Reviews of Erin Farmhouse & Cottages


"peace and quiet"

Hans de Raedt | 9 January 2018

"well equipped, clean and professionally managed establishment. very peaceful,quiet and conveniently located. "


"The beautiful sunset!!"

Chrisna Wilson | 1 January 2018

"It is a tranquil environment that provides rest for your soul. Thank you so much."


"Beautiful bedroom"

Mark Blew | 23 December 2017

"The old farmhouse was enchanting "


"Safe and secure for my dogs- didnÕt have to keep them on a leash. Very quiet and very clean "

Brenda Caplen | 18 December 2017

"Beautiful sunset and big sky filled with stars! "


"Serenity of the enviroment"

Lourens Van Wyk | 8 December 2017

"Excellent service and value for money."


"sitting in the Bluegum Grove listening to the birds"

Nigel Nichols | 2 October 2017

"Loved the silences and peace from a hectic day of travel. The Awesome Shower and Bathroom"


"Quiet and peaceful "

Gregor Mc Gregor | 30 September 2017

"Simplicity of facilities, yet it catered for all our needs. "


"Beautiful setting in authentic Karoo accommodation"

Eloise Arndt | 23 July 2017

"Warm friendly reception by gracious hosts"


"Enjoyed our stay "

Gene Moerdyk | 9 May 2017

"Good day to Erin Farm
We and our cat thoroughly enjoyed the stay.
The host is extremely kind & considerate.
Regards,
Gene Moerdyk."


"Quiet and comfortable"

(South Africa) Dax Menday | 9 January 2017

"Our stop over at Erin's was lovely with a comfortable, clean cottage with all the amenities needed. It was lovely waking up with the sound of birds in the nearby tree's. "


"Lovely country ambience"

(South Africa) Gill Dobson | 6 January 2017

"Enjoyed our brief stop here. Pleasant hosts and the room was large and comfortable and clean. Plenty of facilities in the kitchen to make a meal and a small verandah and garden area to eat our meals on and enjoy the country air and the sunset. Would definitely stop here again."


"A very pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Lesley Wright | 4 January 2017

"A well equipped cottage for self-catering, comfortable beds and beautiful surroundings makes for a very pleasant stay at a thoroughly reasonable price. We (and our dog) would definitely recommend Erin."


"'"

(South Africa) Lorenza Cowling | 29 December 2016

"We had a lovely stopover at Erin farm .The large old farmhouse where our family stayed was charming and we enjoyed a hearty dinner that evening Trevor was a most attentive and accomodating host. We would definitely recommend it to our friends"


"Erin stay"

(South Africa) Paula Kontominas | 16 December 2016

"We had the loveliest evening! Fires and beauty. Experienced Karoo gales and storm all within the safety of a unit that provided everything we needed. A bed that was divinely comfy and a peaceful walk in the morning. I long to experience that again!"


"'"

(South Africa) Carol Leech | 21 September 2016

"We spent a very comfortable night at Erin Farm Cottage. We had everything we needed for a quick stopover.

Thanks Trevor!

Carol"


"'"

(South Africa) Bill Van Dongen | 31 July 2016

"On an evening with freezing icy winds the warm welcome from Kathy and Trevor (with hot water and a comfortable bed) made the experience good memorable !!"


"Halfway Home"

(South Africa) Rod MacLeod | 4 April 2016

"You can stay here with confidence. Beautiful Karoo setting, clean rooms and bedding, self-catering facilities are good, and Erin is very accommodating of pets.Trevor is a friendly host and will make you feel most welcome."


"Oasis in the Karoo"

(South Africa) Jan Grobler | 18 December 2015

"Very hospitable host. Beautiful room, comfortable bed and lovely dinner. A most enjoyable experience.Highly recommended
"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Colette Fergusson | 16 October 2015

"We were not disappointed on our second visit to Erin. It was as good as the first time. Hospitality very friendly, Accommodation superb, food delicious. I cannot find fault."


"'"

(South Africa) Haydn Goldman | 15 August 2015

"A wonderful farmstay on our way to Plettenberg Bay.The accommodation was comfortable cosy and warm just as warm as the hospitable host. Nothing was too much trouble.A thoroughly recommended stopover."


