Reviews of Gumtree Lodge


"Friendly staff"

(South Africa) CHARLEEN | 1 October 2019

"Wow I had a great time at Gumtree Lodge. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The yard is beautiful and clean. The staff are very friendly, I really felt at home. The manager is friendly too, he greeted every morning with a smile. You can definitely see that he treated his staff very well, you could s..."

more

"Wow I had a great time at Gumtree Lodge. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The yard is beautiful and clean. The staff are very friendly, I really felt at home. The manager is friendly too, he greeted every morning with a smile. You can definitely see that he treated his staff very well, you could see how happy they were. Would definitely visit again. I am not a dog fan but I fell in love with their 2 dogs. Thanks a lot guys, we had a great stay."


"Relaxing Stay at Gumtree lodge "

(South Africa) Kylie | 25 December 2018

"Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. Was a very nice stay everything you need is available. "


"Great lodging"

(South Africa) Heidi | 26 September 2018

"We had a lovely time, all the shops and eateries are very close and the rooms are cosy and clean."


"What a wonderful place!!!"

(South Africa) Winile | 6 July 2018

"We were a group of 16 and I expected an irritable staff at some point...but no..the staff were always bubbly and very helpful. Place is neat and tidy and the food was delicious. Thank you guys for a warm and wonderful stay at Gumtree Lodge, my family will definitely be coming back!"


"Warn welcoming receptionist"

Nomvula Brown | 4 April 2018

"The room was nice and spacious, but please the rooms need more air circulation, they have a very stuffy smell or damp smell."


"Wonderful Experience"

(South Africa) Glenda Wood | 29 November 2016

"I don't know what I expected, but we got more than we could have hoped for. Our stay was wonderful. Peter and the staff were friendly, attentive, caring and helpful at all times. The facilities are great, and the surroundings are beautiful!



I wish I could go and hang out at Gumtree ..."

more

"I don't know what I expected, but we got more than we could have hoped for. Our stay was wonderful. Peter and the staff were friendly, attentive, caring and helpful at all times. The facilities are great, and the surroundings are beautiful!



I wish I could go and hang out at Gumtree Lodge every week-end!!



Phillip & Glenda Wood"


"'"

(South Africa) wandisile mngoma | 5 July 2016

"We enjoyed our stay the breakfast that was served to us Êand the staff in general was great"


"Second visit to Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) Danique Swart | 31 May 2016

"This was our second visit to Gumtree Lodge, unfortunately it did not live up to its 4-star rating this time. The room we were in was extremely noisy, breakfast took quite a time after ordering and once it arrived, one persons' food arrived at a time and it was cold too. The TV in our room had very p..."

more

"This was our second visit to Gumtree Lodge, unfortunately it did not live up to its 4-star rating this time. The room we were in was extremely noisy, breakfast took quite a time after ordering and once it arrived, one persons' food arrived at a time and it was cold too. The TV in our room had very poor signal and limited channels, on one of the days there weren't any cups in the room to make coffee.

We will unfortunately not make use of this accommodation again.
"


"'"

(South Africa) Elmon Ngomane | 18 December 2015

"Wow, speechless. I really enjoyed being there and once again the staff knows how to treat people. I loved it."


"'"

(South Africa) Tienus Snyman | 5 January 2015

"Excellent accommodation . Rooms are neatly furnished and cleaned daily. Staff very friendly . My daughter miss the two bulll dogs already: George & Maggie . Will definitely return."


"Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) Wesley Burgess | 21 March 2014

"Great location, very nice accommodation. Will definitely stay there again the next time I am in Durban for business. "


"Average"

(South Africa) Brad | 17 March 2014

"Neat. Average. Was disappointed with the breakfast, limited with the selection. No toilet roll in the room when we arrived. Staff were always friendly. Bed was comfortable and bathrooms were clean."


"Fantastic stay"

(South Africa) Abdullah | 16 January 2014

"We had a great stay during December 2013. The lodge is comfortable, luxurious and peaceful. Also, it is well situated near Gateway, Umhlanga as well as Durban. However, linen had stains on them and this should be looked into. Will definitely recommend and visit again. Thanks."


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Sandra Atherstone | 2 January 2014

"We spent time in the Christmas season st Gumtree Lodge. It was nice to be away from the crowds in Durban and Umhlanga but close enough to visit."


