Reviews of Zuurberg Mountain Village


"A wonderful time at Zuurberg Mountain."

Jos Coumans | 20 February 2018

"Excellent and very friendly staff, wonderful location, delicious breakfast and dinner. WeÕll return defnitley.

"


"The luxurious stay in that chalet with the view!"

Brunette Van Vuuren | 15 January 2018

"The gravel roads could improve. A map of the area would be interesting. The meals were delicious and the staff very help full. "


"beautiful location"

Cullen Penny (Mr) | 20 November 2017

"small thing, but no towels in room.
assistance with changing tyre and cleaning car was much appreciated
road is a shocker :-)"


"Beautiful location, historic site"

Tineke Jacobsen | 7 October 2017

"Large rooms, heated floors, good quality amenities "


"The warm and friendly staff, nice rooms and game drive "

Suzanne King | 13 August 2017

"The atmosphere is amazing. Been going for years. I do think with the food they can improve slightly by catering for health conscious people too so not sugar loaded veg. As for the rest- we loved every moment "


"Lovely stay"

Amanda Smit | 23 July 2017

"Loved everything but the fact that there was no TV in the room was a but of a let down."


"Underfloor heating!"

Ed Lunnon | 9 July 2017

"Hotel was great. Pity about the road to the hotel and no warning about it being a bad gravel road of some 16 km"


"Just Everything"

Elrina Joubert-Huebner | 25 May 2017

"The Safari was Overwelming"


"Beautiful views!"

Debra Webster | 1 May 2017

"We loved our beautiful room with views over the rolling hills. The evening buffet was delicious. "


"What a wonderful stay"

David Lemmer | 20 March 2017

"Wow ...what a wonderful stay we had ...the memories of 16 yrs ago when my wife and I got engaged there, came flooding back. It still has that old fashioned charm with first class facilities. Both Dinner and breakfast were TOP NOTCH !!! The only thing I would have a tiny gripe about is that a double ..."

more

"Wow ...what a wonderful stay we had ...the memories of 16 yrs ago when my wife and I got engaged there, came flooding back. It still has that old fashioned charm with first class facilities. Both Dinner and breakfast were TOP NOTCH !!! The only thing I would have a tiny gripe about is that a double bed instead of 2 x singles pushed together would have made it even better. But all in all it was a wonderful stay and I would recomend it to Anyone !!"


"Great Relaxing time."

(South Africa) Fred Pohl | 5 October 2016

"Excellent attention from staff, accomodation, meals and views. Definitely will be recommending to other travellers."


"Great Time"

(South Africa) debbie | 30 September 2016

"I was very impressed, I had a really good time. Everything about the place is great, the service is fantastic. I would definitely go back again soon."


"Magnificent location"

(South Africa) Elaine Sykes | 19 July 2016

"We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Zuurberg mountain Village. The chalets are situated on the ridge of a hill overlooking Addo . ÊThe gardens are extensive, well maintained and well establishedwith lovely Ê old trees.

The rooms are airy, light and generous with lovely views. The showers are a tre..."

more

"We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Zuurberg mountain Village. The chalets are situated on the ridge of a hill overlooking Addo . ÊThe gardens are extensive, well maintained and well establishedwith lovely Ê old trees.

The rooms are airy, light and generous with lovely views. The showers are a treat all of their own and the breakfasts and evening buffets quite exceptional.
Even in midwinter the Underfloor heating in the bathroom helped to warm the room and so the only thing we would have wished for was some blankets instead of the duvets.Ê
It is obviously a family friendly place and the atmosphere around the fire in the evenings was most pleasant.Ê



"


"Absolutely Fantastic"

(South Africa) Jackie | 23 May 2016

"We had a fantastic stay at the Inn. It was so very nice there so, the lovely garden was so quiet and relaxing, the mountain views were truly beautiful. The service was really wonderful and the people were very friendly and helpful. I was very happy with my stay and would love to go back again."


