Reviews of South Point Self Catering and B&B


"Modern and Sparkling Clean"

Richard Howard | 10 January 2018

"We booked in for 4 fantastic days at South Point, we were extremely comfortable and Hilary and her staff are amazing !! Our room was absolutely sparkling clean and we had everything we could have possible needed. Hilary has thought of everything. We were in walking distance of the lighthouse and al..."

more

"We booked in for 4 fantastic days at South Point, we were extremely comfortable and Hilary and her staff are amazing !! Our room was absolutely sparkling clean and we had everything we could have possible needed. Hilary has thought of everything. We were in walking distance of the lighthouse and all the shops. We can't wait to go back.... We can highly recommended South Point."


"Wonderful Weekend"

Patricia Good | 15 November 2017

"Unit 4 was lovely and private, very clean and so tastefully decorated. Had everything we needed. Bed was extremely comfortable and our weekend so enjoyable with restaurants, beach and lighthouse being within walking distance. Will definitely stay again. Thanks so much, regards, Patricia
"


"Sparkling clean"

Elna Burger | 2 October 2017

"Baie vriendelik, baie gerieflik, skitter skoon."


"A two night stay"

Russell Minter-Brown | 22 March 2017

"Main Bedroom is huge, but the second bedroom has two very short single beds. The room is quite small"


"Very clean and quiet"

(South Africa) Sophia Pan | 3 March 2016

"I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at South Point. The self-catering unit was very clean and cozy.Ê"


"'"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 27 October 2015

"Lovely little B&B, clean and well maintained, and within walking distance of
Lovely little B&B, clean and well maintained, and within walking distance of
restaurants and the lighthouse. Would definitely stay there again."


"Nice appartment close to the lighthouse"

(South Africa) Irita Opara | 5 January 2015

"Clean, practical, close to the lighthouse and to restaurants. We enjoyed the stay very much!

Irita, Gerhild, Chima and Nnamdi from PE / Austria"


"Excellent value"

(South Africa) Malcolm Hutchings | 21 November 2013

"South Point was a clean, comfortable, quiet and conveniently located establishment. We considered it excellent value."


"My stay"

(South Africa) ROBIN PATERSON | 29 October 2012

"We enjoyed the stay. Accommodation was very satisfactory and clean. The position highly suitable for supermarket and restaurants. Will recommend to my friends. Very pleasant owner. "


"Great welcome"

(South Africa) Ros Ridley | 3 October 2012

"Great welcome.Very good value. Wish we could have stayed longer."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Bruce Cable | 21 May 2012

"The accommodation was immaculately clean and very well situated. Thank you for a lovely time we spent at South Point."


"Value for money"

(South Africa) Kessy Pilayl | 9 January 2012

"Value for money. Strangely bathrooms had no soap."


"Wonderful!"

(United States of America) Melissa Grippin | 1 October 2011

"South Point is a fantastic getaway. It is super close to both the lighthouse and the southernmost point in Africa. The unit we stayed in was spotless and comfortable! The hospitality we received was second to none!"


"South Point"

(South Africa) Shanna February | 26 October 2010

"South point offered wonderful accommodation. It's definitely worth every cent. Truly an amazing getaway."


"Accommodation in Cape Aghulas at South Point"

(United Kingdom) Anonymous | 5 September 2010

"Good staying, very kindly and warm welcome."


"Modern and clean"

(South Africa) Lois Van Wyk | 18 June 2010

"The accommodation was extremely modern and clean. The layout was unusual, but it suited my family of four for the one night. We like to braai, so the indoor braai was great!!! My only complaint was that the TV was small and with the lounge as a sleeping area it was a bit tight. Overall would stay..."

more

"The accommodation was extremely modern and clean. The layout was unusual, but it suited my family of four for the one night. We like to braai, so the indoor braai was great!!! My only complaint was that the TV was small and with the lounge as a sleeping area it was a bit tight. Overall would stay again, thank you to Hilary

Van Wyk Family"


"Would recommend without hesitation"

(South Africa) Rob Bagnall | 25 September 2009

"Very friendly greeting and units spotless.

Parking limited in front of units, but plenty parking in front of main building.

Really enjoyed our short stay.

