Reviews of The Estuary Guest Chalets


"Estuary Guest Chalets St Lucia"

(South Africa) Lesley | 13 July 2019

"Great location. Chalets nice and clean and had all the amenities you need. Ria, the Manager is lovely. Highlight of the trip was watching a hippo coming out to graze in the garden in front of the chalets. "


"The place to stay"

(South Africa) Amith | 18 June 2019

"Neat, quiet and relaxing place to unwind. Great value for money, on the main road so close to all restaurants. House is always clean when you go for the day and come back. Staff always willing to do things to make you happy."


"Amazing stay all the time."

(South Africa) Andrew | 5 March 2019

"Absolutely amazing stay every time.
I only stay at The Estuary Chalets, when I travel own to see my kids for weekends.

Well maintained, excellent service,friendly staff.

Thank you so much."


"The Estuary Guest Chalets"

(South Africa) Julie | 26 December 2018

"We had a very pleasant stay at this establishment. On arrival at reception I was greeted warmly and the receptionist was very friendly, a dear lady. The chalet itself was big and spacious and clean. The braai area also spacious and very private. All the staff were very friendly and greeted us warmly..."

more

"We had a very pleasant stay at this establishment. On arrival at reception I was greeted warmly and the receptionist was very friendly, a dear lady. The chalet itself was big and spacious and clean. The braai area also spacious and very private. All the staff were very friendly and greeted us warmly every time they saw us. The swimming pool is large and clean. The price for our stay was reasonable, I would really go back to The Estuary Guest Chalets for a second stay."


"Beautiful set up"

Managie Naidoo | 5 April 2018

"Lovely modern cottage"


"St Lucia relaxation"

Claudette Paul | 4 April 2018

"Loved the location as it was walking distance from all shops and restaurants. Parking bays not very suv/bakkie friendly and did find it a bit unnerving that there's absolutely no security. Also had issues with the stove that didn't work properly and the lounge chairs became a bit uncomfortable after..."

more

"Loved the location as it was walking distance from all shops and restaurants. Parking bays not very suv/bakkie friendly and did find it a bit unnerving that there's absolutely no security. Also had issues with the stove that didn't work properly and the lounge chairs became a bit uncomfortable after a while. Other than that a pretty enjoyable stay as we had everything we needed within the unit. Really enjoyed all the outings and tours St Lucia has to offer."


"Definitely the trip through iSimangeliso to Cape Vidal and the fantastic day at Cape Vidal"

Marshnee Naidoo | 4 April 2018

"We were satisfied with the accommodation. It is scary when the electricity goes down and there is no water but thankfully this was only for a few hours and the Estuary has a generator. St Lucia is a gorgeous little place with such character and wonderful restaurants. Definitely recommend Baracca. ..."

more

"We were satisfied with the accommodation. It is scary when the electricity goes down and there is no water but thankfully this was only for a few hours and the Estuary has a generator. St Lucia is a gorgeous little place with such character and wonderful restaurants. Definitely recommend Baracca. Ria is a character and it is easy to misunderstand her if you don't know her. She was pleasant and accommodating. All in all a great weekend."


"Feb Stay"

Ed Cronje | 7 March 2018

"Very nice kept place to stay, clean comfortable and well worth it considering the price."


"The beautiful greenery and peacefulness of the surrounding area of the chalet."

Samantha Z Gregory | 7 March 2018

"I enjoyed my privacy, the reception was extremely helpful and courteous. The cleaning staff very proffesional and helpful. I struggled a bit with the wifi but it was not that important. I felt safe and came back rejuvinated will return definitely. Tx Ria your service was more than what I expected."


"Peaceful serene tranquil"

Dianne Paul | 4 March 2018

"Enjoyed our stay . Beautiful beach estuary with hippos are wonderful . Nature is unique here. Atmosphere is peaceful. Everything was neat. Clean. Could improve on getting an oven. Stove plates don't work well. Needs a touch up. No more leather coaches that we enjoyed the last time . Overall I woul..."

more

"Enjoyed our stay . Beautiful beach estuary with hippos are wonderful . Nature is unique here. Atmosphere is peaceful. Everything was neat. Clean. Could improve on getting an oven. Stove plates don't work well. Needs a touch up. No more leather coaches that we enjoyed the last time . Overall I would recommend this chalets to everyone. "


"Great swimming pool"

Ivan Breinholt Leth | 22 November 2017

"The swimming pool is situated in a lovely garden. At the end of the garden there is a view of the estuary. I have stayed in The Estuary Guest Chalets three times and will probably return."


