Reviews of Trees Too Guesthouse


"Great stay!"

(South Africa) Mr van der Merwe | 5 January 2007

"This was just what we needed on our overnight stay to Mozambique. We were welcomed by the owners with open arms, and felt relaxed from the first moment. The setting is great and the rooms were clean and very tidy, I would recommend this stay to any person I know."


"Fantastic"

(Switzerland) Mr Steinkrauss | 7 May 2007

"Very good accommodation, very friendly!

I can definitely recommend this accommodation!"


"Not really what I expected"

(Austria) anonymous | 29 July 2007

"We spent 3 nights at Trees Too Guest House in July.

We were a party of 3 and so I booked the family room, which is for 6 people, so it should give us lots of space. In my opinion the room is much too small for 6 people. After our first night we were moved into a triple room because Sue (th..."

more

"We spent 3 nights at Trees Too Guest House in July.

We were a party of 3 and so I booked the family room, which is for 6 people, so it should give us lots of space. In my opinion the room is much too small for 6 people. After our first night we were moved into a triple room because Sue (the owner) needed the family room for 6 people.

That was strange because I already booked the family room in February! Our triple was quite small, there was no door to separate the room from the bath, only a curtain. The GH is fine (pool, garden), but the rooms don't keep what they promise.

They serve English breakfast and fruit, juice, yogurt,... which is fine. They charge you R50 for it. I wouldn't take the "Take away-breakfast" again, it is much cheaper to buy some things at the Spar which is close in Komatipoort."


" An oasis"

(Sweden) Mrs Persson | 9 August 2007

"A very nice relaxing place where you are made to feel more than welcome, good food and great conversation around the breakfast/dinner table. Great help to us and our safari plans after the delay in London - much appreciated and we hade a great time. Hope to return one day soon!!"


"Fabulous Time"

(South Africa) Mrs Lopes | 5 May 2008

"We had a fabulous time; the accommodation was all that we expected and more, very friendly relaxed and informative.

Thank you so much! Keep it up!"


"Nice atmosphere and friendly personnel"

(Sweden) anonymous | 24 August 2008

"A very nice environment with the pool in the centre. One of the best I have stayed in. We were also given professional advice for our trip to Kruger. Would certainly recommend to my friends."


"La Lechere: Excellent accommodation in Phalaborwa"

(Germany) Mr Schmidt | 3 November 2008

"An outstanding housing. Very beautiful rooms. Splendid pool. Very good breakfast.
Actually the best stay that we during our trip in South Africa had.
Our stay was too short unfortunately. Best starting point to the Krüger Park. If we had known this, we would have remained longer. more

"An outstanding housing. Very beautiful rooms. Splendid pool. Very good breakfast.
Actually the best stay that we during our trip in South Africa had.
Our stay was too short unfortunately. Best starting point to the Krüger Park. If we had known this, we would have remained longer.

Hanni was so very helpfully and friendly. Thanks for everything."


"Trees Too overnight stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Friedman | 3 January 2009

"Well managed by the owners. The staff were there if you needed them…but not under your feet all the time! We would highly recommend this establishment to anyone travelling to or from Mozambique. "


"Excellent stay"

(South Africa) Mr van Rijswijk | 5 January 2009

"We had a wonderful stay at Trees Too Guesthouse, Sue and Martyn are excellent hosts and catered for our every need. They were even prepared to accommodate us in leaving at 01:00 am so that we could cross the border in the shortest time possible. This crossing took us 30minutes (through both gates), ..."

more

"We had a wonderful stay at Trees Too Guesthouse, Sue and Martyn are excellent hosts and catered for our every need. They were even prepared to accommodate us in leaving at 01:00 am so that we could cross the border in the shortest time possible. This crossing took us 30minutes (through both gates), which I think is a record - Thanks to Sue and Martyn."


"Exceptional"

(South Africa) Mrs Matsaneng | 26 January 2009

"Exceptional service, feeling at home away from home. Warm place with friendly staff. A stay that I will not forget anytime soon and would definitely recommend to anyone who needs to rest and have fun at the same time."


"Recommended accommodation"

(South Africa) Mr Finch | 22 March 2009

"Pleasant and clean accommodation with friendly and competent staff.
Recommended."


"The perfect place to stay."

(South Africa) Mr Marrs | 8 May 2009

"The welcome was so friendly and rooms were a delight to stay in. The meals were so well presented and so delicious and cost affective, you could not get a meal of that quality at that price. The staff are so friendly and professional."


"Great place to rest from the animals"

(Australia) Brian and Sherry | 25 June 2009

"Trees Too was a great way to spend the night after a day with the animals. Martyn and Sue were very welcoming and the staff put on a great meal. It would have been pleasant around the pool if the weather was warmer. Good rest and back to the animals at dawn. Thanks for a pleasant relaxing night."


"Luxury B&B at reasonable price"

(Ireland) Mr Barry | 7 November 2009

"Had a wonderful time staying two nights at this luxurious B&B. The rooms were large and very well decorated. Toiletries laid out in the massive bathroom. About 20 TV Channels with lots of live sport, news and movies. Swimming pool outside my room. Area was so peaceful first night I walked to the loc..."

more

"Had a wonderful time staying two nights at this luxurious B&B. The rooms were large and very well decorated. Toiletries laid out in the massive bathroom. About 20 TV Channels with lots of live sport, news and movies. Swimming pool outside my room. Area was so peaceful first night I walked to the local restaurant and had a superb meal. Next time I ate at Trees Two Guesthouse and the food was beautiful. The breakfast that is laid on covers all tastes. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful at all times. I have been to over 60 countries and stayed in a lot of hotels and B&B’s and Trees Too is one of those places I will fondly remember. "


"Cozy Nest."

