Reviews of Horse and Mill Guesthouse


"Overnight at the Horse and Mill Guesthouse"

(South Africa) Maria | 20 December 2020

"We enjoyed a comfortable overnight stay in a spacious beautiful room. We will definitely book again at the next opportunity."


"A Sweet Spot in Colesberg"

(South Africa) Leigh | 19 December 2020

"Horse and Mill Guesthouse was a delightful overnight stay. The guesthouse is comprised of cottage style rooms along a little street tucked into the city centre of Colesberg. After a long day of driving we appreciated the cooled air-con room, the comfortable white linen and spacious bathroom. A highl..."

more

"Horse and Mill Guesthouse was a delightful overnight stay. The guesthouse is comprised of cottage style rooms along a little street tucked into the city centre of Colesberg. After a long day of driving we appreciated the cooled air-con room, the comfortable white linen and spacious bathroom. A highlight was the Marula shampoo in the shower which left both of our hair feeling soft for days!

The Horse and Mill Pub offered us a hearty meal, friendly service and a choice of eating in the main pub, or outside. We enjoyed the chicken pie and beef burger, well portioned and crispy fries, and a side dish of veggies. The food was a travelers delight as it was both homely, tasty and affordable.

We enjoyed the hospitality of all the staff, and the ability to walk out of cottage room door and across the street to the Pub. Thanks for a surprisingly sweet stop in Colesberg!

"


"Neat and affordable!"

(South Africa) Annaly | 22 August 2018

"Our 4 guests arrived on Saturday the 18th and were welcomed by Jackie Ramsay, with a friendly smile. The rooms were neat and tidy. They had a good sleep! Our guests will be going back on the 25th for another stop over. Thank you Horse and Mill, we'll be back again!

Regards
Annaly"


"Warm and welcome atmosphere "

John Aitken | 8 April 2018

"Favourite place to stay travelling from durban to cape town. Rooms are good and food excellent. We have stayed previously and would recommend "


"relaxing stay overnight in transit"

Jenni Bacher | 2 April 2018

"Something is terribly wrong with the plumbing. If one of the neighbors rooms use water, the noise(vibrating pipes) in our room was unbearable. This affected us at 5.30 in the morning ( nothing in the evening or during the night). Sleeping after 5.30 was impossible"


"Review for room 10 on the 17th of November."

Brian Ruscoe | 20 November 2017

"Perhaps you could make it easier to open the parking gate from the inside. "


"The electric blankets, towel warmer and warm duvets were a highlight at -9¡C!"

Riana Erlank | 19 July 2017

"The rooms were extremely well equiped for the cold weather. The restaurant had a huge variety on the menu and the food was delicious. "


"Resting place"

William Thoka | 16 July 2017

"It was clean,tidy and warm,
we enjoyed our stay."


"Comfortable stop over"

Isobel Lourens | 16 April 2017

"As it was only a stop over the rooms were cozy and clean. The food at the pub was delicious and the staff was helpful and friendly"


"lay over"

Rosy Naidoo | 7 April 2017

"Comfortable, as it was just an overnight stay.

The restuarant was good with a vibrant atmosphere"


"Very pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Roger Pursall | 30 December 2016

"Our family of 5 had a lovely peaceful stay over. Our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The food at the pub was delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful."


"Wonderful stopover"

(South Africa) stephen Jaffe | 15 May 2016

"A clean, quiet, well set-out unit in a road with charming old buildings. Safe parking and a restaurant on the other side of the road, with good food and lovely atmosphere."


"Good Review "

(South Africa) Menke Strydom | 29 March 2016

"The staff were friendly and efficient. Lovely clean rooms and good food. Perfect stop over on the way to Cape Town."


"HORSE AND MILL GUEST HOUSE FEEDBACK"

(South Africa) Annalize Dugtig | 11 January 2016

"Value for money. Good food. Reasonable prices."


"Carol Wyeth"

(South Africa) Carol Wyeth | 9 January 2016

"Great - nice to be able to have an evening meal outside."


"Great overnight accomodation"

(South Africa) Richard Dube | 4 January 2016

"We really enjoyed our stay at the Horse and Mill. Our host was very generous and accomodative. This Guesthouse is ideally located for travelers passing through Colesberg overnight."


"Fair"

(South Africa) Dina Cramer | 25 December 2015

"Accommodation was comfortable and relatively clean. Food was not great at the restaurant."


"Adequate sleep over"

(South Africa) Cobus Rossouw | 15 November 2015

"As a stop over for a trip between Joburg and Cape Town it was acceptable. Locked parking for vehicles provided.
We used the budget room for 6 hours sleep. I would not recommend it for a longer stay.
The booking process was handled efficiently.
"


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Lauren Goodall | 13 October 2015

"We enjoyed our stay at the Horse and Mill - dinner at thepub was very nice - wonderful Karoo Lamb pie!"