"Worth it awesome"

(South Africa) Lerato Nteo | 4 September 2013

"I loved everything about the place the staff was beyond friendly and the rooms are very beautiful, cosy and spacious, clean and neat I can't fault anything even the breakfast was up to standard I wouldn't mind going back there and the friendly dogs u can't forget them...Big up to Gumtree and staff k..."

more

"I loved everything about the place the staff was beyond friendly and the rooms are very beautiful, cosy and spacious, clean and neat I can't fault anything even the breakfast was up to standard I wouldn't mind going back there and the friendly dogs u can't forget them...Big up to Gumtree and staff keep it up."


"Thank you so much"

(South Africa) Letshego Moodie | 7 January 2013

"Thank you for such hospitality and thank you to your staff at large. We don`t mind to come back next time. My kids are still talking about the lodge especially the swimming pool part of it. The breakfast well organised, cleaning well done."


"Friendly, clean & comfortable "

(Saudi Arabia) Colin Loubser | 16 December 2012

"Pros: Beautiful lodge, friendly staff, comfy big beds, delicious breakfast (excellent service), clean, good air con and secure. Lovely baths.



Cons: Insufficient hot water for bath. Noisy building works (close to complete and will add a nice beauty salon in the garden).


more

"Pros: Beautiful lodge, friendly staff, comfy big beds, delicious breakfast (excellent service), clean, good air con and secure. Lovely baths.



Cons: Insufficient hot water for bath. Noisy building works (close to complete and will add a nice beauty salon in the garden).



"


"Gumtree Lodge March 2012"

(South Africa) Heidi Schlicht | 21 March 2012

"My two sisters (from Germany) and I enjoyed our stay at Gumtree Lodge very much. Management and staff were very helpful and friendly, and always ready to assist. The Lodge is in a beautiful area and quite peaceful. The pool was refreshingly cool and very clean. Breakfast was complimented by fresh..."

more

"My two sisters (from Germany) and I enjoyed our stay at Gumtree Lodge very much. Management and staff were very helpful and friendly, and always ready to assist. The Lodge is in a beautiful area and quite peaceful. The pool was refreshingly cool and very clean. Breakfast was complimented by fresh fruit. The braai in the garden on Thursday night was also very enjoyable. I will definitely recommend Gumtree Lodge to my family and friends."


"Great"

(South Africa) Rose Caetano | 28 February 2012

"Fantastic!"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Susan Naidoo | 27 February 2012

"It was wonderful. The staff are all friendly and welcoming. I will definitely go back and refer to others."


"Great place"

(South Africa) Francois Bezuidenhout | 21 December 2010

"Great place everything was perfect. The room was clean and fresh, breakfast awesome. Thanks."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Sharon Prowse | 18 October 2010

"Very good. One suggestion : Would it be possible to put something on the bath for the soap when you are bathing. "


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Vincent Mkhize | 4 October 2010

"The linen was clean and everything was generally excellent."


"Stay at Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 27 September 2010

"Although we had a short stay, it was ideal for our requirement. Room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was super, and hospitality was tops.Cleaning service was also exceptional. Thank you. I will be returning."


"Stay at Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 27 September 2010

"Although we had a short stay, it was ideal for our requirement. Room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was super, and hospitality was tops.Cleaning service was also exceptional. Thank you. I will be returning."


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Saint Malefane | 28 April 2009

"We did enjoy our stay at the lodge the service from the staff was so wonderful and they were so friendly except one day when we came from visit we were confronted by group of monkeys roaming the street my partner was to scared she nearly ran away but thanks goodness no harm was done to us by these ..."

more

"We did enjoy our stay at the lodge the service from the staff was so wonderful and they were so friendly except one day when we came from visit we were confronted by group of monkeys roaming the street my partner was to scared she nearly ran away but thanks goodness no harm was done to us by these street invaders all in all no complain we are looking forward to visit a place again."


"Awesome vibe"

(South Africa) Carol Hill | 7 January 2009

"Peter is an amazing host, nothing was too big or small for him. We were accommodated in every way plus. The vibe at Gumtree is awesome, and I would definitely recommend it to friends and business people alike."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Sachin Maharaj | 5 May 2008

"I had a very pleasurable stay. Everyone at gumtree lodge will go out of their way to make you happy, I had a very good experience. Will def recommend to others."