"An enjoyable stay."

Roy Lokkers | 8 November 2017

"All one needs as a family to enjoy the beauty of St Lucia and surrounds."


"Heerlik gebly, baie dankie! "

Ninke Jonker | 15 October 2017

"Ons sal dit verseker aan beveel. Baie lekker gebly! Sentraal gelee. Mens het niks meer nodig nie. Dankie Ria! "


"Value for Money. "

Ram Sukraj | 6 October 2017

"Centrally located with all amenities. We really enjoyed our stay, as the chalet is very comfortable and clean. The chalet is very quiet and peaceful and the pool and garden area is very serene. Will definitely return on our next trip to St. Lucia. "


"My Stay in Estuary Guest Chalets"

Joan Naidoo | 12 September 2017

"The location is central, which is excellent."


"Courtesy from booking officer"

Thayalan Reddy | 20 August 2017

"Neat rooms pleasant environment
"


"Great value, great location"

Rutger Boshoff | 20 August 2017

"Very friendly manager. Fast wifi. Clean. On river which is great, had hippos against fence of property to the great excitement of my kids."


"Average"

Sharon Crawford | 25 June 2017

"The Estuary really needs a Handy Man. Cupboard doors falling off or gone and replaced by a curtain. Cabling crudely joined tape."


"Thank you, we enjoyed our stay "

Petro Pretorius | 11 June 2017

"Accomodation was afordable , clean and excellent hostess Tannie Ria was very friendly and helpfull. We will definatly visit again! "


"Spacy rooms, service good - ideal place to start for tours"

Gerd Fink | 1 April 2017

"Ria is the heart of all and always ready to help if it her responsibility or just a general request regarding tours, restaurants and so on. We felt warmly welcome and despite of some of OUR problems she stayed calm and kept on helping us. THANK YOU. Gerd"


"'"

(South Africa) Princess Mampa | 3 January 2017

"Great self catering units that have all that you need for food preparation. Loved that the fridge was not a bar fridge like most self catering establishments sometimes do.



The establishment could do with new towels the towels are quiet worn out.



Would recommend it t..."

more

"Great self catering units that have all that you need for food preparation. Loved that the fridge was not a bar fridge like most self catering establishments sometimes do.



The establishment could do with new towels the towels are quiet worn out.



Would recommend it to friends and return"


"'"

(South Africa) Fridah MASHABA | 28 December 2016

"The overall accommodation was ok, But the receptionist or owner not friendly. she was very rude. "


"good, basic place to stay"

(Netherlands) Maarten De Lange | 28 July 2016

"Good place to stay, right in the middle of town: walking distance to places to eat and/or drink. Nice quiet place to stay, good beds, good braai place, etc., but the place as a whole is in need of some maintenance. Still, overall: good value for money; I would go there again. "


"Wonderful location, beautiful chalets"

(South Africa) Heloise Hunter | 15 July 2016

"This was my second stay at Estuary Guest Chalets. The granite-topped kitchen had everything I needed. I am always grateful for crisp white percale linen which makes parting from my own bed much easier. Exquisite view of the sunset over the estuary from the gardens, and the hippo paths on the doorste..."

more

"This was my second stay at Estuary Guest Chalets. The granite-topped kitchen had everything I needed. I am always grateful for crisp white percale linen which makes parting from my own bed much easier. Exquisite view of the sunset over the estuary from the gardens, and the hippo paths on the doorstep are very exciting!


Mackenzie street is a convenient location for walks to the best restaurants, Spar, and the jetty.


All this at the lowest price I could find that wasn't a hostel. So impressed and will return.


"


"Estaury guest chalets"

(South Africa) Lesley Mills | 11 July 2016

"We stayed at the Estuary Guest Chalets for 8 days in July. The chalets were clean and well maintained. Lovely gardens with a stunning view of the estuary. We will definetly be going back next year."