"Great stopover "

(South Africa) LIesel Jacobs | 13 July 2015

"What a lovely place to stop and get some much needed rest after a long days travel.
Thank you Horse and Mill Guest House"


"'"

(South Africa) Pieter Aucamp | 20 May 2015

"Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Convenient having the restaurant/bar so close. Food outstanding and service excellent. Pity though that..."

more

"Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Convenient having the restaurant/bar so close. Food outstanding and service excellent. Pity though that smoking is allowed in the bar, which could otherwise be a pleasant spot to have a quiet drink and watch TV after a long day's driving."


"Great"

(South Africa) Emil von Broembsen | 21 March 2015

"We had a wonderful stay with you guys as usualI would recommend you to anybodyvery helpful staff."


"KZN"

(South Africa) ElzŽ Grobbelaar | 7 January 2015

"Ons het die verblyf daar baie geniet. Eienaars gee persoonlike aandag. Baie dankie vir die vetplante, almal geplant en hulle lyk gelukkig."


"'"

(South Africa) Alaistair Wilson | 5 January 2015

"The most amazing place to stay. From the amazing food to the personalised attention from the owners to Oom Windpomp, driving the kids around on his Xmas tractor and the owner going into her home to find medication for my son who had an upset stomach and then confirming with the matron that he was a..."

more

"The most amazing place to stay. From the amazing food to the personalised attention from the owners to Oom Windpomp, driving the kids around on his Xmas tractor and the owner going into her home to find medication for my son who had an upset stomach and then confirming with the matron that he was able to take it.

The only place I will stay over in the future."


"Stopover in Colesburg"

(South Africa) Nirupa Samjhawon | 4 January 2015

"Very good value for money.The room is spacious and provides all the amenities."


"Good for an overnight stay"

(South Africa) Nirvani Singh | 5 December 2014

"This facility is fine for an overnight stay. My suggestion is having crockery and cutlery in the kitchen."


"'"

(South Africa) Colleen Arendse | 28 October 2014

"Our overnight stay at the Horse and Mill guest house was perfect after a long motorcycle ride. Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms set in a pretty garden filled with fragrant flowers."


"Great place!"

(South Africa) Katrien Smit | 11 September 2014

"We loved our stay at Horse and Mill. Jackie is a great hostess and very knowledgeable about the area. We will definitely stay there again."


"Horse and Mill Guest House"

(South Africa) Christopher Williams | 14 May 2014

"My booking was done effortlessly and all was in order when I arrived. My room, although a little cold, was clean, neat and had all the amenities I needed.

The mattress was nice and firm and even had an electric under blanket. The shower was hot, there is secure parking for your car and in ge..."

more

"My booking was done effortlessly and all was in order when I arrived. My room, although a little cold, was clean, neat and had all the amenities I needed.

The mattress was nice and firm and even had an electric under blanket. The shower was hot, there is secure parking for your car and in general I was quite happy with the facility.

Certainly value for cost and I would not hesitate to stay there again. "


"Great value and great host"

(South Africa) Carla Fiford | 10 May 2014

"Great value for money, lovely room and great hostess! lovely lamb dinner! Will be back!"


"Very enjoyable"

(South Africa) chris van der merwe | 23 April 2014

"This was very enjoyable, with everything you need right there. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a place to stay over in Colesberg."


"Comfortable overnight"

(South Africa) Ted Bouw | 18 April 2014

"We had a comfortable overnight stay, except the soundproofing between the rooms is not good and the person in the room behind us was watching TV till the early hours of the morning. Rooms are neat and clean, staff are friendly and helpful."


"Great little stay"

(South Africa) Alistair Holman | 27 March 2014

"Comfortable room and delicious food in the pub!"


"Overnight Stay"

(South Africa) Shontell Egan | 21 January 2014

"I only had a brief stay at the Horse and Mill Guest House, however I had a lovely welcome when I arrived and a very good dinner. Rooms were small and I would have loved a bath not just a shower, but I would consider staying there again, if and when I pass through."


"Horse and Mill stay"

(South Africa) avinash sidha | 30 December 2013

"The house was neat and clean with all facilities. We enjoyed our stay and recommend Horse and Mill to everyone travelling from Gauteng to either PE or Cape Town."


"Good stay"

(South Africa) Thembeka Skhosana | 10 December 2013

"We had a long journey from benoni then we took a break at horse and mill, the experience was nice. Clean and neat rooms didn't have breakfast but it was great. Good furniture and mattress, the place was just good, I would recommend for anyone. "


"Staying at Horse and Mill Guest House"

(South Africa) Derick Bus | 9 October 2013

"We travelled from Pretoria to Cape Town on 22 September 2013 and returned again on 04 October. Both nights we stayed over at Horse and Mill Guest House in Colesberg and what a pleasant experience it was on both occasions! The rooms are very spacious, tidy with beautiful furnisher. The food we enjoye..."

more

"We travelled from Pretoria to Cape Town on 22 September 2013 and returned again on 04 October. Both nights we stayed over at Horse and Mill Guest House in Colesberg and what a pleasant experience it was on both occasions! The rooms are very spacious, tidy with beautiful furnisher. The food we enjoyed at the restaurant was excellent, and the same goes for the service. Congrats! You absolutely rock and will definitely see us again!"


