Reviews of Eastbury Cottage B&B and Self-catering


"Recent holiday in Rose Room"

(South Africa) Marion Frylinck | 28 May 2016

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. ÊGreat attention to detail. Our hosts were very welcoming and efficient. All in all a great experience."


"'"

(South Africa) sunel kettles | 14 December 2014

"A beautiful, charming cottage situated conveniently for the tourist. Jenny, the owner, is a lovely lady that goes the extra mile for her guests. A definite recommendation from me. "


"Perfect!"

(South Africa) Jacqui Lourens | 14 March 2013

"The location was perfect - close to the main road. Our bedroom was just lovely - clean, pretty and fully equipped with shampoo, creams etc. The kitchenette was also fully equipped and the little courtyard was very cute. We had a very warm welcome (even the cat and dog came to say hallo). Excellent v..."

more

"The location was perfect - close to the main road. Our bedroom was just lovely - clean, pretty and fully equipped with shampoo, creams etc. The kitchenette was also fully equipped and the little courtyard was very cute. We had a very warm welcome (even the cat and dog came to say hallo). Excellent value for money. Thank you."


"Eastbury Cottage Self Catering and B&B"

(South Africa) Brian Clements | 24 June 2012

"SafariNow directions to the establishment are out dated and incorrect! This needs to be corrected - new 'circles' have appeared and roads closed off since they were printed. Very irritating. Otherwise a very pleasant stay."


"Honeymoon in Hermanus"

(South Africa) Deen Brandreth | 18 July 2011

"We arrived a good couple of hours later than we thought we would and Jenny was still there to greet us. We had everything we needed and really enjoyed our time at Eastbury. The cottage was comfortable and cosy. A perfect getaway destination. Thanks Jenny."


"Nice "

(South Africa) Michelle Solomons | 20 June 2011

"Tranquil, and a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. Definitely a place to stay when in Hermanus. We will definitely stay there again. "


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Zaibunnisa Cassiem | 4 May 2011

"Enjoyed my stay. The accommodation was neat, clean and very comfortable."


"Eastburry Cottage"

(South Africa) Waltraud Heitzer | 25 May 2010

"Nice and cosy cottage"


"Pleasant location"

(France) Nicolas Heyer | 10 March 2010

"We felt like coming home when we arrived that late afternoon In Hermanus. Everything was just OK, our restaurant was already informed that we would come later. Perfect place to relax after a long day on the road"


"Stunning!"

(South Africa) Bianca Fourie | 22 December 2008

" Had a great time, a home away from home... Peaceful and tranquil, will definitely visit again. "


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) Tristan Carlson | 1 December 2008

"We enjoyed the stay at Eastbury Cottage - peaceful!!! Everything was just perfect. Compliments to Jenny!!!!!!"


"Very good"

(South Africa) Wendy Botha | 13 October 2008

"We were a bunch of cylists from Somerset West and felt totally relaxed and comfortable. The peace and quite was awesome and it was wonderful to wake up to the sound of the many birds chirping. "


"Lovely weekend"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 5 August 2008

"We felt very comfortable and welcomed! Jenny cared a lot and was very hospitable! We enjoyed our stay and would love to come again!"


"It was wonderful. "

(South Africa) Karen Halvorsen | 14 July 2008

"The staff were really attentative and the accommodation was extremely comfortable."


"Recommended "

(South Africa) Anonymous | 7 May 2008

"Hosts were very informative about Hermanus, and accommodation was perfect for our needs, pity we couldn't have stayed longer to explore Hermanus more."


"Nice B&B"

(United Kingdom) Joanne Baynes Clarke | 29 April 2008

"This is a very comfortable B&B, and our host was more than happy to help out with booking a horseriding trip. Good location - easy walking distance to the restaurants etc. Would stay here again. "


"Cosy and Private"

(South Africa) Natasha Carnow | 4 May 2007

"Our stay at Eastbury Cottage was fantastic. The room was beautiful and cosy. We loved every minute there, we will visit there again."


