Reviews of Pafuri Rivercamp


"Nice break-away"

Alta Smit | 12 February 2018

"Comfortable and clean accommodation. Guided birding walk was worth every cent."


"Tranquility at its best!"

Dawie Rotteveel | 11 December 2017

"The accommodation was neat and clean. Cash is not easily available in the area, so make sure that you take cash along if you plan on using the restaurant or the bar during your stay. Though the lunch menu is limited, the food was excellent!"


"Break away from busy life"

Victor Nyalungu | 4 September 2017

"Very good environment to experience nature, night with the sound of frogs n waking up hearing birds singing to mark the begining of new day.

A nice place to be with friends and family."


"Excilent stay"

Corine van der Merwe | 13 August 2017

"Warm weather birds bush atmosfere"


"The food. "

Marietjie Harris | 20 June 2017

"Managment was very friendly and well informed. "


"The bush and river front."

Sophia Hugo | 8 June 2017

"Fly catcher ,photo not on internet,
very secluded and much bigger bedroom.
Leadwood and Sausage steps steep.( so not for even slightly disabled think should let guests know.)"


"Stunning!"

Wassily Nemitz | 9 April 2017

"It was my third stay at Pafuri River Camp and once again it was amazing. This place is one of the nicest I have seen in South Africa so far. I will definitely come back again!"


"Time to unplug"

(South Africa) Happy Huhlwane | 17 January 2017

"A place to unwind and experience the nature at its rugged best. No technology to destruct you. We slept through the sound of mother nature herself - bush-baby cries, cow-bell rings, frogs, crickets and cicadas. A close encounter with Parabuthus granulatus (black scopion) and a rock monitor. Oh not t..."

more

"A place to unwind and experience the nature at its rugged best. No technology to destruct you. We slept through the sound of mother nature herself - bush-baby cries, cow-bell rings, frogs, crickets and cicadas. A close encounter with Parabuthus granulatus (black scopion) and a rock monitor. Oh not to forget the wonderful night sky!!!"


"Accommodation December"

(South Africa) Wisani Rihlampfu | 4 January 2017

"Our stay was great really enjoyed it and the staff was very helpful."


"Great!"

(Germany) Wassily Nemitz | 24 September 2016

"It was my second time at Pafuri Rivercamp and once again I was excited. The place is well maintained and you really feel like staying in the nature. Good service, friendly staff and clean facilities. They also offer a bar for cold drinks in the evenings. I would definetely come again! The only thing..."

more

"It was my second time at Pafuri Rivercamp and once again I was excited. The place is well maintained and you really feel like staying in the nature. Good service, friendly staff and clean facilities. They also offer a bar for cold drinks in the evenings. I would definetely come again! The only thing which is really bad is the road from the public road to the camp, full of stones and hard to use for a Polo Hatchback - someone should be done here..."


"'"

(South Africa) Andre de Lange | 7 August 2015

"very friendly and helpful staff, awsome to see the fireflies and hear the bushbabies at night.
"


"wonderful stay at Pafuri rivercamp"

(South Africa) Sarita Sehgal | 22 July 2015

"We were 2 families and really enjoyed our stay at Pafuri. The tents are clean and spacious enough, the kitchen is extremely well equipped and the fridge and stove work well, the showers are hot and good and the atmosphere being in the bush but having all the conveniences you need is just great. The ..."

more

"We were 2 families and really enjoyed our stay at Pafuri. The tents are clean and spacious enough, the kitchen is extremely well equipped and the fridge and stove work well, the showers are hot and good and the atmosphere being in the bush but having all the conveniences you need is just great. The service of all the staff, and especially Robert, is very professional and friendly. The walk along the river was lovely and the siting of a spotted genet wandering on our camp while sitting by the fire was very special. Thank you and well done.
"


"Tranquility..."

(South Africa) jean Naude | 18 June 2015

"We spentthree days in absolute tranquillity...away from the hustle and bustle of life in Johannesburg...with no electricitywe had to resort to sitting around a campfire telling stories for entertainment...the sky was littered with stars brighter than I have ever experienced! Hats off to Koos and his..."

more

"We spentthree days in absolute tranquillity...away from the hustle and bustle of life in Johannesburg...with no electricitywe had to resort to sitting around a campfire telling stories for entertainment...the sky was littered with stars brighter than I have ever experienced! Hats off to Koos and his Team - we will be back...."


