Reviews of Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B


"Good"

(South Africa) Lila | 9 March 2020

"We had a very pleasant stay. Will recommend it to anyone."


"Cosy warm place in Clarens"

(South Africa) Carina | 19 June 2019

"Warm welcoming!
Cosy and warm in the middle of the winter!"


"Brilliant weekend. "

(South Africa) Alex | 11 March 2019

"Lovely weekend, beautiful area and rustic live style, very cool."


"Beautiful place"

(South Africa) Nikki | 5 January 2019

"Beautiful setting! So peaceful and still very close to Town. Carol went out of her way to make sure we had what we needed. We would definitely recommend this cottage to others!"


"stay at Timmerskraal"

Hennie Van Niekerk | 8 January 2018

"We enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely garden, Cottage has everything you need. Very quite and relaxing. Carol is very nice and makes you feel welcome."


"Perfect for families"

Dayalan Naidoo | 1 August 2017

"Timmerskraal is close to town (walking distance) and very comfortable, well appointed house. Carol is a wonderful hostess and a very warm friendly person. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the views are beautiful. We will be back again for a longer stay and can highly recommend Timmerskraal and t..."

more

"Timmerskraal is close to town (walking distance) and very comfortable, well appointed house. Carol is a wonderful hostess and a very warm friendly person. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the views are beautiful. We will be back again for a longer stay and can highly recommend Timmerskraal and the the town of Clarens."


"The whole weekend was awesomeThe home like"

Ria van der Merwe | 19 June 2017

"The home like environment, the kitchen is a bit impractical though.

Carol is a very pleasant host and made us feel very welcome."


"The venue was so peaceful and quiet"

Louise Roodt | 1 May 2017

"Loved the location and that it was so quiet yet close to the town centre.
We often walked into town.
Carol was so friendly and helpful"


"Great"

Matthew Hallgren | 24 April 2017

"Very comfortable, enjoyed our stay and will definatly return. "


"Pleasant stay"

Kobus Snyman | 21 April 2017

"Carol was such a friendly and caring hostess. During the day of our arrival we received and SMS with direction to het lovely cottage. Timmerskraal was the perfect stay over choice. A comfortable, well appointed cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would be back for a longer stay and can re..."

more

"Carol was such a friendly and caring hostess. During the day of our arrival we received and SMS with direction to het lovely cottage. Timmerskraal was the perfect stay over choice. A comfortable, well appointed cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would be back for a longer stay and can recommend it every day. "


"The perfect long weekend"

Wendy van den Heever | 22 March 2017

"The Timmerskraal cottage was the ideal choice for our four day break. The cottage is within walking distance of the square but far enough away to be able to still have a peaceful rest. There was plenty of space for the four of us and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thanks Carol for all the little u..."

more

"The Timmerskraal cottage was the ideal choice for our four day break. The cottage is within walking distance of the square but far enough away to be able to still have a peaceful rest. There was plenty of space for the four of us and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thanks Carol for all the little unexpected extras."


"Timmerskraal"

Peter Gordon Grant | 22 March 2017

"Very nice carol is a great hostess. As for Clarens?? Don't eat at the Street CafŽ, cold food and not very pleasant people. The rest all good but clarens and Golden gate can be done in a day."


"Holiday"

Adele Jacobs | 14 March 2017

"Place is beautiful and we had an enjoyable stay.Everything so comfortable neat and clean.Will definitely return and recommend it to others"


"Very reasonably priced accommodatiion"

(South Africa) Michael Bates | 13 February 2017

"Carol was very friendly and the cottage was more than adequate. It is situated less than two minutes drive from the square. Also nice to have a full DStv package to use. Very reasonable price for accommodation in Clarens."


"Relaxing"

(South Africa) Jeanri Bergh | 10 October 2016

"This is a very comfy home-like cottage. Very neat. We really enjoyed our stay! Would definitely recommend it for a short stay like ours or long stay if you don't mind a small kitchen. "


"Amazing stay. "

(South Africa) Annelien Nel | 8 August 2016

"Siprised by every part of our stay. It was freezing cold at night but everything was taken care of. Heated blankets and heaters provided heat for the night. As it is not right in town it is away from the packed town. It is nice and quiet. Thank you for an amazing stay. "


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Chantal Pretorius | 31 July 2016

"It has an amazing view of the mountains, the cottage is luxurious and comfortable."


"Great time"

(South Africa) Martin Heyns | 25 July 2016

"We really enjoyed our stay. Very friendly.
"


"Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) Wayne Schonegevel | 18 July 2016

"Neat, tidy and clean. Off street parking and close to town. Only spent one night so did not have much time in unit, but would stay again.
"


"Thank you "

(South Africa) Sanet Mather | 11 July 2016

"Very cosy place, will go again. Thank you for the lovely weekend."


"weekend stay"

(South Africa) Annie Senekal | 19 June 2016

"What a lovely place to stay!. Warm hospitality and friendliness, and excellent service to make our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you so much!"


"'"

(South Africa) Frik van Straaten | 20 March 2016

"overnight stay on our way to Unhlanga
"


"Tranquility"

(South Africa) Wilma Pelser | 14 March 2016

"Very peaceful and relaxing atmosphereand surroundings. Everything we needed was there. Had a problem to find the correct directions to the B&B. We enjoyed our stay."


"Great place to stay"

(South Africa) Staci Katsivalis | 31 December 2015

"Beautifully decorated for Christmas with a huge tree in the lounge and decorations on a number of trees in the garden. Beautiful gardens. Spacious house and well equipped. A lovely spot to have a braai. Carol is very friendly. No shower was an issue for us."


"Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) Rosa le Roux | 30 November 2015

"Ons het ons verblyf by Timmerskraal baie geniet. Die personeel en gasvrou was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Omgewing baie mooi en natuurskoon pragtig."


"'"

(South Africa) Jolanda Pretorius | 2 November 2015

"We had a lovely timeCarol is friendly an helpful.The old atmosphere in the cottage create a wonderful relaxing stay."


"'"

(South Africa) Heather Chapman | 11 August 2015

"A lovely stay in a well equipped cottage in a gorgeous setting"


"mr Sonnekus"

(South Africa) Daniel sonnekus | 27 May 2015

"Wow , what a great experience.

All the amenities of modern living, in a old world charm, cosy and homely, and relaxed.

Not to miss the beautiful starry skyline while sitting under the trees , around a nice fire.

You can just sit down and breathe and forget about the city and the..."

more

"Wow , what a great experience.

All the amenities of modern living, in a old world charm, cosy and homely, and relaxed.

Not to miss the beautiful starry skyline while sitting under the trees , around a nice fire.

You can just sit down and breathe and forget about the city and the stresses.

Where do you still find a surprise baked milk tart on your return from the town square, spoilt us rotten ;-)

This is a total gem and can not wait for the next visit."


"'"

(South Africa) Cornel Scheepers | 4 May 2015

"We had a nice stay with Carol. Spacious and relaxing."


"Quaint cottage"

(South Africa) Chloe Clegg | 6 March 2015

"We loved out stay, Thank you. Hope to be back soon.Room lay outs do however need some altering to accommodate groups where everyone does not know everyone, but a very cosy house.
"


"Relaxed and friendly Clarens"

(South Africa) Mary McLoughlin | 11 January 2015

"We recently enjoyed three wonderful and peaceful nights in the magical village of Clarens. Carol at Timmerskraal was a charming and friendly host and the cottage was kept clean and tidy by friendly Lena. We would highly recommend this establishment for friendliness, cleanliness and proximity to th..."

more

"We recently enjoyed three wonderful and peaceful nights in the magical village of Clarens. Carol at Timmerskraal was a charming and friendly host and the cottage was kept clean and tidy by friendly Lena. We would highly recommend this establishment for friendliness, cleanliness and proximity to the village. Thank you Carol"


"Excellent location and host"

(South Africa) Manik Vinnakota | 30 December 2014

"Carol, the owner, was very sweet and we had an amazing stay."


"Lovely stay!"

(South Africa) Megan Henin | 6 August 2014

"We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay at Timmerskraal and will definitely go back again!"


"'"

(South Africa) Cindy Davies | 15 July 2014

"Had an awesome time - lovely place thanks so much - very friendly people."


"Nice cottage"

(South Africa) Sanjay Tank | 29 April 2014

"It is a nice cottage to stay. We enjoyed our stay."


"Beautiful house and garden"

(South Africa) Julie Vandenberghe | 1 April 2014

"We enjoyed our stay at timmerskraal. It's a comfortable house and a beautiful garden, walking distance from the main square of Clarens. Carol was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone."


"An amazing and relaxed stay"

(South Africa) Mark Letley | 17 March 2014

"The enormous garden, the spacious cottage and above all the peace and quiet. We loved our stay at Timmerskraal."


"Nice"

(South Africa) dennis | 28 January 2014

"Comfortable overnight stop."


"Fantastic stay"

(South Africa) Annemarie Coetzee | 16 December 2013

"We stayed there for 2 nights. Lovely cottage. Excellent service."


"Nice Place"

(South Africa) Maurits Smit | 2 December 2013

"Nice place to stay! Was just short the breakfast on Sunday!"


"Congrats!"

(South Africa) Anja Pienaar | 4 November 2013

"We had the most perfect stay! It was clean, comfortable and very quiet!! We loved every minute!!"


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Janet Cruywagen | 3 November 2013

"Lovely LOVELY stay at Timmerskraal! Loved all the small details and the jar of shortbread! Would highly recommend this place!"


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Minette van Rooyen | 30 September 2013

"We had a great stay at Timmerskraal! It was beautifully furnished, neat and equipped with everything we needed including coffee, tea and delicious cookies. The location is perfect as it is close to the centre of Clarens but far enough to enjoy a quiet and peaceful holiday. The hostess, Carol, was ve..."

more

"We had a great stay at Timmerskraal! It was beautifully furnished, neat and equipped with everything we needed including coffee, tea and delicious cookies. The location is perfect as it is close to the centre of Clarens but far enough to enjoy a quiet and peaceful holiday. The hostess, Carol, was very friendly. We will definitely go back and recommend it to Clarens visitors!"


