Reviews of The Terrace


"Hidden gem"

(South Africa) Stephnie Fourie | 7 January 2015

"What a lovely place! The rooms were stunning and well-equipped. The included breakfast was also delicious. A definite must for anyone wanting to stay and relax."


"Pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Trish Morris | 21 September 2014

"We were well looked after by considerate staff. Our room was comfortable and spotless."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Phoenix Motaung | 5 December 2012

"Place was absolutely stunning! Immaculate and refreshing.



Its a real pity that we only stayed there for one night!



Lovely place and friendly people.

Thank you Cassie for the breakfast packs."


"A beautiful retreat"

(South Africa) Mala thilakdhari | 3 January 2012

"A place that we will not forget. The apartment was absolutely beautiful. The views from the terrace were breathtaking. The entire setting of The Terrace is awesome. The sumptuous breakfast was divine. The Terrace certainly has a positive aura about it. My boys and I enjoyed the afternoon at th..."

more

"A place that we will not forget. The apartment was absolutely beautiful. The views from the terrace were breathtaking. The entire setting of The Terrace is awesome. The sumptuous breakfast was divine. The Terrace certainly has a positive aura about it. My boys and I enjoyed the afternoon at the pool. An awesome experience. Definitely going back just to spend a few nights at The Terrace. Thanks Casper! You're a star.

Mala Thilakdhari"


"Value for money"

(South Africa) Louise Knight | 22 September 2011

"This was a great location for me to be able to easily get to the appointments that I had and there was a beautiful view. The facilities were fine for business travel and it was clean and neat. It was a very windy couple of days and that may have affected the Internet access, which I had trouble with..."

more

"This was a great location for me to be able to easily get to the appointments that I had and there was a beautiful view. The facilities were fine for business travel and it was clean and neat. It was a very windy couple of days and that may have affected the Internet access, which I had trouble with, but I appreciated the assistance that I received from the manager. If I'm back in East London at any point, I'll be back."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Christine Snyman | 20 June 2011

"Awesome views, very friendly host and comfortable accommodation!"


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Jason Smith | 25 January 2011

"Wonderful accommodation with friendly, helpful hosts and great breakfasts. Thanks guys."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Herbie Nicholson | 5 July 2009

"Most enjoyable stay."


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Vaughn Jacklin | 5 March 2009

"We spent one night here and were delighted with the room and decor. The manager was very pleasant and the breakfast was great. we would highly recommend it ."


"Great value for money. "

(South Africa) Gill Bechard | 6 January 2009

"Thank you for your amazing hospitality. Great value for money. Great view. Great accommodation

Will recommend to all."


"Excellent host "

(South Africa) Marian De Beer | 9 September 2008

"Have never had such good service and hospitality ever. Was impressed with the homely atmosphere and beautiful surroundings. Casper was a great host"


" Highly recommended."

(South Africa) Brian Dixon | 14 August 2008

"Our hosts Casper and Mare were top class and were always available to see if we wanted anything. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. The staff were very efficient, pleasant and unobtrusive."


"Excellent."

(South Africa) Roger Wood | 4 February 2008

"An establishment I will recommend to others. Excellent breakfast and very warm welcoming host."


"Its refreshing!"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 11 January 2008

"The Terrace blew us away. Its refreshing! The hosts were very welcoming and we felt at home. Even though I originally come from East London, I felt like I was in a resort in an exotic island. I would definitely recommend the Terrace to anyone I know who is going to East London. Out of a scale of 1 -..."

more

"The Terrace blew us away. Its refreshing! The hosts were very welcoming and we felt at home. Even though I originally come from East London, I felt like I was in a resort in an exotic island. I would definitely recommend the Terrace to anyone I know who is going to East London. Out of a scale of 1 - 10, I give it 10!"


"Recommendable"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 3 January 2008

"Would definitely go back! Thanks guys!"


