Reviews of Bain's House


"'"

(South Africa) Johan Potgieter | 2014-05-16 08:34:59.0

"A very pleasant stay! Felt like home away. Very professional service. "


"Comfortable"

(South Africa) Leanne Rossouw | 2013-07-29 20:27:01.0

"We enjoyed our stay at Bain's House immensely. The room was very comfortable, just a little cold, but the Aircon and bathroom heater made it comfortable. The breakfast was also good. Highly recommend the place for other travellers."


"Perfect stopover"

(South Africa) Ronald Meyer | 2012-04-02 16:59:23.0

"We stayed in the self-catering unit. It had everything we needed, including

an inside braai. We received a friendly reception, everything was neat, and we cannot criticize anything."


"Home away from home"

(South Africa) Amanda Perks | 2011-08-10 20:16:19.0

"I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. We were met with a friendly smile although poor Berna was sick with flu. We had freedom to walk around and explore and sit in the garden. The accommodation was everything you want for an overnight stay or even longer. Luxury in a compact way. Thank you and I will reco..."

more

"I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. We were met with a friendly smile although poor Berna was sick with flu. We had freedom to walk around and explore and sit in the garden. The accommodation was everything you want for an overnight stay or even longer. Luxury in a compact way. Thank you and I will recommend AG Bain's House anytime to anyone."


"Nice and cosy"

(South Africa) Mrs van Heerden | 2010-08-10 17:06:14.0

"We only stayed one night during winter (June). It was a cosy evening, with a fireplace inside the room. The bathroom and shower facilities were very nice and not cramped, especially the heater in the bathroom for the cold evening. If you have very active children, then the space in the room/dining a..."

more

"We only stayed one night during winter (June). It was a cosy evening, with a fireplace inside the room. The bathroom and shower facilities were very nice and not cramped, especially the heater in the bathroom for the cold evening. If you have very active children, then the space in the room/dining area may be a bit small. We could keep ours busy with games."


"Middle of the road"

(Namibia) anonymous | 2009-12-05 07:14:48.0

"I only stayed for 1 night with the staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Does offer reasonable value for money."


"Comfortable S/C."

(South Africa) Ronnie and Ilse Meyer | 2009-09-08 15:47:52.0

"We appreciated the comfort of the unit for the weary traveller (from Pretoria).
The inside braai facility was especially welcomed.
Overall 4 stars are appropiate because of the completeness of facilities that are provided at an affordable price. "


"Beautiful guest house"

(Italy) Cecchi Attilio | 2009-07-27 10:25:38.0

"Very charming and conveniently located. "


"New Management, same excellent Service"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 2009-03-07 18:43:43.0

"Every trip to the Northern Cape starts with a night at Bain's House. This time, the family suite comfortably accommodated the four of us perfectly and the 'pool with the view' was an excellent refresher after 10 hrs. drive."


"Guest house amid grape fields"

(Germany) Martina Hummel | 2008-12-06 18:11:23.0

"We enjoyed our stay very much as we lived amidst the grape fields and were served dinner and breakfast in a very nice room or on the patio next to our bedrooms. The guest house is not inhabited by the hosts but build completely separate. For meals the landlady and her staff came over to serve us won..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay very much as we lived amidst the grape fields and were served dinner and breakfast in a very nice room or on the patio next to our bedrooms. The guest house is not inhabited by the hosts but build completely separate. For meals the landlady and her staff came over to serve us wonderful dishes. Thus we lived very privately. The pool is just to cool down, not to swim, but the couches are very comfortable. Everything is arranged very tasteful."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Winston Shippey | 2008-08-28 12:38:04.0

"Very comfortable, very friendly, very worthwhile."


