Reviews of Eagles' Rock Mountain Retreat


"What it says on the box."

Paige Aarts | 6 April 2018

"Stunning view, clean, everything you need. Loved it."


"The place was beautiful from the outside"

Zinhle Ngubane | 25 September 2017

"It would be nice to have a TV in the lounge area.
I don't think our chalet was clean before we could arrive, there was a lot of spiders webs and lady birds (those small round inserts). I couldn't sleep the 1st night.
Otherwise a very friendly services from the owners. "


"The view."

Anodie Kouwenhoven | 17 July 2017

"Friendliness of owners."


"The peace and quiet and close to everything"

Evelynne Janson | 28 June 2017

"a great place and location good"


"peaceful and tranquil"

(South Africa) Lilian Nyandoro | 10 August 2016

"wonderful place and very cheerful owners"


"Cosy cottage"

(South Africa) Shelley Moor | 8 August 2016

"We arrived and were greeted by very friendly and hospitable owners/managers and a gorgeous and friendly kitty.

Our stay was lovely - cottage was cosy and deliciously warm when we got the fire going. Just sad we didn't get any snow :( - maybe next time! :)"


"Amazing"

(South Africa) ina Zietsman | 30 June 2016

"Wish we stayed longer!!
"


"Unforgettable weekend!"

(South Africa) Remy Kloos | 7 April 2015

"We stayed in the most beautiful Log Cabin and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The views were absolutely breathtaking and the owners made evey effort to make ourvisit a great one.We will be back to stay during the next Splashy Fen festival for sure."


"Easter weekend"

(South Africa) Barbara Rice | 22 April 2014

"We did enjoy our stay at Eagles Rock, but we just thought it was a bit overpriced.

For the amount charged, the chalets should be on a bed and breakfast basis.

Our chalet was not very well designed and quite cramped. The main bedroom that was more spacious, was up this steep flight ..."

more

"We did enjoy our stay at Eagles Rock, but we just thought it was a bit overpriced.

For the amount charged, the chalets should be on a bed and breakfast basis.

Our chalet was not very well designed and quite cramped. The main bedroom that was more spacious, was up this steep flight of stairs.

The staircase is not suitable for children at all.

Otherwise the couple who are managing the place are very friendly.

The mountain retreat is in a beautiful setting."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) isha | 14 April 2014

"Our hosts were fantastic and friendly. The view from Falcon cottage was straight out of a movie scene: serene, calm, stunning and beautiful. A lovely fireplace to warm up the freezing night air. Atmosphere extremely peaceful exactly as a retreat should be with NO t.v in cottages. Maids are in every ..."

more

"Our hosts were fantastic and friendly. The view from Falcon cottage was straight out of a movie scene: serene, calm, stunning and beautiful. A lovely fireplace to warm up the freezing night air. Atmosphere extremely peaceful exactly as a retreat should be with NO t.v in cottages. Maids are in every morning to do last night's dishes and cleaning of the bathroom. Water is clean n crisp straight from natural springs. Attractions were the nearby dam, trails, horse-riding which we unfortunately never got to experience due to our baby however we made the most by also visit the Cheesery, Dairy, Farm stalls, nearby town and driving all the way up to Drakensberg hotel, not forgetting stopping on d side of road n getn down to the umzimkulu river and splashing, collecting pebbles and taking awesome pics with stunning berg backgrounds! Awesome, just awesome experience!"


"Great"

(South Africa) Brian Makepeace | 10 March 2014

"A great location with beautiful views. Accommodation very clean and adequate with everything one needs for a successful holiday/break away or long weekend. Barry and Philla were very helpful and welcoming. "


"Incredible weekend"

(South Africa) Michael Morton | 13 January 2014

"In self catering places often what makes the stay is the people who run it, and that was definitely the case! Great people, very helpful and full of info on the surrounding area and what activities there are on the go! We stayed in the Kestrel house and we loved it... Very comfortable and a great vi..."

more

"In self catering places often what makes the stay is the people who run it, and that was definitely the case! Great people, very helpful and full of info on the surrounding area and what activities there are on the go! We stayed in the Kestrel house and we loved it... Very comfortable and a great view! I proposed to my now fiancŽ at Eagles rock, the location was just so beautiful.. We paddled out to a little picnic spot on their dam! It was too perfect an occasion to pass up... Will definitely be back!! The tubing was also amazing... And something we'll definitely remember!! "


"Bike trip"

(South Africa) Keith Mc Dermott | 28 October 2013

"Thank you so much we had a wonderful rest at Eagles Rock!! After such a long ride it was very refreshing and the accommodation and views were superb."


"Very calm and relaxing stay"

(South Africa) shanta vengothasamy | 22 October 2013

"We stayed at Eagles Rock Mountain Retreat for 3 nights over a September weekend. There's about 5 self-catering Chalets on the side of a hill, each with their own spectacular views of the mountains and rivers in front. We also had a up-close view of Giant's Cup. There was no tv, but we made use of th..."

more

"We stayed at Eagles Rock Mountain Retreat for 3 nights over a September weekend. There's about 5 self-catering Chalets on the side of a hill, each with their own spectacular views of the mountains and rivers in front. We also had a up-close view of Giant's Cup. There was no tv, but we made use of the fireplace every night we were there, which was more than entertaining for us. A very hot shower and comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this lodge for any family. Underberg was 5km down the road, so shops and garages were quite close, as well as Sani Pass. Our hosts were more than accommodating. The chalets were cleaned every day and the general surroundings were amazing."


