Reviews of Veldflora Country Cottages


"A great budget option in a beautiful setting"

(South Africa) Dori | 26 August 2019

"We stayed in the garden cottage for one night and it was perfect as a short-term budget place. The place was clean and had everything we needed. "


"What a view!"

(South Africa) Sophia | 13 July 2018

"For couples and people without toddlers who are not used to dogs, the dogs are friendly and well-behaved though. The fireplace inside the cottage and the view of the valley below and the mountains were priceless! Value for money indeed. We will be back in the summer."


"VIew and personal attention from hostess"

Rod Crompton | 3 December 2017

"Extraordinary view. Cottage has everything you need. Thoughtfully done."


"Very Relaxing"

James Ryder | 18 October 2017

"Very neat and clean place, everything you need is provided and we had a great time relaxing."


"Peace and Quiet on a Mountain Top!"

Christo Botha | 10 September 2017

"Very clean and comfortable and Hilde was very kind in going out of her way to make our stay one of peace and quiet - which we really needed!"


"The view of the sunrise and sunset from the cabin's patio."

Hayley Hurst | 16 July 2017

"Lovely spot, close to Jozi for a relaxing weekend away. Hilda was welcoming on arrival and the perfect host. The cabin has everything you could think of and some wonderful personal touches - like hot water bottles! The view is so stunning, words don't even do it justice. Feels safe and secure with g..."

more

"Lovely spot, close to Jozi for a relaxing weekend away. Hilda was welcoming on arrival and the perfect host. The cabin has everything you could think of and some wonderful personal touches - like hot water bottles! The view is so stunning, words don't even do it justice. Feels safe and secure with gates to lock up at night and absolutely tranquil. Lovely jetmaster to warm up on winters evenings. Neat as a pin! We did not want to leave and would recommend to any couple needing to relax and get away. "


"Beautiful Escape "

Nadine Laroy | 5 June 2017

"It was an amazing get-away with breathtaking views & soul soothing calmness. The cottage had everything we need, and Hilde and her 4 legged friends were friendly and caring. A perfect escape from the rat race :) Will definitely come back!"


"owners are super friendly and it is so nice and quiet. ..perfect to get away from the city"

Gerhard V Niekerk | 30 March 2017

"Dirt road is a bit rough but otherwise nice place will visit again"


"Amazing Accommodation"

Jessie Mckay | 27 March 2017

"What a beautiful place to stay, with such incredible views and amazing hospitality. Will definitely be going back."


"Rest for the soul"

(South Africa) Richard Frank | 23 January 2017

"Very peaceful - 6km away from the main road, you are one with nature.

The host Helda is attentive and warm and willing to assist in any way possible.

About 10km away from some awesome microbreweries and other activities."


"Pure Tranquility "

(South Africa) Priscilla Dimairho | 12 December 2016

"I was there this past weekend of the 9th-10th of Dec 2016. This place is peaceful, lovely and beautiful. I enjoyed my stay here and i would recommend it to anyone. The view of the mountains is absolutely amazing. It was exactly what i needed for a weekend away. "


"Beautiful Stay"

(South Africa) themba Zulu | 17 October 2016

"I would recommed this to any one anytime. The position of the cottage is marvellous. Breathing expansive landscape. The Magalies Mts. They never cease to draw ones interest. Hilde is meticulously welcoming. She made us feel as if the place was being handed over to us for permanent ownership. And th..."

more

"I would recommed this to any one anytime. The position of the cottage is marvellous. Breathing expansive landscape. The Magalies Mts. They never cease to draw ones interest. Hilde is meticulously welcoming. She made us feel as if the place was being handed over to us for permanent ownership. And that is the stay felt like. The only regret is to have been there two nights only. Liya mporoma lepozi!!!"


"AWESOME - TRANQUIL - TOTAL PEACE"

(South Africa) Mark Easter | 1 August 2016

"We had such an amazing time. Total relaxation. Incredible views to soothe the soul. Such a beautiful cottage lacking nothing to make for an awesome weekend break. Hilde is such an incredible host and will ensure your stay is nothing less than perfect. "


"Best weekend getaway, ever!"

(South Africa) Przemek Serwa | 6 June 2016

"I stayed at the Veldflora Country Cottage over the weekend of 3 - 5 June.

And what a pleasant surprise this place is. Settled on top of a hill, overlooking the valley below, it is peaceful and quiet.

The first thing you notice about the accommodation, is that it is cosy and very warm...."

more

"I stayed at the Veldflora Country Cottage over the weekend of 3 - 5 June.

And what a pleasant surprise this place is. Settled on top of a hill, overlooking the valley below, it is peaceful and quiet.

