit was well equipped with everything and anything needed including NO TV.

The indoor fire just made it so cozy and warm at night, an awesome touch to the already perfect setting..."

more

"We had the most peaceful secluded relaxing time in the Honeymoon stone cottage. Thoroughly enjoyed it, and the unit was well equipped with everything and anything needed including NO TV.

The indoor fire just made it so cozy and warm at night, an awesome touch to the already perfect setting.

We also enjoyed an awesome hike up the mountain, with a spectacular breath taking view of the surroundings and natural vegetation. We were even lucky enough to see a wild pig in the bushes.

If you are a couple that needs to spend quality time to reconnect or just be secluded with each other I would recommend Mount Serene any day.

Thank You for the stay."


"Train stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Raubenheimer | 9 July 2012

"What a nice stay!! Something totally different. We all enjoyed ourselves so much.

There was enough bedding and enough hot water for all of us! The train is well taken care of and we had a great time! "


"Neat second honeymoon accommodation for the nostalgic not-so-young"

(South Africa) Deon-Henri van Wyk | 6 June 2011

"Neat, fully equipped, quiet, secluded, against a beautiful backdrop of the Magalies Mountain. We really enjoyed our stay! Exceptionally clean and neat. No TV - what a blessing! So nice and quiet - here one can become one with nature, a beautiful secluded area, away from any other human being, bu..."

more

"Neat, fully equipped, quiet, secluded, against a beautiful backdrop of the Magalies Mountain. We really enjoyed our stay! Exceptionally clean and neat. No TV - what a blessing! So nice and quiet - here one can become one with nature, a beautiful secluded area, away from any other human being, but only a phone call away should you experience any problem. At night we had a nice fire going inside the kitchen/lounge area - something to get nostalgic about. I will definitely go there again!"


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Mr Brown | 4 May 2011

"We stayed at Mt Serene over the holiday period from 20th April to 1 May 2011, and cannot put in words how much we enjoyed the stay.
Even though it was raining most of the time the atmosphere was calm and relaxing. We came away from there rested and rejuvenated people. Rob and his wife are the p..."

more

"We stayed at Mt Serene over the holiday period from 20th April to 1 May 2011, and cannot put in words how much we enjoyed the stay.
Even though it was raining most of the time the atmosphere was calm and relaxing. We came away from there rested and rejuvenated people. Rob and his wife are the perfect hosts and made our stay very peaceful. Absolute paradise.
"


"Peaceful, relaxing and one with nature"

(South Africa) Mrs Wadsworth | 12 December 2010

"Thank you for a wonderful experience. The cottage is an unforgettable experience and we will definitely be going back."


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) Yvette Kruger | 10 May 2010

"We needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of the fast life and have some peace and quiet. That's exactly what we got!

I would recommend the cottage for some well deserved rest."


"A most relaxing stay"

(South Africa) Ms Oosthuizen | 23 March 2010

"We enjoyed the stay more than expected...We had brief meetings with small little 8 legged creatures but that is all part of getting closer to nature. We stayed in the Coach and the nostalgic feel to it had us almost depressed to be leaving. The flowers on arrival were a nice personal touch and made ..."

more

"We enjoyed the stay more than expected...We had brief meetings with small little 8 legged creatures but that is all part of getting closer to nature. We stayed in the Coach and the nostalgic feel to it had us almost depressed to be leaving. The flowers on arrival were a nice personal touch and made us feel right at home.

Early in the mornings listening to baboons greeting the new day in the mountains which feel close enough to touch and with the rain softly falling, breathing clean air we felt the stress and worries of city life being washed away and replaced with a almost forgotten sense of complete peace and tranquillity...

I have a strange feeling that we will be back soon…"


"Come & Come Again ..."

(South Africa) Mrs Pohorille | 5 October 2009

"You won't ever be disappointed with this stunning location. Definitely a come again event.
Despite the scorpion (not poisonous) and the sore legs from walking the mountain (I'm terribly unfit), I won't change this experience for the world. In fact, I wish it was here that we went for our honey..."

more

"You won't ever be disappointed with this stunning location. Definitely a come again event.
Despite the scorpion (not poisonous) and the sore legs from walking the mountain (I'm terribly unfit), I won't change this experience for the world. In fact, I wish it was here that we went for our honeymoon; and not only for an anniversary week-end!
All my thanks and regards to the owners of a unique little hide-out.
The name says it all: Mount Serene!
"


"Attention to detail"

(South Africa) Ms Warren | 16 March 2009

"I have just returned from a fabulous weekend at Mount Serene and would go back in a heartbeat. It was such a thrill to spend our time on an authentic railway coach, what a novelty! Every care was taken to ensure the comfort of the guest with high quality touches. The facility is clean and well maint..."

more

"I have just returned from a fabulous weekend at Mount Serene and would go back in a heartbeat. It was such a thrill to spend our time on an authentic railway coach, what a novelty! Every care was taken to ensure the comfort of the guest with high quality touches. The facility is clean and well maintained. The surroundings are beautiful, set at the base of the mountain with view across the valley. Rob was an excellent host and we can’t wait to return! "


"The best in North West, the one & only THE COACH, February 2 2009"