"Excellent service and food at Zuurberg Inn"

(South Africa) Caroline Gibson | 28 December 2015

"We had a superb time at the Zuurberg Mountain inn. Clifford , our designated waiter, was attentive and smiley. We enjoyed every moment we were there. The rooms are comfy and clean and the food is very good.

"


"Return Visit"

(England) Ian Mackrell | 17 October 2015

"we last stayed exactly 50 years ago. To our surprise the current owner has created a wonderful experience. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The dining experience for dinner and breakfast was first class. We didn't do any organised trips but these are numerous and not expensive.

We wi..."

more

"we last stayed exactly 50 years ago. To our surprise the current owner has created a wonderful experience. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The dining experience for dinner and breakfast was first class. We didn't do any organised trips but these are numerous and not expensive.

We will be back soon.
"


"'"

(South Africa) Gerrit Oosthuizen | 10 July 2015

"negatives;; geen braaigeriewe


                  geen dstv


                  geen mikrogolfoond

..."

more

"negatives;; geen braaigeriewe


                  geen dstv


                  geen mikrogolfoond


                 restaurant net groot etes saans, geen


                 alternatief.


                 voertuie 4/10


                safaries ,oop voertuig;koud


pos: netheid 9/10


        kos baie goed


        uitsig baie mooi


        diens 9/10


"


"Outstanding Service"

(South Africa) Natalie Dil | 19 February 2015

"We had the absolute pleasure of staying at Zuurberg Mountain Village for a few nights. The set up is outstanding and the staff extra friendly, who go out of their way for one. An excellent and memorable experience and will definitely be returning."


"A great stay"

(South Africa) Marius Van Niekerk | 2 February 2015

"Beautiful view and scenery, great food, with very friendly and helpful staff! Lovely and rustic country hotel. Definitely a peaceful place to relax and enjoy."


"'"

(South Africa) penelope geerdts | 26 December 2014

"Lovely spot! All staff were exceptionally friendly, and very accommodating to us. Good healthy food."


"Pleasant experience"

(South Africa) Ms Heyns | 30 June 2014

"Our stay was very nice. It is a place I would return to for another stay and also tell others about."


"Not quite the rest and relaxation it promises."

(South Africa) Wendy McCallum | 3 March 2014

"Generally accommodating staff. Prospective guests should be informed of events to be hosted at the establishment. Unfortunately not the quiet getaway we were looking for. Event participants, even those not staying at the establishment, took over most facilities."


"Lekker"

(South Africa) Daan Van heerden | 16 December 2013

"Kamers, heerlik ge noeg spasie en luuks.

Onthaalarea is fantasties. Kos is besonders. Rit na wildtuin was baie aangenaam en n moet vir tokomstige gaste. Die personeel is baie goed opgelei en die einaar was altyd sigbaar en het persoonlik omgesien na ons behoeftis."


"Baie dankie"

(South Africa) nicolette delport | 16 September 2013

"Baie dankie vir 'n wonderlike naweek. Ons eenheid was pragtig en die kos uit die boeke. Dankie vir die wonderlike diens. Sien julle binnekort!"


"ZUURBERG REVIEW"

(South Africa) Charles Roberts | 22 July 2013

"Zuurberg is a very pleasant resort that is worth visiting always. The food is outstanding and the accommodation very good. Underfloor heating in the bathrooms and aircon/heating in the rooms is excellent. Not the fault of the hotel, but 3G is limited so you have to collect mail on free Wi-Fi (good f..."

more

"Zuurberg is a very pleasant resort that is worth visiting always. The food is outstanding and the accommodation very good. Underfloor heating in the bathrooms and aircon/heating in the rooms is excellent. Not the fault of the hotel, but 3G is limited so you have to collect mail on free Wi-Fi (good feature) in the lounge. Otherwise a top location."


"Excellent stay"

(South Africa) Phil Viljoen | 14 July 2013

"Excellent stay."