"Amazing"

(South Africa) sivi govender | 16 September 2013

"We were actually based in the twin srings cottage(pigeon), we enjoyed it. It was very cosy and we had a breath taking view. Thanks to the caretaker Joseph and family for giving us assistance wen needed and thanks to the manager Philna for putting up with us. Saunders have a good thing going. Loved i..."

more

"We were actually based in the twin srings cottage(pigeon), we enjoyed it. It was very cosy and we had a breath taking view. Thanks to the caretaker Joseph and family for giving us assistance wen needed and thanks to the manager Philna for putting up with us. Saunders have a good thing going. Loved it."


"Great setting"

(South Africa) Vic Brink | 25 June 2013

"Lovely accommodation on a hill with super views and close to the beautiful Drakensberg Gardens reserve. Peaceful and quiet and cozy with fireplace. "


"Awesome"

(South Africa) karan naicker | 18 June 2013

"Stay was awesome. Enjoyed our time spent in the cottage, home away from home.

Overall rating 8/10.

"


"Log cabin"

(South Africa) GREG VAN RENSBURG | 3 June 2013

"The most relaxing time we've had in a long time. Will be back."


"Wonderful "

(South Africa) Shaun Fireson | 7 April 2013

"For our family retreat and 'sanity check', we decided to try a different type of vacation from our usual Natal South Coast visit during April. We are not at all dissappointed with the decision to visit Eagles' Rock Mountain Retreat. We arrived on the 2nd April 2013 and spent 3 and a half wonderful d..."

more

"For our family retreat and 'sanity check', we decided to try a different type of vacation from our usual Natal South Coast visit during April. We are not at all dissappointed with the decision to visit Eagles' Rock Mountain Retreat. We arrived on the 2nd April 2013 and spent 3 and a half wonderful days relaxing. From canoeing on the dam to a trip up Sani Pass and a hike to the snow topped mountains, visits to the local cheese factory and art galleries topped off with UNO in the evenings and lying under the canopy of stars, we had a truly wonderful experience."


"Perfect weekend!"

(South Africa) Itsaso Crespo | 18 March 2013

"We had a wonderful weekend in Eagles' Rock. The Kestrel cottage was perfect, fantastic views, and very close to the Drakensberg Gardens hiking trails. We would like to go again!"


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Eileen Toich | 2 May 2012

"Welcoming, picture-book views, clean and comfortable accommodation. We loved our stay in 'Fish Eagle' at Eagles' Rock."


"Great stay at Eagles' Rock"

(South Africa) Dawie Botes | 14 March 2012

"We had another great stay at Eagles' Rock. The weather was perfect and Kestrel Cottage was comfortable. Will definately see you again."


"Great stay, lovely area and accommodation!"

(South Africa) Dawie Botes | 14 March 2012

"We had another great stay at Eagles' Rock. The weather was perfect and Kestrel Cottage was comfortable. Will definitely see you again."


"Fantastic"

(United Kingdom) Carole Holliday | 15 February 2012

"Brilliant. Has everything. Peace and quiet. Fantastic scenery and fantastic accommodation. The best. Will recommend to everyone."


"Beautiful "

(South Africa) debbie de wit | 5 December 2011

"Being one of the most reasonable places we could find in the area, we could not believe how beautiful this place was. The view, the cottage and the ambiance were outstanding. Highly recommended."


"Tranquility with a view"

(South Africa) Kathryn Marshall | 3 August 2011

"Went to get there away from it all and was lucky enough to be there when it snowed. Beautiful views. The gas stove and geyser was appreciated in the cold."


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Cindy Suttle | 14 July 2011

"A very enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of the country. It was pretty freezing, though one should expect that in winter and we were able to make log fires at night. Pity there were not electric blankets on all the beds - those of us who had them appreciated them."


"A bona fide retreat"

(South Africa) Carol Salzmann | 10 May 2011

"Comfortable, homely, good accommodation in tranquil setting. Great venue to unwind, relax and enjoy the great outdoors. Fresh air and beauty of nature. Loved the view accross the valley of the river and mountains beyond. River fishing, cheese factory, country restaurants and areas of interest all ne..."

more

"Comfortable, homely, good accommodation in tranquil setting. Great venue to unwind, relax and enjoy the great outdoors. Fresh air and beauty of nature. Loved the view accross the valley of the river and mountains beyond. River fishing, cheese factory, country restaurants and areas of interest all nearby.

Definitely a venue to return to again."


"Good accommodation"

(South Africa) Patrick Corue | 9 February 2011

"If you like to be in the middle the nature, this is the ideal place! Very quiet and great accommodation!!"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) R Keene | 14 January 2011

"Fantastic, if one is going to visit Underberg you need at least two days so that you can participate in the outdoor activities. We will be back!"


"A room with a view"

(South Africa) Erika de Villiers | 2 January 2011

"Eagles' Rock is beautifully situated and an ideal place to stay for a couple of days. The chalets are comfortable and the family and their dogs made us feel at home. The beautiful dam on the property is very tranquil and the river views are great."


