Reviews of Kure Kure @ Van Haven


"I can't help myself!"

(South Africa) Tashreeq | 2018-10-09 00:00:00.0

"My family loves Hermanus (we call it our second home) and Kure Kure offers market related self-catering rates, with 3min walk to the beach and 7min into Town. Bliss..."


"Comfortable and relaxed"

Vicky de Swardt | 2017-11-14 13:37:41.0

"we enjoyed our stay, everything was perfect"


"Enjoyable "

Ferial Allie | 2017-10-08 17:33:29.0

"We loved the privacy. The kids thoroughly enjoy themselves with the toys provided and the garden. It is a child friendly establishment and I will surely stay there "


"A Mid-Week Special That Was More Than Special"

(South Africa) Muzzammeel | 2017-07-22 00:00:00.0

"Upon arrival we were delightfully welcomed with scones and sherry. The place was tidy and fully outfitted with just about everything. Never needed to ask for anything except for a specialty item I requested from Nadia which she promptly acquired for me.

I reveled in the peaceful environmen..."

more

"Upon arrival we were delightfully welcomed with scones and sherry. The place was tidy and fully outfitted with just about everything. Never needed to ask for anything except for a specialty item I requested from Nadia which she promptly acquired for me.

I reveled in the peaceful environment and the relaxing sound of breaking waves in the distance.

It was well worth the stay and fondly anticipating our next visit.
Thank you "


"What a pleasant stay!"

Kate Kitshoff | 2017-05-02 07:42:11.0

"Our family of 4 enjoyed the stay at Kure Kure very much
The little flat has all it needs to have to make the stay comfortable! Short walk to the beach was a bonus too"


"Slice of Heaven"

(South Africa) Kim | 2017-04-18 00:00:00.0

"My husband and I stayed at Kure Kure over the Easter weekend. I must say, it was so relaxing and peaceful. I don't know when last I could hear my own thoughts the way I did this past weekend.
The tranquility is healing to not only the mind, but also the spirit.

Aside from the natural el..."

more

"My husband and I stayed at Kure Kure over the Easter weekend. I must say, it was so relaxing and peaceful. I don't know when last I could hear my own thoughts the way I did this past weekend.
The tranquility is healing to not only the mind, but also the spirit.

Aside from the natural elements, the cottage was beautiful and cosy. It had everything that we possibly needed for our time away.

We would definitely recommend Kure Kure to anyone looking to escape the hustle and bustle of our daily lives, and just slip into a blissful, calming environment.

Thank you to Nadia and Nick.

"


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Leni | 2017-04-16 00:00:00.0

"We had a pleasant stay there. Place is situated well and very neat. Much more than we expected. I will definitely go again there and refer all my friends there."


"Fabulous"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2017-04-13 00:00:00.0

"The service was excellent, we were warmly welcomed and well looked after. We had an absolutely wonderful time and had no complains. "


"A Very Enjoyable Stay"

(South Africa) Pam | 2017-04-08 00:00:00.0

"We had booked both cottages and when we arrived we were warmly welcomed. We were very pleasantly surprised at how well furnished the cottages were, especially the kitchens, with everything from cork screws to dish wash liquid, and even a small gas stove in case of a power failure.
The bedrooms ..."

more

"We had booked both cottages and when we arrived we were warmly welcomed. We were very pleasantly surprised at how well furnished the cottages were, especially the kitchens, with everything from cork screws to dish wash liquid, and even a small gas stove in case of a power failure.
The bedrooms were comfortable, and the settees in the lounge area can be used as beds too. There is an inter-leading door between the two cottages, making it perfect for a family group.
Each cottage is equipped with a kettle braai and we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the little private garden.
We will be back again, and for longer than one night next time!!!

"


"Hidden Little Gem"

(South Africa) Tom | 2017-04-03 00:00:00.0

"The accommodation was perfect for us. We were happy with everything and it’s a nice convenient place to stay. It was reasonably priced and worth every moment of our stay."


"LOVELY!"

(South Africa) william | 2017-03-30 00:00:00.0

"I had a beautiful stay. It’s a very nice place with such a great Host and it’s clean. It was enjoyable, I’ve recommended it to a few colleagues of mine and I’m definitely going back."