"Good Value"

(South Africa) Jeannine Venage | 8 October 2013

"Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced - and having the restaurant/bar so close makes for a great stop over in the very appealing town of Colesberg."


"Our Stay At the Horse and Mill Guest House"

(South Africa) Diane Greyling | 23 March 2013

"We arrived at the guest house at about 16H00 after a pleasant journey from Gauteng. The booking in was fast and efficient. We were shown our room. Everything was clean and neat.

After a walk around the town of Colesberg we had dinner at the guest house. The food was good quality and reasonabl..."

more

"We arrived at the guest house at about 16H00 after a pleasant journey from Gauteng. The booking in was fast and efficient. We were shown our room. Everything was clean and neat.

After a walk around the town of Colesberg we had dinner at the guest house. The food was good quality and reasonably price.

We would definitely recommend the Horse and Mill Guest as a stop over on your way from Gauteng to the Cape."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Adrie Herrington | 22 March 2013

"We had a great overnight stay at Horse and Mill. Great people (especially Adrie who works there) and we enjoyed the dinner at the restaurant as well. Thanks again."


"We'll be back"

(South Africa) Anton Roux | 20 February 2013

"Will come back to this place. Very neat and comfortable. Water was piping hot. Pub food was good."


"Good value "

(South Africa) Margaret Hurst | 2 February 2013

"Nice, clean rooms. Food excellent. Staff good. Could not use shower, too hot or too cold."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Trevor Prinsloo | 15 August 2012

"The power went off during the night; you should consider a generator for backup. The stay itself was wonderful."


"Baie dankie"

(South Africa) Karen de Jager | 7 August 2012

"Ons het geoornag een aand in die familiekamer. Dit was skoon en netjies. Vriendelike ontvangs en diens by Pub & Grill wat baie gerieflik langsaan gelee is."


"No hot water"

(South Africa) Hendrik de Wilde | 24 July 2012

"There was no hot water and it was in the middle of winter. But the rest of the service was good. It is also my opinion that the breakfast is a little bit overpriced for what you get."


"Gorgeous"

(South Africa) marge murphy | 23 July 2012

"What an awesome place."


"Very comfortable"

(South Africa) Brenda Silberbauer | 9 July 2012

"Very comfortable and convenient. Nice touch having tea and rusks in rooms, with fresh milk."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Cheryl Skinner | 10 June 2012

"Very nice quaint guest house - was very comfortable, warm and safe."


"Great"

(South Africa) Tim Bradley | 4 June 2012

"Great character, cozy pub, comfortable room, great food and excellent value for money. What more do you need for a one-night stopover?"


"Ideal"

(South Africa) Ganas Govender | 14 May 2012

"Accomodation was good, clean and very cozy. Ideal stop over on a long journey."


"Good"

(South Africa) Christo Schoeman | 11 April 2012

"Stayed here twice already! Will stay again at Horse and Mill. Very good."


"Dankie"

(South Africa) Hanlie Jordaan | 11 April 2012

"Baie dankie vir 'n aangename 2 aande wat ons in Horse + Mill kon oorbly. Die diens was goed en baie gaaf en ons het ook heerllik geeet! Sal beslis hierdie plekkie van julle aanbeveel! Groete!"


"Very helpful"

(New Zealand) Anne-Marie Heunes | 1 February 2012

"Ons het net een aand oornag, maar was aangenaam verras deur die vriendelike diens - en dit 12 uur in die aand. Baie dankie Jackie!

We only stayed for one night, but we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly service - and this at 12 o' clock at night. Thank you Jackie!"


"A good stopover"

(South Africa) Nigel Redford | 9 January 2012

"Nice clean accommodation along with the added benefit of a fridge in the rooms. Nice pub and restaurant with solid food - the lamb was nice. Great breakfast with the perfect poached eggs."


"Very good"

(South Africa) bernyce hollingworth | 31 December 2011

"We enjoyed our stay in this quaint little guest house. The food was outstanding (lamb chops). Only snag was the little fridge in the room was noisy which led to not such a great night's sleep."


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Shelly Burger | 31 December 2011

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Horse and Mill. Staff were very friendly and the accommodation was clean and spacious."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Kirsten Meier | 30 December 2011

"Our stay was lovely. The accommodation and facilities were perfect. Thank you."


"Cosy stay"

(South Africa) Nicolene Botha | 20 December 2011

"It was a very lovely chalet! Our stay was short, but we would gladly return if travelling in that direction again! The restaurant food is also divine!"


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Colin ford | 10 December 2011

"We had a wonderful stay and will certainly recommend Horse and Mill to friends travelling to Cape Town."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Jannie Breed | 7 December 2011

"The first meeting with Jackie was pleasant, she made us feel at home. The room was clean and the linen lovely. We had an excellent dinner in the dining room. This is value for money."


