Reviews of Otters Bend Lodge


"Peaceful accommodation "

(South Africa) anonymous | 20 May 2019

"We stay just one night at Otters Bend Lodge. The place is really quiet and beautiful ! It's not in the center of the village so we really had the feeling to be in the middle of the nature. Though, it's only 10-15 minutes walking from the village and it's really safe even during the night. The owner ..."

more

"We stay just one night at Otters Bend Lodge. The place is really quiet and beautiful ! It's not in the center of the village so we really had the feeling to be in the middle of the nature. Though, it's only 10-15 minutes walking from the village and it's really safe even during the night. The owner was really nice and helpful, he gave us all the information we need (restaurants, things to do in the area). The room was clean, the only thing is that it was a little bit cold during the night.
I will definitively recommend this place if you are looking for a peaceful and beautiful place in Franschhoek !
"


"Fantastic break "

(South Africa) Lindiwe | 28 January 2019

"We didn't get to go anywhere over the festive so we decided to have a long weekend away in January. I wanted a rustic stay. Otters Bend clicked all the boxes. The prices were reasonable. So I booked for three. We arrived in the afternoon on Friday. The place was clean and looked exactly like it did ..."

more

"We didn't get to go anywhere over the festive so we decided to have a long weekend away in January. I wanted a rustic stay. Otters Bend clicked all the boxes. The prices were reasonable. So I booked for three. We arrived in the afternoon on Friday. The place was clean and looked exactly like it did in the pictures. We loved their facilities and being surrounded by nature is exactly what we needed. We made use of all the facilities and it was truly a beautiful weekend away. I will definitely be going back!"


"Great value for money"

(South Africa) Yolande | 24 December 2018

"We spent two nights at Otters Bend and was pleasantly surprised.
It's very peaceful, well-kept and tidy.
Rooms are small, but beds are comfy!
Friendly staff."


"Amazing time spent"

(South Africa) Lee-Anne | 3 September 2018

"Thanks to Mary for accommodating myself and my partner. If you just need a break away from the hustle and bustle of the city life, I highly recommend Otters Bend, the greenery and the scenery. Just breathing in the fresh air and relaxing in nature was my ultimate. Otters Bend accommodated with every..."

more

"Thanks to Mary for accommodating myself and my partner. If you just need a break away from the hustle and bustle of the city life, I highly recommend Otters Bend, the greenery and the scenery. Just breathing in the fresh air and relaxing in nature was my ultimate. Otters Bend accommodated with everything, there was no disturbance at all. I had a peaceful sleep in that comfy bed, I told my husband I need to find out where Mary got that bed.

Mary, thank you, thank you and thank you! You will definitely see me soon."


"Great place to stay and you are near all attractions."

(South Africa) Anna Maria | 28 August 2018

"We had an amazing time there. Stunning hosts and for the price it was excellent value for money! Clean room, clean bedding and lovely hot shower. Lovely fireplace and very cosy. Will definitely stay there again!"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Jacquiline | 20 August 2018

"It was an amazing experience quiet and very relaxing, we had more than what we expected and very friendly staff. The experience was like connecting with nature with the calming river nearby. We definitely be going again and staying longer!"


"Hiking at Mont Rochelle"

James Massey | 1 May 2018

"You could increase the toilet/shower facility for campers.

Otherwise it was a great experience!

Thank you."


"The view and environment"

Agnes Cloete | 25 February 2018

"Lovely place in an awesome environment"


"Lovely place and kind people"

Maxime Desmons | 15 January 2018

"We loved the place for camp site. Kitchen is perfect, bathroom a bit less. "


"Great location, although rough around the edges"

Peter Edwards | 12 January 2018

"Reasonable stay at Otters Bend Lodge. Location is tucked away and very pleasant. Accommodation was compact but reasonable. Dampness does result in a major mosquito problem - definitely recommend bringing along mosquito repellent. Camping facilities look like a great option."


"The location"

Floris Mostert | 20 December 2017

"Shower curtain was dirty.
Notices for other guests to be quiet in sleeping area."


"Holyday"

Gildas Delencre | 27 November 2017

"Very nice place
Very good value of money"


"The quietness"

Cole Stanton | 26 October 2017

"Very peaceful and well nestled against a nice riber"


"Rainy night, in door fireplace "

Charnell Liedeman | 5 June 2017

"We loved the place, its value for money! Enjoyed the nature environment, just a pity the river has dried up. The communal are is very comfortable... Met people around the shared fire place.... "


"Cabin Living "

Pelo Nkunjana | 4 June 2017

"Lovely stay. Quiet, private & great value for money."


"So much potential"

Christine Briston | 4 April 2017

"The charming setting goes a long way to make up for the roughness of the lodge. The light in the trees beyond the deck and in the orchard is absolutely magical.

While one makes allowances at a backpackers, private rooms should be a cut-above.

The lodge needs maintenance. The room next ..."

more

"The charming setting goes a long way to make up for the roughness of the lodge. The light in the trees beyond the deck and in the orchard is absolutely magical.

While one makes allowances at a backpackers, private rooms should be a cut-above.

The lodge needs maintenance. The room next to mine had a difficult lock, requiring guests to attempt locking/unlocking the room many times before getting it right. This also meant them having to slam the door in order to close it, which had resulted in the glass of one window being cracked. With the lodge having only dry-walling between units and the bed being on the adjoining wall, this made for a noisy environment.

The fireplace in the communal area carried a strong smell of damp ash, which travelled into the rooms.

The sloping deck made for very heavy footsteps as people moved around. The furniture om the deck is in serious need of attention/updating.

Overall, not as restful a location as it could be.

The front gate is cumbersome to operate, especially when taking a vehicle in or out.

Flat sheets are a must-have in summer in South Africa as the nights can be very warm, however none were provided.

