Reviews of Santos Express Train Lodge


"Awesome stay at Santos Express Train Lodge."

(South Africa) heather | 23 February 2020

"Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Santos Express Train Lodge. People were very friendly and accommodation was very comfortable and clean. Loved the beautiful view of the beach. "


"Waarde vir geld"

(South Africa) Lorika | 25 March 2019

"It was a great experience for my child - who had never been in a train. She enjoyed it so much. The fact that the train was near the sea and she could play on the sand was extra bonus. Compartment was neat and clean as was the toilet and shower facilities.
Furthermore, I would definitely recomme..."

more

"It was a great experience for my child - who had never been in a train. She enjoyed it so much. The fact that the train was near the sea and she could play on the sand was extra bonus. Compartment was neat and clean as was the toilet and shower facilities.
Furthermore, I would definitely recommend it."


"Very nice experience !"

(South Africa) Veronique | 21 January 2019

"I really enjoyed my stay at Santos Train.
The staff is kind and efficient, the rooms / compartment and shared facilities are clean, and the view from your window, just amazing.
Will definitely do it again when I come back to Mossel Bay !"


"My stay at Santos"

(South Africa) stella | 20 December 2018

"My stay at Santos was lovely as for my first time to enjoy the experience of being in a train overnight.
"


"Having a hot shower!"

Patrick Leary | 29 March 2018

"Could give the handyman a can of Q20 to lubricate window and shutter slides."


"Diaz Festival "

Frederich de Jager | 4 February 2018

"Loved the stay....So close to the beach. Excellent restaurant on the premises. "


"Friendly staff"

Theresa Muller | 8 January 2018

"17/12/2017.
We had a wonderful time. Place was clean and the staff were wonderful. Pity the weather did not play along but we still had a wonderful time.
Andy and Theresa"


"Santos train lodge the best"

Siphokazi Dyasi | 18 September 2017

"Was such a nice experience oh the view of the sea when waking up in the morning, sooo clean for the value you pay and take you for the breakfast "


"Sleeping in a train coach next to the ocean."

Thelma Steinmann | 21 August 2017

"We loved the view from our balcony and room. Maybe a small gas barbeque will add to this amazing experience."


"The view - sunrise sunset!"

Karen Ferreira | 7 July 2017

"The only problem I had was that my full deposit, as paid to SafariNow, was not submitted to the Santos Express office and at first they expected me to pay in which would have meant that I had to pay and extra R122.50. Could you please explain that."


"Excellent stay"

Hannah Wood | 29 May 2017

"Amazing location and a great atmosphere. Will definitely be returning again!"


"Cocktails galore!!"

Elizabeth Tolken | 2 May 2017

"Having the Fork&Restaurant attached to the train - very convenient. The staff very helpful and friendly. Will definitely be visiting again"


"great stop over at the Santos Express"

(South Africa) Elden Clarke | 24 December 2016

"It was a great experience for our daughter who has never stayed on a train. Situated in a great spot. Enjoyed our 2 night stay over on our way to Gordons bay. The staff was great and very helpful. Enjoyed the restaurant and had plenty of cold beers."


"Best value for money"

(South Africa) Karen Ferreira | 16 October 2016

"We stay there whenever we pass through Mosselbay and have no reason to change our minds. Upgraded security a great comfort."


"SANTOS EXPRESS REVIEW"

(South Africa) Nicky Bester | 12 October 2016

"Well priced, very reasonable stay. Staff friendly and very accommodating. Stunning view for the price you pay. Well worth a visit."