The first thing you notice about the accommodation, is that it is cosy and very warm. Then the view appears, which is wonderful. The fireplace is ideal for those cold evenings. It heats up the whole place. Just perfect!

Everything that is required of a peaceful and relaxing place.

I highly recommend Veldflora Country Cottages to anyone that would like a great relaxing and peaceful escape from the city hustle and bustle.

It is accessible by any car, no need for an off road vehicle (I made it with a C-class Benz, effortlessly)."


"'"

(South Africa) Peter le Roux | 9 November 2015

"We spent a wonderful, relaxing weekend in the timber cabin at Veldflora. Peaceful, with a beautiful view and great service from the owner.
"


"A weekend out of the city...."

(South Africa) Dr Wouter Kirstein | 18 August 2015

"We spent a peaceful and quiet long weekend at Veldflora. The cottage was clean, well equipped and comfortably furnished. Being able to sit outside and enjoy the view was a welcome change from the usual hustle and bustle. Although some km on a dirt road, it was nevertheless a most relaxing experience..."

more

"We spent a peaceful and quiet long weekend at Veldflora. The cottage was clean, well equipped and comfortably furnished. Being able to sit outside and enjoy the view was a welcome change from the usual hustle and bustle. Although some km on a dirt road, it was nevertheless a most relaxing experience."


"perfect peace"

(South Africa) ALICIA THOMPSON | 21 July 2015

"After a few stressful weeks we needed a peaceful mini-break not too far from Joburg. We found it at Veldflora. The comments by other reviewers, the good price and the picture of simplicity in the photographs inspired me to book. Hilde's prompt response, on a Sunday!, reassured me that this was the p..."

more

"After a few stressful weeks we needed a peaceful mini-break not too far from Joburg. We found it at Veldflora. The comments by other reviewers, the good price and the picture of simplicity in the photographs inspired me to book. Hilde's prompt response, on a Sunday!, reassured me that this was the place we wanted. At R770 per night (for two people) we got a comfortable, cosy and spotlesslyclean cottage, uninterrupted views of the tranquil Magaliesburg valley, a fully stocked kitchen and braai area, a perfect night for stargazing, a beautiful Sunday morning on the stoep and a decadent afternoon nap. Did I mention the loadshedding back-up plan thoughtfully provided by Hilde? What a great spot for some solitude and space."


"Friendly hostess"

(South Africa) Dave Tredrea | 6 July 2015

"Hilde of Veldflora Country Cottages is the perfect hostess - she went out of her way to ensure that we were happy and comfortable. Great winter getaway, with not much to do except relax ..."

more

"Hilde of Veldflora Country Cottages is the perfect hostess - she went out of her way to ensure that we were happy and comfortable. Great winter getaway, with not much to do except relax and soak up the winter sun on the well positioned stoep."


"A peaceful break"

(South Africa) Denys Hill | 4 May 2015

"We wanted somewhere quiet to relax and let the world pass by. We found it.

The Family garden unit was clean, comfortable and more than adequately equipped and the walks in the veld and flora relaxing and enjoyable.

Hilde was very friendly, helpful and informative and an absolute pleasu..."

more

"We wanted somewhere quiet to relax and let the world pass by. We found it.

The Family garden unit was clean, comfortable and more than adequately equipped and the walks in the veld and flora relaxing and enjoyable.

Hilde was very friendly, helpful and informative and an absolute pleasure to deal with."


"Absolute heaven"

(South Africa) Chounett Pitt | 19 January 2015

"The cottage is beautiful and very comfortable, really well stocked with everything one needs. The views are breathtaking, the peace and quiet deafening. I loved it and will definitely return."


"We could just rest"

(South Africa) Marinda Schmidt | 16 September 2014

"Veldflora is situated in such a beautiful setting that one cannot help to relax. We could rest and rest and rest! Such a pity a weekend is so short! We would have loved to stay longer!! "


"'"

(South Africa) marion McDonald | 4 August 2014

"A neat, cozy and warm cottage with all you need for a weekend of resting and relaxing. And the view is great too."


"Stunning piece of heaven!"