"Magnificent scenery"

(South Africa) David Glass | 27 December 2010

"Magnificent scenery, neat outfit, comfortable, spacious, private and tastefully decorated. Friendly service, helpful and available. Activities to keep occupied readily available - tubing, cycling, jogging and amazing drives if weather not that great."


"Peaceful paradise"

(United Kingdom) Lucie Osman | 18 September 2010

"We spent three lovely nights here - location was perfect for walks in garden castle and we were greeted by two very warm and welcoming hosts and their beautiful dogs. Sunsets on the veranda with a beer, log fire inside after dark and breakfast on the veranda again with stunning mountain views. Great..."

more

"We spent three lovely nights here - location was perfect for walks in garden castle and we were greeted by two very warm and welcoming hosts and their beautiful dogs. Sunsets on the veranda with a beer, log fire inside after dark and breakfast on the veranda again with stunning mountain views. Great value for money would highly recommend to anyone looking for a Drakensberg getaway. "


"Relaxed Stay"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 11 July 2010

"We had a lovely relaxed time at Eagle's Rock! "


"Absolutely wonderful"

(South Africa) Emmanuel Samuel | 2 February 2010

"Eagle's Rock Mountain Retreat is definitely a place to unwind, and enjoy with your loved ones.

The place was just as perfect, neat and the people are friendly, makes your stay a remarkable experience.

Let me not forget our host, thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

Emmanuel..."

more

"Eagle's Rock Mountain Retreat is definitely a place to unwind, and enjoy with your loved ones.

The place was just as perfect, neat and the people are friendly, makes your stay a remarkable experience.

Let me not forget our host, thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

Emmanuel & Pearl"


"It is an exquisite little house,!"

(South Africa) Ursula Pretorius | 21 October 2009

" the fireplace gives such an lovely atmosphere! Perfect getaway!!! "


"Beautiful view."

(South Africa) Anonymous | 28 September 2009

"Yes we enjoyed our stay. "


"Real treat"

(South Africa) Mari Van Rensburg | 26 September 2009

"Falcon cottage was a real treat. We can definitely recommend the horse ride at Khotso Horse Trails for a different view of Eagle's Rock. The Sani Pass is a absolute must. We really enjoyed our stay, and will be back sooner rather than later... Mari (SA) & Graham (UK) "


"Eagles' Rock"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 21 September 2009

"Wonderfu.l Great Views comfortable accommodation"


"Loved it!"

(South Africa) Christy McConnell | 1 September 2009

"Our time wasn't long enough. We were only at Eagles Rock for 2 nights but it was truly lovely! Great location and amazing hosts! We will definitely be back. "


"Views are spectacular."

(South Africa) Werner Diedericks | 1 July 2009

"Arrived 26 June 2009 and departed 30 June 2009.

Unit was sparkling clean and neat.

Hospitality of Errol and Barbara made us feel right at home without invading one's privacy.

Lots to see and do... "


"Wonderful Stay"

Linley Southwood | 5 May 2009

"What a wonderful retreat. Very comfortable cottage and lovely early morning views of the river and mountains with the mist hanging low. Well equipped and had everything our holiday needed. Recommend the riding down the road."


"Wonderful place, very tranquil place to unwind"

(South Africa) Che-Kai Yang | 11 December 2008

"The lammergeier log cabin is on top of the hill, with amazing views of the far away mountains on the one side and vast plains with rivers on the other.

The hosts were extremely friendly, always wiling to go the extra mile to help.

There are lots of activities nearby and hiking in the D..."

more

"The lammergeier log cabin is on top of the hill, with amazing views of the far away mountains on the one side and vast plains with rivers on the other.

The hosts were extremely friendly, always wiling to go the extra mile to help.

There are lots of activities nearby and hiking in the Drakensberg gardens was easy, only a short drive away, and the world heritage site and its mountains are very nice, best of all you can see those mountains from the log cabin after you come back.

All in all, its a wonderful experience, and I will definitely suggest anyone there."


"Excellent place to retreat to."

(South Africa) Tracey Bowyer | 9 November 2008

"I was made to feel welcome from the minute I arrived. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to everybody. The views are amazing and get even better when you take a walk along one of the marked trails. The dogs are always eager to go a..."

more

"I was made to feel welcome from the minute I arrived. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to everybody. The views are amazing and get even better when you take a walk along one of the marked trails. The dogs are always eager to go along for a walk and show you the way. The animals make you feel like you're far away from civilisation."


"It was a perfect location! "

(South Africa) Roshni Govender | 27 October 2008

"It was an excellent place to get away from the stresses of daily life. Barbara and Errol were the perfect hosts who were ever willing to help. Will definitely recommend the establishment to others!"


"A Chilly Stay"

(South Africa) Sean Coetzee | 25 September 2008

"On the whole our stay was very good, an unexpected snow storm made the experience quite memorable.

The owner, Errol, phone us a number of times before our arrival to keep us updated on the state of the roads. When we got there he and his son helped clear the driveway of snow so that we could..."

more

"On the whole our stay was very good, an unexpected snow storm made the experience quite memorable.

The owner, Errol, phone us a number of times before our arrival to keep us updated on the state of the roads. When we got there he and his son helped clear the driveway of snow so that we could get our car up. Plenty of wood was supplied in the cottage to keep us warm, however we did find the cottage to be quite chilly in general.

