Reviews of Little Switzerland Resort


"The peace, views & food are out of this world"

Kelly Dean | 20 March 2018

"What a stunning location, we stayed in the honeymoon suite which had breathtaking views of the amphitheatre and horses and zebra that live on the property. We didn't feel the need to leave Little Switzerland to further explore the area as everything we needed was at our fingertips. The chef is real..."

more

"What a stunning location, we stayed in the honeymoon suite which had breathtaking views of the amphitheatre and horses and zebra that live on the property. We didn't feel the need to leave Little Switzerland to further explore the area as everything we needed was at our fingertips. The chef is really talented, everything from seafood to salads to steak to pasta & vegetables were deliciously cooked "


"Incredible views, incredible walks"

Gerald Steyn | 23 October 2017

"Our chalet was neat and very clean. The cleaning lady was very efficient. The restaurant is above average, and the garden immaculate. All staff members that we encountered were friendly and helpful. In terms of fittings and furniture the chalets are somewhat inferior to those found at most other res..."

more

"Our chalet was neat and very clean. The cleaning lady was very efficient. The restaurant is above average, and the garden immaculate. All staff members that we encountered were friendly and helpful. In terms of fittings and furniture the chalets are somewhat inferior to those found at most other resorts in the area. The chalets need an interior revamp. "


"Christmas in July dinner"

Waldi Nell | 11 July 2017

"We had an awesome stay at Little Switzerland. The staff went out of their way at every turn to make sure everything operated smoothly. The chef should be commended as dinner and lunch was amazing. We did breakfast and one evening braai in our chalet and the kitchen was very well equipped. The unit w..."

more

"We had an awesome stay at Little Switzerland. The staff went out of their way at every turn to make sure everything operated smoothly. The chef should be commended as dinner and lunch was amazing. We did breakfast and one evening braai in our chalet and the kitchen was very well equipped. The unit was serviced efficiently and spotlessly cleaned. And lastly all the activities we booked for our children was presented perfectly and exactly on time. We will definitely be returning in future."


"The beauty of Sterk fontein Dam"

Razack Uddin | 5 July 2017

"Enjoyed the stay. Accommodation was comfortable, clean and cosy. However, don't like the idea of paying for wood. Many other places in the berg provide wood without charge. Becomes restricting to enjoy the cosiness fully. Otherwise certainly would recommend to friends and family."


"The place is really beautiful; it was awesome being away from the city"

Nomsa Mngadi | 27 March 2017

"Really friendly staff and good service. They need new blankets"


"Go carts for the kids"

Sonja Parsons | 27 March 2017

"Dated rooms and decor"


"Family holiday"

Morne Janse Van Rensburg | 22 March 2017

"Chalets need an upgrade - bedding, curtains,ect"


"A peaceful quiet break "

Allison Loubser | 11 March 2017

"Very nice tidy place away from stresses of life. Lovely views of the mountains. Only the stairs in chalet a challenge with my bad back. "


"Great facilities"

(Namibia) Mohammed Hoosain | 12 January 2017

"Although the accommodation dŽcor was dated, the space in the self catering chalet was ample. The location and activities also make up for any negative experiences. I would love to return to the Drakensberg again."


"comfotable stay"

(South Africa) Sam Kartsounis | 16 December 2016

"Little switzerland was a lovely place to stay for a few days with enough to do. chalets comfortable and clean but need some upgrading. "


"Wonderfull"

(South Africa) Alf & Gill Murie | 25 October 2016

"The accommodation, the View, The service, the meals were all wonderfull. We had a super time at the hotel and would definately stay again."


"stunning setting"

(South Africa) Belinda Klaver | 1 August 2016

"We enjoyed the stunning views and peace and tranquility that Little Switzerland had to offer. The 6bed self catering chalet was clean and well stocked. The underfloor heating, electric blankets and indoor fireplace with wood in stock were appreciated in the cold winter weather."


"Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) Diane Armstrong | 10 July 2016

"we had 5 wonderful days this past week. The staff were all helpful, friendly and polite. ÊThe food was well presented and really great. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. There was also alot of activites for my children. I would recommend Little Switzerland and we will defintely be back.Ê"


"Amazing"

(South Africa) Rakesh Kismath | 9 July 2016

"Lovely,tranquil setting. Staff very pleasant and chalets very neat. ÊEnjoyed our stay. Will definitely go back."


"A little disappointing "

(South Africa) Michelle Tandy | 8 July 2016

"The hotel needs further upgrades if it wants to charge the costs it is currently.

We were disappointed as it did not match up to the hotel we stayed in the previous year in the berg -which costs a similar amount and has the same rating.
The buffet is less than varied. The bar area is s..."

more

"The hotel needs further upgrades if it wants to charge the costs it is currently.

We were disappointed as it did not match up to the hotel we stayed in the previous year in the berg -which costs a similar amount and has the same rating.
The buffet is less than varied. The bar area is shoddy. ÊThe spa was shocking and the therapist was a misery. The rooms are cold. The kids area is dismal and my children did not want to spend any time there.Ê
It's missing all the little things that make it a quality hotel for the money you are paying.Ê
It is adequate.... if you want adequate for ÊR3000 a night!


"


"Alpine Comfort"

(South Africa) Jacqui Scott | 26 March 2016

"

Beautiful views, comfortable accommodation and friendly staff made for a very relaxing break.


"


"Beautiful views, lovely staff and a unforgettable experience"

(South Africa) Jean Mouton | 9 October 2015

"This is a lovely place in the Drakensberge on the border of KZN and Freestate. It has some stunning views and friendly staff.





I got engaged at Little Switzerland on the passed weekend. The staff went above and beyond to make this event a special an unforgettable one. It w..."

more

"This is a lovely place in the Drakensberge on the border of KZN and Freestate. It has some stunning views and friendly staff.





I got engaged at Little Switzerland on the passed weekend. The staff went above and beyond to make this event a special an unforgettable one. It was a lovely experience.





I would recommend Little Switzerland anyone that wants a lovely weekend away. With just 3 and a half hours trip away from Johannesburg it is just close enough to have a lovely weekend away without spending too much time on the the road.


"


"Relaxing family get-away"

(South Africa) Elsje Botha | 7 October 2015

"

We enjoyed a very relaxing family get-away at Little Switzerland for a couple of days. Excellent service, clean and comfortable self-catering accommodation and amenities in and around the hotel are well maintained.



We were a little concerned about the health of the horses at the ho..."

more

"

We enjoyed a very relaxing family get-away at Little Switzerland for a couple of days. Excellent service, clean and comfortable self-catering accommodation and amenities in and around the hotel are well maintained.



We were a little concerned about the health of the horses at the hotel - they seem to be malnourished (one in particular had protruding hipbones and clearly visible ribcage) and neglected. I do hope someone is concerning themselves with the welfare of these animals.



Apart from that, a wonderful stay. The restaurant serves excellent buffet meals, the kids are entertained all day long and the staff are friendly and accommodating all 'round.



We will surely be back.



"


"Relaxing weekend away and good value"

(South Africa) Craig Varner | 28 September 2015

"We spent a long weekend at Little Switzerland for our anniversary. Had a lovely time relaxing and enjoying the mountain views and fresh air. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and clean with a patio with great mountain views. The food was good and there was a nice vari..."

more

"We spent a long weekend at Little Switzerland for our anniversary. Had a lovely time relaxing and enjoying the mountain views and fresh air. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and clean with a patio with great mountain views. The food was good and there was a nice variety. The prices were affordable and there were a range of activities.


