Reviews of Rainbow Lodge


"Rainbow lodge "

(South Africa) Paula | 16 December 2019

"What a great place. With the most beautiful gardens on display. A place where you can just enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and relax. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. "


"My stay"

(South Africa) louise | 26 September 2019

"My stay was lovely, clean beautiful and quiet.

"


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) Veronica | 23 July 2019

"What a peaceful, restful lodge. Beautiful fireplace on a cold weekend. "


"RAINBOW LODGE YOUTH DAY WEEKEND 2019"

(South Africa) Riaan | 18 June 2019

"We stayed in Cottage 7 at Rainbow Lodge. Well equipped with a beautiful view over the dam and field. Our small dog also enjoyed the stay.

Fishing was tough but good size fish.

Will definitely see us again."


"Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Hanlie | 30 October 2018

"We stayed in unit 4, wonderful and very well looked after. Friendly owners. All dogs welcome which is a huge plus. Fishing was good even though dams are low."


"Beautiful Getaway"

(South Africa) ALYSSA | 10 July 2018

"Thank you Rainbow Lodge and Shaun for a lovely stay. Thanks for being so accommodating! We had such a lovely time, and the hospitality was great. We stayed in a cabin with a beautiful view of the dam. The place was pet friendly so we had lots of cute and cuddly visitors throughout our stay :) There ..."

more

"Thank you Rainbow Lodge and Shaun for a lovely stay. Thanks for being so accommodating! We had such a lovely time, and the hospitality was great. We stayed in a cabin with a beautiful view of the dam. The place was pet friendly so we had lots of cute and cuddly visitors throughout our stay :) There were also a range of wildlife in the area which kept us quite entertained.
Thanks Rainbow Lodge!
"


"Great stay"

(South Africa) mark | 25 June 2018

"Rainbow lodge was very relaxing and peaceful, situated on a very tranquil farm with an amazing view. The chalet was cosy and beautifully built in wood. We loved the fireplace and the bed was very comfortable and very snug and warm. It was so nice to be able to take our dog with us. We had a lovely w..."

more

"Rainbow lodge was very relaxing and peaceful, situated on a very tranquil farm with an amazing view. The chalet was cosy and beautifully built in wood. We loved the fireplace and the bed was very comfortable and very snug and warm. It was so nice to be able to take our dog with us. We had a lovely weekend away and it wasn't that far to travel from Johannesburg."


"The atmosphere was incredibly good"

Fortune Spear | 26 February 2018

"The architectural style,space,view outstanding.The bed standard is not as outstanding as the place ."


"The tranquility"

Chris Stewart | 21 January 2018

"The lodge as a whole is absolutely stunning. Peaceful. Tranquil. Nothing more is needed for an amazing and relaxing time away."


"Tranquility"

Nadine Oosthuyse | 1 January 2018

"Beautiful Gardens
Stunning views
Lovey walks
perfect setting
friendly service
what more does one want?"


"The tranquility and hospitality"

Lynette Harding | 21 August 2017

"We had a wonderful stayover, unfortunately only one night. Will definitely be returning. The tranquility was beyond description, hospitality was excellent and the bass was an easy, tasty catch. Please do not commercialise as it is exactly this fact (that your lodge is not a crowded resort) that make..."

more

"We had a wonderful stayover, unfortunately only one night. Will definitely be returning. The tranquility was beyond description, hospitality was excellent and the bass was an easy, tasty catch. Please do not commercialise as it is exactly this fact (that your lodge is not a crowded resort) that makes it extra special!"


"'"

(South Africa) Clinton Jackson | 6 May 2016

"This is our second visit to Rainbow Lodge and it was absolutely stunning. Got great exercise and plenty of rest. Our three Scottish terriers had a wonderful time swimming in the dam and going on long walks."


"Rainbow lodge feedback"

(South Africa) Kerry Walker | 1 April 2016

"Very quite lodge with Lovely gardens."


"Tranquil Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Elanie Jansen van Veuren | 10 December 2014

"Beautiful and serene location! Absolutely wonderful that it is pet friendly. "


"Great for relaxing"

(South Africa) Sarie Hamlyn | 17 December 2013

"Great relaxing place. Neat and spacious gardens. Great for people that just want to relax and do nothing."


"Pleasantly surprised "

(South Africa) Monique Viljoen | 22 September 2013

"Beautiful quaint cottages in a tranquil lovely setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay."


"Tranquility"

Peet van den Berg | 4 March 2013

"Loved eveything about the place. Perfect weather for the fireside and walks in the woods. We had a wonderful time. Thanks to Uli - wonderful accomodating host!"


"Wonderful time"

(South Africa) Hettie Botha | 11 December 2012

"We had a wonderful time! Beautiful place,view,flowers! Will surely visit again soon!"


"Unit 3 "

(Mozambique) Steve Hung | 26 September 2012

"Memorable times spent at Rainbow lodge. For those who love tranquility, no TV peaceful place; Rainbow lodge is the place to be. Lovely flowers all around. "


"Amazing, peaceful holiday"

(South Africa) Anja Sales | 13 January 2012

"My whole family absolutely loved the place, its peace and tranquillity was exactly what we needed.



The lodges are nice and cosy and sitting in front of the fireplace during the thunderstorms in the afternoon is the perfect setting.

Uli is a wonderful host, easy to talk to and ..."

more

"My whole family absolutely loved the place, its peace and tranquillity was exactly what we needed.



The lodges are nice and cosy and sitting in front of the fireplace during the thunderstorms in the afternoon is the perfect setting.

Uli is a wonderful host, easy to talk to and very accommodating. We will definitely return over and over again to this wonderful place.

We recommend this place to anyone who's looking to get away from city life, just to enjoy nature and get some 'r&r'. It's not just perfect for a family getaway, but as a romantic getaway for two as well."


"Friendly atmosphere"

(South Africa) Jean Tooley | 5 July 2011

"We really enjoyed our stay there. Only downfall was no TV or radio. Apart from that everybody was friendly. We will definitely go back there, this time with a radio. Thank you."


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Peter | 9 April 2018

"This place was unbelievably beautiful. It was better than we expected it to be. The manager who welcomed us was so helpful and friendly. The surrounding atmosphere of the place was peaceful and quiet. The chalet we stayed in didn't have a tv but we enjoyed it. It was relaxing. Everything else we nee..."

more

"This place was unbelievably beautiful. It was better than we expected it to be. The manager who welcomed us was so helpful and friendly. The surrounding atmosphere of the place was peaceful and quiet. The chalet we stayed in didn't have a tv but we enjoyed it. It was relaxing. Everything else we needed was there. The service was excellent. I have already recommended the lodge to others and we are planning to go back again. "


"Peaceful and scenic comfortable accommodation"

(South Africa) Errol | 4 April 2018

"We had such a wonderful and peaceful long weekend with beautiful scenery around us."