"Such a pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Shaun | 2017-03-14 00:00:00.0

"This was my first time staying in the Sandbaai area and I must admit, I loved it. The hostess was very friendly. The scones that awaited us upon arrival was a nice gesture. The tranquillity and privacy that the venue offers is possibly one of the bestselling points at Kure Kure. Overall, I loved my ..."

more

"This was my first time staying in the Sandbaai area and I must admit, I loved it. The hostess was very friendly. The scones that awaited us upon arrival was a nice gesture. The tranquillity and privacy that the venue offers is possibly one of the bestselling points at Kure Kure. Overall, I loved my stay there and will definitely be calling again."


"Loved The Little Cottage at Kure Kure @ Van Haven"

(South Africa) FRANCISKA | 2017-02-03 00:00:00.0

"I loved the tranquillity and the hostess was awesome. The cottage was beautifully equipped and well-kept. I enjoyed my stay there and I’m definitely going back."


"Great value! Excellent destination!"

(South Africa) Tashreeq | 2017-01-06 00:00:00.0

"I loved this place, excellent getaway. Likes:
- Cookies on arrival
- Clean
- Packed with everything you need
- Bottled water (enough to start off with)
- Ocean (within walking distance). Especially waking up to the waves breaking.
- Kids play area
- Town (5min away)
..."

more

"I loved this place, excellent getaway. Likes:
- Cookies on arrival
- Clean
- Packed with everything you need
- Bottled water (enough to start off with)
- Ocean (within walking distance). Especially waking up to the waves breaking.
- Kids play area
- Town (5min away)
P.S: If I could, I would've loved to keep this place all to myself.
"


"Some Kind Of Tranquil "

(South Africa) vanessa | 2016-12-19 00:00:00.0

"My daughters and I arrived at Kure Kure to the delightful news that we had been given the main house to stay in At no extra cost. The house itself is spacious and clean with a lovely holiday, cottage feel to it with all the amenities. The garden is beautiful with many birds that flock to the feeder ..."

more

"My daughters and I arrived at Kure Kure to the delightful news that we had been given the main house to stay in At no extra cost. The house itself is spacious and clean with a lovely holiday, cottage feel to it with all the amenities. The garden is beautiful with many birds that flock to the feeder regularly.
There is a smart TV which was so convenient for myself and the kids.
The beach is a 5 minute walk away with a path that leads to Onrus beach.
All in all it was a most pleasant stay and we will definitely return.
Thanks to Nadia and her mom for the welcoming and friendly service.

"


"Stunning Place"

(South Africa) Martin | 2016-10-28 00:00:00.0

"Everyone who works there are so friendly, the place is nice and I really enjoyed myself. I would like to return again soon."


"Quite Nice"

(South Africa) Angelo | 2016-10-18 00:00:00.0

"The accommodation was good. The people who works there are great and the manager Nadia was brilliant. I certainly had a perfect stay."


"An Enjoyable Stay"

(South Africa) Graeme | 2016-09-30 00:00:00.0

"My stay was absolutely amazing and always are at Kure Kure @ Van Haven. I go back often, because I love the quietness, its comfortable and well fitted. I will highly recommend it to anyone."


"Kure Kure Hermanus Stay "

(South Africa) Stanley | 2016-09-27 00:00:00.0

"Self-catering unit is neat and clean and well equipped, reception friendly, location well situated."


"Enjoyable and Satisfying"

(South Africa) Donovan | 2016-09-21 00:00:00.0

"My wife and I had a wonderful stay. The lady at the reception desk was welcoming and very friendly. The rooms was clean and tidy. The place is so quiet and peaceful, we had a pleasant stay."


"Enjoyable and Satisfying"

(South Africa) Oswald | 2016-09-21 00:00:00.0

"The place is very nice, comfortable and quiet. The service was good and the rooms was tidy. I have indeed enjoyed my stay."


"Very Nice"

(South Africa) ester | 2016-09-14 00:00:00.0

"I had an awesome stay, I have nothing negative to say about the place. The service was great and the rooms was neat and tidy. I would go back for a second time any day."


"AMAZING!!!!"

(South Africa) Celeste | 2016-09-12 00:00:00.0

"We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. The cottage is beautiful and gives the feel of the ocean. We will definitely return. Thanks Kure staff for a wonderful place and the tranquility that comes with it."


