Reviews of The Royal Hotel, Pilgrims Rest


"Authentic and great service"

(South Africa) Katy | 22 July 2019

"I stayed only one night with my children in the Royal Cottage. They loved the old-fashioned bath and the wrap around veranda was amazing. I think we may well have been the only guests as it was mid-week and out of season, but we were warmly welcomed in the restaurant for dinner and for breakfast and..."

more

"I stayed only one night with my children in the Royal Cottage. They loved the old-fashioned bath and the wrap around veranda was amazing. I think we may well have been the only guests as it was mid-week and out of season, but we were warmly welcomed in the restaurant for dinner and for breakfast and also in the bar. Sadly we only stayed for one night and didn't have as much time to enjoy the ambiance as we would have liked. I would recommend staying here for longer than one night if possible.
Easy to find, only around 10 minutes drive from Graskop. "


"Very neat and clean"

Michelle Mans | 1 January 2018

"I can recommend this to anyone who enjoys awesome food, neatness and cleanliness. Beautiful decorated rooms and an awesome bath. "


"Elegant and historic"

(South Africa) Bruce McPhail | 16 January 2017

"We are a family of four from NZ (2 adults, two teenagers). The Royal Hotel is out of another era, and fading a little around the edges. Rooms were at the back of the hotel, a bit of a walk to get to them but nice and quaint when you arrive.

Good hotel smorgasbord dinner and breakfast.
more

"We are a family of four from NZ (2 adults, two teenagers). The Royal Hotel is out of another era, and fading a little around the edges. Rooms were at the back of the hotel, a bit of a walk to get to them but nice and quaint when you arrive.

Good hotel smorgasbord dinner and breakfast.

Not too happy about the car being washed (at a cost) even though the sign on the dashboard said 'Do not wash this car'. Watch this one if you are staying there. "


"Fabulous place to stay"

(South Africa) Ruth Miles | 26 July 2016

"Everybody was efficient and welcomimg. ÊOur (4) rooms were clean, with everything we needed and VERY pretty.

Just don't expect to find any other restaurants in town open after 6.15pm!!! ÊÊ
We were a very mixed bag of guests.
1 x 15 year old
1 in 30s
2 in 4..."

more

"Everybody was efficient and welcomimg. ÊOur (4) rooms were clean, with everything we needed and VERY pretty.

Just don't expect to find any other restaurants in town open after 6.15pm!!! ÊÊ
We were a very mixed bag of guests.
1 x 15 year old
1 in 30s
2 in 40s
1 in 60s and
1 in 70sÊ

and were were all very happy
"


"A memorable stay"

(South Africa) Lorraine Thomas | 24 August 2015

"

I have been looking forward to staying at the Royal Hotel for a very long time and I felt like a child on Christmas morning when I finally made my reservation.Ê The mood was however spoiled when I arrived and they knew nothing about me.Ê Luckily they had a room available and I kept the e-mails co..."

more

"

I have been looking forward to staying at the Royal Hotel for a very long time and I felt like a child on Christmas morning when I finally made my reservation.Ê The mood was however spoiled when I arrived and they knew nothing about me.Ê Luckily they had a room available and I kept the e-mails confirming my booking and the dates etc. still on my laptop (that travels with me).Ê I had to show the front desk reception my confirmations as proof that I did indeed book.Ê The following morning, I was told that they had my booking under a different date and that's why they didn't know about me.Ê Other than this, the room was clean and I enjoyed my stay.



"


"Historic fun"

(South Africa) Johan Wagner | 19 July 2015

"Nice but too many jobless people virtually begging and hanging round hotel spoil the experience.Ê"


"'"

(South Africa) laura vincenti | 3 May 2015

"Wonderful experience!

The atmosphere is authentic and relaxing.
"


"'"

(South Africa) Melisande Barnard | 24 December 2014

"We had an amazing time at the Royal Hotel. All the annexures are awesome Victorian cottages that suit the towns historical background. The staff are all friendly and knowledgeable. The food is great and the selection satisfactory."