"Tranquility"

(South Africa) Louis | 12 March 2018

"Stayed in Unit 1, well equipped, neat, clean, tranquil and grounds well kept. Perfect place just to chill out. "


"Impressive stay"

(South Africa) Penny | 5 March 2018

"I have previously booked at holiday resorts and have been disappointed once we arrive to find it's nothing to what we saw on advertised pictures. This was the first place I can truly say was more beautiful than what we saw in the pictures. We got much more than what we expected. The place was well k..."

more

"I have previously booked at holiday resorts and have been disappointed once we arrive to find it's nothing to what we saw on advertised pictures. This was the first place I can truly say was more beautiful than what we saw in the pictures. We got much more than what we expected. The place was well kept. The atmosphere was just calming and soothing. It was tranquil. The place itself was clean, neat and tidy. We were quite comfortable and had everything we needed. The owner and the staff took good care of us. They were really friendly and accommodating. It's a lovely place. I have already recommended it to friends and we will be going back for a break away. "


"Tranquil stay"

(South Africa) Robin | 28 September 2017

"This was definitely the right place to be during this busy season. We wanted a place where we could just have some peace and quiet, and that is exactly what we got at this lodge. The place was perfectly clean and tidy. The room was spacious and we were comfortable. Everything we needed was available..."

more

"This was definitely the right place to be during this busy season. We wanted a place where we could just have some peace and quiet, and that is exactly what we got at this lodge. The place was perfectly clean and tidy. The room was spacious and we were comfortable. Everything we needed was available. The staff and the owners were friendly and accommodating. I admired the outside area. It was beautifully surrounded by a lake with it's tall trees. A refreshing site. I would go back again, and I'd recommend this lodge to anyone. "


"Peacefull Stay"

(South Africa) Barbara | 26 September 2017

"Had a wonderful two days in such a beautiful area. The lodge was clean and well fitted out and had all one needed for a short stay. Each lodge is a distance from other lodges and makes for private living. Will definitely go back"


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Colette | 17 July 2017

"The accommodation was lovely. Our unit was a nice quaint little wooden cottage, with everything in place and impressively clean. Perfect stopover and I would definitely recommend the place."


"Nice Experience"

(South Africa) Elmarie | 28 February 2017

"It was a nice environment and the place was situated in a quiet area. It was clean and the staff working there gave friendly service. Its a nice place to stay and I would recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone."


"What An Awesome Place"

(South Africa) Lana | 20 February 2017

"What a treasure I have found!! My weekend in the Rainbow Lodge was filled with the beauty of nature and much needed food for the soul! Such friendly hosts. Worth a definite second and third visit."


"Tranquil Breakaway"

(South Africa) Hector | 20 February 2017

"Rainbow Lodge's self catering facilities were great, everything you needed was available, including complimentary firewood for fireplace and braai, fantastic.
The unit was a fantastically snug and cozy log cabin and a great design.
The surroundings were beautiful, tranquil and absolutely sou..."

more

"Rainbow Lodge's self catering facilities were great, everything you needed was available, including complimentary firewood for fireplace and braai, fantastic.
The unit was a fantastically snug and cozy log cabin and a great design.
The surroundings were beautiful, tranquil and absolutely soul soothing after a hectic week.
Shaun was very pleasant, helpful and informative about the environment.
Absolutely relaxing stay, did not want to leave. Will definitely be back soon."


"Fantastic Experience"

(South Africa) Dan | 10 January 2017

"The atmosphere was outstanding and the Host was a very good guy. He made me feel at home and comfortable. The weather was just awesome while I was there and that made my stay extra perfect. The place is highly recommendable."


"Peaceful and tranquil"

(South Africa) Enicah | 23 December 2016

"What a beautiful place. The cabins are beautiful and cosy. The environment is to die for! I enjoyed my long quiet walks. Thank you for everything"


"A Home Away From Home. "

(South Africa) tanya | 9 October 2016

"For a small price you can stay in heaven. The little house was perfect for only the 3 of us and although we had some bad weather and terrible winds it didn’t spoil our stay.
When we made the booking we were informed that they are making the dam bigger so we can expect a different view, but it d..."

more

"For a small price you can stay in heaven. The little house was perfect for only the 3 of us and although we had some bad weather and terrible winds it didn’t spoil our stay.
When we made the booking we were informed that they are making the dam bigger so we can expect a different view, but it didn’t spoil our stay and the sand banks entertained our 5 month old puppy and my 3 year old son.
Privacy was important to us and the houses are quite a distance from each other which was perfect and the nature sounds at night is music to anyone’s ears!
Our stay was short but so worth it and we will definitely go again! Don’t expect luxury when you go, there is a TV with full dstv a braai and then a few essentials but I would advise you to make sure you have good company unless you are going alone.
It was a small break for us but we enjoyed and it didn’t cost an arm and a leg.
The host was friendly to and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible.
Thank you for a great time!!
"


"Fantastic Time"

(South Africa) Tracey | 16 August 2016

"We had really great stay, it was "Lekker”! I really liked that we were left to our privacy and weren’t disturbed unnecessarily, our unit was nice and quiet, and really comfortable. I also loved that the unit was serviced everyday, big plus there and everything was just as we saw on the website which..."

more

"We had really great stay, it was "Lekker”! I really liked that we were left to our privacy and weren’t disturbed unnecessarily, our unit was nice and quiet, and really comfortable. I also loved that the unit was serviced everyday, big plus there and everything was just as we saw on the website which is was great. We really enjoyed our time, thank you so much for the lovely stay."


"Awesome."

(South Africa) shane | 7 August 2016

"We had a fantastic weekend. The cottage no 5 was amazing, everything you could possibly need. Peace and quiet weekend away. Can't wait to go back to see the dams when they are full and producing good fish.
Thanks again Shaun. It was awesome."


"Comfortable and Enjoyable"

(South Africa) anonymous | 11 July 2016

"Beautiful and rustic, enjoyed the fireplace and scenery. Nice experience though, with comfortable accommodation. "


"One of the best getaways - yet."

(South Africa) Lourens | 11 July 2016

"At Rainbow Lodge we had one of the best getaways!

The lodge is secluded between acres and acres of plantation which gives you a great opportunity to enjoy the quiet and calm that the lodge provides!

The facilities are great! Braai area outside, fireplace inside. Benches all around..."

more

"At Rainbow Lodge we had one of the best getaways!

The lodge is secluded between acres and acres of plantation which gives you a great opportunity to enjoy the quiet and calm that the lodge provides!

The facilities are great! Braai area outside, fireplace inside. Benches all around the lodge for you to sit and enjoy the view.

Friendly staff and people! Clean and neat! Truly a holiday spot I will return to time and again!

Thank you Rainbow Lodge - this was truly a wonderful experience! "


"Fantastic getaway for peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Tom | 27 June 2016

"GREAT AND PEACEFUL!!! The perfect place for a short getaway."


"Rainbow Lodge Stay"

(South Africa) Denise | 6 June 2016

"We arrived late and they were waiting for us. Our lodge was clean. We had all we needed in the lodge. Our stay was super relaxing and the area is truly beautiful. We will be returning and recommend anyone to go. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay."


"Weekend Visit"

(South Africa) Colin | 30 May 2016

"We had a lovely stay at Rainbow Lodge. Log cabin no 5 is very cosy and comfortable. We also had a very friendly reception upon arrival."


"Peaceful Easy Feeling"

(Lesotho) Paul | 18 May 2016

"Lovely location with well-appointed cabins. Rainbow Lodge is the perfect place to unwind or take a break en route to other destinations. The manager Shawn and the dogs make the stay that much nicer. Hope to be back"


"Beautiful and relaxing"

(South Africa) Karen | 1 July 2015

"Beautiful, relaxing atmosphere. Well equipped cottage. We had such a nice stay. Just remember to bring warm clothes - even in summer!"


"Very nice place"

(South Africa) Jaco | 28 June 2015

"It was a very relaxing and very friendly place will definitely go there again. Nice view over the dam and wood already in place to make a fire. I was very impressed."