"Pleasantly surprised"

(South Africa) Elbie Dreyer | 23 September 2013

"We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation, the cottage was spacious and comfortable, with all the necessary amenities. We highly recommend it for either one night, a mid-week or a weekend stay. "


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Viloshni Moodley | 3 September 2013

"An awesome hostess who made sure our long weekend stay was extremely comfortable in the quaint cottage. There is everything you need when away from home, even a helper who cleans up the place. It is highly recommended for a mid-week break where you could visit the Afriski lodge and Golden gate natur..."

more

"An awesome hostess who made sure our long weekend stay was extremely comfortable in the quaint cottage. There is everything you need when away from home, even a helper who cleans up the place. It is highly recommended for a mid-week break where you could visit the Afriski lodge and Golden gate nature reserve which you could travel to and return."


"Amazing break!"

(South Africa) Minky de Winnaar | 24 June 2013

"What a wonderful stay we had! The host is very friendly and helpful. Cottage is warm and cosy and more than enough blankets for the cold nights. Cookies were absolutely divine. My only regret was that the weekend went by too fast. Next time we'll stay at least a week! I can highly recommend Timme..."

more

"What a wonderful stay we had! The host is very friendly and helpful. Cottage is warm and cosy and more than enough blankets for the cold nights. Cookies were absolutely divine. My only regret was that the weekend went by too fast. Next time we'll stay at least a week! I can highly recommend Timmerskraal for your next stay at Clarens. "


"Awesome breakaway!"

(South Africa) Samantha van Vuuren | 6 June 2013

"What a lovely stay! I will recommend anyone to stay at Timmerskraal. Warm welcome, comfortable stay, best cookies, homely soup and great friendly cleaning service!!! Very nice touches and cozy.

Will also recommend anyone to go stay there during the week! Clarens is lovely during the week and ..."

more

"What a lovely stay! I will recommend anyone to stay at Timmerskraal. Warm welcome, comfortable stay, best cookies, homely soup and great friendly cleaning service!!! Very nice touches and cozy.

Will also recommend anyone to go stay there during the week! Clarens is lovely during the week and not so busy. Will go back any day!"


"Timmerskraal stay May 2013"

(South Africa) Sandra Ewels | 20 May 2013

"The cottage is lovely. Warm, cosy and very comfortably furnished. The owner is caring and friendly. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a nice 'country-style' relaxing break. "


"Lekker"

Koos Meyer | 10 May 2013

"Baie gasvry en vriendelike diens. Sal enige persoon aanbeveel. "


"Thatch roof cottage"

(South Africa) ANNATJIE DE BEER | 12 March 2013

"Carol was the perfect hostess. She even baked us a appletart with fresh apples from her own trees. The price is very fair, and all you need to bring is your own Food, everything else is there even shampoo. We had a great stay."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Tania Oosthuizen | 25 February 2013

"We were in Clarens for a wedding and had a lovely stay at this gorgeous establishment. Carol was friendly and extremely helpful. Highly recommended."


"Surpise"

(South Africa) Ian Harrison | 15 February 2013

"As with anything you book through the Internet, you are never quite sure what to expect.

Timmerskraal exceeded all expectations.The cottage was huge in comparison to other B&B's where we have been before. 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom,kitchen AND a separate lounge/dining room: all beautifully f..."

more

"As with anything you book through the Internet, you are never quite sure what to expect.

Timmerskraal exceeded all expectations.The cottage was huge in comparison to other B&B's where we have been before. 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom,kitchen AND a separate lounge/dining room: all beautifully furnished.

Will go back for sure when I have the money."


"Fine"

(South Africa) lamb janet | 12 February 2013

"Very good!"


"Very enjoyable "

(South Africa) Lin Lottering | 12 January 2013

"Very enjoyable stay. Everything clean and service superb. Will stay much longer next time. Everyone so friendly."


"Tranquil and beautiful haven!"

(South Africa) Mat Carlisle | 9 January 2013

"Timmerskraal exceeded our expectaions by far! It is set in a stunning garden, and is well serviced. Carol, the host was most helpful with excellent suggestions to make our stay more memorable! The cottage is very conveniently located, within walking distance of the town square, so ideal. I would rec..."

more

"Timmerskraal exceeded our expectaions by far! It is set in a stunning garden, and is well serviced. Carol, the host was most helpful with excellent suggestions to make our stay more memorable! The cottage is very conveniently located, within walking distance of the town square, so ideal. I would recommend Timmerskraal again, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there next time!"


"A little piece of heaven"

(South Africa) Alisande Bradshaw | 27 December 2012

"Have just returned from a week in Timmerskraal. This is our 5th or 6th visit to this haven of tranquility. Lovely gardens and flowers, walks and mountains - a treat for the soul!"


"A great place to stay"

(South Africa) Grant Tweehuysen | 3 December 2012

"I highly recommend this place to anybody looking for accommodation in Clarens, the place was very clean and well looked after and Carol was very friendly and helpful."


"We had a wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Su Quinn | 26 November 2012

"We loved the unit set in beautiful gardens and Carol was warm and helpful. We would not hesitate to go back."


"Excellent weekend"

(South Africa) jan de klerk | 12 November 2012

"It was excellent, the place was beautiful and the whole weekend was nice. The reception by Carol let us feel so heavenly and the atmosphere was like a holiday. There was nothing to complain about. The garden was beautiful and we will recommend this place to everybody - I think it will be exceptiona..."

more

"It was excellent, the place was beautiful and the whole weekend was nice. The reception by Carol let us feel so heavenly and the atmosphere was like a holiday. There was nothing to complain about. The garden was beautiful and we will recommend this place to everybody - I think it will be exceptionally nice during the week, if there will not so many people around in Clarens. Thanx for a wonderfull weekend!"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Johan Bosman | 15 October 2012

"Without any doubt you can book here. Friendly excellent service. Book now."


"Amazing stay"

(South Africa) villi pieterse | 5 October 2012

"A beautiful cottage. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. A most friendly host, that makes you feel like a star. Will certainly go there again!"


"Homely"

(South Africa) Phoebe Meyer | 25 September 2012

"We had a lovely time. Nice place. Comfortable and we felt at home."


"Very charming"

(South Africa) Santie Botes | 13 August 2012

"We found Timmerskraal very charming and well equipped - a very nice establishment for the weekend we've spent. Carol is very friendly and welcomed us upon arrival. It was icy cold but the cottage is well equipped with heaters and warm bedding. We, Santie (43) and Hanlie (19), loved the stay and wi..."

more

"We found Timmerskraal very charming and well equipped - a very nice establishment for the weekend we've spent. Carol is very friendly and welcomed us upon arrival. It was icy cold but the cottage is well equipped with heaters and warm bedding. We, Santie (43) and Hanlie (19), loved the stay and will definitely visit again - we will also recommend Timmerskraal to friends and family."


"Friendly and nice"

(South Africa) Retha Wepener | 9 August 2012

"Arrived at a picturesque cottage overlooking the golf estate. Very neat and roomy, friendly staff and owner, Carol, went the extra mile to make our stay wonderful. Woke up Tuesday to a snowy wonderland! I would recommend Timmerskraal for a great relaxing stay."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) John Pelucci | 23 July 2012

"I thought the accommodation was very good and Carol was a great hostess. Within walking distence of all amenities.If there was a down side to our stay I would say that an open fire in the fireplace or gas would have finnished it off as it was very cold. The existing heaters were good but the fire wo..."

more

"I thought the accommodation was very good and Carol was a great hostess. Within walking distence of all amenities.If there was a down side to our stay I would say that an open fire in the fireplace or gas would have finnished it off as it was very cold. The existing heaters were good but the fire would have realy made it. That is only my thoughts but would still stay there again or recommend anyone else to book, 10 out of 10. Thank you John."


"Peaceful and tranquil experience"

(South Africa) Theresa de Lange | 27 May 2012

"We enjoyed our stay in this clean and well equipped cottage. Carol is an excellent host and so warm and friendly. Thank you, we will visit again."


"Our experience"

(South Africa) Henk Botje | 22 May 2012

"We spent 5 days at the cottage, and were pleasantly surprised with what awaited us. Excellent service and the most helpfull and caring owner and personnel. Everything you need is available at the cottage. I can strongly reccommend this accomodation should you wish to spend some time in and around Cl..."

more

"We spent 5 days at the cottage, and were pleasantly surprised with what awaited us. Excellent service and the most helpfull and caring owner and personnel. Everything you need is available at the cottage. I can strongly reccommend this accomodation should you wish to spend some time in and around Clarens."


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Joe Kirstein | 2 May 2012

"We enjoyed our stay at Timmerskraal!"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Mandi Oosthuyzen | 12 March 2012

"What an awesome stay! The staff were so sweet, and the facilities and attention to detail were beyond compare. A must stay venue."


"Verblyf "

(South Africa) Pretorius J.P | 12 March 2012

"Ek en my gesin het op 26/2/2012 by Timmerskraal oornag. Verblyf was aangenaam in 'n stil en rustige omgewing. Ek sal die verblyf aanbeveel. Baie Dankie."


"Clarens Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) Barbara du Toit | 5 March 2012

"What a lovely little cottage. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in the near future."


"My stay"

(South Africa) estelle koch | 28 February 2012

"We had a lovely stay at Timmerskraal. Very warm welcome from Carol. The Cottage had lovely flowers in every room, everything was clean and she made us delicious shortbread. We will definately stay there again!"


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Martiens Fourie | 16 February 2012

"Timmerskraal Self Catering & B&B Cottage can be recommended!"


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Malcolm Bremner | 13 February 2012

"We had a great stay. Carol's hospitality and advice was fantastic."


"Great"

(South Africa) Cilia Wannenburg Cilia Wannenbug | 9 January 2012

"Ons het dit baie geniet. Die plek is baie mooi en skoon. Carol is baie vriendelik. Ek beveel die plek enige tyd aan. Die appelbome en die grasperke is fantasties mooi. Sal weer daar bly.

