Reviews of Cathedral Peak Hotel


"Fantastic family holiday"

(South Africa) Gary | 1 July 2019

"Spent 6 days in this fantastic family resort and we will definitely be back. The views are majestic and the resort offers something for everyone from quad biking to horses, tennis, squash, bowls, guided and unguided hikes to name a few. It was a real holiday not having to prepare one meal and be ful..."

more

"Spent 6 days in this fantastic family resort and we will definitely be back. The views are majestic and the resort offers something for everyone from quad biking to horses, tennis, squash, bowls, guided and unguided hikes to name a few. It was a real holiday not having to prepare one meal and be fully catered. Strongly recommend anyone thinking about it to book and enjoy! "


" A very marvelous wonderful stay at your hotel"

(South Africa) Philippa Cecchini | 25 May 2017

"Thank you very much for a marvellous wonderful stay at your hotel. The accommodation and of course the views and the mountain was spectacular.



WeÕve made beautiful unforgettable memories.



Just a small observation on your directions to get to the hotel. The train t..."

more

"Thank you very much for a marvellous wonderful stay at your hotel. The accommodation and of course the views and the mountain was spectacular.



WeÕve made beautiful unforgettable memories.



Just a small observation on your directions to get to the hotel. The train tracks you mention are virtually invisible( the tracks are actually covered by tar) and in fact are part of the left turn opposite the Engen service station. Quite misleading and they are so easily missed. I suggest you leave the Òtrain tracksÓ out completely and or just say Òafter crossing the river, about 800m, turn to your right at the Cathedral Peak signÓ.



We will certainly tell all our friends of THE magnificent Cathedral Peak Hotel.



Thank you so much.



Kind regards,



Philippa and Giulio Cecchini."


"Great time"

(South Africa) Peggy Moleki | 27 September 2015

"Breathtaking and Awesome experience. I will definitely visit the place again in the future.."


"Wonder Family Break"

(Nigeria) Renee Petzer | 19 July 2015

"we had an awesome family holiday for a week at Cathedral Peak. Lots to do for all of us. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful - but not so the management. ÊLots of 'old school' buffet food that could do with a revamp. That said, highly recommended and we will go back."


"Great experience!"

(South Africa) Deeolan Govender | 2 May 2014

"There's very little to fault this hotel/resort...

We stayed 3 nights with a 2 1/2 year old, and were extremely impressed!

The superior room we booked was spacious, well furnished and had a great view.

I usually dislike buffets as they tend to involve inferior food (quality and c..."

more

"There's very little to fault this hotel/resort...

We stayed 3 nights with a 2 1/2 year old, and were extremely impressed!

The superior room we booked was spacious, well furnished and had a great view.

I usually dislike buffets as they tend to involve inferior food (quality and choice) but both the breakfast and dinner buffets were great. Some repetition but better than most! The option of an a la carte restaurant would be a great addition though- especially for those staying longer.

Kids activities were great- and the separate dining room for kids was a good touch.

Staff were generally good- but sometimes slow and surly. We booked a babysitter (Rose) twice who was brilliant with our kid.

Overall I recommend this resort- there are tons of hikes, walks and other activities around to keep everyone occupied.

Great experience from a rare privately owned hotel!"


"Nice but no special welcome"

(South Africa) Valentine Blacking | 26 December 2013

"No effort was made to welcome us on the last leg of our honeymoon. Our hosts at the previous two venues welcomed us warmly. I mentioned to the hotel when booking that we would be on honeymoon. It seems that if you haven't booked the honeymoon suite, no extra effort is made. Apart from that, the food..."

more

"No effort was made to welcome us on the last leg of our honeymoon. Our hosts at the previous two venues welcomed us warmly. I mentioned to the hotel when booking that we would be on honeymoon. It seems that if you haven't booked the honeymoon suite, no extra effort is made. Apart from that, the food was enjoyable and the environment superb. The hotel was on the whole good."


"Beautiful location"

(South Africa) genevieve quarmby | 8 May 2013

"Inspiring location and amazing views all round. Although only a one night stay, very relaxing and enjoyable. Will be back to walk and enjoy more of the mountains."


"Heaven on Earth"

(South Africa) Abigail Jabulile Sibande | 5 December 2012

"I really enjoyed my weekend stay at the resort.The place is heavenly,the staff angelic and the food no words can describe.One can never be bored as there is a variety of activities that one can do like guided walks and the horse rides to mention but a few.The price is reasonable and am already plann..."

more

"I really enjoyed my weekend stay at the resort.The place is heavenly,the staff angelic and the food no words can describe.One can never be bored as there is a variety of activities that one can do like guided walks and the horse rides to mention but a few.The price is reasonable and am already planning to bring my whole family for a weekend stay during the Easter holidays."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Karin Meyer | 4 July 2011

"We enjoyed our stay. It is a wonderful hotel in a breathtaking location."


