Reviews of Out Of Africa Guest Lodge


"Loved the theme, staff and dogs!"

Christine Wemmer | 16 August 2017

"Friendly,cosy and unique"


"The attentive staff and their friendliness and graciousness"

Cheryl Norwood-Young | 1 August 2017

"We loved the quirkiness and artistic features. The French village was lovely but just a bit too narrow and smokey for the dinner on the Saturday evening. We did not like the first accommodation room that we looked at in the French Village - with the tin bath shower. We chose the Dolls House which wa..."

more

"We loved the quirkiness and artistic features. The French village was lovely but just a bit too narrow and smokey for the dinner on the Saturday evening. We did not like the first accommodation room that we looked at in the French Village - with the tin bath shower. We chose the Dolls House which was lovely. The food was good but for my taste too much pastry on offer - my pastry in the chicken pie was not properly cooked. Our massages were great - my feet were very cold throughout though. Overall a lovely weekend though - thank you."


"Unique Accommodation and Fantastic Staff"

Kerry-Ann Todd | 10 July 2017

"Really enjoyed our stay. Loved the unique thatched cottages with their vintage style. Felt like being back in time. Staff were fantastic - Especially Tembani, with his smile to brighten anyone's day. River setting is very pretty and relaxing. Only negatives would be that the establishment is quite c..."

more

"Really enjoyed our stay. Loved the unique thatched cottages with their vintage style. Felt like being back in time. Staff were fantastic - Especially Tembani, with his smile to brighten anyone's day. River setting is very pretty and relaxing. Only negatives would be that the establishment is quite close to the road so you can hear traffic (thankfully not all the time) and there was a little bit of litter around the river which needs to be cleaned up"


"Cottage "

Audrey Bezuidenhout | 5 June 2017

"When we arrived our cottage wash warm,the fire place was on. The food was delicious the hole weekend. The staff on the premises made us feel welcome on our visit.Breakfast been served at the river very romantic.We will be soon back for another visit.

Best regards,
Mr & Mrs Bezuidenhout"


"Excellent!!"

Esme Schnetler | 2 March 2017

"We really enjoyed the stay. Had an excellent experience especially the hot stone massage. Will recommend this any time. Thank you for the hospitality...
Johan & Esme"


"Charming."

(South Africa) Gail Buys | 30 January 2017

"A charming setting for a peaceful getaway. The staff were very attentive to our needs.

We would certainly return and recommend our family and friends to stay at this wonderful place."


"Romantic geetaway"

(South Africa) Danielle van der Merwe | 17 October 2016

"There is no word to describe this little paradise but amazing !!! "


"Maintenance"

(South Africa) Mmathabo Disemelo | 9 September 2013

"I had not expected so much traffic noise that I was unable to sleep on the first night. The cottage very rustic - could do with some maintenance.

Loved the breakfast by the river and the recommended visit to Goblin's Cove restaurant made our stay.

Not the best suited for kids - no act..."

more

"I had not expected so much traffic noise that I was unable to sleep on the first night. The cottage very rustic - could do with some maintenance.

Loved the breakfast by the river and the recommended visit to Goblin's Cove restaurant made our stay.

Not the best suited for kids - no activities but happy that they accommodated us."


"Private time"

(South Africa) Anelle Repsold | 16 August 2013

"We had a great time. The service we received from Jeremia was excellent.If you need a break away and time to yourself this is the place to go. It is a really special place.

Thank You Marguerite and team!"


"The best weekend"

(South Africa) danie gouws | 4 March 2013

"The best weekend ever will recomend it to everybody that need a bit of time out."


"Farytale"

(South Africa) Karin Botha | 7 February 2013

"We had a fantastic experience when we stayed at the lodge. It is so romantic and it feels as if you are in a different world. Even though we only stayed for one night, it felt like a holiday. We will be back soon. "


"Lovely "

estelle watson | 28 January 2013

"We had a lovely stay, the White Linen suite was beautifully decorated and the breakfast down at the river was fabulous and very romantic. "


"Fantasties!"

(South Africa) Francia Wait | 9 January 2013

"Dit was waarlik heerlik - baie rustig en kon lekker ontspan. Die ontbyt was elke oggend heerlik en die aandete baie lekker. Sal definitief aanbeveel."


"Wonderful family reunion"

(South Africa) Shirley staveley | 24 December 2012

"We had a wonderful family reunion at Out of Afrika. The whole family enjoyed a delicious breakfast under the Willow trees alongside the stream each morning. The children played chess in the garden and all in all we go back to Australia with wonderful memories from Out of Afrika."