"Cosy, warm and inviting"

(South Africa) Mr & Mrs Adriaanse | 2 May 2007

"Thanks for 2 wonderful nights spent in your garden cottage. Crisp linen, clean and comfortable amenties, and a private, cosy location all contributed to 2 wonderful nights during rather stormy weather! Will definitely be back again!"


"Great, family cottage"

(United States of America) Chris Lautsbaugh | 6 April 2007

"We loved our time. Cottage one is spacious, has a seperate room for kids, and a great private garden with a braai. We stayed an extra night!"


"Affordable"

(South Africa) Henk & Christina Gewald | 23 February 2007

"Positive: Good bed, slept very well, all things required were available. Fireplace would be wonderful in cold weather. Host very friendly and accommodating. Price: Affordable."


"Two night stay"

(South Africa) Amanda | 21 February 2018

"My husband and I stayed in the Courtyard Cottage.We were allowed to take our French Poodle along too.Everything was clean and well organised.The bedroom is near the kitchen of the main house and can become noisy at times.Further a pleasant stay.Thanks to Denise and her staff."


"Very Nice Stay"

(South Africa) Henrietta | 26 May 2017

"I had a really good time at Eastbury Cottage. I personally love Hermanus and everything that’s in that town. The cottage was clean, bedding was nice and it was neatly kept. The housekeeper was such a friendly lady and I appreciated her friendliness. I can definitely recommend."


"Well done! Awesome stay"

(South Africa) Rene | 21 December 2016

"We had the most pleasant stay at Eastbury Cottage the Courtyard. Clean and neat and well equipped. It felt like waking in one of London's little cottages."


"Loved Staying There"

(United Kingdom) John & Sheila | 7 December 2016

"We stayed at Eastbury Cottage in the Courtyard Cottage for 2 weeks recently. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very cosy. Everything is there which we needed for our stay. Jenny the manager is very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Eastbury Cottage is very convenient for the tow..."

more

"We stayed at Eastbury Cottage in the Courtyard Cottage for 2 weeks recently. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very cosy. Everything is there which we needed for our stay. Jenny the manager is very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Eastbury Cottage is very convenient for the town of Hermanus, within walking distance. We loved staying there and hopefully will stay again in the future."


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) anonymous | 3 October 2016

"We only stayed there for one night but we had a lovely stay. The host is welcoming and friendly and the place is clean and well equipped."


"Friendly and Attentive."

(South Africa) Faranaz | 3 October 2016

"Spent the weekend at Eastbury Cottage but have been going there for the past couple of years during the month of September. The new manager was very friendly and attentive to our needs and also came to chat to me as we left to make sure that everything was up to standard as it has always been. I hav..."

more

"Spent the weekend at Eastbury Cottage but have been going there for the past couple of years during the month of September. The new manager was very friendly and attentive to our needs and also came to chat to me as we left to make sure that everything was up to standard as it has always been. I have no complaints regarding the accommodation at all. Cleaning services was also up to standard.

Regards"


"Always a great Place in Hermanus to Stay - Home from Home"

(South Africa) Russell | 27 September 2016

"Excellent stay for the 3rd time. Jenny is a great host and we enjoyed our stay there again. I would recommend Eastbury Cottage to anyone staying in Hermanus "if you can get a booking". The place is truly pet friendly and we will definitely stay there when we visit this fantastic town again.
T..."

more

"Excellent stay for the 3rd time. Jenny is a great host and we enjoyed our stay there again. I would recommend Eastbury Cottage to anyone staying in Hermanus "if you can get a booking". The place is truly pet friendly and we will definitely stay there when we visit this fantastic town again.
Thanks Jenny for booking us into the Garden Suite, a truly memorable experience."


"Home from home"

(South Africa) Sonya | 1 April 2016

"Really comfortable and homely. Made very welcome by Storm and Jenny. Ideally situated to be able to walk to all the shops, restaurants and promenade and Cliff walk. We loved being able to walk into town and back each evening to sample the different restaurants. The daily servicing was really accommo..."

more

"Really comfortable and homely. Made very welcome by Storm and Jenny. Ideally situated to be able to walk to all the shops, restaurants and promenade and Cliff walk. We loved being able to walk into town and back each evening to sample the different restaurants. The daily servicing was really accommodating allowing us to go out for our early morning run, come back and shower and have breakfast without hurrying us at all. It certainly met all our needs and expectations and was a good example of Hermanus hospitality. Thank You."