"Long Weekend Break"

(Albania) Cheryl Marx | 20 June 2016

"My husband and I spent 4 days at the Estuary Guest Chalets - friendly staff and comfortable accommodation. ÊWe will definitely return.

Mike and Cheryl Marx

"


"Lovely Stay"

(South Africa) Sally van Niekerk | 24 May 2016

"We spend 7 nights at the Estuary and we enjoyed every moment. Excellent service, value for money, close to all restaurants and shops. Thank you Ria well be back and can recommend.

. Ê
"


"'"

(South Africa) Natasha Price | 16 May 2016

"We had a GREAT stay thanks for the wonderful holiday :)

"


"Peaceful and Restful"

(South Africa) Tamsin Laight | 29 March 2016

"We had a splendid 5 days there. ÊThe rooms of very neat and tidy and meet all your basic needs. ÊThe kids enjoyed the swimming pool and the location is great. ÊWe walked everywhere in town. ÊThank you for a wonderful stay and we will be back!"


"The best"

(South Africa) Dirk Badenhorst | 29 March 2016

"Our stay at The Estuary Guest Chalets was excellent. It is neat and clean and are serviced daily. It is well equipped and well priced. I highly recommend it.  .


"


"Unforgettable"

(Netherlands) Inna Gordok | 9 March 2016

"One of our best stays in S.A during 3 weeks vacation.

Perfectly clean, spacious, well equipped kitchen, great air-con, very beautifull garden with huge cocos palm trees and clean swimming pool.
Our stay was very relaxing. I've got a nostalgia thinking back about it.

more

"One of our best stays in S.A during 3 weeks vacation.

Perfectly clean, spacious, well equipped kitchen, great air-con, very beautifull garden with huge cocos palm trees and clean swimming pool.
Our stay was very relaxing. I've got a nostalgia thinking back about it.

"


"Very nice place"

(South Africa) Ngcamu Nokuthula | 7 March 2016

"We had a family weekend out and we had a lovely stay. very clean rooms, nice fully equiped kitchen. clean beds, new towels everyday. clean swimming pools and a beautiful balcony with swimming pool view



















The bathroom wa..."

more

"We had a family weekend out and we had a lovely stay. very clean rooms, nice fully equiped kitchen. clean beds, new towels everyday. clean swimming pools and a beautiful balcony with swimming pool view



















The bathroom was not so good but that was the only thing

"


"The Estuary Guest Chalets"

(Netherlands) Wouter Wevers | 4 January 2016

"

Stay only 2 days and it was excellent - staf very helpfull. Thanks



"


"'"

(South Africa) Zodwa Sibiya | 23 November 2015

"We really enjoyed our stay, the place is beautiful, clean and peaceful. We'll def. be booking there again next time we come to st lucia"


"Good place"

(South Africa) Tim Napier | 7 October 2015

"The accommodation was comfortable and basic. Definitely worth it, for what we paid, and very satisfied. If you want hotel standard, then pay hotel rates. The bathroom could do with some work, but the kitchen was great, and the airconÊhandled the large space comfortably. Close to shops and restaurants, and very convenient. Fresh towels daily, and unit cleaned and serviced daily. Thanks for a good stay."


"'"

(South Africa) Jolandi Stoltz | 5 October 2015

"Ons


"


"It was clean and comfortable"

(South Africa) Julie Bayes | 8 April 2015

"Short visit with my niece and boyfriend from overseas.
"


"clean and comfortable"

(South Africa) angelica Govender | 9 February 2015

"Berty was very welcoming even though we checked in 7 hours past the check in time. We had no issues with other guests. We were supplied with candles and back up lights in the case of load shedding. Unit was cleaned every morning. It was good, reasonable accommodation ..."

more

"Berty was very welcoming even though we checked in 7 hours past the check in time. We had no issues with other guests. We were supplied with candles and back up lights in the case of load shedding. Unit was cleaned every morning. It was good, reasonable accommodation for a family of four."


"41974"

(South Africa) sam stevens | 7 January 2015

"Ria is very friendly and goes out of her way to assist. The accommodation is nice - the bathrooms need extra attention."