"A quiet spot in a truck-noisy town"

(South Africa) Mart Singer | 19 September 2011

"All the trucks using the N1 or the N9 seems to pass through Colesberg. Therefore, for me the main requirement for an overnight lodge is that it must be quiet. Not only are the rooms of the Horse and Mill quiet, they are also furnished in mostly antique furniture. They are neat and clean and contain..."

more

"All the trucks using the N1 or the N9 seems to pass through Colesberg. Therefore, for me the main requirement for an overnight lodge is that it must be quiet. Not only are the rooms of the Horse and Mill quiet, they are also furnished in mostly antique furniture. They are neat and clean and contain everything you might need for an overnight stay (fridge, coffee-making facilities WITH homemade rusks, ample space, DStv, etc.)."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Cath Forsyth | 24 July 2011

"Such a lovely place to spend the night after a long day of driving!"


"Great"

(South Africa) Melanie van der Merwe | 3 May 2011

"Thank you for the good and friendly service you gave us after a demanding trip."


"Nice"

(South Africa) Gabriella Marcia | 3 May 2011

"Friendly reception. Accommodation comfortable and satisfactory. Had good dinner and breakfast in restaurant."


"Fantastic stay"

(South Africa) Cindi | 5 January 2018

"We were warmly welcomed when we arrived. Entering the place it was so peaceful. The staff were very professional. In fact both staff and owners were friendly and helpful. They provided excellent service. The rooms were spacious enough and very comfortable. It had enough of everything we needed. I es..."

more

"We were warmly welcomed when we arrived. Entering the place it was so peaceful. The staff were very professional. In fact both staff and owners were friendly and helpful. They provided excellent service. The rooms were spacious enough and very comfortable. It had enough of everything we needed. I especially liked that the restaurants were so near by and it made our stay quite convenient. I'd recommend this resort to others. "


"Stop over"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 January 2018

"Nice clean room with air-con. Sufficient for a night stop over en route to destination. "


"Nice Relaxing Stay"

(South Africa) Paul | 25 May 2017

"The place was ideally a quiet spot. I needed a place to rest and it was exactly what I did. I enjoyed it and will definitely go back."


"Pleasant Stopover"

(South Africa) John | 9 May 2017

"The accommodation was clean, comfortable and the food was excellent. I can definitely recommend."


"Comfortable Stay"

(South Africa) Enid | 24 April 2017

"The place was decorated nicely and it`s got such a homely feeling to it. The staff was friendly and I really enjoyed my stay."


"Excellent Stay"

(South Africa) Willie | 18 April 2017

"It was an excellent stay. The service is friendly and speedy. We had dinner from the menu and it was excellent. The rooms and facilities is perfect and we will definitely stay over there again when we travel South. The pub could be recommended even if you just drive through Colesberg. We enjoyed our..."

more

"It was an excellent stay. The service is friendly and speedy. We had dinner from the menu and it was excellent. The rooms and facilities is perfect and we will definitely stay over there again when we travel South. The pub could be recommended even if you just drive through Colesberg. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks for the booking.
Willie Meyer"


"Halfway stopover"

(South Africa) Jan | 23 March 2017

"I was pleasantly surprised with the Horse and Mill and will definitely make use of this very convenient and enjoyable stopover again! "


"Excellent value for money"

(South Africa) Ivan | 22 March 2017

"This guesthouse is a great stay over when traveling between Cape Town and Gauteng! The staff are very friendly and the rooms are very clean. The best is their dinners, you will be pleasantly surprised!!"


"Everything We Needed at Horse and Mill Guesthouse"

(South Africa) tish | 20 February 2017

"It was the most enjoyable stay and it felt like home. We loved the food and the rooms was very comfortable. It’s like waking up in your own bed in the morning. We had a good time and we can’t wait to stay there again."


"Impressive Stay"

(South Africa) Jenny | 31 January 2017

"The rooms was nicely decorated and it had a little fridge inside which I think was great. They also have a secured parking lot and the food was good. I will definitely go back again for the convenience of the location and affordable price. It’s a perfect place for a stopover."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 27 January 2017

"The rooms was spacious, clean and had nice decor. The service was really good, I was happy with my stay and I’ll definitely recommend the place."


"Great"

(South Africa) Marius | 13 January 2017

"I was in room 13 with my family. Overall my whole family enjoyed the stay and we had a nice stay. The food was lovely and the rest of the accommodation was great."


"HOME FROM HOME EXPERIENCE !!!"

(South Africa) Belinda | 5 January 2017

"Well appointed, neat accommodation catering to all our needs. My daughter and I had a lovely stay and a superb dinner at the restaurant. Horse and Mill Guesthouse will be our guesthouse of choice when staying over in Colesberg in future."


"Hospitality Was Good"

(South Africa) Ian | 15 December 2016

"The hospitality was good. The food they served was excellent, our room was in good condition and clean. I was happy with my stay and would certainly go back again."