"Hosts went the extra mile"

(South Africa) Erika Stockton | 29 December 2007

"My friend and I had a fantastic stay. Beautiful pool and lovely clean, airy rooms. A wonderful family that made us feel 100% welcome, they were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful, they really went the extra mile. The maids too were helpful, pleasant and friendly. Loved their dog Bisky, wh..."

more

"My friend and I had a fantastic stay. Beautiful pool and lovely clean, airy rooms. A wonderful family that made us feel 100% welcome, they were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful, they really went the extra mile. The maids too were helpful, pleasant and friendly. Loved their dog Bisky, who added to the wonderful stay. The beach and lagoon are beautiful and overall would recommend to anyone, and hope to and look forward to returning one day soon."


"Hard to beat"

Anonymous | 1 September 2007

"As a visitor to many B&B's throughout South Africa and sub Saharan Africa I get to see many 'variations on a theme'! I found The Terrace to be very tastefully decorated, the rooms are roomy, very comfortable and relatively private - the view over the golf course out to sea is lovely. Shower was fant..."

more

"As a visitor to many B&B's throughout South Africa and sub Saharan Africa I get to see many 'variations on a theme'! I found The Terrace to be very tastefully decorated, the rooms are roomy, very comfortable and relatively private - the view over the golf course out to sea is lovely. Shower was fantastic - not lacking in water pressure nor available hot water - both luxuries in some establishments. The breakfasts would be hard to beat and Maree is a lovely hostess.



Thanks to Maree and all at the The Terrace for the warm hospitality, much appreciated! "


"Good stay"

(Germany) Edgar Blatt | 28 April 2009

"Stayed 2 nights at The Terrace.

Terrace and pool are great.

Because there is no shower curtain, bathroom under water after shower.

Safe not fixed, could easily be taken.

Nevertheless over all a good stay."


"Very comfortable place."

(South Africa) Paul | 9 May 2016

"Very comfortable place and nice reception from the owners."


"The Terrace"

(South Africa) Vicky | 22 May 2015

"I had a good stay at The Terrace. It was quiet and peaceful. The rooms were clean and spacious. Thank you for a lovely time."


"Lovely stay!"

(United States) anonymous | 31 August 2014

"We had a lovely visit. The Terrace was quite clean, and had a beautiful pool, as well as a hair salon and beauty spa. I would definitely recommend!"


"Very welcoming and relaxing"

(Australia) anonymous | 10 December 2013

"Definitely highly recommend. Would love to go back. Very friendly and clean. Close to beautiful beach and plenty of shops and restaurants."


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Ms van der merwe | 27 November 2013

"Thank you for a lovely stay. We will most definitely recommend this to others."


"Relaxing and comfortable stay"

(South Africa) Ms Tweedie | 5 June 2013

"I had a great stay at the Terrace. The rooms are spacious and are most comfortable. I was not disturbed by any of the other guests and I had a very pleasant stay whilst travelling for work. "


"Great place"

(Netherlands) Mrs Jager | 29 December 2011

"We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here and regretted not booking for a longer period. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the beds extremely comfortable. The setting was peaceful and homely.

A place to book."


"The Terrace"

(South Africa) Ms Spooren | 23 October 2011

"It is a lovely guesthouse with an amazing view! Very nice accommodation, great hospitality and delicious breakfast! "


"Excellent service"

(South Africa) Mr Dafel | 18 January 2011

"The service and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms were very neat and presentable."


"No fleas, please!"

(South Africa) Mr Howard | 13 November 2010

"I'm convinced that the vast majority of B&B operators never "test" sleep in their rooms themselves. At The Terrace, we experienced...

No soap dish in the shower - nowhere to place one's soap/shampoo.
No door or privacy curtain at the entrance to the shower/toilet area.
The kitchen ..."

more

"I'm convinced that the vast majority of B&B operators never "test" sleep in their rooms themselves. At The Terrace, we experienced...