The property itself is very scenic, with lovely views of the mountains and a number of cows and a friendly sheep.

Definitely a place for families, the unit, while clean and functional, is a little on the rustic side. Think gas stove, creaky doors, noisy fridge etc. I would recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a slightly rough around the edges, but friendly place."


"Fantastic View, "

(South Africa) Karin Preston | 11 July 2008

"Very comfortable stay , very convenient location and set up and had all the kitchen appliances to cook up a storm in the kitchen. We will be back."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Alri Hoon | 25 June 2008

"We had lots of fun! and really enjoyed the stay."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Brian Impson | 24 June 2008

"Our stay was cut short due to unforseen circumstances, but the time spent at Eagles Rock was pleasant and a well earned break from the stressful city life that we lead. Would definitely return for a longer visit and make time to enjoy the comforts and relaxation that one needs to unwind, and that is..."

more

"Our stay was cut short due to unforseen circumstances, but the time spent at Eagles Rock was pleasant and a well earned break from the stressful city life that we lead. Would definitely return for a longer visit and make time to enjoy the comforts and relaxation that one needs to unwind, and that is what Eagles Rock most definitely provides.

As Arnold famously said ' I WILL BE BACK .'

Thanks to Errol and Barbara"


"Very good"

(South Africa) Sarel Breedt | 18 June 2008

"The unit itself was very nice and the view is breathtaking."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Knut Normann | 22 May 2008

"Everything that I had expected and more. Went to recharge and this was achieved. It would be difficult to stay in a more beautiful setting at such reasonable rates. "


"Great stay "

(South Africa) Anina Myburgh | 15 May 2008

"Great, Relaxing stay!! Very friendly and warm atmosphere. Loved Maggie the Great Dane."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Yvette Lisher | 13 May 2008

"Fantastic !

Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend, we will definitely be back !!

(Hopefully soon!)"


"Absolutely wonderful, "

(South Africa) Jackie Gray | 9 April 2008

"Fantastic Chalet, very comfortable - and dogs make it all! Will definitely be back!"


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Margret H | 19 March 2008

"Our stay was fantastic, the Kings family was very friendly and the chalet was nice, big and clean and the kitchen fully stocked. Excellent value for money! Probably the best part of the Drakensberg to stay in."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) David Rix | 14 March 2008

"We enjoyed our stay at Eagles Rock Resort, wonderful view from our chalet. "


"Loved every minute"

(South Africa) Candice De Luca | 12 March 2008

"We had a wonderful time and absolutely loved every minute of it, we are sad that it was such a short time but will be back in the near future. Thank you to Errol and Barbara and to Safari."


"Recommended"

(Namibia) Olivia Entin | 15 January 2008

"Very good"


"43383"

(South Africa) Gabrielle Brown | 4 September 2007

"We had a fabulous weekend at Eagle's Rock. Kestrel was very comfortable and cozy. Many thanks to Barbara and Errol for their hospitality."


"Eagle's Rock Retreat"

(South Africa) Joanita Theron | 23 July 2007

"It is just as the name says - a retreat. Errol, Barbara and their grandkids were absolutely wonderful. Very hospitable, helpful and very kind. They made our stay as pleasant as can imagine. Their property is magnificent even in winter. Although it didn't snow during our stay, our trip up Sani P..."

more

"It is just as the name says - a retreat. Errol, Barbara and their grandkids were absolutely wonderful. Very hospitable, helpful and very kind. They made our stay as pleasant as can imagine. Their property is magnificent even in winter. Although it didn't snow during our stay, our trip up Sani Pass enabled us to enjoy some. The cottages are all beautiful and the staff was very efficient and friendly. A true come-apart-and-rest-awhile-haven. Our kids loved it there, being close to nature and being able to interact with the animals. Thank you to the King Family for making this a holiday to remember!"


"Stay at Eagles Rock"

(South Africa) Brendan Beeton | 28 May 2007

"Totally awesome. We also had the privilege of seeing snow which added to our wonderful stay at Eagles Rock. Will definitely be returning."


"Comfortable weekend @ eagles rock"

(South Africa) Dennis Tucker | 14 April 2007

"En route to Lesotho via Sani spent two nights at Eagles Rock - very comfortable - self catered and all amenities were present. Enjoyed pleasant dinner at Moorcroft Manor between Underberg and Himeville with excellent quisine on recommendation of Eagles Rock (occassion being daughters 21st bithday)."


"Great stay!!"

(South Africa) Dawie Botes | 10 April 2007

"Been here for a view days as part of my honeymoon, and we enjoyed it a lot! Very friendly service, always with a smile, even though we arrived quite a bit late ... :)

We were even treated to a special show by nature when the swallows decided to migrate. Great views.

PS. We eventually..."

more

"Been here for a view days as part of my honeymoon, and we enjoyed it a lot! Very friendly service, always with a smile, even though we arrived quite a bit late ... :)

We were even treated to a special show by nature when the swallows decided to migrate. Great views.

PS. We eventually found the earring in the car. Thanks for the help looking for it."


"Fabulous!"

(South Africa) Carien Pienaar | 12 February 2007

"What a wonderful venue and special hosts! The tubing was great fun. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again. Preferably 5 days in winter so that we can enjoy the fireplace and do some reading."


"Way cool!"