Staff were difficult to locate for check-in, check-out and in between. That said, it was lovely to be left alone and the lodge runs well on its 'honour system' communal kitchen."


"Quiet"

Susan Knipe | 1 April 2017

"We stayed in the family cabin. It is private and was very clean. Thank you!"


"Comfortable but Average"

(South Africa) Amy Blaine | 17 February 2017

"It was a comfortable setting and lodging.

Bathroom extremely small

Not soap at all.

Towels are a little old and smelt.

maybe worth R 200 a night not more.

thank you

Establishment Response:

Dear Amy

Thank you for pointing out the lack of soap, ..."

more

"It was a comfortable setting and lodging.

Bathroom extremely small

Not soap at all.

Towels are a little old and smelt.

maybe worth R 200 a night not more.

thank you

Establishment Response:

Dear Amy

Thank you for pointing out the lack of soap, the quality of towels and the smell in your room. We were disappointed that you had this experience of OtterÕs Bend Lodge. This has definitely alerted us to tightening up on our checking of rooms as this is below our expected standard.



Kind regards

Mary and Mark"


"Great place go there!"

(England) trudy feltham | 4 February 2017

"Wonderful rustic log cabins in a fabulous location walkable to Franschhoek high street. Mark is an amazing guy who enjoys a chat over a glass of wine. So loved being here. Go, you wont be disappointed.."


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Victoria Gough | 10 November 2016

"We stayed in the log cabins and it was such a stunning location. Opening your curtains in the morning to nothing but trees and nature. The communal setting was a great place to meet new people. The location from town is perfect as you can literally walk into town. Overall I would highly recommend a ..."

more

"We stayed in the log cabins and it was such a stunning location. Opening your curtains in the morning to nothing but trees and nature. The communal setting was a great place to meet new people. The location from town is perfect as you can literally walk into town. Overall I would highly recommend a stay at the Otter's Bend Lodge. "


"Fantastic gem"

(South Africa) Selma Marais | 24 October 2016

"What a lovely surprise!! The communal area was inviting and much better stocked than I could ever have hoped for. Bedroom was a delight in architecture. Friendly owner. Definatily worth the price :-) Loved that you were so near to Franshoek but also literally a stone's throw away from the river. A..."

more

"What a lovely surprise!! The communal area was inviting and much better stocked than I could ever have hoped for. Bedroom was a delight in architecture. Friendly owner. Definatily worth the price :-) Loved that you were so near to Franshoek but also literally a stone's throw away from the river. Awesome place!!"


"Beautifully Peaceful"

(South Africa) Galen Schultz | 26 September 2016

"Great place. Beautiful and peaceful. The cock crows and a nursery grows and the sound of running water can be heard from the nearby stream."


"An absolute gem!"

(South Africa) Sarah Levitt | 29 August 2016

"We loved our stay here! The hosts were very informative and welcoming. We camped peacefully next to the river and close to the main house where the kitchen is fully equipped. The location is amazing and is within walking distance to town, wine farms and many other attractions. We went on a beautiful..."

more

"We loved our stay here! The hosts were very informative and welcoming. We camped peacefully next to the river and close to the main house where the kitchen is fully equipped. The location is amazing and is within walking distance to town, wine farms and many other attractions. We went on a beautiful hike, highly recommend it. We will definitely be back!"


"Backpacker;s vibe"

(South Africa) Arlene Potgieter | 7 March 2016

"This is a nice place for kids, as they can run around freely and play outside. Its good value for money if u just want a place to crash. The wooden walls are paper thin though and there's definitely a mosquito problem- so go prepared. Real backpackers vibe, friendly people hanging out and chilling.<..."

more

"This is a nice place for kids, as they can run around freely and play outside. Its good value for money if u just want a place to crash. The wooden walls are paper thin though and there's definitely a mosquito problem- so go prepared. Real backpackers vibe, friendly people hanging out and chilling.
"


"Relaxed"

(South Africa) Trevor Perrins | 3 January 2016

"One of a kind,rustic,uncrowded Gettaway,will definately be back!!!"


"Nice!"

(South Africa) Tiffany Huang | 30 December 2015

"Very quiet and nice place, the owner is so helpful and friendly! Beautiful view! Thanks Mark! We really enjoy our stay!"


"relaxing times "

(South Africa) Tania Van Zyl | 23 November 2015

"Visited Otter bend Lodge establishment, what a relaxed stay we had. It was terrible weather but the warm welcome made up for it. Close to everything. The kitchen have everything, felt like home! Thank you for having us. "


"Beautiful hidden Lodge!! Would stay over again!!"

(South Africa) Diana Bloss | 14 November 2015

"We stayed one night at Otter's Bend Lodge. Although the little houses are quite simple the whole Lodge is just beautiful. Surrounded by a river and a little forest. It was very clean and the stuff was nice and smiley.We would join Otter's again!! :)"


"Camping under the pear blossoms"

(South Africa) Lizelle Torr | 28 September 2015

"The camping spot is beautiful, the trees are filled with blossoms. Perhaps don't go there if you are allergic to bees. It's so close to town, you can walk there, you can even do wine tastings at the farms nearby, and you can just walk everywhere. The downside is, there is only one toilet shower comb..."

more

"The camping spot is beautiful, the trees are filled with blossoms. Perhaps don't go there if you are allergic to bees. It's so close to town, you can walk there, you can even do wine tastings at the farms nearby, and you can just walk everywhere. The downside is, there is only one toilet shower combo, which you share with the one chalet. So everybody camping and one chalet, shares this toilet, we were unlucky and had a very rude woman staying in the chalet, constantly complaining about everybody using 'her' bathroom. But other than the bathroom situation, there is a fully equipped kitchen and various braai areas or spots where you can sit under the night sky and make a fire. Will go again, but will get one of the rooms that has it's own bathroom next time."