"Eastbury Cottage - Rose Room"

(United Kingdom) Mr Wood | 1 January 2013

"A very enjoyable stay in this excellent accommodation. It is spacious and has all the essential facilities for self catering. The Rose Room is self contained and has a covered entrance with umbrella, table and chairs for outside dinning when hot. Hermanus is a lovely seaside town with many attractio..."

more

"A very enjoyable stay in this excellent accommodation. It is spacious and has all the essential facilities for self catering. The Rose Room is self contained and has a covered entrance with umbrella, table and chairs for outside dinning when hot. Hermanus is a lovely seaside town with many attractions, try the cliff walks and excellent restaurants. I would definitely return to this area."


"Eastbury review"

(South Africa) Mrs Atherton | 27 May 2011

"This is our second visit to Eastbury and it won't be our last. We stayed in the beautiful Rose Room. Cosy, quiet, spacious and comfortable. We loved being able to come and go as we pleased and to be able to sleep late without being disturbed by housekeeping! It really is a home away from home, only ..."

more

"This is our second visit to Eastbury and it won't be our last. We stayed in the beautiful Rose Room. Cosy, quiet, spacious and comfortable. We loved being able to come and go as we pleased and to be able to sleep late without being disturbed by housekeeping! It really is a home away from home, only we don't have to do any housework!"


"Hot bed"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Coombe | 18 March 2011

"Our first impression was a hot cluttered little room - however the bed was beautiful the bathroom a good size and the breakfasts served on our tiny patio excellent, the owner was helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay."


"Hearts touched by Rose Cottage"

(South Africa) Mrs Commin | 19 December 2010

"Beauty cannot only be seen or touched it needs to be felt in the heart
Rose cottage did this for us; our hearts were touched by the serenity of the cottage, the singing of the birds every morning, the beautiful, stunning garden and the quiet but efficient service given by Jessica, Craig and staf..."

more

"Beauty cannot only be seen or touched it needs to be felt in the heart
Rose cottage did this for us; our hearts were touched by the serenity of the cottage, the singing of the birds every morning, the beautiful, stunning garden and the quiet but efficient service given by Jessica, Craig and staff.
These young people really made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble
For them, including providing us with a scrumptious breakfast each day. We would definitely recommend this establishment to friends and family."


"Quiet and relaxing"

(Zimbabwe) Mr Dahlmann | 1 November 2010

"The Rose room was very spacious and the interior very homely with good taste and a personal touch. It was like staying in the guest room of a friend's house. The private entrance on the garden was very nice and quiet. We enjoyed our stay a lot and hope to come back one day."


"The Colours of Africa"

(United Kingdom) Sarah Moss | 6 October 2010

"The garden cottage at Eastbury Cottage is [I have to use the word] quaint. It is decorated with the colours I love and so felt homely and welcoming. Add to that two genuinely friendly hosts, Jessica and Craig, and you are made to feel at ease straight away. Jessica greeted us and was so generous wit..."

more

"The garden cottage at Eastbury Cottage is [I have to use the word] quaint. It is decorated with the colours I love and so felt homely and welcoming. Add to that two genuinely friendly hosts, Jessica and Craig, and you are made to feel at ease straight away. Jessica greeted us and was so generous with her time and help. Unfortunately the gas was not working correctly the first day but we were welcome to use the house kitchen. Yoda actually runs the place but is not quite so friendly, and demands respect at all times...how I loved that bossy little parrot! We were left to our own devices to come and go as we pleased and that is how we like it, but should we have needed help it was there. The garden has a relaxed atmosphere and is really beautiful.

