Reviews of Village Bed and Breakfast


"Comfy and cozy"

(South Africa) Lana McLean | 9 January 2012

"We loved it here. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. It felt like our own little house. We really enjoyed our stay here and would come back as it felt comfy and cozy."


"Nice"

(United Kingdom) Carole Holliday | 28 February 2011

"Excellent, lovely cottage. Clean and compact. Good facilities - just a few more serving dishes would be good - but everything else was great. Barbecue excellent, pool fantastic, lovely area to chill out."


"Amazing holiday"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 10 January 2011

"An amazing holiday, thanks to our lovely hosts we had an absolutely wonderful time! "


"Village B & B"

(South Africa) Trevor Geldenhuys | 21 September 2010

"Awesome stay right in the heart of town with super friendly hosts that go out of their way to make you feel at home. We will be back. "


"Village B&B"

(South Africa) Rusti Leach | 26 September 2009

" Very friendly and welcoming host. Comfortable and we had a good night's rest."


"Relaxed stay"

(South Africa) thembi Klaas | 31 August 2009

"I had a relaxed stay and Mark was nice.

Mark helped me kick-start my car on Sunday morning due to my battrey failure.

Big up to you Mark"


"Village B&B "

(South Africa) Ronald Turner | 30 March 2009

"This was the culmination of a perfect trip to celebrate my 80th birthday and we were not disappointed. The room, food and hospitality were spot on."


"Stay at Village B&B"

(South Africa) julie spendley | 16 February 2007

"Lisa & Ron were very accommodating & nothing was a problem for them to organise. The family unit is GREAT if you have children. We would stay there again."


"Amazing"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 14 January 2012

"From the first moment we felt that we were in for a good stay. Our hostess (and her charming young daughter) provided a most friendly welcome, and showed us around the delightfully furnished two-bedroom cottage. Information leaflets on what to do in Kynsna were provided, with our hostess adding furt..."

more

"From the first moment we felt that we were in for a good stay. Our hostess (and her charming young daughter) provided a most friendly welcome, and showed us around the delightfully furnished two-bedroom cottage. Information leaflets on what to do in Kynsna were provided, with our hostess adding further to any queries we had. We loved the idea of a continental-type breakfast being provided in the cottage to have in our own time the following morning. A truly wonderful stay. Our only regret being that we were staying for just the one night."


"The Village Bed and Breakfast, Knysna"

(South Africa) Ms de Vos | 6 November 2011

"On arrival in Knysna, we were escorted by the proprieter, Mark, to the BnB where he gave us a tour of our cottage. We were delighted by the layout of the rooms, and the continental breakfast and fresh towels which were provided every morning. Whatever we requested was provided to us, and speedily. M..."

more

"On arrival in Knysna, we were escorted by the proprieter, Mark, to the BnB where he gave us a tour of our cottage. We were delighted by the layout of the rooms, and the continental breakfast and fresh towels which were provided every morning. Whatever we requested was provided to us, and speedily. Mark, smsed us every morning to ask us if we slept well, and wishing us a good day.

The cottage is 5 minutes away from town, so you can walk your lunch off and visit the Tourism Centre to see what other site seeing you can do.

All in all we had a pleasant stay, and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Knysna."


"Lekker verblyf"

(South Africa) Mrs Wagener | 8 October 2011

"Ons is baie vriendelik ontvang. Die kamer het toe eintlik 'n "cottage" geword met twee slaapkamers. badkamer met bad en stort asook 'n sitkamer/kombuis. Ons was baie verras. Plek was baie skoon en netjies. Die volgende oggend se kontinentale ontbyt was reeds beskikbaar gestel in die kombuis sodat on..."

more

"Ons is baie vriendelik ontvang. Die kamer het toe eintlik 'n "cottage" geword met twee slaapkamers. badkamer met bad en stort asook 'n sitkamer/kombuis. Ons was baie verras. Plek was baie skoon en netjies. Die volgende oggend se kontinentale ontbyt was reeds beskikbaar gestel in die kombuis sodat ons kon eet wanneer ons wou en nie gestuur sou word nie. Die omgewing was baie rustig en ek sal dit beslis aanbeveel vir iemand wat 'n bietjie rus en vrede soek. Baie dankie.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

We were very kindly received. The room was actually a "cottage" with two bedrooms. Bathroom with a bath and shower and a lounge / kitchen. We were very surprised. Place was very clean and tidy. The next morning's continental breakfast was already available in the kitchen so we could eat when we wanted and not when it arrived. The neighborhood was very quiet and I would definitely recommend it for someone who is looking for a little peace and quiet. Thank you."