"Royal hotel Pilgrims Rest"

(South Africa) Roeland Wintershoven | 26 November 2014

"Excellent hospitality and service,unique and cosy historical bar, restaurant with excellent cuisine. Ideal venue and base to tour the area."


"Looking for gold"

(South Africa) Dave King | 15 October 2013

"We stayed in the cottage which is very well equipped for a reasonable price. Food was not great, geared for large tourist groups. Service was a little disinterested. Breakfast buffet was really terrible. No sign of any managers and the 'pub' is really run down. Hotel seems to think it has a captive ..."

more

"We stayed in the cottage which is very well equipped for a reasonable price. Food was not great, geared for large tourist groups. Service was a little disinterested. Breakfast buffet was really terrible. No sign of any managers and the 'pub' is really run down. Hotel seems to think it has a captive market with the tour busses. The wine list would put any tourist off SA wine, they couldn't even sort out the white from the red."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Melody Gates | 25 September 2013

"Lovely and Quaint. A perfect place for a weekend away."


"A touch of old time"

(France) Mathilde MIQUEOU | 23 September 2013

"We were very pleased to discover a very nice hotel with furniture like the old period. We had storm raging at hour arrival in time and the electrical black out that followed gave us a very nice evening with the candle lights in the room. Very authentic experience.

Strongly recommended."


"Old world charm"

(South Africa) John Carolin | 20 June 2013

"Nice old world feel.

Average meals, and quite noisy with thin walls.

Staff were friendly.

The traders outside the hotel are bothersome and people washing cars without asking and then demanding payment a general nuisance.

Arrive before 9pm if you expect to get a meal."


"Enjoyed our stay"

(South Africa) pierre muller | 27 May 2013

"Enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was very nice."


"Nice experience in an hitorical building"

(France) CHRISTINE VEQUE | 26 September 2012

"Every thing was perfect : the room was very cosy and really clean with all you need!

Take you dinner at the restaurant : the food is excellent and the staff really nice.

Good value for money!"


"Nice"

(South Africa) Riccardo Joseph | 26 September 2012

"Not what I expected but i guess itÕs better than the rest. The breakfast however was not very appetizing at all."


"Great vacation"

(South Africa) Dolf Oosthuizen Oosthuizen | 3 July 2012

"Thank you for excellent service. Especialy the staff that cleaned the room; she was friendly and very helpful."


"Great piece of history"

(South Africa) Samantha Nel | 30 May 2012

"Staying at the Royal Hotel was an experience that cannot really be felt anywhere else... you are taken back over 100 years and you feel you are a part of history by staying in the same rooms and walking the same streets our pioneers did. Rooms were clean and quaint, staff were friendly and welcoming..."

more

"Staying at the Royal Hotel was an experience that cannot really be felt anywhere else... you are taken back over 100 years and you feel you are a part of history by staying in the same rooms and walking the same streets our pioneers did. Rooms were clean and quaint, staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was lovely. One night was perfect for us.

Good work Royal Hotel!"


"Stay a little longer"

(South Africa) Genevieve Holder | 19 May 2012

"Such a small town but lots to do - museums, curios, horse riding, walking and many more. So charming, we really enjoyed our stay there. Only criticism - bath towels were looking a little worn."


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Katrien De Beer | 7 May 2012

"We had a wonderful stay at the Royal Hotel. Friendly service, excellent food and a cozy room. It was a very relaxing week end and we can recommend it to anyone."


"Stay over at hotel"

(South Africa) Jolene van Rensburg | 16 April 2012

"The best stay ever. The staff was friendly and service were excellent. The rooms were as expected, beautiful. We got a feeling of living in the late 1800's. It was a great experience."


"Very nice welcome"

(South Africa) Andy Terren | 9 November 2011

"We liked the stay a lot. Very nice welcome and good service."


"Special place"

(South Africa) Ben Van Biene | 27 October 2011

"We stayed in the annexe of the hotel. It has old-time charm. It may be in need of a little TLC, but it is a place that we can recommend. Nice breakfast and dinner."