Craig and Jo-Anne
Ê
"


"Very nice and Peaceful"

(South Africa) Darshana Vallabh | 28 September 2015

"This is a fabulous place, hidden away from the noise, traffic, and pollution. The perfect getaway. We had lunch at the restaurant which was really good. The standard of their food is high.  Self Catering Chalets are perfect, well kept and homely.


"


"pleasantly surprised"

(South Africa) Gretha Kemp | 14 September 2015

"Over the years we got used to not expect too much from the at food at a dinner, bed and breakfast establishment but we pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food , which was excellent. The portions was also very generous.

This is a lovely place to stay at and the views are spectacular
"


"What an amazing weekend!"

(South Africa) Werner Koen | 22 June 2015

"I want to thank each and every person involved in making our engagement weekend at Little Switzerland truly special and amazing. The staff has been absolutely awesome, and took it so personal to attend to our every need. You guys will not be forgotten, and definitely visited again and again. Thank y..."

more

"I want to thank each and every person involved in making our engagement weekend at Little Switzerland truly special and amazing. The staff has been absolutely awesome, and took it so personal to attend to our every need. You guys will not be forgotten, and definitely visited again and again. Thank you for making it awesome! The venue is fantastic and the rooms utterly delightful"


"Amazing weekend"

(South Africa) Johann van Biljon | 17 November 2014

"The location is beautiful! in the middle of the mountains. waking up to that spectacular view of the Drakensberg is just wonderful. staff were very helpful and friendly. and the food was of great quality. thanks to the Hotel staff and the Coyote Cafe for excellent cuisine. We will go back for sure!"


"Great Value"

(South Africa) Leanne Pooley | 21 July 2014

"We were in transit and spent one night at Little Switzerland. Staff were were friendly and helpful. The chalets were nice, neat and warm. Great value for money. The restaurant at the main gate was a huge surprise. We expected toasted treats, but instead we got the best meal of our holiday. I believe..."

more

"We were in transit and spent one night at Little Switzerland. Staff were were friendly and helpful. The chalets were nice, neat and warm. Great value for money. The restaurant at the main gate was a huge surprise. We expected toasted treats, but instead we got the best meal of our holiday. I believe the chef was on Masterchef SA. That explains it. Superb grub!

Thanks for a lovely night."


"'"

(South Africa) willie hills | 7 July 2014

"Brilliant"


"Relaxing"

(South Africa) Marius Du Toit | 19 May 2014

"Awesome positioning clean and tidy

Food had great variety

Staff was friendly at all times."


"Holiday"

(South Africa) Robbie Taylor | 10 May 2014

"Happy stay"


"December stay at Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) Amy Witherden | 4 January 2014

"Pleasant staff, good food in the hotel, reasonable prices. Chalets are well equipped. Very pleasant stay overall.

"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Linda Dippenaar | 1 January 2013

"Excellent view."


"Paying attention to guest needs"

(South Africa) Janet du Preez | 26 December 2012

"We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent at Little Switzerland. We were there on a family holiday and were so impressed by the number of staff at the resort who seemed determined to do what they could to ensure that we had a great time. I can see how that would translate into excellent service of cor..."

more

"We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent at Little Switzerland. We were there on a family holiday and were so impressed by the number of staff at the resort who seemed determined to do what they could to ensure that we had a great time. I can see how that would translate into excellent service of corporate clients. The time in this beautiful and professionally managed resort was well worth travelling over the short stretch of poor road over the Oliviershoek Pass. Taken slowly it posed no threat."


"Beautiful views"

(South Africa) Danie Grobler | 18 December 2012

"Chalets are a bit old but neatly maintained. The place has the most beautiful views from the top of the mountains and great walking trails. "


"Family stay, long weekend"

(South Africa) Ami Gaber | 18 December 2012

" Fantastic. Accommodation comfortable, well serviced by friendly staff. Children activities managed by very capable ladies, guided hikes too.

Can't be better"


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Mosele Khajoane | 14 August 2012

"We really enjoyed the stay, will like to thank the friendly staff and its management. The chalets are so cosy and classic."


"Wonderlik"

(South Africa) Gert Botha | 10 July 2012

"Wat 'n wonderlike ontvangs en verblyf. Baie dankie vir die puik diens en skoon chalets, die kaggel vuur en die vriendelikheid."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Rena John | 14 May 2012

"My stay was awesome."


"Great time!"

(South Africa) Magan Govender | 11 January 2012

"We had a great time at Little Switzerland, treating our family from Mauritius! The views were fantastic and very pleasant service was received by the staff,. We swill definitely stay here again. Not to mention the vast amount of activities planned for the day!"


"Great!"

(South Africa) Miss Nokothula Putini | 16 December 2011

"Little Switzerland was really great! Thank you so much for your hospitality!"


"Wow"

(South Africa) Jana Pienaar | 19 September 2011

"Wow! We had such an awesome time! Thank you so much!"


"Unforgettable view"

(South Africa) Sybille Straatmann | 25 June 2011

"We had a very nice stay in the deluxe mountain view suites. You could just sit there and look at the mountains. We enjoyed our stay together with our three-year-old daughter who loved the horse riding. The dinner was even better than we expected. We really can recommend Little Switzerland and will d..."

more

"We had a very nice stay in the deluxe mountain view suites. You could just sit there and look at the mountains. We enjoyed our stay together with our three-year-old daughter who loved the horse riding. The dinner was even better than we expected. We really can recommend Little Switzerland and will definitely come back!"


"Great"

(South Africa) Denver Lieutier | 14 April 2011

"If you want a great view of the Drakensberg it is a must that you stay there. The chalets are fully equipped and extremely cosy. Definitely going back next year."


"Little Switzerland Hotel"

(South Africa) Dawid Van Vuren | 9 November 2010

"Thank you, we have enjoyed our stay tremendously. The service was fabulous and we were surprised for all the staff's attention towards us. Our experience surpassed all our expectations. The menu and kitchen staff were excellent. We will for sure come again"


"Little Heaven"

(South Africa) Michelle Hugo | 20 July 2010

"Great, so much to do. They even made me feel special for my birthday with cake and a candle without anyone telling them. Wished for snow but maybe on a next visit."


"It was relaxing and peaceful"

(South Africa) Rubena Bouwer | 29 March 2010

"The view was amazing and service great. The chalet had all the necessary items and was cleaned on time everyday.

"


"Little Switzerland"

(United Arab Emirates) Terri Uren | 17 December 2009

"Views were outstanding

Place was comfortable and clean

would definitely want to go back for longer than the one night we stayed there"


"Amazing. "

(South Africa) Dave Lurie | 29 September 2009

" All of the staff from all the different parts of the hotel were so polite and friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for anyone. Our room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean and the touches with the fruit, roses and platter of snacks every evening was perfect. We have been fortuna..."

more

" All of the staff from all the different parts of the hotel were so polite and friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for anyone. Our room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean and the touches with the fruit, roses and platter of snacks every evening was perfect. We have been fortunate enough to stay at many hotels around the world and we will definitely be coming back to Little Switzerland. Thank you for a relaxing wonderful weekend. See you soon. Dave and Cindy Lurie."