"Weekend getaway"

(South Africa) Joan Saayman | 13 May 2013

"We found it very restful with lovely views and surrounding gardens a joy to behold. Friendly staff and good service enhanced our stay. The cuisine was very good and the manor room very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting around the huge fire in the main lounge where one could also connect to the Int..."

more

"We found it very restful with lovely views and surrounding gardens a joy to behold. Friendly staff and good service enhanced our stay. The cuisine was very good and the manor room very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting around the huge fire in the main lounge where one could also connect to the Internet and meet fellow visitors.

It is a lovely weekend getaway. "


"Stunning place"

(South Africa) Wynand van Dyk | 6 April 2013

"Used Zuurberg as overnight stop - should have stayed for at least 3 nights. What a great experience!! Highly recommended and will be back."


"Up in the hills"

(South Africa) | 9 March 2013

"We stayed two nights in Zuurberg Mountain Inn a very historic and scenic place. We had a nice and clean cottage and a fantastic view into the lower land.

The staff and the owner are willing to help you with almost every thing. They gave us the tip for a private elephant ride, what turned out..."

more

"We stayed two nights in Zuurberg Mountain Inn a very historic and scenic place. We had a nice and clean cottage and a fantastic view into the lower land.

The staff and the owner are willing to help you with almost every thing. They gave us the tip for a private elephant ride, what turned out to be a fantastic experience. It's just an hour ride from the Inn, which you should only do in 4x4.

Only the food and wine they serve didn't match the expected quality. Nevertheless the German travel group loved it. "


"Nice stay"

(South Africa) Nikki Forster | 2 January 2013

"Zuurberg is in a beautiful location and worth the drive up to it. The Village rooms are beautiful, very comfortable and well furnished. Mini bar and facilities much appreciated.



Would have been nice if, early in the morning, less light streamed in through the open bathroom.

..."

more

"Zuurberg is in a beautiful location and worth the drive up to it. The Village rooms are beautiful, very comfortable and well furnished. Mini bar and facilities much appreciated.



Would have been nice if, early in the morning, less light streamed in through the open bathroom.



Food was good.



Henk was extremely helpful giving advice on where to find game in Addo. However the hotel did lack a warmth and welcoming feeling at times.





"


"Lovely find and well worth the drive"

(United Kingdom) Sheonagh Beaton | 6 August 2012

"We stayed two nights at Zuurberg but could easily have stayed longer. We were given the choice of a room or a cottage which was excellent.

The staff were friendly and the food was great.

They also suggested a trip to Schottia Game Reserve which was undoubtedly the highlight of our tri..."

more

"We stayed two nights at Zuurberg but could easily have stayed longer. We were given the choice of a room or a cottage which was excellent.

The staff were friendly and the food was great.

They also suggested a trip to Schottia Game Reserve which was undoubtedly the highlight of our trip."


"What can I say?"

(South Africa) Rolien Prinsloo | 23 April 2012

"We had a three day stay at Zuurberg Mountain Village and boy, oh boy, were we spoilt. The surrounding area is amazing, the gardens are stunning, the rooms very comfortable and the food was beyond delicious. The staff were all very friendly and professional and really went out of their way to make ..."

more

"We had a three day stay at Zuurberg Mountain Village and boy, oh boy, were we spoilt. The surrounding area is amazing, the gardens are stunning, the rooms very comfortable and the food was beyond delicious. The staff were all very friendly and professional and really went out of their way to make us feel at home.



I did not want to go home. This is the type of place that one goes back to time and again."