"A magical escape"

(South Africa) Belinda Baker | 3 September 2012

"My husband and I enjoyed a piece of heaven in this enchanted and beautiful place. The decor and attention to detail is magnificent, the food was out of this world, the river setting transported us to another world. Jeremiah and his team looked after our every need and the massage in the forest spa c..."

more

"My husband and I enjoyed a piece of heaven in this enchanted and beautiful place. The decor and attention to detail is magnificent, the food was out of this world, the river setting transported us to another world. Jeremiah and his team looked after our every need and the massage in the forest spa completed a perfect weekend."


"Wonderful!"

(South Africa) Dana Cato | 7 August 2012

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge. We loved the very out-of-Africa atmosphere, and felt welcome and comfortable. Our room was great, service was fantastic, and we loved every minute of it. It's a truly relaxing and rejuvenating place, and we look forward to visiting again soon!"


"4 Star"

(South Africa) Zanele Tshipa | 6 February 2012

"It was superb. It is not child friendly, as stated on website, but Margurite and Jeremiah certainly did their best to make my girls comfy and in the end we had a happy weekend."


"Out of this world!"

(South Africa) Thakhani Tshivhase | 2 January 2012

"Nothing more beautiful and more tranquil than this little piece of Africa that we found. Breathtaking grounds and a river running through it. La Provence is on the property and you have never seen such attention to detail. This may be a 4 Star establishment but has 5 Star service. Pity about the dog..."

more

"Nothing more beautiful and more tranquil than this little piece of Africa that we found. Breathtaking grounds and a river running through it. La Provence is on the property and you have never seen such attention to detail. This may be a 4 Star establishment but has 5 Star service. Pity about the dogs and cats that roam around."


"Stunning"

(South Africa) Moya Erasmus | 28 December 2011

"Stunning!"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Marcia Liddle | 19 December 2011

"Stayed in two rooms in La Provence for two nights, having been given a free upgrade from the booked Linen Suite Guest Lodge to the Lavender room."


"Out of Afrika Guest Lodge"

(South Africa) Darrel Esterhuizen | 12 September 2011

"Wonderful venue. We had a great stay and will definitely recommend to others. We will return for another weekend break."


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Darrel Esterhuizen | 12 September 2011

"Wonderful venue and great setting. We had a great stay. Highly recommended and we will definitely return for a second visit."


"Romantic weekend"

(South Africa) Henneri Crous | 12 September 2011

"We had one of the most romantic weekends away in a long time. Out of Africa Guest Lodge is probably the best kept secret in the Magalies Manor. The service is exceptional thanks to the host Jerry, and the French atmosphere and tranquility on the surroundings just make it that extra special. We will ..."

more

"We had one of the most romantic weekends away in a long time. Out of Africa Guest Lodge is probably the best kept secret in the Magalies Manor. The service is exceptional thanks to the host Jerry, and the French atmosphere and tranquility on the surroundings just make it that extra special. We will certainly return."


"Out of this world"

(South Africa) Dezso Schaap | 5 September 2011

"What an awesome experience it was at Out Of Afrika. Jerry was a great help and was everywhere we needed him (I still think he has a twin). The room was very cosy and romantic. Especially the bathroom with the comfy chair in it. The antique dŽcor really made this weekend away something special. The b..."

more

"What an awesome experience it was at Out Of Afrika. Jerry was a great help and was everywhere we needed him (I still think he has a twin). The room was very cosy and romantic. Especially the bathroom with the comfy chair in it. The antique dŽcor really made this weekend away something special. The breakfast and lunch at the river is something to remember. We will go back for sure. Thanks for everything."


"Great"

(South Africa) Petros Rapule | 4 July 2011

"The best outing we've ever experienced. Even though it is still winter the place is filled with warmth and the reception we got from Jerry was excellent. Thanks again to Marguiritte and staff for everything."


"Out of Afrika"

(South Africa) Jeanette Pitout | 4 June 2011

"Absolutely delightful decor and very good service. You can't help but relax in the beautiful surrounding. We will go back, but for more than just one night the next time."


"Out of Afrika"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 16 November 2010

"Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Out of Afrika. It has a very magical, yet private, feel to it. Breakfast along the river was a wonderful experience too and the staff are friendly, organised and more than willing to go the extra mile to make your stay more pleasant."


"Still"

(South Africa) theuns Coetzee | 25 October 2010

"Baie stil, anders Pragtige bome. Very quiet and beautiful trees."


"Thank you to everyone!"

(South Africa) Lanie Kotze | 3 May 2010

"That was 'awesome' and very romantic! "


"Magical !"

(South Africa) Carmela Lattanzi | 3 May 2010

"Out of Afrika is amazing. We had such a wonderful romantic stay. It's a place where one can believe in fairies and goblins.