"Home away from home"

(South Africa) Mr Van Vuuren | 23 May 2011

"We were very surprised to find a complete 2 bedroom house. It had everything one may need, Mark and Petra, thank you very much for making the weekend for us even more memorable. We strongly recommend people to make use of Village Bed and Breakfast."


"Village Stay"

(South Africa) Mr van der Walt | 21 March 2011

"Ek en Johan het die 2dae in Village Bed en Breakfast baie geniet. Die eenheid was baie skoon en higienies. Die opset het ons verras en ons verwagtinge oortref. Die 'Continental' ontbyt was 'n fees en ons het dit baie geniet. Die eenheid skoon en fris vir ons gewag het. Die omgewing waar Village Bed ..."

more

"Ek en Johan het die 2dae in Village Bed en Breakfast baie geniet. Die eenheid was baie skoon en higienies. Die opset het ons verras en ons verwagtinge oortref. Die 'Continental' ontbyt was 'n fees en ons het dit baie geniet. Die eenheid skoon en fris vir ons gewag het. Die omgewing waar Village Bed & Breakfast gelee is, is baie rustig en ons kon heerlik vroeg-aand voor die eenheid ontspan en ons aan die natuurskoon verlustig.

Dankie vir 'n heerlike tydjie wat julle ons toegelaat het.
Mag julle geseend wees met vele gaste en mag jul besigheid van krag tot krag gaan.

Ons groet in God se Liefde

Johan en Jean van der Walt

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

John and I spent 2 days at Village Bed and Breakfast and enjoyed it. The unit was very clean and hygienic. The configuration surprised us and was above our expectations. The "Continental" breakfast was a feast and we enjoyed it very much. The unit clean and fresh we waited. The environment in which Village Bed & Breakfast is situated is very quiet and we could enjoy the wonderful early evening and we relax in natures delight.

Thanks for a wonderful time that you allowed us.

May you be blessed with many guests and may your business grow from strength to strength.

God Bless

John and Jean van der Walt
"


"Holiday in Knysna"

(South Africa) Ms Schlechter | 29 December 2010

"We urgently needed to find a place to stay over in Knysna as part of our holiday and we used the internet to help us and came about RoomsForAfrica which made our search very easy. Thanks to their quick and proper response we came about Village B&B and we really enjoyed our stay. The lady managing ..."

more

"We urgently needed to find a place to stay over in Knysna as part of our holiday and we used the internet to help us and came about RoomsForAfrica which made our search very easy. Thanks to their quick and proper response we came about Village B&B and we really enjoyed our stay. The lady managing the B&B was very kind and hospitable and we don't know how to thank her. The breakfast she prepared for us each morning was delicious and we don't know now to thank her for her kindness! We do recommend the place due to this wonderful person managing the B&B

Thanks"


"Overnighting at the Village"

(South Africa) Ms van de Heuvel | 8 December 2010

"Unplanned trips usually reak havoc. And then to find a place within ones budget and still get so much more than what you bargained, is a very unusual experience, especially during the "aftermath" of this recession thing that we're still in.
Making the enquiry and then the booking through Rooms f..."

more

"Unplanned trips usually reak havoc. And then to find a place within ones budget and still get so much more than what you bargained, is a very unusual experience, especially during the "aftermath" of this recession thing that we're still in.
Making the enquiry and then the booking through Rooms for Africa, was the easiest part of our trip. All it took was less than 10 minutes. Of course I was a bit sceptical about how legit it really is with all these scams going around... nothing a call to Telkom's directory couldn't fix and then confirming my booking with Mark telephonically, eased my mind considerably. All this even before the booking was confirmed via e-mail :) It turned out to be a really amazing experience. Upon arrival we were shown to our room, which was so spacious two families could fit in it. It was the perfect place for a family that had been coupled up in a bakkie for 5 hours on the road.
The Village is centrally located in Knysna and is within walking distance to restaurants and shops and 5-10 drive to anywhere else Knysna has to offer it's guests. The view in the morning from our balcony was so peaceful and serene. It overlooks both the lake and main road of the town. Breakfast with Petra and Emma was a feast, just thinking back makes my mouth water and my senses missing the aroma of their filter coffee. All in all it was just an overnight stay that left a lasting impression and was just what we needed for our trip back home. We will definitely be going back again."