"The Bain’s Experience"

(South Africa) Alastair Hopkins | 2008-08-19 11:05:39.0

"In the past, I have always used hotels. I do not like "intimate' living and this was my first experience of a guesthouse. And most suitable it was too. Businesslike welcome, explanation of entry and exit, and then peace and quiet. Even laymans directions on how to operate one's computer. Individual ..."

more

"In the past, I have always used hotels. I do not like "intimate' living and this was my first experience of a guesthouse. And most suitable it was too. Businesslike welcome, explanation of entry and exit, and then peace and quiet. Even laymans directions on how to operate one's computer. Individual tables in the breakfast room lend to the atmosphere of a small, upmarket country hotel. Excellent, quick breakfast service.
I note that there are many accommodation establishments in Upington but should I need to visit on business again, I will stay at Bain's House."


"Bain's House - what a refreshing stop"

(South Africa) Mr van Heerden | 2008-01-12 18:23:48.0

"During the December holidays, my husband and I ventured to the Northern Cape, an unlikely destination for many South Africans during the hot summer months. We, on the other hand, were on a "memory trip" as hubby grew up in a small place called Postmasburg.
On our way back to Cape Town, our last..."

more

"During the December holidays, my husband and I ventured to the Northern Cape, an unlikely destination for many South Africans during the hot summer months. We, on the other hand, were on a "memory trip" as hubby grew up in a small place called Postmasburg.
On our way back to Cape Town, our last stop was at Bain's House in Upington, and what a refreshing stop was that after time spent on the hot roads. When we arrived at Bain's House the barometer in the car said 34 degrees! Hot and bothered we got out to book in for the night. Walking-up a couple of wooden stairs awaited a wonderful welcome surprise ... an amazing reception area. What can I say you actually need to see this for yourself. First your eye catches the wall-size waterfeature and when you look down there are Koi fish in a small pond right in front of you. After booking-in we were taken to our room. Here also we were welcomed by elegant decor with all the finer touches you are looking for. And if you need to cool down like ourselves, the air-conditing is top of the class. If the air-conditioning is not enough, there is a lovely pool and garden where you can forget about the heat. Before we started our journey back home, we enjoyed a homemade breakfast outside on the patio. You might think that you're going to pay a fortune for such class and service, but what they offer can really be viewed as economic accommodation. I can highly recommend Bain's House if you're looking for a refreshing stop.
"


"Very good"

(South Africa) Christine Louw | 2008-01-02 07:42:24.0

"Very clean and comfortable, Attention to small detail that is important and make you remember the stay."


"Most enjoyable"

(South Africa) Colleen Dreyer | 2007-10-05 17:31:43.0

"Bains House is very comfortable and the establishment is beautiful! "


"Fantastic"

(Namibia) Olivia Entin | 2007-09-06 07:59:24.0

"A very beautiful place. Would stay there any day!!"


"Excellent."

(South Africa) Mrs Mare | 2007-08-20 08:41:03.0

"Everything was in good order. The reception was very friendly and we will definitely stay over again."


"Review of Bain's House, Upington"

(Botswana) Mr Rettig | 2007-07-30 07:49:02.0

"This is an excellent establishment and provided extremely comfortable accommodation as a break on the long haul from Paternoster in the Cape to Gaborone, Botswana. Although expensive, given the quality of the surroundings, service and equipping of the room and the whole guest house, it was value for..."

more

"This is an excellent establishment and provided extremely comfortable accommodation as a break on the long haul from Paternoster in the Cape to Gaborone, Botswana. Although expensive, given the quality of the surroundings, service and equipping of the room and the whole guest house, it was value for money.

My only slight criticism is that they should quote for "Bed & Breakfast" and not just "Bed" as this does increase the costs. A most enjoyable stay."


"A pleasure"

(South Africa) Alett Hattingh | 2007-07-16 07:54:33.0

"Always an pleasure to stay at Bain's House."


"Old world luxury in grand style."

(South Africa) Ockie Vermeulen | 2007-06-28 10:56:35.0

"We are definitely going back.

Friendly hostess who knows how to treat her guests. Rooms excellent and clean. Beautiful setup. Not overpriced."


"Mr White"

(South Africa) Mr White | 2007-05-21 08:50:43.0

"I stay at many guest houses and found the stay very relaxing, food excellent, room brilliant. I have made it a ruling that all my reps stay there when they visit Upington.

Good work. Keep it up.