Jerimiah was fantastic and made our stay extra special. Thanks Jerimah for the lovely fire you prepared in our room, for bringing us Irish coffee as soon as you saw us a..."

more

"Out of Afrika is amazing. We had such a wonderful romantic stay. It's a place where one can believe in fairies and goblins.

Jerimiah was fantastic and made our stay extra special. Thanks Jerimah for the lovely fire you prepared in our room, for bringing us Irish coffee as soon as you saw us arrive, for the beautiful picnic breakfast at the river...... Marguerite you have a Fairy Tale establishment : ) Thank you for putting that extra touch to 'Out of Afrika"


"So romantic!!"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 23 April 2010

"Closer to France you won't find anywhere in SA. It's like a dream come true, so romantic!! Service was excellent and we were treated like kings. I'll definitely recommend it to anyone who want a romantic weekend in 'France'............. "


"Expectations exceeded!!"

(South Africa) Arpana Panday | 19 January 2010

"My boyfriend and I spent the past weekend at La Provence to celebrate his birthday. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, our every need was taken care of by the manager Jerimiah -- He is an absolute gem! Highlights of our stay included a candle-lit dinner down by the river; hot stone..."

more

"My boyfriend and I spent the past weekend at La Provence to celebrate his birthday. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, our every need was taken care of by the manager Jerimiah -- He is an absolute gem! Highlights of our stay included a candle-lit dinner down by the river; hot stone massages in the forest spa; and a brunch picnic on the day of our departure! All our expectations for a romatic getaway was definitely exceeded!"


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 3 August 2009

"Very hospitable and friendly guest house - with a difference. Made a very pleasant change from the usual weekend away experience"


"Fantasties"

(South Africa) Gezina Karsten | 23 February 2009

"Dit was `n wonderlike naweek het elke oomblik geniet veral die ete by Goblin`s Cove en die massering. Baie Dankie vir alles!! Dit was vreeslik romanties!"


"Out of africa"

(South Africa) Karin de Beer | 19 December 2008

"My husband Paul and I needed this - it was lovely and we'll remember it always and would love to go back and visit again , thank you to all"


"Perfect"

(South Africa) jessi herber | 15 September 2008

"The place is beyond gorgeous, the mood and energy, Marguerite is the perfect host, Jerry is the perfect gentlemen, the food is out of the world, the setting... EVERYTHING was literally perfect!!!"


"Good"

(South Africa) Juanita Le Grange | 21 April 2008

"I loved the bushy feeling and you can hear the river the whole time. It has a very calming effect on a busy person. Is lovely and green all over."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Sue dos Santos | 30 January 2008

"Lovely room, friendly service good time!

Loved picnic breakfast"


"We truly enjoyed the stay."

(South Africa) Tammy Thomas | 11 December 2007

"I must admit that Jeremiah and Innocent were truly remarkable and made us feel extremely welcome. They truly deserve a Huge increase for welcoming us and making us feel at home. "


"Very romantic."

(South Africa) Pieter Kilian | 4 December 2007

"Excellent weekend. Will be back"


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Alet Basson | 9 October 2007

"Wonderful"


"Very good"

(South Africa) J Venter | 25 September 2007

"Thank you for an amazing stay at La Provence!! We will most certainly be back. "


"A++"

Anonymous | 17 September 2007

"Loved it!!"


"A huge THANK YOU!"

Anonymous | 23 July 2007

"We had a wonderful stay at Out of Afrika - the service was exceptional and Mary went out of her way to accommodate us and our 11 month old baby. Jeremia was as professional as can be. He made us feel really welcome. At Goblins Cove we were also made to feel special - both establishments have a re..."

more

"We had a wonderful stay at Out of Afrika - the service was exceptional and Mary went out of her way to accommodate us and our 11 month old baby. Jeremia was as professional as can be. He made us feel really welcome. At Goblins Cove we were also made to feel special - both establishments have a refreshing hands-on approach. Thank you!"


"10 out of 10"

Anonymous | 1 April 2007

"It was a absolutely wonderful experience!"


"Amazing breakaway!"

(South Africa) Sandra van Pletzen | 19 June 2006

"La Provence is an absolute must! We had the most wonderful relaxing time and can't wait to go again. The rooms are expertly decorated - our own little Provence breakaway. The basket supper on our first evening was such a big surprise: lovely food in a cosy out-of-this-world environment. Marguer..."

more

"La Provence is an absolute must! We had the most wonderful relaxing time and can't wait to go again. The rooms are expertly decorated - our own little Provence breakaway. The basket supper on our first evening was such a big surprise: lovely food in a cosy out-of-this-world environment. Marguerite is the perfect hostess!"


