Reviews of Arbour Lodge


"It was too nice!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 1 June 2019

"It is a quiet and comfortable place to be with friends and family, the place is clean, comfy and big enough for my family and beautiful too."


"Visiting for the Half Iron Man"

Orme Johnson | 7 February 2018

"The accommodation was not ideal self catering for a few nights stay. The kitchen was ideal for making coffee or serving cereal for breakfast, nothing more! The accommodation is ideal if you are happy to eat out. There was no sitting/lounge area and the Braai area is a main thoroughfare to other be..."

more

"The accommodation was not ideal self catering for a few nights stay. The kitchen was ideal for making coffee or serving cereal for breakfast, nothing more! The accommodation is ideal if you are happy to eat out. There was no sitting/lounge area and the Braai area is a main thoroughfare to other bedrooms. The decor, comfort , cleanliness could not be faulted."


"Our appreciation."

(South Africa) George daniel | 16 May 2016

"hi Des,We want to appreciate your hospitality and very friendly services. All our friends who were with us appreciated the amenities and tasty breakfast.We have no qualm in recommending ARBOUR LODGE TO ALL OF OUR FRIENDS.well DONE.GEORGES FROM kING wILLIAMS tOWN.
"


"Happy holidays "

(South Africa) Max | 27 December 2017

"Hi everyone we had a warm welcome and a lovely stay at Arbour lodge hope to return next year with the family. Let the keep up with the good and lovely Work may the Lord Bless them with more visitors. Thanks guys "


"Peaceful stay"

(South Africa) Nadia | 26 September 2017

"We had a wonderful stay at Arbour Lodge. We received a warm welcome and a lady helped us unpack from the car to the rooms. We had our privacy and had a peaceful stay. Everything we needed was there. Well organized and furnished lodge. We would definitely stay there again!"


"Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) john | 20 March 2017

"The place was quiet and the atmosphere was really good. The rooms was well equipped, clean and met all our needs. We were happy with our stay."


"Good Value for Money, Very accommodating and Comfortable"

(South Africa) Avlyn | 27 February 2017

"Des the owner was very helpful and went the extra mile, catering for our group with salads for our evening meals & a full meal on our first evening."


"Peaceful and Relaxing"

(South Africa) WILLEM | 18 January 2017

"I loved the quiet environment, it was peaceful and relaxing. The service was excellent and the whole set-up of the place made me feel at home. It was a great experience and I had a lovely time."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) nadia | 4 January 2017

"I honestly loved everything about the place. It was exactly what I have expected and more. My stay was impressive with a room that was well equipped and clean. The pool area was very nice and I enjoyed it a lot. I will definitely go back again."


"Absolutely Fabulous "

(South Africa) Lesley | 2 October 2016

"My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Arbour Lodge. We had a peaceful time and we received excellent service.

Thank you for the friendliness, I will definitely come again! Oh your place is beautiful, neat and clean.

Loved it!
Lesley Scholtz
"


"Great Stay."

(South Africa) Denise | 8 December 2015

"My stay at Arbour Lodge was lovely. I enjoyed everything about my stay. I can't think of a single thing I didn't like. Recommended."


"No worries"

(South Africa) gugu | 8 December 2015

"Pleasant stay at Arbour Lodge. It was clean and the room was spacious. The lodge had everything I needed for the stay. Arbour Lodge would be my preferred choice of accommodation. I'll definitely revisit. Problem free."


"Short but Pleasant"

(South Africa) Karin | 27 August 2015

"We had a short but pleasant stay at Arbour Lodge. It was clean and the room was spacious. I will stay there again in the future."


"No complaints at all"

(South Africa) JB | 3 June 2015

"Everything went totally fine for my booking at Arbour Lodge. It would be my preferred choice of accommodation when in the area again."


"Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Lamprecht | 16 January 2015

"We were searching on the Internet for possible accommodation for December/January in the Eastern Cape. We requested a quotation from Arbour Lodge and info was send very quickly to us via email. The swimming pool was a huge bonus at the Lodge and one of the reasons why we decided to accept the quotat..."