"Excellent stay"

(South Africa) Dreshen Appalraju | 13 July 2009

"We spent 3 nights for our honeymoon at Little Switzerland and it was excellent.Very relaxing stay and it was the extremely helpful and friendly staff that made our stay most memorable. We felt like VIP's being greeted and shown to our table for dinner and breakfast. The hosts already knew who we wer..."

more

"We spent 3 nights for our honeymoon at Little Switzerland and it was excellent.Very relaxing stay and it was the extremely helpful and friendly staff that made our stay most memorable. We felt like VIP's being greeted and shown to our table for dinner and breakfast. The hosts already knew who we were and even made sure my wife's vegetarian needs were met. Great place for a relaxing getaway....Well done to all the staff..."


"Excellent facilities"

(South Africa) Rebekah Brown Brown | 9 April 2008

"Little Switzerland is a beautifully situated resort with excellent facilities for all. Pony rides were a hit with the kids. Staff could be more friendly but I suppose such a large resort will inevitably be slightly impersonal."


"View we will never forget"

(Netherlands) yvonne hamstra | 30 November 2007

"We were on holiday with the three of us and we were never there before, we liked the setting of the hotel, distances are always far in South Africa it was a long ride to other sightseeings in Drakensberg, like Giant Castle for example.

We have to compliment you with the wonderful food you wer..."

more

"We were on holiday with the three of us and we were never there before, we liked the setting of the hotel, distances are always far in South Africa it was a long ride to other sightseeings in Drakensberg, like Giant Castle for example.

We have to compliment you with the wonderful food you were serving and your excellent winelist. Also the house that we where sleeping is was beautiful with a view we will never forget"


"Children enjoyed the pool"

(South Africa) Zelda Bezuidenhout | 12 November 2007

"The setting of our chalet was absolutely gorgeous, it felt as if we were alone in the mountains. The children enjoyed the pool, jungle gym and horses."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) marlene engelbrecht | 1 November 2007

"Great"


"Good"

(South Africa) Elmarie Potgieter | 29 October 2007

"We loved the views of the mountain. The chalet was however very standard and the 4-sleeper chalet we slept in was cramped (especially in the living area with the two pull-down beds).

The staff were very friendly and the restaurant food was very tasty with very good service.



"


"Very good"

(South Africa) Anthony Meredith | 25 September 2007

"Enjoyable"


"Lovely scenic setting"

(South Africa) john cronje | 10 September 2007

"Ran the Mount aux Sources 50km challenge and unfortunately did not have time to explore the surroundings at the resort; maybe next time"


"A lovely time"

(South Africa) Lisa Kemp | 17 July 2007

"We had a most enjoyable week here, the kids just had an absolute ball, relaxing for parents with very comfortable accomodation and good home cooked food."


"Little Switzerland BIG on family ..."

(South Africa) Hanlie Stander | 9 July 2007

"We were pleasantly surprised at the effort being put into making a stay at the Little Switzerland a family experience and the amount of effort that goes into entertainment for the little ones was greatly appreciated."


"Your own little slice of Peace"

(South Africa) Farzana Sader | 22 March 2007

"The time we spend at Little Switzerland can best be described as restorative. The sheer magnificence of the mountains and the peace and quiet that surround the area force you to be still - to take time to glory in the wonders of nature and to surrender to a feeling of utter peace. Every aspect of ..."

more

"The time we spend at Little Switzerland can best be described as restorative. The sheer magnificence of the mountains and the peace and quiet that surround the area force you to be still - to take time to glory in the wonders of nature and to surrender to a feeling of utter peace. Every aspect of our stay at the chalets was idyllic.



The only problem is that you have to leave ..."


"Enjoyable Weekend"

(South Africa) Charlain Combrink | 5 June 2006

"We enjoyed the weekend very much. It was a pity we did not see any snow but maybe next time. The only negative comment that I can make is that the health centre prices is a bit high, what I could suggest is that in winter time maybe they can make the charges cheaper. Otherwise that place is awesome...."

more

"We enjoyed the weekend very much. It was a pity we did not see any snow but maybe next time. The only negative comment that I can make is that the health centre prices is a bit high, what I could suggest is that in winter time maybe they can make the charges cheaper. Otherwise that place is awesome. Well done!!!!!!!!"


"ANNIVERSARY GETAWAY"

(South Africa) Denise Govender | 31 August 2005

"My husband and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at the resort. It was a perfect weekend getaway for our first anniversary.

"


"Little Switzerland Hotel - the BEST"

(South Africa) Ylme Rappard | 20 June 2005

"The hotel was lovely - staff extremely helpful and friendly!! The food was out of this world !! Compliments to the chef and kitchen staff - the buffet at night was absolutely DELICIOUS, WONDERFUL, very special!!

"


"Excellent "

(South Africa) Carien | 3 June 2018

"We had an amazing stay! The staff were friendly and helpful. Our chaley was clean, well equipped and very comfortable! The view from the braai is breathtaking! We will definitely be back!"


"Little Switzerland Resort"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 October 2017

"I was very disappointed when I arrived at this resort. The pictures made it loo as if it was a 5 star, only to find out what an old styled type of accommodation it really was. Everything from bedding and towels to furniture and decor were completely old. Even the tv they had does not even exist in o..."

more

"I was very disappointed when I arrived at this resort. The pictures made it loo as if it was a 5 star, only to find out what an old styled type of accommodation it really was. Everything from bedding and towels to furniture and decor were completely old. Even the tv they had does not even exist in our world anymore. The place was quite expensive and for what we paid we really expected more. The only good thing I can say is that the place was clean and tidy. Other than that, improvements are needed. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone and I personally wouldn't stay there again.

Est response: 13/10/2017

Hi Thea,

They never said a word during their stay plus we included dinner at no additional cost as they had booked on a bed & breakfast basis.

The Honeymoon suite has been recently upgraded (furniture wise) and every year we upgrade the Linen and Towels, I understand about the tv but the director doesn't want to upgrade the TV's as he expects the guests to enjoy the surroundings and not stay in their rooms watching TV. I will forward this to the Director.

Thanks
"


"Beautifull and very welcoming"

(South Africa) Elisabeth | 9 October 2017

"We stayed at Little Switzerland the past weekend. We felt so welcomed when we arrived. The staff is very friendly and professional. Loved the food and the service. Well done Little Switzerland. You made our stay a memorable one.
PS: I loved the Zebra:)"


"Not good value for money"

(South Africa) Charles | 27 September 2017

"In our room, the bed was small, the TV ancient (which makes the nonsensical channel selection painful to watch) and the casual chairs nothing more than padded camp stools which give no back support. There is no ice in the bar fridge which means a trek to the main bar anyway and, in our room, the cur..."

more

"In our room, the bed was small, the TV ancient (which makes the nonsensical channel selection painful to watch) and the casual chairs nothing more than padded camp stools which give no back support. There is no ice in the bar fridge which means a trek to the main bar anyway and, in our room, the curtains didn't work. And for some reason, at night, the place is lit up like a maximum security prison. Service was both good and bad and the buffet meals were fine. Al la carte is limited and expensive. Generally, the place is looking tired and must have the ugliest pub in the region with awful music. Little Switzerland could be a gem with its peerless mountain views, but one gets the sense that the owners are doing nothing more than sweating the aging assets. At R2,800 per night, that was not good value for money

29 Sept 2017
Glen phoned to say this client was upgraded to a bed and breakfast honeymoon suite and that the venue was being used for a wedding this weekend
There needs to be lighting, as the resort can be dangerous at night and people can fall quite easily. Tv is not meant to be the source of entertainment, and that is why it is not a flat screen tv. "


"Good Time"

(South Africa) Siphelo | 12 September 2017

"My stay was excellent. The highlight of my stay was the hospitality of the staff, their service was up to standard. It was cold over the weekend of our stay, but our room was kept warm and cosy with under floor heating and great facilities. We had a great weekend away and would definitely revisit."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) shaaheen | 17 July 2017

"The whole atmosphere was delightful. The scenery surrounding us was so beautiful. It was different to your ordinary get away. The place was immaculately clean and well structured. Our room was warm and comfortable, with everything we needed. The staff were well presented and friendly. I enjoyed the ..."

more

"The whole atmosphere was delightful. The scenery surrounding us was so beautiful. It was different to your ordinary get away. The place was immaculately clean and well structured. Our room was warm and comfortable, with everything we needed. The staff were well presented and friendly. I enjoyed the peace and quiet. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone."


