Reviews of Thesen Islands


"Beautiful!"

(South Africa) Susan | 1 June 2019

"Beautiful house, with everything you need and in working order. What a pleasure to stay here! Will definitely be back!"


"'"

(South Africa) Leanne Perrang | 24 August 2015

"What an amazingly peaceful and beautiful place!! Exactly what we needed to get some r and r!! Will definetly stay here again!!"


"Great value for money"

(South Africa) Michael Beyers | 15 July 2015

"My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Leeward Isle. The loft apartment was very well equipped, tastefully decorated, cosy and comfortable. It's location on the beautiful Thesen Island marina is also perfect and close to many of the best restaurants and attractions.
"


"Very comfortable"

(South Africa) Malcolm Bury | 19 October 2008

"The room was very clean, neat and tidy. Very comfortable, just a pity that there was no view."


"Great Holiday"

(United Kingdom) Ian Barnes | 2 October 2008

"Our stay at Thesen Island was truly amazing and the property was just perfect. We will surely be coming back here on our return to South Africa.

Thanks"


"Brilliant."

Michelle Botes | 19 November 2008

"Anthony was very accommodating, thorough in detailing what we were to expect-and we were grateful that the description and the reality were both fantastic."


"Top Notch"

(South Africa) Clinton Abbott | 17 November 2008

"Awesome, albeit shoddy weather, the establishment was top notch and brilliant. The furnishings were top class. Will definitely be back again! Thanks"


"Fabulous and utterly fantastic!"

(South Africa) Helene Cloete | 13 November 2015

" We had an absolutely fantastic stay! Beautiful setting for a lovely home. We'll definitely be back! Thanx so much. :-)

"


"Fanatastic!"

(South Africa) Tersia Gerber | 5 November 2012

"We had an enjoyable stay! Everything clean and neat. Even got a phone call after we checked in to see if everything was okay. Stunning views. Stunning house."


"Wonderful holiday!"

(South Africa) Lara Holfeld | 6 December 2016

"We enjoyed a magnificent holiday in this beautiful home and studio. The kids had a ball with the lagoon right on our doorstep. Thank you! "


"Picture Perfect!"

(South Africa) Amith Ramballie | 20 January 2014

"What an ideal setting. The weather was perfect and there is something wonderful about having a lagoon in your backyard. The accommodation was clean and neat and everything exceeded our expectations. Thank you :)"


"Very relaxing"

(South Africa) Paul Weingartz | 23 May 2011

"My wife and I had an awesome holiday. This became our home away from home and we settled in really nicely. Didn't want to go home after six days on the island. We will definitely visit this particular house again and again! "


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Kevin Loney | 29 April 2009

"The accommodation was fantastic and we really enjoyed our stay. Despite the weather we had a wonderful time and will definitley be back. Thanks Anthony"


"Review of Thesen Islands"

(South Africa) Susan Munks | 9 April 2014

"Wonderful beach house in perfect position. All the amenities necessary for a relaxed & comfortable stay. Can't wait to go back."


"Good"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 7 September 2015

"What an amazingly peaceful and beautiful place!! Exactly what we needed to get some r and r!! Will definitely stay here again!! Leanne Perrang "


"Great"

(South Africa) Carina Vermeulen | 1 March 2011

"The house was all we needed! Enjoyed it!"


"Outstanding"

(South Africa) Marsha Petersen | 2 April 2013

"Thesen Island accommodation was outstanding, comfortable and really up market. We loved every moment and had the most memorable holiday ever. Thank you."


"Weekend off"

Malgosia Michalowska | 17 February 2013

"Beautiful place to stay, very convenient, well equipped. I hope I can use it other time. Had an excellent time. Thank u. My friends from Europe are very impressed."


"Excellent"

(United Kingdom) Neil Walton | 22 September 2011

"Excellent accommodation on this secure 'gated community' on Thesen Island.

Lovely property, well equipped, with great views. A wonderful, comfortable place in which to relax. Great scenery in the area."


"Love it!"