We really enjoyed it. The place is beautiful and clean. Carol is very friendly. I will recommend t..."

more

"Ons het dit baie geniet. Die plek is baie mooi en skoon. Carol is baie vriendelik. Ek beveel die plek enige tyd aan. Die appelbome en die grasperke is fantasties mooi. Sal weer daar bly.

We really enjoyed it. The place is beautiful and clean. Carol is very friendly. I will recommend this place anytime. The apple trees and the lawns are very beautiful. Will definitely stay there again.

"


"Enchanting"

(South Africa) Fiona Smith | 4 January 2012

"We were fortunate to stay in the house although the cottage looks equally appealing! It was wonderful, the gardens are an absolute treat and the shortbread (which somehow we had missed out on over Christmas) was divine! Thank you Carol for a wonderful stopover."


"Lovely house"

(United Kingdom) Lee O'Connor | 3 January 2012

"We received a very friendly reception. The house is in a good location for walking to town for dinner. We thought the house was lovely and had beautiful gardens, but for a house that size it really needs another toilet - one toilet located in the bathroom is not really enough for six people in one h..."

more

"We received a very friendly reception. The house is in a good location for walking to town for dinner. We thought the house was lovely and had beautiful gardens, but for a house that size it really needs another toilet - one toilet located in the bathroom is not really enough for six people in one house."


"Great"

(South Africa) Graham Aaron | 23 December 2011

"We spent two wonderful, relaxing nights at Timmerskraal, enjoying the hospitality offered by Carol. The thatched cottage was comfortable and a real home away from home. Carol provided us with the most generous and delicious breakfasts. We would certainly recommend her establishment and book this ..."

more

"We spent two wonderful, relaxing nights at Timmerskraal, enjoying the hospitality offered by Carol. The thatched cottage was comfortable and a real home away from home. Carol provided us with the most generous and delicious breakfasts. We would certainly recommend her establishment and book this accommodation should we ever return to Clarens."


"Absolutely amazing!"

(South Africa) Sandra Wesolowski | 5 December 2011

"I only stayed at the accommodation for one night but it was wonderful, the perfect getaway. Quiet, peaceful, quaint, cosy and comfortable. We got much more than we expected for the price! Not only was the granny flat very well furnished but the view of the mountains was spectacular! Thanks very m..."

more

"I only stayed at the accommodation for one night but it was wonderful, the perfect getaway. Quiet, peaceful, quaint, cosy and comfortable. We got much more than we expected for the price! Not only was the granny flat very well furnished but the view of the mountains was spectacular! Thanks very much!"


"Fairytale stay in Clarens"

(South Africa) Jorina Louw | 27 November 2011

"What a lovely place in the most amazing town. Timmerskraal is a fairytale place and I would definitely recommend it. It felt like a home away from home and we did not want to leave this tranquil place behind. Thank you Carol!"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Colin Boyes | 21 November 2011

"It was excellent. My wife and I spent a night in the cottage on our way from PMB to Cape Town. It was a truly enjoyable experience and one which I can recommend and have already done so. Many thanks to Carol for your hospitality."


"Cosy"

(South Africa) Eileen DarnŽ | 14 November 2011

"The accommodation was super cosy and we had a wonderful time."


"Surrounded by nature"

(South Africa) Yvonne Riester | 8 November 2011

"The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and clean. There is a beautiful big garden, and the host was friendly. We would have given the establishment 5 Stars, had it not been for a dripping tap in the kitchen."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Hennie Van Niekerk | 24 October 2011

"It was very cosy and relaxing. Beautiful views. Will definitely visit again."


"Recommended"

(Netherlands) cornelis siebesma | 17 August 2011

"We spent two days in the cottage. We loved it very much, everything was well cleaned and all the utensils we needed were there, even electric blankets for chilly nights. The cottage is situated in a large garden in a quiet area of Clarens, but within easy walking distance of the centre of Clarens...."

more

"We spent two days in the cottage. We loved it very much, everything was well cleaned and all the utensils we needed were there, even electric blankets for chilly nights. The cottage is situated in a large garden in a quiet area of Clarens, but within easy walking distance of the centre of Clarens. We really can recommand the Timmerskraal Cottage. "


"An awesome environment and great place to stay"

(South Africa) Basani Shibambu | 15 August 2011

"Carol, the host, is an absolutely great woman and I would recommend this place to anyone. It's clean and cosy and has everything you need. It's perfectly located. I loved Clarens and will definitely be back."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Trudene steyn | 14 August 2011

"Ons het heerlik gebly by Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage. Het dadelik welkom gevoel met die moeite wat Carol gedoen het met die pragtige gedekte tafel en vars blomme oral in die huis. Ook buite was stoele en tafels met helderkleurige tafeldoekies wat ons sommer dadelik laat tuis voel het. Die ko..."

more

"Ons het heerlik gebly by Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage. Het dadelik welkom gevoel met die moeite wat Carol gedoen het met die pragtige gedekte tafel en vars blomme oral in die huis. Ook buite was stoele en tafels met helderkleurige tafeldoekies wat ons sommer dadelik laat tuis voel het. Die koffie en beskuit was 'n lafenis na 'n lang reis! Ons sal beslis weer by Timmerskraal oorbly!

We had a very nice stay at TImmerskraal Self-catering Cottage. Felt welcome immediately with the table that Carol set and the beautiful flowers throughout the house. Outside the chairs and tables were dressed with bright linen wich made us feel at home. The coffee and rusks were welcomed after our long journey. We will definitely stay here again! "


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Santa Collins | 10 August 2011

"We went to Clarence in August and stayed at Timmerskraal. I would recommend it to anyone. The cottage was lovely and all your needs are catered for. The hostess, Carol, is a wonderful person who really looks after her guests."


"Unforgettable long weekend"

(South Africa) Hans Brits | 1 August 2011

"It is tradition for us to pay a visit to Clarens for our anniversary every year. We are therefore in a good position to do a comparison with regards to accommodation in Clarens. We had the privilege to stay in Timmerskraal's Cottage. This was the best experience ever; a safe environment and enoug..."

more

"It is tradition for us to pay a visit to Clarens for our anniversary every year. We are therefore in a good position to do a comparison with regards to accommodation in Clarens. We had the privilege to stay in Timmerskraal's Cottage. This was the best experience ever; a safe environment and enough space for the kids to play, a very cozy fully equipped house with enough to read and a location relatively close to the village. To Carol and her team, thanks for one of the most outstanding weekends in Clarens. We will book way in advance in order to ensure that we are back next year. The snow on the mountains and the kids' first experience to enjoy mother nature's winter surprise was a highlight - Timmerskraal will see the Brits family again and again. "


"Very relaxing"

(South Africa) Santa Roos | 25 July 2011

"I had a lovely time staying at Timmerskraal, the privacy and peace and quiet was just what I needed. Carol was a wonderful host. Thanks!"


"Nice"

(South Africa) CLINT DE WINNAAR | 28 June 2011

"Nice and comfy. Enjoyed our stay. Thanks."


"Very pleasant!"

(South Africa) James Nel | 13 June 2011

"I had a wonderful stay at Timmerskraal. A beautiful home and garden. Carol is a great hostess - I will be back! Thanks Carol! The homemade rusks were a real treat!"


"Weekend getaway at Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) Caileigh Deere | 8 June 2011

"I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my weekend getaway at Timmerskraal. The accommodation was perfect for a relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of city living and we were made to feel so welcome. I will most certainly take the liberty to enjoy yet another getaway at Timmerskraal in the..."

more

"I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my weekend getaway at Timmerskraal. The accommodation was perfect for a relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of city living and we were made to feel so welcome. I will most certainly take the liberty to enjoy yet another getaway at Timmerskraal in the near future. Thank you Carol and staff for a blessed weekend and for accommodating us at such short notice."


"Warm stay in cold weather"

(South Africa) Linda Brink | 23 May 2011

"Thanks for warm hospitality in a freezing Free State winter! Electric blankets and neatly laid table were a bonus."


"Superb"

(South Africa) Grant Ross | 22 March 2011

"Carol has a superb setup at Timmerskraal and I will definitely go back again!"


"Timmerskraal Self-catering"

(South Africa) Ruth Pelser | 10 February 2011

"Thanks Carol, we had a wonderfully relaxed time."


"Timmerkraal"

(South Africa) Michelle Malan | 5 October 2010

"The people are friendly and the cottage was great. Thank you."


"Clean and comfortable"

(South Africa) Judy Cordjohn | 7 June 2010

"Our stay was entirely satisfactory and we found the cottage very cosy, clean and comfortable."


"Enjoyed"

(South Africa) Leanne Smith | 8 May 2010

"We loved staying here. It was wonderful."


"Most enjoyable"

(South Africa) Donald Matthews | 24 March 2010

"We will visit again. "


"Wat n lekker rustige naweek"

(South Africa) Jolanda Pretorius | 15 February 2010

"Dankie vir die wonderlike tyd wat ons by jou kon gehad het. En die lekker ontbyt bederfies. Dit was werklik n ontsnapping uit die gejaag van die alledaagse. Jou tuin is pragtig en jy kan maar seker wees dit was nie die laaste sien van ons nie. Tot weer siens Jolanda Pretorius"


"Timmerskraal B&B"

(South Africa) Annamarie Zuidersma | 15 February 2010

"Ons het heerlik gebly. Die huis is fantasties toegerus. Die antieke meubels is 'n fees om na te kyk. Carol en haar personeel is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ons het elke dag vars blomme in die huis gekry en 'n vriendelike geselsie. Carol was heeltyd beskikbaar en jy kon haar enige tyd dag of nag s..."

more

"Ons het heerlik gebly. Die huis is fantasties toegerus. Die antieke meubels is 'n fees om na te kyk. Carol en haar personeel is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ons het elke dag vars blomme in die huis gekry en 'n vriendelike geselsie. Carol was heeltyd beskikbaar en jy kon haar enige tyd dag of nag skakel. Ek beveel die blyplek vir enige persoon met vrymoedigheid aan. Rustig, skoon en binne bereik van alles. "


"Christmas in Clarens"

(South Africa) Annalize Gould | 6 January 2010

"We had a wonderful stay and I can recommend this to anyone. Carol was a very good host and always available but not in your face. The cottage was perfect for us as a family with 2 small children. The gardens are lovely and our little two year old could entertain himself in there for hours 'helpin..."

more

"We had a wonderful stay and I can recommend this to anyone. Carol was a very good host and always available but not in your face. The cottage was perfect for us as a family with 2 small children. The gardens are lovely and our little two year old could entertain himself in there for hours 'helping' the staff do their work! Thanks for their patience! Overall we had an absolutely lovely and relaxing time and will go back anytime! Thanks a lot for a wonderful cottage holiday!"