"Very pleasant old-fashioned charm"

(Spain) Mr Butler | 11 March 2012

"The approach road - 16 km of dirt road - is a bit daunting, but it is worth the climb to reach this charming place. The welcome is very warm, and the rooms and communal areas are delightful. The rooms are well equipped, with air-conditioning, fridge, hair dryer, etc., and the small carafe of sherr..."

more

"The approach road - 16 km of dirt road - is a bit daunting, but it is worth the climb to reach this charming place. The welcome is very warm, and the rooms and communal areas are delightful. The rooms are well equipped, with air-conditioning, fridge, hair dryer, etc., and the small carafe of sherry is very welcoming. A real plus is that they don't charge corkage if you bring your own wines. This is a good spot to stay if you are visiting the Addo park."


"Did we like Zuurberg"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Plaskett | 1 March 2012

"We thought the accommodation with en suite bathroom was spacious and very comfortable. All the staff were extremely competent and helpful as well as friendly. Once there the views are fantastic and one is forced to stay put and relax, which is what a holiday is for."


"Wonderful"

(Netherlands) Rob Burgerhout | 6 March 2011

"Wonderful place and beautiful rooms. Close to the Addo Elephant Park. The manager, his wife and the cook were very friendly and kind people."


"Super"

(South Africa) Maurice Demmers | 2 March 2011

"Wonderful in everything , breathtaking views and super service. "


"Weekend at Zuurberg Mountain Inn"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 13 September 2010

"After the 3 hour hike all 12 of us were heartily welcomed at the Inn. We enjoyed the many facilities for relaxation, the area around the fireplace, yummy food, children's play areas. Nice all-round treat for all of us. Thanks. Will come again."


"All in all a very relaxing long-weekend"

(South Africa) Alan E | 4 February 2010

"We were not aware that the hotel had been burnt down and subsequently rebuilt - so we were extremely pleasantly surprised by the new accomodation in the "village" section and the general upgrade of the old main building. The outdoor shower was a great novelty and was extremely well received. All fur..."

more

"We were not aware that the hotel had been burnt down and subsequently rebuilt - so we were extremely pleasantly surprised by the new accomodation in the "village" section and the general upgrade of the old main building. The outdoor shower was a great novelty and was extremely well received. All furnishings throughout are of a high standard and the veranda is a delightful place to just "chill" and have a drink while lounging on the large sofas. The lounge with its large fireplace is a great place to sit after dinner to chat and have coffee.

Once the vegetation around the hotel has been re-established and the other buildings re-built (chapel, etc) the venue will be fantastic. Having said this, what has been done to date is very acceptable. The game drive we were taken on was top-notch and the guide was highly knowledgeable and entertaining. All other staff we dealt with was extremely friendly, efficient and more than welcoming - we felt totally at home. Breakfast was generally good. As far as dinner was concerned we would have preferred a la carte to a set menu (the Sunday night buffet, however, was very well-prepared and tasty.)"


"My Zuurberg Experience"

(South Africa) Mr Moss | 15 August 2008

"Upon our arrival at The Zuurberg Mountain Inn, we were warmly greeted by the Manageress (Diane), and our experience there after was excellent. The food is great - very wholesome, filling and "net soos Ma dit sou gekook het" and there is not a lot one could want for. The main lounge is fabulous and w..."

more

"Upon our arrival at The Zuurberg Mountain Inn, we were warmly greeted by the Manageress (Diane), and our experience there after was excellent. The food is great - very wholesome, filling and "net soos Ma dit sou gekook het" and there is not a lot one could want for. The main lounge is fabulous and warm with the fire going - a great place to relax with a nice glass of wine after a long days drive. The complex is very clean, the staff friendly, and it was a very nice touch to have had our filthy car washed! We will definitely be staying there again."


"Great Country Inn"

(South Africa) Mr Gilfillan | 23 July 2008

"A great Country Inn. We had a good rest as we needed it. The Inn was very comfortable and very peaceful; all the staff are very friendly. The Inn is a great place for a getaway and if the management use this as there focus they will have a real winner."


"Wonderful time "

(South Africa) Tony Stiglingh | 22 January 2008

"Great staff service, housekeeping, hospitality and food - all rate fantastic.