"The best place ever"

(South Africa) Denver Govender | 17 August 2009

"I have been all around the world and have visited a lot of destinations that promise a lot but don't deliver. I was amazed at the service I got while staying at the Cathedral Peak hotel. The staff are very helpful and very insightful. I felt like I was the only guest there. I didn't mind all the att..."

more

"I have been all around the world and have visited a lot of destinations that promise a lot but don't deliver. I was amazed at the service I got while staying at the Cathedral Peak hotel. The staff are very helpful and very insightful. I felt like I was the only guest there. I didn't mind all the attention at times but when we wanted some alone time its like they just knew. I'm happy to return in the blink of an eye."


"Short stay at Cathedral Peak Hotel"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 15 April 2009

"Great hotel, comfortable room, nice views, good food, lots to do in the neighbourhood even for people with limited mobility. "


"2 nights"

(United Kingdom) Lynda Swift | 12 October 2008

"The position of the hotel is superb and there are plenty of walks within the surrounding areas. We took a helicopter flight which was amazing and the staff operating the helicopter service were very helpful.



The buffet dining gave plenty of choice. However I think the hotel could loo..."

more

"The position of the hotel is superb and there are plenty of walks within the surrounding areas. We took a helicopter flight which was amazing and the staff operating the helicopter service were very helpful.



The buffet dining gave plenty of choice. However I think the hotel could look at having an a la carte dining area, where guests could make advanced reservations.



Our bedroom was close to a pond and we were kept awake at night by the frogs! Also I think the bedrooms were a little drab and need re-furbishing.



However the hotel is in such an amazing spot so when we booked we where prepared to compromise on accommodation."


"Good"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 27 June 2008

"Had a very refreshing weekend."


"Enjoyable week-end!"

(South Africa) Annette Meklis | 8 June 2007

"My family and I had a wonderful week-end at Cathedral Peak. There is so much to do (even though it was winter) and swimming was out of the question. My children, aged 6 and 4 even managed a two hour hike.

"


"A wonderful Family Hotel"

Anonymous | 14 April 2007

"Our stay at Cathedral Peak was a fantastic experience for all of us. The setting was amazing and the hotel very comfortable. The staff at the hotel were always very welcoming and helpful. I would recommend your hotel to anyone. Thank you"


"Well worth it."

(South Africa) Alan Hulscher | 21 August 2006

"Next time I will stay longer, three days is just to short."


"Malan review"

(South Africa) Margaret Malan | 4 October 2005

"Staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly

Food was excellent and the variety endless

Accommodation was clean, comfortable and very pleasant.

May I offer the following suggestions:

1. Small fridges in rooms

2. More evening entertainment

3. 4 people in..."

more

"Staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly

Food was excellent and the variety endless

Accommodation was clean, comfortable and very pleasant.

May I offer the following suggestions:

1. Small fridges in rooms

2. More evening entertainment

3. 4 people in accommodation, only one key between us, another key would have been helpful.

4. No nearby facilities for washing, sterilising and heating bottles for baby

Otherwise it was a wonderful holiday."


"Enjoyed it ."

(South Africa) Annatjie | 6 January 2016

"The establishment was great they had everything we needed for our stay. The food was even better. Booking with RoomsforAfrica made everything so much easier. We will definitely visit this establishment again."


"Great all-around!"

(South Africa) Chris Voets | 28 April 2013

"We just came back from a week's stay at Cathedral Peak which we thoroughly enjoyed. The accommodation, food, facilities, and service are all without fault - this is clearly a team of people that has worked together for a long time.
The only (very minor) niggle I would have concerns some of the ..."

more

"We just came back from a week's stay at Cathedral Peak which we thoroughly enjoyed. The accommodation, food, facilities, and service are all without fault - this is clearly a team of people that has worked together for a long time.
The only (very minor) niggle I would have concerns some of the variations of prices of drinks - whereas "White Grapetizer" sells at R17, "Red Grapetizer" goes for R21.50, and "Appletizer" a rather ridiculous R23.50 a can? When I pointed this out on the bill at the restaurant it was checked and returned with "that's just the prices".
"


"Cathedral peak hotel"

(South Africa) Ms Block | 16 April 2013

"Cathedral peak hotel provided a great experience from friendly, helpful staff to well kept facilities and of course the spectacular setting of the hotel. We really enjoyed the view from the patio but were disappointed that our room which was a luxury room had no view at all - not the hotels fault bu..."

more

"Cathedral peak hotel provided a great experience from friendly, helpful staff to well kept facilities and of course the spectacular setting of the hotel. We really enjoyed the view from the patio but were disappointed that our room which was a luxury room had no view at all - not the hotels fault but rather our expectation was not met!
The meals were delicious and had a good variety of choices - my special dietary needs were catered for adequately. Certainly a recommended destination
"


"One of the best."