"Little Switzerland Resort - Beautiful"

(South Africa) Michelle | 9 June 2017

"The place has a absolutely lovely view and the friendliest staff. Food was great, the bedrooms was cosy, warm and comfortable. Everything was clean and well-kept. We will definitely go back."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Michelle | 2 May 2017

"We had a fantastic weekend. Lots to do for the children. Beautiful scenery. The reception staff were so friendly and added to our feeling welcome. We had dinner in the Restaurant on Saturday evening and it was an exceptional Buffet and again we must compliment the staff and waiters they paid good at..."

more

"We had a fantastic weekend. Lots to do for the children. Beautiful scenery. The reception staff were so friendly and added to our feeling welcome. We had dinner in the Restaurant on Saturday evening and it was an exceptional Buffet and again we must compliment the staff and waiters they paid good attention and the service was excellent and very friendly. I would highly recommend the resort."


"Little Switzerland Resort"

(South Africa) Tania | 25 April 2017

"I was not happy. The bedrooms was not up to standard, the furniture is out dated and need maintenance. The breakfast was delicious, but I feel that my stay was not a good value for money."


"Beautiful Surroundings and Excellent Staff"

(South Africa) anonymous | 24 April 2017

"Not only is the setting absolutely amazing, the staff go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. Our daughter fell ill on the weekend. When we went to the restaurant on the Saturday night, the staff prepared a special corner for her to lie down in. They brought h..."

more

"Not only is the setting absolutely amazing, the staff go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. Our daughter fell ill on the weekend. When we went to the restaurant on the Saturday night, the staff prepared a special corner for her to lie down in. They brought her a pillow and blanket, without us requesting any of this. The food in the restaurant was top notch and perfectly prepared to our specifications. Never did we have to look around for our waiter when we needed him. The spa at the resort was excellent. We were treated like we were the only guests they had to tend to that day. The tranquillity of the resort made us think to stay another few nights, if only we could. We'll definitely be back."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Basetsana | 20 January 2017

"I loved the atmosphere, the beautiful garden and the fact that it was child-friendly. The children enjoyed themselves and had a great time. We received good service from the staff and they were helpful. Our stay was fantastic."


"Little Switzerland Resort"

(South Africa) Shereen | 19 September 2016

"Personally I think that the place needs a little revamp. The dining room was very dark and everything looks so old. They need to modernise their furniture. I had a good stay, the view is excellent and the food was great. The service was outstanding, I would definitely go back again."


"Amazing Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) Nishi | 18 September 2016

"Had an amazing weekend at Little Switzerland. The staff are friendly and efficient. The two managers are on the ball and interact personally with guests. My husbands dietary request was given special consideration. The suite was comfortable and stocked with the necessities. The buffet had a wide var..."

more

"Had an amazing weekend at Little Switzerland. The staff are friendly and efficient. The two managers are on the ball and interact personally with guests. My husbands dietary request was given special consideration. The suite was comfortable and stocked with the necessities. The buffet had a wide variety to cater for different tastes and the food was tasty. I would definitely go back there. The highlight for me at this resort was the friendly staff."


"Brilliant"

(South Africa) Jeannine | 21 July 2016

"Our stay was absolutely amazing and brilliant. The accommodation was perfect and well furnished and equipped. There were also lots to do for the kids; they had a ball of a time! The restaurant was also really good, the meals were very tasty. The staff was super friendly and helpful, they were very g..."

more

"Our stay was absolutely amazing and brilliant. The accommodation was perfect and well furnished and equipped. There were also lots to do for the kids; they had a ball of a time! The restaurant was also really good, the meals were very tasty. The staff was super friendly and helpful, they were very good, they even courier an item I forgot at the resort. Thank you so much for the amazing time."


"It's the little things ....."

(South Africa) Eben | 7 July 2016

"In general not a bad experience, a few small things that irked....

1. Some utensils (tin opener, braai thongs) in the unit really passed their 'use-by date'
2. Light in the top bedroom above the mirror not working
3. Cold tap in the shower had to be attended to by maintenance
4...."

more

"In general not a bad experience, a few small things that irked....

1. Some utensils (tin opener, braai thongs) in the unit really passed their 'use-by date'
2. Light in the top bedroom above the mirror not working
3. Cold tap in the shower had to be attended to by maintenance
4. KYK Net on the DSTv package would be nice for Afrikaans visitors
5. R220 per person for the carvery - a touch on the expensive side?"


"Really Lovely"

(South Africa) Hemila | 30 June 2016

"Absolutely lovely stay, everything was perfect. The resort is situated in a beautiful location with amazing views. The service was excellent, management was very attentive. The chalets were excellent as well; we had more than enough of everything. It was a great getaway and a wonderful experience. I..."

more

"Absolutely lovely stay, everything was perfect. The resort is situated in a beautiful location with amazing views. The service was excellent, management was very attentive. The chalets were excellent as well; we had more than enough of everything. It was a great getaway and a wonderful experience. I was also very impressed with RoomsForAfrica, the entire enquiry and booking process went so smoothly. I will definitely be recommending RoomsForAfrica to my family and friends. Thank you to RoomsForAfrica for the outstanding and efficient service."


"Absolutely Excellent"

(South Africa) THEUNS | 24 June 2016

"We had an absolutely excellent stay, we were very happy with everything at Resort. It’s a really lovely place, in a beautiful environment, with really lovely staff that is very attentive and friendly. Thank you for a wonderful stay."


"Family Weekend"

(South Africa) Anita | 23 June 2016

"Stunning location with beautiful view of the whole amphitheatre. Enjoyed our stay but resort needs a good maintenance overhaul and improved communication structure. Many lights in our chalet were not operational, sliding door difficult to open & under floor heating only worked in certain areas. Hous..."

more

"Stunning location with beautiful view of the whole amphitheatre. Enjoyed our stay but resort needs a good maintenance overhaul and improved communication structure. Many lights in our chalet were not operational, sliding door difficult to open & under floor heating only worked in certain areas. House keeping unaware of our day of departure & thus cleaner was there at 9am on the morning of our departure to clean the chalet which made the packing of our belongings rather challenging. Staff at resort rather curt & not particulary friendly except for the black gentleman at reception."


"Room for improvement"

(South Africa) anonymous | 19 June 2016

"The setting is picturesque, and the views breath-taking. Accommodation is a bit tired around the edges. In the winter, you will be expected to pay for your own heating in the lounge section quick-burning firewood is provided that you will be required to pay for. The service staff in the bar, restaur..."

more

"The setting is picturesque, and the views breath-taking. Accommodation is a bit tired around the edges. In the winter, you will be expected to pay for your own heating in the lounge section quick-burning firewood is provided that you will be required to pay for. The service staff in the bar, restaurant and horse riding facilities were very friendly. In contrast, some of the reception staff could clearly benefit from training in hospitality."