"Delightful surprise"

(South Africa) Paige Potter | 15 August 2016

"What an amazing stay. First off, our bedroom had the most spectacular view of the ocean. The room was extremely clean and neat and the beds very comfy. I loved that it was a train- felt like being a kid again on a great adventure! We had a delicious dinner of calamari and hake at the pub, and a love..."

more

"What an amazing stay. First off, our bedroom had the most spectacular view of the ocean. The room was extremely clean and neat and the beds very comfy. I loved that it was a train- felt like being a kid again on a great adventure! We had a delicious dinner of calamari and hake at the pub, and a lovely light breakfast before we departed in the morning. Staff were friendly. All in all, we can highly recommend this lovely little place. "


"So quaint and cosy"

(South Africa) Nazeema Thebus | 1 August 2016

"My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary weekend at the Santos Express. The Royal Suite facing the beach was such bliss ... beautiful views, tranquil sound of the waves ... most relaxing. The accommodation was comfortable and cosy. Loved having our own little patio to braai and watch the ..."

more

"My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary weekend at the Santos Express. The Royal Suite facing the beach was such bliss ... beautiful views, tranquil sound of the waves ... most relaxing. The accommodation was comfortable and cosy. Loved having our own little patio to braai and watch the sun go down over the ocean. Friendly staff, great location and value for money. A lovely getaway - will definitely return :)"


"Wonderful time"

(South Africa) Juanita Williams | 26 May 2016

"We had such a great stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the establishment is wonderful. The sound of the waves puts a person in a tranquil peace of mind. Thank you"


"Beautyful"

(Germany) Ulrich Buxtrup | 15 January 2016

"The Royel Suite is very,very nice"


"Fanstastic"

(South Africa) Nagesh Deshpande | 11 August 2015

"Guys,
I always like to do something different.but this is unique.
I was not expecting a train bogie when i book this place. when I saw the place I loved it.
aunique place + on the beach + economicalunique place + on the beach + economical
all the best!!!
Thanks and Regards,"


"Experience to remember..."

(South Africa) Chrisna Calitz | 11 July 2015

"Well worth the visit. We enjoyed our stay. Will recommend Santos Express to others.
"


"'"

(South Africa) Nic Hanekom | 7 June 2015

"Stayed for one night and enjoyed the pub till early morning, friendly reception and waiters. Keep up the good service"


"Hennie & Wendylle Groenewald, South Africa"

(South Africa) Wendylle Groenewald | 27 May 2015

"We stayed in the Royal Suite and it was fabulous. Had a terrific stay there and loved the old world charm of the Royal Suite. The only negative for me was the breakfast, cereal and toast was what was on offer. If you wanted anything else you had to pay for it. Just think that if you stay in the Roya..."

more

"We stayed in the Royal Suite and it was fabulous. Had a terrific stay there and loved the old world charm of the Royal Suite. The only negative for me was the breakfast, cereal and toast was what was on offer. If you wanted anything else you had to pay for it. Just think that if you stay in the Royal Suite that perhaps they should look at including a proper breakfast as part of the package.
"


"'"

(New Zealand) Erika Venter | 19 December 2014

"Perfect The experience is highly commendable, very friendly staff and clean facilities."


"Family of 4"

(South Africa) Caroline Camons | 12 July 2014

"We enjoyed our stay at Santos express. The best part was being right on the ocean and hearing the waves throughout the night. Compartments were clean but, obviously, very small. We did not realize that we would not have towels for the shower - as travelers, we did not carry these with us. The beds w..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay at Santos express. The best part was being right on the ocean and hearing the waves throughout the night. Compartments were clean but, obviously, very small. We did not realize that we would not have towels for the shower - as travelers, we did not carry these with us. The beds were not very comfortable, but we slept very warm. You are, unfortunately, able to hear almost everything in the compartments next to you. The light breakfast was perfect, and the staff were extremely friendly. It was an affordable overnight stay which was pleasant. "


"Great Holiday"

(South Africa) Hannelie Brink-Gerber | 16 January 2014

"We recently spent a wonderful 7 night stay at Santos Express. We had the time of our lives! The people were friendly, the beach was on our doorstep and everything was just great! I would highly recommend anyone to experience a stay in the train and we look forward to our next visit."