"Truly South African"

(Thailand) Karin Pretorius | 12 September 2011

"We enjoyed our stay at The Royal Pilgrims Rest Hotel with friendly staff, a beautiful clean room and delicious meals."


"A different experience"

(South Africa) Bert Collins | 25 August 2011

"The accommodation was adequate but the ventilation in the room was non existent. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent value and the staff singing at the end of the evening was the cherry on the top. The variety for breakfast was first class. "


"A little piece of history"

(South Africa) Robert Diering | 12 August 2011

"Friendly, comfortable, clean. So nice to see a piece of history so well maintained. Would definitely go back!"


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Maria Pretorius | 3 August 2011

"Our stay was pleasant and the staff very kind. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean, however the bathrooms did not have enough hot water and the hand showers were not working. The food at the restaurant was very nice.

Overall it is a nice and simple hotel and I would stay there again.<..."

more

"Our stay was pleasant and the staff very kind. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean, however the bathrooms did not have enough hot water and the hand showers were not working. The food at the restaurant was very nice.

Overall it is a nice and simple hotel and I would stay there again.

"


"Very enjoyable"

(South Africa) Lynn Truluck | 4 July 2011

"We had a very enjoyable stay at this quaint establishment. The bar has a lot of character and should not be missed. It's a pity it was so quiet during our stay."


"Very pleasant"

(South Africa) Michael Janssen | 30 March 2011

"Pleasant stay. Helpful hotel staff. Neat room. "


"Excellent time at Royal Hotel"

(South Africa) Jane stapelberg | 2 February 2011

"Our time at the Royal Hotel was absolutely wonderful, the children loved it. From reception to our Victorian Home to the restaurant, everyone was helpful and very very friendly. The buffet at night and the breakfast buffet was delicious. Thank you very much. We will visit again!"


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 31 January 2011

"Our stay was most enjoyable and excellent value for money. A most special experience. We have visited Pilgrim's Rest quite a number of times in the past. This was the first time we stayed over. It gave a completely different dimension to our visit!"


"Nice and quiet"

(Austria) Johann Zeger | 22 October 2010

"Nice and quiet, although in the bank house alone I was never quite sure about the security of the place."


"A pleasant and friendly stay"

(South Africa) Mike Capel-Davies | 22 September 2010

"We were welcomed at the Royal Hotel in Pilgrims Rest by friendly and professional staff. The requested rooms were changed both quickly and courteously to meet our requirements. We were a little sad when our visit ended. Lovely and interesting stay, and the 'Ghost Tour' was a must. Thank you all.
..."

more

"We were welcomed at the Royal Hotel in Pilgrims Rest by friendly and professional staff. The requested rooms were changed both quickly and courteously to meet our requirements. We were a little sad when our visit ended. Lovely and interesting stay, and the 'Ghost Tour' was a must. Thank you all.

"


"The Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest"

(Italy) Gianluca Bonanno | 18 July 2010

"Pilgrim's rest is a nice town, the hotel is clean and nice. It recalls the old style of the pilgrims."


"Restaurant"

(Portugal) Hans Windisch | 6 May 2010

"Our stay four years ago was completely different from this years stay. While four years ago the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed and friendly it was different this year. While we were eating we were always watched by staff and management as if they were scared we would pinch the knife and fo..."

more

"Our stay four years ago was completely different from this years stay. While four years ago the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed and friendly it was different this year. While we were eating we were always watched by staff and management as if they were scared we would pinch the knife and fork. Nobody was smiling like the year before. We will not go there again."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) ian Oatway | 18 March 2010

"It was a pleasant experience"


"Pilgrims' Rest in early December 2009"

(South Africa) Philip Kerr | 11 February 2010

"We arrived a little later than we anticipated... too many wonderful sights on the way!. Our rooms were at one of the annexes of the Royal Hotel. A power outage caused us some concern ,,, it was getting close to tea-time and we wondered if we would get a hot meal. However, we chatted with some of the..."

more

"We arrived a little later than we anticipated... too many wonderful sights on the way!. Our rooms were at one of the annexes of the Royal Hotel. A power outage caused us some concern ,,, it was getting close to tea-time and we wondered if we would get a hot meal. However, we chatted with some of the catering staff before dinner and had a very pleasant time.