(South Africa) Tanja Pfister | 8 April 2014

"We enjoyed the Location and the perfect house! Thank you very much"


"Great family holiday "

(Australia) Andrew Chadder | 19 December 2013

"We spent a lovely week at the house as a family of four (4 year old and 10 month old). The house and garden were very well presented, and ideal for our stay. There was plenty to do on Thesen Islands (beach, playground, walks/runs, etc ) and the Harbour Town village was a leisurely walk away. Knysna ..."

more

"We spent a lovely week at the house as a family of four (4 year old and 10 month old). The house and garden were very well presented, and ideal for our stay. There was plenty to do on Thesen Islands (beach, playground, walks/runs, etc ) and the Harbour Town village was a leisurely walk away. Knysna itself was only a short drive across the causeway. Aside from some moderate vigilance with the stairs, we found this place great for the kids, with the garden and deck safely fenced and ample room inside. Having direct access to the beach from the deck was a particular bonus for us (one of the few houses with this feature). We would happily return, as well as recommend the house to other families."


"Lovely house"

Toni Hayhow-Khan | 14 April 2009

"Fantastic house to stay, surpassed even picture expectations. Quiet, natural environment was restful with local amenities very close. Food venues very good and plenty to choose from. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends."


"Perfect!"

(South Africa) Keegan von DŸring | 10 October 2013

"We were 4 guys on a golf tour and the setting was perfect. Nice and peaceful with restaurants and shops conveniently around the corner after a long day of golf to enjoy a meal and a few cold ones. We will definitely return and stay here again."


"Quiet luxury"

(South Africa) Wynand Wessels | 10 October 2016

"We enjoyed 2 wonderful nights on Thesen Island. Our villa was well equipped and very comfortable. Our only wish was that we could stay longer!"


"Beautiful setting, luxury living!"

(South Africa) Niki Savva | 17 July 2011

"A wonderful holiday where children are free to reign and feel safe. Lots to do and Ilse De Pain is a must visit for breakfasts and out-of-this-world bread. Thesen Islands are beautiful and very well kept."


"Canals"

Candice Murie | 18 April 2017

"The location of the house on the canals was amazing!"


"Familie naweek"

(South Africa) Ronelle Marx | 17 November 2014

"Wat 'n lekker naweek! Die eenheid is so mooi met al die geriewe wat jy wil he, die kinders het heerlik gespeel op die strand. Julle sien ons weer.

What a great weekend ! The unit is so beautiful with all the amenities you want , the kids enjoyed playing on the beach . You'll see us again."


" A fantastic experience"

(South Africa) Diana Delport | 13 October 2008

"Our stay at Thesen Island was truly a fantastic experience. The unit was beautiful and well kept. The unit was extremely well equipped and we wanted for nothing. The private beach was wonderful for the kids to play on and they enjoyed feeding the ducks and birds. The unit was also peaceful and quiet..."

more

"Our stay at Thesen Island was truly a fantastic experience. The unit was beautiful and well kept. The unit was extremely well equipped and we wanted for nothing. The private beach was wonderful for the kids to play on and they enjoyed feeding the ducks and birds. The unit was also peaceful and quiet but close to all the shops and restaurants. We will definitely be back!!"


"On the waterway"

(South Africa) richenda rosslee | 1 November 2011

"We stayed at the owner's other house, which is two doors down from Thesen Island. We had a wonderful time and loved sitting on the deck. It is very clean and well stocked. I will definitely stay there again."


"Review of Thesen Islands"

(South Africa) Dan Jones | 22 January 2016

" My

wife and I had reserved the L33 loft apartment for 4 nights. The owner

contacted us before arrival and kindly offered us the use of the house

instead of the attached apartment.  It is a lovely house with direct access to the beach in front.  It

was spotlessl..."

more

" My

wife and I had reserved the L33 loft apartment for 4 nights. The owner

contacted us before arrival and kindly offered us the use of the house

instead of the attached apartment.  It is a lovely house with direct access to the beach in front.  It

was spotlessly clean and obviously well maintained. It is very

conveniently located, within walking distance of Harbour Town, the

waterfront and yacht club. It is beautifully furnished with large

comfortable beds, has premium DStv and all the kitchen appliances that

anyone could want. It is highly recommended. "


"Best house on Thesen Island"

(South Africa) sandra boshoff | 8 March 2015

"Own private beach. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets . Clean, neat well furnished upmarket holiday home. Value for money. I will be back next year for a longer holiday."