(South Africa) Mic | 16 January 2007

"We had a very lekker stay at Eagle's Rock! Pleasant, peaceful...warm, friendly hosts who were very helpful...stunning surrounds...very homely...what more could you ask for!"


"Great Time"

Anonymous | 8 January 2007

"Had a great time - the staff are always willing to help and give advise on the area - Great time "


"Fantastic Stay"

(South Africa) David Saunders | 18 October 2006

"We had 3 beautiful days at Eagles Rock. Errol and Barbara and their grand kids were fantastic and made us feel so welcome. Even the dogs make you feel welcome and follow you where ever you go. It was the right place for us just to chill out, relax and enjoy the views and everything around there. Wou..."

more

"We had 3 beautiful days at Eagles Rock. Errol and Barbara and their grand kids were fantastic and made us feel so welcome. Even the dogs make you feel welcome and follow you where ever you go. It was the right place for us just to chill out, relax and enjoy the views and everything around there. Would recommend it to anyone. A very big thank you to the whole King family, they helped us find something we have always been looking for."


"Eagle's Rock Feedback"

(South Africa) Cilet van der Merwe | 23 August 2006

"Had a wonderful stay the past weekend, stunning location and views and conveniently close to Underberg and Himeville. Accomodation was great, especially the fireplace! The short walking trails were also very nice. Absolutely no complaints! Well done Errol and Barbara."


"Wonderful"

(United Kingdom) Bernice Gregory | 5 August 2006

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Eagles Rock

Accommodation was very comfortable - the views fantastic and the host very helpful."


"Eagle Rock Mountain Retreat review"

(South Africa) Ryan Kendal | 18 April 2006

"We really enjoyed our stay in the Lamergeier log cabin. Thank you Errol and Co. We definitely want to come back."


"Great"

Kevin & Nadine | 31 March 2006

"Our stay at Eagle,s Rock was great. The welcome from Erol and Barbara was warm and friendly. The atmosphere at Eagle's Rock was exactly what we needed. I would happily recomend it to anyone who wants to get away from it all.



Eagle's Rock was definitely worth every penny spent and mor..."

more

"Our stay at Eagle,s Rock was great. The welcome from Erol and Barbara was warm and friendly. The atmosphere at Eagle's Rock was exactly what we needed. I would happily recomend it to anyone who wants to get away from it all.



Eagle's Rock was definitely worth every penny spent and more. We were amazed that we got to stay at such a beautiful place that did not cost us an arm and a leg. The value for money there gets a definate 10/10.



Thank you for an extremely efficient web site! We will definately remember SafariNow.com as our prefered way of booking any holiday that we go on in the future.



In todays society companies put very little value in the service they provide to their clients. SafariNow.com has proven that good service does still exist! (It' just rare!). We will be sure to recomend you to everyone with confidence!



Thank you for turning what would be a mission to book our break into a walk in the park.

"


"Above Expectation"

Stegman Bakkes | 30 March 2006

"á Overall Experience Ð Above expectation

á Value for Money - Fair

á SafariNow.com reservations service - Found it quite efficient.

"


"Top of the 'rocks'!!"

(United Kingdom) Jason Schroeder | 10 March 2006

"Fantastic....your description of the place was perfect and it all was as described. Beautiful views, sunsets etc. The trip to Sani Pass that you suggested was awsome...the third highest pass in the world. Fantastic day with Johan from bundu who is a birder and great guy. My son loved all the dogs an..."

more

"Fantastic....your description of the place was perfect and it all was as described. Beautiful views, sunsets etc. The trip to Sani Pass that you suggested was awsome...the third highest pass in the world. Fantastic day with Johan from bundu who is a birder and great guy. My son loved all the dogs and wanted to take Maggi the Great Dane home with us :) So glad I found this place and will be going back and telling my friends and family about it."


"Eagles' Rock"

(South Africa) Marie van der Merwe | 20 February 2006

"We enjoyed it thoroughly!!

Erol and Barbara are lovely people.

very tidy"


"Stay at Eagles Rock"

(South Africa) Anolynne Eastman | 15 December 2005

"We really enjoyed our time at Eagles Rock. The owners were very helpful and warm. "


"Monye Well Spent"

Suchitra | 6 December 2005

"We thoroughly enjoyed our aty at The Eagle's Rock Retreat. Barbara & Errol were extremely warm & friendly. The place is absolutely beautiful and i will definitely go back there again.

I think it was money well spent."


"Eagles Rock"

(South Africa) Cheryl King | 7 November 2005

"We were very warmly welcomed by the King family and their delightful dogs. Loved the view from the deck. We all felt the chalet needed a jolly good clean all round. We did have a complaint which was handled very fairly and I appreciated it very much. Will I go back? Yes"


"Lovely place in the Drakensberg hills"

(Sweden) Fredrik Lindberg | 2 September 2005

"Lovely scenery. An extremely serene place. Great breakfast. Kestrel Cottage very cosy - the fireplace helped keep the winter night nice and warm. The Sani Pass tour is a must! Recommended!"


"EAGLES ROCK REVIEW "

(South Africa) Kathy McHarg | 10 August 2005

"IT WAS A GET AWAY FOR HUBBY AND MYSELF AWAY FROM KIDS AND WORK.