"Very pleasant"

(South Africa) Johann Theron | 16 September 2013

"A very pleasant stay, closer to the beach you cant sleep...will stay here again. Good Value for your money. "


"Diamond in the rough"

(United Kingdom) Samantha Smuts | 28 April 2013

"Our family loved this little diamond in the rough. Yes, the facilities are basic, but the pictures advertised are a true reflection of what they offer. If your family is looking for something a little different, I would definitely recommend them. The kids will love it! Not to forget, the train is ri..."

more

"Our family loved this little diamond in the rough. Yes, the facilities are basic, but the pictures advertised are a true reflection of what they offer. If your family is looking for something a little different, I would definitely recommend them. The kids will love it! Not to forget, the train is right next to a stunning beach! "


"Adjustments"

(South Africa) Samuel Griesel | 26 February 2013

"I think your doors should be greased as it makes a noice when opening it and is very desturbing."


"Overnight stay"

(South Africa) pat van zyl | 9 February 2013

"We found the staff friendly and helpful. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. We would have liked to stay there on our return trip to East London but they were, unfortunately, fully booked. We sat on the deck of the restaurant to have out evening meal and thorougly enjoyed the view of the bea..."

more

"We found the staff friendly and helpful. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. We would have liked to stay there on our return trip to East London but they were, unfortunately, fully booked. We sat on the deck of the restaurant to have out evening meal and thorougly enjoyed the view of the beach and surrounds. The food was excellent and service good."


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) stephanie kriel | 19 October 2012

"A trip down memory lane. Clean accommodation, pleasant staff. Will recommend to others."


"Heerlik"

(South Africa) Debi du Plessis | 8 October 2012

"Dit was heerlik! Ons gaan beslis weer 'n draai maak! Die kos by die restaurant was ook heerlik."


"Fun for the kids!"

(South Africa) Alexandra Whittington-Jones | 6 September 2012

"Our children all enjoyed their stay in the train. Nothing fancy but a good experience. Good value for money."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Michelle Horton | 13 August 2012

"We had a great time there, will definitely recommend it!"


"Nice"

(South Africa) Walton Husselman | 4 May 2012

"I had a very nice stay at Santos Express. The service and the people was at a very high standard. Friendly service. Thank you very much to everyone of Santos Express."


"Go to sleep and wake up to the sound of the sea"

(South Africa) Lynn strydom | 4 April 2012

"Great position. All rooms have sea views. beach right in front of you. Room clean and beds are comfy.

Only negative is that you are staying in a train coach, so it is small, but there is more than enough to do in the area so you only need the room to sleep in.

Staff friendly and help..."

more

"Great position. All rooms have sea views. beach right in front of you. Room clean and beds are comfy.

Only negative is that you are staying in a train coach, so it is small, but there is more than enough to do in the area so you only need the room to sleep in.

Staff friendly and helpful."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) lisa gardner | 27 March 2012

"We had an awesome stay at Santos Express. Thank you very much, we will definitely do it again."


"Different and good!"

(South Africa) John Coombe | 14 March 2012

"We thoroughly enjoyed being so close to the beach and having a clean and comfortable suite on the train. The food in te restaurant was good too. Fun being amongst the younger set!"


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Anel Grobler | 5 March 2012

"Don't think you'll find better accommodation at this price. It's a real bargain. The train is located right on the beach and a 5 minute walk to town. We had a very pleasant stay. Nice and clean and the staff friendly. Tip: If you are in the mood for cocktails, pop around to the Legendary Blue O..."

more

"Don't think you'll find better accommodation at this price. It's a real bargain. The train is located right on the beach and a 5 minute walk to town. We had a very pleasant stay. Nice and clean and the staff friendly. Tip: If you are in the mood for cocktails, pop around to the Legendary Blue Oyster Bar (on the other side of the museum). They have yummy sushi and amazing cocktails. Great spot to chill."


"Unique"

(South Africa) Annette Waagemans | 13 November 2011

"The place is unique, the setting beautiful. "


"Quirky!"

(South Africa) Tony Stowell | 5 November 2011

"Most friendly and helpful reception. Accommodation very clean and the value for money unbelievable. Walks on the beach. Proximity to town and the great food in their restaurant make it a must for a one- or two-night stopover! Suggest you stay near the front of the train. My overseas guests wish to..."

more

"Most friendly and helpful reception. Accommodation very clean and the value for money unbelievable. Walks on the beach. Proximity to town and the great food in their restaurant make it a must for a one- or two-night stopover! Suggest you stay near the front of the train. My overseas guests wish to return to the Santos Express on their next visit!"