"Great peaceful and clean"

(South Africa) shimona rajiah | 5 May 2008

"We spent one night and it was great. Although we arrived late we were still greeted with warm hospitality and were treated very well.

It was an enjoyable stay and we would go again for a longer stay."


"Tops for breakfasts!"

(Spain) marisa drummond | 26 September 2007

"Our experience was lovely. Warm and friendly reception and the rooms were beautiful. "


"It was fabulous"

(South Africa) Ziyanda Dukuza | 24 August 2007

"Lovely area, cozy room, and wonderful hospitality.

"


"Wonderful friendly atmosphere"

(South Africa) Andy Gardiner | 12 August 2007

"We were extremely pleased with the way we were hosted from the time of our arrival till leaving. A wonderful friendly atmosphere exists in all the staff, making our stay relaxed and comfortable.

The accommodation is excellent and the breakfasts well prepared and served as one would expect in ..."

more

"We were extremely pleased with the way we were hosted from the time of our arrival till leaving. A wonderful friendly atmosphere exists in all the staff, making our stay relaxed and comfortable.

The accommodation is excellent and the breakfasts well prepared and served as one would expect in 1st class restaurants. All in all accommodation that I would personally recommend to all my friends and associates. "


"The rooms are fantastic"

(South Africa) dina neiman | 1 May 2007

"Everyone is really friendly and the atmosphere is exactly what you'd want to be when on holiday in Durban, very relaxed and pleasant."


"Fantastic hospitality"

(South Africa) radha | 3 May 2018

"Awesome place, very efficient, beautiful, clean and tidy. Will recommend to family and friends."


"Review on Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) mawethu | 10 April 2018

"My stay was very good with welcoming and lovely staff. Rooms are neat. I would recommend it to everyone who needs to free his/her mind. "


"Amazing Stay"

(South Africa) Zaath | 4 March 2018

"I would like to thank Lindah and all the staff at Gumtree Lodge for their hospitality.

Friendliness and their love for their Guests makes Gumtree a easy choice for all visitors.

Will definitely visit them again.

Best Regards

Johan"


"A homely place"

(South Africa) Catherine | 18 February 2018

"Our recent stay at the Gumtree Lodge was really nice. The staff were extremely friendly and the room was comfortable. Normally when we book out and stay in a strange place. The comfort of the bed is always my concern . This bed was huge and soft and comfortable. For the first time we enjoyed our s..."

more

"Our recent stay at the Gumtree Lodge was really nice. The staff were extremely friendly and the room was comfortable. Normally when we book out and stay in a strange place. The comfort of the bed is always my concern . This bed was huge and soft and comfortable. For the first time we enjoyed our sleep and awoke well and rested with no body pains. The breakfast was really great and was made exactly how we like it. I would describe the Lodge as a charming place with friendly people and a lovely breakfast. "


"We were cared for with kindness"

(South Africa) SAM | 28 December 2017

"Great hosting skills goes a long way. "


"Friendly, comfortable, clean and affordable"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 December 2017

"Gumtree Lodge was amazing - from friendly staff to the most comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast. Rooms were exceptionally clean.
Will definitely go back.
Thanks Gumtree Lodge for the lovely stay. And thanks to your awesome team."


"Accommodation "

(South Africa) Mashudu | 13 November 2017

"It's a lovely place and we enjoyed our stay.
Just for advice, maybe have irons in rooms. "


"Good stay"

(South Africa) Lindelani | 6 November 2017

"The place was nicely prepared for our arrival. It was spotlessly clean. It was so quiet and peaceful. The area was safe. The lodge was spacious and had everything we needed. The room was comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Great service, I would go back again...."

more

"The place was nicely prepared for our arrival. It was spotlessly clean. It was so quiet and peaceful. The area was safe. The lodge was spacious and had everything we needed. The room was comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Great service, I would go back again. "


"Brilliant Stay and Awesome Staff"

(South Africa) Eric | 8 September 2017

"I had a warm welcome from staff at the Gumtree Lodge. They accommodated me so well and gave excellent service since the first day I arrived. What you see on the Internet is what you get and I am planning on definitely going back soon. Thanks to all staff for making my stay pleasant."