"'"

(South Africa) Vanessa Fisher | 13 July 2015

"what an awesome place the Otters Bend has become (we first stayed here in 2009 I think it was). We stayed in a family room and it's tucked away in the trees with lots of space to relax.

The owners were super friendly and allowed our kids to run around and feed the bunnies.

Really grea..."

more

"what an awesome place the Otters Bend has become (we first stayed here in 2009 I think it was). We stayed in a family room and it's tucked away in the trees with lots of space to relax.

The owners were super friendly and allowed our kids to run around and feed the bunnies.

Really great value for money.
"


"I spent money on wine instead of a bed :)"

(South Africa) Bradley Vienings | 3 July 2015

"Basic needs are met, just outside of the busy town.  It's not 5 star in service or quality, but it's 5 star in the company and guests which it provides - we sat with some Belgium foreigners until 3am one evening showing them how to braai - the open skies and views of the night sky from Otter ar..."

more

"Basic needs are met, just outside of the busy town.  It's not 5 star in service or quality, but it's 5 star in the company and guests which it provides - we sat with some Belgium foreigners until 3am one evening showing them how to braai - the open skies and views of the night sky from Otter are a sight not be missed!  We wanted something cheap so that we could spend more money and time on wine and winefarms - this provided just that.  Basic, clean rooms, with a few aches & cracks, but it didn't spoil the stay.  Catering utensils are all provided in a shared kitchen/dining room - remember your own groceries! Backpacker vibe.
"


"Good"

(South Africa) Guillaume Louvel | 3 February 2015

"Nice room in a quiet and green environment. Tenant very nice."


"Great Experience"

(South Africa) Bennie Viljoen | 1 February 2015

"I recently visited the Franschhoek area for a week and stayed at Otter's Bend Lodge.I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation relative to the price I paid. I will definitely stay here again if I should ever be in that area again.I really appreciated the privacy even though I shared with a fe..."

more

"I recently visited the Franschhoek area for a week and stayed at Otter's Bend Lodge.I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation relative to the price I paid. I will definitely stay here again if I should ever be in that area again.I really appreciated the privacy even though I shared with a few other people."


"Fabulous and delightful spot"

(South Africa) Linda Master | 5 November 2014

"This wonderful, friendly place is a great option for people wishing to explore Franchhoek. If you plan to spend most of your time exploring the area, then this is the spot for you. The nightly rate is seriously reasonable, and there's a grassy section for camping. The lodge is an easy walk into to..."

more

"This wonderful, friendly place is a great option for people wishing to explore Franchhoek. If you plan to spend most of your time exploring the area, then this is the spot for you. The nightly rate is seriously reasonable, and there's a grassy section for camping. The lodge is an easy walk into town. "


"Great night's stay"

(South Africa) Linde Liebenberg | 11 November 2013

"Lovely setting and views. Rustic accommodation. Loved our nights stay."


"Beautiful"

(South Africa) Jacqui Green | 26 May 2013

"Beautiful views, basic good value for money backpackers type accommodation in the centre of Franschhoek. Friendly people."


"Charming"

(South Africa) Lorraine Ralston | 25 March 2013

"A charming little backpackers and friendly service"


"A quiet place with special charme"

(South Africa) Armin Harich | 17 March 2013

"A quiet place in a pear garden. Little simple huts and a nice lounge and communal area.

There are different rooms. Some are next to each other with a high ceiling and fan with private bathroom. Some are for 2-3 persons and private bathroom.

A Little plunge in pool is there as well bu..."

more

"A quiet place in a pear garden. Little simple huts and a nice lounge and communal area.

There are different rooms. Some are next to each other with a high ceiling and fan with private bathroom. Some are for 2-3 persons and private bathroom.

A Little plunge in pool is there as well but we didn't try it.

Theres a Kitchen and communal area that seats plenty of People. Some seating also outside between the pear trees.

Sometimes you will be joined by a black horse.

We enjoyed our stay there because it was very quiet and cheap. Some Things Need to be fixed and its definitly a nice but simple place. If you don't need any luxury then its the place to go.

Bed linen and towels are provided. It was ok clean but for this Price I don't expect more.

I would recommend it for familys and easy budget traveller. Enjoy the quietness!"


"Great place"

(South Africa) Jaco Swart | 4 March 2013

"We loved Otter's Bend Lodge - Close enough to town so you can easily reach all the shops and cafe's and also far enough to feel like your in the Forest. Nice wine farms all around....Well done!"


"Good"

(South Africa) Sandra Wright | 17 January 2013

"We had a very nice stay. It's a beautiful and relaxing place at a very good rate. Will definitely visit again."


"Fab place!"

(United Kingdom) Candice Memerty | 16 January 2013

"Would go back again! An ideal place as it is not far from the town centre but still far enough to feel secluded. Rooms basic but that is all we needed and we had a great time around the camp fire. All in all we will be back to stay much longer. Ps price for accommodation reasonable."


"Wonderful place to stay!"

(United States of America) Eleanor Oakes | 3 January 2013

"We loved staying at Otter's Bend. It was a wonderful option off the beaten path, the communal kitchen facilities were wonderful, fabulous garden, amazing owners, and incredibly friendly environment. We will definitely be back!"


"Overnight stay"

(South Africa) Antonette du Toit | 30 September 2012

"We already recommended your Lodge to a lot of friends and family. Thanks a million. We were very happy with everything."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Samantha Wentzel | 13 February 2012

"Great spot to overnight - comfy rooms and beautiful surroundings. I'd definitely stay there again. "


"Gorgeous and generous"

(South Africa) Colleen Wilson | 8 June 2011

"We had an amazing time with the dogs and around the camp fire."


"Recommended!"

(South Africa) Roslyn Doyle | 22 March 2011

"Very enjoyable. Mark was extremely helpful. Room adequate, bathroom small but the setting was excellent. Loved the indoor/outdoor kitchen/dining area and the plunge pool was great on the hot days. Would definitely recommend it and would go back again."