"Happy family"

(South Africa) Hlengiwe Mtshali | 23 December 2014

"My stay at the guest house was very pleasant. We are a very young family, including my fiance and I. The guest house suited us very well. It was accommodating for our children; it's safe and secure, and it's clean. I liked the fact that the units are serviced daily. I liked that it's a walkable dist..."

more

"My stay at the guest house was very pleasant. We are a very young family, including my fiance and I. The guest house suited us very well. It was accommodating for our children; it's safe and secure, and it's clean. I liked the fact that the units are serviced daily. I liked that it's a walkable distance to restaurants. It's quiet. There's hot water. Clean towels. Ria was amazing when my fiance got a bit sick. I have no complaints. We will be coming back."


"Good value and service"

(South Africa) Marli Pretorius | 6 October 2014

"We enjoyed a three night stay at the Estuary Guest Chalets during a period when the town was severely affected by water and power cuts. The management made a real effort to ensure our comfort despite this and we actually had a great time there. The chalet (especially bathroom) is quite basic, but wa..."

more

"We enjoyed a three night stay at the Estuary Guest Chalets during a period when the town was severely affected by water and power cuts. The management made a real effort to ensure our comfort despite this and we actually had a great time there. The chalet (especially bathroom) is quite basic, but was in neat and clean condition. We will likely return."


"'"

(South Africa) Nikita Harris | 30 June 2014

"Very neat and clean, and so friendly. Will definitely be going back"


"Superb"

(South Africa) Praba Moonsamy | 5 May 2014

"The place was excellent and met our expectations. I would go back again . The pool was beautiful but requires more sunlight or a heating system as it was really cold."


"Good place to stay"

(South Africa) Sandra Galer | 5 May 2014

"The Estuary is in a great location, central on the main street of the town although set back from the road so not noisy. There is a well equipped kitchen (although a sharp chopping knife would be welcome), a small lounge and bedrooms. Although some of the fittings and style is a little dated, ever..."

more

"The Estuary is in a great location, central on the main street of the town although set back from the road so not noisy. There is a well equipped kitchen (although a sharp chopping knife would be welcome), a small lounge and bedrooms. Although some of the fittings and style is a little dated, everything is clean and works. We had a great stay and would recommend it. "


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Peter Giesler | 27 November 2013

"We enjoyed our stay very much, so much so that we immediately booked another longer stay. "


"Nice"

(South Africa) pikkie crafford | 8 April 2012

"Very nice garden and flat. Lily and her husband greeted us every morning with a smile. I will definitely stay here when."


"Brilliant place to stay"

(United Kingdom) Colin McLean | 15 August 2011

"We had a great time in St Lucia. The gardens at the Estuary guest house were nothing short of superb. As a keen gardener I loved walking through the paths every day. The management were professional and the whole operation runs smoothly with any queries attented to immediately. Thanks for a lovely t..."

more

"We had a great time in St Lucia. The gardens at the Estuary guest house were nothing short of superb. As a keen gardener I loved walking through the paths every day. The management were professional and the whole operation runs smoothly with any queries attented to immediately. Thanks for a lovely time and God bless you."


"Choose other resorts if you can SNQA - client asked for this to be removed"

(South Africa) Ryleen Balawanth | 10 October 2016

"My American friend and I came here for the weekend and were not very impressed.

We phoned reception at 7pm to tell her we were going to arrive at 8pm which she said was fine. Upon arrival she was quite rude and unfriendly and said she doesn't normally except check ins so late. Apparently b..."

more

"My American friend and I came here for the weekend and were not very impressed.

We phoned reception at 7pm to tell her we were going to arrive at 8pm which she said was fine. Upon arrival she was quite rude and unfriendly and said she doesn't normally except check ins so late. Apparently busy roads and heavy rain making us late is 'not her problem'.

The place is clean, however linen and towels are old and tired. One wonders about the the cleanliness of the sheets.