"Magnificent"

(South Africa) Johan | 29 March 2016

"Our stay at the Little Switzerland was truly magnificent! The chalets were lovely and fully equipped. We had such a great time, with beautiful views. We will definitely go back!"


"Old charm"

(South Africa) Ingeborg | 22 December 2015

"The area and view is beautiful. The activities are great for young and old. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The dinner a la carte menu was delicious."


"Fantastic Stay."

(South Africa) Conrad | 18 December 2015

"Stay was very nice; the place had everything and more. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms comfortable and well appointed. Would recommend this establishment."


"Prim&Proper"

(South Africa) Thandeka Zinhle Nondumiso | 3 December 2015

"The staff were fantastic in every way. They all went out of their way to make our stay so special. We enjoyed it thoroughly. We'll be back."


"Comfortable"

(South Africa) rochelle | 3 December 2015

"The place is great. It was good and we'll visit again."


"Little Switzerland ROCKS !!!!"

(South Africa) Lynda | 26 October 2015

"We had a wonderful time at Little Switzerland and the staff were fantastic in every way. They all went out of their way to make our stay so special.
Thanks so much and we will be back!
"


"Pleased to have stayed after a while"

(South Africa) Bronwen | 20 October 2015

"We were very glad to be back after 25 years. We had such a nice time."


"Room for Improvement"

(South Africa) Eben | 14 October 2015

"We loved the views from the chalets - but the layout of the chalet can be improved upon:

1. HUGE (very wide) 'king size' bed in upstairs bedroom - resulting in the fitted sheet not 'fitting' - also due to the width of the bed, the one side had to do without a bedside / reading lamp - two 3/..."

more

"We loved the views from the chalets - but the layout of the chalet can be improved upon:

1. HUGE (very wide) 'king size' bed in upstairs bedroom - resulting in the fitted sheet not 'fitting' - also due to the width of the bed, the one side had to do without a bedside / reading lamp - two 3/4 beds probably a better fit
2. Chalet a bit cramped for 4 people - and no en-suite bathroom also a negative

Limited selection of DSTv channels and I would suggest that more 'activities' are included at no cost - perhaps 1 or 2 'events' per room per stay - certainly 5 laps in a 'go-cart' for R75 seems a bit excessive.

Loved the scenery and the walks and staff at reception was very helpful.
"


"Our stay at Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) anonymous | 5 October 2015

"We spent five wonderful days at Little Switzerland. The view from our room was spectacular. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the meals were absolutely amazing. We will definitely be back there for more of the same!
"


"Little Heaven"

(South Africa) Buyisiwe | 30 September 2015

"I stayed in the executive suite (mountain view). The rooms were clean, spacious and luxurious. The staff is very friendly, welcoming and helpful. And the food is just out of this world! Fresh and finger-licking... little slice of heaven"


"Lovely place to relax "

(South Africa) Skhumbuzo Vusani | 9 September 2015

"Everything was excellent during my stay here. I also really enjoyed the surroundings."


"A few reservations on arrival"

(South Africa) Ziphi | 21 May 2015

"We did not received a good reception even though the stay was fine. There was such an issue with the booking made in this one's name then that one's name. The administration should be more orderly and they should have been prepared for our arrival.

Est responded: 22 May 2015 02:03 PM
Th..."

more

"We did not received a good reception even though the stay was fine. There was such an issue with the booking made in this one's name then that one's name. The administration should be more orderly and they should have been prepared for our arrival.

Est responded: 22 May 2015 02:03 PM
Thank you for making us aware of the review from Ziphi Dladla.

I apologise for the Reception that they received. The issue arose due to the booking being made under Ziphi Dladla and the Guest checking in under SJ Ngwenya. If they had advised the Receptionist on duty of the original booking name she would have been able to assist more efficiently.

I apologise for this and am glad that they enjoyed the remainder of their stay.

Considering you also have the name of Ziphi Dladla and not SJ Ngwenya, which is the issue in question, I hope this will not affect our rating. Please advise.

Kind Regards,

I responded accordingly.

Est responded again: Fri 2015/05/22 02:37 PM
Thank you "


"It's All There, Near Here."

(South Africa) Peter | 14 May 2015

"Bright friendly welcome, Likeable, friendly and helpful staff, rooms comfortable and well appointed except that some brighter central lighting would be nice, wonderful panoramic views of the Drakensburg with The Sentinel and Amphitheatre right there! Food tasty but not all that well presented e.g. b..."

more

"Bright friendly welcome, Likeable, friendly and helpful staff, rooms comfortable and well appointed except that some brighter central lighting would be nice, wonderful panoramic views of the Drakensburg with The Sentinel and Amphitheatre right there! Food tasty but not all that well presented e.g. beautifully cooked fillet just dumped on top of chips. Unacceptable not to have marmalade for breakfast! Enjoyed the stay very much. Oh, nearly forgot to say how much we appreciated the bottle of champagne presented to us by Management for our 61st anniversary dinner!"


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Palmer | 21 April 2015

"Little Switzerland is a well managed resort. Everything was perfect. Recommended."


"Good"

(South Africa) Haripersad | 16 April 2015

"Everything was good for the full duration of my time spent at Little Switzerland and I was comfortable."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Mr Esterhuizen | 9 April 2015

"Thank you Little Switzerland for a lovely stay. We really enjoyed it and will certainly visit again."


"Great weekend in the mountain"

(South Africa) Bester | 30 March 2015

"Over the weekend of 28 & 29 March we had a short weekend break-away to LS. The location of this resort is very convenient and the views are breath-taking. We felt that it was good value for money but that attention can be given to mattresses and in the quality of service in the restaurant.
The r..."

more

"Over the weekend of 28 & 29 March we had a short weekend break-away to LS. The location of this resort is very convenient and the views are breath-taking. We felt that it was good value for money but that attention can be given to mattresses and in the quality of service in the restaurant.
The resort has a number of activities to keep visitors of all ages busy and entertained.
We'll definitely visit LS again.
"


"Valentine surprise"

(South Africa) Mr van Deventer | 15 February 2015

"Very clean and neat. The food was from top class and all the staff were helpful and friendly.The strawberries and cream surprise on Valentines day was a surprise. Thank you. Next time I will stay longer."


"Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 January 2015

"I had a good stay. They had good facilities. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I will recommend them to others. "


"Amazing getaway"

(South Africa) Mr Rasch | 15 January 2015

"The holiday at Little Switzerland was absolutely amazing. The owners are really friendly and have a good knowledge of hospitality. The place had a nice atmosphere and great facilities. I will recommend them to others. "


"Really pleased guest"

(South Africa) Muller | 9 January 2015

"The stay here was excellent. I enjoyed everything. The food and hospitality was great and I'd most certainly return there and refer other people to this Resort as well."


"Excellent stay"

(South Africa) Cross | 9 January 2015

"I had an excellent stay at Little Switzerland Resort. It was very peaceful and quiet. The rooms are lovely and the staff are friendly. The food is delicious. I will recommend them to others."


"Awesome Stay"

(South Africa) Barnard | 15 December 2014

"I had an awesome stay at Little Switzerland Resort. I hope to be returning again soon. I will recommend them to others. I will use the Rooms for Africa website for future bookings."


"Great"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 December 2014

"I really enjoyed my one night stay here. Everything was all fine and we would definitely visit the place again!"


"Perfect stay"

(South Africa) Mahlangu | 10 December 2014

"I really enjoyed my stay. I will be booking my December holiday on the Rooms for Africa website."