"Amazing"

(Germany) Wassily Nemitz | 24 March 2015

"This was one of the most amazing stays we ever had. The tree-house was just beautiful and the whole site romantic and very nice at all and even clean and save. The staff, especially Robert, was so friendly and kind. This is truly recommendable. The only thing we didn't like was the street from Parfu..."

more

"This was one of the most amazing stays we ever had. The tree-house was just beautiful and the whole site romantic and very nice at all and even clean and save. The staff, especially Robert, was so friendly and kind. This is truly recommendable. The only thing we didn't like was the street from Parfuri Gate to the Camp which was difficult to use for a sedan vehicle without damaging it. But that did not destroy the positive experience at all."


"Back to basics with everything you need!"

(England) Valerie Stringer | 19 October 2014

"Great hosts, great company, great food and a comfy bed. No electricity and a tent on stilts in the trees on a level with the Vervet Monkeys makes for a truly great experience. Not to be missed!"


"Great Experience"

(Australia) Anna-Marie Harding | 22 September 2014

"Pafuri Rivercamp was a lovely hideaway. If you can handle not having electricity then this place is more than worth a visit. The tree houses are brilliant and more than comfortable and the working toilets and showers don't hurt either! The pool and bar area is brilliant and the chef makes a superb 3..."

more

"Pafuri Rivercamp was a lovely hideaway. If you can handle not having electricity then this place is more than worth a visit. The tree houses are brilliant and more than comfortable and the working toilets and showers don't hurt either! The pool and bar area is brilliant and the chef makes a superb 3 course dinner. Would definitely recommend! "


"Overnight stay @ Pafuri Rivercamp"

(South Africa) Louis Pretorius | 28 June 2014

"What an awesome place.I really enjoyed it there - everything perfectly clean and well prepared. The hosts just make the camp - loved them there!"


"'"

(South Africa) Shaugn Osler | 5 May 2014

"I had an enjoyable stay at Pafuri River Camp and will stay there again when in the area. I arrived at last light but will arrive earlier in the afternoon to enjoy the camp and its surrounds for longer."


"Nice night"

(South Africa) Paul Daniel | 17 February 2014

"Was only a one night stop so not much to report, was raining very hard as well. Enjoyed the accommodation, rustic and not for those looking for a light switch or mobile reception. Great little pub and ok food."


"Wondeful Hospitality"

(South Africa) Di Robinson | 16 August 2013

"Corrie and Colleen where great hosts.

They went the extra mile for our daughter's marriage wows.

I would recommend this venue to anyone."


"Nice"

(Germany) Michael Bunse | 4 June 2013

"Nice to be out at fresh air, right around the Pafuri Camp. Great Animal sightings at night like Gennet and Bushbaby."


"Pafuri River Camp"

(South Africa) Attie Le Roux | 8 April 2013

"A very rustic camp that is such a wonderfull break away from the hustle and bustle of the big city life.

Martin and Elle is such wonderful hosts and is a real inspiration for young people to take on a life of seclution out in a area with very little ameanaties and luxuries.

Chef Robert..."

more

"A very rustic camp that is such a wonderfull break away from the hustle and bustle of the big city life.

Martin and Elle is such wonderful hosts and is a real inspiration for young people to take on a life of seclution out in a area with very little ameanaties and luxuries.

Chef Robert is the best that their ease and prepared the most wonderful meals, he is a true asset to the camp."