"Amazing holiday"

(South Africa) Belinda de Villiers | 15 May 2012

"We had a wonderful holiday at L33. This holiday home suited all our needs."


"Absalutely stunning"

Brendan Williamson | 23 July 2017

"Great place to stay.

the view is amazing and you have the best of both worlds with the canals as well as a private beach area.

the kids loved it as we could play on the beach and canoe at the same time.

the house is really amazing. Everything is there that you need.

Great..."

more

"Great place to stay.

the view is amazing and you have the best of both worlds with the canals as well as a private beach area.

the kids loved it as we could play on the beach and canoe at the same time.

the house is really amazing. Everything is there that you need.

Great view, great accommodation and great estate"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Tersia Gerber | 13 October 2014

"We stayed in L35 and it was awesome. The house has everything we needed. Clean and very spacious. Enjoyed the stay and will go again."


"Pleasant stay"

(Germany) Axel Schmidtke | 30 April 2016

"clean and spacious house in a very safe environment. downside- no WLAN included"


"Selby's at Thesen Islands"

(United Arab Emirates) Karen Selby | 9 August 2015

"we had a super stay, the house was very warm due to the under floor heating. The beds were comfortable ensuring a good nights rest. We had a Braai of an evening out on the deck, the children enjoyed the large TV which kept them occupied. The kitchen had all the desired equipment and it was brilliant..."

more

"we had a super stay, the house was very warm due to the under floor heating. The beds were comfortable ensuring a good nights rest. We had a Braai of an evening out on the deck, the children enjoyed the large TV which kept them occupied. The kitchen had all the desired equipment and it was brilliant to have a washing machine and dryer! If there was free WIFI available, it would have been perfect. We found it very difficult to log on, so much so we didn't. I "


"Feedback on stay at Thesen Island"

(South Africa) Leticia Pather | 7 October 2014

"Thank you for a wonderful stay. The house we stayed in had fantastic views. It was clean with all the accessories making it a home away from home. Thesen Island is a clean, neat and very peaceful security complex within close proximity to all the best restaurants and activities. My whole family enjo..."

more

"Thank you for a wonderful stay. The house we stayed in had fantastic views. It was clean with all the accessories making it a home away from home. Thesen Island is a clean, neat and very peaceful security complex within close proximity to all the best restaurants and activities. My whole family enjoyed a very relaxed time away and I will definitely recommend it and return in the future."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Zenobia Africa | 7 May 2012

"Fantastic location with easy access to all activities on the island. The house was well-equipped for 7 people."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Candice Danneberg | 29 September 2014

"Just returned from a long weekend at Thesen Island. Had 2 small kids with us and we all had a fantastic time. The house we stayed in L33 was great, - but i'd hire any house at Thesen. No other place to stay."


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) johan van den bergh | 6 November 2014

"What a great stay we had on Thessen Island. It is save, secure and ideally placed to explore the best part of the garden route. Great eating places nearby too."


"Romantic bliss"

(United Kingdom) Roger Dietrich | 2 November 2011

"I rented this place for a one-night romantic getaway with my girlfriend, and it didn't disappoint. It is very clean and well presented, with a great location right on the waters' edge overlooking a quiet alcove of the lagoon. The main bedroom was impressive, as it has its own balcony and large en-su..."

more

"I rented this place for a one-night romantic getaway with my girlfriend, and it didn't disappoint. It is very clean and well presented, with a great location right on the waters' edge overlooking a quiet alcove of the lagoon. The main bedroom was impressive, as it has its own balcony and large en-suite bathroom. Thesen Island as a whole is fantastic and it's only a 15-minute walk from the villa to the island's main shops and restaurants, which are also very good. A must-visit place for a unique experience. We finished off our stay with a proposal on the balcony. We are to marry next year."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Bridget Siebert | 8 July 2013

"Absolutely awesome! Clean, great views, well equipped and just generally a great experience. We will definitely be back!"