"Happy"

(South Africa) Roshnie | 28 November 2016

"We were very happy with our stay. The only small issue we had was with the toilet that was dripping, but they were very helpful and came to fix the problem immediately. The staff working there was very polite and it was a good place to stay at. We would certainly revisit again."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Gisela | 23 November 2016

"The accommodation was good, bedrooms comfortable and the staff friendly at Horse and Mill Guesthouse. I had a very good stay."


"Always A Great Stay."

(South Africa) Craig | 16 November 2016

"We have stayed at the Horse and Mill Guesthouse more than once and it has always been a great stay. "


"A Karoo Jewel After A Long Drive"

(South Africa) anonymous | 10 November 2016

"What a lovely surprise to arrive at The Horse and Mill in Colesberg after a long, hot and tiring drive.
Accommodation in a beautifully restored cottage, plenty of fridge and freezer space for the provisions for the journey ahead, a comfortable bed and a stoep (veranda) to sit on and unwind as t..."

more

"What a lovely surprise to arrive at The Horse and Mill in Colesberg after a long, hot and tiring drive.
Accommodation in a beautifully restored cottage, plenty of fridge and freezer space for the provisions for the journey ahead, a comfortable bed and a stoep (veranda) to sit on and unwind as the day ended. In a quiet part of town with no intrusive noise from the traffic.
Supper outside at the pub's restaurant where they were more than happy to cater for dietary restrictions. A huge plate of food - enough for a takeaway for lunch the next day. "


"Very Nice"

(South Africa) anonymous | 7 November 2016

"I had a good stay at Horse and Mill. The rooms had all that one needs. The service from the staff was very nice. I would recommend and re-visit Horse and Mill.
Thank you."


"Amazing Stay"

(South Africa) Annetjie | 19 October 2016

"We really enjoyed our stay very much. The staff are friendly and helpful and they accommodated us very well. We were really happy with everything. We are definitely going back again."


"Comfortable Accommodation"

(South Africa) Brigette | 7 October 2016

"We had a very pleasant overnight stay at the Horse and Mill guesthouse. Everything was nice and clean and beds were comfortable. We enjoyed friendly service and a delicious evening meal at the Horse and Mill restaurant as well. I would recommend this as good value for money."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Harry | 14 September 2016

"Everything was great, I had absolutely no problems. The rooms was clean and tidy and I would definitely go back again and also recommend it to other people considering staying over at the Guesthouse."


"Lovely Stay"

(South Africa) Rene | 7 September 2016

"We had a really nice stay and everything went well. We were very satisfied with this wonderful establishment."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Roxanne | 7 September 2016

"We had a really wonderful stay. It was the perfect stopover for us it was comfortable and clean, the people were wonderful and the food was really good. It was an absolutely wonderful and perfect stay."


"Wonderful Stay"

(South Africa) Rene | 17 August 2016

"We had a wonderful stay and are already planning to back! The whole vibe and atmosphere of the place was so awesome, so free and easy going. I also liked the rooms, very nice and comfortable, loved that there was an electric blanket. It’s just and all round great place to stay and really friendly pe..."

more

"We had a wonderful stay and are already planning to back! The whole vibe and atmosphere of the place was so awesome, so free and easy going. I also liked the rooms, very nice and comfortable, loved that there was an electric blanket. It’s just and all round great place to stay and really friendly people as well. Thanks for the great stay."


"Good stopover"

(South Africa) Lisa | 21 July 2016

"Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Electric blankets helped stave off the cold. Nice, hot shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to park our vehicle and trailer behind a secure gate. Had pizzas in the quaint little pub that were good. Reasonable value and a convenient stopove..."

more

"Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Electric blankets helped stave off the cold. Nice, hot shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to park our vehicle and trailer behind a secure gate. Had pizzas in the quaint little pub that were good. Reasonable value and a convenient stopover between Joburg and Cape Town. "


"Great stay at Horse and Mill"

(South Africa) Robyn Diane | 13 July 2016

"We really enjoyed our stay here. The service was quick and professional and the restaurant and pub is so cute and the food very tasty. Rooms neat and so cosy. Thank you so much. "


"Excellent Rest Stop!"

(United States) Lisa | 27 June 2016

"The room was beautiful and very clean! Staff was wonderful. The food was great and the bar is pretty cool. Overall, this was a great stop for us on our way from Johannesburg to Cape Town."


"What a wonderful set-up"

(South Africa) Fanie | 25 May 2016

"We tremendously enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and clean. Food was EXCELLENT! We will definitely make use of your facilities should we visit Colesberg again. "


"Very Pleased"

(South Africa) Roy | 10 May 2016

"A really great place, we had a lovely time. I liked that the establishment was so conveniently situated, just off the main road, so it was easy to access .We liked the whole atmosphere of the guest house, very relaxing. We had an overall good stay."


"Absolutely Fantastic "

(South Africa) Pierre | 25 April 2016

"We had a great time at the Horse and Mill, we had absolutely no problems, and I’d give it 6 stars if I could. Friendly service, comfortable rooms and good food at great price. What more can u ask for, I would definitely recommended it."