"Fabulous Stay"

(South Africa) LIZEKA | 2 August 2017

"This was truly an amazing place. The place was spotlessly clean. The rooms were nice and big. Very comfortable. The view was great. The place had a spa that I thoroughly enjoyed. The atmosphere of the outside surrounding was also really nice and relaxing. It was so peaceful. Nothing bothered us at a..."

more

"This was truly an amazing place. The place was spotlessly clean. The rooms were nice and big. Very comfortable. The view was great. The place had a spa that I thoroughly enjoyed. The atmosphere of the outside surrounding was also really nice and relaxing. It was so peaceful. Nothing bothered us at all. The staff was really friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back and recommend to family or friends. "


"Great Place! "

(South Africa) anonymous | 31 July 2017

"Excellent place to stay! All staff are friendly and the rooms are always neat and clean. Would recommend it to anyone!"


"Super stay"

(South Africa) Lawrence | 10 July 2017

"This is a very nice place with great staff and friendly owners. They are always willing to help. My room was neat and tidy. Very warm. I had a great view from my bedroom. A swimming pool for activity. Unfortunately it was too cold to have a swim. The place was near to the mall which was convenient i..."

more

"This is a very nice place with great staff and friendly owners. They are always willing to help. My room was neat and tidy. Very warm. I had a great view from my bedroom. A swimming pool for activity. Unfortunately it was too cold to have a swim. The place was near to the mall which was convenient if we needed anything. I really liked the peaceful effect of this place. Would like to go back again. In fact, I can't wait."


"Excellent Service"

(South Africa) Annah | 4 July 2017

"We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is friendly, the place is clean. Breakfast daily. Will again be visiting and will recommend it to others."


"Bliss"

(South Africa) Motsiri isaac | 4 July 2017

"What an experience, the place is awesome, felt like I was sleeping in an executive suite.
Thank you sooo much for your hospitality, I have recommended your Lodge to my friends already.
To the management and staff keep it up!!
Bless you All."


"5 Star Experience At A Low Price!"

(South Africa) yolanda | 4 July 2017

"We stayed there for two nights. What a warm welcome we felt at home. Very friendly staff, the suites were out of this world, they were of high standard and spacious. Everything was just perfect did not expect that with the price we payed. It is affordable, definitely next time I come to Durban I'm g..."

more

"We stayed there for two nights. What a warm welcome we felt at home. Very friendly staff, the suites were out of this world, they were of high standard and spacious. Everything was just perfect did not expect that with the price we payed. It is affordable, definitely next time I come to Durban I'm gonna sleep at Gumtree Lodge. "


"Wonderful Stay"

(South Africa) Stepf | 30 April 2017

"Great stay, wonderful atmosphere will definitely go there again.
Staff were accommodating and friendly."


"A Very Enjoyable Stay"

(South Africa) Wanda | 24 April 2017

"The rooms were neat and lovely with very comfortable beds and friendly service."


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Angeline | 11 April 2017

"My stay was great and it was enjoyable. I had a nice experience and would definitely want to go back. I’ve also recommended the place to friends. The bedrooms was clean."


"Tranquil"

(South Africa) Phumza | 29 March 2017

"The Lodge is in a nice area, where it’s peaceful and very quiet. The environment was so relaxing, which made my stay even more enjoyable. The location was convenient and close to everything. Staff was pleasant and I would certainly revisit."


"Great Accommodation, Great Staff. Highly Recommended."

(United Kingdom) Susan | 28 February 2017

"We had excellent bedrooms/bathrooms, and breakfast was good. The property is set in beautiful gardens with a nice pool and plenty of lounge space both inside and out. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout. Relaxed atmosphere and a lovely stay. There is even an on site beautician who ..."

more

"We had excellent bedrooms/bathrooms, and breakfast was good. The property is set in beautiful gardens with a nice pool and plenty of lounge space both inside and out. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout. Relaxed atmosphere and a lovely stay. There is even an on site beautician who is brilliant! And there are secret gin cocktail recipes if you're lucky."


"Beautiful Rooms"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2 February 2017

"I loved the beautiful rooms and the lovely atmosphere. The service was great and the breakfast was very nice. I can definitely recommend the place. "


"Fabulous People, Fabulous Place"

(South Africa) Kimberley | 11 January 2017

"We had a great stay at Gumtree Lodge, the staff (especially Kim) are wonderful! Such a fun crowd & an all round lovely place to stay. Thanks! We will be back :)"


"Gumtree lodge is the best place."