"Stunning"

(South Africa) Monica Cloete | 17 October 2011

"We had our honeymoon here and loved every moment of it. It's right on the beach. I recommend Santos Express to anyone wanting a great stay. Thank you."


"Santos beach experience"

(South Africa) Quentin Marais | 10 July 2011

"Comfortable. What a pleasure to be right on the beachfront. Staff very good."


"My exceptional stay at Santos Express"

(South Africa) theo Bailey | 4 May 2011

"Thank you, we had an excellent stay at Santos Express. The accommodation was lovely, the absolute close view of the beach, the sea and the mountains were excellent. The service in the restaurant was exceptional and the close proximity to the town and all the other amenities was just what we wanted. ..."

more

"Thank you, we had an excellent stay at Santos Express. The accommodation was lovely, the absolute close view of the beach, the sea and the mountains were excellent. The service in the restaurant was exceptional and the close proximity to the town and all the other amenities was just what we wanted. Security was also excellent. We will certainly be back and will recommend it to all our friends and family. Thank you once again and keep up the good work. "


"Discovering an earlier era......!!!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 28 May 2018

"Pleasant overnight stay. Comfortble clean beds and very friendly and helpul service. Beautiful view, and lapping of waves is a lullaby. Location is good. Longing for an old fashioned train compartment with happy memories?? this is the place! Very affordable. "


"My stay "

(South Africa) stacylee | 30 January 2018

"Good day
I have to say me and my partner had a lovely stay at Santos lodge. The staff was so friendly and having some braai listening to the waves was very nice. Having breakfast having a view of the beach was phenomenal.I will definitely go again very relaxing, parking is safe, clean bedding no..."

more

"Good day
I have to say me and my partner had a lovely stay at Santos lodge. The staff was so friendly and having some braai listening to the waves was very nice. Having breakfast having a view of the beach was phenomenal.I will definitely go again very relaxing, parking is safe, clean bedding nothing i can complain about. Loved it"


"Sleeping on the beach :)"

(South Africa) Vusi | 30 December 2017

"The experience is out of this world, heaven on earth. We stayed in a Royal Suite and it was on point, spacious and comfy. Secure parking and wait for it - breakfast was good! Soothing sound of waves 24/7, more refreshing at night. Would surely come back."


"Memories"

(South Africa) Linda | 14 August 2017

"What a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean. Great food. Beautiful beach. I'm going back for sure!!"


"Amazing stay"

(South Africa) Penny | 14 July 2017

"This was really something different to your ordinary holiday resorts. Quite fascinating and unique. It was clean and tidy. Spacious considering it's a train. Was in a safe location. I met the owner who is delightful in every way. Makes sure her guests are well taken care of. I would definitely like ..."

more

"This was really something different to your ordinary holiday resorts. Quite fascinating and unique. It was clean and tidy. Spacious considering it's a train. Was in a safe location. I met the owner who is delightful in every way. Makes sure her guests are well taken care of. I would definitely like to stay on this train again and I'd recommend it to anyone."


"Lovely Time"

(South Africa) Caroline | 26 May 2017

"We had a lovely time. The staff was friendly, food was great and we enjoyed everything else about the place."


"Themed Family Accommodaction"

(South Africa) Ellie | 24 April 2017

"What a wonderful experience to sleep on the Santos Express Train Lodge. The train is a real old train that has been kept spick & span and is situated just a grass verge from the beach. The views from the rooms are spectacular. Extra blankets were provided and the bedding crisp and clean. The recepti..."

more

"What a wonderful experience to sleep on the Santos Express Train Lodge. The train is a real old train that has been kept spick & span and is situated just a grass verge from the beach. The views from the rooms are spectacular. Extra blankets were provided and the bedding crisp and clean. The reception Is open 24/7 with friendly and helpful staff. We had two 'rooms' containing 2 single beds. Although there is no cupboards, there is plenty of packing space and hooks to hang things on. The beds are cozy which tall folk will find uncomfortable. Bring towels to use for showering."