"Pure Africa"

(South Africa) | 4 January 2013

"We had a wonderful stay at Pafuri. Our four teens loved the treehouses although the mattresses could be a bit thicker. The adults in our group thought the setting, swimming pool, boma and evening meals excellent. We all enjoyed the magic of a true bush experience with no electricity. A true escape. ..."

more

"We had a wonderful stay at Pafuri. Our four teens loved the treehouses although the mattresses could be a bit thicker. The adults in our group thought the setting, swimming pool, boma and evening meals excellent. We all enjoyed the magic of a true bush experience with no electricity. A true escape. Visiting the northern most part of the Kruger Park meant we saw baobabs, leopard, nyala buck and few other cars. Our group of eight all thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Charmaine Grove | 17 April 2012

"Yes, we had a wonderful stay at Pafuri Rivercamp. Nightjar was wonderul to stay at. Nothing missing, nothing wrong. Would highly recommend it and will definately stay again! Was the perfect getaway. Thanks to friendly staff, Vaughn, Sandy, Mike and Lynn."


"Nice"

(South Africa) louw keyser | 1 February 2012

"It was very nice!"


"French family"

(South Africa) Pascale Capuran | 24 August 2011

"We really enjoyed our stay at Pafuri. Our 7-year old son in particular. The tents are well equipped and we had everything necessary, except food. Self-catering is not that common in France so we didn't expect it. We also didn't realise the tents were quite isolated. It was not a problem but some pe..."

more

"We really enjoyed our stay at Pafuri. Our 7-year old son in particular. The tents are well equipped and we had everything necessary, except food. Self-catering is not that common in France so we didn't expect it. We also didn't realise the tents were quite isolated. It was not a problem but some people may not like that. The whole experience was very pleasant and the songs we heard in the morning a nice surprise!"


"A special experience"

(Netherlands) stef Schliekelmann | 20 August 2011

"Situated near the gate. 4 km from the tar road. These 4 km are not easy. You need a car with a rather high clearance. Mike and Lin are nice hosts. Tents are equipped with a bush shower. You will get used to it. No telephone. No electicity in your tent. You sleep in the middle of nowhere. A lot of el..."

more

"Situated near the gate. 4 km from the tar road. These 4 km are not easy. You need a car with a rather high clearance. Mike and Lin are nice hosts. Tents are equipped with a bush shower. You will get used to it. No telephone. No electicity in your tent. You sleep in the middle of nowhere. A lot of elephants in the north of Kruger."


"Great"

(South Africa) Priscilla Petersen | 6 July 2011

"Great experience, I loved it. "


"Thanks for your hospitality"

(Angola) John Matthews | 8 May 2011

"Great place to stay. We were well looked after by the team and it is a lovely setting. If we knew that each tree house had a fully equipped kitchen we would have cooked our own supper."


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) Kevin Fourie | 4 January 2011

"Rustic and secluded the Rivercamp most certainly is! Private, peaceful & tranquil too. The safari tents we stayed in were clean & comfortable, their location overlooking the river was beautiful. Wilma & John were friendly and very helpful. Thank-you for a wonderful experience."


"Pafuri River Camp"

(South Africa) Peter Gordon Grant | 28 June 2010

"Fantastic thanks will be back."


"Peaceful days"

(South Africa) tharina Drinkwater | 5 May 2010

"Spent four excellent peaceful days at Pafuri River Camp during first four days of May.

Mild Weather, tasteful food and most interesting presentation of astronomy by Kos.

Thank you we enjoyed every minute."


"Very comfortable."

(South Africa) Marli Esterhuizen | 11 April 2010

"It was a wonderful experience although very short. Very comfortable. We will return"


"We had the best time! "

(South Africa) Rose | 31 December 2009

"What a beautiful spot - accommodation was so different and such fun - kitchen well stocked, lovely shower- good loo - our

Xmas dinner was very special with an amazing choice - what chefs!! Thank you so much Sandy and Vaughan and Pat and the cordon bleu chef/game ranger/Mark and his fellow ..."

more

"What a beautiful spot - accommodation was so different and such fun - kitchen well stocked, lovely shower- good loo - our

Xmas dinner was very special with an amazing choice - what chefs!! Thank you so much Sandy and Vaughan and Pat and the cordon bleu chef/game ranger/Mark and his fellow chef. We'll be back! Rose and Dave lupton-Smith and Beryl Lansdown and Dawn Kenny "


"Great Fun"

(United Kingdom) Edward Geddes | 1 October 2009

"We did not have time for any of the activities as we had only booked one night

but we will remember our night in the safari tent for a long time. Don`t be put off by the thought of roughing - it, we are into our fifties and found it to be great fun.