WE HAD A REALLY RELAXING TIME AND ENJOYED ONLY WAKING UP TO THE SOUNDS OF THE BIRDS !!

BUT THEY MUST NOT BUILD ANY MORE COTTAGES THERE IT IS GETTING TO FULL AND LOOSING SOME PRIVACY.

ALL ROUND A FANTASTIC STAY ( WEA..."

more

"IT WAS A GET AWAY FOR HUBBY AND MYSELF AWAY FROM KIDS AND WORK.

WE HAD A REALLY RELAXING TIME AND ENJOYED ONLY WAKING UP TO THE SOUNDS OF THE BIRDS !!

BUT THEY MUST NOT BUILD ANY MORE COTTAGES THERE IT IS GETTING TO FULL AND LOOSING SOME PRIVACY.

ALL ROUND A FANTASTIC STAY ( WEATHER COULD HAVE BEEN COLDER !!!!! )"


"Eagles' Rock"

(South Africa) RenŽ Gower | 20 June 2005

"It was great, just wished it snowed!

The 4x4 trip up Sani pass was wonderfull! We enjoyed every day of our stay!"


"Eagle's rock"

(South Africa) sagren | 8 January 2018

"My stay at Eagles Rock Mountain retreat was very memorable. The large cottage catered well for our big group. The views are stunning, as well as the thunderstorms. Enjoyed a day at the dam as well. Direct driveway access to the cottage would have been preferred. "


"A great time in the Mountains"

(South Africa) Leonard | 27 November 2017

"We had an awesome weekend in Underberg, we were there for the Sani Stagger Race. Our accomodation was great value for money, although it was cold on Saturday the place had a fire place so that kept us warm. This is a great place to be away from busy life of a city and connect with nature."


"Magical getaway "

(South Africa) Karien | 4 September 2017

"It was amazing staying here, the scenery and accommodation was so magical. It honestly felt like we were in another world! I would highly recommend a visit. "


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 July 2017

"This was different to the type of place you would normally stay at. Felt welcomed from time of arrival. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The place was spotlessly clean. The room was warm and cosy. Food was nice. The service was great. The tranquillity was such a relief, to be able to just..."

more

"This was different to the type of place you would normally stay at. Felt welcomed from time of arrival. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The place was spotlessly clean. The room was warm and cosy. Food was nice. The service was great. The tranquillity was such a relief, to be able to just relax. I will really like to come back to stay for longer and I have already recommended to others. "


"Absolutely Fantastic Weekend Away"

(South Africa) Warwick | 6 July 2017

"I loved the fact that the place is secluded and that I had the most spectacular views from my cottage. The fire place was awesome and staff went out of their way to assist me. It was a great value for money and I’m definitely going back."


"beautiul place"

(South Africa) HUIJIE | 7 January 2016

"It was a nice stay and beautiful place and quiet."


"Awesome Accomodation"

(South Africa) Bentley | 31 December 2015

"My stay at this establishment was extremely accommodating. Everything was perfect. I would highly recommend to family and friends that are looking for a beautiful getaway. I will definitely re-visit if I ever get free time again!"


"Magnificant Views and Friendly Hospitality at Eagles Rock Mountain Retreat"

(South Africa) Tamsyn | 8 October 2015

"Eagles Rock Mountain Retreat based in Drakensburg Gardens Road, Underberg, is a lovely, relaxing place to go and visit.

The wonderful views of the surrounding hills and farm land offer a visitor a rare sighting of the bearded vulture, jackal buzzard and other birds of prey.

We fou..."

more

"Eagles Rock Mountain Retreat based in Drakensburg Gardens Road, Underberg, is a lovely, relaxing place to go and visit.

The wonderful views of the surrounding hills and farm land offer a visitor a rare sighting of the bearded vulture, jackal buzzard and other birds of prey.

We found the owners to be very accommodating and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure that we had a comfortable and pleasant stay.

As the retreat is small it makes it a more comfortable, quiet, intimate and relaxing stay versus being at a larger retreat with a lot of cottages.

The dam area has been expanded to include a braai facility, there is nothing more calming than having a braai by a dam surrounded by Oak trees and water. We hope to see more improvements to this area on our return.

I highly recommend Eagles Rock Mountain Retreat if you are looking for peace, quiet and to get away from the crowds."


"Escaping into tranquility"

(South Africa) Mr Dube | 11 September 2014

"I had a wonderful birthday weekend, it was peaceful and revitalizing, surrounded by nothing but pure nature. We are definitely going to visit again in November and I've already recommended the place to my friends.

TO THE OWNERS AND THE STAFF: KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!! Thanks for the picnic ..."

more

"I had a wonderful birthday weekend, it was peaceful and revitalizing, surrounded by nothing but pure nature. We are definitely going to visit again in November and I've already recommended the place to my friends.

TO THE OWNERS AND THE STAFF: KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!! Thanks for the picnic basket, it was really a surprise to me."


"Review Eagle's Rock Mountain Retreat"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 August 2014

"A pleasant one-night stay. Owners are accommodating as is the cat. Definitely would return. "


"Overnight stay"

(South Africa) Graeme Cape Town | 31 July 2014

"Warm welcoming hosts. Falcon was a very well equipped and comfortable unit with wonderful views. Highly recommended."