It is a base to explore: many places of interest nearby. We walked to the beach and cliffs most mornings to whale watch [too many to count] which was marvellous and Fernkloof, less than a 5min. drive away, is full of indigenous plants and an interesting place for walks, or just to wander round the gardens. From Eastbury we visited bays along the coast - notably Betty's Bay where I was enchanted by the wonderfully delightful African Penguins, which are instantly lovable.

A place that is so easy going, has pets around, is decorated by a kindred spirit's love of colour, which is subtle yet warm at the same time, has my vote and I shall definitely recommend Eastbury Cot. to everyone going Hermanus way. "


"Home away from home"

(South Africa) Mr Barry Loots | 29 September 2010

"Walking into the Eastbury Cottage B&B is like walking through the front door of your own home. Jenny greeted us ever so friendly, and in no time we were set up in our comfotable, clean room, newspaper and cup of coffee in hand. The Rose room lends itself to romanticism, and offered the excellent bac..."

more

"Walking into the Eastbury Cottage B&B is like walking through the front door of your own home. Jenny greeted us ever so friendly, and in no time we were set up in our comfotable, clean room, newspaper and cup of coffee in hand. The Rose room lends itself to romanticism, and offered the excellent backdrop for celebrating my 50-something birthday. "


"Home from Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Hazell | 17 August 2010

"Very comfortable accommodation, home from home, a lot of thought has gone into providing for all the little comforts, hot water bottles, hot blankets, DVDs etc. Very private with a lovely braai area. Owner and staff lovely and very accommodating. Will definitely return when I need accommodation in t..."

more

"Very comfortable accommodation, home from home, a lot of thought has gone into providing for all the little comforts, hot water bottles, hot blankets, DVDs etc. Very private with a lovely braai area. Owner and staff lovely and very accommodating. Will definitely return when I need accommodation in the Hermanus area, and will most certainly recommend."


"Great stay in Hermanus"

(Germany) Mr Berz | 8 July 2010

"We had a great stay at Eastbury Cottage during Word Cup 2010. Everything was clean and nice and breakfast was good. The owner was very friendly. We most liked the fireplace."


""

(South Africa) Mrs Lamb | 27 December 2009

"We had a very pleasant stay!
Jenny is so warm and welcoming and the room was very comfortable, with lots of thoughtful extras!"


"The idilic romantic getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs S Julies | 5 December 2009

"Eastbury Cottage is exactly what every couple needs, whether you newly married or just need that weekend away from the kids and city life.

We had an absolute stunning time, the cottage is situated in the residential area of Hermanus, but it feels like the country with birds chirping and th..."

more

"Eastbury Cottage is exactly what every couple needs, whether you newly married or just need that weekend away from the kids and city life.

We had an absolute stunning time, the cottage is situated in the residential area of Hermanus, but it feels like the country with birds chirping and the quietness is good for everyone's soul.

The breakfast that we had, there is just not enough words to describe it! Stunning and with the expensive life we are living in at the moment is the price of this cottage what anyone can afford.

Absolutely amazing! We will definitely go again!

Simonia Julies"


"Whale watching"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Stone | 8 November 2009

"Although we were not very lucky with the weather we spent a very enjoyable few days at Eastbury. We spotted lots of whales, drank some great cocktails and had the most wonderful meals in the local restaurants. The breakfast was lovely and we wanted for nothing. Room clean and very comfy. No complain..."

more

"Although we were not very lucky with the weather we spent a very enjoyable few days at Eastbury. We spotted lots of whales, drank some great cocktails and had the most wonderful meals in the local restaurants. The breakfast was lovely and we wanted for nothing. Room clean and very comfy. No complaints at all. Thanks for a very welcoming and memorable stay!"