(South Africa) karabo karabo | 5 January 2017

"It’s a good place, safest place and good hospitality the food is great. I won’t mind to come back again."


"Excellent Hospitality."

(South Africa) Eliph | 29 December 2016

"Our group enjoyed every minute of their stay at the lodge. As the rooms has been increased we will come in greater numbers next year. We recommend the lodge to anyone. The pilots we shared the place with were also great."


"Very impressed"

(South Africa) simon | 13 November 2016

"My stay was fantastic.
Great atmosphere, great service and fantastic value.
What more do you need?
Would definitely recommend.
"


"Top Notch Lodge!"

(South Africa) Heather | 6 November 2016

"Great experience, fabulous breakfast, staff was top notch, will visit again soon. Well done!"


"Satisfying Stay"

(South Africa) Jonty | 17 October 2016

"I had a pleasant stay at Gumtree Lodge. The breakfast was nice and encountered no complains while I was there."


"Good Place"

(South Africa) Danie | 6 October 2016

"The host is a very good person. The place looks so nice exactly like it does in the pictures. I had pleasant stay."


"Struck Gold"

(South Africa) Jacqui | 5 October 2016

"Situated in a peaceful, leafy suburb, everything announced tranquility and security. The staff were warm and welcoming and our room was straight out of a home décor magazine. Light and airy with a balcony overlooking a sparkling pool, it was tastefully decorated and equipped with air-con, microwave ..."

more

"Situated in a peaceful, leafy suburb, everything announced tranquility and security. The staff were warm and welcoming and our room was straight out of a home décor magazine. Light and airy with a balcony overlooking a sparkling pool, it was tastefully decorated and equipped with air-con, microwave fridge and kettle. The huge bathtub and luxury shower add a spa-like feel, and if we had been so inclined we could have indulged in the Spa situated on the premises.
It was with regret that we were only spending one night, that we left the following morning after a slap-up full English breakfast"


"Awesome Stay"

(South Africa) Thokozile | 20 June 2016

"Thank you for the hospitality I received at the lodge. It was an awesome, peaceful and beautiful stay. I really appreciated the warm welcome from the staff members and the owner, they went out of their way to make our stay blissful.
Thank You"


"Wonderful Stay"

(South Africa) Mbali | 17 May 2016

"We had an absolutely amazing stay at the Gumtree Lodge. I liked everything about the Lodge, the staff great, they were so welcoming and warm upon our arrival. Our room was always clean and the food was delicious. We had a great time and would recommend it to others"


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Philip | 29 April 2016

"We had an awesome stay at the Gumtree Lodge, our room was really nice and comfortable, the staff was great, friendly and helpful. We really liked the entertainment area, we enjoyed playing pool, also the braai area was really great, and we had a few braai`s there during our stay. We had an overall g..."

more

"We had an awesome stay at the Gumtree Lodge, our room was really nice and comfortable, the staff was great, friendly and helpful. We really liked the entertainment area, we enjoyed playing pool, also the braai area was really great, and we had a few braai`s there during our stay. We had an overall great stay!"


"Great place to stay."

(South Africa) anonymous | 19 January 2016

"The Gumtree Lodge is a great place to stay to explore Durban. We were a large party and there was plenty of room! We stayed over Christmas and were able to use the braai. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful. We would recommend the Lodge and it was great value for m..."

more

"The Gumtree Lodge is a great place to stay to explore Durban. We were a large party and there was plenty of room! We stayed over Christmas and were able to use the braai. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful. We would recommend the Lodge and it was great value for money."


"Great Establishment"

(South Africa) neo | 19 January 2016

"My stay was very nice. I cant complain about anything. I will make use of this establishment in the future. Recommended."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) junior | 2 January 2016

"It was wonderful to stay at Gumtree. Staff friendly. It was great."


"Excellent accommodation"

(South Africa) Shuna | 27 December 2015

"Easy location to get to. Very clean rooms with ensuite facilities and a bar fridge. The staff was extremely helpful. We made good use of the swimming pool, pool table and braai area. I would highly recommend this to someone else."


"Heavenly experience"

(South Africa) Kedi | 21 December 2015

"Absolutely amazing service and of course value for money for a guesthouse in that elite estate."