"Great getaway"

(South Africa) Clark | 27 March 2015

"We were looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway and that is exactly what we got at Rainbow Lodge. The hospitality was amazing. The care takers and staff were really friendly, when you pair all of that together along with lovely surroundings you get a very enjoyable break."


"A little piece of heaven"

(United Kingdom) Woodham | 11 March 2015

"It may not have excitement and electrical entertainment, but for a peaceful and relaxed get away, with excellent hosts, it is a little gem away from the noise and crowds.
Set by two small lakes and available for fishing breaks as well as a stopover on the way to Kruger, it's grounds are beautifu..."

more

"It may not have excitement and electrical entertainment, but for a peaceful and relaxed get away, with excellent hosts, it is a little gem away from the noise and crowds.
Set by two small lakes and available for fishing breaks as well as a stopover on the way to Kruger, it's grounds are beautiful. Individual character units are a delight and well appointed.
A family run business, so welcoming a family. Just love our stays from and to JNB airport."


"God given beauty"

(South Africa) Mrs Farnworth | 11 February 2015

"Congratulations on your choice of Manager and Manageress (Ben and Jana). They are a wonderful young couple and make it their business to make you feel very welcome at Rainbow Lodge. The cabin that we occupied was spotless and had all the necessary amenities. Thank goodness there was no TV, we co..."

more

"Congratulations on your choice of Manager and Manageress (Ben and Jana). They are a wonderful young couple and make it their business to make you feel very welcome at Rainbow Lodge. The cabin that we occupied was spotless and had all the necessary amenities. Thank goodness there was no TV, we could sit outside and enjoy the sunset and the surrounding beauty as it went to sleep. The gardens right from the entrance of the resort are magnificent and only wish I could have seen them in December when all the plants were in full bloom. One day when Neville and I retire this is the type of venue we would like to oversee. We will pass the message of goodwill onto all our friends and we will be seeing Ben and Jana soon. Regards Rene"


"Anniversary Bliss"

(South Africa) Mrs Naidoo | 15 December 2014

"My husband and I wanted to get away for our 26th wedding anniversary. Rainbow Lodge was perfect! We were warmly welcomed and shown to our cosy, clean and well-equipped cottage - full DSTv for my husband! The gardens are beautifully manicured and we enjoyed the breath-taking views from our cottage..."

more

"My husband and I wanted to get away for our 26th wedding anniversary. Rainbow Lodge was perfect! We were warmly welcomed and shown to our cosy, clean and well-equipped cottage - full DSTv for my husband! The gardens are beautifully manicured and we enjoyed the breath-taking views from our cottage patio. You have everything that you may need for a weekend getaway. We will definitely recommend this venue and will go back soon."


"Rainbow lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Smith | 12 December 2014

"It was a shock to realise that the establishment had no tv but they made up for that with the friendly service and helpfulness. The atmosphere was great. I hope to return again soon."


"Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Ms Neumann | 8 August 2014

"Thank you for a pleasant stay. Would recommend to others and make use of you again."


"Chalet 5"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 August 2014

"Fantastic hospitality, relaxing stay, amazing views, cosy fireplace and chopped wood supplied and stocked, what more can you ask for. Will definitely recommend Rainbow lodge to all my friends and be back to catch some trout."


"Most tranquil experience I have had in a long time"

(South Africa) Ms Nel | 19 July 2014

"What an experience! Rainbow Lodge is so breathtakingly beautiful and the peace and tranquility is indescribable! So sad that we only stayed over for one night, as I would've loved to stay there for an entire week!

Excellent value for money as well! The cabin was so well equipped with kitche..."

more

"What an experience! Rainbow Lodge is so breathtakingly beautiful and the peace and tranquility is indescribable! So sad that we only stayed over for one night, as I would've loved to stay there for an entire week!

Excellent value for money as well! The cabin was so well equipped with kitchen, fireplace and wood already chopped and ready for us when we got there to light the fireplace. The cabins are so cosy and warm.

We also enjoyed some fly fishing in the morning before we left. The lodge owners were so friendly as to borrow us a fly fishing rod.

We will definitely be back soon. I can strongly recommend this to anyone who wants to have a relaxing break away from city!"


"wonderful!"

(South Africa) Ms le roux | 27 June 2014

"My husband and I had such a wonderful weekend at Rainbow lodge. The hosts are so friendly and helpful, the accommodation is impeccable and the surrounding area is breathtaking. Would definitely recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone. Can't wait for our next visit."


"Refreshed Body, Mind and Spirit"

(South Africa) Mrs Shemmans | 2 June 2014

"Our stay at Rainbow Lodge was one I would never forget. It was like an oasis, a peaceful place to unwind and forget about the buzz of city life. We even tried to do some fishing. The cottage was clean and cosy with a fireplace.

We had a warm welcome from the managers, they made us feel at ..."

more

"Our stay at Rainbow Lodge was one I would never forget. It was like an oasis, a peaceful place to unwind and forget about the buzz of city life. We even tried to do some fishing. The cottage was clean and cosy with a fireplace.

We had a warm welcome from the managers, they made us feel at home. Rainbow Lodge will definitely see us again."


"Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Ms Lamprecht | 19 May 2014

"I had a very nice stay at the Rainbow Lodge and will suggest the place to others."


"lovely stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Hood | 16 January 2014

"Rainbow Lodge was absolutely heavenly. We fell in love with the little kitten at the lodge and would recommend this lodge to others."


"Heaven away from home"

(South Africa) Mrs VAN LEAR | 6 January 2014

"We had the most rewarding stay at Rainbow Lodge and managed to forget about all daily stresses as this is truly a place to chill and relax. The surroundings are magnificent and we kept a daily eye on the resident Black Cormorant and the Heron on the dam wall. Walks through the forest was invigoratin..."

more

"We had the most rewarding stay at Rainbow Lodge and managed to forget about all daily stresses as this is truly a place to chill and relax. The surroundings are magnificent and we kept a daily eye on the resident Black Cormorant and the Heron on the dam wall. Walks through the forest was invigorating and the owners Uli and Lily are incredibly friendly - there was not a thing we needed. The chalet was so clean and comfortable and the fireplace was wonderful on chilly days. I could not stop taking photos of the beautiful gardens with an abundance of Dahlias everywhere. It's the sort of place one goes back to."


"Good rest"

(South Africa) Ms van Niekerk | 19 December 2013

"The lodge was great, cabin designed beautifully, cosy and warm. The view is amazing, gardens inspiring and hosts just brilliant people. See u again."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Ms Hattia | 13 December 2013

"We had a lovely stay at Rainbow Lodge and will recommend it to others."


"19 - 20 October - Erasmus family"

(South Africa) Mrs Erasmus | 22 October 2013

"The owner was very friendly and helpful and let us stay as late as we wanted on Sunday which was very welcome as it was cold and wet outside and warm and cosy inside. All the amenities were available and the cabin is clean and the scenery outside beautiful. And all this at a very reasonable price ..."

more

"The owner was very friendly and helpful and let us stay as late as we wanted on Sunday which was very welcome as it was cold and wet outside and warm and cosy inside. All the amenities were available and the cabin is clean and the scenery outside beautiful. And all this at a very reasonable price - we will be back."