"All you need"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 29 November 2010

"What a lovely little hide away. It is all you need to put your head down for some shut eye."


"Otter's Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) Sharon Crowe | 3 November 2010

"Absolutely awesome. Wished I could have stayed another night. Will definitely recommend to my friends."


"Unexpected Gem"

(South Africa) Robyn Barlow | 3 November 2010

"In October 2010 we stayed in the family log cabin at Otter's Bend. We were most comfortable there and our son loved playing in the stream and bush beside us. It was lovely going to sleep with the restful sound of the stream. Breakfast was great too."


"Stay was pleasant"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 25 October 2010

"Our stay was pleasant, rooms were clean and on arrival we were met by a friendly lady who showed us to our accommodation and explained everything to us. We were there to attend a wedding in Franschhoek. Setting of rooms with the deck was nice and quiet with the sound of the stream running below."


"Otters Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 15 October 2010

"A peaceful spot amongst the pear trees. Close to town so very convenient. Perfect accommodation if attending a wedding or wanting to explore the Franschhoek area.

Delicious warm muffins. "


"Cheerful"

(South Africa) Kia Verster | 15 March 2010

"A group of us stayed overnight at Otter's Bend after attending a wedding in Franschoek. It was a great alternative to driving back to Cape Town. The rooms were perfectly adequate and we were all very grateful for the lovely breakfast the next morning. I would describe Otter's Bend as wonderfully ch..."

more

"A group of us stayed overnight at Otter's Bend after attending a wedding in Franschoek. It was a great alternative to driving back to Cape Town. The rooms were perfectly adequate and we were all very grateful for the lovely breakfast the next morning. I would describe Otter's Bend as wonderfully cheap and cheerful! "


"We've found a Gem!"

(South Africa) Renee Campbell | 22 December 2009

"We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. The rooms were clean, the hosts very welcoming and the shared facilities, eg. kitchen were clean and perfectly adequate. We would stay there again and would recommend it to others."


"Perfect place"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 2 March 2009

"We had a great time at Otters Bend. We came to Franschoek for a wedding at it was the perfect place to stay over for the night - very convenient and well priced"


" Really great getaway Spot."

(South Africa) Ntombi Mbadlanyana | 8 October 2008

"Otter's Bend was pleasant, the scenery was beautiful and the calming sound of the water was very welcoming.

I liked the communal kitchen and the friendliness of the owners and the other guests, it was welcoming and I'll certainly visit the establishment again. The only thing that concerned ..."

more

"Otter's Bend was pleasant, the scenery was beautiful and the calming sound of the water was very welcoming.

I liked the communal kitchen and the friendliness of the owners and the other guests, it was welcoming and I'll certainly visit the establishment again. The only thing that concerned me though was that they don't lock the chalet. There were no keys to lock and that made me feel a bit uneasy.."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Riduwaan Felix | 14 July 2008

"Very peaceful and relaxing.The perfect place if you want to get away from the city."


"Planning to re-visit"

(South Africa) Riduwaan Felix | 14 July 2008

"Very peaceful and relaxing.The perfect place if you want o get away from the city."


"Good"

(South Africa) Leanne Feris | 19 May 2008

"We only stayed over for one night. It was cold and the room was draughty - we would have appreciated an extra blanket. I don't recall the website saying that we should bring extra blankets, because I would have remembered something like that.

I think this would be a fantastic place for a larg..."

more

"We only stayed over for one night. It was cold and the room was draughty - we would have appreciated an extra blanket. I don't recall the website saying that we should bring extra blankets, because I would have remembered something like that.

I think this would be a fantastic place for a larger group - just bring a blankie if you're going to visit during the colder months. :-)

Response from Establishment - More blankets made available"


"Beautiful location."

(South Africa) Linda Watson | 5 May 2008

"Rooms could do with a bit more soundproofing though, as campers next door partied throughout the night."


"Completely blown away "

(South Africa) Riaan Fourie | 14 April 2008

"Wow. I have stayed in many 'backpackers' in my life, and I can honestly rate this as the best, 5 stars. For the cost of our stay, I was completely blown away by the luxury and service. Soft towels on soft beds, and the communal kitchen and dining area was so luxurious. We felt welcome from the secon..."

more

"Wow. I have stayed in many 'backpackers' in my life, and I can honestly rate this as the best, 5 stars. For the cost of our stay, I was completely blown away by the luxury and service. Soft towels on soft beds, and the communal kitchen and dining area was so luxurious. We felt welcome from the second we arrived, the breakfast spreads were amazing, there was Ice in the fridge when we arrived, and everything was just amazing. We met other travelers and had great conversations around the dinner table, we also spend allot of time relaxing next to the river and next to the splash pool, sipping on cocktails, complete relaxation. Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. Thanks so much. Riaan Fourie - Randburg."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 13 April 2008

"Great accommodation, great hosts, plus two lovely dogs and close proximity to shops and restaurants."


"Very friendly,"

(United Kingdom) Pete Jeans | 10 April 2008

"We had a good 2 night stay. Room pretty small but excellent value. Very friendly, vineyards in walking distance."


"Great"

(South Africa) Rikus de Lange | 12 March 2008

"Our stay at Otters bend lodge was great, thank you.

"


"Very good"

(United States of America) Robert Holmes | 7 March 2008

"Nice environment, close to town. Felt very welcome by hosts."


"Restful"

(Netherlands) Anonymous | 2 March 2008

"Very quiet, informal and restful"


"Recommended"

(Austria) Anonymous | 15 February 2008

"A lovely place!"


"Very good"

(South Africa) Willem de Lange | 7 January 2008

"We drove around during the day and the sound of the wind rustling the leaves and the sound of the river made it such a peaceful place to simply relax. We met wonderful people from all over the world. I'll definitely go there again."


"Fantastic"

(Singapore) phyllis yew | 21 December 2007

"Fantastic location, fantastic people!"