"Clean and comfortable stay"

(South Africa) Peter | 24 April 2016

"Good reception with a clean and comfortable stay for an affordable price!"


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) jo | 18 April 2016

"We had a lovely stay at the Horse and Hill Guesthouse. We had lots of privacy the staff were helpful and friendly, yet unobtrusive; they showed us around the establishment and how to use the gates and so on. We had an overall great stay."


"Great stay!"

Zelda | 25 March 2016

"Very neat room, great service and food! Already booked our room for our return to JHB. All you need in the room, couldn't ask for anything more!"


"Comfort in Colesberg"

(South Africa) Adrienne | 20 March 2016

"At an affordable price. Friendly staff. Cold beer next door. What else do you need after a long & dusty day on the road. We would love to come again. Colesberg is our favourite overnight stop."


"Horse & Mill Guesthouse"

(South Africa) Ken | 2 February 2016

"My stay here was quite good. Everything else was up to standard. I will recommend and re-visit."


"Good stay"

(South Africa) Lee | 29 January 2016

"I had a very delightful stay. We've already booked to stay at this establishment again. I will highly recommend."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Neels | 27 January 2016

"A very nice stay was had at this establishment by me. I will surely recommend and definitely re-visit in the future."


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Anneke | 14 January 2016

"My stay at this establishment was very enjoyable. I will highly recommend and definitely re-visit."


"Old school fun!"

(South Africa) Karin | 6 January 2016

"Had a great time, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Will definately sleep over again!"


"Fun Stay"

(South Africa) leeroy | 8 December 2015

"Our room was spacious, clean and well-decorated. Very friendly and efficient staff. I would go back there any day."


"Don't be deceived by outward appearances!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 October 2015

"Tucked in a back street, not very picturesque on arrival, but the room was spacious, clean and well-decorated. Very friendly and efficient staff. I would go back there if passing through Colesberg again."


"Just Lekker!!"

(South Africa) Richard | 30 September 2015

"The receptionist, who is also the bar lady, is so down to earth and friendly, one feels you have known her for years. Effective administration, showing of the room and other facilities was a breeze. Room was great and Bathroom even better. Supper fantastic and a great menu, even though it being a Su..."

more

"The receptionist, who is also the bar lady, is so down to earth and friendly, one feels you have known her for years. Effective administration, showing of the room and other facilities was a breeze. Room was great and Bathroom even better. Supper fantastic and a great menu, even though it being a Sunday evening. Will recommend to anyone who wants to stay over in Colesberg. Thanks for a "lekker" experience! "


"Cosy Winter Sleepover"

(South Africa) Abraham | 29 June 2015

"This is the second time we have slept over on our way to Cape Town. This time in the middle of winter. Loved the warm and cosy room. We have always enjoyed our welcome and stay."


"Good value"

(South Africa) Spencer | 6 May 2015

"Nice welcome, comfortable and clean rooms. Food was very good with no corkage charged for our own wine. Very much appreciated."


"More than adequate stop over"

(South Africa) anonymous | 22 April 2015

"For a one night stay over on route to the Cape, the facilities, cleanliness and all round service was more than adequate."


"Horse and Mill Guesthouse"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 April 2015

"I had a pleasant stay at Horse and Mill Guesthouse. It was clean and had everything I needed for a one night stay. "


"Quaint"

(South Africa) Pienaar | 10 April 2015

"My daughter and I used this guest house as a half way stop-over on our way from Durban to Cape Town. It was very quaint and adequate. It was a cold evening so it was great to have an electric blanket. We decided to stay for dinner - a la carte and both had the lamb curry which was a very malay i..."

more

"My daughter and I used this guest house as a half way stop-over on our way from Durban to Cape Town. It was very quaint and adequate. It was a cold evening so it was great to have an electric blanket. We decided to stay for dinner - a la carte and both had the lamb curry which was a very malay i.e. sweeter than the Durban curries we are used to - but still it was very warming and tasty. The guest house is good value for money and the only downside was the towels."


"Perfect for the price"

(South Africa) Mr Lowe | 2 April 2015

"The Horse & Mill is in a quaint part of Colesberg. Rooms were clean and comfortable. They do serve pub meals in their pub but if that is not your thing there is some lovely restaurants close by."


"Horse and Mill Guesthouse in Colesberg"

(South Africa) REISER | 7 March 2015

"The Horse and Mill Guesthouse is a little goldmine. On arrival we were welcomed in a very friendly manner. We were shown to our room which was extremely comfortable and provided all that we needed for our one night stay. We ate dinner at their restaurant which had good service and provided a lovel..."

more

"The Horse and Mill Guesthouse is a little goldmine. On arrival we were welcomed in a very friendly manner. We were shown to our room which was extremely comfortable and provided all that we needed for our one night stay. We ate dinner at their restaurant which had good service and provided a lovely homemade meal. We will be going back again and highly recommend them for an overnight stay."