We will make sure that we allow more..."

more

"We did not have time for any of the activities as we had only booked one night

but we will remember our night in the safari tent for a long time. Don`t be put off by the thought of roughing - it, we are into our fifties and found it to be great fun.

We will make sure that we allow more time next time."


"Pafuri River Lodge"

(South Africa) Brett Austin | 28 September 2009

"What a wonderful environment, the accommodation was neat and tidy, service was brilliant, and the stay as a whole was fantastic. Travelled through to Kruger daily, saw loads of animals, wonderful lion sightings at Pafuri bridge, not overcrowded and busy like south."


"Our memorial day"

(South Africa) Tsuyoshi Shimbo | 15 July 2009

"It was exceptional experience we had. especially children asking me when we will go back to top tree house next time. People were very friendly and kindness and food they made was tasty. The sound from forest and river was impressed. I am definitely see you again and will stay few more days. Thank y..."

more

"It was exceptional experience we had. especially children asking me when we will go back to top tree house next time. People were very friendly and kindness and food they made was tasty. The sound from forest and river was impressed. I am definitely see you again and will stay few more days. Thank you."


"Awesome"

Clinton McCutcheon | 17 November 2008

"The camp is really not for everybody, however those people in the world who are not stuck up and enjoy the real bush life experience, Pafuri river camp is the place to visit. It's really rustic with it's paraffin lamps and outside showers. I would visit there any time as i found the place to be awes..."

more

"The camp is really not for everybody, however those people in the world who are not stuck up and enjoy the real bush life experience, Pafuri river camp is the place to visit. It's really rustic with it's paraffin lamps and outside showers. I would visit there any time as i found the place to be awesome."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Salomie Labuschagne | 27 October 2008

"Absolutely stunning"


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Jacques Fouche | 27 June 2008

"Very, very nice"


"Wonderful"

(Germany) Claudia Schmidt | 31 August 2007

"We would just like to thank Dave and Karen for our wonderful stay at their camp.

We booked into Nyala Camp and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the camp, their hospitality and their great stories.

Thanks once more and we hope to visit you again!

Claudia, Constanze & Micha..."

more

"We would just like to thank Dave and Karen for our wonderful stay at their camp.

We booked into Nyala Camp and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the camp, their hospitality and their great stories.

Thanks once more and we hope to visit you again!

Claudia, Constanze & Michael "


"Saw tons of wildlife "

Anonymous | 17 July 2007

"Wonderful site, so relaxing. Hosts incredibly helpful. We are very glad we stayed up in the North of Kruger away from the crazy crowds of the south. We saw tons of wildlife (including lion and leopard and great birdwatching on the Luvuvhu), and had peace and quiet to ourselves at night. Very sat..."

more

"Wonderful site, so relaxing. Hosts incredibly helpful. We are very glad we stayed up in the North of Kruger away from the crazy crowds of the south. We saw tons of wildlife (including lion and leopard and great birdwatching on the Luvuvhu), and had peace and quiet to ourselves at night. Very satisfied. Loved the tented accommodations, too."


"Fantastic place to just switch off"

(South Africa) Lana Axelrod | 11 April 2007

"We had a wonderful time. The outdoor shower was the best shower I've ever had. Dave and his wife were very friendly and made you feel

very at home. The accomodation is rustic but just adds to the experience. Bush pub and pool deck were also wonderful. Will definitely be back."


"Switch off"

(South Africa) Elsa Perold | 25 August 2006

"Ons het dit baie geniet, veral die rustigheid! Geen elektrisiteit, voertuie of te veel mense nie, net die natuur."


"Pafuri Rivercamp"

(South Africa) nick newman | 2 May 2006

"Enjoyed our stay at the lodge and look forward to staying in the new lodge being constructed. Also enjoyed exploring the area."