"Nice Experience"

(South Africa) Zoë | 30 January 2017

"I had a really nice experience staying on a train for a few days. The staff was friendly, they gave great service. It was clean and what I expected. I enjoyed myself."


"Excellent Service "

(South Africa) Wally | 6 December 2016

"We thoroughly enjoyed our over-night stay. It was so enjoyable and wanted to extend it. The friendly staff at reception was very professional and helpful including the waiters. The whole set-up including sleeping quarters, dining cart and bar was well received by all patrons using these facilities. ..."

more

"We thoroughly enjoyed our over-night stay. It was so enjoyable and wanted to extend it. The friendly staff at reception was very professional and helpful including the waiters. The whole set-up including sleeping quarters, dining cart and bar was well received by all patrons using these facilities. I will definitely make use of it again. "


"What A View!"

(South Africa) Imraan | 1 November 2016

"The staff was friendly and accommodating. Facilities were more than adequate. The view was stunning. Really enjoyed my stay here. Definitely coming back."


"Novel, Yet Practical"

(South Africa) anonymous | 18 July 2016

"We absolutely loved our stay! We rented one of the luxury suites and were not disappointed. The walls were all wooden paneled, the light switches were those real little toggle switches and the sink folds out of the wall. Very authentic. Also, the beach was literally outside the window which is alway..."

more

"We absolutely loved our stay! We rented one of the luxury suites and were not disappointed. The walls were all wooden paneled, the light switches were those real little toggle switches and the sink folds out of the wall. Very authentic. Also, the beach was literally outside the window which is always great.
The train is within walking distance of the Dias museum complex and several nice restaurants. It was lovely."


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) David | 18 April 2016

"The Train Lodge was a great choice for an overnight stay. I had no problems at all and would definitely go back."


"Overnight "

(South Africa) Frank | 16 March 2016

"Very comfortable stay - neat clean and pleasant staff - worth every cent, will stay again."


"It was perfect for a stop along the way"

(South Africa) thabo | 2 February 2016

"My stay was good, not too bad. It was perfect for a stop along the way. I will surely recommend to others and I will re-visit this establishment if ever in this area again."


"Santos Express Train Lodge"

(South Africa) Christopher | 29 January 2016

"My stay at this establishment was very good, it met my expectations very well. I will surely recommend and re-visit in the future."


"Awesome Accommodation"

(South Africa) Emilia | 25 January 2016

"My stay was great, no complaints whatsoever. I will highly recommend and definitely re-visit this establishment again if I'm in the Western Cape."


"Beautiful and welcoming place"

(South Africa) Mary | 15 January 2016

"I enjoyed every day if the visit, it place is easily accessible and close to Mossel bay attractions. Myself an Mr Dias love the museum and the staff at Santos Express was friendly and warm. Met different tourist from all over the world and the train was clean and all was good."


"Unique experience"

(South Africa) Bethany | 11 January 2016

"Loved falling asleep to the sound of the sea. Beautiful view. Friendly staff. Yummy calamari. Very cool vibe."


"Enjoyed our stay."

(South Africa) Leon | 10 December 2015

"Santos didn't disappoint at all. We stayed only one night but wished afterwards we would have stayed longer. We really enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend this establishment."


"Most enjoyable experience."

(South Africa) Heather | 28 November 2015

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Santos Express Train Lodge. Great location and reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and efficient."


"Enjoy the ride"

(South Africa) Jens | 16 November 2015

"We stayed only one night in the royal cabin but wished afterwards we would have stayed longer. Sea view and beach are perfect as is the cabin. Staff are friendly and the restaurant really good. We loved it."


"Fun fun fun!"

(South Africa) Melroy | 20 September 2015

"We were a group of eight looking for a great adventure!!! Santos didn't disappoint at all! The rooms are a bit tight but that's what we expected; knowing its a train. If you are looking for luxury than santos is not the right place; but if you looking for fun(like we did) than this is the place to g..."

more

"We were a group of eight looking for a great adventure!!! Santos didn't disappoint at all! The rooms are a bit tight but that's what we expected; knowing its a train. If you are looking for luxury than santos is not the right place; but if you looking for fun(like we did) than this is the place to go! Very friendly staff! Fantastic sea view! Keep up the good work guys!"