more

"We were searching on the Internet for possible accommodation for December/January in the Eastern Cape. We requested a quotation from Arbour Lodge and info was send very quickly to us via email. The swimming pool was a huge bonus at the Lodge and one of the reasons why we decided to accept the quotation. The children could still enjoy them if it was not possible to go to the Beach and it was safe for them in the environment of the Lodge.
Ilona was willing to change the booking to a sea view and she was sending emails for confirmation. The day when we were on our way to Arbour Lodge we received a SMS from Ilona “I hope you are well and travelling is going according to plan. What time can we expect you today?” Never in our lives we were treated like this and we was totally overwhelmed with such service and the concern of the host of Arbour Lodge.
A picture or photo on the Internet or books can sometimes be modified in such way that you can be disappointed when you see the real “product” yourself. The rooms in Arbour Lodge was unbelievable – it was clean and neat and there was no other option to feel welcome.
A huge bonus was the cleaning every day and my wife really felt like a “queen” for not making the beds or washing the dishes.
In future we will do bookings again through Rooms of Africa.
"


"Excellent stay"

(South Africa) Jardine | 15 January 2015

"I would just like to thank the host at Arbour Lodge. She was absolutely amazing. She is really friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed everything about my stay, I can't think of a single thing I didn't like. The rooms were nice and had everything you needed for a self catering unit. It even had plastic ut..."

more

"I would just like to thank the host at Arbour Lodge. She was absolutely amazing. She is really friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed everything about my stay, I can't think of a single thing I didn't like. The rooms were nice and had everything you needed for a self catering unit. It even had plastic utensils for the little ones. Everything was thought of and the attention to detail is exquisite. I highly recommend them to others and can't wait to revisit."


"Room with a view"

(South Africa) Mrs Moorcroft | 15 July 2014

"Our stay at Arbour Lodge was most enjoyable, it was close to all our amenities that we needed to visit. The unit itself was clean and served our every need, there were no problems and the host was very friendly and helpful with any queries we had.

We had the most exceptional view and the a..."

more

"Our stay at Arbour Lodge was most enjoyable, it was close to all our amenities that we needed to visit. The unit itself was clean and served our every need, there were no problems and the host was very friendly and helpful with any queries we had.

We had the most exceptional view and the area was very quiet and no noisy motorists or neighbours. I recommend Arbour Lodge to anyone that is looking for a quiet getaway from a busy life and home."


"The right choice - Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Farley | 29 April 2013

"Arbour Lodge provided us with exactly the accommodation that we wanted. It was clean and neat and we had the privacy that we wanted.
The owner is friendly without being intrusive.
Our unit had an open balcony with a not-too-distant view of the sea. We could lie in bed and see ships passing..."

more

"Arbour Lodge provided us with exactly the accommodation that we wanted. It was clean and neat and we had the privacy that we wanted.
The owner is friendly without being intrusive.
Our unit had an open balcony with a not-too-distant view of the sea. We could lie in bed and see ships passing.
East London obliged with near-perfect weather which added to our enjoyment.
I definitely recommend Arbour Lodge and will stay there again when we next visit East London.
"


"A Quiet Place to be."

(South Africa) Mr Noxeke | 3 December 2012

"The establishment is in a quiet and beautiful place close to a cool beach and shopping complex. The friendliness of the owners is superb and the rooms are spacious and neat. "


"Beautiful stay at Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mr Meyer | 13 March 2011

"We felt very welcome from the minute we arrived. I was impressed with the friendly and accommodating approach of the owner. It felt like home. The security was excellent. I will definitely go back and will also tell friends and family to go to Arbour Lodge."


"Stay at Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Ms Singh | 5 July 2010

"My sister, niece and I had a very pleasant stay at Arbour Lodge. After 4 nights of 'roughing it' at the Grahamstown festival, we were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful and very comfortable lodgings at the lodge. Ilona made us feel very much at home. I will definitely recommend to all my ..."

more

"My sister, niece and I had a very pleasant stay at Arbour Lodge. After 4 nights of 'roughing it' at the Grahamstown festival, we were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful and very comfortable lodgings at the lodge. Ilona made us feel very much at home. I will definitely recommend to all my friends and will definitely stay there again when I am next in East London."


"Self Catering."

(South Africa) Mr Wilson | 19 April 2010

"The accommodation was clean and comfortable. Parking is secure. The accommodation is well designed. Would definitely return should we again find ourselves in East London."


"Home Away from Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Safiedien | 20 March 2010

"Ilona is a very hospitable person, we really enjoyed our stay, and it was TRULY home away from home. She really goes the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as can be. Well done, Ilona!"


"Mzala"

(South Africa) Mr Moko | 12 January 2010

"The place was very clean and beautiful. The host was very friendly and I can encourage people to go and experience the comfort of Arbour Lodge."