"Romantic, neat and warm Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Kay and Marco Barone | 12 August 2013

"Our stay at Rainbow Lodge was perfect in every way. It was just the two of us for a little romantic weekend away. The rooms are clean and have everything you need....the fireplace and fires we lit in the mornings and at night were amazing. The mist in the mornings and then the sun breaking through..."

more

"Our stay at Rainbow Lodge was perfect in every way. It was just the two of us for a little romantic weekend away. The rooms are clean and have everything you need....the fireplace and fires we lit in the mornings and at night were amazing. The mist in the mornings and then the sun breaking through were breath taking. We did many walks in the pine forest and had fun taking photos laying in the pine needles. We laughed a lot, talked a lot and all in all had a lot of fun. We are so going back. We will only go in winter though so we can enjoy the cold and the fireplace. Apparently in summer the flowers and trees are awesome. Uli, the owner, takes great pride in his grounds and flowers etc. A little bit of heaven. The host Uli is a very welcoming and friendly host."


"Tranquility"

(South Africa) Mr Garner | 5 July 2013

"What a discovery. Wonderful haven of tranquillity. Great comfortable log-cabin style chalets. We will be back."


"Romantic"

(South Africa) Ms Halliday | 8 May 2013

"We stayed at Rainbow lodge in April. It is a beautiful place, peaceful, gardens are neat and the cabin was cosy. Firewood was supplied and the fire place cleaned in the morning.
This was the first place that I stayed with that are actually true to the website.
I will definitely recommend it..."

more

"We stayed at Rainbow lodge in April. It is a beautiful place, peaceful, gardens are neat and the cabin was cosy. Firewood was supplied and the fire place cleaned in the morning.
This was the first place that I stayed with that are actually true to the website.
I will definitely recommend it to my friends and will revisit the lodge.
Thank you for your friendly staff.
"


"Quest for 0 defect ..."

(South Africa) Ms Beetge | 17 March 2013

"Stayed at Rainbow Lodge for the weekend. Superb weekend getaway. No traffic, just complete silence and country air. Stars so close you could almost touch them.
Cabin was clean, all essentials supplied, and more. Comfortable, together with fireplace in cabin.
Really quaint!!! All this and on..."

more

"Stayed at Rainbow Lodge for the weekend. Superb weekend getaway. No traffic, just complete silence and country air. Stars so close you could almost touch them.
Cabin was clean, all essentials supplied, and more. Comfortable, together with fireplace in cabin.
Really quaint!!! All this and only 2.5 hours from the rat race. Batteries recharged, and looking forward to going to work tomorrow.
"


"Best and Affordable Getaway from Joburg"

(South Africa) Mr Cilliers | 28 December 2012

"Rainbow Lodge was the best thing we could have done after a very hectic two years. It was quiet, tranquil and the accommodation was comfortable, well-equipped and welcoming. Our hosts, Uli and his wife always made sure that we were happy and comfortable.

The view of their immaculate garde..."

more

"Rainbow Lodge was the best thing we could have done after a very hectic two years. It was quiet, tranquil and the accommodation was comfortable, well-equipped and welcoming. Our hosts, Uli and his wife always made sure that we were happy and comfortable.

The view of their immaculate garden, the trout fishing ponds/dams and the rest of the farm was to die for. I literally sat on one chair for days just staring at the view and absorbing the quietness (and eating and sippping wine).

For any stressed out person who wants to get away from everything, this is the place to go. I guarantee no fishing enthusiast will get bored here!

If you don't plan in advance, like we did, Belfast is only 6km away. So you can stock up before or after you enter this paradise.
"


"Amazing Romantic Weekend Away"

(South Africa) Ms Joubert | 8 November 2012

"My boyfriend and I went to Rainbow Lodge for a romantic getaway and boy did we get a romantic getaway. The little log wooden cabin is nestled in the woods, next to the lake. It is adequately furnished and decorated. Everything you need is there. All you need to do is bring your own food. We had such..."

more

"My boyfriend and I went to Rainbow Lodge for a romantic getaway and boy did we get a romantic getaway. The little log wooden cabin is nestled in the woods, next to the lake. It is adequately furnished and decorated. Everything you need is there. All you need to do is bring your own food. We had such an amazing time. If you want to spoil the man or woman you love and want to give them an experience that will make them fall in love with you even more, this is the cabin to take them to. I will definitely go again. I loved it and so did my awesome boyfriend. Thanks Rainbow Lodge"


"Lovely Getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs Venter | 16 August 2012

"Rainbow Lodge was the perfect getaway for the long weekend. Lovely cosy cabin which was well equipped and very spacious! They provided more than enough wood for the fireplace over the very cold weekend!

A definite must for peace of mind and relaxation!"


"Rustic Log cabin"

(South Africa) Mr Jacobs | 4 July 2012

"Very basic log cabin for 2 people - good place to come and get away from it all. Fairly private as cabins are a short distance away from each other - no TV available. Has everything you would need to cook a meal. It has a nice fire place and friendly owner.

Will go back again."


"BEST STAY EVER"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 June 2012

"We had the most relaxing weekend ever, it was nice and cosy. will definitely return again and again. People were very friendly and pleasant. Our little puppy accompanied us, and there was no problem with that. The fireplace gave that last special touch to the place. Will recommend to anybody, they..."

more

"We had the most relaxing weekend ever, it was nice and cosy. will definitely return again and again. People were very friendly and pleasant. Our little puppy accompanied us, and there was no problem with that. The fireplace gave that last special touch to the place. Will recommend to anybody, they won't be disappointed!!!!"


"Wonderful romantic hide-away"

(South Africa) Mr & Mrs Duncan | 1 April 2012

"Rainbow Lodge was the perfect spot for our weekend getaway in Dullstroom. Our hosts were very accommodating - even though we arrived late on the Friday evening. The No. 5 log cabin is gorgeous, snug and perfect for a romantic retreat. The wood fireplace adds to the ambience and kept us perfectly war..."

more

"Rainbow Lodge was the perfect spot for our weekend getaway in Dullstroom. Our hosts were very accommodating - even though we arrived late on the Friday evening. The No. 5 log cabin is gorgeous, snug and perfect for a romantic retreat. The wood fireplace adds to the ambience and kept us perfectly warm despite some cold weather. The tranquil views and cosy cabin really refreshed these two weary city dwellers!

We would recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone, although we must mention that it is fully self-catering, so be sure to bring your own sugar/coffee/tea/dishwashing liquid etc. Otherwise, we can't wait to go back :)"


"HEAVEN"

(South Africa) Mrs H | 24 March 2012

"To me it was heaven! Exactly what I needed for where I am in my life. Very well equipped. Peaceful, haven't seen the stars so bright in many years, and pet-friendly. Will definitely return."


"Peace and quiet"

(South Africa) anonymous | 22 March 2012

"We enjoyed our week-end at Rainbow lodge very much! It was just the environment we were hoping for, lovely views, very peaceful, log fire and an otter that played in the dam while we watched. The cabins are quaint and cosy. Although the other cabins were inhabited we were hardly aware of others arou..."

more

"We enjoyed our week-end at Rainbow lodge very much! It was just the environment we were hoping for, lovely views, very peaceful, log fire and an otter that played in the dam while we watched. The cabins are quaint and cosy. Although the other cabins were inhabited we were hardly aware of others around. Thank you Rainbow Lodge for the rest and relaxation we were wanting. We will be back."