"A very basic B&B"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 July 2009

"Having not been to Knysna before, I appreciated the fact that the owners were friendly and offered tips on walks in the area and things to do in Knysna.

The room we stayed in (one of the smaller ones) wasn't very nice. It was very basic. It was very noisy as the B&B is situated on the main..."

more

"Having not been to Knysna before, I appreciated the fact that the owners were friendly and offered tips on walks in the area and things to do in Knysna.

The room we stayed in (one of the smaller ones) wasn't very nice. It was very basic. It was very noisy as the B&B is situated on the main road (with lots of trucks passing through)."


"Visit the Addo"

(Netherlands) Mr Barlagen | 13 March 2009

"We had a two days stay at the lodge to visit the Addo Park. We arrived the first day at 20.00 h.
Despite this late arrival it was absolutely no problem to make a delicious meal for us (2 pers). The house is old but clean and there is air conditioning. The breakfast room is very nice decorated. ..."

more

"We had a two days stay at the lodge to visit the Addo Park. We arrived the first day at 20.00 h.
Despite this late arrival it was absolutely no problem to make a delicious meal for us (2 pers). The house is old but clean and there is air conditioning. The breakfast room is very nice decorated. We found it a very pleasant stay."


"Perfect"

(Great Britain) anonymous | 10 March 2009

"Fantastic... This lovely home away from home was perfect for our stay in Knysna. The house was charming and warm. The room we stayed in was spacious with comfortable beds. The breakfasts were superb with the friendly owners doing all the cooking while chatting to us about what to do in Knysna. more

"Fantastic... This lovely home away from home was perfect for our stay in Knysna. The house was charming and warm. The room we stayed in was spacious with comfortable beds. The breakfasts were superb with the friendly owners doing all the cooking while chatting to us about what to do in Knysna.

The B&B is situated on the main road about 400m from the centre of town and very close to the Waterfront. We could walk to most of the restaurants and shops while we stayed there.

Although close to the busy road, we found that the rooms quiet and enjoyed relaxing on our little balcony or at the splash pool on the deck.

All in all...Perfect!"


"Room is clean and people are friendly"

(Japan) Ms Tomoko | 28 January 2009

"Room is clean and owner is very friendly. I am travelling alone but no need worry about anything to stay this B&B. My English is not so good but they are always trying to explain slowly until I understand."


"Great value accommodation"

(South Africa) Mrs Taylor | 23 December 2008

"Village Bed & Breakfast is great value and the hosts are very accommodating. They willingly assisted us with an extra mattress for an unexpected additional teenager. We would definitely stay again.
"


"Good & basic"

(Ireland) anonymous | 24 September 2008

"Nice accommodation, basic enough.
Close to town and waterfront for activities. 4 of us stayed in the family room with good bathroom facilities. Main bedroom was very noisy during the night from trucks. Friendly and helpful owners suggested a lovely forest walk for us on day of departure. Good br..."

more

"Nice accommodation, basic enough.
Close to town and waterfront for activities. 4 of us stayed in the family room with good bathroom facilities. Main bedroom was very noisy during the night from trucks. Friendly and helpful owners suggested a lovely forest walk for us on day of departure. Good breakfast."


"Fine!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 23 August 2008

"Nothing fancy. Dining area could do with a little revamp but otherwise just lovely, clean, warm. We also had a lovely little veranda facing into the garden. The owner is very amicable and helpful."


"In need of refurbishment"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 11 April 2008

"Accommodation was OK for a night as a place to get your head down, but I wouldn't recommend it as a place to stay for more than that. "


"Relaxing Stay"

(South Africa) Ms Marsland | 30 March 2008

"We had a lovely relaxing stay. The managers were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. Thank you!"


"Enjoyable stay!!!"