"Lovely Stay As Usual"

(South Africa) Elzanne | 29 November 2015

"This is the third time we're staying at Gumtree Lodge and as always, we've been very satisfied. The rooms are clean and modern with quality linen. Breakfast is hearty with a wide spread (full English, cereals, yoghurt, muffins etc.). Staff are friendly and the establishment is situated in a lovely, ..."

more

"This is the third time we're staying at Gumtree Lodge and as always, we've been very satisfied. The rooms are clean and modern with quality linen. Breakfast is hearty with a wide spread (full English, cereals, yoghurt, muffins etc.). Staff are friendly and the establishment is situated in a lovely, quiet area.
Our go-to bed and breakfast when visiting Umhlanga and Durban.
"


"Very comfy two nights."

(South Africa) Marcelle | 30 October 2015

"Quiet, efficient, clean and comfortable. What more could one ask.? We only spent two nights at Gumtree Lodge but we slept well and had good service. Nice to stay "off the beaten track" in beautiful surroundings and yet easy access to highways for business."


"Very accommodating place"

(South Africa) Mbali | 29 September 2015

"The house is very warm and welcoming. The room we had was very private, breakfast was on par and had anything we needed. The ladies were there to assist and it is nestled in a perfect area of Mount Edgecombe country club. The pictures here do not tell a lot about this comfortable Gem. My stay was am..."

more

"The house is very warm and welcoming. The room we had was very private, breakfast was on par and had anything we needed. The ladies were there to assist and it is nestled in a perfect area of Mount Edgecombe country club. The pictures here do not tell a lot about this comfortable Gem. My stay was amazing."


"truly amazing lodge and excellent service. "

(South Africa) Nathan | 21 September 2015

"I enjoyed my stay even though it was for only 1 night, the 1 night showed me hospitality, amazing people, excellent service and a yummy breakfast. An awesome clean lodge I will recommend to any person. I had an amazing 1 night with Gumtree Lodge....thank you for all your kindness.
"


"Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) Madhav | 12 January 2015

"I had a pleasant stay at Gumtree Lodge. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The aircon was out of order but they provided us with a fan. The rooms were clean and neat. I will recommend them to others. "


"Happy client"

(South Africa) khan | 6 January 2015

"The stay here was beautiful. The staff were friendly. Everything was neat and clean. I will definitely visit Gumtree Lodge again and recommend them as well."


"Happy long weekend"

(South Africa) Mrs Swart | 1 April 2014

"Had a great stay. We arrived from the Eastern Cape after 10pm on a Friday night and we were greeted with smiles. Our room/bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was totally enjoyable the next morning. The staff was courteous and respectful at all times. We will be returning should we ever nee..."

more

"Had a great stay. We arrived from the Eastern Cape after 10pm on a Friday night and we were greeted with smiles. Our room/bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was totally enjoyable the next morning. The staff was courteous and respectful at all times. We will be returning should we ever need accommodation in Durban again."


"regarding my stay!"

(South Africa) Ms Ndunyana | 4 January 2014

"Had a great time, staff are friendly, breakfast is nice and I got a big room didn’t expect that. Had a peace of mind and their swimming pool is so clean."


"awesome stay @ the Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) Ms Shantal Naidoo | 4 July 2013

"My stay @ the Gumtree Lodge was awesome. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. The place is neat and tidy. I would recommend the Gumtree Lodge to all my friends and family. My friends and I booked the lodge by chance cause there was no other accommodation, but it was the best choice ever, ..."

more

"My stay @ the Gumtree Lodge was awesome. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. The place is neat and tidy. I would recommend the Gumtree Lodge to all my friends and family. My friends and I booked the lodge by chance cause there was no other accommodation, but it was the best choice ever, we actually look forward to spending more time @ the lodge. I've already recommended 1 of my colleague's to experience a weekend @ the lodge...Jay has made our stay a memorable 1 and a big thank you to her for her kindness and welcoming. We look forward to spending more weekends @ the Gumtree Lodge.

"


"Great Value"

(South Africa) Mr Potgieter | 29 September 2009

"Gum Tree Lodge is a great place to stay! My wife and I stayed last week (Sept 2009).