"Timberskraal"

(South Africa) Jana Pretorius | 10 October 2009

"Baie geniet. Genoeg spasie in die 'cottage' en plek vir die kinders om te speel.Sal enige tyd weer daar bly. Het die dorpie self ook baie geniet."


"Timmerskraal, Clarens"

(South Africa) Jann Desmond | 13 July 2009

"Top marks in all categories are well deserved. Thank you."


" Wonderfully eclectic experience"

(South Africa) Gary Halfpenny | 25 June 2009

"Really a quaint and wonderfully eclectic experience staying in the cottage!

The house lady is a gem and the facilities are what one should expect. Especially when looking for a cottage environment.

One and only one request and that is to get the remote and all the decoder etc into the ..."

more

"Really a quaint and wonderfully eclectic experience staying in the cottage!

The house lady is a gem and the facilities are what one should expect. Especially when looking for a cottage environment.

One and only one request and that is to get the remote and all the decoder etc into the lounge! It is a little testing unwrapping oneself from the comfy of the couch and fire place and have to go to the kitchen everytime one wants to change the channel.

Other than that, Carol is a great host and only to keen to assist, advise and share.

Thanks for keeping it real!

regards

Gary Halfpenny.

P.S. I have advised a few of my mates about the cottage already!!!!!!"


"Relaxing weekend in Clarens"

(South Africa) Teresa Geissler | 4 May 2009

"We had a lovely weekend. The house and the cottage were just right for our 2 families. Great location. Great value for money.Not luxurious but didn't pay luxury prices. Cosy and comfortable."


" We enjoyed our stay."

Sylvia Jones | 19 January 2009

"The accommodation was great and the garden a real joy with apple trees and complete privacy and tranquillity. It was a real pleasure to have a sumptuous breakfast in the garden. Carol, Christina and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make out stay comfortable and pleasant.

Would..."

more

"The accommodation was great and the garden a real joy with apple trees and complete privacy and tranquillity. It was a real pleasure to have a sumptuous breakfast in the garden. Carol, Christina and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make out stay comfortable and pleasant.

Would give it 95%

Thanks!"


"Fantastic 25-28 September 2008"

(South Africa) Annilda Esterhuysen | 29 September 2008

"It was my first visit to this beautiful town and I could not have hoped for a more relaxing getaway. A huge thank you to Carol, Christina and staff for their hospitality and smiles. Your B&B was exactly what I needed and exceeded all my expectations. A true home away from home. I will see all of you..."

more

"It was my first visit to this beautiful town and I could not have hoped for a more relaxing getaway. A huge thank you to Carol, Christina and staff for their hospitality and smiles. Your B&B was exactly what I needed and exceeded all my expectations. A true home away from home. I will see all of you again soon. "


"The Best in Clarence"

(South Africa) Ria de Beer | 15 September 2008

"We had a wonderful time during our stay at Tmmerskraal.

Everything was clean and neat and we felt very safe, Had a wonderful welcome from Carol's assistant and met Carol later that afternoon.

Very private in the cottage that we preferred to the main house. We enjoyed the big garden wh..."

more

"We had a wonderful time during our stay at Tmmerskraal.

Everything was clean and neat and we felt very safe, Had a wonderful welcome from Carol's assistant and met Carol later that afternoon.

Very private in the cottage that we preferred to the main house. We enjoyed the big garden which is very suitable for visitors with children.

As far as we were concerned it is the nicest accommodation in Clarence and we really recommend it to anyone loving the outdoors and privacy!!

Thanks Carol!"


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 11 September 2008

"Very comfortable and relaxing like a home away from home. The garden is very peaceful."


"Timmerskraal Selfcatering"

(South Africa) Charlie Brook | 28 June 2008

"We enjoyed it very much. Bit cold at this time of the year though (end June)."


"Will definitely visit again"

(South Africa) Bennie Oosthuizen | 17 April 2008

"It was a very nice, quite and relaxing stay in a typical country environment. Will definitely visit again."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Fiona Baxter | 8 April 2008

"Good old fashioned comfort. Staff were very welcoming and helpful."


"Very good stay"

(South Africa) anne dean | 15 January 2008

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Timmerskraal and were made really welcome by Carol and her staff. We particularly enjoyed the fabulous garden and just being able to relax in such a beautiful spot. We will definitely return."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Olga Lello | 9 January 2008

"Excellent value for money, enjoyed every moment of our stay!"


"Very Good"

(South Africa) Gerald Kent | 20 December 2007

"Very good, will definitely be back"


"Good"

(South Africa) Neville Faulds | 5 November 2007

"Wonderful setting in a beautiful garden, Carol made us feel at home in her house"


"Overnight at Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) viktor Kurz | 30 June 2007

"What a bonus we had! The morning of our leaving, saw me open the front door to be confronted by the thickest snow- it had snowed during the night! The kids were in awe. We though that we had been transported to Europe. It was a stunning way to end our delightful stay with Carol at Timmerskraal. Caro..."

more

"What a bonus we had! The morning of our leaving, saw me open the front door to be confronted by the thickest snow- it had snowed during the night! The kids were in awe. We though that we had been transported to Europe. It was a stunning way to end our delightful stay with Carol at Timmerskraal. Carol was the perect host - available but 'not in our faces'. The cottage ( a stunning house) was a treat, having everything we needed. It really was a wonderful stop-over on our way South, and we promised her that we would be back - and we will. I took photos of the house covered in snow and promised that i would send them to her to update for her website.

I have found SafariNOw.com so professional - the booking happened without a hitch. many thanks for co-ordinating a wonderful destination."


"Absolute peace and holiday feeling "

(South Africa) Helene Gron | 4 December 2006

"Beautiful garden with lovely trees and flowers and the place is spacious and has a good atmosphere - we really liked it and would love to return."


"Excellent!!!!!"

(South Africa) Maria Potgieter | 13 November 2006

"Thank you, we enjoyed it thoroughly it was VERY NICE. The accommodation was more than we expected it was exceptional we will

be coming back and also send our friends!!!!!"


"TIMMERSKRAAL"

(South Africa) mandy pieters | 9 October 2006

"Carol from Timmerskraal - a wonderful friendly lady and most helpful.

Timmerskraal itself is a lovely cottage to stay in. Everything one needs for a self catering stay. Atmosphere very tranquil and relaxing.

Gardens are lovely. Cloose to most things that one would like to do. more

"Carol from Timmerskraal - a wonderful friendly lady and most helpful.

Timmerskraal itself is a lovely cottage to stay in. Everything one needs for a self catering stay. Atmosphere very tranquil and relaxing.

Gardens are lovely. Cloose to most things that one would like to do.

A lovely weekend."


"Enjoy"

(South Africa) Albert Smit | 18 July 2006

"We enjoyed our stay, it was not luxury but we had a wonderful night and Carol was very friendly and helpful. Will stay there anytime again.

Thank-you

"


"Beautiful cottage"

(South Africa) Nan | 18 April 2018

"This cottage is very comfortable and clean.The linen was crisp and the duvets fluffy. The kitchen is tiny but had everything we needed. I would certainly recommend it.
"


"Home away from home"

(South Africa) Jacobus | 4 April 2018

"We really enjoyed Timmerskraal tremendously. It was like a home away from home. The owner was caring and so friendly. The gardens are beautiful.

Clean and neat accommodation.

We will definitely return and we can recommend Timmerskraal with ease."


"The perfect getaway"

(South Africa) Trish | 6 March 2018

"Timmerskraal cottage was a fabulous choice for a holiday getaway. It is incredibly peaceful, and surrounded by a magnificent garden. The hostess was extremely welcoming, and was always available for help, but otherwise left us to ourselves. The cottage is immaculately clean and well-kept, with a ..."

more

"Timmerskraal cottage was a fabulous choice for a holiday getaway. It is incredibly peaceful, and surrounded by a magnificent garden. The hostess was extremely welcoming, and was always available for help, but otherwise left us to ourselves. The cottage is immaculately clean and well-kept, with a selection of furniture designed to make you feel completely at home and really comfortable. We had no hesitation in awarding full marks - thank you! "


"Spacious and relaxing"

(South Africa) Cheryl | 23 January 2018

"Very clean, spacious and well furnished oldish cottage within walking distance to the centre of Clarens. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the beautiful garden and friendly host. Will definitely be back when we come to Clarens again."


"Timmerskraal Self Catering accommodation "

(South Africa) Elize | 28 December 2017

"We had a very pleasant stay at Timmerskraal Cottage. The unit is comfortable and well equipped, although the kitchen is very small. The B&B is close to the main center but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. The cottage is set in a beautiful garden with lovely views. Carol was a great host..."

more

"We had a very pleasant stay at Timmerskraal Cottage. The unit is comfortable and well equipped, although the kitchen is very small. The B&B is close to the main center but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. The cottage is set in a beautiful garden with lovely views. Carol was a great hostess and she added many personal touches and Christmas decorations, she was welcoming, friendly and helpful."


"Lovely Environment"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 June 2017

"I stayed in such a beautiful cottage. It was well equipped, conveniently for the whole weekend I was there and the bedroom was comfy. The area was surrounded by lots of nature. It was quiet and just the place for me to relax. A wonderfully good experience."