(South Africa) Ms Soldati | 6 February 2008

"We spent four nights at the B&B and our stay was a very enjoyable one! Our host Lisa and her husband were always there when we asked for something. The rooms are neat and tidy and there is alot of privacy. I have no doubt in using Rooms for Africa again for our next reservations. We had a splendid t..."

more

"We spent four nights at the B&B and our stay was a very enjoyable one! Our host Lisa and her husband were always there when we asked for something. The rooms are neat and tidy and there is alot of privacy. I have no doubt in using Rooms for Africa again for our next reservations. We had a splendid time..."


"Pleased with accomodation"

(South Africa) Gail | 23 January 2008

"I was very impressed with the Village B&B. Very friendly and all expectations met."


"Amazing experience"

(South Africa) Ms Malan | 14 January 2008

"We arrived at Village Bed & Breakfast and the first thing we felt is comfortable and "at-home". Not as in some cases where you feel uncomfortable.
Everybody was very friendly. Very comfortable establishment. I would definately stay here again sometime soon."


"The best sleep ever"

(South Africa) Ms Sparrow | 13 January 2008

"My husband and I wanted an overnight stay in Knysna. We tried one of the local hotels and found their tariff quite costly. We booked Village Bed and Breakfast via Rooms For Africa. Within seconds, Rooms for Africa replied via automatic email response and we soon also had a response from the Village..."

more

"My husband and I wanted an overnight stay in Knysna. We tried one of the local hotels and found their tariff quite costly. We booked Village Bed and Breakfast via Rooms For Africa. Within seconds, Rooms for Africa replied via automatic email response and we soon also had a response from the Village Bed and Breakfast. We requested what we wanted, the booking was confirmed, we paid by credit card on secure site and then received a prompt, certified receipt. The whole process was painless, safe and streamlined. Our room was what every traveller expects - it was clean and it had style but most of all it was comfortable. The truth is that I have never slept on pillows that were so kind to my neck! I had the best night's sleep I have had in many, many years. What more could one ask for? Oh, and by the way, the price was very reasonable. Real value for money. "


"Village"

(Sweden) Mr Smedberg | 7 January 2008

"Easy to find on the Main road
Clean rooms and a good breakfast
Lovely owners
"


"Review"

(South Africa) anonymous | 7 January 2008

"The room and bathroom were clean. I think a better description of the breakfast supplied would be good. The only real negative was the amount of road noise from the passing traffic. "


"Very Pleasant"

(South Africa) Mr Fouche | 7 January 2008

"We enjoyed the overnight stay.The owner tries very hard to accommodate her patrons.The room was very pleasant and attentention to small detail can be seen.Breakfast was sufficient and enjoyable."


"Home from Home"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Powell | 2 December 2007

"A good place to stay and very convenient for all the local amenities. Lisa and Ron made us feel really welcome and it was a fun experience staying here."


"Fantastic!"

(South Africa) Mr Swailes | 28 September 2007

"Lisa made us both feel right at home, everything that you want in a place as nice as Knysna. We would welcome a return visit. Thank you."


"Great service overall"

(South Africa) Mr Bradfield | 21 September 2007

"I was so amazed at the response I received from the website roomsforafrica.com I could not believe the service, there was no delay in making a booking, well done.

The bed and breakfast was just as well organized, we arrived late and still Lisa "the owner" was there to see to our every need..."

more

"I was so amazed at the response I received from the website roomsforafrica.com I could not believe the service, there was no delay in making a booking, well done.

The bed and breakfast was just as well organized, we arrived late and still Lisa "the owner" was there to see to our every need. Thanks for a great stay."


"Village B&B"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 August 2007

"The Village B&B was basic & clean, and the owners were pleasent & friendly, however there was a lot of road noise being situated on Main road (N2). Think clean but very basic."


"LOVELY BUT VERY NOISY"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 August 2007

"The place is centrally situated, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and lovely. The management efficient and friendly. The breakfast delicious - but it is on the Knysna main road where the big trucks pass through as so it should be avoided by all light sleepers."


"It came alright in the end......"

(South Africa) Mr Pitcher | 26 July 2007

"Upon arrival was shown to a special family room which had a larger main bedroom at the front of the house upstairs, and then 2nd room with 3 single beds.

As the parents we took the main room which was so noisy we were unable to sleep, the following morning we asked to be moved.