"Pleasing"

(South Africa) Khan | 22 October 2014

"The duration of my stay at this Resort was very nice. I recommend that others try this place out and will return."


"South African hospitality at its best"

(South Africa) V.Mamontov | 29 September 2014

"It was an extremely pleasant stay in the well organised paradise.
"


"THE BEST FOR FAMILIES"

(South Africa) sissing | 11 September 2014

"We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the food at the hotel. I have four kids; one of which is 3 months and she slept through the nights because of the warmness in the room. The kids enjoyed the fire place.

We will return with a bigger group. I had a lovely massage. The chalets are nice and bi..."

more

"We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the food at the hotel. I have four kids; one of which is 3 months and she slept through the nights because of the warmness in the room. The kids enjoyed the fire place.

We will return with a bigger group. I had a lovely massage. The chalets are nice and big and very comfy. So yes, it's what any family would like. Thanks Little Switzerland."


"Happy"

(South Africa) anonymous | 28 July 2014

"I had a jolly time at Little Switzerland Resort. I would suggest a visit here to acquaintances."


"Good"

(South Africa) Mrs Smith | 18 July 2014

"Everything was fine with my stay. It is a place that I would recommend to others and return for another stay."


"A pleasing stay"

(South Africa) Mr du Toit | 17 July 2014

"We had an enjoyable time here. Due to our good time at Little Switzerland Resort, we would recommend a stay here."


"Review of little switzerland"

(South Africa) Mr Saran | 16 July 2014

"There were positive and negative aspects to my stay At the resort.
The positive was there was an effort to do kids activities which was ideal for the school holidays.

The negative aspect was the dining situation. We we're not aware that there was not a buffet dinner available as com..."

more

"There were positive and negative aspects to my stay At the resort.
The positive was there was an effort to do kids activities which was ideal for the school holidays.

The negative aspect was the dining situation. We we're not aware that there was not a buffet dinner available as compared to other drakensburg resorts. You could only eat at one small cafe(lunch and dinner). This cafe was very small and congested.

Breakfast was also disappointing as a buffet breakfast is not always available. We were disappointed to find that breakfast times also vary depending on number of people in hotel.

Est responded: Sat 2014/07/19 12:27 PM
My apologies for not replying sooner. I was just checking all of the details so that I could respond.
The positive was there was an effort to do kids’ activities which was ideal for the school holidays.
I am glad that the Guests enjoyed this service as we have run the Kids club from the 30th June and all of the Children have had a blast.
The negative aspect was the dining situation. We we're not aware that there was not a buffet dinner available as compared to other drakensburg resorts. You could only eat at one small cafe(lunch and dinner). This cafe was very small and congested.
Most of the meals on the Resort are served at Coyote Cafe as we do not run the buffet out of season. There is no mention of a buffet service on your website http://www.roomsforafrica.com/establishment.do?id=215 or on ours. We try to do a buffet when we have enough occupancy on the Resort. But this is an exception and not a norm. There was a buffet on Saturday night and Sunday morning which the Guests enjoyed with us. There is also our Hotel dining room which serves meals from 09:00 - 16:00 every day. This is not open for Dinner usually but Coyote Cafe is always available for Guests. Coyote is open from 07:00 - 21:00 every day.
Breakfast was also disappointing as a buffet breakfast is not always available. We were disappointed to find that breakfast times also vary depending on number of people in hotel.
We only had a buffet breakfast on Sunday as the Hotel was not busy the other days. Breakfast is at Coyote from 07:00 and in our Hotel from 09:00. This is the same time everyday and it is generally an a la carte. Buffets have not been done daily for breakfast since 2012. We have removed all of the information online as best as we can. However some websites and travel agents might not have taken the information off. I will ask our Reservation Manager to check online websites for changes this week.
I also think the cleanliness of the rooms can be improved, particularly the shower curtain. We also found the resort to be very dusty due to the construction.
I apologise for this and wish we could have rectified the situation while the Guests were still with us. Nothing was reported to Reception and we felt that the Guests had enjoyed their stay. I apologise for the noise and dust caused from the construction and upgrade of our conference rooms. We are trying to upgrade our Resort and unfortunately this has been scheduled for July. We have Housekeepers on duty specifically to clean Reception from 08:30 - 16:30 each day and our Gardeners are on duty all day to try and keep all areas clean as well.
I hope that Mr and Mrs Saran will come back to stay with us during a long weekend, or busier period, so that they can enjoy the buffets with us. I hope to host them again.
Overall we were not happy with food arrangements.

I also think the cleanliness of the rooms can be improved, particularly the shower curtain. We also found the resort to be very dusty due to the construction."


"Very happy with my stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Kotze | 14 July 2014

"My stay was very nice. It is with certainty that I would suggest a stay at this lovely place to everyone and also come stay here again."


"A pleasure to be here"

(South Africa) Ms Bachoo | 11 July 2014

"My time at Little Switzerland Resort was very nice. I really loved it. The rooms were so clean and I enjoyed the environment. I would certainly revisit and have already recommended it to others."


"Lovely place"

(South Africa) Mrs Grobler | 20 June 2014

"My stay was very pleasant. I would recommend it to others and revisit as well. I would also make use of the Rooms For Africa website again."


"Average rating"

(South Africa) Mrs Habib | 25 May 2014

"Lovely establishment, facilities were good, staff very helpful and friendly.
Rooms need an up grade not very cosy and comfortable with regards to furniture beds and chairs. Such a pity about the roads really the biggest down fall of the holiday."


"A historic gem"

(South Africa) anonymous | 5 May 2014

"Have you ever experienced that feeling that you’ve just arrived in a little space of heaven after having driven the road from hell? Well then Welcome to the Little Switzerland Resort in the Drakensberg. If you’re looking for artificial comfort and opulence, then rather support the Hilton family trus..."

more

"Have you ever experienced that feeling that you’ve just arrived in a little space of heaven after having driven the road from hell? Well then Welcome to the Little Switzerland Resort in the Drakensberg. If you’re looking for artificial comfort and opulence, then rather support the Hilton family trust or any other chain enterprise for that matter. The nature of this resort is very different.
With a history that spans over a hundred years, from having started as a Tea Garden to having transformed into the quaint chalets and hotel rooms with breath taking and majestic views of what feels to be the top of the South African landscape, this resort possesses an old world charm.
Led by two forces of nature - Mr and Mrs Mumby, supported by their exceptionally dedicated staff (the genuine smiling voice of Glen Hadden confirming your booking, to the wonderful Barbara and her hospitality and waiter staff in the restaurant, Little Switzerland, possesses a sincere warmth and an accommodating spirit which I haven’t experienced in many of the establishments we’ve been fortunate enough to visit over the years.
The Rooms and Décor: We had the pleasure of staying in their Honeymoon suite, overlooking the valley, and (of course my favourite) the stables down below! I found the décor to be in good taste – exquisitely crafted dark wood – not the stained attempts. The room was clean with a wonderful smell, which greets you as you open the front door. The spa bath in the bathroom was a godsend esp. after having returned from one of the numerous (and very well worth it!) hikes the resort has on offer.
The Spa: Nancy from the on-site spa offers one of the best Aromatherapy Body Massages ever (and believe me, with the demanding lifestyle of Johannesburg we’ve been to a few). The product they use in the spa is Gatineau – which is still one of my all-time favourites. I have a sneaking suspicion that Mrs. Mumby has something to do with that, one can see she is a true lady in every sense.
Food: We enjoyed it thoroughly  The old world restaurant with its high ceilings, offered a buffet with a wonderful range of options. An A’ la carte menu is also available, but we hadn’t dipped into that one, well not yet. Should you be lucky enough to experience the Mezze starter options, you will never want to have it anywhere else. Be very cautious of the desserts however, they chase you down and turn every possible rubber part forcing you to gain at least 5 kgs!
Activities on Offer: This resort has the capacity to cater for a myriad of needs - from the team building corporate with conferencing facilities, to the family with young children or the couple whom simply wishes for a romantic and relaxing weekend away. If you are fortunate enough to be able to share the experience with your children they can choose amongst pony rides, swimming, supervised quad biking rides or simply admiring the zebra which wonder in and amongst the buildings. From what I have seen the supervision has been tightened and the entertainment host is an exceptionally fit and patient young man gifted at entertaining both the young and the not so young. As an experienced rock climber and hiker, who knows the trails in this area like the palm of his hand, this young man will make any individual, or group enjoy the beauty this region has to offer. During summer months the resort even has water sports available on the dam!
More importantly this family shares their passion and the fruits thereof, with people whom are not always as fortunate. This fact in itself is a great indication of who and what they are, as well as what the heart of this resort entails.