(South Africa) Jeanette Fick | 12 May 2014

"Veldflora was really a stunning little piece of heaven. Peace & quiet was amazing & the Log cabin was perfect for that carefree getaway. Hilde was the perfect hostess & her personal touch was just what we needed to feel at home. We loved every minute. I would recommend this stunning place to anyone ..."

more

"Veldflora was really a stunning little piece of heaven. Peace & quiet was amazing & the Log cabin was perfect for that carefree getaway. Hilde was the perfect hostess & her personal touch was just what we needed to feel at home. We loved every minute. I would recommend this stunning place to anyone who needs some time out to get in touch with yourself again. We will definitely be back. Thank you Hilde"


"Lekker"

(South Africa) Theresa Clark | 31 March 2014

"Veldflora is sinoniem aan rustigheid, asemrowende uitsig, vrede en 'n stukkie hemel. Hilde se gasvryheid maak alles nog meer spesiaal. Die cottage is silwerskoon en is baie goed toegerus.

Veldflora sien ons beslis weer."


"Spectacular"

(South Africa) Dan Spruyt | 10 November 2013

"This is probably one of the best self service lodges I have stayed at considering the price and location. Superbly well-kitted out kitchen and wonderful hospitality."


"Dit was Ôn bekostigbare plek"

(South Africa) Hilde Halfen | 7 November 2013

"Ons het die afgelope naweek by Veldflora deurgebring. Dit was Ôn bekostigbare plek met die mooiste uitsig en vriendelike mense. Hilde Halfen is gasvry, die plek was pragtig skoon en ons het dit baie geniet. Dankie dat ons deur julle hierdie plek kon kry"


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Caroline Raphael | 28 May 2013

"Wonderful, tranquil environment. Hildie is a gracious host!

Looking forward to returning there at a later stage."


"Baie rustig"

(South Africa) amanda combrink | 8 April 2013

"Baie rustig, net vrede en kalmte omring jou."


"Veldflora Farm"

(South Africa) Annelene croucamp | 11 July 2012

"Absolutely beautiful, peaceful and the silence, it was a great weekend. We will definitely visit Hilde again."


"A wonderful, peaceful, restful place"

(South Africa) ischell Doddemeade | 3 May 2012

"My Mum and I were looking for a peaceful, remote location and we got more than we hoped for. The farm is quiet and far away from noise and hustle and bustle, in fact it is like a little piece of the garden of Eden. Hilde is delightful and an excellent host. We are already planning our return visit."


"Great place"

(South Africa) Lelanie Prinsloo | 20 October 2011

"What a great place to charge your batteries! We were received as if long lost friends and just couldn't get away. Our hostess, the cottage, the garden, the nursery and the dogs made us feel very welcome. The whole package was great! We will be going back soon and this time for more than a short we..."

more

"What a great place to charge your batteries! We were received as if long lost friends and just couldn't get away. Our hostess, the cottage, the garden, the nursery and the dogs made us feel very welcome. The whole package was great! We will be going back soon and this time for more than a short weekend."


"Lovely getaway"

(South Africa) Noleen Muller | 22 August 2011

"I found the cabin effect and fire that warmed the house awesome. Something I needed - just didn't have enough of."


"Thank you!"

(South Africa) Morne van der Sandt | 22 March 2011

"Thank you very much, had an amazing time. Hilda thought about everything. Very relaxing and peaceful environment away from the busy city. Already planning our next visit."


"Rest easy"

(South Africa) Paul Bester | 14 February 2011

"If you want to rest, this is the place. The view from our cottage was spectacular. The cottage have everything you want. Hilde is a fabulous hostess who even brought her hammer to put in a nail that was sticking out on the balcony. There is a big, clean swimming pool in a beautiful garden. The 'veld..."

more

"If you want to rest, this is the place. The view from our cottage was spectacular. The cottage have everything you want. Hilde is a fabulous hostess who even brought her hammer to put in a nail that was sticking out on the balcony. There is a big, clean swimming pool in a beautiful garden. The 'veldflora' is amazing. I will recommend this place to anyone who wants to chill out and relax. "


"Veldflora Farm"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 23 September 2010

"Our host Hilda was just amazing. She was so kind and caring. She really made us feel right at home. It was so nice being away from the noise of the city. We will definitely be back in the Magielsburg region."


"Veldflora Farm"

(South Africa) Pam Subke | 3 August 2010

"It brought stillness to my soul."


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Lida Erasmus | 26 July 2010

"We enjoyed the stay very much, the house was well equipped and the reception was very friendly"


"Farmstay at Veldfora Farm"

(Malaysia) Kavitha Subramaniam | 9 July 2010

"My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Veldflora. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. It had everything we needed for a good and comfortable stay. Hilde was an amazing host and helped us out with everything. Definitely a must-stay for anyone needing a respite from the city."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Sharon Petersen | 3 August 2009

"Very pleasant"


"Thoroughly enjoyable. "

(South Africa) Sommerville Pruis | 28 November 2008

" Made to feel totally at home from the first minute. Gorgeous views and walks. Definitely going back!!!!"