"Best Weekend Ever"

(South Africa) karen | 14 June 2017

"My stay was awesome. They were dog friendly and Carol was the most sweetest and accommodating. There was a lovely guy working in the beautiful garden, with cute decorations hugging in the trees. The place is centrally located, it’s spacious, enough space to sit on the patios or even the in the garde..."

more

"My stay was awesome. They were dog friendly and Carol was the most sweetest and accommodating. There was a lovely guy working in the beautiful garden, with cute decorations hugging in the trees. The place is centrally located, it’s spacious, enough space to sit on the patios or even the in the garden. I even got my car washed. We had a great stay and will definitely stay there again."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Christine | 26 April 2017

"The accommodation was adequate for our basic needs, the location is conveniently close to the City centre and we enjoyed our stay."


"Lovely Stay"

(South Africa) Kirthida | 15 April 2017

"What a lovely stay. The cottage was comfortable and very clean. I would definitely recommend the place. Thanks to Carol and her staff."


"Lovely place"

(South Africa) Charlene | 29 December 2016

"We had such an enjoyable time. The rooms was clean, everything was in its place and the service was great. Going back will definitely happen and I`ll also recommend the place anytime."


"Perfect"

(South Africa) Jonathan | 14 December 2016

"It was relaxing, the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms was well equipped and they had a beautiful garden. I would go back and also recommend to anyone."


"Lovely "

(South Africa) Karen | 2 December 2016

"The scenery and how the place is set-up is beautiful. The owner is friendly and went out of her way to make us feel welcomed. The place was functional and we really had a pleasant stay."


"Good Place"

(South Africa) Darrel | 26 October 2016

"Everything went well I had no problems. The staff is always friendly and would like to go back. I will also recommend it to others."


"Lovely Weekend"

(South Africa) nomusa | 2 August 2016

"I had a lovely weekend at the Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B. Thank you very much for your service and thank you to Carol.
From Nomusa Veronica
"


"Lovely Place"

(South Africa) Charmain | 14 July 2016

"We had an absolutely lovely stay, everything was good. It was like a home away from home for us, it’s an old and quaint place, but it was perfect for us. The staff was absolute stars and they also welcomed us so wonderfully. Thank you for a pleasant stay."


"Amazing "

(South Africa) paulina | 3 May 2016

"We will like to thank the staff and the owner of the place. The place was so amazing, me and the girls enjoyed every minute of it.
Hope to visit again sooner.
Thank you "


"Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B"

(South Africa) Kathy | 23 December 2015

"My time spent at this establishment was very relaxing and extremely worth every cent i paid. I had a wonderful experience and every service was up to standard. The staff was very welcoming and i will be visiting very soon!"


"Great time was had"

(South Africa) Warrick | 23 November 2015

"We had a great 2 night stay at Timmerskraal SC, thank you Carol for your friendly assistance & lifts in the rain.
I would love to visit again & would highly recommend your cottage. "


"Tranquility in abundance"

(South Africa) Tessa | 2 November 2015

"Timmerkraal was a very special experience in a beautiful, tranquil environment. A warm welcome and personal touch on arrival was heart-warming. I will definitely be back! Thank you so much."


"Comfortable "

(South Africa) Gordon | 29 September 2015

"Spent a comfortable 2 nights here in the big thatched cottage - lots of character, our kids loved the quirky layout.
10-15 mins walk into main village square of Clarens - we preferred walking on the quiet dirt back roads up to the village rather than the main tarred road. Beautiful & huge garden..."

more

"Spent a comfortable 2 nights here in the big thatched cottage - lots of character, our kids loved the quirky layout.
10-15 mins walk into main village square of Clarens - we preferred walking on the quiet dirt back roads up to the village rather than the main tarred road. Beautiful & huge garden with lots of shade and outdoor seating and decent braai facilities. Owner is friendly and helpful - a special thanks to her for not charging us for our parents who we had booked for but who were unable to come at the last minute due to illness. "


"Peace and quiet and chocolate muffins"

(South Africa) Christine | 1 August 2015

"A peaceful retreat a stones throw from the main village of Clarens.
The pretty cottage was comfortable and warm and a pleasure to stay in.
Many thanks for your hospitality Carol, the Shortbread and Chocolate Muffins were seriously YUM
We will certainly return for more of the same.
"


"First date"

(South Africa) Johan & Gerda | 28 July 2015

"We've met each other through friends. During our conversations we decided to visit Clarens as we both don't have the opportunity previously.

I've made the bookings online and notify Johan about it. We agreed that the weekend will be a good break away to get to know each other better and t..."

more

"We've met each other through friends. During our conversations we decided to visit Clarens as we both don't have the opportunity previously.

I've made the bookings online and notify Johan about it. We agreed that the weekend will be a good break away to get to know each other better and to explore this precious little town.

What a nice surprise when we booked in at Timmerskraal! Thank you Christina for letting us feel so welcome. All that we can say is WOW!!

We experience this little cottage so comfortable & cosy and decided to definitely make another booking for the summer time.

Keep up the high standard. We've absolutely loved it.



"


"Lovely owners"

(South Africa) jessica | 14 July 2015

"I had a pleasant stay at Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. I will stay there again in the future."


"Timmerskraal - rustic comfort"

(South Africa) len | 22 June 2015

"I stayed at Timmerskraal, recently, lovely rustic, cottagy feel to the venue, Very reasonable rates.
The cottage is fully fitted, with two spacious bedrooms ( Heater and electric blanket included), and a comfy lounge which featured all you may need.
Carol was very friendly and accommodatin..."

more

"I stayed at Timmerskraal, recently, lovely rustic, cottagy feel to the venue, Very reasonable rates.
The cottage is fully fitted, with two spacious bedrooms ( Heater and electric blanket included), and a comfy lounge which featured all you may need.
Carol was very friendly and accommodating with some last minute booking changes.
I will definitely be staying there again."


"Nice Place"

(South Africa) Carine | 22 May 2015

"I had a nice stay at Timmerskraal Self Catering. The place is very quiet and set in peaceful surroundings. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. "


"Family Stay at Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) Engelbrecht | 4 May 2015

"Timmerskraal is a nice and cosy place. Everything was neat and clean and we could even check-in earlier. Carol is a friendly host and did everything to make us feel comfortable! We really enjoyed our stay!"


" Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B"

(South Africa) du Toit | 2 April 2015

"We had a lovely stay at Timmerskraal. The cottage is spacious and well equipped with everything you need. The only thing that was missing was a shower."


"timmerskraal self catering cottage and B&B"

(South Africa) Mrs Morton | 16 December 2014

"We spent time in this lovely cottage with a beautiful garden of flowers and apples. I look forward to returning."


"Happy"

(South Africa) Mr seidman | 11 December 2014

"I was pleased with the accommodation. The stay was very nice. I will certainly revisit and recommend them."


"Good"

(South Africa) balcomb | 4 December 2014

"The stay was very pleasant. We arrived late and left early but we were comfortable so we would visit again."


"Very impressive!"

(South Africa) Mrs Nolte | 5 November 2014

"I had a fantastic time here. I wanted to stay longer. I have been here about five times. And absolutely recommend this place to others!"


"A beautifull Doll house , What an Awesome place to stay"

(South Africa) Van schalkwyk | 22 September 2014

"Timmerskraal was probably the most beautiful, clean fantastic place I have ever been to. The staff were welcoming, everything was perfect...
It was like walking into a life size doll house, I loved every minute of our stay there. We will definitely go back there as soon as possible!

T..."

more

"Timmerskraal was probably the most beautiful, clean fantastic place I have ever been to. The staff were welcoming, everything was perfect...
It was like walking into a life size doll house, I loved every minute of our stay there. We will definitely go back there as soon as possible!

Thank you CAROL for giving us the opportunity to experience your dream accommodation. "


"Road Trip Birthday"

(South Africa) Mrs da Silva | 21 July 2014

"10 of us stayed here on our first night of a seven day birthday road trip (My 50th).
The best place by far of all. Carol made sure we were comfortable and out did herself. The little extras made us feel very welcome. Will definitely be back in the summer and will stay longer. Will highly recomme..."

more

"10 of us stayed here on our first night of a seven day birthday road trip (My 50th).
The best place by far of all. Carol made sure we were comfortable and out did herself. The little extras made us feel very welcome. Will definitely be back in the summer and will stay longer. Will highly recommend to friends and family.
Thank you Carol for everything."


"Why you should visit Clarens"

(Lesotho) anonymous | 11 June 2014

"Preparing for exams is never easy but staying at Timmerskraal was the best. It is very silent day and night and i could focus on my studies. The owner and staff were very friendly and i got my car washed for free. I was really happy that Rooms For Africa found this place for me. Thank you Timmerskra..."

more

"Preparing for exams is never easy but staying at Timmerskraal was the best. It is very silent day and night and i could focus on my studies. The owner and staff were very friendly and i got my car washed for free. I was really happy that Rooms For Africa found this place for me. Thank you Timmerskraal for taking such good care of me for 10 days."


"Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B"

(South Africa) Mr van zyl | 7 April 2014

"I would love to rate Timmerskraal for you. We went to Clarens 2/4/2014 to 4/4/2014. What a fantastic cottage, so clean with fresh cosmos in all the rooms even in the toilet. Carol was such a fantastic host I could not believe the service we received for such an affordable price. I do believe her p..."

more

"I would love to rate Timmerskraal for you. We went to Clarens 2/4/2014 to 4/4/2014. What a fantastic cottage, so clean with fresh cosmos in all the rooms even in the toilet. Carol was such a fantastic host I could not believe the service we received for such an affordable price. I do believe her prices are the lowest in Clarens and is affordable even for pensioners. Carol thanks for making moms 80th birthday special without even knowing it!! We will definitely see you again. Thanks again the van zyl’ss from Pennington"


"Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B"

(South Africa) Mr Crighton | 25 March 2014

"Thank you for a pleasant stay. This is a place I will recommend to others and revisit."


"38th anniversary- Ludeke"

(South Africa) Mrs Ludeke | 3 February 2014

"We enjoyed the stay, would recommend it for more than one couple. The service was good and the hostess gave us some personal attention. Cleaning services also good. Thanks."