Ps. The only fault that I can think of is that the shower sprays water very hard, The s..."

more

"I stay at many guest houses and found the stay very relaxing, food excellent, room brilliant. I have made it a ruling that all my reps stay there when they visit Upington.

Good work. Keep it up.

Ps. The only fault that I can think of is that the shower sprays water very hard, The shower head is probably blocked (but I must admit that all guest houses have this same problem)"


"Overnight at Bain's House"

Anonymous | 2006-12-30 13:36:19.0

"We enjoyed our stay. Very friendly host.

Beautiful and clean place!

Will recommend!"


"Good value"

Anonymous | 2006-12-27 16:29:15.0

"The self catering unit for four people was very good value. The unit was very comfortable and clean. "


"Bain's House takes our breath away !"

(South Africa) Bev J v Rensburg | 2006-12-20 23:55:46.0

"It was with trepidation that we approached a sweltering hot Upington on the 18th of December 2006...I had booked our stay at Bain's House via the Internet and was unsure about what we would find.

What unexpected pleasures awaited us as we crossed the threshold . Khoi fish in a cool oasis of ..."

more

"It was with trepidation that we approached a sweltering hot Upington on the 18th of December 2006...I had booked our stay at Bain's House via the Internet and was unsure about what we would find.

What unexpected pleasures awaited us as we crossed the threshold . Khoi fish in a cool oasis of discrete privacy; white linen and airconditioned luxury; a refreshing swim in sensual surroundings and attention to the finest detail... what an exquisite experience it was! Thank you for a lovely stay. We have already started telling all our friends about this jewel ! "


"Pleasantly surprised"

(South Africa) Dan Berglund | 2006-09-26 21:07:07.0

"I and my children had a wonderful time at Bain's. The rooms are exquisite, the garden and communal area fantastic. I will definitely revisit. "


"Very Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Gert Haasbroek | 2006-08-14 10:01:23.0

"I enjoyed my stay very much. The reception was friendly when I got there, even though it was a bit late. The room was fantastic and it felt

more like a holiday destination than an business sleep over. Thanks a lot

for everything and I will definitely make use of your services in the ..."

more

"I enjoyed my stay very much. The reception was friendly when I got there, even though it was a bit late. The room was fantastic and it felt

more like a holiday destination than an business sleep over. Thanks a lot

for everything and I will definitely make use of your services in the future."


"We will recommend Bains's House to many!"

(South Africa) Hans Schaberg | 2006-07-31 10:42:43.0

"The friendly reception and excellent facilities were commented on by my relatives from North Carolina, USA and from Germany. The central situation is very convenient and eliminated any hazzles of finding the accommodation.

The recommended places to eat were also just right.

We enjoyed..."

more

"The friendly reception and excellent facilities were commented on by my relatives from North Carolina, USA and from Germany. The central situation is very convenient and eliminated any hazzles of finding the accommodation.

The recommended places to eat were also just right.

We enjoyed our stay and say thank you!"


"Rewiew for Bain's House and SafariNow.com"

(South Africa) Gail Janse van Rensburg | 2005-12-11 21:07:34.0

"Lilian and I have been extremely satisfied with Bain's House. It was as we have expected it should be. We could take a 'deep breath' there, since we were on our way from Swakopmund to Johannesburg by bus. Abel took great care of us and we had a lovely day in the garden, wonderful supper by candellig..."

more

"Lilian and I have been extremely satisfied with Bain's House. It was as we have expected it should be. We could take a 'deep breath' there, since we were on our way from Swakopmund to Johannesburg by bus. Abel took great care of us and we had a lovely day in the garden, wonderful supper by candellight and especially enjoyed our beautiful, comfortable rooms. It was worth every cent."


"Impressive"

(South Africa) Sigrid Kuehn | 2005-10-06 12:29:23.0

"Bain's House is a true oasis in - sometimes very hot - Upington. We found everthing like described at SafariNow. Unfortunately we could not have dinner there, but were referred to La Must - an excellent restaurant up the street. Overall very recommendable for the wary traveller!"