"Erin Country House and Farm Cottages"

(South Africa) Theo van Graan | 13 April 2015

"We stayed over for one night in the 'Mongoose Manor' farm cottage and can only compliment the owners for providing real value for money accommodation. The place was sparkling clean and very well equipped. Trevor is an interesting person and a great host.Highly recommended.Theo and Wendy van Graan."


"Peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Carlien Albertyn | 14 January 2015

"Our stay was exactely what we needed as a half way stop between the sea and Bloemfontein. Trevor was a grate host and the kids enjoyed the freedom of running around on the farm. I think we will become regular guests at Erin."


"Great stay at Erin Country House "

(South Africa) Tony Mills | 8 January 2015

"We enjoyed a great welcome and a very comfortable stay overnight in a well decorated and equipped chalet. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening braai with other guests and the company of hosts Trevor and Cathy.

We can highly recommend this."


"Enjoyable stay over "

(South Africa) Tony Mills | 8 January 2015

"A most enjoyable stay over -only one night- the room was well appointed and comfortable ,the evening braai was more than adequate , the company was superb -thank you Kathy & Trevor."


"Make Erin part of your journey"

(South Africa) michelle van sittert | 2 February 2014

"We stayed at Erin Country House on our way back to Johannesburg from Sedgefield. Trevor and Kathy are extremely hospitable and made our overnight stay very enjoyable. We felt like old family friends! We stayed in one of the cottages and found everything perfect to our needs. Thank you for making thi..."

more

"We stayed at Erin Country House on our way back to Johannesburg from Sedgefield. Trevor and Kathy are extremely hospitable and made our overnight stay very enjoyable. We felt like old family friends! We stayed in one of the cottages and found everything perfect to our needs. Thank you for making this stop over such an enjoyable one!"


"Great farm break-out in Middleburg, EC"

(South Africa) Rob Davies | 6 January 2014

"We spent a night at the Erin Country House and Farm Cottages en route between JHB and Plett. It was a perfect stop-over in terms of location, farm-style accommodation, hospitality and food. The kids particularly enjoyed eating the eggs that they had collected from the chicken coup the night before! ..."

more

"We spent a night at the Erin Country House and Farm Cottages en route between JHB and Plett. It was a perfect stop-over in terms of location, farm-style accommodation, hospitality and food. The kids particularly enjoyed eating the eggs that they had collected from the chicken coup the night before! Highly recommended stop-over."


"Excellent Erin"

(South Africa) Dean Fergusson | 20 March 2013

"Excellent hospitality, food, accomodation,and ambiance. We were warmly welcomed and felt like we were visiting friends. Will definitely stay there again."


"Want to visit again"

(South Africa) Desnei Leaf | 30 December 2012

"Excellent hospitality, homely and welcoming. Would definitely visit again."


"Accommodation review "

(South Africa) Helen Doumanis | 3 May 2011

"Erin cottages where neat and clean, we only stayed there for one night but really enjoyed the farm feel.

"


"Erin country lodge"

(South Africa) Miems Van Wyk | 4 January 2010

"We arrived on the evening of the 15th, after a long day on the road (I must add that I was very sick and not feeling well). Our hosts made us feel very welcome and I got special attention and TLC. They even went as far as organize me some medicine so I couls feel better. I would definitely stay over..."

more

"We arrived on the evening of the 15th, after a long day on the road (I must add that I was very sick and not feeling well). Our hosts made us feel very welcome and I got special attention and TLC. They even went as far as organize me some medicine so I couls feel better. I would definitely stay over again if I ever travel in that direction again and would recommend the place to everyone "


"Really good"

(South Africa) Pam Lyon | 17 December 2009

" - Trevor is a great host. The food was excellent and the surroundings so peaceful. We'll be back for sure."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Robert Brooks | 24 July 2009

"Dedicated host Trevor went out of his way to cater for our particular needs from the historical to the practical.Strong sensual landscapes with additional snow made our stay doubly memorable."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Cheryl Burns | 24 January 2008

" Our stay at Erin was really fantastic!

Trevor and his wife were perfect hosts. The cottage was clean, and more than ample. The scenery is breathtaking. Their food was great. They have a very festive pub. I can only say good things about the place - and really inexpensive! We would stay..."

more

" Our stay at Erin was really fantastic!