"


"My amazing break!"

(South Africa) Ms Bhana | 5 May 2014

"My experience at Little Switzerland was the most memorable experience, although a bit too short but well worth it.
I almost never made it due to my vehicle breaking down on my way to the resort but thankfully to great friends whom helped me to enjoy the serenity & peacefulness the resort had to..."

more

"My experience at Little Switzerland was the most memorable experience, although a bit too short but well worth it.
I almost never made it due to my vehicle breaking down on my way to the resort but thankfully to great friends whom helped me to enjoy the serenity & peacefulness the resort had to offer.
My family was also overwhelmed by the beauty & tranquillity of Little Switzerland & we made a promise to each other that we will be back to the resort.
Thanks to the friendly staff & the awesome facilities on offer that helped us unwind all our stresses & cares & be transported into sheer tranquillity & peace.
Thank you Little Switzerland :)
"


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Mr mackintosh | 17 April 2014

"We had a lovely stay at Little Switzerland. We would return for another visit."


"Absolute Bliss"

(South Africa) Mrs Draper | 8 April 2014

"We arrived after 23h00 on Friday and were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door of our unit. The unit was spacious, clean, smelled lovely and nicely furnished. The daily service was a bonus! This was the first time from all the self-catering places we’ve been at that all the utensils neede..."

more

"We arrived after 23h00 on Friday and were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door of our unit. The unit was spacious, clean, smelled lovely and nicely furnished. The daily service was a bonus! This was the first time from all the self-catering places we’ve been at that all the utensils needed in the kitchen was actually there! It was a joy cooking. The big fridge and stove was again a lovely surprise. With an amazing view both from the patio and the large upstairs balcony together with the stillness, tranquillity and fresh mountain air we were rejuvenated within three days and actually looked forward to commencing work on the Monday. Our teenage boys had a fabulous time with all the amenities available to them and we will most definitely be back."


"Truly Impressive Stay"

(Australia) Mr Singh | 8 March 2014

"Truly wonderful family holiday experience. We stayed at the resort between the 4th and 6th Mar 2014 and despite poor weather the management and staff at Little Switzerland went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and well entertained during our stay. The restaurant food is world clas..."

more

"Truly wonderful family holiday experience. We stayed at the resort between the 4th and 6th Mar 2014 and despite poor weather the management and staff at Little Switzerland went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and well entertained during our stay. The restaurant food is world class and the service level is unmatched compared to most establishments.
Keep up the great work! - We will definitely be visiting again in the near future.
"


"Little Switzerland Resort"

(South Africa) Mr Faure | 24 February 2014

"The visit at Little Switzerland was excellent thank you."


"Amazing...amazing"

(South Africa) Ms de Beer | 28 October 2013

"My experience of Little Switzerland was so great that I have already informed friends and family to visit there as well. The view from my room was absolutely beautiful. The horse and Zebra walking around create an atmosphere of…”I want to stay here”. My room was also the best I’ve seen in a very lon..."

more

"My experience of Little Switzerland was so great that I have already informed friends and family to visit there as well. The view from my room was absolutely beautiful. The horse and Zebra walking around create an atmosphere of…”I want to stay here”. My room was also the best I’ve seen in a very long time (and I do travel a bit). "


"Wonderful time"

(South Africa) Mr mashaba | 3 October 2013

"We had an excellent stay at Little Switzerland Resort. We would definitely revisit and recommend this guesthouse."


"restful rejuvenating retreat"

(South Africa) Mr Mohamed | 1 October 2013

"We came for only 4 days and the chalets were perfectly equipped, the bedding warm, and everything we needed was there. Each day we went for a walk, we were given a range of options, some longer through the forest and up the mountain, and some shorter to a gentle river and then relaxed by the fire or..."

more

"We came for only 4 days and the chalets were perfectly equipped, the bedding warm, and everything we needed was there. Each day we went for a walk, we were given a range of options, some longer through the forest and up the mountain, and some shorter to a gentle river and then relaxed by the fire or outside watching horses and zebras wonder around. So it was only 4 days but it was a really restorative time.
Thank you
"


"Room for improvement"

(South Africa) Mr Mons | 27 September 2013

"I'd like to advise that this resort is in desperate need of some renovations."


"Bev Ogilvie"

(South Africa) Mrs Ogilvie | 6 September 2013

"Excellent resort, all staff are friendly and facilities are lovely. Definitely worth a visit."


"When a breathtaking view is just not enough"

(South Africa) Mr Van Schalkwyk | 6 July 2013

"Many moons ago, as newly-weds, we stayed over at Little Switzerland.
I clearly recall the weather as grey and cold, but the stay was warm and hospitable. Little Switzerland lived in our memories as a charming and dignified home from home. We remember the dining-hall with fine foods, warm fires ..."

more

"Many moons ago, as newly-weds, we stayed over at Little Switzerland.
I clearly recall the weather as grey and cold, but the stay was warm and hospitable. Little Switzerland lived in our memories as a charming and dignified home from home. We remember the dining-hall with fine foods, warm fires in the fire-place, board-games, friendly personnel.
That is probably why Little Switzerland came up in our minds when we recently had to find a place to overnight en route OR Tambo International. We did not consider reading any reviews neither thought about trying any of the other resorts along the way.
Our booking was made through Rooms for Africa and we were quite at ease.
Two days before our stay, we were called by a staff member of Little Switzerland to inform us that the unit we booked will be renovated. They offered us (two adults and a 7 year-old) a six-sleeper self-catering unit at the same rate. The person assured of the outstanding features of this unit. As it was such short notice in peak-season, we reluctantly agreed.
Arriving at the gate, we got an impression of dilapidation. We were nevertheless optimistic.
When checking in, I was told about the masseuse on the premises. I booked my wife a back and neck massage for later that day, a prospect which she had been rather delighted about.
When reaching the unit, we were almost overwhelmed by the breathtaking view over the mountains. Unfortunately, that was the only thing that really impressed us during our stay.
The place was fairly clean, if I exclude the carpets, some of which had cigarette burns on it.
As I was to board an international plane the next day, we did not have any food provisions with us. The charming dining hall we remembered did not exist any longer, and the only refreshments supplied in the unit were rooibos tea bags and sugar sachets – no coffee/creamers/milk/sweetener/black tea.
We requested a non-smoking room in our initial booking, but this unit reeked of smoke. It was as if the smoke was absorbed in the curtains and bedcovers. Speaking of which, were about twenty years old, if I take into account their (original) design and colour as well as their state of deterioration. So were the towels – thin and faded, almost like the rags we use at home for washing cars.
There were hot water bottles available, but they too were beyond repair – perished and leaking. A sure safety risk.
The only light in the tunnel for my wife, the massage, was cancelled as the masseuse “was running late”. It was suggested that my wife take the massage “first thing” the following day, but it did not fit in with our travel arrangements.
We visited the roadside eatery, outside of the Little Switzerland premises for dinner. We have found the butternut soup and pasta dishes (which we have seen the chef, ladled from plastic containers and heated) supersaturated with cream; in such the way that the soup was almost gluey. Breakfast was better, though the choice was limited to five or so options on a black board.
Not being complainers, we have just made a mental note never again to set foot at Little Switzerland. But then you requested a review.
"