"Pafuri river experience"

(South Africa) arno bakker | 3 October 2005

"What a way to spend some time in the bush. The monkeys wake you up in the morning, jumping on your tent. Thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent there, Glynn and company are great hosts, spend some time chatting to them sitting at the pub. Kruger Park just next door with great views of northern bushvel..."

more

"What a way to spend some time in the bush. The monkeys wake you up in the morning, jumping on your tent. Thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent there, Glynn and company are great hosts, spend some time chatting to them sitting at the pub. Kruger Park just next door with great views of northern bushveld and lots of elaphants, crocodiles and other game.

The food at pafuri is great, the camp is kept tidy and clean and there are some great bush walks, scenery around the camp."


"Pafuri - Wallermans Camp"

(South Africa) denese salutt | 15 August 2005

"Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - wonderful ambience, accommodation basic, but fun, food more than adequate, will certainly recommend to anybody requiring accommodation in the area."


"Visit Pafuri River Camp end October 2017"

(South Africa) Manie | 1 November 2017

"The camp is equipped with everything you need with a beautiful view on the river.
Service from the staff and bird life is excellent.
"


"Very Nice"

(South Africa) Natasha | 2 November 2016

"We were happy with everything. What stood out the most for us was the excellent service they gave us. We had a great time and definitely would go back again."


"Enjoyed Our Stay!"

(South Africa) Benjamin | 20 October 2016

"We enjoyed the stay, it was very nice. The accommodation is fine, the place is remote and it has met all our requirements. "


"Absolutely Magnificent"

(South Africa) Dennis | 13 July 2016

"We had such a wonderful time at Pafuri. Everything is so nice and lovely, it’s an amazing place and great people. I would go there anytime and most definitely recommend it to all my friends and family."


"Tented bliss"

(South Africa) Mich Cochrane | 9 April 2015

"Although fairly distant to reach, Pafuri Rivercamp was worth the travel. Virtually next to the Pafuri entrance gate to the Kruger Park, our daily game drives were effortlessly accommodated with none of the crowding experienced in more commercial areas of the park.
The treehouses are comfortable..."

more

"Although fairly distant to reach, Pafuri Rivercamp was worth the travel. Virtually next to the Pafuri entrance gate to the Kruger Park, our daily game drives were effortlessly accommodated with none of the crowding experienced in more commercial areas of the park.
The treehouses are comfortable, clean, serviced daily, each with a view of the river. Wood and ice are available in camp, and on check in all amenities are explained in detail. There is no electricity, but gas is provided for hot water and a two plate gas cooker, if required. The weather was great, so we did a braai both nights. The tents are fairly private, with natural bush screening in between. There is a pool, bar, and meals can be ordered in advance. The bathroom is set off to one side, with flush loo and hot shower.
Will definitely visit again, even if it's just to see more of the 500 species of birds in the area."


"Pafuri Rivercamp"

(Australia) Mrs HARVEY | 5 November 2013

"Beautiful setting on the river under mature shady trees. Friendly hosts (Colleen and Corie) well-stocked bar with good prices. Comfortable accommodation with well equipped kitchen. Very friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant walks along the river."


"Pafuri Pleasure"

(South Africa) Mrs Delport | 15 June 2012

"What a gem! We were fortunate to have the entire camp to ourselves. Not that it mattered as the chalet we were accommodated in was completely private and was situated on the river. What a view to wake up to! The establishment was clean and well maintained. Although we visited this establishment ..."

more

"What a gem! We were fortunate to have the entire camp to ourselves. Not that it mattered as the chalet we were accommodated in was completely private and was situated on the river. What a view to wake up to! The establishment was clean and well maintained. Although we visited this establishment in May, my outdoor hot-water shower was a very pleasant experience. The fact that there was no electricity didn't bother us in the least and the lanterns only added to the romantic atmosphere.

I can definitely recommend this quaint little hideaway and will most certainly visit again in the future."


"Back to Nature - Simple but Nothing Missing! Excellent!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 April 2010

"Fantastic experience, we definitely will be back some time in the future!
And don't bother making use of the (well equipped) self catering facilities - you would miss out on excellent food and good company!
Thanks folks!
"


"A lovely, lovely place. A wonderful experience."

(United Kingdom) Barry and Carol | 7 September 2009

"As regular visitors to Southern Africa we have long overcome the myths and stories that obscure the realities of that part of the Continent. The Rivercamp was yet another necessary building block in constructing an overall picture.