Trevor and his wife were perfect hosts. The cottage was clean, and more than ample. The scenery is breathtaking. Their food was great. They have a very festive pub. I can only say good things about the place - and really inexpensive! We would stay there again without thinking twice."


"FANTASTIC experience"

(South Africa) Leanne Mackenzie | 10 January 2008

"Hospitality and food was great, the room was very comfy... very nicely done! It felt as if we were extending our holiday rather than breaking our trip home... a FANTASTIC experience... one we will definitely want to experience again! :)"


"Beautiful surroundings,"

(South Africa) Neil Pretorius | 9 January 2008

" Neat and very good value for money"


"Affordable and friendly"

(South Africa) Sue Kemp | 30 December 2007

"We overnighted at Erin and really enjoyed the hospitality offered. I real-feel farm atmosphere. The accommodation while simple was quite adequate for our needs and I would recommend the facility to anyone looking for an affordable, friendly overnight stay. Thank you Kathy and Trevor!"


"Great value for money "

(South Africa) Jan Roodt | 2 October 2007

"Enjoyed the 'personal' touch."


"Enjoyed it very much"

(South Africa) Ilse van Nieuwenhuizen | 8 May 2007

"We enjoyed it very much! It was extremely cold and something we are completely not used to, but the welcome and dinner was warm and breakfast great. The overnight facilities are very good - everything was very clean and neat and we will definitely make use of their services again in the future ."


"Erin Review"

(South Africa) Robbie Clegg | 3 May 2007

"Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay @ Erin. Nice room, comfortable bed, great food (dinner and breakfast),friendly hosts and all in a setting that lives up to it's name of sunsets, stars and silence; what more could one want. Overall, excellent value for money. Would definitely visit again."


"Baie lekker."

(South Africa) Japie Prinsloo | 23 April 2007

"Die verblyf by Erin was uit die boonste rakke. Toe ons nog op pad was, het Trevor al gebel om te hoor wanneer ons daar sal wees. Toe ons daar arriveer het Trevor ons vriendelik ontvang en ons ingelig van alles wat ons moet weet. Die aand het ons n lekker aandete gehad, wat ons nie sommer sal vergeet..."

more

"Die verblyf by Erin was uit die boonste rakke. Toe ons nog op pad was, het Trevor al gebel om te hoor wanneer ons daar sal wees. Toe ons daar arriveer het Trevor ons vriendelik ontvang en ons ingelig van alles wat ons moet weet. Die aand het ons n lekker aandete gehad, wat ons nie sommer sal vergeet nie. Die nag het ons baie lekker geslaap. Die ontbyt die volgende oggend was net so lekker.Na ontbyt het ons gery, en Trevor het ons by die kar afgesien. My komplimente aan Trevor vir sy sy gasvryheid en vriendelikheid. Sal as die geleendheid hom voordoen, weer daar wil gaan kuier, maar dan moet dit vir langer wees. Hou so aan Trevor."


"Wonderful experience!"

(South Africa) MornŽ Pretorius | 23 April 2007

"What a wonderful experience. We arrived very late and they were very accommodating. This is true Karoo hospitality at it's best."


"Good"

(South Africa) Ryk Bentz | 12 April 2007

"Our stay at Erin Country house was comfortable and enjoyable - thank you for your interest."


"Satisfied"

(South Africa) Arthur Halse | 3 April 2007

"We really enjoyed our overnight stay. Should have stayed longer."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Margaret Kirk | 2 April 2007

"Thanks so much - it was just lovely! Good food and wonderful accommodation! Will definitely stay there again."


"Farm Cottage Stay"

(South Africa) Helen Maree | 30 March 2007

"The cottage was fully equipped and the bed was comfortable. It was clean and functional, without any frills."


"Good"

Anonymous | 8 January 2007

"The main guest cottage where my family stayed was wonderful. My friends stayed in one of the open-plan farm cottages which was very nice but not quite as good.

The hosts were extremely hospitable and the food outstanding.

We would definitely go back."


"Great atmosphere"

(Netherlands) Guus van der Veek | 5 January 2007

"This Guest house has all that is needed for a very special experience. Enjoying the Karoo at its best. With a special dinner prepared by Trevor and the very welcoming hospitality including good drinks. "


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Maryke van der Westhuizen | 5 January 2007

"The stay was very enjoyable. The owners tried their best to make us feel welcome. Thank you."