"Excellent breakfast"

(Germany) anonymous | 7 November 2013

"The old furniture and the breakfast impressed the group. Thank you."


"Lovely time"

(South Africa) Ms Russell | 4 November 2013

"We had a lovely stay at Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B and would recommend it to others."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Ms Uys | 10 September 2013

"Had a great stay,lovely place.will recommend to family and friends.Easy booking with RoomsForAfrica."


"very Good"

(South Africa) Mr Pretorius | 15 August 2013

"Thank you Carol every thing was comfortable neat and meet our expectation. We enjoyed our stay
"


"Full marks accommodation"

(South Africa) Ms VAN TROMP | 22 April 2013

"I would like to thank the owner and her personnel for the top class excellent accommodation. They immediately made us feel right at home. Thanks for the treats and flowers, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay."


"Timmerskraal stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Nel | 3 February 2013

"Quaint home away from home with a great hostess. Thanks Carol"


"Excellent Self Catering"

(South Africa) Mrs doorigan | 6 November 2012

"We were greeted with a warm welcome and shortbread biscuits were in a jar waiting for us with tea, coffee, and milk was left in the fridge for us. It was a very spacious place considering there was only my husband and I. There were electric blankets just in case the weather changed and got cool whic..."

more

"We were greeted with a warm welcome and shortbread biscuits were in a jar waiting for us with tea, coffee, and milk was left in the fridge for us. It was a very spacious place considering there was only my husband and I. There were electric blankets just in case the weather changed and got cool which it did on our second night so we were glad to have them. The next morning the sun was shining and there were the most beautiful flowers and roses in the garden with awesome trees for shade. One could relax for hours under these trees in the peace and quietness of this setting. Braai facilities were also provided. All channels were available on TV. It is within walking distance of the town and this walk we enjoyed very much. Carol the owner is a very friendly lady and we will be returning in the New Year and will definitely stay there again."


"Very Pleasant And Kind!"

(Netherlands) Mrs van de molen | 1 November 2012

"It was a pleasant stay. Kind people and nearby the Golden Gate Park! It is very nice accommodation. When we are again in Clarens we will book the Timmerskraal again!"


"Exceptional"

(South Africa) Mrs Chilton | 24 September 2012

"What a wonderful home away from home, everything was there to make our stay comfortable and welcoming, beautiful surroundings, an exquisite town a place to get away from the madding crowd.
"


"Well done !"

(United Arab Emirates) Mr DU PLESSIS | 30 August 2012

"Our stay was excellent - very warm, cosy, pleasant, family friendly with that extra touch - freshly baked home made apple tart and cream on the house - what a surprise!

Shall stay there again without a doubt!! My compliments!

You made our visit to Clarens very , very pleasant!"


"Quaint establishment with comforts"

(South Africa) Ms kavallieratos | 10 July 2012

"A quaint little establishment with all the comforts one could need. The accommodation was very tidy, neat and clean. The lady who runs Timmerskraal is friendly and very welcoming. We were only able to stay for 1 night but thoroughly enjoyed it."


"Carol's Warm Cozy Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Nhlapo | 4 July 2012

"We recently visited Clarens from 24-29 June 2012 with our families. When we arrived Carol welcomed us in the cold place of Clarens. We walked in the house and it was warm and very homely. Once inside its beautiful and welcoming. Everyday we went out to do our errands and when we got back home Carol ..."

more

"We recently visited Clarens from 24-29 June 2012 with our families. When we arrived Carol welcomed us in the cold place of Clarens. We walked in the house and it was warm and very homely. Once inside its beautiful and welcoming. Everyday we went out to do our errands and when we got back home Carol would have put the lights on, electric blankets, the heaters and the the stove in the lounge to warm up the place. We really had a great time at Timmerskraal even extended our stay for 1 more day. On departure the cars were cleaned by her staff and ready to go. Carol and all her assistants were lovely and warm indeed.
We will definitely come back to Timmerskraal The next-time we want to go to Afri-ski and the Lesotho mountains. "


"Timmerskraal providing a blissful stay in Clatens"

(South Africa) anonymous | 1 July 2012

"The reception, stay, and see off was wonderful. What a delightful host. Tranquility with a view, is the crux.
Thanks for heaters, warm, soft beds, open arms and a lovely home away from home! "


"Rustic retreat"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 April 2012

"For good value and comfortable accommodation, Timmerskraal is the place to go, a home away from home. This well insulated thatch and stone cottage is set in beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfy lounge or spend a few hours reading a book under one of the magnificent trees on the property. Fully..."

more

"For good value and comfortable accommodation, Timmerskraal is the place to go, a home away from home. This well insulated thatch and stone cottage is set in beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfy lounge or spend a few hours reading a book under one of the magnificent trees on the property. Fully serviced, expect discreet attention and special touches to make your visit even more enjoyable. "


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) Mrs Thomson | 12 March 2012

"We enjoyed our stay at Timmerskraal very much. It was very clean and neat and would like to go back any time again."


"Our stay at Timmerskraal - Clarens"

(South Africa) Ms Sharon Viljoen | 22 February 2012

"This is a lovely little cottage - very clean and lots of extras provided by the wonderful owner Carol. This is labeled as self catering but tea/coffee/milk and shortbread was available as well as lovely big bath towels.
We will definitely go back and stay here as it is a very convenient loca..."

more

"This is a lovely little cottage - very clean and lots of extras provided by the wonderful owner Carol. This is labeled as self catering but tea/coffee/milk and shortbread was available as well as lovely big bath towels.
We will definitely go back and stay here as it is a very convenient location to all at Clarens. This made our stay at Clarens very enjoyable.
Many thanks Carol.
"


"Overwelmed"

(South Africa) Ms Waters | 15 February 2012

"We were welcomed with fresh flowers from Timmerskraals own garden, a fresh baked apple pie with apples from the garden and a friendly Carol with smiles. We felt so special with this warm and friendly reception. The view is awesome! Carol's personnel were also friendly and even done our washing. The ..."

more

"We were welcomed with fresh flowers from Timmerskraals own garden, a fresh baked apple pie with apples from the garden and a friendly Carol with smiles. We felt so special with this warm and friendly reception. The view is awesome! Carol's personnel were also friendly and even done our washing. The stay was wonderful and we left a piece of ours hearts behind. Thank you Carol, you will seen us again."


"Awesome surroundings!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 February 2012

"We had a great stay in an awesome town, will definately return again"


"Timmerskaal"

(South Africa) Mr Steyn | 29 December 2011

"We were very pleased with our accommodation. Carol treated us like "kings" and we would definitely propose this accommdation for any one considering to visit Clarens."


"'n Tuiste weg van my huis/Home away from home"

(South Africa) Irene | 12 December 2011

"Dit was baie lekker om by Carol tuis te gaan. Eenheid is gerieflik en die vars blomme in elke vertrek 'n vriendelike verwelkoming. Die tuin is pragtig en vol interessante plante. Vir my wat 'n tuinliefhebber is, was dit heerlik om met 'n sakvol plantjies en steggies te vertrek. Sal weer daar oor..."

more

"Dit was baie lekker om by Carol tuis te gaan. Eenheid is gerieflik en die vars blomme in elke vertrek 'n vriendelike verwelkoming. Die tuin is pragtig en vol interessante plante. Vir my wat 'n tuinliefhebber is, was dit heerlik om met 'n sakvol plantjies en steggies te vertrek. Sal weer daar oorbly indien ons die geleentheid het. Dankie Carol!

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

It was very nice to stay at Carol's. Unit is convenient and fresh flowers in every room makes a friendly welcome. The garden is beautiful and full of interesting plants. For me, a grower, it was wonderful to leave with a sack full of seedlings and cuttings. Would stay there again if we have the opportunity. Thank you Carol!"


"Rose Cottage"

(South Africa) Ms Brett | 22 November 2011

"My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful stay at Timmerskraal. Our cottage was so big and everything was clean and beautifully prepared for us with the most gorgeous roses in every room. You know how you never sleep well away from home? Well I slept better than at home. It was so relaxing and peac..."

more

"My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful stay at Timmerskraal. Our cottage was so big and everything was clean and beautifully prepared for us with the most gorgeous roses in every room. You know how you never sleep well away from home? Well I slept better than at home. It was so relaxing and peaceful. Can't wait to go back again. Thank you Carol for your warm hospitality."


"You'll feel right at home in a wonderful setting!"

(Netherlands) Mr Zandbergen | 8 November 2011

"We absolutely loved this place. We had the separate cottage, which was wonderful. The garden is lovely and is arranged in such a way that we had good privacy. Carol is a wonderful lady and the workers are doing a great job. Loved it!!"


"Comfortable, pleasant and best value for money"

(South Africa) John Willemse | 16 October 2011

"Our stopover at Timmerskraal, on our 1800 km trip from Stilbaai to the Kruger National Park, was just what we needed to replenish our reserves. We had a great stay and only regret that there was no time to take in the many interesting sights of Clarens and the vicinity. But we'll be back."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Patricia | 25 July 2011

"Carol provides for very cosy, comfy and homely accommodation. We enjoyed our stay, and being winter did not want for any extra warmth as there were loads of heaters and blankies and even an electric one on the bed! Thanks Carol"


"Review Timmerkraal: E Fraqncke"

(South Africa) Ms Francke | 8 May 2011

"The house that we stayed in was very cosy and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. Carol made sure that we felt welcomed. We will call definitely again."


"Clarins weekend @ Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) anonymous | 27 February 2011

"Accommodation practical with large rooms - fairly priced. Nice tidy garden and well located to Clarins main centre."


"Home from home"

(Sudan) Mr Nel | 24 January 2011

"The accommodation is very neat and clean. The staff were very good – welcoming and homely."