"Lovely!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 February 2012

"It is a lovely and peaceful place. Exactly what we were looking for! Kids and dogs enjoyed it very much! Lots of space to run around! Had some wonderful relaxing days! "


"A place of beauty"

(United Kingdom) Marilyn Bowden | 19 December 2011

"We can thoroughly recommend Rainbow Lodge. The 5 cabins, set around beautitful trout lakes, are private, comfortable and well equipped. We only stayed one night but would have enjoyed a longer stay, in the lovely gardens and forest walks. Uli, the owner, made us welcome and was very accommodating..."

more

"We can thoroughly recommend Rainbow Lodge. The 5 cabins, set around beautitful trout lakes, are private, comfortable and well equipped. We only stayed one night but would have enjoyed a longer stay, in the lovely gardens and forest walks. Uli, the owner, made us welcome and was very accommodating about changing our booking when we found that our initial date was unsuitable."


"Unpolished gem....."

(South Africa) Mr Pillay | 5 December 2011

"There are few things in life that can soothe a mans brow like clutching out and spending some time away from the hustle & bustle of the concrete jungle. This was one such experience. A mere 2 hour drive from JHB, I turned right down a gravel road lined with pine and blue wattle. Lazily passing a tra..."

more

"There are few things in life that can soothe a mans brow like clutching out and spending some time away from the hustle & bustle of the concrete jungle. This was one such experience. A mere 2 hour drive from JHB, I turned right down a gravel road lined with pine and blue wattle. Lazily passing a tractor hauling some firewood, I soon realised I had arrived, a small but inviting sign marking the way to Rainbow Lodge. As we cleared the rows of dense treeline, there it was, rolling lawns dabbled with spots of sunlight coming down through the canopy. A log cabin perched by the edge of a lake greeted us as we wound down the pathway to the office. Uli, the owner and host came up to our vehicle with a warm welcoming smile and asked to to please settle in and not worry about the paper work, unpleasantries later he said. We were pointed in the direction of Cabin 1, its private patio/braai area overlooking Dam 2. The cabin inside was rustic and charming, and for the most part, well appointed. We immediately set ourselves the task of settling in and enjoyed the feeling of calm and relaxation come over us as we stared out across the dam towards the rolling green hills beyond.

Free firewood, charcoal for the braai and a Cadac cylinder are provided as standard.

Overall it was a great experience and would definitely go there again. A liitle piece of paradise."


"What a different place!"

(South Africa) Mrs Duponsel | 28 November 2011

"My mum and sister were visiting from Mauritius and we joined up with the rest of the family living near Hoedspruit at this fabulous lodge. Unfortunately, it was only for 24 hours but what a relaxing environment! The hosts are very friendly and their love of nature quite obvious. The beautiful show ..."

more

"My mum and sister were visiting from Mauritius and we joined up with the rest of the family living near Hoedspruit at this fabulous lodge. Unfortunately, it was only for 24 hours but what a relaxing environment! The hosts are very friendly and their love of nature quite obvious. The beautiful show of flowers at the entrance of the lodge welcomes you as well as their friendly dogs. Very peaceful place, we will definitely come back for a long weekend and enjoy the walks."


"Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Mr Willemse | 7 November 2011

"The most peaceful place with breathtaking scenery. The log cabins remind you of the Swiss mountains. Friendly people and animals on the farm!"


"Peace and tranquility"

(South Africa) Mr Bennett | 9 October 2011

"Cosy, quiet and relaxing! Absolutely stunning surrounds and romantic in every way! Uli's vision for Rainbow Lodge can be seen in every aspect and detail of executing his dream of creating a peaceful and tranquil environment for the tired city folk.

We highly recommend this place to anyone ..."

more

"Cosy, quiet and relaxing! Absolutely stunning surrounds and romantic in every way! Uli's vision for Rainbow Lodge can be seen in every aspect and detail of executing his dream of creating a peaceful and tranquil environment for the tired city folk.

We highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a time out and wishing to rekindle the romance in front of the fireplace.

We had a lovely time and thank you once again.

John and Jane Bennett "


"Lovely stay!!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 October 2011

"Really enjoyed our time at Rainbow Lodge! Would recommend it to anyone! "


"Peace and relaxation"

(South Africa) Ms Simpson | 21 September 2011

"The rainbow lodge was lovely and peaceful. The accommodation was very comfortable and homely. We thought Uli was a great host and very welcoming. Would definitely return. PS. Happiness, the dog, is adorable."


"Peaceful retreat"

(Namibia) Helga | 11 September 2011

"Reception was very friendly. Accommodation is well kept, well equipped and very reasonably priced. Thanks for supplying chopped firewood (free of charge) next to the much-appreciated fire place; fishing gear available for hire also very reasonably priced (or free of charge if only used for a very sh..."

more

"Reception was very friendly. Accommodation is well kept, well equipped and very reasonably priced. Thanks for supplying chopped firewood (free of charge) next to the much-appreciated fire place; fishing gear available for hire also very reasonably priced (or free of charge if only used for a very short time).
The setting is beautifully tranquil and restorative. Visiting the lodge in spring the pastoral feeling was accentuated as the smell of daffodils filled the air and the almost sprouting trees lightened up the scenery. What a pity that we are so far away; this would have been a regular break away for us for sure. "


"Very pleasant stay at Rainbow Lodge"

(France) Sarah | 30 August 2011

"At the end of a dirt road, a wonderful place with a lake surrounded by very comfortable wood houses. Lovely accommodation, all made in wood, with a chimney, and very nice welcome by the owner."


"Tranquility"

(South Africa) Mr Enslin | 10 August 2011

"We really enjoyed the calm and serene atmosphere at Rainbow Lodge. Away from all the hustle of city life, one can find oneself again in this peaceful setting. Thanks to Uli and his dogs for welcoming us. We will definitely go again. "


"The end of the rainbow!"

(South Africa) Johann and Ria Fourie | 2 August 2011

"We only had one night to spend at Rainbow Lodge, however, we would have loved to spend a much longer time there. The tranquil, beautiful setting of this lodge is valuable and precious to us. We will definitely return, over and over again.

"


"Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Ms Bragg | 15 June 2011

"Rainbow Lodge, 2 hours from Johannesburg, near Dullstroom is a hidden treasure, a perfect weekend getaway for us, an idyllic rest-stop enroute to our Kruger Park Safari. Actually, Rainbow Lodge consists of a number of lodges bordering the east side of trout ponds with a majestic view of the the v..."

more

"Rainbow Lodge, 2 hours from Johannesburg, near Dullstroom is a hidden treasure, a perfect weekend getaway for us, an idyllic rest-stop enroute to our Kruger Park Safari. Actually, Rainbow Lodge consists of a number of lodges bordering the east side of trout ponds with a majestic view of the the valley. We were greeted by our cordial hosts, Uli and Lily Lauth and their friendly 4 dogs. Our cozy 2 bedroom cabin had a blazing fire in the comfy living room, a fully equipped kitchenette and porch/balcony overlooking the pond. We thoroughly enjoyed our walks there and talks with our hosts. Our teenager left his jacket behind and Uli drove all the way to Dullstroom to return it since he knew we'd be at the grocery store."