"Overnight at Erin Country Retreat"

(South Africa) ElmarŽ KŸkkŸk | 30 December 2006

"This stay was enjoyable, nice and quiet. We will highly recommend this GH. VERY friendly host and hostess. They made us feel so at home. We had a excellent dinner and breakfast."


"Superb"

(South Africa) Danny | 29 May 2017

"We were very impressed with the accommodation and enjoyed it thoroughly. The place is situated in a rural area, away from the city and it’s peaceful. It’s also a relaxing and a pleasant guesthouse that I definitely can recommend."


"Fantastic Experience"

(South Africa) Rudi | 15 May 2017

"We had a fantastic experience. Everything about the place was excellent and what was advertised on the website was exactly what we got. That place is definitely a must stopover."


"Enjoyable and Satisfying"

(South Africa) Harold | 7 March 2017

"The accommodation was really good. We felt comfortable, the place had the friendliest staff and the set-up was brilliant."


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Danie | 19 April 2016

"I had a pleasant stay at Erin Country House. I was happy with the service, as well as our room which was clean and comfortable. A lovely overnight stay."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Liana | 24 August 2015

"Friendly reception with spacious and neat rooms. Bathroom especially spacious. Will definitively recommend."


"Erin Country House"

(South Africa) Crafford | 5 January 2015

"I had a pleasant stay and will return again. The rooms are neat and tidy. I will recommend them to others. "


"Erin review"

(South Africa) anonymous | 12 December 2014

"Nice place with beautiful setting. Peaceful atmosphere.Very hospitable owners. Very dog friendly. The food perhaps a little bit expensive."


"Best overnight accommodation"

(South Africa) Bissett | 11 December 2014

"We had a great stay. The old farmhouse is decorated beautifully. Everything speaks of class and is very well maintained. We had a very nice dinner, which was a traditional braai. Trevor, the owner and host, makes you feel right at home. We will stay there again and can really recommend the place!"


"Chilling out in the karoo"

(Belgium) Mr de Backer | 8 November 2013

"A lovely place, very cosy decorated with a nice bathroom. Trevor cooks dinner and makes your breakfast, and he does it well.
We had nice chats.
Thanks, we'd love to come again.
"


"Karoo Stopover"

(South Africa) Mr Grobler | 16 December 2012

"We arrived in pouring rain and had a most enjoyable stopover at Erin Country House. The hosts were very hospitable and we had a lovely meal with all the other guests. The accommodation was comfortable and we had a good night’s rest. We can highly recommend Erin Country house and will definitely stay..."

more

"We arrived in pouring rain and had a most enjoyable stopover at Erin Country House. The hosts were very hospitable and we had a lovely meal with all the other guests. The accommodation was comfortable and we had a good night’s rest. We can highly recommend Erin Country house and will definitely stay there again in future."


"Relaxing country stop over"

(South Africa) Glen Hill | 17 January 2012

"Thanks for a great stay at Erin Country House. After a long drive from Joburg it was great to relax on this farm. We did not have anything to braai so Trevor organised us a pack of Lamb chops and some boerewors. The best lamb chops we have had for ages. We left in the morning relaxed and ready for t..."

more

"Thanks for a great stay at Erin Country House. After a long drive from Joburg it was great to relax on this farm. We did not have anything to braai so Trevor organised us a pack of Lamb chops and some boerewors. The best lamb chops we have had for ages. We left in the morning relaxed and ready for the drive to Stilbaai. Thanks again. "


"An Oasis in the Wilderness"

(South Africa) Michelle Hales | 17 December 2011

"Truly an oasis in the wilderness. A stylish karoo country cottage nestled in a peaceful and tranquil burrow of trees. Though small, our Meerkat unit offered privacy, was well equipped and had every thing my daughter & I needed for our stopover enroute to Port Elizabeth. We slept comfortably and pea..."

more

"Truly an oasis in the wilderness. A stylish karoo country cottage nestled in a peaceful and tranquil burrow of trees. Though small, our Meerkat unit offered privacy, was well equipped and had every thing my daughter & I needed for our stopover enroute to Port Elizabeth. We slept comfortably and peacefully, after a refreshing walk and watching the sun set behind the Renosterberg.
Our hosts, Trevor and Cathy were warm and friendly without invading our privacy. I would love to revisit Erin Country house and would strongly recommend it to the weary traveler."