"The very best experience"

(United Kingdom) Lynne Whitehead | 29 October 2010

"Having looked up on the web for a place to stay near Clarens, we found Timmerskraal and booked the room for the night. We were very surprised to find such a lovely place with an excellent host. The accommodation is absolutely first class and the breakfast Carol prepared for us was outstanding, with ..."

more

"Having looked up on the web for a place to stay near Clarens, we found Timmerskraal and booked the room for the night. We were very surprised to find such a lovely place with an excellent host. The accommodation is absolutely first class and the breakfast Carol prepared for us was outstanding, with specially baked fresh bread and a super fruit salad, we were truly spoiled. I stayed there with my two sisters and mother (who is 85) and we were made very welcome and would certainly recommend this to anyone who should go to Clarens area. I can only say this is a very, very welcoming and beautiful place to stay at."


"Timmerskraal, the place to stay!"

(South Africa) Mrs Beetge | 4 October 2010

"We really enjoyed staying at Timmerskraal. We loved the cottage style and the old furniture. The kids enjoyed playing in the beautiful garden. We had everything we needed. Carol and her staff, especially Lina, made us feel welcome and if we ever visit Clarens again, we will definitely stay there..."

more

"We really enjoyed staying at Timmerskraal. We loved the cottage style and the old furniture. The kids enjoyed playing in the beautiful garden. We had everything we needed. Carol and her staff, especially Lina, made us feel welcome and if we ever visit Clarens again, we will definitely stay there again!"


"Timmerskraal, a home-from-home"

(South Africa) Mr Phillipson | 29 June 2010

"Our stay was very comfortable, with the thatched cottage being homely and unpretentious which enables you to relax properly. The daily cleaning and services were perfect with very pleasant staff; and everyone made sure that we felt at home. Being winter, the nights were cold and the staff made sure ..."

more

"Our stay was very comfortable, with the thatched cottage being homely and unpretentious which enables you to relax properly. The daily cleaning and services were perfect with very pleasant staff; and everyone made sure that we felt at home. Being winter, the nights were cold and the staff made sure that the coal fire in the lounge was fully stoked all the time, with plenty of coal on hand for us to top up when necessary. Plenty of books and novels are readily available in the cottage.

The cottage grounds are extensive with a beautiful view of the mountains and each evening all the necessary was laid out for us to braai if we wished.

Carol Craig-Cochrane is a wonderful hostess and we intend to visit again.
"


"Perfect midweek break"

(South Africa) Martie vd Walt | 20 May 2010

"A wonderful peaceful midweek break. We found the location of Timmerskraal perfect, a little out of the hustle and bustle of the town yet not too far away. Accomodation was comfortable and very clean with friendly and helpful staff.

Would love to visit again.
"


"Very Special"

(South Africa) Martin & Mariëtte | 5 April 2010

"We really enjoyed our stay at Timmerskraal where we celebrated our 20 year anniversary. The elegantly furnished house with the beautiful paintings really creates a relaxing atmosphere. Fresh flowers were placed throughout the house. The bedrooms are comfortable and the kitchen suitable to prepare an..."

more

"We really enjoyed our stay at Timmerskraal where we celebrated our 20 year anniversary. The elegantly furnished house with the beautiful paintings really creates a relaxing atmosphere. Fresh flowers were placed throughout the house. The bedrooms are comfortable and the kitchen suitable to prepare any meal (together with the Weber type braai in the garden).

There is an excellent view of Mount Horeb from the lovely garden with several trees including a big apple tree at the front door. We found our host Carol and the maid Lina to be very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this establishment for a well-deserved break and quality time with your partner. The surroundings are ideal for relaxing and the atmosphere is homely.
"


"Pleasant Stay."

(South Africa) Mr Koorts | 1 April 2010

"I would say a very pleasant welcome by a very charming woman. The bedding was clean and crispy, almost like stepping into an old English cottage.

Had no time for breakfast but I am sure it would have been great.
"


"Comfortable stay"

(South Africa) Vernon | 11 January 2010

"Cottage Clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed. Close to town, thus convenient."


"Tranquil Country Life"

(South Africa) Mrs Bradshaw | 11 January 2010

"From the warm personal welcome on our arrival to the departure 4 days later as friends, we enjoyed hospitality of the warmest and highest standard. The private tranquil garden with its stunning flowers and trees was a real treasure trove of finds for the city slickers. I enjoyed sitting under the ..."

more

"From the warm personal welcome on our arrival to the departure 4 days later as friends, we enjoyed hospitality of the warmest and highest standard. The private tranquil garden with its stunning flowers and trees was a real treasure trove of finds for the city slickers. I enjoyed sitting under the trees listening to the birds and the breeze in the trees whilst also having an amazing view of the mountains. My 4 year old enjoyed the garden for its size and for stretching his legs, football and the swimming pool! My husband enjoyed the amazing collection of books and the chance to kick back and relax. Easy access to the town and we all enjoyed amazing walks to town and in and around Clarens. We will return!"


"Home from Home"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 December 2009

"We had visitors from Germany and stayed for 2 nights at Timmerskraal on our way back from the coast to Gauteng. The reception was very warm and welcoming, the cottage was in fact a house equipped with all and much more than needed and the setting was like a true cottage in an English Country Garden...."

more

"We had visitors from Germany and stayed for 2 nights at Timmerskraal on our way back from the coast to Gauteng. The reception was very warm and welcoming, the cottage was in fact a house equipped with all and much more than needed and the setting was like a true cottage in an English Country Garden.
Being December month, the place was lovingly decorated with a Christmas tree and other deco and we felt like having taken over someone's home.
Most certainly the best value for money one can expect."


"Delightful stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Du Croq | 10 December 2009

"A delightful cottage. Comfortable, roomy with everything you could need for a short stay. Carol, the proprietor was friendly and helpful but not intrusive. A lovely garden in which you can really relax under the trees. Thank you."


"Value for Money"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 December 2009

"We made a booking on line with very little notice and I was so happy with the efficient service and the warm hospitality upon arrival. The cottage was perfect for my husband, 3 year old and 1 year old. The reviews were very accurate and the cottage was just that, a sweet little cottage with all my n..."

more

"We made a booking on line with very little notice and I was so happy with the efficient service and the warm hospitality upon arrival. The cottage was perfect for my husband, 3 year old and 1 year old. The reviews were very accurate and the cottage was just that, a sweet little cottage with all my needs covered. There was enough space and having the kitchen made life easy for heating up the meals for toddlers. It was also ideal to have a bath and shower. I do think they should do a quick bathroom and kitchen makeover and the rating would move up to almost 5 star... Carol was so very kind to meet us in the main street to lead us to the cottage following her car, which I found a very warm personalised touch.

Thank you Carol - we had a lovely weekend."


"Home from home"

(South Africa) Mrs Grove | 23 November 2009

"A great place to stay in tranquil and comfortable. Thank you so much."


"Home from Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Barry | 7 November 2009

"This is a most amazing place with a wonderful hostess. Beautiful tranquil cottage in stunning garden, and as for the breakfasts - they were wonderful and so much!
Would recommend this to anyone - and I will certainly be going back. "


"Weekend Bliss"

(South Africa) Ms de Jager | 31 August 2009

"We had a lovely time in Clarens staying at Timmerskraal....it felt like a home away from home! Thank you Carol, for the delicious home-made cookies upon our arrival.

The theme/decoration of the cottage added to the experience and definitely contributes to the historic feeling of the town. W..."

more

"We had a lovely time in Clarens staying at Timmerskraal....it felt like a home away from home! Thank you Carol, for the delicious home-made cookies upon our arrival.

The theme/decoration of the cottage added to the experience and definitely contributes to the historic feeling of the town. We loved all the antiques.

It was great to spend time with the family and enjoy the beautiful garden with scenic views of the mountains and golf estate.

We would certainly recommend the cottage for travellers/tourists without a lot of hang-ups looking for a peaceful quite time. And we would also be happy to visit again.

Blessings

Lizanle de Jager

"


"Tranquillity and Care"

(South Africa) Mr Botha | 27 July 2009

"Clarens, what a place that will have you in awe on arrival.... It was Friday, 24 July 2009, my birthday and I knew that I will be in Clarens that afternoon after a long drive from Potchefstroom. Everyone always talk about Clarens so you know that it must be a place of beauty, but you never expect it..."

more

"Clarens, what a place that will have you in awe on arrival.... It was Friday, 24 July 2009, my birthday and I knew that I will be in Clarens that afternoon after a long drive from Potchefstroom. Everyone always talk about Clarens so you know that it must be a place of beauty, but you never expect it to be that beautiful. When you visit a setting like Clarens, you really want to experience everything and everyone and you would like it to be "Home away from home", and it was!

I have stayed in a lot of guest houses, B & B's and self catering units over the years, but I must say that I have never experienced a place like Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B. Apart from the affordability that you get when you book yourself a weekends stay, you get much more than you bargain or for that matter, pay for.

The attention to detail that Carol has put into Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B is a cut above the rest. This quaint cottage offered me a home away from home where I could experience Clarens in a relaxed and ejoyable manner. The care that has gone into the preparation for the guest that is about to occupy that space, is extraordinary. This sef-catering unit offers everything you need and more. All you need is clothes. Everything is neat and tidy and well placed so you do not have to struggle to find it. The bathroom offers quality products that enables hair care, body care and just overall relaxation. There is snacks everywhere that you can enjoy and more than enough heating system that will guard you against the cold winter time in Clarens.

I like to make my bed in a certain manner. I left the one morning for one of my excursions and when I returned that evening, I found my bed made in the exact same manner as I would have liked it to be. This tells you something about how your comfort is valued at Timmerskraal. There is no repetition involved, just real care and attention to detail.

I would like to thank Carol and Christina for making my stay at Clarens a breathtaking one. The winter visit was fun and unforgetable, but I will have to come back in summer just to make sure which of the two is best. There is one constant though.......I will be staying at Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage & B&B."


"Great Way to Visit Clarens"

(United Kingdom) Mr Cooper | 19 July 2009

"Situated just off the main highway, the cottage offered a comfortable family accommodation and a base from which the charming town of Clarens and the Golden Gate National Park were easily accessed."


"Country Life just a step away"

(South Africa) Relaxed Joburger | 11 June 2009

"Wow what a fantastic getaway from the hustle and bustle from Johanneburg.