No soap dish in the shower - nowhere to place one's soap/shampoo.
No door or privacy curtain at the entrance to the shower/toilet area.
The kitchen faucet was very loose - we were hesitant to use it.
Tail-end of the toilet paper roll. Had to ask for more, upon arrival.
We intended sleeping in. Alas, at 07:00 someone outside insisted on banging their broom loudly against the walls, while sweeping outside.
To top it off, we were bitten by fleas throughout the night - something that we only became aware of a few hours after checking out. ...and no, we didn't bring fleas with us!

Once bitten....


ResAfrica
Est responded 25/11/2010 - 17:45 with the following:
We have already replied to Mr Howard and offered him a full refund or a free weekend stay should he wish. However he did not even respond to our e-mail. I have already had communication with Rooms for Africa and I will forward that e-mail to you.
Before and after Mr Howard many people stayed in the same room and in the five years and many happy customers we have never had any complaints. Me and my wife stayed in a five star establishment a few weeks ago and also at about seven their staff were cleaning the pool area below our room from the previous night, to expect absolute silence in a public place is a bit much to ask. Their bathroom, bath, shower and toilet is all in one room in modern open plan setup, our bathrooms is in separate room and from the room you do have privacy but a semi open plan in the design, maybe this is a bit modern for Mr Howard. We do our outmost to ensure that everything is in place and that our visitors is happy. In the room is pamphlets for the customers to rate our service and facilities as well as any suggestions and he has not used this pamphlets but choose to make these comments to rooms for Africa. As far as the fleas is concerned we fumigate our establishment regularly and treat the linen bedding to ensure hygiene. Could be possible, but the night before and after the room was occupied and no complaints in this regards was made.
This a reasonably serious reviews and I can assure you that we will make every effort to see that our client have a comfortable stay. I have already placed a soap basket in the shower fumigated the whole establishment and is considering placing a door to the bathroom to give visitors the choice to leave it open or close. This particular bathroom the shower is behind a clear glass door.

I would prefer this review not to appear on our window as it will have a negative effect.
As in all business, you do get customers that is very hard to please and Mr Howard seems to fall in this category ."


"Nice, but?"

(South Africa) Mr Welby-Cooke | 9 May 2010

"Lovely place with a great breakfast, but slightly on the unorganised side. Were met by the housekeeper that didn't really seem to know what was going on. Once we were settled it ended up being an okay experience."


"Welcoming"

(South Africa) Mrs Kohler | 2 April 2010

"We were very happy with the facility at The Terrace - very welcoming,great breakfast - a great find. Especially convenient for an overnight stay en-route from Durban to George. Thank you "


"Nicely Set Out"

(South Africa) Mr Gilmartin | 20 March 2010

"We only stayed the one night but it was very nice. Lovely breakfast and very helpful owners."


"Our first stay in East London"

(Belgium) Mr hermans | 3 March 2010

"Very warm and pleasant atmosphere, lovely 5 star rooms and services. Just perfect and we can advise everybody to go to this wonderful place."


"Great Stay!"

(South Africa) Mr peterson | 3 March 2010

"Excellent place. Host is very hospitable and accommodating. Had a great stay!"


"Nice Place"

(Germany) Mr Menzel | 30 January 2010

"We had a nice stay in a nice place.

Rainer and Martina"


"The Terrace - East London"

(South Africa) Ms Nair | 31 August 2009

"The accommodation and service at the establishment was excellent and the owner and staff were very welcoming and pleasant.

I will recommend this to my colleagues and friends.


"


"Impressed"

(South Africa) Mr Buswell | 27 May 2009

"Very clean, comfortable accommodation. I highly recommended The Terrace and will most definitely be staying there again in the future."


"Great getaway!"

(South Africa) Mrs Kemp | 12 January 2009

"Very comfortable place, with clean and modern rooms. One feels very at home, (even with Biscuit the dog,) yet still private. We will definitely recommend it to anyone! Thank you!"