"Horse and Mill Guesthouse"

(South Africa) Louise, Johannesburg | 23 February 2015

"The Horse and Mill is a comfortable, no-frills establishment. The staff is very friendly and willing. They put a menu in the room, and invited guests to send for their meal if they wished room service. They also had a very interesting little booklet on the history of Colesberg, which was a nice touc..."

more

"The Horse and Mill is a comfortable, no-frills establishment. The staff is very friendly and willing. They put a menu in the room, and invited guests to send for their meal if they wished room service. They also had a very interesting little booklet on the history of Colesberg, which was a nice touch. The liquid soap and shampoo dispensers were attached to the wall way too high in the shower, but they promised to move them when it was brought to their attention."


"Horse and Mill"

(South Africa) Hiles | 18 February 2015

"We had no problems at this Guesthouse and we were accommodated very well. The room was comfortable for us. We have already referred people."


"COSY AND QUIET CORNER"

(South Africa) Jenny | 10 February 2015

"My husband and I stayed at this establishment overnight on our trip to Cape Town. On arrival we were greeted by a very cheerful lady and shown to our room. We had a very prettily decorated double room with en suite shower. There is a courtyard so we sat on the veranda, had a cup of tea and relaxed a..."

more

"My husband and I stayed at this establishment overnight on our trip to Cape Town. On arrival we were greeted by a very cheerful lady and shown to our room. We had a very prettily decorated double room with en suite shower. There is a courtyard so we sat on the veranda, had a cup of tea and relaxed after a long trip. There is a bar and dining room in the building plus tables and chairs in the courtyard. We chose to sit outside as it was a lovely evening. We had drinks before ordering our meal. The food was adequate pub fare. I ordered a savoury quiche with salad; my husband had a venison pie with chips. The food was tasty although the quiche pastry was rather thick. The waitress was very pleasant and brought our drinks and food as ordered! The establishment was very close to the N1 south so easy to find. Likewise, the next morning we drove back to the Freeway to the N1 and continued our journey south. We had booked bed only so we left early the next morning and travelled until we found a restaurant and had our breakfast. We would recommend this establishment as an overnight stop going south or going north."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Anderson | 20 January 2015

"I had a great stay at Horse and Mill. The service was really good and it was paired with clean and comfortable rooms. I will recommend them to others. "


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Ms Binns | 8 January 2015

"I had a good stay at Horse and Mill. It was a nice place for a stopover on a long trip. They let us stay in the restaurant for as long as we liked which I enjoyed. I will recommend it to others. "


"LOVELY PLACE"

(South Africa) Mrs Hauser | 5 January 2015

"We stayed at the Horse and Mill Guesthouse on our way back from the Cape in December 2014. We were really hot and grumpy when we arrived and were worried our car would have to stand in the street. Wow we were really pleasantly surprised. There is a private parking area behind a lockable gate for re..."

more

"We stayed at the Horse and Mill Guesthouse on our way back from the Cape in December 2014. We were really hot and grumpy when we arrived and were worried our car would have to stand in the street. Wow we were really pleasantly surprised. There is a private parking area behind a lockable gate for residents and our room was a little piece of heaven that we escaped to out of the heat. Very clean with all the amenities that you could want. Our experience at the on-site restaurant was excellent with all the staff being very attentive and helpful. We will be back."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) du plessis | 2 January 2015

"I had a great stay at Horse and Mill. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are friendly. I will recommend them to others. "


"Happy"

(South Africa) Mr Schoeman | 15 December 2014

"I had a very nice stay and recommend it. The room was nice and clean and the food was good so I would visit them again."


"Horse and Mill Guesthouse"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 December 2014

"I had a lovely stay. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. I have always used Rooms for Africa for my bookings and will continue using them."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Mckenzie | 9 December 2014

"Horse and Mill Guesthouse provided and a perfect stay for me. Highly recommended."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Van Vuuren | 4 December 2014

"We had a pleasant stay. Would recommend to others and make use of again."


"Good"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 October 2014

"Thank you for a nice stay. I would suggest this place to others and come stay here again."


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) anonymous | 20 October 2014

"I had a lovely time at this Guesthouse. I would absolutely recommend a stay here to others!"


"Regular"

(South Africa) Mr Glover | 16 October 2014

"I usually visit this Guesthouse and my stay was good. They certainly receive my recommendation."


"Fine"

(South Africa) Mrs Tshikhovhokhovho | 6 October 2014

"The duration of my stay at Horse and Mill Guesthouse was good. I would recommend it."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Motjwuadi | 10 September 2014

"My stay here was great and I was very comfortable. The host was kind and accommodating. I would recommend a stay here to others. "


"Colesberg stopover"

(South Africa) Jackie Barclay | 5 August 2014

"The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. It was a very cold night and the heater had been switched on, the electric blanket was activated and this turned our stay into a wonderful warm experience. The pub next door served a lovely hot meal. We enjoyed our stop-over and would definitely recom..."

more

"The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. It was a very cold night and the heater had been switched on, the electric blanket was activated and this turned our stay into a wonderful warm experience. The pub next door served a lovely hot meal. We enjoyed our stop-over and would definitely recommend it."