It is NOT a beach-side resort, so if you want to be able to walk to the beaches then dont stay here. It is not party-central either. However, we found it to be a great location. We wanted to be able to dri..."

more

"Gum Tree Lodge is a great place to stay! My wife and I stayed last week (Sept 2009).

It is NOT a beach-side resort, so if you want to be able to walk to the beaches then dont stay here. It is not party-central either. However, we found it to be a great location. We wanted to be able to drive around the local areas everyday and for that Gum tree is ideally located. Gum tree is actually in Mount Edgecomb, which is just outside Umhlanga. The nearest beach is Umhlanga and that is about 10 to 15 minutes drive away. There are also quite a few nice small beaches very local, such as La Lucia, Tongaat, La Mercy, Umdloti. Gum tree has a good few local shops (petrol station, Woolworths, pizza restaurant, postnet, etc) and the Gateway shopping centre is very nearby (about 7 minutes drive). Gum tree is right next to Mount Edgecomb golf estate, which is great for golfers, but it also means it is on the corner of the N2 highway and M41 main road, which provide easy access to Durban, Ballito, Sibaya, etc.

In terms of looks and interior Gum Tree gets top marks! Modern furniture, newly decorated, very clean and cosy. It looks just like a big house converted into a guest house, but a nice guest house. There is a stylish communal lounge with leather sofas and a large TV. Open-plan breakfast room, with one or two outside tables (recommended). Rooms are nice. We stayed in an executive suite that had a large bed, TV, dressing table, mini-fridge and en-suite bathroom (with huge corner bath and a shower). There is a swimming pool in the backyard, it was clean and looks great for socialising (although we did not swim in it, we went out to the beaches most days).

The Food is great! We had breakfast included (and did not expect much) but we were blown away. You get the choice of 2 or 3 cereals, yoghurt, fruit juice, teas, coffee, AND they offer you a cooked breakfast in the form of a very tasty and filling omelette or English breakfast, or toast, or any combination of eggs, bacon, etc to your request.

Overall this is a very good guest house and I would recommend it to anyone. We will certainly be going back. For the price we paid you cannot beat the value you get from this place. We went into a couple of beach apartments and even though they offer the benefit of a great sea view, the apartments tend to be a lot more expensive, small, very busy, fully packed and therefore the buildings easily get neglected and facilities are so much more basic. A guest house is just so much nicer. Go Gum Tree!"


"Great stay!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 12 August 2009

"Gumtree Lodge is an awesome establishment. It is very close to my office and my guest had a really lovely evening. The faucet was not working properly in the bathroom but she was moved immediately to another room. This is the sort of service we need in the greater SA - people we can trust and rely o..."

more

"Gumtree Lodge is an awesome establishment. It is very close to my office and my guest had a really lovely evening. The faucet was not working properly in the bathroom but she was moved immediately to another room. This is the sort of service we need in the greater SA - people we can trust and rely on. I will definitely be recommending Gumtree Lodge to all my business partners, clients, friends and family. Well done."


"Easter weekend 2009"

(South Africa) anonymous | 14 April 2009

"The stay at Gumtree Lodge was very nice. The breakfast was delicious and the welcome warm.

Thank you"


"Gumtree Review"

(South Africa) Mr afordofe | 3 January 2008

"My stay in Gumtree Lodge was an excellent experiences. This is truly a home away home style living where there is freedom of movement and intermingling with other guests. Friendly staff and a pleasant beautiful accommodation facilities. In the midst of all relevant areas ie. Umhlanga, Ballito, Durba..."

more

"My stay in Gumtree Lodge was an excellent experiences. This is truly a home away home style living where there is freedom of movement and intermingling with other guests. Friendly staff and a pleasant beautiful accommodation facilities. In the midst of all relevant areas ie. Umhlanga, Ballito, Durban e.t.c. set in a splendid golf course estate environment with lushy greenery....wow it was worth the affordable rands!"


"Review for Gumtree Lodge"

(South Africa) Ms Webb | 9 July 2007

"Our stay at Gumtree Lodge over the Durban July weekend was excellent. Our room was stunning. The staff as well as the host, Peter, were very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. Definitely worth another visit!"


"Pleasant and calming."

(South Africa) Mrs Botha | 2 May 2007

"I found Gum Tree to be a well presented and organised establishment. I particularly thought that the decor was stunning, the house itself was really something to look at. The staff was pleasant. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others."