On arrival we had a big welcome from Carol. The cottage was toasty and inviting. Red wine and snacks awaitied us, the heaters were on and the electric blanket was all fired up.

The cottage has all the comf..."

more

"Wow what a fantastic getaway from the hustle and bustle from Johanneburg.

On arrival we had a big welcome from Carol. The cottage was toasty and inviting. Red wine and snacks awaitied us, the heaters were on and the electric blanket was all fired up.

The cottage has all the comforts from home and special care is taken so that you feel relaxed.

A getaway I can recommend.


"


"A Secret Gem!"

(South Africa) Jeanette Baigent | 27 April 2009

"This was our very first visit to Clarens - a secret gem! Timmerskraal is very quaint and we spent 2 relaxing, quiet nights there. The cottage which we occupied had everything we required, and we had coffee, milk and cookies to welcome us. The fresh flowers throughout were a treat. Timmerskraal is a ..."

more

"This was our very first visit to Clarens - a secret gem! Timmerskraal is very quaint and we spent 2 relaxing, quiet nights there. The cottage which we occupied had everything we required, and we had coffee, milk and cookies to welcome us. The fresh flowers throughout were a treat. Timmerskraal is a short walk from the centre of Clarens and has panoramic views. The garden has a variety of colours not often seen, and we took many photo's, from the beautiful trees to the busy little bees. It was an added joy to have a lounge where we could enjoy a TV show and have space to put one's feet up and enjoy a good book. There was loads of hot water and plenty of extra blankets, towels, etc. If we had stayed longer, we would have had time to read some of the many books."


"Pleasant stay at Timmerskraal"

(South Africa) anonymous | 9 February 2009

"Timmmerskraal is a sweet cottage with a big, lovely garden. Our stay there was very peaceful and tranquil.

The old cottage style decorations really brings a country life feeling to the place. It's a few minutes walk from town - perfect location.

"


"Great getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs bradshaw | 27 January 2009

"What an absolute find! My husband, myself and our toddler, Aiden were literally left breathless the moment we saw Timmerskraal. The magnificent and huge garden with its apple trees, berries, flowers was an absolute dream for an energetic 3 year old - what a place to explore and work off energy- and..."

more

"What an absolute find! My husband, myself and our toddler, Aiden were literally left breathless the moment we saw Timmerskraal. The magnificent and huge garden with its apple trees, berries, flowers was an absolute dream for an energetic 3 year old - what a place to explore and work off energy- and a real source of inner peace and calm for the parents. Those morning coffees on the steps enjoying the mountains, the garden and the fresh air and quiet will never be forgotten. The accommodation was fabulous...for my husband and I - the book collection alone was a real source of joy - both being avid readers. The help was extremely efficient but above all friendly, helpful. We definitely will be returning for a visit."


"Cosy cottage getaway"

(South Africa) Ms Rich | 20 January 2009

"Timmerskraal is a lovely homespun experience where the beds are big and beckoning and the book collection an enticement to stay on the couch... this is not a place where you are just a tourist but one where you get to be part of the village of Clarens for the duration of your stay. The views of the ..."

more

"Timmerskraal is a lovely homespun experience where the beds are big and beckoning and the book collection an enticement to stay on the couch... this is not a place where you are just a tourist but one where you get to be part of the village of Clarens for the duration of your stay. The views of the mountains from the cottage are spectacular and the village centre is a brisk 20 minute walk away and worth the hurry... we all had a great time, myself and my partner, my mum and our two boys (5 and 7) so an excellent holiday which met everybody's needs... shopping to mountain walks and nice restaurants to go with it!"


"Verblyf"

(South Africa) Mrs Botha | 19 January 2009

"Heerlike outydse elegansie - Dankie vir die gasvryheid en vriendelike diens.

(RoomsForAfrica translated)

Lovely old fashioned elegance – thank you for the great hospitality and friendly service."


"Homely"

(South Africa) Mrs Evans | 24 November 2008

"Lovely, homely and private - country living with a beautiful view - just what the doctor ordered. Will return. Thanks!"


"Country living"

(South Africa) Mrs Burnett | 23 November 2008

"We were made very welcomed to this quaint little cottage which had a very homely feeling to it. The sleeping arrangement was superb and everything we needed was on hand. The ginger biscuits with our coffee were to die for.

Thank you for a very pleasant stop over."


"Home from home"

(South Africa) Liza Gresse | 10 August 2008

"Staying in Timmerskraal Cottage is like coming home. The furnishings are warm and inviting and the short bread and tea, beautifully set table, warm blankets and fireplace is warm and inviting...
Arriving at this beautiful thatched and sand stone cottage is like visiting Granny and Gramps on the ..."

more

"Staying in Timmerskraal Cottage is like coming home. The furnishings are warm and inviting and the short bread and tea, beautifully set table, warm blankets and fireplace is warm and inviting...
Arriving at this beautiful thatched and sand stone cottage is like visiting Granny and Gramps on the farm. The bedding is crispy clean and the wonderful setting soothing medicine for the soul.

We will definitely return."


"Timmerskraal - A cute cottage"

(South Africa) Mrs Farnaby | 9 June 2008

"A cute little cottage in the outskirts of Clarens - the owner, Carol is friendly and assisting without being intrusive, the cottage has all the comforts one requires – thank you."


"Timmerskraal Stay Review"

(South Africa) Mrs Wells | 10 January 2008

"We received an sms from the owner asking us to sms her half and hour before we arrived so she could give us specific directions on how to get there. The directions were spot on, and once on arrival, we received the most fantastic welcome from the owner.

Dinner, as explained was a simple ..."

more

"We received an sms from the owner asking us to sms her half and hour before we arrived so she could give us specific directions on how to get there. The directions were spot on, and once on arrival, we received the most fantastic welcome from the owner.

Dinner, as explained was a simple affair but most satisfying and the breakfast was outstanding and first class. The accommodation and setting of the B&B was just amazing. My only negative comment is that the bathroom could do with a bit of an upgrade, but then I am just very fussy about bathrooms. Otherwise everything else was immensly pleasing.

The porta-pool at the bottom of the garden was a huge hit with my children and they were able to work off the excess energy that they had acquired on the long car trip.


Timmerskraal is a little piece of heaven in the very hot, dry Free State
"


"Experience the tranquility of Clarens"

(South Africa) Mr Cloete | 18 December 2007

"Timmerskraal is the venue that you are looking for when taking your wife for your wedding anniversary. We have stayed in a cosy cottage surrounded by a beautiful garden. Our Continental breakfasts were served under a fig tree where we slouched down in a comfortable bench.

We experienced a ..."

more

"Timmerskraal is the venue that you are looking for when taking your wife for your wedding anniversary. We have stayed in a cosy cottage surrounded by a beautiful garden. Our Continental breakfasts were served under a fig tree where we slouched down in a comfortable bench.

We experienced a wonderful stay at Timmerskraal and experienced the staff as warm and friendly.

We had a very nice stay and will definitely go there again.
"


"Home from home in Timmerskraal Self Catering Cottage"

(Kenya) Mrs Tracy Pallister | 22 October 2007

"Business travel abroad can see one staying in very sanitised impersonal accommodation. Our one night's stay in the Timmerskraal Cottage was such a welcome break, we were sad to leave. Carol was a great hostess and her staff, despite the language barrier, were very welcoming, making us feel as thou..."

more

"Business travel abroad can see one staying in very sanitised impersonal accommodation. Our one night's stay in the Timmerskraal Cottage was such a welcome break, we were sad to leave. Carol was a great hostess and her staff, despite the language barrier, were very welcoming, making us feel as though we had been many times before. We have already told people up here in Kenya that Clarens is worth a visit on the basis of our encounter. Yes the Kitchen is on the small side as mentioned in other reviews, but perfectly adequate for a short break. We took some pictures to show our family and a comment was, ooh that looks nice a homey! We would definitely visit again and encourage others to do so!"


"Happy Weekender"

(South Africa) Mrs Davidson | 8 March 2007

"The surroundings are beautiful, the garden lush and full of apple trees and other fruits. I found the house to be very well equipped, spacious and pleasant to stay in although not luxurious. Not being able to change TV channels is a problem!

There are not too many places that have such ..."

more

"The surroundings are beautiful, the garden lush and full of apple trees and other fruits. I found the house to be very well equipped, spacious and pleasant to stay in although not luxurious. Not being able to change TV channels is a problem!

There are not too many places that have such a wonderfully deep and large bath, great! The mattress in the main room was just the best, slept like a log. Carol very helpful and obliging, a pleasant stay. Would visit again!!"


"Home away from home comfort"

(South Africa) Mrs Gillitt | 24 January 2007

"We loved Timmerskraal, and wished we could have stayed at least another night. We were greeted by Lina who was charm itself, despite not speaking a word of English! She showed us around the cottage and left us to our own devices. The cottage was filled with fresh flowers, had everything in the ki..."

more

"We loved Timmerskraal, and wished we could have stayed at least another night. We were greeted by Lina who was charm itself, despite not speaking a word of English! She showed us around the cottage and left us to our own devices. The cottage was filled with fresh flowers, had everything in the kitchen including fresh milk in the fridge, tea and coffee. The bedrooms were beautifully done, and even included a bar-one chocolate on our pillows for bedtime. The bathroom even had a full basket of 'smellies' to use in the bath.

The cottage is set in a beautiful garden, with cushions and chair already put out for us. In the evening Lina (or perhaps the very polite gardener we met) put out a weber braai for us to use, and included coal, and everything else we needed. Breakfast was continental style, and included yogurt, freshly picked berries (at 6 am that morning by Carol, the owner), cold meats, muffins rolls, fruit, tea and coffee - a lovely spread.

Timmerskraal is an older style cottage, and the furnishings have seen a long life. We loved this though, and we just felt so relaxed and comfortable there. Our one complaint would be that the kitchen is tiny tiny tiny, and would be a problem if you were trying to do some serious food prep. there, although it had everything you could want in there. But the rest of the cottage, and the hospitality far outweighs that little fact, and we will most definitely be staying there again."