"Great overnight accommodation"

(South Africa) anonymous | 5 April 2014

"We had the pleasure of staying in the family room and it was clean and very quaint. I would recommend the bathroom door gets replaced, but other than that it was lovely. We even had a friendly cat greet us in the morning :)"


"Horse and Mill"

(South Africa) Mrs Price | 16 December 2013

"Adequate accommodation, room was comfortable.

"


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Mrs BOGOSI | 12 December 2013

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was comfortable and clean.
We will definitely be back.
"


"Ms"

(South Africa) Mrs Honey | 11 December 2013

"Spoke to my daughter and her friends who stayed there and they said it is very nice place (they would recommend it to others), and the lady who stayed up to let them in at 11pm when they finally arrived, was very accommodating and extremely pleasant considering they were so late!"


"Friendly Residency"

(South Africa) Mr TURNER | 28 October 2013

"We had a pleasant stay at this guesthouse. I appreciated the secure parking and found the restaurant to be within walking distance which was very convenient.I also found the people in the area to be extremely friendly and welcoming.
Thank you."


"good value for money"

(South Africa) Mrs Spencer | 22 October 2013

"We enjoyed our stay at Horse & Mill, the room (number 3) was spacious and well equipped with small fridge, kettle and supplies of tea and coffee. There was safe off street parking and a table and chairs outside in the little garden. We had supper at the nearby pub and the food was good. The staff we..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay at Horse & Mill, the room (number 3) was spacious and well equipped with small fridge, kettle and supplies of tea and coffee. There was safe off street parking and a table and chairs outside in the little garden. We had supper at the nearby pub and the food was good. The staff were welcoming and gave us information about the area. .It was good value for money and we would recommend it to other travellers."


"Surprise pleasure"

(South Africa) Philip Hendrickse | 15 October 2013

"After a long drive we arrived at the Horse and Mill Guesthouse in Colesberg and did not know what to expect from the outside. Nonetheless we were met with smiles and shown to our rooms which are small cottages (renovated) in Bell Street. The facilities were comfortable and clean. We then drifted int..."

more

"After a long drive we arrived at the Horse and Mill Guesthouse in Colesberg and did not know what to expect from the outside. Nonetheless we were met with smiles and shown to our rooms which are small cottages (renovated) in Bell Street. The facilities were comfortable and clean. We then drifted into the bar and restaurant where once again the atmosphere was friendly. The bar and restaurant are from 'the old world' and was a great experience. The food (Karoo lamb) in particular was excellent and great value. A restful and comfortable night was had by all and we were treated to an outstanding breakfast the next morning before continuing on our journey. Jackie was a great hostess and we would recommend for a budget overnight with great atmosphere and good food. "


"Beautiful place"

(South Africa) Mr Adlard | 8 October 2013

"The place was beautiful,the staff went out of their way to make our stay a special one.Definitely a place to revisit and recommend to family and friends."


"Comfortable stay"

(South Africa) Ms Hoffman | 8 October 2013

"We had a comfortable stay,the place was great.Definitely a place to recommend and revisit.Everything was just great.Thank you."


"Comfortable accommodation"

(South Africa) Mr Powers | 25 September 2013

"The rooms are clean and tidy and are equipped with all the necessary essentials."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Kilian | 14 September 2013

"The staff were really friendly and the room was lovely. Breakfast was delicious and I would recommend this establishment."


"I love Horse and Mill"

(South Africa) Mrs Bisschoff | 16 July 2013

"I have been staying at the Horse and Mill for a few years now. I manage my journeys, business and personal, so that I can stop at Colesburg and the Horse and Mill.
The pub is delightful and the food is delicious,of course I always have the Karoo Lamb :)
The accommodation is warm, comfortable..."

more

"I have been staying at the Horse and Mill for a few years now. I manage my journeys, business and personal, so that I can stop at Colesburg and the Horse and Mill.
The pub is delightful and the food is delicious,of course I always have the Karoo Lamb :)
The accommodation is warm, comfortable and clean, with lovely little extras like home made rusks with morning coffee and Down duvets."


"Comfortable and Friendly"

(South Africa) Michele | 12 January 2013

"We (family of 4, with 2 young kids) spent one night at Horse and Mill Guesthouse in December. We arrived fairly late in the evening, shortly before the guesthouse's restaurant was closing. The kids went to bed and the manager and staff was really helpful and accommodating. They brought us a tasty me..."

more

"We (family of 4, with 2 young kids) spent one night at Horse and Mill Guesthouse in December. We arrived fairly late in the evening, shortly before the guesthouse's restaurant was closing. The kids went to bed and the manager and staff was really helpful and accommodating. They brought us a tasty meal to eat at a table outside our unit. The unit was a small 2-bedroomed one, but perfect for us. It had everything we needed for our short stay. Parking was secure. We were made to feel very welcome. I would recommend Horse and Mill. Thanks!"