There are many other places to stay in St Lucia so maybe consider these rather than a place which acts like they are doing you a favour to stay there.
"


"A peaceful paradise"

(South Africa) Bontle | 10 January 2018

"The place was a delightful paradise, calm, relaxed and serene. Our chalets were cleaned with precision.
We made wonderful memories and had great fun. Located close to the restaurants and shops.
The estuary chalets is a nice venue for families with kids. It had a tropical garden a braai sta..."

more

"The place was a delightful paradise, calm, relaxed and serene. Our chalets were cleaned with precision.
We made wonderful memories and had great fun. Located close to the restaurants and shops.
The estuary chalets is a nice venue for families with kids. It had a tropical garden a braai stand. Such an exotic setting "


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Clive | 5 June 2017

"The chalet was comfortable and well-equipped. The facilities was clean, in working order and we enjoyed the private little braai area. We were happy with our stay."


"Good Location"

(South Africa) Stella | 25 May 2017

"Our two day stay at The Estuary Guest Chalets was enjoyable. We found the chalet well equipped, clean and centrally located. It was easy to find and close to all amenities."


"The Estuary Guest Chalets"

(South Africa) mogale | 3 January 2017

"We had a bad experience with the manageress. We were on our way to the venue arriving late due to unforeseen circumstances. On our way there she kept on calling, she was not polite and gave us the most unprofessional service by screaming at me over the phone for being late. When we got there we were..."

more

"We had a bad experience with the manageress. We were on our way to the venue arriving late due to unforeseen circumstances. On our way there she kept on calling, she was not polite and gave us the most unprofessional service by screaming at me over the phone for being late. When we got there we were not welcomed by anyone and not the manageress, because we were arguing with each other instead. The rooms was fine, but I just couldn’t enjoy myself, because of the weak service we received.

The Estuary Guest Chalets emailed: Thu 2017/01/05 11:40 AM

Reviews Rooms for Africa,

Thank you for this comment sent to us by Mr Mogale Nthite.
I also spoke to your office this morning regarding this.

Firstly I would like to comment about the phoning which I had a call from them to
Let me know they will be late. My practice at the Estuary is to phone the guests, if they have trouble
And I do not think any Lodge will wait till after 11pm to book guests.
We have a bell at the front door which all the guests use to let us know they are at reception.
This has been practice for many years even before I took over here. We start working
Very early in the morning and cannot be on duty 24 hours a day. When they
Let me know they at the door I came out. There is not another person only me and they are aware of that.

What they do not mention in their complaint is that they phone me the one day to go and switch the stove of,
Not saying where they were. I went to the one chalet they occupied (as they had two) , When I opened the
Door the whole chalet was covered in smoke. I did not ask them to pay for my bill for smoke inhaling.
The plate was left on its highest red and the pot on the stove was black with smoke all over. There was
No other chalets to move them to. We had to wash everything that was in that chalet because of the smell
Of smoke. I tried to phone them to come back to the chalet, no reply they were on
A two hour boat trip. So I did ask them to pay for the damage of the pot , which they cleaned somehow.
The guests in the chalet next to them also phoned to the office to let me know there is something
Burning in that chalet. The smoke was coming through the windows. So in future they should tell the whole
Story , they could have burnt the entire Estuary down.

Kind Regards
Ria

"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Julie | 29 June 2016

"We had an excellent stay at the Estuary, its a really lovely place.The chalet was fully equipped with everything, it met our needs perfectly. We had a really great stay, thank you."


"Enjoyable Stay"

(South Africa) Donovan | 14 April 2016

"I had a completely awesome stay, enjoyed it thoroughly and I will definitely go back again."


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Naomi | 4 April 2016

"We had a lovely time at The Estuary Guest Chalets. It is a really wonderful establishment, our chalet was spacious clean and comfortable. It was really nice and private and quiet, which was nice. We quite enjoyed seeing the baboons as well. We had an overall great time."


"BATH ROOMS, PARKING and OTHER ISSUES"

(South Africa) Lillian | 17 June 2015

"we found the chalets to be very clean indeed, (this was not our first stay, in fact it was our third) however we do feel that the bathrooms need a bit of a face-lift. In that, some of the tiles are broken, no plug for the bath had to use the plug from the kitchen sink. The inside dustbin lid was br..."

more

"we found the chalets to be very clean indeed, (this was not our first stay, in fact it was our third) however we do feel that the bathrooms need a bit of a face-lift. In that, some of the tiles are broken, no plug for the bath had to use the plug from the kitchen sink. The inside dustbin lid was broken. Then the main issue is that the parking for the guest that is provided in front of each chalet, the roof needs to be raised a bit. A lot of the modern SUV's are high and because we have one of those vehicles we had to park in front of the laundry. The table outside was also broken. All in all we really do love The Estuary Guest Chalets and always enjoy our stay."