The meal was tasty and there was plenty of choice. It was not as classy as I was anticipating. Our lodging was clean and comfortable. We rested well and had a restful night's sleep ... although in single beds for husband and wife.

Breakfast was delightful and much more lively as more people were there.

We gathered our belongings, checked and drove off under a cloudy sky with a slight drizzle of rain."


"Nice experience"

(South Africa) Dawie Basson | 11 January 2010

"It was a nice experience to stay at the Royal hotel, we liked it , and had a good time, the food was excellent, service very good with friendly staff, next time we will opt for the small houses, with 3 children it will cost less.



Keep it up."


"Royal Hotel - Pilgrim's Rest"

(South Africa) Glenda Pentopoulos | 15 August 2009

"Great - we really enjoyed it!"


"Royal feeling in Royal Hotel!"

(Netherlands) Tineke Kokke | 12 June 2009

"We enjoyed our stay as much as possible!

Very nice atmosphere, nice bar, nice restaurant with the singing Staff at the end of the evening and of course very nice stay in the half Way House! "


"We really enjoyed our stay. "

(South Africa) Anonymous | 29 April 2009

"The rooms are lovely and the food was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we felt safe and relaxed."


"A truly unique experience"

(Germany) Heinz Traunmueller | 23 March 2009

" - lovely rooms, very good food, a relaxing bar and a good measure of hospitality in an environmental setting where time appears to stand still since the gold-rush. Something to be repeated !"


"A very enjoyable stay."

(United Kingdom) Belinda Hollingsworth | 18 March 2009

"It was like stepping back in time! The hotel was very quiet but we still enjoyed excellent food, helpful staff and great gin and tonics! We felt well rested after our one nights stay."


"Perfect stop over"

(Austria) Brigitte Zeillinger | 8 January 2009

"Perfect place to stop over and recall history, having a beer or two - it oozes. Not to be forgotten 'the locals' - thinking of people having to do with golfing - sorry guys I forgot your names, but you are what makes South African hospitality "


"Stopover"

(South Africa) Anne-Marie Vdm-Herselman | 6 November 2008

"Very enjoyable and interesting. Food good and staff helpful"


"Very good"

(Denmark) Chantelle McLean | 31 October 2008

"It was very nice, the rooms absolutely wonderful and the service good. It would be nice with safes in the rooms though.



Thanks for some nice days.

"


"A great experience"

(United Arab Emirates) Jayne Winstanley | 25 October 2008

"How can you NOT stay over at The Royal? It's a unique experience & my tour group of 8 people - comprising of 5 different nationalities all enjoyed their stay. The food was truly excellent, staff were very friendly & the accommodation comfortable. Detail has been spent in keeping the Royal as 'old ti..."

more

"How can you NOT stay over at The Royal? It's a unique experience & my tour group of 8 people - comprising of 5 different nationalities all enjoyed their stay. The food was truly excellent, staff were very friendly & the accommodation comfortable. Detail has been spent in keeping the Royal as 'old time' as possible, which makes it very appealing. I'm really glad we chose to stay there!"


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 28 August 2008

"It is really very nice"


"Great stay "

(France) xavier chaveton | 26 August 2008

"Lovely rooms and the hotel has been able to keep the ambiance from last century with the comfort we can still expect."


"A too short stay"

(Reunion) TIAFVOON PHILIPPE | 15 August 2008

"We were accommodated in a bungalow separated from the hotel with 2 comfortable rooms and the tranquility was remarkable.

We appreciated the decoration and the chocolates.

Scones in the breakfast is a delight.