"Perfect for our 18th anniversary getaway"

(South Africa) Julie & Peter, Durban | 7 July 2014

"Beautiful views & an all round cozy and comfortable stay. Falcon cottage suited us perfectly (we would love to duplicate it in our back yard at home!) and the fireplace was great! We enjoyed the company of the little dogs, too.
After hearing about the tube rides on the river, we definitely look..."

more

"Beautiful views & an all round cozy and comfortable stay. Falcon cottage suited us perfectly (we would love to duplicate it in our back yard at home!) and the fireplace was great! We enjoyed the company of the little dogs, too.
After hearing about the tube rides on the river, we definitely look forward to a summer visit next time. "


"Good stay at Eagles' Rock Mountain Retreat"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 May 2014

"I enjoyed my stay here and will be back for another. Thanks to Rooms For Africa for the easy booking process. "


"Great time in the Underberg"

(South Africa) Mr Wolmarans | 19 May 2014

"We arrived late coming in from Johannesburg. We were phoned to see if we were alright at around 6pm as it was getting dark and the road is dangerous as far as trucks and cattle go. We arrived to a warm welcome and were quickly settled in to our cottage. The great thing about getting there in the dar..."

more

"We arrived late coming in from Johannesburg. We were phoned to see if we were alright at around 6pm as it was getting dark and the road is dangerous as far as trucks and cattle go. We arrived to a warm welcome and were quickly settled in to our cottage. The great thing about getting there in the dark was that we woke up to an unbelievable view of the valley. Philna and Bob were great hosts and very knowledgeable of the area, which always made it easier to navigate around the area, knowing which roads to use or not to use. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. We truly had a great weekend at Eagles rock and will definitely be returning with the whole family."


"Eagles' Rock Mountain Retreat"

(South Africa) Mrs Black | 31 March 2014

"Thank you for a wonderful stay. I will make use of it again and recommend to others."


"A very cozy cottage with beautiful views on the Drakensberg Mountains"

(South Africa) Mrs van der Walt | 6 May 2013

"A very cozy cottage with beautiful views on the Drakensberg Mountains. It is very reasonable for the money you pay. Very easy to “switch off and recuperate.” Mountain bike friendly with lots of single tracks on the property."


"Beautiful Getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs Ramsuchit | 25 February 2013

"Eagles Rock was a very beautiful getaway from the hustle bustle of everyday life. Breathtaking views, great housekeeping and very comfortable. A home away from home. Very friendly owners who are very helpful. Have already started recommending to them to my friends!"


"Relaxing!!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 December 2012

"A beautiful cottage, with loads of potential. Beautiful place and surrounds and owners very friendly."


"Great getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs Mansfield | 13 January 2012

"We really enjoyed our stay at Eagles' Rock in Dec 2011. The accommodation was clean and well maintained with beautiful views and surroundings. The only extra we could have wished for is airconditioning but otherwise it was great and really affordable.

Many thanks to our gracious hosts."


"Eagles' Rock Mountain Retreat"

(South Africa) Mr Venter | 23 November 2011

"The Eagles' Rock has been one of the most peaceful retreats we have been on, we will definitely visit again - next time for longer. "


"Falcon Cottage at Eagles Rock"

(South Africa) Ms Bradfield | 21 September 2011

"Absolutely amazing! The place, the mountains, the spectacular view, the eagles flying in the sky so high, we just loved it all! So peaceful as well.

The people were friendly and the cottage is well looked after and has everything that anyone could need for a stay there. The well behaved dog..."

more

"Absolutely amazing! The place, the mountains, the spectacular view, the eagles flying in the sky so high, we just loved it all! So peaceful as well.

The people were friendly and the cottage is well looked after and has everything that anyone could need for a stay there. The well behaved dogs were lovely and just made everything perfect!

Thank you so much for providing such lovely places in such perfect surroundings for people to rest and renew themselves."


"Eagles Rock, Southern Drakensberg"

(South Africa) Mrs Oosthuysen | 22 August 2011

"If you are looking for peace and quiet (soul food) this is the place to be.

Cottages are essentially equipped and comfortable. The owners are nice people, very accommodating and friendly.

Affordably priced and only 25km to the Drakensberg Gardens Hotel, Horse Riding facilities, a..."

more

"If you are looking for peace and quiet (soul food) this is the place to be.

Cottages are essentially equipped and comfortable. The owners are nice people, very accommodating and friendly.

Affordably priced and only 25km to the Drakensberg Gardens Hotel, Horse Riding facilities, a Cheesery nearby and close to a lovely place to stop for breakfast or lunch (Duck and Doolittle) which has a small animal farm and gift shop on the premises.

We had a wonderful weekend."


"Visit to Drakensberg"

(Netherlands) Mr Boelsma | 20 January 2011

"We booked online and had a quick response and a pleasant stay at Eagles' Rock.

Good hospitality and information, beautiful views and a lovely dog who showed us around on the walking track."


"October getaway"

(South Africa) Ms Lord | 25 October 2010

"Cottage was lovely. View was fantastic. Other than that everything was great!"


"Peace and Tranquility."