"Rejuvenating"

(South Africa) Mr Govender | 22 December 2009

"I have spent one night at Arbour Lodge, was very peaceful and tranquil. Very neat apartment will visit again in the future. Will recommend to people visiting East London.
"


"Well Done"

(South Africa) Ms Ramothea | 28 September 2009

"The accommodation was excellent. The room was well kept and anything you could need was provided for in the room. My travel companion and I really enjoyed our stay at the lodge and would really go back to it every time we are in East London. The owner was very friendly and we really felt like we wer..."

more

"The accommodation was excellent. The room was well kept and anything you could need was provided for in the room. My travel companion and I really enjoyed our stay at the lodge and would really go back to it every time we are in East London. The owner was very friendly and we really felt like we were still at home."


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) Mrs De Aveiro | 28 September 2009

"Although we only stayed over for two nights, the lodge was everything you would expect from a self-catering establishment. The extra's, i.e. shampoo, conditioner, milk, coffee, sugar, etc., came as a surprise. My daughter could not stop smelling her hair after she washed it with the shampoo supplied..."

more

"Although we only stayed over for two nights, the lodge was everything you would expect from a self-catering establishment. The extra's, i.e. shampoo, conditioner, milk, coffee, sugar, etc., came as a surprise. My daughter could not stop smelling her hair after she washed it with the shampoo supplied. Ilona is definitely not an interfering host, as is usually the case at places like this. Sitting outside at night with a cup of coffee and a novel was so peaceful with the sound of the ocean close by. We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge. Thank you Ilona and Rooms for Africa."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Mr Smit | 6 August 2009

"Everything was perfect, The hospitality was excellent the rooms very neat and everything that we need was in the room from body lotion to shower gel to cookies and milk and more than enough coffee tea and sugar for our stay. Even breakfast for the price I really think it was very good deal.
Than..."

more

"Everything was perfect, The hospitality was excellent the rooms very neat and everything that we need was in the room from body lotion to shower gel to cookies and milk and more than enough coffee tea and sugar for our stay. Even breakfast for the price I really think it was very good deal.
Thank you "


"Comfortable stay in East London"

(Czech Republic) Mr Langer | 9 June 2009

"Quiet and easily accessible location, safe neighbourhood, nice house, friendly owners, rooms well equipped and clean. Can recommend for both business people and holiday-makers. View onto the sea from the terrace."


"A little Gem in East London"

(South Africa) Mr Anley | 10 February 2009

"Myself, my wife, daughter and friend spent 6 days/nights at Arbour Lodge in January 2009. The main purpose of the trip was the Ironman 70.3 triathlon. We therefore spent most of our time away and touched base a couple of times a day. Our host, Ilona, was most hospitable and very accommodating, no..."

more

"Myself, my wife, daughter and friend spent 6 days/nights at Arbour Lodge in January 2009. The main purpose of the trip was the Ironman 70.3 triathlon. We therefore spent most of our time away and touched base a couple of times a day. Our host, Ilona, was most hospitable and very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and facilities were more than adequate and were cleaned daily. We were more than satisfied with the accommodation and treatment and would certainly return if the need arose."


"A great stay!"

(United Kingdom) Hayley Maddox | 6 January 2009

"I have stayed at Arbour Lodge twice in the last two years and on both occasions there has been great service! The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious and the view is stunning! Ilona is an amazing hostess and she really looks after you! I would highly recommend staying there if you are visiting East..."

more

"I have stayed at Arbour Lodge twice in the last two years and on both occasions there has been great service! The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious and the view is stunning! Ilona is an amazing hostess and she really looks after you! I would highly recommend staying there if you are visiting East London!
"


"Beautiful!"

(South Africa) Mrs Oosthuizen | 11 August 2008

"Stay was awesome,...we had all the conveniences required and expected! The rooms were clean, towels were replaced daily and all cutlery and crockery were available. There was no chipped crockery either. Mosquito plugs for both rooms! Everything that one would need was available in both rooms. My Mo..."

more

"Stay was awesome,...we had all the conveniences required and expected! The rooms were clean, towels were replaced daily and all cutlery and crockery were available. There was no chipped crockery either. Mosquito plugs for both rooms! Everything that one would need was available in both rooms. My Mother broke a glass and when we reported it, we were advised not to worry?! No charge was levied either. Beds were comfortable, bedding was great as well as decor. We will definitely be returning to Arbour Lodge for future stays. We originate from Port Elizabeth. Four stars to Arbour Lodge!! Well deserved!"