"


"Absolutely wonderful"

(Denmark) Robert McLean | 18 March 2008

"We enjoyed our stay tremendously and we wish to come back again next year with another group of enthusiastic painters. The place is absolutely wonderful."


"Very Charming"

(South Africa) Maria Kjaer | 24 December 2007

"Very charming! We brought my mother who is visiting from Denmark and she was very impressed. We all had a wonderful time... We would definitely like to come back. "


"Very good value for money."

(United Kingdom) Ruth Chadwick | 23 September 2007

"Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. We thought we had travelled back in time for 50 years but this only added to the charm of the place."


"Royal Hotel luxury family suite:the best You can get"

(Austria) Ammerer Lutz | 2 September 2007

"This accommodation was a real stunner - a most charming, lovely decorated cottage. Beautiful living room, two extremely charming bedrooms,a patio to enjoy the morning sun, set in a beautiful garden. A security guard even accompanies You from the restaurant to Your house,don't know if this is really..."

more

"This accommodation was a real stunner - a most charming, lovely decorated cottage. Beautiful living room, two extremely charming bedrooms,a patio to enjoy the morning sun, set in a beautiful garden. A security guard even accompanies You from the restaurant to Your house,don't know if this is really necessary in ZA, but a very kind gesture anyway. Dinner with steak was fine,could be more inspired,but was still alright and the waiter was very friendly. Really sorry we could stay for one night only at this lovely place. "


"Good"

Anonymous | 29 August 2007

"Nice place. Right quality

"


"Time piece"

Anonymous | 12 August 2007

"We loved our stay in the historically restored village cottages, pretty and very spacious. The evening buffet was an interesting spread. For breakfast our table was not reserved as the restaurant was booked for an outside party. This was odd, but the food was of high standard."


"Diving in the past"

(Mozambique) anna | 2 August 2007

"We spent only one night at the Royal Hotel in Pilgrim Rest, but we really would like to stay there longer next time. It's a dive in the past in a very nice accommodation with all the comforts and kind hospitality. Great historical atmosphere and natural simplicity. We liked it a lot and we intend to..."

more

"We spent only one night at the Royal Hotel in Pilgrim Rest, but we really would like to stay there longer next time. It's a dive in the past in a very nice accommodation with all the comforts and kind hospitality. Great historical atmosphere and natural simplicity. We liked it a lot and we intend to go there more often to relax in the quiet of that place out of time and surrounded by the peaceful mountains."


"Great service"

(South Africa) Trevor Rolfe | 22 July 2007

"Excellent service and great value for money. Dinner and Breakfast were superb and the staff friendly at all times. The family suite (Royal Cottage) was quaint and provided an excellent end to the holiday."


"Many Thanks"

(United Kingdom) John Allen | 14 March 2007

"Many thanks for a very comfortable stay."


"Worth the drive"

(South Africa) Stanley Duncan | 6 October 2006

"The hotel and food - brilliant. The friendliness of staff excellent as well. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from it all, no TV and no room telephone. Which is great, you can relax and get back to nature in some ways! "


"One night was enough!"

(New Zealand) Brian Gooden | 31 August 2006

"Enough to enjoy the traditions and decor of the hotel, an exceptionally comfortable cottage, and excellent dinner and breakfast. "


"Thoroughly"

(South Africa) sharon levin | 16 August 2006

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, so much so that we would like to return."


"A pleasure to stay in"

(South Africa) Ursula Greyvenstein | 24 July 2006

"We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hotel very, very much! Your staff is very pleasant and helpful. Your rooms are a pleasure to stay in(very pretty). We found your shops to be very interesting. Breakfast and dinner we enjoyed very much.



Just a bit dissapointed in how the general s..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hotel very, very much! Your staff is very pleasant and helpful. Your rooms are a pleasure to stay in(very pretty). We found your shops to be very interesting. Breakfast and dinner we enjoyed very much.



Just a bit dissapointed in how the general state (maintenance of the rest of the town) has deteriorated since our last visit in 2000. However,

We'll definitely be back!