(South Africa) Ms Few | 2 February 2009

"The Coach on arrival is beautiful & vey unique in every kind of way, from the original wooden shutters opening like back 1937 to the signage for the garbage disposal. This Coach is more than words can describe at this moment. It actually gives you a sense that your back in the 1937 with all the adde..."

more

"The Coach on arrival is beautiful & vey unique in every kind of way, from the original wooden shutters opening like back 1937 to the signage for the garbage disposal. This Coach is more than words can describe at this moment. It actually gives you a sense that your back in the 1937 with all the added extras of our modern day luxury lifestyle. The service from the owner was superb, they were very attentive. The added extras I required was no problem for the owner as he saw to it my requirements were met in every way possible. The serenity that this place has to offer is unimaginable. I enjoyed myself so much. This weekend was truly breath taking, the views of the mountains from my room were exquisite & the bird life was of abundance. This place went above all my expectations from arrival to departure. Thank-you all at Mount Serene for the unforgettable memories that were made this weekend for my family."


"Tranquilising Weekend"

(South Africa) Mrs Radhakisson | 26 January 2009

"I am so relaxed and as the name says' Mount Serene'. This is truly a serene place to go. I am on a natural tranquilised drug after this weekend. It was so good for my mental health. I would definitely recommend that most Joburgers should go to Mount Serene to de-stress. Absolutely loved it, you shou..."

more

"I am so relaxed and as the name says' Mount Serene'. This is truly a serene place to go. I am on a natural tranquilised drug after this weekend. It was so good for my mental health. I would definitely recommend that most Joburgers should go to Mount Serene to de-stress. Absolutely loved it, you should try it."


"A blast from the past"

(South Africa) Mr gluckman | 11 August 2008

"Our stay in the Coach at the Mount Serene was nothing like what we expected, but was everything we hoped it would be. The accommodation was outstanding in the 1937 railway coach converted into an 8 sleeper well kitted out self catering unit with a difference. The place is perfect for anybody interes..."

more

"Our stay in the Coach at the Mount Serene was nothing like what we expected, but was everything we hoped it would be. The accommodation was outstanding in the 1937 railway coach converted into an 8 sleeper well kitted out self catering unit with a difference. The place is perfect for anybody interested in a bit of nostalgia without losing out on a lot of luxury living. Everything is laid on, making it a home away from home with a splash pool to boot. Everything works and is perfectly maintained by the owner. This is a gem of a destination for a holiday in the country."


"Mount Serene - Stone Cottage"

(South Africa) Ms Rosenbrock | 17 March 2008

"We found Mount Serene to be a very pleasant establishment. The cottage was spotless, with a well equipped kitchen. Complete privacy, with immaculately manicured gardens, and a lovely splash pool. A sense of really being in the bush, away from the hustle and bustle. Would recommend this to anyone..."

more

"We found Mount Serene to be a very pleasant establishment. The cottage was spotless, with a well equipped kitchen. Complete privacy, with immaculately manicured gardens, and a lovely splash pool. A sense of really being in the bush, away from the hustle and bustle. Would recommend this to anyone. Very cute and quaint. "


"Excelent for a private getaway."

(South Africa) Mr du Plessis | 26 November 2007

"If you want to have a private laidback weekend were you do as little as possible Mount Serene is definitely the place to visit. This self catering one bedroom on suit bathroom is small and intimate for two. You can sunbathe and swim while you will be forgiven for thinking you are in the middle of no..."

more

"If you want to have a private laidback weekend were you do as little as possible Mount Serene is definitely the place to visit. This self catering one bedroom on suit bathroom is small and intimate for two. You can sunbathe and swim while you will be forgiven for thinking you are in the middle of no were. You definitely get the feeling of being surrounded by bush veldt. The splash pool is just right for cooling of after sunbathing. All you need for a private getaway is right at hand. I will strongly recommend this hour drive to seclusion for any Joburger. "


"The Coach, Mount Serene"

(South Africa) Fiona Groves | 6 August 2007

"My husband and I took our three children to spend the night at Mount Serene in their converted railway carriage. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Coach has been beautifully converted into a self catering unit which sleeps 8 people. My children were so taken with the idea that they didn't..."

more

"My husband and I took our three children to spend the night at Mount Serene in their converted railway carriage. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Coach has been beautifully converted into a self catering unit which sleeps 8 people. My children were so taken with the idea that they didn't want to leave the next day. We will certainly go back again soon!"


"Seren is definately the Case"

(South Africa) Mrs Read | 2 July 2007

"A great place if you want tranquility and relaxation. The Stone Cottage is perfect for that romantic weekend Gettaway - in total seclusion with beautiful views of the Magaliesburg Mountains Mount Serene really gives you the feeling of total relaxation.

Only downfall was the unit is not ser..."

more

"A great place if you want tranquility and relaxation. The Stone Cottage is perfect for that romantic weekend Gettaway - in total seclusion with beautiful views of the Magaliesburg Mountains Mount Serene really gives you the feeling of total relaxation.

Only downfall was the unit is not serviced so you have to do your own washing of dishes etc... but this does not take away from the peace and traquility that the place offers."