"Erin"

(South Africa) anonymous | 19 March 2011

"Erin Country House is located in a lovely setting. The bird life is wonderful. We had a fairly good night's rest, although a queen-size would have been more comfortable than the standard double bed provided. We appreciated the use of a lounge. Alcoholic drinks were available at dinner. "


"Muller family review of Erin Country House"

(South Africa) Mr Muller | 1 January 2010

"Due to limited time this year, we did not have adequate time to phone around for lodging. Booking over the internet and via e-mail, made it easy and quick.
The reception and the host at Erin Country House was excellent – from phoning during the day to find out when we’ll be arriving, to directin..."

more

"Due to limited time this year, we did not have adequate time to phone around for lodging. Booking over the internet and via e-mail, made it easy and quick.
The reception and the host at Erin Country House was excellent – from phoning during the day to find out when we’ll be arriving, to directing us to the local grocery store, and then offering a warm welcome and some talk about the area and the farm, including how Erin started out.
The two cottages we had were neat, clean and cosy. The soaps and shampoo’s had a nice personal touch, and there was ample water for all 6 of us for a shower after the hours of travel.
We will definitely recommend Erin Country House.

One suggestion for an even better experience – offer a courtesy bar, or facilities to buy cool drinks or beer."


"Erin is Great"

(South Africa) Mr Halse | 28 March 2008

"This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Erin. It just seems to get better as time goes by. Trevor and Kathy are superb hosts. We will most definitely be back next year."


"Rustic Karoo Retreat"

(South Africa) Ms Brandkamp | 9 January 2008

"This little B&B near Middelburg is just perfect after a long drive, or in our case motorbike ride from Johannesburg. We were welcomed and shown to our cottage by the friendly owner, and offered refreshments in the bar. The room was simple but comfortable and spacious. The bed was a little bit wob..."

more

"This little B&B near Middelburg is just perfect after a long drive, or in our case motorbike ride from Johannesburg. We were welcomed and shown to our cottage by the friendly owner, and offered refreshments in the bar. The room was simple but comfortable and spacious. The bed was a little bit wobbly and the toilet seat didn't quite fit, but the view across the plains more than made up for this.
The dinner menu is a simple affair with Karoo lamb chops being the main item on the menu, and they did not disappoint, I am not much of a lamb fan, but these chops were so good that I ate four of them.
The 2km dirt road was in good condition when we arrived, but after it rained the whole night it became a slippery adventure when we left the next morning.
I can recommend this Establishment for anyone who likes to be close to nature."


"Review"

(South Africa) Mr Kriel | 7 January 2008

"This was a great stay with personal involvement and team work from the owners. The accomodation was great and the food outstanding - nothing like a Karoo lamb chop on the coals. The area lends itself for some nice walks and what a sunset. It was overcast so the legendary stars was not visible at all..."

more

"This was a great stay with personal involvement and team work from the owners. The accomodation was great and the food outstanding - nothing like a Karoo lamb chop on the coals. The area lends itself for some nice walks and what a sunset. It was overcast so the legendary stars was not visible at all.
"


"A most satisfying experience - with a view & an excellent cook"

(South Africa) Mrs Zehnder | 20 April 2007

"We were so impressed by the friendly service. We had car problems, arrived at 22:00 and we were served a tasty, hot meal - excellent.
We appreciate our friendly host being so flexible to wait up for us. We enjoyed the brightness of the stars at night - there is no light pollution in the Karoo...."

more

"We were so impressed by the friendly service. We had car problems, arrived at 22:00 and we were served a tasty, hot meal - excellent.
We appreciate our friendly host being so flexible to wait up for us. We enjoyed the brightness of the stars at night - there is no light pollution in the Karoo. The next morning we could enjoy the view while having breakfast. A most enjoyable stay.
We can recommend Erin Country Retreat without hesitation."


"Erin Country Retreat"

(South Africa) Mr Hamer | 4 January 2007

"Trevor & Kathy went out of their way to make this a stay to be remembered. What Erin lacks in terms of a five star establishment is more than made up for in the hospitality department. My wife and I so enjoyed our brief stay that we booked our return stay there again."