"


"Great mountain experience at Zuurberg"

(United Kingdom) Mr Parkin | 30 April 2007

"Zuurberg Mountain Lodge was great. It is situated on top of the Zuurberg, a mountain typically and beautifully Southern African in it's look and feel. The food was out of this world. Lunch time and dinner time buffets were ridiculously good and offered variation every day. We struggled to not over e..."

more

"Zuurberg Mountain Lodge was great. It is situated on top of the Zuurberg, a mountain typically and beautifully Southern African in it's look and feel. The food was out of this world. Lunch time and dinner time buffets were ridiculously good and offered variation every day. We struggled to not over eat at every meal. The service was friendly and efficient, the atmosphere excellent and last, but not least, the entire package was really reasonably priced.

On top of that, it is extremely well located to get the most out of the Addo Elephant National Park.

Well done to the management, they're doing something right.
"


"A different world experience"

(United Kingdom) Mr McMillan | 26 April 2007

"Our stay at the Zuurberg Mountain Inn was very special. The Inn retains a distinct feel, special, but not stuffy. From the first welcome, through relaxed afternoons by the pool, friendly evenings by the fire, magnificent, but informal dinners, a well organised early morning game drive at Addo, it ..."

more

"Our stay at the Zuurberg Mountain Inn was very special. The Inn retains a distinct feel, special, but not stuffy. From the first welcome, through relaxed afternoons by the pool, friendly evenings by the fire, magnificent, but informal dinners, a well organised early morning game drive at Addo, it was a magical stay. Travelling with a four and six year old is a little worrying when you are staying in some places, but the Inn worked well for us, as it appeared to for other guests. The Inn was recommended to us and we will recommend it to others without hesitation."


"A long way from everthing"

(Austria) Mr Vasulin | 9 December 2006

"The Upper Thatch Cottage is very nice. The food is very simple with no chance to go somewhere else to eat because the sand road to the hotel is dangerous to drive in the dark.

Not really the best place to spend a few nights. "


"*****"

(South Africa) Adriaan Le Roux | 8 November 2006

"those asterixes above', in the title bar was the closest I could come to give you '5 stars', for the reception and food and good solid BEDS !!!



The young lady that welcomed us was so natural and just Fantastic, and the manager, (I think), with the incredible soccer knowledge, was grea..."

more

"those asterixes above', in the title bar was the closest I could come to give you '5 stars', for the reception and food and good solid BEDS !!!



The young lady that welcomed us was so natural and just Fantastic, and the manager, (I think), with the incredible soccer knowledge, was great.



Yes we enjoyed our stay, I am going to find a photo and enter above competition. "


"A Mountain Escape!"

(Australia) Mr Coyle | 21 September 2006

"As we travelled the well-graded winding road into the mountains we admired the many and varied flowers along the verges. The views became magnificent as we climbed higher. Arriving at Zuurberg Mountain Inn we were greeted by a friendly dog and received a warm welcome from the Receptionist.
..."

more

"As we travelled the well-graded winding road into the mountains we admired the many and varied flowers along the verges. The views became magnificent as we climbed higher. Arriving at Zuurberg Mountain Inn we were greeted by a friendly dog and received a warm welcome from the Receptionist.

Our rondavel was a delight, well furnished with large comfortable bed, very clean, and had a lovely view across the valley. Underfloor heating kept it cosy on a very cold night. The bathroom was large, clean and with a good supply of towels. We were impressed with the extra touches, the fresh fruit and the sherry in our room and the car wash in the morning before our departure.

We enjoyed an excellent variety of well-prepared food for both our dinner and breakfast which was taken in the main dining room of the Inn. And to spend time relaxing in front of the roaring fire with an after dinner drink as we chatted to other guests was the perfect way to end the day.

We found all staff to be helpful and friendly. The extensive well-kept gardens incorporated tennis courts, swimming pool, braai area and a beautiful little chapel. We look forward to returning for a longer stay."