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Clair Wilmans | 4 December 2007

"Fantastic very peaceful. Breakfast was really good value for money. Will definitely be returning."


" Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 26 November 2007

"The room wasn't where we expected to stay but it was large and clean. The family run establishment is great and the family themselves very friendly and helpful."


"Loved the rustic feel"

(South Africa) Carol Busch | 22 November 2007

"It was so peaceful and quiet - the only sounds we heard was the wind in trees and the nearby river - occasionally a dog barking somewhere in the distance. A pleasant escape from the noisy rat race. I was travelling with a retired aunt who had never been to the Cape before, Otters Bend was definite..."

more

"It was so peaceful and quiet - the only sounds we heard was the wind in trees and the nearby river - occasionally a dog barking somewhere in the distance. A pleasant escape from the noisy rat race. I was travelling with a retired aunt who had never been to the Cape before, Otters Bend was definitely the best place we stayed in on our travels. Loved the rustic feel, I'm very glad we didn't book a B & B on the busy Main Road - wouldn't have enjoyed our sojourn as much. The staff were super friendly and helpful - my aunt suffers from emphysema and they went out of their way to make her comfortable.

Loved the dogs, nearly took them home with us. If ever in the area again, we would definitely go back."


"Very good"

(United Kingdom) Tony Bird | 7 November 2007

"Basic clean units in a wonderful setting. The common room for breakfast was OK, didn't use the catering facilities. The optional breakfast was good. Overall it was a quiet place in a wonderful setting."


"Great. "

(South Africa) melissa attridge | 2 November 2007

"We were allowed to check in early and the room was clean and tidy. We only stayed one night but the surroundings were lovely and the price was very reasonable."


"Lovely."

(South Africa) Samantha Noakes | 1 November 2007

"Very relaxing."


"Its a beautiful location"

(United Kingdom) Anonymous | 30 October 2007

"The setting is fantastic, the people are friendly and the overall stay was wonderful."


"We had a fantastic time!"

(South Africa) Marelize Schlemmer | 23 October 2007

"A beautiful setting, wonderful atmosphere, great facilities and friendly people. "


"Peaceful and beautiful"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 24 September 2007

"I will def. return and will just stay a little longer. It was so peaceful and beautiful by the river - one day is to short. Thank you so much for your kindness."


"THANK YOU"

(South Africa) Melanie Wales | 23 July 2007

"I'd like to thank Marc and Mary for their hospitality, it was such a relaxing getaway. When I got home everything was quiet and I wondered why...there was no river :-( A beautifully, perfect setting, with wonderful, warm people."


"Bastille festival stay"

(South Africa) tyla ballantyne | 16 July 2007

"Best value for money ever! Lovely setting and atmosphere. Very helpful and caring staff who went out of their way to make the stay awesome!Eill def be back in summer to use the pool..and we'll bring friends!"


"Pleasant experience"

(South Africa) Len Nel | 9 July 2007

"You can not get better value for money in the Cape."


"RELAXING"

(South Africa) Martin Lourens | 5 July 2007

"Nice pleasant down to earth farm life. Great hospitality and friendly people, thanx again"


"Excellent tranquil stay"

(South Africa) Simone | 17 February 2018

"The view is wonderful and you feel very secluded in nature. Nice and quiet. I love the wooden cabins and will definitely return."


"Peace and Tranquility"

(South Africa) sharna | 17 January 2018

"We had an absolutely great time. The peacefulness of Otters bend lodge was the best way to wind down my vacation. We took a hike on the Mount Rochelle Trail, up to breakfast rock with the kids, was awesome as we started hiking in the mist. I will definitely be recommending Otters Bend and have alre..."

more

"We had an absolutely great time. The peacefulness of Otters bend lodge was the best way to wind down my vacation. We took a hike on the Mount Rochelle Trail, up to breakfast rock with the kids, was awesome as we started hiking in the mist. I will definitely be recommending Otters Bend and have already started as all my friends and family saw the pics and thought it was absolutely gorgeous.
Thank you again for our stay.
Sharna 10-12 Jan 2018"


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 January 2018

"We had a lovely stay at Otter's bend. Cottages are great. Well equipped social area. Hosts were lovely and very helpful. Definitely recommended"


"Rustic Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 December 2017

"Enjoyed our overnight stay. Booking process, payments on day of arrival all hassle-free. Cottage neat and clean. Setting of lodge awesome. Although you need a 4x4 to travel on the road to get to the lodge."


"Comfort,peace of mind and fun"

(South Africa) Kaydee | 14 December 2017

"Had the best weekend ever with my partner we enjoyed the stay it was nice and quiet but everyone was so friendly and the assistance was excellent. I would suggest Otters Bend Lodge to anyone who wants a break away from the busy life of the city or just to spend quality time with your loved one and f..."

more

"Had the best weekend ever with my partner we enjoyed the stay it was nice and quiet but everyone was so friendly and the assistance was excellent. I would suggest Otters Bend Lodge to anyone who wants a break away from the busy life of the city or just to spend quality time with your loved one and finding each other. Thank you Otters Bend Lodge for an amazing weekend."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) margaretha | 23 October 2017

"I will definitely be back. The setting is perfect. The facilities are clean and comfortable. Mark is very welcoming and accommodating. Thank you for a beautiful backpackers :)"


"Rustic, No-frills Country Getaway"

(South Africa) Frances | 7 August 2017

"Otters Bend Lodge has a variety of accommodation, from camping to small wooden cabins equipped with the basics, a communal kitchen and dining area. We stayed in the latter and loved it. My 7 year old son bemoaned the fact of no WiFi, but I think the digital detox was good for all of us. If you like ..."

more

"Otters Bend Lodge has a variety of accommodation, from camping to small wooden cabins equipped with the basics, a communal kitchen and dining area. We stayed in the latter and loved it. My 7 year old son bemoaned the fact of no WiFi, but I think the digital detox was good for all of us. If you like camping and communal living you will love this place! Definitely worth the very reasonable rate - we will be back!"