(South Africa) Mr Erasmus | 10 December 2010

"I found the hotel to be one of the best I ever stayed in. The service is of high quality and not to mention the food. This is just one fantastic hotel and staff, and I stay in various hotels all around the country and this hotel must rate as one of the top 3 I ever stayed in. I will definitely recom..."

more

"I found the hotel to be one of the best I ever stayed in. The service is of high quality and not to mention the food. This is just one fantastic hotel and staff, and I stay in various hotels all around the country and this hotel must rate as one of the top 3 I ever stayed in. I will definitely recommend this establishment to any person to come and have an out of this world relaxing time and be spoilt with all the good food and the fantastic nature surrounding you.
I will for sure come and visit again and promote this establishment to others."


"A little bit of Heaven"

(South Africa) Mrs Warfield | 18 May 2010

"We had driven down from Johannesburg to Umhlanga to visit family and chose to stop off on the return journey for two days in the Drakensberg. Cathedral Peak must be one of the jewels in this region - a little bit of heaven!

We had booked a standard room which was above our expectations. How..."

more

"We had driven down from Johannesburg to Umhlanga to visit family and chose to stop off on the return journey for two days in the Drakensberg. Cathedral Peak must be one of the jewels in this region - a little bit of heaven!

We had booked a standard room which was above our expectations. However, there was a problem with the bathroom and the Operations Manager immediately upgraded us to another room.

The general service and quality of food was outstanding and we would love to return again.
"


"Wonderlike Bederf - Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Herbst | 21 July 2009

"Alles was 5 ster.Kos heerlik,kamers pragtig en die berge asemrowend.

(RoomsForAfrica translated)
Everything was 5-star. Food was great, rooms were pretty and the mountains were breathtaking."


"Great value in great beauty"

(South Africa) Mrs Gross | 4 May 2009

"Cathedral Peak Hotel sets its own standards in the Drakensburg. The hotel caters for every type of tourist, with a level of personal attention and care that is excellent. The stunning setting in the awe-inspiring Drakensburg range makes Cathedral Peak hotel unique - the access to walks and hikes i..."

more

"Cathedral Peak Hotel sets its own standards in the Drakensburg. The hotel caters for every type of tourist, with a level of personal attention and care that is excellent. The stunning setting in the awe-inspiring Drakensburg range makes Cathedral Peak hotel unique - the access to walks and hikes is easy (no driving) and the welcome back at the hotel after a day's hiking is wonderful - great food, warm atmosphere and lots to do for families."


"A corner of paradise"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 17 November 2008

"My third visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel was just as magical as my first. Everyone involved from porters & cleaners to reception staff are so pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect. It is my small corner of the world I regard as close to perfect. The rooms are well kept & it is such good value ..."

more

"My third visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel was just as magical as my first. Everyone involved from porters & cleaners to reception staff are so pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect. It is my small corner of the world I regard as close to perfect. The rooms are well kept & it is such good value with all the facilities one would need for a truly relaxing & enjoyable holiday."


"Home in the Berg"

(South Africa) Mr Lang | 20 October 2008

"This time we stayed only two nights in order to climb the Peak. We arrived in the night and were made welcome immediately when we booked in. Very pleasant staff saw us settled in room No. 90.

Supper was as good as always and the management were very hospitable indeed.
Next morning Andr..."

more

"This time we stayed only two nights in order to climb the Peak. We arrived in the night and were made welcome immediately when we booked in. Very pleasant staff saw us settled in room No. 90.

Supper was as good as always and the management were very hospitable indeed.
Next morning Andre saw us off with our lunch packs accompanied by Wiseman to climb the Peak. We actually didn't quite make it in the mist and baled at Bugger Gulley. It was a shame as it would have been Wiseman's 300th summit.

The room was comfortable and the mattress was great. All in all, even with a wedding going on, the service and cleanliness at the hotel was excellent. We will definitely be coming back.