"


"Back In Time"

(South Africa) Kenneth Simons | 7 July 2006

"It was a most memorable experience being able to go back in time for a few days. On arrival one could sense that this heritage site was embedded deep into the rock of history. Had a most memorable peaceful and relaxing vacation."


"GREAT TIME"

(United States of America) jason mounts | 19 June 2006

"The Royal Hotel was a quaint place to stay in historic Pilgrim's Rest. The accommodation was good, and the food was excellent."


"Charm"

(France) NICOLAS nadia | 13 March 2006

"A very typical hotel and bedroom which offer charm.

A restaurant - very good cooking at reasonable prices"


"Living history"

Anonymous | 18 February 2006

"We enjoyed our stay at Royal Hotel and also the catering in this historic building "


"Most Memorable Stay"

(Botswana) Sunil Agrawal | 4 January 2006

"The most memorable stay I can remember for my family with excellent service and excellent rooms and excellent food in restaurant. The hotel was offering some accommodation specials which was not passed on to us by safarinow.com and was charged more. anyway I will still recommend the hotel for all to..."

more

"The most memorable stay I can remember for my family with excellent service and excellent rooms and excellent food in restaurant. The hotel was offering some accommodation specials which was not passed on to us by safarinow.com and was charged more. anyway I will still recommend the hotel for all tourists. "


"c1"

(South Africa) rene van son | 21 August 2005

"Great room in a historical cottage, excellent beds and bath and very quit during the night. Good practice of restoration and usage of monuments by private company, thus uplifting the socio-economical situation of the town. Organise the hawkers and put victorian style market place for them, the town..."

more

"Great room in a historical cottage, excellent beds and bath and very quit during the night. Good practice of restoration and usage of monuments by private company, thus uplifting the socio-economical situation of the town. Organise the hawkers and put victorian style market place for them, the town looks very messy during day and night by the stuff on the street"


"Pleasant stay at the Royal Hotel "

Anonymous | 1 August 2005

"Overall my stay at the Royal Hotel was good. The room was charming and clean (cleanliness is one of the most important factors to me when staying at a hotel). The hotel, cleaning and bar staff were very friendly."


"Brown review of Pilgrims Rest Hotel"

(South Africa) Gavin Brown | 18 July 2005

"Enjoyable stay ~ excellent service. Pilgrim's Rest village does need to review attraction."


"Fabulous experience"

(South Africa) Cathy | 17 May 2015

"Absolutely loved the experience! Rooms lovely and staff very friendly. The meal in the restaurant was very nice as well. Would definitely recommend staying overnight and exploring the little town."


"Pleasant stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 April 2015

"I had a pleasant stay at The Royal Hotel. It was clean and the staff were really friendly. I will go there again in the future."


"going back in time"

(South Africa) Mr Wearne | 28 March 2013

"Arriving at the hotel you just go back in time. The staff are so friendly and smile, are very helpful. A person has just gone back in time.
The rooms are exactly as you could imagine them being in the old mining days.
Food was good. Will definitely stay there again.
"


"Nice stay"

(Mozambique) anonymous | 29 April 2012

"We had a nice quiet stay and enjoy our evening/night there. "


"Great stay at The Royal Hotel in Pilgrims rest"

(Norway) Mr Henning Fosse | 21 February 2012

"The Royal Hotel was a great experience, a very special atmosphere and a wonderful staff really made our day. After dinner the kitchen staff sang and danced for us, unforgettable!
The breakfast buffet is something you don’t want to miss when staying at The Royal Hotel….
In other words: Highly..."

more

"The Royal Hotel was a great experience, a very special atmosphere and a wonderful staff really made our day. After dinner the kitchen staff sang and danced for us, unforgettable!
The breakfast buffet is something you don’t want to miss when staying at The Royal Hotel….
In other words: Highly recommendable .
"


"home from home"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 14 February 2012

"This wonderful place took us back in time. We felt like rich Victorians and had a thoroughly fantastic time.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and very efficient."