"Awesome Stay"

(South Africa) Caroline | 31 July 2017

"The owners were so lovely in welcoming us. Friendly as ever. The place itself was beautiful with natures environmental surroundings. I loved the trees and the calming atmosphere. The room was spacious, warm and cozy. The bed was very comfortable. It was really tranquil. It was also conveniently near..."

more

"The owners were so lovely in welcoming us. Friendly as ever. The place itself was beautiful with natures environmental surroundings. I loved the trees and the calming atmosphere. The room was spacious, warm and cozy. The bed was very comfortable. It was really tranquil. It was also conveniently near to all the shops if one needed anything. I was mostly impressed with the good service received from the staff and owners. I would definitely stay there again. In fact I've already recommended it to family and friends. "


"Weekend Surprise "

(South Africa) Mickey | 19 July 2017

"We arrived there early evening but it was dark already - Place looked very doggy in the dark and made me question my hasty decision in booking so late and just grabbing what was available, I had booked the backpackers cabins. Oliver the host - oh what a lovely young man warmth and kindness just radi..."

more

"We arrived there early evening but it was dark already - Place looked very doggy in the dark and made me question my hasty decision in booking so late and just grabbing what was available, I had booked the backpackers cabins. Oliver the host - oh what a lovely young man warmth and kindness just radiated from him making one feel very comfortable immediately in your unknown surroundings. Pathway to the cabin was very dark but lit up by light sensors as you progressed.

The cabin looked nice as did the shared dining room/kitchen/bar/ relax area very cosy. Outside Bathroom was a bit of a surprise but yet cosy as well. Cabin was cosy and warm inside. Beds were of good quality and we rested well. Then morning came...............OMW!!!

What a beautiful Garden, breath-taking views of mountains, trees, crosses etc...... and lovely gurgling brooke running at the side, the amazing handmade tables and chairs make from tires and wood, the fireplace area the surroundings including an old KOO branded bus - no more questioning my decision, it was the perfect place to stay.

It rained the weekend and when stepping out the Sunday morning, it looked like a fairy garden with the raindrops glistening on the trees, the muddy grass was call for caution but all in all a very good stay. Will definitely book there in the summertime.
"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Jean | 15 July 2017

"What an amazing spot - very rustic but spotlessly clean. Huge indoor
enclosed boma with very well equipped kitchen and huge fireplace
for cosy winter nights. Room was very comfy with good mattresses,
duvets, heating etc. Highly recommended as a reasonable trip
away with all the comfo..."

more

"What an amazing spot - very rustic but spotlessly clean. Huge indoor
enclosed boma with very well equipped kitchen and huge fireplace
for cosy winter nights. Room was very comfy with good mattresses,
duvets, heating etc. Highly recommended as a reasonable trip
away with all the comforts needed. We will definitely return to
Otters Bend Lodge."


"A Wonderful Place"

(South Africa) Christina | 27 April 2017

"We stayed at Otters Bend Lodge for 2 nights and it was lovely. The atmosphere is welcoming and the owners are generous with their time and advice. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and wondering around the grounds. The rooms were comfortable. I would recommend staying here and we plan on coming ag..."

more

"We stayed at Otters Bend Lodge for 2 nights and it was lovely. The atmosphere is welcoming and the owners are generous with their time and advice. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and wondering around the grounds. The rooms were comfortable. I would recommend staying here and we plan on coming again. "


"Total relaxation"

(South Africa) Ayesha | 24 January 2017

"Our stay at Otters Bend Lodge was very peaceful and relaxing. Mary checked us in on the day of our arrival and showed us to our cabin in the woods. The communal area was well stocked with crockery, cutlery, pans and pots etc.
We had a good 2 nights stay and would return for future getaways. more

"Our stay at Otters Bend Lodge was very peaceful and relaxing. Mary checked us in on the day of our arrival and showed us to our cabin in the woods. The communal area was well stocked with crockery, cutlery, pans and pots etc.
We had a good 2 nights stay and would return for future getaways.
"


"Comfortable Stay"

(South Africa) Carol | 9 January 2017

"My stay was a one night stop over and I felt very safe. The place is secluded, the bedrooms was neat and also clean. It was a great value for money."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Aldo | 30 December 2016

"The accommodation was really great. The environment was really nice and my stay was a good value for money. I will definitely stay there again."


"Memorable Experience"

(South Africa) Leon | 6 December 2016

"My wife and I were on honeymoon. The staff gave terrific service. They were friendly and very helpful. I cannot say I was sorry being there. The environment is so peaceful and quiet. Our stay was extremely brilliant. We will definitely go back and the place is highly recommendable."


"Beautiful And Peaceful"

(South Africa) anonymous | 17 October 2016

"What a lovely accommodation, such a peaceful and beautiful place. Surrounded by mountains, forest and a river, a great place to go to and relax. Just a stone throw away from main town Franschoek, with wonderful wine farms around it. We will definitely visit again soon!"


"Nature Is Calling"

(South Africa) Michaela | 3 October 2016

"Loved our stay at Otters Bend Lodge. Very quiet and wake up to the sounds of nature. Room has everything you need. Definitely an amazing break away from the hustle n bustle of the city."


"Amazing"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 September 2016

"The highlight will have to be the dinning area were all guests meet. We ended up even sharing food with the others, played games. Mark the owner joined us later on, we had a chat, gave us good advice, it was amazing, we had the best weekend ever."


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Craig | 20 April 2016

"We had a lovely stay at Otters Bend, we actually stayed at the camp site and it was an experience of note! We arrived late after a long day and we just follow the signage and found a site to set up camp. It was a wonderful new and exciting experience. Thanks!"