Thanks Phil"


"Cathedral Stay"

(South Africa) Mr Mines | 22 August 2008

"Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings. Pricing a bit heavy for a "very basic" room. Room is comfortable though.
Restaurant / meal excellent.
"


"Family Visit"

(United Kingdom) AW | 17 January 2008

"Cathederal Peak Hotel is situated in a most beautiful location in the Drakensburg mountains. We stayed for 3 nights early January 08. The weather was cloudy the whole time we were there which was a shame as we wanted to have a helicopter trip to the peak, and they could not fly with clouds.
The ..."

more

"Cathederal Peak Hotel is situated in a most beautiful location in the Drakensburg mountains. We stayed for 3 nights early January 08. The weather was cloudy the whole time we were there which was a shame as we wanted to have a helicopter trip to the peak, and they could not fly with clouds.
The hotel is a beautiful, traditional hotel with lots of activities. We took part in guided walks, horse riding for begginers, squash, golf,mini golf. We also did some other walks on our own using route guides from reception. All the activities were very well organised, it was easy to sign up for things the previous evening.
It was hard planning activities as we wanted to be back at the hotel for afteroon tea! ( with home made cakes)
The hotel food was excellent,Although self service, it was very well planned as we never had to wait. We had the same table throughout our stay.
We would definatly return to Cathederal Peak, it kept both boys ( 16 & 14 ) entertained, whilst we enjoyed relaxing with many of the 'adults only' at the hotel.
This hotel had a range of guests from couples to young families, all seemed well catered for.
We had ajoining rooms with the boys. They were very spacious and clean.
No complaints at all.
"


"Cathedral comments"

(South Africa) Mrs WATTRUS | 6 November 2007

"Lovely setting, good service and food.
One of the best Drakensberg hotels I have been to.
Bedrooms a bit dated.
"


"Don't trust in the stars"

(South Africa) Mr Wheatley | 31 July 2007

"I was very surprised to find out that Cathedral peak hotel has only a three star rating, as prior to visiting the hotel I had heard of its magnificents. Because this weekend away was supposed to be a treat and I really did need some pampering I was, therefore a little apprehensive about staying at a..."

more

"I was very surprised to find out that Cathedral peak hotel has only a three star rating, as prior to visiting the hotel I had heard of its magnificents. Because this weekend away was supposed to be a treat and I really did need some pampering I was, therefore a little apprehensive about staying at a mere three star establishment.

However I was certainly not disappointed and after my visit I am left even more surprised that it is only 3 star rated and will therefore re-rate it in categories of importance to myself.

1/ Food and dining - The dining area although not entirely family friendly is well laid out and boasts a luxurious ambience and warmth that makes one comfortable from the minute one enters, the aromas that engulf you when you enter do not disappoint when it comes to the taste, lavish dishes of roast duck, pork and beef are complimented by the most delishes starters and sides one could imagine. It seems that no expense is spared either when it comes to the puddings and afters and one has not much option but to overindulge in reckless abandonment of any diets or eating plans.

Without given much more than a nights rest to contend with the previous nights feast then you are once again thrust into the dining area to contend with a breakfast more than fit for a king. On the whole I do not see how anybody could rate the dining experience at less than a 5 star.

2/ Sound and surrounds- Being about a four hour drive from Johannesburg one should spend a little more than just two nights at Cathedral peak. The Drakensburg mountains surrounding the hotel are breathtaking and does allow for ones soul to escape for a while. These views are harmonized by the constant sound of flowing water from the many ponds and fountains dotted around the hotel and are accented by the reasonably well kept gardens of the hotel. It must be said however that some of the ponds did need a bit of cleaning. I would rate this aspect a 4 star which would be rated a lot lower had it not been for Gods help in designing the mountains around the hotel.

3/ Ammenities and entertainment- The hotel offers everything from golf,bowls,tennis e.t.c e.t.c e.t.c e.t.c to horse riding and even helicopter flips not to mention the walks and quad biking. They really do offer everything in respect of entertainment. there are also a lot of things for the kids to do such as jumping castles, play areas, arcade games, put-put and so forth. There are also keen babysitters willing to take your children off your hands when you have just had to much of them or if you want to go for a peaceful walk or horse riding. Most of the amenities are free or very reasonably priced which I think is the only thing which sets it apart from a four or five star rating. Do you get half stars? if so I would give it 4.5 stars. If not I would have to lean towards the 5 star marking.

4/ Management and staff- I do believe that the reception staff, porters and waitrons could do with a bit more training they do however overcompensate for this in their friendliness and willingness to help, I do not believe that I past a single staf member without having to engage in a conversation with them or at least a greeting. Management were constantly around and did give the impression that your comfort is of their utmost importance. Once again I would plead the right to post a half star giving them a 3.5 star rating. Failing this I might lean towards the 3 star on this aspect.