"Needs some attention"

Malgosia Michalowska | 17 February 2013

"I think pay attention to some things which are not working for egs handle doors, you can be locked for life in the shower bathroom. Patio doors difficult to lock. Small things falling apart. But still I enjoy the house and a place."


"Great place for a fantastic family holiday"

(South Africa) Christine | 4 November 2017

"We spent 2 nights a Thesen Islands on 17 & 18 Oct 2017 and enjoyed the place. It's a very secured and organised place and the accommodation was very comfortable with very good restaurants nearby.
We also recommend 'Ile de pain' for your breakfast..delicious French pastries and bread."


"Pleasant stay in Knysna"

(Germany) anonymous | 15 February 2015

"Excellent location, good security and friendly staff. Had a wonderful three nights stay. House is in very good condition, clean and well equipped."


"Very happy"

(South Africa) PAULSE | 28 January 2015

"The facilities were really excellent. The place was so clean and we got more than we expected. The surroundings are also quiet and I will definitely recommend them. This has been the second time we have stayed here as we were very pleased with the accommodation last year."


"What an excellent place to stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Heenan | 22 January 2015

"Our stay was absolutely divine. We stayed at a few places in our travels and this is definitely one of the better places. It's really such a lovely place and I will certainly let other people know about it."


"An incredible week in Knysana"

(Germany) Andreas Ziolek, Germany | 2 August 2012

"We stayed at Thesen Island end of July 2012 for a whole week. What a wonderful and lovely place! We enjoyed our stay very much. The lagoon as well as the whole area are really outstanding places. A week is of course much too less time to explore this wonderful place!

We loved the Island a..."

more

"We stayed at Thesen Island end of July 2012 for a whole week. What a wonderful and lovely place! We enjoyed our stay very much. The lagoon as well as the whole area are really outstanding places. A week is of course much too less time to explore this wonderful place!

We loved the Island and the property. The service and support of the owner was excellent and very professional. The house was perfect for us.

We wish all future visitors of Thesen Island a wonderful time and strongly recommend to consider a visit."


"Thesen Island"

(South Africa) Ms Lesch | 11 July 2012

"We had a very nice stay at Thesen Island. The accommodation was more than satisfying. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Knysna, the whole group were very impressed."


"Modern and very-well equiped house at the lagoon"

(South Africa) Mrs Anja K | 7 April 2012

"The Thesen Islands villa is a very good place to stay - the interior of the house is modern and bright, the kitchen is well-equipped with everything you need and the master bedroom gives you a fantastic view over the the lagoon. The security estate seems to be very safe and you feel like being in a ..."

more

"The Thesen Islands villa is a very good place to stay - the interior of the house is modern and bright, the kitchen is well-equipped with everything you need and the master bedroom gives you a fantastic view over the the lagoon. The security estate seems to be very safe and you feel like being in a little village at the lagoon. Everything was perfect and made us feeling home. Thumbs up for this place!"


"Thesen Island"

(South Africa) Mr Maack | 27 June 2011

"We loved the accommodation. Great location at a small beach and nicely decorated. Parking is fine if you only have one car. Unusual layout of the rooms, but it worked for us."


"Thesen Islands, Knysna"

(United States) Mrs Pederson | 10 February 2011

"This is an ideal stay for two couples. The kitchen, living room, area were good and coffee on the patio was a morning ritual. Occupying the main bedroom was really a good option. Appliances in the kitchen were excellent.

We appreciated the secure environment. "


"Just as good as last year"

(United Kingdom) Craftybaker | 4 February 2011

"A little apprehensive returning to the same place after it being so good last year but it was just as good.

A beautiful, well maintained, spacious house in a very quiet corner of this secure development.

We had 10 nights this time & could easily have stayed longer.

Breakfa..."

more

"A little apprehensive returning to the same place after it being so good last year but it was just as good.

A beautiful, well maintained, spacious house in a very quiet corner of this secure development.

We had 10 nights this time & could easily have stayed longer.