"A place to enjoy peace"

(South Africa) anonymous | 23 May 2011

"From a frantic egotistical battle, sound of sirens, impatient road users and other typical Johannesburg characteristics we were moved to a piece of heaven where the mist surrounds you in the morning, the water's reflection doubles the extraordinary landscape and where you hear nothing but the sounds..."

more

"From a frantic egotistical battle, sound of sirens, impatient road users and other typical Johannesburg characteristics we were moved to a piece of heaven where the mist surrounds you in the morning, the water's reflection doubles the extraordinary landscape and where you hear nothing but the sounds of birds and silence. This is the place where one can think and allow the warmth of the open fires to warm your 'soul(s)' in more than one way. Just a pity that time goes by so quickly. Thank you.
"


"A fantasy getaway come true"

(South Africa) Ms Mangaram | 26 April 2011

"Never in anyone's dreams can you describe this place in words. The surrounding in itself makes this place a magical escape from the real world. It’s almost so entrapping that you want to remain here forever. One could not ask for anything more. This was an absolute brilliant weekend away - and just ..."

more

"Never in anyone's dreams can you describe this place in words. The surrounding in itself makes this place a magical escape from the real world. It’s almost so entrapping that you want to remain here forever. One could not ask for anything more. This was an absolute brilliant weekend away - and just what the doctor ordered. The host was superb and we had ample privacy to carry on with our schedule.

The cabin we stayed in was to die for. The furnishings were exquisite and more then we could imagine. Absolute luxury.

To get up in the morning and see the mist on the dam - with trout prolifically jumping - something that one does not get to see often. The sunset at the dam is breathtaking.

The wine at night, after a good meal, by the fire place - lets you forget about the everyday stress.

This relaxing venue is top of the list for any of my getaways - and hopefully I can retire in a place like this. It’s heaven on earth....

"


"Piece of heaven"

(South Africa) anonymous | 3 April 2011

"The accommodation and surrounding area was just stunning. I loved the sound of nature all around and the peacefulness that just filled every open space. Thanks to our host for his friendly nature and helpfulness in finding us fun activities to do. Can't wait to go visit again!"


"Beautiful, peaceful and what an experience!!"

(South Africa) Mrs Beukman | 27 February 2011

"This was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed each moment, took hundreds of photos and what a blessing it was, just being able to be and not to be rushed by anything! It was so good to be there, if we can afford it, we will be back. My daughter from Dubai has gone back with very sweet memories. more

"This was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed each moment, took hundreds of photos and what a blessing it was, just being able to be and not to be rushed by anything! It was so good to be there, if we can afford it, we will be back. My daughter from Dubai has gone back with very sweet memories.

Thank you,
Lynda"


"Fabulous break-away!"

(South Africa) Mrs Steyn | 22 December 2010

"We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Rainbow Lodge. The log cabin was very comfortable and we had a beautiful view. There is so much peace and tranquillity and our host, Uli was extremely helpful. The kitchen needs a few more utensils and a TV or radio would be great. I would definitely recommend Rainb..."

more

"We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Rainbow Lodge. The log cabin was very comfortable and we had a beautiful view. There is so much peace and tranquillity and our host, Uli was extremely helpful. The kitchen needs a few more utensils and a TV or radio would be great. I would definitely recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone and we will go back to visit."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Ms Theron | 11 October 2010

"Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, everything was perfect. This was a great end to an excellent honeymoon, we couldn't have asked for anything more."


"Had a great stay"

(South Africa) Mr Labuschagne | 4 October 2010

"We had a really great stay at Rainbow lodge. Quiet, quaint stay with lovely hospitality."


"Peace and quiet"

(South Africa) Mrs Hattingh | 15 September 2010

"My husband and I were in desperate need of a break from the busyness of life. And that is exactly what we got! Rainbow lodge is a perfect, romantic oasis where you can just relax. We stayed in a cosy wooden house well equipped with a lovely fireplace. We would recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone who ..."

more

"My husband and I were in desperate need of a break from the busyness of life. And that is exactly what we got! Rainbow lodge is a perfect, romantic oasis where you can just relax. We stayed in a cosy wooden house well equipped with a lovely fireplace. We would recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone who seeks peace and quiet and needs to recharge."


"Heaven On Earth!"

(South Africa) Hennie & Elmarié Dercksen | 17 April 2010

"Heaven is the only way to describe what we experienced during our stay. There was no traffic, no city buzz, wonderful weather and last but not least, I am a terrified "public facility user" and what a pleasure. Excellent guys! We even inherited a family pet for the weekend to help us cope with m..."

more

"Heaven is the only way to describe what we experienced during our stay. There was no traffic, no city buzz, wonderful weather and last but not least, I am a terrified "public facility user" and what a pleasure. Excellent guys! We even inherited a family pet for the weekend to help us cope with missing our "children" at home, thanks to Happy. We told all we know about Rainbow Lodge and no doubt will be back for more! "


"A Place To Unwind."

(South Africa) Ms Constable | 13 April 2010

"We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Rainbow Lodge. It is a beautiful place with immaculate lawns and surrounds. Our host Uli was very hospitable and so were his friendly animals.

Our puppies had the time of their lives running free around the grounds. And we were able to relax and unwind i..."

more

"We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Rainbow Lodge. It is a beautiful place with immaculate lawns and surrounds. Our host Uli was very hospitable and so were his friendly animals.

Our puppies had the time of their lives running free around the grounds. And we were able to relax and unwind in absolute silence and tranquility.

We will be returning soon.

Thank you.


"


"A wonderful experience"

(South Africa) Mrs HARVEY | 15 March 2010

"What a wonderful weekend once again! Rainbow Lodge is the most beautiful and romantic place that we have ever been to and Uli is a great host. We will certainly be back over Easter! "


"Touch Base Again."

(South Africa) Mrs Coote | 8 March 2010

"As always, a peaceful relaxing stay, away from the hustle and the bustle of everyday life. The three dogs and Uli always make you feel very welcome. Thank you!"


"Awesome Stay."

(South Africa) Mr Houreld | 8 March 2010

"Great place to get away from all the rush and noise. Very well maintained lodge, great fishing. Myself and my wife will be back for more, for sure!
Thank you Uli
"


"Little Gem"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Reiach | 19 February 2010

"This was a little surprise package. Lovely log cabin looking out over a dam. It was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. Excellent place to do absolutely nothing!"


"Tranquillity"

(South Africa) Mr Paterson | 15 February 2010

"What a beautiful place in the most tranquil setting. We had a great time. The lodges are lovely and well stocked with everything you need. The two large dams provided some nice fishing. Just a pity we didn't catch any big ones, but we had fun hauling in loads of small bass. We will be back."


"Weekend wonder stay away"

(South Africa) Mr Greyling | 25 January 2010

"This place is just too wonderful, romantic, relaxing. The cottages are comfortable with everything and more for a stay that will be engraved into my memory for years to come. You can get oneself lost in the quietness and calmness of the surrounding country and the beautiful of stars at night. Defini..."

more

"This place is just too wonderful, romantic, relaxing. The cottages are comfortable with everything and more for a stay that will be engraved into my memory for years to come. You can get oneself lost in the quietness and calmness of the surrounding country and the beautiful of stars at night. Definitely will I go back and enjoy this place all over again, there is no way that one can visit this cosy place and be untouched by the healing atmosphere that lingers around. It is up to oneself to make best use of it.
Thanks to you at Rooms for Africa for bringing me into contact with this place and please forward my thanks to the owner and his wife for keeping such a beautiful place for use to enjoy. They truly live to make other people happy and God bless them with special talents.
"


"Rainbow lodge - review"

(South Africa) Ms Russo | 9 December 2009

"This was the best choice ever! This place is absolutely stunning and would love to go back there one day (to get married). The owner (Uli) has treated us with kindness and went out of their way to welcome us.
Thank you.
Rethana "


"Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Mr du Plessis | 30 November 2009

"We had a great weekend at rainbow lodge, the service was of the highest standard and staff were very friendly. The most beautiful surroundings, chalets, the 3 dams, walks in the the forest and some good fishing. We will definitely be visiting again.
Cheers to the 2 that got away"


"Short stay at Rainbow lodge"

(South Africa) Mr Bosch | 20 October 2009

"Decided to have a quick 1 night break-away and found the lodge very comfortable and the kids really enjoyed the garden and large lawns. I did some fly fishing in the dams. Although the electricity failed around 6pm with lots of rain, we were very promptly supplied with a gas stove and candles for th..."

more

"Decided to have a quick 1 night break-away and found the lodge very comfortable and the kids really enjoyed the garden and large lawns. I did some fly fishing in the dams. Although the electricity failed around 6pm with lots of rain, we were very promptly supplied with a gas stove and candles for the night. The cosy fire place inside and the candle light made for a very nice romantic stay."