T..."

more

"Upon arrival was shown to a special family room which had a larger main bedroom at the front of the house upstairs, and then 2nd room with 3 single beds.

As the parents we took the main room which was so noisy we were unable to sleep, the following morning we asked to be moved.

The B&B is on the main road, the owner Lisa kindly agreed to change our room to further back in the house so all worked out well. She was very helpful in booking Featherbed Cruise for us and the place is very central."


"Friendly hosts"

(South Africa) Mrs Venter | 17 July 2007

"Very friendly hosts, enjoyable breakfast.
Good location as it is central to all amendaties.
Value for money."


"City Lodge does not come close to home comfort as this"

(South Africa) Mr Olivier | 26 June 2007

"I am in the business of finding suitable and affordable accommodation while on the road. As I have never stayed in Knysna before I did some research on the internet and came across the Village B&B. I was doubtful as to what I was going to receive when I looked at the price. I really only needed a..."

more

"I am in the business of finding suitable and affordable accommodation while on the road. As I have never stayed in Knysna before I did some research on the internet and came across the Village B&B. I was doubtful as to what I was going to receive when I looked at the price. I really only needed a bed for two nights. I corresponded via e-mail and was very impressed with the quick replies and friendly help. So my doubts started to change. I was a bit late for the first night and surprisingly was telephoned by a concerned lady, Lisa, who runs the Village B&B asking if all was ok and what time they could expect me. So if I start thinking about stars, well I am headed for 3 at this stage. On arriving I was greeted with real warmth and friendliness. I was shown around the place and familiarised with the rules and regulations. I slept the night in great comfort. Woke up fresh which I do add I don’t always get at other places I have stayed. The secret was I felt comfortable in the surroundings. Breakfast the next morning was well served; setting was warm, cosy and friendly. It really was more than being at my own home. So that is why I say it is 5 stars for me. I truly recommend this place it has great value for money. The price is more than affordable. The service is great. Even the house cleaner was friendly and well mannered. Thank you for a great stay Lisa. Next time I am around Knysna, I'LL BE BACK."


"Village B&B"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 30 April 2007

"The room was lovely with a great view and Lisa was very welcoming and helpful. However, the breakfast could be improved."


"Village Bed and Breakfast is stunning"

(South Africa) Mr Nelson | 19 April 2007

"My very short stay at Village Bed and Breakfast turned out to be very enjoyable. The service was more than excellent and friendly at all times.
Thank you to Ron and Lisa.
They are good people.
Regards,
Dan
"


"All You Need"

(South Africa) anonymous | 29 March 2007

"If you need to stay a night or two in Knysna look no further, the Village Bed and Breakfast is the place to stay. Closely situated to the waterfront and main road there is no need for transport as the shops are within walking distance from the B&B. The rooms are spacious and equipped with a televisi..."

more

"If you need to stay a night or two in Knysna look no further, the Village Bed and Breakfast is the place to stay. Closely situated to the waterfront and main road there is no need for transport as the shops are within walking distance from the B&B. The rooms are spacious and equipped with a television set and in our unit. We had a small kitchen with a kettle, coffee, etc. The beds are made neatly with clean linen and warm water where you can take a shower or bath. I will prefer them having breakfast from 8h00 until 9h30 as some people prefer to sleep in as they are on holiday. In all we had a wonderful stay at the Village Bed and Breakfast."


"Excellent Service and Exceptional Cleanliness"

(South Africa) Mrs Nxumalo | 6 March 2007

"Lisa and Ron were very kind to us. We missed our flight and took the next one which only arrived much later. We got to the Village B&B at 10h00 and they were still waiting for us. They suggested a whole lot of fun places to visit and enjoy. They prepared a wholesome breakfast and the room was perfec..."

more

"Lisa and Ron were very kind to us. We missed our flight and took the next one which only arrived much later. We got to the Village B&B at 10h00 and they were still waiting for us. They suggested a whole lot of fun places to visit and enjoy. They prepared a wholesome breakfast and the room was perfect. They even provided us with a fridge to place our cold stuff. They were great. We'll definitely go back!

"


"Village B & B"

(South Africa) Mrs Koekemoer | 3 January 2007

"Clean towels every day, lovely breakfast. Very friendly owner and family. Would defenitely stay there again."