"Good family accommodation"

(South Africa) Etienne | 6 August 2008

"Arbour Lodge was a very pleasant stay. The accommodation is stylish and clean. Sufficient space for a young family. The hostess went the extra mile to accommodate our requests. I would definitely stay here again and can also recommend it without any reservations."


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) anonymous | 24 June 2008

"My accommodation was absolutely above my expectation. To come from a hard day's work and sit on the balcony and relax was bliss.

I would definitely recommend this establishment."


"Stay at Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Sanderson | 2 June 2008

"My husband, son and I stayed at Arbour Lodge for one night on a recent soccer tour to East London. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and felt that it was reasonably priced for what it offered. It was disappointing that the DSTV was not working but apart from that, we were happy wi..."

more

"My husband, son and I stayed at Arbour Lodge for one night on a recent soccer tour to East London. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and felt that it was reasonably priced for what it offered. It was disappointing that the DSTV was not working but apart from that, we were happy with everything and would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for clean, affordable accommodation in East London."


"Fantastic stay at Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mr Pretorius | 30 May 2008

"Please allow me to comment on our fantastic stay at Arbour Lodge on Sunday night 23 March ’08.

Upon our arrival we felt comfortable and relaxed after our host met us and showed us our rooms.

The rooms were very neat, clean and catered for all our needs. A request to switch the DSTV..."

more

"Please allow me to comment on our fantastic stay at Arbour Lodge on Sunday night 23 March ’08.

Upon our arrival we felt comfortable and relaxed after our host met us and showed us our rooms.

The rooms were very neat, clean and catered for all our needs. A request to switch the DSTV to the soccer channel to watch Arsenal playing Chelsea was the highlight of our stay for my son.

The Arbour Lodge will definitely see me and my family again in December!"


"A good warm homely stay at Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Tshabalala | 26 May 2008

"I had a good warm homely stay at Arbour Lodge, and a piece of mind.

I appreciated their service it was good and communication was the best. I can recommend Arbour Lodge to someone else as a place to be for holiday. Should there be a need for me to visit the area again Arbour Lodge will be..."

more

"I had a good warm homely stay at Arbour Lodge, and a piece of mind.

I appreciated their service it was good and communication was the best. I can recommend Arbour Lodge to someone else as a place to be for holiday. Should there be a need for me to visit the area again Arbour Lodge will be my first preference.

Thanks to Ilona for her professionalism and personality she is a business women!"


"Wheelchair friendly!"

(South Africa) Mr Fourie | 26 May 2008

"We had a wonderful tranquil stay at Arbour Lodge. Access to the room was suitable for the wheelchair and the spacious room and en-suite bathroom was very suitable for our special circumstances. Arbour Lodge makes you feel as though you walked into your own home away from home: and looks after you wo..."

more

"We had a wonderful tranquil stay at Arbour Lodge. Access to the room was suitable for the wheelchair and the spacious room and en-suite bathroom was very suitable for our special circumstances. Arbour Lodge makes you feel as though you walked into your own home away from home: and looks after you wonderfully!"


"A wonderful experience"

(South Africa) Mrs Visagie | 10 April 2008

"The establishment has lovely self catering facilities with everything you could need if in your own home.
The hostess was flexible, wonderful and attentive, even going so far as to monitor my 7 year old daughter while she swam in the pool. The breakfast was good as well.
I would recommend t..."

more

"The establishment has lovely self catering facilities with everything you could need if in your own home.
The hostess was flexible, wonderful and attentive, even going so far as to monitor my 7 year old daughter while she swam in the pool. The breakfast was good as well.
I would recommend this establishment to anyone visiting East London."


"One night stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Atlasik | 8 April 2008

"After the whole day long driving it was great to come to the place which was clean, convenient, practical, spacious and quiet. Friendly welcome, biscuits in the tin and milk in the fridge for the cup of coffee just topped it all. Thank you!"


"Short stay at Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Lange | 7 April 2008

"Having never booked accommodation over the internet before we were a bit nervous as to what type of room awaited us! We were most pleasantly surprised to see that everything was as the web site promised it would be. The room was neat and the furnishings were tasteful. Although our stay was short it ..."

more

"Having never booked accommodation over the internet before we were a bit nervous as to what type of room awaited us! We were most pleasantly surprised to see that everything was as the web site promised it would be. The room was neat and the furnishings were tasteful. Although our stay was short it was most enjoyable. The hostess was very welcoming and all our needs were met. Will definitely stay at Arbour Lodge again when visiting East London."