"A Fantastic Visit."

(South Africa) Mr Ansley | 15 October 2009

"We absolutely loved Rainbow lodge. From its warm and friendly management who come out to greet you as you arrive, to the beautiful little log cabins surrounded by tranquil fishing area's, and lush vegetation. Our every expectation was filled as we got into lots of relaxing, loads of fishing and braa..."

more

"We absolutely loved Rainbow lodge. From its warm and friendly management who come out to greet you as you arrive, to the beautiful little log cabins surrounded by tranquil fishing area's, and lush vegetation. Our every expectation was filled as we got into lots of relaxing, loads of fishing and braai'ing at sunset. It was wonderful.

Also we found the people in the surrounding towns of Belfast and Dulstroom friendly, helpful and easy to get along with.


Thank you Rainbow lodge for making us feel so welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will definitely stay at Rainbow Lodge again.
"


"A Come back little place"

(South Africa) Mrs Jordaan | 30 September 2009

"What a relaxing, hide-away weekend to do absolutely nothing! "The shack" I will call this paradise.
"


"Sandy Harvey"

(South Africa) Mrs HARVEY | 17 August 2009

"We had a wonderful time at Rainbow Lodge. The rooms were spotless, well kept and very comfortable. A wonderful place for a romantic weekend getaway. We will certainly be back in the very near future!"


"Great Breakaway"

(South Africa) Mr Reynhardt | 17 August 2009

"What a lovely place. Beautiful scenery and a great atmosphere. I suggest that a person must stay at least 2 nights. The iron stove makes the place. Wood is provided and you burn the wood all night in the stove. Another good suggestion is to bring your own coffee pot and place on the stove and you ca..."

more

"What a lovely place. Beautiful scenery and a great atmosphere. I suggest that a person must stay at least 2 nights. The iron stove makes the place. Wood is provided and you burn the wood all night in the stove. Another good suggestion is to bring your own coffee pot and place on the stove and you can have warm coffee all night. A very romantic atmosphere. Don't get put off by the dirt road. The road is in good condition.
Just enjoy it with somebody special in your life.....
"


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Ms Panter | 6 August 2009

"It was awsome a pleace, it has every thing you need and more."


"Rainbow Lodge"

(South Africa) Mrs Kruger | 3 August 2009

"The chalet was very clean, cosy and well equiped. The view is fantastic from the chalet, it is quiet and two restful days give energy to work again. It is nice to bring your dog with, she had lots of fun also. Thanks for a wonderful time."


"Absolutely delightful!!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 28 July 2009

"What an absolutely delightful little place. So good that we extended our stay there by one day! Apart from a small glitch with the gas heating the water on friday night which was dealt with promptly, all was good!!! Very Romantic and restful!!!!"


"A Stunning Little Place"

(South Africa) anonymous | 20 July 2009

"We had so much fun there at Rainbow Lodge. The lodges are so cute, clean and cozy. The nature is even better! Even the doggies had a ball.
Very impressed, will definitely come again!
"


"Rainbow Lodge stay"

(South Africa) Ms Taverner | 13 July 2009

"I found the Lodge itself very pleasant and appreciated the relaxed atmosphere as well as the uniqueness of each cottage. What I sought was a place to be on my own and comfortable and what I found was warm hospitality sensitive to my needs and an incredible calm. A place to recharge one's batteries..."

more

"I found the Lodge itself very pleasant and appreciated the relaxed atmosphere as well as the uniqueness of each cottage. What I sought was a place to be on my own and comfortable and what I found was warm hospitality sensitive to my needs and an incredible calm. A place to recharge one's batteries indeed! I believe that the flexibility of the management is something that will enable me to return alone or with my family - even with a loved one. The cabin was spacious but cozy and the original woodwork fascinating.

Efficient administration with minimal fuss has been achieved here and thus gave me more time to enjoy my break. Thank you very much. Any association with a place like Rainbow Lodge can only be an advantage to a business like yours."


"Brill, as usual"

(South Africa) Mr Roberts | 8 April 2009

"This is the second time we have stayed at Rainbow Lodge and I must say we love it. If your looking for a quiet, tranquil get away, this is the place to hide. It is well equipped and very clean and cosy. I would recommend this little retreat to anyone. Thank you again."


"Place to chill out"

(South Africa) Mr Hartzer | 16 March 2009

"Rainbow Lodge is well situated to explore the area - Dullstroom some 30km away and Sabie and Graskop areas are all within a day visit reach. The quiet and beautiful area contributes to a chilling out experience next to nothing - home from home with a rent a dog to make it even more pleasant. The wea..."

more

"Rainbow Lodge is well situated to explore the area - Dullstroom some 30km away and Sabie and Graskop areas are all within a day visit reach. The quiet and beautiful area contributes to a chilling out experience next to nothing - home from home with a rent a dog to make it even more pleasant. The weather was not too pleasant during the last two days but not once did we even contemplate to start a fire in the fire place as the well equipped wooden hut is well insulated and meets the requirements for a relaxing stay. The fishing is a bonus as I could practice both fly fishing for trout and I could also do some spinning in the other dam for Bass. Will I revisit? - Definitely YES!"


"Very relaxing"

(South Africa) anonymous | 28 December 2008

"We really needed to unwind. It was a decision well taken to make our reservation at Rainbow Lodge. We enjoyed our stay, and it was very relaxing with no one or anything bothering you. We thoroughly enjoyed our trout fishing. We will recommend Rainbow Lodge to family and friends.
"


"A great place to visit"

(South Africa) A Croly | 25 November 2008

"This is a fabulous place if you want to have a chilled weekend away. The facilities are incredible and the relaxed atmosphere really lets you kick back and relax. This is definitely a place that you will visit more than once. "


"Cosy getaway"

(South Africa) The Wades | 10 November 2008

"This is most certainly one of the most enjoyable and relaxing weekend getaways we have had. The log cabin was very comfortable and cosy. We were surrounded by peace and tranquillity. If you are a dog lover, this is a great place to be. The lodge dogs Scruffy and Happy made us feel very welcome, as..."

more

"This is most certainly one of the most enjoyable and relaxing weekend getaways we have had. The log cabin was very comfortable and cosy. We were surrounded by peace and tranquillity. If you are a dog lover, this is a great place to be. The lodge dogs Scruffy and Happy made us feel very welcome, as did Uli and Lily our hosts. If you enjoy mountain biking, the gravel road to Dullstroom and Machadodorp provided some good riding. No traffic, just great scenery. Rainbow Lodge is on our calendar for a return visit in the new year with some of our mountain biking friends. We can recommend Rainbow Lodge."