Breakfast at Ile de Pain is excellent but always very busy particularly on Sundays (closed on Mondays). Sirocco is very good for dinner with beautiful lagoon views. 34 is very good also for more relaxed beer & tapas.
"


"Great place"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Jenkins | 10 December 2010

"We stayed for 4 nights the house was very comfortable, the studio was a great surprise for our Gradson (15yrs) he enjoyed having his own space, we all enjoyed having a BBQ on the veranda the view's was amazing. Wish we had stayed longer."


"Outstanding two bedroom house in Thesen Island"

(France) Mrs Zanette | 23 August 2010

"I spent three nights in Thesen Island with my husband and 3 children, and we found the house to be of outstanding quality and in a very safe and upmarket location.
The house was advertised on the site as a 3 bedroom house, but in fact it is a two bedroom house (one king size bedroom facing the p..."

more

"I spent three nights in Thesen Island with my husband and 3 children, and we found the house to be of outstanding quality and in a very safe and upmarket location.
The house was advertised on the site as a 3 bedroom house, but in fact it is a two bedroom house (one king size bedroom facing the private beach, and another double bedroom), the third bedroom being in a separate studio flat with an independent entrance. Thesen Island, being a holiday resort, is extremely quiet in winter, and most shops are closed for holidays; the two restaurants were open, but, sadly, not the famous bakery. The house is very beautiful, modern, and equipped with all amenities. We would highly recommend it.
"


"So relaxing"

(United Kingdom) Craftybaker | 16 February 2010

"A beautiful, spacious & well equipped house. We spent 9 nights there in January/February 2010 and the weather was amazing. The complex is very secure, quiet & convenient for everything in Knysna. The most noise we had was from the ducks quacking at sunrise."


"Lee Lane @ Thesen Island"

(South Africa) Mrs Hoff | 15 August 2009

"We experienced a wonderful, tranquil 3 days at Lee Lane. With cold, rainy and sunny conditions, this well equipped holiday home provided for all our needs. It was pure luxury! Thank you for recharging our batteries."


"Fabulous!"

(South Africa) Mrs Stevens | 20 July 2009

"Wow what a lovely place! The house is a dream and the surroundings also very nice. We had a lovely time staying there. I will definitely make another booking."


"Fantastic value and a wonderfully contemporary place to stay"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Langeveld | 26 March 2009

"It was almost like being at home...but with much better weather! We arrived with a 2-year-old daughter in tow and found that we had absolutely everything we could possibly need, both for her and for us - the owner even arranged for a brand new travel cot to be set up for when we arrived. Extremely..."

more

"It was almost like being at home...but with much better weather! We arrived with a 2-year-old daughter in tow and found that we had absolutely everything we could possibly need, both for her and for us - the owner even arranged for a brand new travel cot to be set up for when we arrived. Extremely well equipped and beautifully furnished, we couldn't have wished for a better place to base ourselves in Knysna. Even the neighbours were lovely!

It was very good value for money - I emailed a couple of times to check it really was all included in the price!
"


"Peace and tranquillity amidst a busy holiday town"

(South Africa) Ms le Roux | 13 February 2009

"My Thesen Island days were the highlight of the road trip through SA. What a surprise to find the beauty of the island combined with such luxury in the unit, and that for a price that I could afford! Heaven! And believe me; I am coming back!"


"Family time"

(South Africa) Pillay's | 9 October 2008

"On arrival at the airport, it was so cold and windy and I thought, what shall we do if the weather remains like this. I could hear other people talking about the weather and that it is going to get much worse. I felt even more depressed. We got to the car rental, where it took forever - it was cold,..."

more

"On arrival at the airport, it was so cold and windy and I thought, what shall we do if the weather remains like this. I could hear other people talking about the weather and that it is going to get much worse. I felt even more depressed. We got to the car rental, where it took forever - it was cold, windy and my baby was restless. As we entered Knysna, my husband drove on towards the Island and to the apartments. We went into L33 and to my surprise the house was so beautiful, comfortable, warm and secure. I felt like I was at home. It had everything that you could imagine. We were so excited that I even forgot about the weather. This place was just as the pictures sent to me, no exaggeration. I must say the stay was most comfortable, not even the weather got me down. This is a perfect family place. I will definitely recommend Thesen Islands to other people.

Thank you Rooms of Africa and Anthony."