"Great time here"

(South Africa) Mrs rebisz | 20 January 2015

"We had an absolutely fantastic time here. We want to return around Easter again. Highly recommended."


"The Estuary"

(South Africa) Natha | 2 January 2015

"My stay at The Estuary was very enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable and the staff were friendly. I will recommend them to others."


"Estuary Chalets"

(South Africa) Ms Rautenbach | 9 October 2014

"The accommodation is comfortable but we did experience problems. The first night we had no HOT water (we understand St Lucia has water issues at present). The next day our fridge was not working. We found that little details were unattended to, e.g., the plug in the kitchen sink let all the wa..."

more

"The accommodation is comfortable but we did experience problems. The first night we had no HOT water (we understand St Lucia has water issues at present). The next day our fridge was not working. We found that little details were unattended to, e.g., the plug in the kitchen sink let all the water through...one is asked to save water but two taps in the bathroom dripped all the time. The towels are very tired as is the bathroom. Can't understand, lovely modern kitchen but bathroom - one still showers in the bath. Needs a facelift desperately. The bathrooms of next door so close.....hear the screaming children from next door etc. A positive is that one can park right by the chalet and walk to the town without driving everywhere. "


"Relaxing environment"

(South Africa) Mr radinne | 7 October 2014

"My wife and I booked at The Estuary from the 2nd Oct to the 6th. We went to celebrate our 35th anniversary, we enjoyed our stay. THE ROOMS WERE BIG AND THE ATMOSPHERE WAS RELAXING. The environment was enjoyable I think I will recommend this resort to my friends and family hoping to get back for my 3..."

more

"My wife and I booked at The Estuary from the 2nd Oct to the 6th. We went to celebrate our 35th anniversary, we enjoyed our stay. THE ROOMS WERE BIG AND THE ATMOSPHERE WAS RELAXING. The environment was enjoyable I think I will recommend this resort to my friends and family hoping to get back for my 36th. "


"Home away from home"

(South Africa) Ntokozo | 25 September 2014

"We were warmly received by Ria, the guesthouse manager. She was absolutely lovely. She explained the water crisis currently being experienced in St. Lucia and to be honest, because of the provisions made, we didn't feel it.
The units were clean and the cleaning service did a great job daily. more

"We were warmly received by Ria, the guesthouse manager. She was absolutely lovely. She explained the water crisis currently being experienced in St. Lucia and to be honest, because of the provisions made, we didn't feel it.
The units were clean and the cleaning service did a great job daily.
The chalets are neat, tidy and very comfortable. Will recommend and even come back.
Thank you"


"Really nice"

(South Africa) Ms Sneyd | 22 July 2014

"The stay was absolutely wonderful and the staff were friendly. I would revisit and suggest it to others too."


"Happy"

(South Africa) Ms Moller | 18 July 2014

"I had a very pleasant stay at The Estuary Guest Chalets. I would certainly recommend a stay here to others and also come visit again."


"The Estuary Guest Chalets at St Lucia"

(South Africa) Mr Lemon | 1 May 2014

"The venue is clean, comfortable and relaxing. Close to all tourist attractions and eating establishments. The staff is friendly and helpful, maintaining a clean room for you. From the chalets the sunsets over the river are fabulous. Well worth every penny!"


"Great stay at Estuary"

(South Africa) Ms van der Westhuizen | 2 October 2013

"The Estuary is very well situated and the service was warm and friendly from everyone.Thank you so much for going the extra mile for us."


"Peace and Quiet"

(South Africa) Mr Martin | 22 December 2012

"We spent a week in the Estuary chalets which is ideally situated on the edge of St. Lucia. The chalets are clean, well equipped and quiet. The shaded pool is perfect after a long day at the beach. I would recommend the chalets to anyone and will definitely be back!"