"


"Vriendelike diens. "

(South Africa) Bennie Verster | 19 September 2009

"Alles was pragtig netjies en skoon. Gemaklike bly plek en ook prakties.Naby die meeste winkels Nogmals baie dankie"


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Cathy Frankel | 28 April 2009

"Ideal stay for a long weekend from Cape Town. What a pleasure to see such cleanliness & friendliness. We could not have asked for better service. Hilary went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. Make sure that you choose this as your next destination!"


"South Point"

(South Africa) Jack Gauntlett | 13 March 2009

"Enjoyed it thoroughly!"


"South Point Agulhas"

Ryno Verster | 9 February 2009

"Professional-managed set up; clean and comfortable, friendly hostess"


"Enjoyable overnighter"

(Denmark) Jes Siegrist | 25 December 2007

"Only one night, but very enjoyable."


"Nice and comfy"

(Netherlands antilles) harrie verstappen | 23 September 2007

"Really close to the cape and lighthouse."


"Very good"

(South Africa) lieneke eloff | 3 September 2007

"Well-situated. Very close to lighthouse and beach. Close to restaurants and small supermarket. Friendly host. "


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Esme Geldenhuys | 21 May 2007

"We enjoyed our stay and can certainly recommend this establishment."


"Perfect"

(Norway) Arne Johan Asbjornsen | 9 May 2007

"I stay for only one night for look at the lighthouse. That I regret. I should have take the rest of my holidays on South Point. Very helpful and competent manager. Clean and cosy rooms. The rest of my holidays I spent on five stars accommodations. South Point beat them all! "


"South Point Self Catering and B&B"

(South Africa) Annette | 18 March 2018

"The guesthouse is very well located with a view to the sea. It is bright and friendly. It is definitely recommendable.
It corresponds to the description on the website."


"Satisfying stay"

(South Africa) Mariaan | 14 November 2017

"I like the area of which the B&B was situated. It was safe and peaceful. No disturbances. We like cleanliness and the place was very clean and tidy. The rooms were comfortable with fresh and clean bedding and towels. Everything we could need. The people were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ..."

more

"I like the area of which the B&B was situated. It was safe and peaceful. No disturbances. We like cleanliness and the place was very clean and tidy. The rooms were comfortable with fresh and clean bedding and towels. Everything we could need. The people were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely. Overall it was a relaxing stay and I would recommend it to others. "


"Perfect Spot For A Family Holiday"

(South Africa) Gail | 20 June 2017

"The upstairs flat is perfect for a family stay. It is welcoming and comfortable, very nicely appointed. It is spacious but manages to be cozy at the same time (we were there in mid-winter). It has everything that you need for a relaxing holiday and is in walking distance of the beach, lighthouse and..."

more

"The upstairs flat is perfect for a family stay. It is welcoming and comfortable, very nicely appointed. It is spacious but manages to be cozy at the same time (we were there in mid-winter). It has everything that you need for a relaxing holiday and is in walking distance of the beach, lighthouse and shops. Hilary is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, and hopefully for longer next time."


"Great place"

(South Africa) Mr folan | 24 April 2015

"This was actually the second time we stayed here and were very pleased with the accommodation as it is very well equipped."


"Disappointing & expensive weekend at South Point Catering and B&B, Cape Agulhas"

(South Africa) Mr Verster | 8 March 2015

"Hi, we paid R1500.00 for two nights for b&b at South Point Catering and B&B. Upon arriving on Friday we met the owner, she was very friendly and help full.

The rooms were very neat and tidy, however, we got coffee & tea in the room but no milk, we did not get any breakfast for the two days..."

more

"Hi, we paid R1500.00 for two nights for b&b at South Point Catering and B&B. Upon arriving on Friday we met the owner, she was very friendly and help full.

The rooms were very neat and tidy, however, we got coffee & tea in the room but no milk, we did not get any breakfast for the two days while we stayed there, there were no air conditioner or fan available, no burglar guards in front of windows to allow us to sleep with open windows.

It was hot the two days and was forced to go and buy me a portable fan at OK bazaars at the cost of R289.00, not budgeted for it at all. We had to spend extra money +- R200.00 for breakfast which were not budgeted for!