"Great Place"

(South Africa) anonymous | 5 April 2016

"We really enjoyed our stay at the Otters Bend Lodge. The cabins we lovely, it was cozy and comfortable. The staff was amazing and really friendly and helpful. The Lodge itself was beautiful, we loved the place."


"Fantastic stay."

(South Africa) Rachel | 13 March 2016

"We had a lovely stay at Otters Bend. 100% satisfied. We will be back. "


"Quiet retreat"

(South Africa) David | 9 March 2016

"A pleasant quiet retreat where I was able to sit on the deck at the end of each day watching squirrels in the trees. Such peace.
"


"Great Lodge"

(South Africa) Philipp | 29 February 2016

"The rooms are clean and comfortable, the communal kitchen braai area with pool is perfect for relaxing.
Set in the Forest and orchard I think this lodge is an ideal getaway.
"


"Otters Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) Tashreeq | 21 January 2016

"My stay was very good. No complaints whatsoever. I will recommend and revisit this establishment."


"Otters Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) Diane | 30 December 2015

"Everything was good. The rooms were fully equipped with everything we needed for the stay and it was very clean and tidy. I will recommend this establishment to others and definitely revisit in the future."


"Easy place"

(South Africa) anonymous | 23 December 2015

"Easy living. Nothing more than the most need."


"Great Experience"

(South Africa) Mandy | 22 December 2015

"Our stay here was more of an adventure and I would recommend it for overnights. Overall it was a good experience."


"Fantastic!"

(South Africa) Simone | 28 August 2015

"We went for a wedding and Otters Bend Lodge was the perfect place to stay. It was peaceful and very serene. Rooms were well equipped and very comfortable. Thank you for the great service."


"Very pleased"

(South Africa) Megan | 4 August 2015

"Beautifully located establishment with very friendly staff. I had a great stay."


"Stay in Franschhoek this winter"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 August 2015

"I had a pleasant time and the accommodation was really nice."


"A pleasure "

(South Africa) Jane | 31 July 2015

"This is a lovely accommodation which we enjoyed staying at. Being outside of the town was great."


"Stay @ Otters Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) Coeleen | 30 July 2015

"My husband and I only booked in for one night.The room was smaller than I imagine,but all you needed was there and it felt like camping in the woods, just you sleep in a bed! But with the load shedding, it was very cold, so if you decide to go in winter, take extra warm clothes and blankets, because..."

more

"My husband and I only booked in for one night.The room was smaller than I imagine,but all you needed was there and it felt like camping in the woods, just you sleep in a bed! But with the load shedding, it was very cold, so if you decide to go in winter, take extra warm clothes and blankets, because it gets a bit chilli. But it is a nice place and basically in town."


"The Cape Winelands"

(South Africa) LMG | 29 July 2015

"The hosts were very warm, welcoming and friendly. We really felt at home and the place was cosy and clean. I can't find fault with anything, so we were glad to have stayed here."


"Glad to have stayed at Otters Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) Clement | 3 June 2015

"What makes this place so amazing is the scenery. I was happy with my room as it suited my requirements: a bed and a bath. "


"Otters Bend Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 April 2015

"Needed accommodation on a limited budget for 5 staff members and two business owners for a night (worked close by on an estate). Was perfect for what we needed and economical. Clean, comfortable beds, warm water and cosy common room or communal kitchen. Rustic feel with lovely trees and bird life. "


"Franschoek"

(South Africa) Delport | 8 April 2015

"I really enjoyed the peace and quiet of this place and had such a pleasant time that I would really like to come stay again."


"Convenient and cheap"

(South Africa) anonymous | 9 March 2015

"We visited Franschoek for a wedding and just needed a bed for the night, so Otters Bend Lodge was quite adequate for our needs, as we didn't need to spend much time in the room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are next to the river and in a pear orchard which was rather unusual, but nice. Ma..."

more

"We visited Franschoek for a wedding and just needed a bed for the night, so Otters Bend Lodge was quite adequate for our needs, as we didn't need to spend much time in the room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are next to the river and in a pear orchard which was rather unusual, but nice. Mark was very helpful and lent me an iron and ironing board. He also provided tea and milk in the communal kitchen. "


"What a gem!"

(South Africa) Mr George | 2 March 2015

"A convenient, comfy, relaxing gem on the outskirts of Franschoek. Simple rooms and a brilliant communal area with a kitchen containing everything you could need to braai or cook. Great value for money and will definitely be back!"


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Ms van der Merwe | 10 February 2015

"The rooms were exactly like what was advertised on the website. Everything was very nice. We would make use of Otters Bend again and recommend to others."


"Hidden gem in Franschhoek"

(South Africa) Bailey | 29 January 2015

"We had a lovely stay! The rooms are cosy and neat, making it ideal for a romantic getaway for those on a budget. A forest on your doorstep, adds to the feeling of being far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The communal area was well equipped and had a very relaxing feel. Definitely worth..."

more

"We had a lovely stay! The rooms are cosy and neat, making it ideal for a romantic getaway for those on a budget. A forest on your doorstep, adds to the feeling of being far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The communal area was well equipped and had a very relaxing feel. Definitely worth a second visit!"


"We enjoyed our stay"

(South Africa) Cindy Lee | 26 January 2015

"We had a good time overall.
The place is lovely and cosy.
"


"Excellent!"

(South Africa) Mrs Ricky Nel | 14 January 2015

"I had an excellent stay at Otters Bend. The rooms were neat and clean. The surroundings were lovely. I will recommend them to others."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 January 2015

"Excellent surroundings and service is very good. Had a nice stay."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Mr Levitt | 9 January 2015

"Thank you very much for making my stay at Otters Bend pleasant. Oliver really has a good manner with the people that stay there. The place is really clean and well looked after. I will recommend them to others whenever I can. "


"Otters bend is perfect!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 26 November 2014

"Perfectly located accommodation in Franschhoek which is affordable for people from SA. Lovely surrounding trees and comfortable neat rooms, would stay there again!"