For people used to urban living this really is a necessary..."

more

"As regular visitors to Southern Africa we have long overcome the myths and stories that obscure the realities of that part of the Continent. The Rivercamp was yet another necessary building block in constructing an overall picture.

For people used to urban living this really is a necessary experience. There are few places where the ONLY sounds in daytime come from birds, where the dead quiet of the night is only interupted by a wood fire spitting. And environments are rare where the only sights at night are the plethora of bright stars and low-lit lanterns, and during the day a sight so tranquil and absorbing that it's hard to adequately describe.

We stayed at the isolated Bamboo Chalet in August; grilled meat on an open fire, drank wine on the balcony, read books, explored, and paddled in the warm, shallow water of the river. A perfect technology-free window into another world. Just wonderful. "


"Pafuri River Camp"

(Saudi Arabia) Mrs Smith | 23 August 2009

"We were impressed with the Camp and the facilities and plan to visit again on our next trip."


"Gem at the border of Kruger"

(Germany) Jens | 27 April 2009

"We were astonished about this lovely accommodation. We spend only one night there, what is definitely too short.

"


"Exquisite, unpretentious African Bush experience"

(South Africa) Mr Engelbrecht, Pretoria | 17 December 2008

"The camp is situated alongside the most Northern part of Kruger, amidst beautiful Mopanie trees and the Matule river. Nothing surpasses ice cold beer from the genius gas camp fridges after a day under the Limpopo sun. The camp reminds of adventures of the un-spoilt bush of yesteryear, yet with moder..."

more

"The camp is situated alongside the most Northern part of Kruger, amidst beautiful Mopanie trees and the Matule river. Nothing surpasses ice cold beer from the genius gas camp fridges after a day under the Limpopo sun. The camp reminds of adventures of the un-spoilt bush of yesteryear, yet with modern luxuries like hot water in the shower, en-suite bathroom and gas fridge and stove. Here is no electricity, TV or cellphone reception. Nights are spent alongside the open fire having a braai. The stars from here are the best I have seen. So is the hospitality you will receive from your two hosts and their staff! Exquisite African bush camping experience. We have our photo's until our next stay. Thank you Pafuri Rivercamp!"


"Pafuri Rivercamp"

(South Africa) Paul Malek | 17 July 2007

"Best thing of all about Pafuri River Camp is the fact that there is no electricity. For a few days to be in a truly rural setting with lamps lighting up the camp giving it a Fairy Tale like atmosphere is magical.
This was our second visit and was as enjoyable as before.
A truly wonderful p..."

more

"Best thing of all about Pafuri River Camp is the fact that there is no electricity. For a few days to be in a truly rural setting with lamps lighting up the camp giving it a Fairy Tale like atmosphere is magical.
This was our second visit and was as enjoyable as before.
A truly wonderful place."


"Tranquility"

(South Africa) Mr du Rand | 25 May 2007

"It is better than I expected. It is not an hotel. It is a place where you can relax, chill out without the interruptions of electronic appliances, cell phones and computers.

There is lots of fresh air, open spaces, farm sounds and open skies. Camp fires and night skies. Very friendly and h..."

more

"It is better than I expected. It is not an hotel. It is a place where you can relax, chill out without the interruptions of electronic appliances, cell phones and computers.

There is lots of fresh air, open spaces, farm sounds and open skies. Camp fires and night skies. Very friendly and helpful Hosts. Tranquility in its purest form. Thank you. We will be back."


"A Unique Experience"

(South Africa) Mr I D Potgieter | 13 September 2006

"We stayed for three days at Pafuri River Camp. In all my holiday experience we have never done a rough holiday with no electricity etc.

Glynn is a superb host and the accomodation is comfortable and the camp is so different and the service so good that you think you are royalty. Our sincer..."

more

"We stayed for three days at Pafuri River Camp. In all my holiday experience we have never done a rough holiday with no electricity etc.

Glynn is a superb host and the accomodation is comfortable and the camp is so different and the service so good that you think you are royalty. Our sincerest thanks to all at the lodge.

It is well worth going to and I would recommend it wholeheartedly."