"Excellence @ Eastbury Cottage"

(South Africa) Mrs Atherton | 26 May 2009

"We are frequent visitors to Hermanus, having family there and have stayed in several accommodation establishments over the years. Eastbury rates are the best and we will certainly be returning! Having comfort, privacy and ease of movement is important for us and Jenny provided all this and more in a..."

more

"We are frequent visitors to Hermanus, having family there and have stayed in several accommodation establishments over the years. Eastbury rates are the best and we will certainly be returning! Having comfort, privacy and ease of movement is important for us and Jenny provided all this and more in an unobtrusive yet caring way. We loved the garden cottage - it had everything we needed and the extra touches like shower/bath gel, shampoo & conditioner were a special touch which we did not expect to find in a self-catering unit. The cottage is beautifully decorated, warm and cosy (essential in the Cape winters!) and Jenny was quick to offer an extra heater if we needed one. With easy access to Hermanus town and the Bay but being situated in a quiet street meant we enjoyed peaceful sleeps. There was never any pressure on us to vacate the cottage in the mornings so the staff could service it. They waited until we went out. We could come and go as we wanted (we hate imposing on people, even if we are paying for it!), our vehicle was safely parked inside the grounds and our stay definitely added to the enjoyment of our visit. We looked forward to coming "home" every evening!

So often people set up a B&B in their homes without really thinking about what guests want - it is simply to make money out of empty rooms. Jenny has provided a real home from home experience at a very affordable price - we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodation and the personal service we received.

Eastbury surpassed our expectations!! Thanks so much Jenny, as Arnie says in The Terminator - "We'll be back"!! John & Di Atherton
"


"Perfect place to stay + Jenny is THE perfect host"

(Germany) Mr Yanardag | 24 March 2009

"What a great, lovely place to stay. You can just feel and see in every detail that the cottage we stayed in has Jenny’s handwriting. Everything is set up with such a passion and love - we felt like home the second we walked in. And we have never slept in such a nice and cosy bed. We didn't want to l..."

more

"What a great, lovely place to stay. You can just feel and see in every detail that the cottage we stayed in has Jenny’s handwriting. Everything is set up with such a passion and love - we felt like home the second we walked in. And we have never slept in such a nice and cosy bed. We didn't want to leave at all.

And Jenny is such a great host and lovely person. Well, would we stay again in the Eastbury Cottage? For sure - and next time we will stay a whole week!"


"Very pleasant stay!"

(Germany) Mr Galpin | 25 July 2008

"All in all we found our stay at Eastbury Cottage excellent!
At arrival we got to know Jenny, probably the kindest host in Hermanus.
She was always available and able to give us any information we needed.
The apartment was more than we had expected, especially for the price we paid. The ..."

more

"All in all we found our stay at Eastbury Cottage excellent!
At arrival we got to know Jenny, probably the kindest host in Hermanus.
She was always available and able to give us any information we needed.
The apartment was more than we had expected, especially for the price we paid. The rooms were tastefully decorated and were equipped with everything one could possible need (including an electric blanket) as it is winter there at the moment.
The parking area is secure and situated on the property.
What we also enjoyed was where the Cottage is located: a very quiet neighbourhood, no traffic, but only about 1 minute away from the main road and about 2-3 minutes away from the sea.
We would have loved to stay longer and will hopefully be able to come back one day and stay longer...

Highly recommended!"


"Eastbury excellence"

(South Africa) Mr Strickland | 16 June 2008

"We highly recommend Eastbury Cottage B&B for the exceptional cleanliness of the spacious rooms, the friendly reception and value for money. We will certainly visit them again when requiring accommodation in Hermanus. We will also recommend them highly to our friends and your organisation."


"Very nice cottage"

(Mauritius) Dawn | 19 February 2008

"The room we had was very cosy and the little garden was very nice specially the excellent breakfast that Jenny prepared for us. Also nice paintings in the room. Recommended."


"Relaxing Stay"

(Switzerland) Paul Hicks | 5 January 2008

"We had a very relaxing stay at "The Courtyard" which was clean, bright & sunny with a compact sitting area outside to enjoy the sunshine. Jenny was very friendly & helpful & was able to give us invaluable advice for enjoying our stay in Hermanus"


"All we could ask for!"

(South Africa) Ms Dukas | 20 May 2007

"The loft was so cute, and had everything (and more) that we could possibly need. After only one night we felt thoroughly relaxed and at ease. Will be sure to recommed Eastbury to friends. Thank you, Jenny and staff!"