"Self catering chalets"

(South Africa) Mr Steyn | 1 July 2013

"Chalets are comfortable but basic, and could do with a bit of an upgrade. Our particular unit (109) had an unpleasant smell that seemed to linger for the duration of our stay, and the blankets on the beds did not appear to be very clean. The fact that the usual dining facilities have closed down, ar..."

more

"Chalets are comfortable but basic, and could do with a bit of an upgrade. Our particular unit (109) had an unpleasant smell that seemed to linger for the duration of our stay, and the blankets on the beds did not appear to be very clean. The fact that the usual dining facilities have closed down, are also not ideal. When compared to other mountain resorts, Little Switzerland seems to be going downhill, when compared to our previous visit some years ago."


"Chalets - Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) Mr Reddy | 27 June 2013

"The reception area is well maintained and the resort has good facilities like the bar, tennis courts, children’s play areas and entertainment areas. There are also many hiking trails that lead from the resort. There are excellent views of the Drakensberg Mountains from the resort. The chalet areas a..."

more

"The reception area is well maintained and the resort has good facilities like the bar, tennis courts, children’s play areas and entertainment areas. There are also many hiking trails that lead from the resort. There are excellent views of the Drakensberg Mountains from the resort. The chalet areas also had good privacy and the appliances in the resort were in good working order. The condition of the chalets however is a bit run down. The furniture is old and drab and has a very "tired" look about it. This definitely needs to be spiced up. The chalets also need to be painted in colours that make them look attractive and blend in with the surroundings. The chalets were cleaned daily which was good. The presence of animals in the surroundings like zebras, deer and horses gave a very natural feel to the environment. There was also a good range of beautiful flowers at the resort. "


"Breath Taking Views"

(South Africa) Mr Ndlovu | 2 January 2013

"Wow, the views in this place are out of this world. Breath taking indeed and relaxing activities. I will definately recommend this places for a great couples outing."


"A very pleasant stay."

(South Africa) Mr Smart | 2 July 2012

"Staff are very friendly and helpful
Rooms comfortable, neat, well maintained and clean
Parking well secured."


"Feedback"

(South Africa) Mr Smit | 10 August 2011

"The hotel and room was a little outdated for my liking, compared to other places we have stayed. The food was not great, and I feel that the dinner session should ensure the food is warm at all times. Our food was cold when we dished up most of the time.

The experience was also ruined by t..."

more

"The hotel and room was a little outdated for my liking, compared to other places we have stayed. The food was not great, and I feel that the dinner session should ensure the food is warm at all times. Our food was cold when we dished up most of the time.

The experience was also ruined by the road from Harrismith, where I hit a pothole and destroyed my back wheel. People should be warned by the resort that the road is bad, as this is one way to ruin the time away"


"Our three night stay at Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) Mrs Reddy | 28 June 2011

"My family and I enjoyed our stay at Little Switzerland. We loved the peaceful and scenic view of the mountains. We loved the privacy of our cottage and were impressed with the facilities available. We enjoyed the horseriding and the hiking. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend..."

more

"My family and I enjoyed our stay at Little Switzerland. We loved the peaceful and scenic view of the mountains. We loved the privacy of our cottage and were impressed with the facilities available. We enjoyed the horseriding and the hiking. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this establishment to my friends."


"Very Nice Place to Stay."

(Switzerland) Norman | 2 March 2010

"A very nice and cozy place, which was beautiful and perfect. They have a nice and perfect restaurant. It has a beautiful view of the Drakensberg. The staff is perfect.
"


"Winter in December"

(South Africa) Mr Naidoo | 7 December 2009

"Wow! Wow! This is how I felt after a well relaxed weekend! The Hotel more than lived up to its promises, we had a fantastic time. The Deluxe Suite that we had was excellently furnished and was filled with warmth and made us feel immediately at home! Although it was a rainy weekend, the indoor atmosp..."

more

"Wow! Wow! This is how I felt after a well relaxed weekend! The Hotel more than lived up to its promises, we had a fantastic time. The Deluxe Suite that we had was excellently furnished and was filled with warmth and made us feel immediately at home! Although it was a rainy weekend, the indoor atmosphere made up for us not being outdoors. The view from our room of the Amphitheatre was stunning and unbelievable. We highly recommend the SPA, very skilled and friendly staff that made the treatments that much more special! The meals were indeed excellent and although Buffet on both evenings, the variety was different and of very high quality, highly recommended! We truly had a memorable weekend and will definitely return!"


"Weekend at Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) Mr Keith Watkins | 1 November 2009

"We originally wanted to stay in the self catering chalets as we have a 7 year old daughter but management offered us alternative arrangements and as we wanted to visit we made the booking. WOW! It was great, good food and very friendly and helpful staff. Pony rides, Putt Putt and play station all pr..."

more

"We originally wanted to stay in the self catering chalets as we have a 7 year old daughter but management offered us alternative arrangements and as we wanted to visit we made the booking. WOW! It was great, good food and very friendly and helpful staff. Pony rides, Putt Putt and play station all provided (Thanks from Candice!) A stunning setting. Did not realise that there was a kiddies menu until the last day-Candice was not up to the indescribably delicious snails and mussels amidst other delicacies. Well done to the chef - he certainly knows what he is up to.
Not inexpensive, but all round excellent value for money.
Please can you perhaps extend the breakfast hours on a Sunday till 10h00.
Once again-Well done to the staff, we will be back, many more times!"


"Feedback on Little Switzerland"

(South Africa) Ms Wilken | 10 April 2007

"Thank you for the booking. Little Switzerland is located in a wonderful and awesome part of our beautiful country. We enjoyed our stay, but I honestly feel serious about giving the following feedback. I do believe the maintenance of the hotel has been severely neglected and for such a beautiful p..."

more

"Thank you for the booking. Little Switzerland is located in a wonderful and awesome part of our beautiful country. We enjoyed our stay, but I honestly feel serious about giving the following feedback. I do believe the maintenance of the hotel has been severely neglected and for such a beautiful place in such a beautiful part of nature, they should do something drastic about the upkeep of the facilities.

Although I would like to commend them on the wonderful spread and absolute great menus, we thought the food was tasteless and bland most of the time. We eat out a lot and we thought although the menus and the 8-course spread and breakfast buffets seemed appetising, the food tasted disappointing.

Lastly but not least, I think they can definitely serve better coffee. I love coffee and cappuccino, but after the one cappuccino and one coffee, I did not drink any more coffee at the hotel.

It is not meant to be a groaning session; I just feel with little effort they can make the experience so much more memorable!

We did enjoy the stay and the surrounding nature is awesome and wonderful! Thank you

Illona Wilken"