"Nature views"

(South Africa) Jane | 27 December 2017

"The place is amazing, mountain views beautiful. A great place to relax and view nature. The place is neat and child friendly with all the appliances you can need. The kids loved it and so did we. I would recommend it to my friends and family."


"Nice stay"

(South Africa) Roger | 21 December 2017

"I really enjoyed the view! The peace, quiet and good service. I was very comfortable and had everything I needed. I 'd recommend this cottage to anyone in need of a good place to stay."


"Lovely Stay"

(South Africa) Kim | 20 June 2017

"Everything was well appointed. The owner super friendly and helpful. She took very good care of us. Service and food was great. Waking up to the beautiful sunrise was incredible. Even watching it set in the evenings. The outdoor surrounding really amazing too. I felt refreshed and we really did enjo..."

more

"Everything was well appointed. The owner super friendly and helpful. She took very good care of us. Service and food was great. Waking up to the beautiful sunrise was incredible. Even watching it set in the evenings. The outdoor surrounding really amazing too. I felt refreshed and we really did enjoy our stay. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you to the owner for everything. "


"Veldflora Country Cottages"

(South Africa) lene | 22 December 2015

"I had a wonderful stay at this establishment. Everything was up to standard from the staff to my actual accomodation. I would most definitely recommend and revisit."


"Great for a short getaway"

(South Africa) anonymous | 7 April 2015

"Veldflora farm is a great opportunity to escape from the mad rush of the city. The cottage had everything we needed with a fully equipped kitchen and even towels, soap and Mortien plugs were supplied. It was a great and relaxing weekend away. I would just note that the road leading to the farm is a ..."

more

"Veldflora farm is a great opportunity to escape from the mad rush of the city. The cottage had everything we needed with a fully equipped kitchen and even towels, soap and Mortien plugs were supplied. It was a great and relaxing weekend away. I would just note that the road leading to the farm is a dirt road and in some instances a bit tricky for some cars."


"Review"

(South Africa) swanepoel | 2 December 2014

"Very good service, excellent for an off the grid getaway. "


"BE STILL AND KNOW....."

(South Africa) BRAND | 1 December 2014

"Good morning, today I can say that I feel so relaxed, after a week full of stress at work. I am a franchisee operator at a wimpy, and the previous week was a nightmare, my freezer broke, so I started losing stock. Saturday coming to Veldflora I got a call the electricity is off from 10 am to 10 pm, ..."

more

"Good morning, today I can say that I feel so relaxed, after a week full of stress at work. I am a franchisee operator at a wimpy, and the previous week was a nightmare, my freezer broke, so I started losing stock. Saturday coming to Veldflora I got a call the electricity is off from 10 am to 10 pm, and I am losing stock, but you know, sitting on the stoep, looking out seeing the most beautiful sight, I could calm down, and then it rained and everything freshened up.

All I could do is just cry cry cry, Sunday morning when I woke up and breathing in the fresh air, I felt God saying be still and know that I am God. Everything will be okay, thank you I needed to calm down, today I am at work, but it is OK, because everything is in his hands."


"Veldflora Recommendation"

(South Africa) Mrs Haasbroek | 22 November 2012

"If peace and quiet in a scenic, secluded area is what you are looking for, I can recommend Veldflora. Rustic and quaint, all our needs were catered for. I found my breakaway both restful and reviving and will definitely revisit."


"Away from the Madding Crowd"

(South Africa) Ms kaderli | 22 September 2011

"It was on a Saturday afternoon when we arrived at Veld Flora, tired and in serious need of some fresh air and peace and quiet.
As we got out of the car, both of us sighed a huge sigh of relief and we could already feel our bodies and minds relaxing. Hilde, our hostess made us feel very welcome,..."

more

"It was on a Saturday afternoon when we arrived at Veld Flora, tired and in serious need of some fresh air and peace and quiet.
As we got out of the car, both of us sighed a huge sigh of relief and we could already feel our bodies and minds relaxing. Hilde, our hostess made us feel very welcome, as did the beautiful dogs who slept on our porch and watched over us. The surroundings at Veld Flora are completely natural, the farm is situated on a rocky Koppie and everywhere you look is natural fauna and flora. The view is so, so beautiful, the sky at night so very clear.

Our little log cabin was immaculate. I have stayed at many guest houses and self catering chalets and not one comes close to Veld Flora. We slept like babies and Josh, our son loved exploring and just doing things slowly.

Veld Flora is very real and totally unpretentious. We loved it!!! I hope it never changes. We will definitely be back and well done to Hilde for getting it right.

Marina Kaderli
"