(South Africa) Mr van Nispen | 25 March 2010

"Excellent service from management and staff. Very cozy and warm welcome and stay. I was on a strict diet after an operation, and Sue and Martyn had no problem preparing meals that I was allowed to eat. Without any complains or hiccups, our stay was wonderful and we will certainly tell all our frien..."

more

"Excellent service from management and staff. Very cozy and warm welcome and stay. I was on a strict diet after an operation, and Sue and Martyn had no problem preparing meals that I was allowed to eat. Without any complains or hiccups, our stay was wonderful and we will certainly tell all our friends about Trees Too for future stays. Congratulations on this wonderful nest of friendliness and warmth."


"Family room"

(South Africa) Mr van der Merwe | 19 July 2010

"My family and I (2 adults and 2 kids) visited Trees Too Guesthouse approx a week ago. This was our second visit. We decided on Trees Too after having a very special first visit - approx 5 years ago. Unfortunately I can not say that our second visit was as pleasurable. We stayed in room no 7.
more

"My family and I (2 adults and 2 kids) visited Trees Too Guesthouse approx a week ago. This was our second visit. We decided on Trees Too after having a very special first visit - approx 5 years ago. Unfortunately I can not say that our second visit was as pleasurable. We stayed in room no 7.

I believe that there is a few "must have" requirements when using a guesthouse, there are "irritators" and then the little unexpected things that add to the pleasure of using the facility.

In the "must haves" I want list the following:
- Hot bath/shower. My two kids had a shower before dinner. My wife took a bath after dinner. I did not manage to complete my shower before the water ran cold.
- Hot & cold water in the hand-wash basin. There is only hot water available.
- The bedding, pillows & mattras of the double bed is not adequate. You can not have a good night's sleed on pillows with knobs resulting from regular washing. One of the main reasons why we returned to Trees Too were the plush bedding. This is definately not the same any more.

Under the irritators I want to list the following:
- Our host was over concerned with some Belgium visitors
- There is a water leak in the bathroom
- The toilet seat is screwed on very tight. It is difficult to move up and down
- I do not believe that we received the room which we initially booked. Your reply to me stated the room had a sleeping couch. There was no such couch.
- The curtians is covering the windows - only just!

Under the pleasures I want to list:
- Your garden is still very well kept
- The dinner and breakfast was great - so was the service
- The rooms were well cleaned"


"Great place to stay near Kruger Park"

(Brazil) Mrs Sen | 14 January 2011

"Sue and Martyn are the kind of hosts you dream of finding; friendly and ever helpful. They make a stay in their charming guesthouse a great experience."


"Cosy and very pleasant"

(South Africa) Mr Landa | 6 March 2011

"It's been our second time at Trees Too Guesthouse, and both have been very pleasant. The place is very cosy and nice; good rooms and bathrooms with every thing you may need; a nice garden with swimming pool; very good food at the restaurant. And the couple who runs the place is really nice and helpf..."

more

"It's been our second time at Trees Too Guesthouse, and both have been very pleasant. The place is very cosy and nice; good rooms and bathrooms with every thing you may need; a nice garden with swimming pool; very good food at the restaurant. And the couple who runs the place is really nice and helpful, they would attend any need you have. We would definitely go back to and recommend this place to any friend. Great value for money."


"1000 x sorry"

(South Africa) Mr Steenvoorden | 22 October 2011

"The Hospitality from Sue and Martin Steele was very bad, The service also and the food miserable.
In 4,5 year travelling in south Africa was this the first time to have this kind of experience we leave the Guest-house after one night.
They chardge us to much!

Best regards,
more

"The Hospitality from Sue and Martin Steele was very bad, The service also and the food miserable.
In 4,5 year travelling in south Africa was this the first time to have this kind of experience we leave the Guest-house after one night.
They chardge us to much!

Best regards,

Willem."


"Faboulous after a long hard day"

(South Africa) Laura Merredew | 31 March 2014

"After spending a gruelling day in the car coming from Mozambique we were very glad to be arriving at our overnight destination in Komatipoort. Trees Two Guesthouse did not disappoint. I have stayed in the area many times and really enjoyed this spot. Clean with fabulous attention to details. Frie..."

more

"After spending a gruelling day in the car coming from Mozambique we were very glad to be arriving at our overnight destination in Komatipoort. Trees Two Guesthouse did not disappoint. I have stayed in the area many times and really enjoyed this spot. Clean with fabulous attention to details. Friendly, professional and honest. They serve dinner and breakfast and have an honesty bar(fabulous concept) all on sight. The dinner menu was superb, Beautiful garden and pool. Could easily spend a few days there between Swaziland and the KNP. Many thanks. Will see you again for sure."


"Nice enough, pity aircons not working"

(South Africa) O'Shaughnessy | 8 January 2015

"We arrived to a friendly welcome. We're then informed that we couldn't have dinner as we hadn't responded to an email, this after having been stuck on the road side for 3 hours! Then the room was sweltering hot and the aircon wasn’t working properly. Wouldn't be my first option next time around. more

"We arrived to a friendly welcome. We're then informed that we couldn't have dinner as we hadn't responded to an email, this after having been stuck on the road side for 3 hours! Then the room was sweltering hot and the aircon wasn’t working properly. Wouldn't be my first option next time around.

Est responded:Thu 2015-01-08 01:53 PM
Thanks for the heads up. The air con WAS working but it was an exceptionally humid night...we've had 4 exceptional days of this. However, we discounted by R100 before we checked that the air con was ok. They did not reply to the e mail that was sent within 1 hour of their booking saying clearly it was essential to book for dinner. They arrives too late for dinner anyway.

Will this be published?
Sue and Martyn Steele
"