5/ Living Quarters or Rooms- The room we took was not the luxury suite and this was evident. Although it had everything you needed to be comfortable it did not have any flamboyance. If it was possible for a room to have the X factor well these rooms just wouldn't have it, this was the only aspect that I felt fitted squarely into a 3 star setting.

On the whole I felt the 3 star rating given to the hotel was a bit unjust and if it were up to me I would push that up a star or a star and a half ( if that is indeed permissible )

It just goes to show you cant always trust in the stars. "


"Breathtaking"

(South Africa) Mr Ungerer | 15 May 2007

"It was the most amazing view we had from our rooms....as well as the food was divine.

I will come there at least once a year."


"Idyllic Mountain Retreat"

(South Africa) Bruce & Patsy Fleming | 10 April 2007

"Cathedral Peak Hotel nestled in between the impressive mountains of the Drakensberg was a delight from the moment we arrived.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the scenery was amazing and the service was friendly.

We went on the walk to Doreen Falls and on to the Bushman Pain..."

more

"Cathedral Peak Hotel nestled in between the impressive mountains of the Drakensberg was a delight from the moment we arrived.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the scenery was amazing and the service was friendly.

We went on the walk to Doreen Falls and on to the Bushman Paintings, swam in the pool, had a flip in the helicopter and played a game of tennis. On our last evening we took part in the Music Quiz.

We ate our fill at the buffet every evening as the choice of food was excellent, breakfast was also catered for every taste.

We only wished we could have extended our stay for a while longer.

"


"Cathedral Peak Easter holiday"

(South Africa) Mrs van Heerden | 10 April 2007

"We enjoyed our stay tremendously. We especially liked the children’s dining room and that you could hire a babysitter without much notice. This wasn't advertised anywhere and we had a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed short walks with our one year old, since we had to carry her all the way. This was als..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay tremendously. We especially liked the children’s dining room and that you could hire a babysitter without much notice. This wasn't advertised anywhere and we had a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed short walks with our one year old, since we had to carry her all the way. This was also very good, because you do not find many places where there is something to do with a baby.

The only two negative things would be that the dining room wasn't open for lunch, you have to sit outside, even when it is raining, and space is limited under the roof. The other thing is that the hotel in itself isn't very stroller or wheelchair friendly.

We really enjoyed the break and would recommend Cathedral Peak Hotel to any of our friends. Thank you for a memorable time!"


"Review"

(Mauritius) anonymous | 18 November 2006

"Very good location with stunning views...Excellent deal with breakfast and Lunch included. Great to have tea and cakes twice a day..Service in restaurant excellent.

Being muslims, we were taken very good care of by the staff, especially Christopher and shakes. Room I stayed had no mini bar..."

more

"Very good location with stunning views...Excellent deal with breakfast and Lunch included. Great to have tea and cakes twice a day..Service in restaurant excellent.

Being muslims, we were taken very good care of by the staff, especially Christopher and shakes. Room I stayed had no mini bar but I understand others rooms do."


"Drakensburg"

(United Kingdom) Mr Williams | 29 October 2006

"This Hotel has a lovely outlook on to the majestic peaks of the drakensburg. The amenities are first class and the food superb.

The staff are well trained, helpful and polite.

The history of the hotel is fascinating and is well worth delving in to. The hardships and setbacks endu..."

more

"This Hotel has a lovely outlook on to the majestic peaks of the drakensburg. The amenities are first class and the food superb.

The staff are well trained, helpful and polite.

The history of the hotel is fascinating and is well worth delving in to. The hardships and setbacks endured by the early settlers in the area must have been quite daunting.

Only one fault could be found , and that was the road conditions."


"My Honeymoon"

(South Africa) Mr Singh | 14 September 2006

"I stayed at Cathedral Peak for 4 days, I will definitely one day go back there. I had a very comfortable, quite and peaceful holiday. The atmosphere and surroundings is picturesque.

The honeymoon suite we stayed in had everything that i needed and I have absolutely no complaints about it. ..."

more

"I stayed at Cathedral Peak for 4 days, I will definitely one day go back there. I had a very comfortable, quite and peaceful holiday. The atmosphere and surroundings is picturesque.

The honeymoon suite we stayed in had everything that i needed and I have absolutely no complaints about it.

The food was excellent and what makes it so good is not only the layout and how it is prepared, but more importantly the variety of foods available as well as desserts.

An all round wonderful stay!!!"