"Friendly and homely"

(Bahrain) Dr Matt Erasmus | 6 April 2008

"I had an enjoyable over night stay whilst visiting mother at nearby Kenersley Park.
Easy to find with a host of good shops in the area. Ilona was an extremely efficient and friendly host who was more than willing to provide helpful information, not to mention considerable DIY skills."


"Home away from Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Bowes | 10 March 2008

"Very pleasant stay indeed. A "home away from home". Nothing was too much trouble for Ilona, very personal touch. Will most definitely stay again! Thank you. "


"Fantastic Holiday"

(South Africa) Mrs HALL | 20 November 2007

"Arbour Lodge....fantastic friendly owner who makes you feel welcome right from the start. Nice clean surroundings and excellent facilities.

Well done - will be back for sure.



"


"A home away from home"

(South Africa) Mrs NORTJE | 13 November 2007

"I felt at home and comfortable, and most of all no traffic and pollution to disturb the peace. I felt rested and happy staying there."


"Talent and Mutizwa's Arbour Lodge review"

(United Kingdom) Mr Mutazu | 1 October 2007

"The service is excellent; the rooms are absolutely beautiful and well kept. Because of this excellent service, we have visited the lodge twice. It’s like our home away from home. Thumps up!"


"Blessed"

(South Africa) Mr Lobb | 21 May 2007

"A group of 8 motor racing nuts don’t often find an establishment that creates such a sense of relaxation and fellowship. The fact that we returned to our 'home' directly from the circuit every day and did not only come home to sleep, speaks volumes. Not only was the establishment unique with the int..."

more

"A group of 8 motor racing nuts don’t often find an establishment that creates such a sense of relaxation and fellowship. The fact that we returned to our 'home' directly from the circuit every day and did not only come home to sleep, speaks volumes. Not only was the establishment unique with the inter-leading kitchens, which is what helped the unity of our group, but also the flexibility of the room layouts. The breakfasts were superb as was the service and friendliness from our hostess. Our lift to the airport was an added bonus. To Ilona and Arbour Lodge...beware we will be back!"


"Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Atkinson | 2 May 2007

"Arbour Lodge was a very pleasant surprise - private, self-contained suites in a quiet area of East London, beautifully furnished and maintained. The upper floor rooms are accessed via a deck, and offer views of the surrounding neighbourhood. We will definitely be returning!"


"Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mr Greeff | 27 March 2007

"Very quiet suburb yet close to everything.
Excellent hostess
Value for money"


"Arbour Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Maggott | 5 March 2007

"This was a most pleasant and comfortable stay. The hosts were very welcoming and the suggestions that we put forward to make undercover braai facilities are already being planned for. So I would pretty much say that everything is catered for and thought of. Will definitely stay there again."


"East London"

(Germany) Mr McLoughlin | 16 January 2007

"I was very happy with Arbour Lodge. It was in a nice quite area, close to a huge shopping Mall. It was clean and away from the main house."


"Excellent service"

(South Africa) Mr Patel | 8 January 2007

"I really enjoyed the 3 night stay at Arbour Lodge. I appreciated the:
Hospitality – on arrival, during the stay, and departure
Cleanliness – the premises as well as the room was kept clean at all times
Customize – our specific requirements to braai, as well as cutlery, cot and toys for ..."

more

"I really enjoyed the 3 night stay at Arbour Lodge. I appreciated the:
Hospitality – on arrival, during the stay, and departure
Cleanliness – the premises as well as the room was kept clean at all times
Customize – our specific requirements to braai, as well as cutlery, cot and toys for our infant
Thanks for the wonderful stay.
"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Ms Tindleni | 8 January 2007

"Welcoming was very good and the service as well. The place is very neat."


"A 5star stay"

(South Africa) Ms Macrae | 27 December 2006

"I had a wonderful stay with a welcoming hostess, wonderful breakfast and quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The beach and shopping centre are nearby, making for a hassle-free holiday. The rooms, bathroom and kitchen were clean, neat and well-stocked. I can definitely recommend this establishment to anyone..."

more

"I had a wonderful stay with a welcoming hostess, wonderful breakfast and quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The beach and shopping centre are nearby, making for a hassle-free holiday. The rooms, bathroom and kitchen were clean, neat and well-stocked. I can definitely recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a great holiday."