"A memorable experience"

(United Kingdom) Cathy | 26 March 2015

"Our stay in a Royal Suite was a dip back into the time of gracious living and travel. A lovely location on the edge of the ocean with the sound of the waves lapping the shore. Helpful and friendly staff. A lovely and memorable experience."


"Very happy with the establishment"

(South Africa) WD | 3 March 2015

"Everything about this establishment was really excellent. We felt very comfortable in our room as well."


"Accommodation with a difference"

(South Africa) Ms Alexander | 14 January 2015

"Staying at Santos Express was an experience like no other. Although the rooms are not the biggest it gives you the feeling of travelling on a couch train. We spend most of the day exploring surrounding areas or on beach and the location of the Santos Express is ideal. With a beautiful beach at your ..."

more

"Staying at Santos Express was an experience like no other. Although the rooms are not the biggest it gives you the feeling of travelling on a couch train. We spend most of the day exploring surrounding areas or on beach and the location of the Santos Express is ideal. With a beautiful beach at your doorstep that is very safe for children to play and a restaurant with friendly service and excellent food to keep adults entertained. Santos Express is definitely accommodation with a difference!"


"Santos Express Train Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Ally | 17 December 2014

"I had a pleasant stay at Santos Express. It was a awesome experience sleeping on a train. It was right by the beach which was very convenient. I recommend them to others. I will make use of the Rooms for Africa website again, it's easy and convenient."


"Stay at Santos"

(South Africa) vister | 10 December 2014

"It was good to stay at Santos the sea at your door step. The services was good. I recommend to anyone that you go and visited yourself (value of your money).
Thumbs up Santos Express!"


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Ritson | 10 December 2014

"I had a good experience at Santos Express Train Lodge. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I will be returning at the end of the month. I will use the Rooms for Africa site again as it is very convenient and easy."


"Pleased!"

(South Africa) Carikas | 4 December 2014

"The stay was lovely and the accommodation was good value for money. I certainly recommend this place."


"WHAT A WACKY NIGHT"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 6 November 2014

"We had a great experience. Room was petite but comfortable. Shared facilities were clean and nearby. Restaurant and bar had a good selection of food and drink. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. "


"Santos Express Train Lodge - Real value for money"

(South Africa) Mr Van Der Vyver | 6 February 2014

"What a brilliant idea. We were received by friendly, competent staff who quickly assured that we were settled in. The vehicle guard was a real bonus and we slept better knowing that our vehicle and possessions were safe.
Supper was a real treat. A wonderful menu to choose from served by a won..."

more

"What a brilliant idea. We were received by friendly, competent staff who quickly assured that we were settled in. The vehicle guard was a real bonus and we slept better knowing that our vehicle and possessions were safe.
Supper was a real treat. A wonderful menu to choose from served by a wonderful waiter.
Be assured, we will return to check out the "new" carriage.
Thank you for making our long and tiring journey just a little better.
"


"Great fun and great value"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Stokes | 4 February 2014

"What a fun place to stay.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Clean and tidy carriages.
Fantastic location right on the beach.
Would highly recommend for a fun alternative night of accommodation.
Many thanks
"


"perfect and exciting holiday accommodation"

(South Africa) Mrs Du Plooy | 19 October 2013

"We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the establishment. It is very neat and tidy especially the shared bathroom facilities. The establishment is perfectly situated next to the beach with shopping malls and restaurants not far from it. I'd like to take this opportunity to thank the friendly and he..."

more

"We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the establishment. It is very neat and tidy especially the shared bathroom facilities. The establishment is perfectly situated next to the beach with shopping malls and restaurants not far from it. I'd like to take this opportunity to thank the friendly and helpful staff. God bless you."


"Beautiful Beach"

(South Africa) Mrs Friend | 26 September 2013

"We enjoyed our stay at Santos Express Train Lodge and the fact that the ocean was just a step away was excellent.Beautiful place to relax.I was definitely satisfied with the accommodation."