"Amazing holiday destination!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 17 November 2014

"The best weekend I've had in a while. Tranquil setting, sounds of the stream, and plush green trees from the cabin windows. Self-catering out doorsy feel. Great value for money!"


"Mr"

(South Africa) Schalk | 1 November 2014

"Being at Otters Bend Lodge, is absolute peace, quiet and tranquil! The mountains, orchards, little mountain-stream, twilight fire going, meeting interesting people at Otters, a glass of Franschhoek wine, family, friends and the Franschhoek sunset! What more?!"


"All good"

(South Africa) Steyn | 30 October 2014

"The stay went very well. It's a very nice place that I would recommend to others if they need this type of accommodation."


"October"

(South Africa) arendse | 9 October 2014

"We had a wonderful stay. Would stay here again. Have already recommended to others."


"Otters Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Hendricks | 27 August 2014

"Thank you for a lovely stay. We have already booked at this lodge again and would recommend to others."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Ms van Jaarsveld | 12 June 2014

"My stay at Otters Bend Lodge was great. I would recommend this place to others as well as revisit."


"Otter's Bend - Rustic charm"

(South Africa) Brian and Freda Brock | 5 May 2014

"We only stayed overnight and arrived through orchards in the dark. What a pleasure to wake up virtually at eye level with squirrels cavorting in the poplars, and to receive a doggy welcome from Titch. We loved the feel of emerging from our little pitched-roof room and making our way to the communal,..."

more

"We only stayed overnight and arrived through orchards in the dark. What a pleasure to wake up virtually at eye level with squirrels cavorting in the poplars, and to receive a doggy welcome from Titch. We loved the feel of emerging from our little pitched-roof room and making our way to the communal, rustic, farm style kitchen - spacious and homey with handcrafted furniture and artefacts from days gone by, a coal stove and massive pans that beg to be crammed with hearty food. The friendly owners have developed this idyllic spot in harmony with the natural environment. Perfect for simple living in what must surely be one of the most beautiful parts of the world. "


"Value for money"

(South Africa) Mrs Potgieter | 11 October 2013

"We enjoyed our stay,the place was lovely.Certainly affordable,great accommodation for the rate paid.Will recommend to family and friends."


"Lovely Sleep-over"

(South Africa) Ms Schoeman | 16 June 2013

"Planning a night in the very exclusive Franschhoek, we came across Otters Bend Lodge - not knowing what to expect...but we were pleasantly surprised! Just what you needed for a sleep-over between the vineyards. Will definitely return...with friends!"


"Good value"

(South Africa) Mr Brain | 20 May 2013

"Our family of 4 stayed at Otter's Bend for two nights during the Franschoek Literary Festival. We had a cabin with a double bed and double bunk, and a small bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable.
The communal area has a big wood burning fireplace and kitchen, together with long tables for..."

more

"Our family of 4 stayed at Otter's Bend for two nights during the Franschoek Literary Festival. We had a cabin with a double bed and double bunk, and a small bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable.
The communal area has a big wood burning fireplace and kitchen, together with long tables for communal eating. Each morning a plate of communal muffins arrived, still hot from the oven.
The venue is a 20 minute walk from the centre of Franshoek.
We found Richard the manager and the guests very friendly and welcoming, and would happily stay their again. Recommended for excellent value.
"


"Beautiful Night at the Otters"

(South Africa) Storm Tomlinson and Wesley Payne | 6 May 2013

"I have to say I wasn’t sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised, Otters Bend Lodge is easy to find, the views were spectacular and the river outside our door was heavenly and the staff members were welcoming. The Backpackers / Lodge are very neatly kept, made comfortable and the staff member..."

more

"I have to say I wasn’t sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised, Otters Bend Lodge is easy to find, the views were spectacular and the river outside our door was heavenly and the staff members were welcoming. The Backpackers / Lodge are very neatly kept, made comfortable and the staff members are friendly, and very accommodating with things that we needed. My boyfriend and I went away for a romantic evening and that’s exactly what we got. We will definitely be returning to Otter’s Lodge and bring a few mates with us as the place is superb.
"


"Stay at Otters Bend Lodge"

(South Africa) W Du Plessis | 18 June 2012

"Otters Bend Offers a very comfortable and affordable HQ from which to explore the beautiful Franschhoek. We will definitely be returning soon."


"great place fantastic service"

(Australia) anonymous | 14 May 2012

"Otter's Bend was brilliant!! We were in Franschoek for a wedding and had expected too take a taxi from Otter's Bend to the venue and back, however when we arrived our hosts (Clinton and Oliver) had organised to take and fetch us after the event! Thank you! The room was cute, clean and comfortable. L..."

more

"Otter's Bend was brilliant!! We were in Franschoek for a wedding and had expected too take a taxi from Otter's Bend to the venue and back, however when we arrived our hosts (Clinton and Oliver) had organised to take and fetch us after the event! Thank you! The room was cute, clean and comfortable. Looking out into the trees and hearing the river was brilliant. And then if you consider the price... I would recommend Otter's Bend to backpackers as well as other travellers who aren't concerned about their budget. Thanks again!"


"Homely"

(South Africa) Ms Smith | 26 March 2012

"Thank you to the friendly staff at Otters Bend Lodge, you made us feel right at home and part of the family, we had a peaceful nights rest in the most beautiful environment. Early morning coffee in the forest was so amazing... wish we could have stayed a bit longer. I highly recommend Otters Bend Lo..."

more

"Thank you to the friendly staff at Otters Bend Lodge, you made us feel right at home and part of the family, we had a peaceful nights rest in the most beautiful environment. Early morning coffee in the forest was so amazing... wish we could have stayed a bit longer. I highly recommend Otters Bend Lodge to those visiting Franschoek ... AWESOMENESS!!!"