Est responded: Mon 2015/03/09 11:05 AM
We are so sorry the guests were not happy.
This really is a first!!
I have just spoken to him and he was under the impression he had booked for B&B and said they NEVER book self catering. I explained to him that on arrival when I told him where he could go for breakfast, he should have then queried the B&B option.
The portable fan was in the cupboard in the bedroom, but they switched on the heater instead of the fan button.
Drinks are provided for B&B only, not self catering, but we do leave the jar in the unit with tea, coffee and sugar in it. No milk unless they are B&B guests.
Burglar Bars: we live at the southernmost tip of Africa, and do not have crime. There was no need for him to keep his windows closed (they are small windows) and there is a sliding mesh frame over the window for Mosquitoes. But they are from Empangeni, so I can understand their fear of crime.
He admitted to me that the place was very clean, tidy, organized, and they were impressed and would recommend it, but they prefer B&B not flats.
Please can you make sure that it is very clear on the website, that these are flats and that breakfast is an optional extra on request in advance.
We will have to try and sort out the burglar bar issue, but that sliding frame mesh locks, so is quite a deterrent.
Regards
Hilary
"


"Clean, comfy and great position!"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 30 December 2014

"The self catering rooms at South Point Self Catering are large enough for 2 adults. There are 2 rooms, living and fully equipped kitchen, and bedroom. Lovely situation close to the lighthouse. Within walking distance of great restaurants. We can certainly recommend the Twisted Fork."


"Stunning"

(South Africa) Adamgee | 22 December 2014

"I found the place to be in a nice location, close to all amenities. The unit we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, and the towels were soft, just the way I like it. "


"Sight on the lighthouse"

(Netherlands) Mr Keijzer | 11 October 2014

"Cabins are cosy, have all you need, but very small. No place to open a suitcase. At the other hand you could look at the lighthouse from the patio. We liked it for one night. Reception lady was very kind.

Establishment responded:Tue 2014-10-14 07:01 AM

Dear Cyrilene.
Thank you ..."

more

"Cabins are cosy, have all you need, but very small. No place to open a suitcase. At the other hand you could look at the lighthouse from the patio. We liked it for one night. Reception lady was very kind.

Establishment responded:Tue 2014-10-14 07:01 AM

Dear Cyrilene.
Thank you for your email.
We have replied directly to Mr Keijzer, thanked him for his comments, and explained that he chose a small room.
Next time we can offer him one of our bigger rooms, but which are more expensive.
Our virtual tour that you did for us is a very good guide to room size etc, so perhaps there is some way it can be promoted more.
Regards
Hilary
"


"Agulhas a place definitely to visit...."

(South Africa) Mr & Mrs Van Der Linde | 16 December 2013

"Just got married the 7th December and my husband and I had an amazing stay at South Point Self Catering. Nice and small with all the necessary equipment for a pleasant stay, it is perfect for a couple. Perfectly situated, everything is almost walking distance, the beach, tidal pools, lighthouse, mos..."

more

"Just got married the 7th December and my husband and I had an amazing stay at South Point Self Catering. Nice and small with all the necessary equipment for a pleasant stay, it is perfect for a couple. Perfectly situated, everything is almost walking distance, the beach, tidal pools, lighthouse, most southerly point of Africa, shipwreck need I say more. We enjoyed the morning walks to the beach just 5min walk. Our visit to Struisbaai was just as nice, loved the long white beach. And to top it off there's a restaurant just next door South Point with a brilliant chef, if you love your steaks and pasta's you should definitely stop there. Will definitely recommend this place if you need a break from a busy life."


"Peace and Quiet"

(South Africa) Ms Wunner | 21 November 2013

"Beautiful place, close to the needed amenities but secluded to peace and quiet at the same time.
I will highly recommend to other visiting Cape Agulhas.
"


"Stylishly central"

(South Africa) Mrs Kadis | 2 July 2013

"Nice clean well kept apartment very close to the park and walking distance to everything. Quite small, not recommended for more than 3 people but has everything you need. "


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Mr Luttig | 30 April 2013

"Everything in working order and clean. The unit is perfect for 2-3 people"


"Comfortable"

(Germany) anonymous | 17 February 2013

"Very friendly owner. Big terrace, braai-facilities, small kitchen and a small living-room. All rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished. A place for feeling good. Many restaurants are very close. We recommend Zuidste Point for dinner and potpourrie for breakfast."