(South Africa) Mrs van Deventer | 7 April 2010

"We arrived on a Saturday afternoon at Eagle Rock Mountain Retreat nearby Underberg. The moment we climbed out of the car peace surrounded us. We stayed in Jackal Buzzard Cottage and everything made us feel like we were home. Everything you need for a short stay is there and the whole house is qui..."

more

"We arrived on a Saturday afternoon at Eagle Rock Mountain Retreat nearby Underberg. The moment we climbed out of the car peace surrounded us. We stayed in Jackal Buzzard Cottage and everything made us feel like we were home. Everything you need for a short stay is there and the whole house is quite comfortable. (Lucky we were young enough to climb the stairs for the upstairs room). The climb is more than worth it, for the room has a 360 ° view of the most beautiful landscape. I could really rest there and slept like a baby. The bed is comfortable with bed lamps for reading, nice cupboards etc. The bathroom was always clean and comfortable, (the cleaning ladies were a welcome surprise every morning)! The tranquility of the surroundings really made us feel rested and revived. The gardens are beautiful and make one feel welcome. The owner’s are very nice people, who were always available for any questions and service. We will definitely stay there again!"


"One of Gods most beautiful and magical creation"

(South Africa) Mrs Hollander | 6 January 2010

"Wow, what a magical place it is. When you sit in that little house and open your eyes to that amazing, wonderful place, it is only fair to close your eyes and thank the Lord for creating a beautiful place where there is only peace to be found, what a creator he must be. It is only there when you rea..."

more

"Wow, what a magical place it is. When you sit in that little house and open your eyes to that amazing, wonderful place, it is only fair to close your eyes and thank the Lord for creating a beautiful place where there is only peace to be found, what a creator he must be. It is only there when you realise, money and earthly things are not important but family and most importantly LOVE, is the best thing in the world, yes LOVE what a magical feeling that is, to love and to be loved. Thank you Eagle’s Rock."


"Stoffel"

(South Africa) Mr vann der merwe | 19 October 2009

"Very nice stay in beautiful surroundings. Will stay longer next time"


"Eagles' Rock"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 March 2009

"The owners, Errol and Barbara, were very friendly. The cottage was clean and neat, with the kitchen adequately equipped. The second bedroom was a bit cramped, and had no bedside table facility on one side. The setting was absolutely beautiful, and it was close to many southern Berg attractions. The..."

more

"The owners, Errol and Barbara, were very friendly. The cottage was clean and neat, with the kitchen adequately equipped. The second bedroom was a bit cramped, and had no bedside table facility on one side. The setting was absolutely beautiful, and it was close to many southern Berg attractions. There were lovely walks on the property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay."


"The most relaxing, beautiful and peaceful stay ever"

(South Africa) Mr Nell | 8 September 2008

"Our honeymoon started off in a tent. All amenities included, but a tent none the less. After a 12 hour drive from the Limpopo, we were surprised to find a lovely note, a pot of flowers, and a heater awaiting our weary bones. Our hosts made us feel comfortable and well looked after, even sparing the ..."

more

"Our honeymoon started off in a tent. All amenities included, but a tent none the less. After a 12 hour drive from the Limpopo, we were surprised to find a lovely note, a pot of flowers, and a heater awaiting our weary bones. Our hosts made us feel comfortable and well looked after, even sparing the time to give my new wife and me some fly fishing lessons.

I will never forget the sunsets across the Valley. I will never forget the mist in the chilly mornings. The dogs; Maggie and Alex; will always be with us, the hospitality of our hosts, you are amazing.

Please keep it up; we will return with the family!
Nadea and Andre Nell"


"EAGLE'S ROCK ROCKS!!"

(South Africa) Marina Stigter | 18 February 2008

"We had such a great time at Eagle's Rock. The cottage was cosy and had a great view. One could not help feeling uplifted, healthy and at peace. The owners are friendly and full of good advice. The Mountain Retreat was situated so central to most attractions: Underberg, Garden Castle Resort, Shops, e..."

more

"We had such a great time at Eagle's Rock. The cottage was cosy and had a great view. One could not help feeling uplifted, healthy and at peace. The owners are friendly and full of good advice. The Mountain Retreat was situated so central to most attractions: Underberg, Garden Castle Resort, Shops, etc. I'd definitely make it my regular Southern Drakensberg Destination!"


"Eagle Rock deserves more time"

(Canada) Mr Shelford | 18 October 2007

"We only had one night to spend at Eagle Rock. It was not enough. This delightful retreat has a magnificent view and the self catering cabin is charming, well equipped and comfortable. The owners are delightful people and very helpful. We will definitely plan on a week at Eagle Rock next time we ..."

more

"We only had one night to spend at Eagle Rock. It was not enough. This delightful retreat has a magnificent view and the self catering cabin is charming, well equipped and comfortable. The owners are delightful people and very helpful. We will definitely plan on a week at Eagle Rock next time we have a chance to visit the Drakensbergs."


"Eagles' Rock"

(South Africa) Mrs Lola Prins | 25 September 2007

"Eagles Rock, with view of the berg, is spectacular. The cottages are beautifully set up and breakfast is to die for. The hosts’ hospitality far surpasses any I've seen before. If you're looking for peace and tranquility this is the place to visit. I will definitely be recommending it to everybod..."

more

"Eagles Rock, with view of the berg, is spectacular. The cottages are beautifully set up and breakfast is to die for. The hosts’ hospitality far surpasses any I've seen before. If you're looking for peace and tranquility this is the place to visit. I will definitely be recommending it to everybody who is looking for a relaxing holiday. Stunning!"