"Serenity"

(South Africa) Ms Strijdom | 15 September 2008

"In searching for a weekend retreat to really get away from it all, I found Rainbow Lodge on the internet. It looked idyllic and did not disappoint me in this regard. It is also close enough to enjoy a morning outing to Dullstroom. At the lodge, don't expect TV's / satellite & luxury, but expect comf..."

more

"In searching for a weekend retreat to really get away from it all, I found Rainbow Lodge on the internet. It looked idyllic and did not disappoint me in this regard. It is also close enough to enjoy a morning outing to Dullstroom. At the lodge, don't expect TV's / satellite & luxury, but expect comfort, be prepared to adopt an enthusiastic dog or 2 for the weekend to enjoy your walks with you, a snuggle in front of the fireplace ... and absolute tranquility. I believe that the intention is to develop an estate there. While I can understand it from an economic point of view, it would rob the place of its charm. I hope to get there again before it changes too much!"


"Restful Respite"

(South Africa) Mrs Tod | 21 August 2008

"It was wonderful to have a haven to come to after a hard day's work in a cold church! After overcoming the chimney problem (we did not realize the chimney was blocked the first time we had a fire so this resulted in more than one sense of the word 'smoked'!). The beds were very comfortable and we wi..."

more

"It was wonderful to have a haven to come to after a hard day's work in a cold church! After overcoming the chimney problem (we did not realize the chimney was blocked the first time we had a fire so this resulted in more than one sense of the word 'smoked'!). The beds were very comfortable and we will bear this place in mind when next we need to be in the area."


"Rather take log cabin"

(South Africa) anonymous | 18 August 2008

"I think rainbow lodge is a fantastic little holiday getaway. If you are looking for a romantic getaway and beautiful surroundings this is definitely a must. Just be sure not to accept the cottage at the back of the house, rather take a log cabin.
"


"Rejuvenation!"

(South Africa) Rochelle | 28 July 2008

"Having read previous excellent reviews of Rainbow Lodge, I was still pleasantly surprised by just how special this little retreat is. Warm, comfortable, good quality everywhere you look and the most amazing view I have seen in a long time. We will certainly be back for a rejuvenating top up!
more

"Having read previous excellent reviews of Rainbow Lodge, I was still pleasantly surprised by just how special this little retreat is. Warm, comfortable, good quality everywhere you look and the most amazing view I have seen in a long time. We will certainly be back for a rejuvenating top up!

Booking through Rooms for Africa was also the most painless booking experience imaginable.

Thank you for facilitating a much needed refresh of body and soul."


"A quiet haven"

(South Africa) Ms Daubney | 21 July 2008

"We enjoyed the quiet stay very much. Wonderful views, good trout dams, long forest walks and comfortable accommodation. Enjoyed fires in a wonderful fireplace in the lounge and appreciated being able to take my doggy with to enjoy the vast grass area to run around in."


"A little bit of heaven.."

(South Africa) Ms Muller | 8 July 2008

"A little bit of heaven fell from the sky one day, it landed in a place not so very far away..

This place is called Rainbow Lodge. My boyfriend and I contacted the owners at 4pm on the day before we arrived, trying to find somewhere cute and affordable to stay at the very last minute, and Ra..."

more

"A little bit of heaven fell from the sky one day, it landed in a place not so very far away..

This place is called Rainbow Lodge. My boyfriend and I contacted the owners at 4pm on the day before we arrived, trying to find somewhere cute and affordable to stay at the very last minute, and Rainbow Lodge came to the rescue. They put us in one of their large cabins overlooking the prettiest trout dam and the rambling foothills of the Steenkampsberge.The dam is surrounding by gorgeous benches and tables with jasmine covered pergolas. The cabin itself was equipped with everything, right down to the toothmug in the bathroom. The first thing we saw when we arrived were about 6 sunbirds feeding on the aloes.

We had a brilliant weekend in an incredibly tastefully furnished and equipped little cabin, with oodles of firewood and feather eiderdowns on the beds. What a luxury! and at such affordable rates too!"


"A pot of gold at the end of the rainbow"

(South Africa) Mr Bentz | 29 June 2008

"The wooden cottage (number 2) reminded me of the house Heidi and her grandpa lived in. This served to highten our enthusiasm as we imagined ourselves living on the foothills of the Alps. The cottage appeared small as we arrived but to my amazement and joy, was much more spacious than anticipated! It..."

more

"The wooden cottage (number 2) reminded me of the house Heidi and her grandpa lived in. This served to highten our enthusiasm as we imagined ourselves living on the foothills of the Alps. The cottage appeared small as we arrived but to my amazement and joy, was much more spacious than anticipated! It had all the "plug-in" appliances a city dweller could ask for to make his mid-week getaway as comfortable as possible. The fireplace was instrumental in setting the mood and was seldom without a crackling fire. Through the efforts of the staff, the wood supply never dwindled or ran out. The shower was fantastic and the most difficult decision of the week was whether to spend more time in the shower or in front of the fire! The toilet seat is a work of art. Well done! Early morning strolls around the dams as well as leisurely walks at dusk in the forest added to an unforgettable experience. Rainbow Lodge has, after one visit, become our vacation spot of choice whenever we are in the area."


"Peaceful rest"

(South Africa) Ms Weber | 25 June 2008

"What a great weekend get away! Rainbow Lodge, with its idyllic setting is an absolute undiscovered gem!

The small romantic log cabins offer you everything you need and is well furnished and equipped.

Waking up and looking at the sunrise whilst still lying in bed has made Rainbow L..."

more

"What a great weekend get away! Rainbow Lodge, with its idyllic setting is an absolute undiscovered gem!

The small romantic log cabins offer you everything you need and is well furnished and equipped.

Waking up and looking at the sunrise whilst still lying in bed has made Rainbow Lodge one of my favourite getaway spots!

"


"Perfect escape"

(South Africa) Ms James | 17 June 2008

"Tranquillity at its best. Perfect escape from the rat race of Johannesburg. Setting is wonderful, cabins cosy. Will definitely be back again!"


"Amazing"

(South Africa) Mrs Vermaak | 29 April 2008

"The place was amazing, so peaceful and quiet the chalet was warm and cosy.
And the fireplace was the best especially during the cold nights. We had a wonderful time and they were so kind to let my dog Trompie come with that was kind of them he enjoyed it so much and we got a wonderful rest witho..."

more

"The place was amazing, so peaceful and quiet the chalet was warm and cosy.
And the fireplace was the best especially during the cold nights. We had a wonderful time and they were so kind to let my dog Trompie come with that was kind of them he enjoyed it so much and we got a wonderful rest without worrying about Trompie.

Thank you so much."


"Total relaxation"

(South Africa) anonymous | 24 February 2008

"Peaceful! Quiet! Beautiful scenery! Loved our romantic little cabin. Will definitely go back again! And again.."


"Rest and relaxation"

(South Africa) Mrs Disney | 3 January 2008

"We had a fantastic time! The accommodation was perfect and catered for all our needs. As for the fishing we caught nothing less than a kg and there are plently of fish. The surroundings are beautiful and the gardens are pretty and well kept. I would recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone who is looking..."

more

"We had a fantastic time! The accommodation was perfect and catered for all our needs. As for the fishing we caught nothing less than a kg and there are plently of fish. The surroundings are beautiful and the gardens are pretty and well kept. I would recommend Rainbow Lodge to anyone who is looking to rest and unwind."