"Beautiful setting."

(South Africa) Rouxna Venter | 20 March 2006

"The surroundings are beautiful and I loved the tranquil garden and big trees!! I also liked the fact that it is small and you dont have 30 people around. The dinner basket on the Patio was excellent - very romantic and relaxing. Breakfast was also very good! I loved the old furniture and trinkets in..."

more

"The surroundings are beautiful and I loved the tranquil garden and big trees!! I also liked the fact that it is small and you dont have 30 people around. The dinner basket on the Patio was excellent - very romantic and relaxing. Breakfast was also very good! I loved the old furniture and trinkets in the room ..But do feel that they would need to give attention to the maintanence in the rooms & bathrooms (paint ..etc)"


"Great Experience"

(South Africa) Monica Scheepers | 1 August 2005

"We had a truly remarkable experience"


"Wonderful Getaway"

(South Africa) Keith Bekker | 18 July 2005

"The experience was really great. Nothing was compromised and the entire getaway was wonderful. My only little moan is that I tihnk Gobblins is overrated and very expensive for what you get."


"Time of our Lives"

(South Africa) Michelle | 11 July 2016

"Thank you for an amazing weekend we were welcomed with so much love and friendliness, the food and hospitality was absolutely perfect and exceeded all our expectations.

We will definitely come back for more and recommend Out of Africa to all our friends and family.

Kind regards, ..."

more

"Thank you for an amazing weekend we were welcomed with so much love and friendliness, the food and hospitality was absolutely perfect and exceeded all our expectations.

We will definitely come back for more and recommend Out of Africa to all our friends and family.

Kind regards,
Pierre & Michelle "


"What a place."

(South Africa) Ronald | 18 December 2015

"The lodge was absolutely beautiful; it was even better than pictures on the internet and exceeded all expectations. Will visit again."


"Out of Africa Guest Lodge"

(South Africa) Ilona | 1 September 2015

"We had a very relaxing week end at Out of Africa Guest Lodge. We stayed in the White Linen Suite. My personal opinion was that the bedroom seemed a little small and crowded but the linen was lovely and warm and cosy. The meals were very good and the breakfasts down by the river were tasty and served..."

more

"We had a very relaxing week end at Out of Africa Guest Lodge. We stayed in the White Linen Suite. My personal opinion was that the bedroom seemed a little small and crowded but the linen was lovely and warm and cosy. The meals were very good and the breakfasts down by the river were tasty and served hot. It was lovely to relax listening to the water and watching the birds. The staff were friendly and attentive. We will return to Out of Africa. Thank you for a lovely week end."


"Nice Stay"

(South Africa) van Vuuren | 26 January 2015

"I had a nice stay at Out Of Africa. It was clean and the staff were friendly. I will revisit there again. "


"Bitter-sweet"

(South Africa) anonymous | 24 September 2014

"Out of Africa la Provence is quaint and pretty with a strong french countryside flavor. The cottage we stayed in felt like a medieval hobbit house with beautiful, fresh 100% cotton linen and solid dark wood finishes. The grounds are beautiful, offering many nooks and crannies to find a spot to picni..."

more

"Out of Africa la Provence is quaint and pretty with a strong french countryside flavor. The cottage we stayed in felt like a medieval hobbit house with beautiful, fresh 100% cotton linen and solid dark wood finishes. The grounds are beautiful, offering many nooks and crannies to find a spot to picnic or just relax.
Friendly, helpful hosts, excellent service and delicious food rounded off a great weekend away - ideal for a relaxing romantic get-away."


"Excellent Service"

(South Africa) Mrs Cordier | 26 May 2014

"The service was personal, intimate and superb. The rooms are so beautiful, each one decorated with a special touch of France."


"Reconnecting...."

(South Africa) Ms Madibanya | 9 December 2013

"This lodge was absolutely beautiful.The highlight for me was finding out there's no TV because this gave us the opportunity to connect and truly spend quality time with each other. I got the true sense of being Out of Africa with no technology and I absolutely loved it."


"Pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Mr Nkhwazi | 18 November 2013

"The scenery and the environment was very relaxing with neat and clean accommodation, it was definitely a pleasant weekend.
Thanks for the great service.
"


"Peaceful Weekend"

(South Africa) Manoo | 21 October 2013

"We got to Out of Africa and were met by the manager who took us promptly to our unit as we were expected. The place was quiet although there were people around.
We wanted to relax and get away to the country and the river running thru the forest was beautiful and made us relax instantly.
W..."

more

"We got to Out of Africa and were met by the manager who took us promptly to our unit as we were expected. The place was quiet although there were people around.
We wanted to relax and get away to the country and the river running thru the forest was beautiful and made us relax instantly.
We were energised by the fresh air and peace and quiet and the hot stone massage.
Will recommend this place to everyone to relax and be energised.
"


"Mom & daughter weekend"

(South Africa) Colleen Lehmkuhl | 28 July 2013

"From the moment we arrived at Out of Africa Guest Lodge, we felt like we were on a very special holiday. We were given a tour of the place and were booked in to the Mallard Suite cottage. It was even better than pictures on the internet and exceeded all expectations. The staff, Jeremiah and Innocenc..."

more

"From the moment we arrived at Out of Africa Guest Lodge, we felt like we were on a very special holiday. We were given a tour of the place and were booked in to the Mallard Suite cottage. It was even better than pictures on the internet and exceeded all expectations. The staff, Jeremiah and Innocence, treated us very well and lit our fire in our cottage as the evening chill came in. Chavonne had a long full body massage and loved it. The basket dinner is a fabulous idea and having dinner in our cottage was a treat. A visit to nearby Goblin's Cove with a crystal reading was a lot of fun. All in all, a fabulous, relaxing weekend and great bonding time with my daughter. Highly recommended."


"Ms"

(South Africa) Ms Tsokolibane | 23 July 2013

"The establishment is beautiful and well placed. Conveniently on the main road, with serene surroundings, especially breakfast in the garden next to the river.

The service was excellent, the staff went out of their way.

I really loved it."


"May 16 Visit"

(South Africa) Mrs Zwiegelaar | 20 May 2013

"Out of Africa Guest Lodge is a perfect romantic getaway. Service was excellent. My husband and I both enjoyed the hot stone massages and the people working at the guest lodge were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome."


"Superb Time-Out"

(South Africa) Mr Laming | 20 November 2012

"We had the most supurb relaxing weekend. We felt like we were in the world of pixies and fairies with the surrounding forest and trees. The grounds of this establishment are so beautiful. The places to sit on the river and behold the surroundings and atmosphere will never be forgotten. A return to t..."

more

"We had the most supurb relaxing weekend. We felt like we were in the world of pixies and fairies with the surrounding forest and trees. The grounds of this establishment are so beautiful. The places to sit on the river and behold the surroundings and atmosphere will never be forgotten. A return to this wonderful establishment will soon be on the cards."


"Charming and Romantic"

(South Africa) Ms Landsman | 10 September 2012

"Mahendra and I were totally blown away. On arrival we were greeted by Jerry and shown to our little haven, right next to the forest. Walking in the cottage captured our hearts instantly, the setting very old and Romantic. We loved the little lounge with the fire place and the bathroom with the gas d..."

more

"Mahendra and I were totally blown away. On arrival we were greeted by Jerry and shown to our little haven, right next to the forest. Walking in the cottage captured our hearts instantly, the setting very old and Romantic. We loved the little lounge with the fire place and the bathroom with the gas device that heated the water, upstairs a very cosy, warm bed and balcony with a view to the treetops. Dinner was just as breath taking, the lighting, the cobblestones, the french furniture, the little tables, having dinner in a little french town like setting. The Basket was different and romantic. I love that there was no TV's, just us, and our conversations, we were each others entertainment. OOooh Breakfast by the river blew Mahendra away, the birds chirping and the running of the water, Overall, our weekend was relaxing,and romantic, the best part was time seemed to stand still. We got to ride horses near by, We had dinner at Goblins Cove. Everything was refreshing and lovely. I would definitely be making referrals on my weekend. and definitely revisiting soon"


"Charming surprise"

(South Africa) A le Roux | 21 July 2012

"We went to the Out of Africa Guest Lodge for our anniversary and it was just the perfect weekend. This lodge was quite the surprise find for us. It was an almost surreal experience, to be in this haunting garden, bare in the winter, but filled with artwork, quaint French cottages, a giant chess set ..."

more

"We went to the Out of Africa Guest Lodge for our anniversary and it was just the perfect weekend. This lodge was quite the surprise find for us. It was an almost surreal experience, to be in this haunting garden, bare in the winter, but filled with artwork, quaint French cottages, a giant chess set and two very friendly dogs that loved hiding in the fallen leaves. All the winter chill was dispelled by a blazing fire in our own thatched roof cottage, with enough wood to last into the wee hours. The food (especially the lavish dinner basket) was excellent, and it was impossible not to be bowled over by the charm of the estate and the staff members. We didn't even have time to do all the activities because we took everything so slowly, but I would certainly recommend the Out of Africa Lodge to anyone."