"Delightful "

(United Kingdom) Susan | 2016-07-31 00:00:00.0

"My daughter and I had a wonderful break at Kure Kure. Nadia and Christine had prepared the cottage beautifully; including biscuits for us and water for our dog. The cottage is well decorated with a tasteful seaside theme and the furniture is perfect. The bird feeders in the garden provided us with f..."

more

"My daughter and I had a wonderful break at Kure Kure. Nadia and Christine had prepared the cottage beautifully; including biscuits for us and water for our dog. The cottage is well decorated with a tasteful seaside theme and the furniture is perfect. The bird feeders in the garden provided us with frequent interest as so many different birds came to visit. I would thoroughly recommend these cottages to anyone who needs a relaxing break near to the sea."


"Amit Sharma"

(South Africa) Amit Sharma | 2016-07-23 07:07:18.0

"Excellent   we like it most. Welcome was great. Manager hospitality is amiable. We love to stay there again


"


"Clean and comfortable!"

(South Africa) Roger Williams | 2016-07-07 08:11:32.0

"Lovely, clean accommodation in a great location. Well equipped with friendly,helpful staff.


Thanks for a comfortable stay--was too short though!!


Wifi an added bonus!


"


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Natalie | 2016-06-29 00:00:00.0

"Thank you Kure Kure for the awesome 3 days.
Nadia, you have been an awesome help, with dvd's offered due to the weather conditions.
The scones being offered on our arrival, the place was neat.
On arrival, Nadia had the most inviting smile.

Thank you again Kure Kure for the..."

more

"Thank you Kure Kure for the awesome 3 days.
Nadia, you have been an awesome help, with dvd's offered due to the weather conditions.
The scones being offered on our arrival, the place was neat.
On arrival, Nadia had the most inviting smile.

Thank you again Kure Kure for the awesome time.
Will definitely be using yout place again

Much love

Natalie & Wayne"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Tamsyn | 2016-06-09 00:00:00.0

"We had an absolutely great time, it is really such a lovely place. It had everything that we needed, there was nothing that the house didn’t have, in all the rooms. We also liked that the house was close to the beach, we took walks down to the beach, so convenient. We had a perfect stay, thanks."


"Perfect Stay"

(South Africa) Felicity | 2016-04-28 00:00:00.0

"We had a lovely long stay at Kure Kure, we received a really warm welcome from the owners and the staff was great throughout our time there, and our room was really cosy and comfortable. We had a really great time and were very happy with our stay."


"Wonderful Stay"

(South Africa) Darian | 2016-04-22 00:00:00.0

"We had an awesome stay at Kure Kure. It is a really lovely quaint little place. The house is close to the beach and conveniently located nearby to a mall. The house is quite secluded which I liked a lot and we had our privacy. We had an overall great stay."


"Ideal spot to visit the Hemel-en-Aarde Valley"

(South Africa) Cathy White | 2016-03-16 13:11:46.0

"Kure Kure is compactÊand comfortable with every need catered for very simply.ÊÊSituated in Sand Baai,Êclose toÊthe beach and lovely coastalÊwalkway to Onrus and a couple of kilometres away from Hermanus, it isÊalso ideally situated for a fun day visiting the wineries in the beautiful Hemel-en-Aarde ..."

more

"Kure Kure is compactÊand comfortable with every need catered for very simply.ÊÊSituated in Sand Baai,Êclose toÊthe beach and lovely coastalÊwalkway to Onrus and a couple of kilometres away from Hermanus, it isÊalso ideally situated for a fun day visiting the wineries in the beautiful Hemel-en-Aarde valley.Ê Would stay again.

"


"Very Nice"

(South Africa) Christo | 2016-02-17 00:00:00.0

"Lovely place and friendly staff....Will visit again. Place was very need and beautiful garden."


"Wonderful time "

(South Africa) Ria | 2015-08-29 00:00:00.0

"We had a very friendly welcome and was even surprised with nice warm scones the next morning. Very neat and clean and everything that you need is there. Thanks for a wonderful time. Will come back again."


"To return"

(South Africa) Tersia | 2015-08-07 00:00:00.0

"We had quite a nice stay. We had two rooms. The place was clean."


"Quaint guesthouse"

(South Africa) Mentor | 2015-05-06 10:34:15.0

"Pleasant stay at Kure Kure. Mupeti is an excellent host and welcomed us with open arms. Very knowledgeable about Hermanus, a pity we only stayed for one night. He even baked us scones on the morning before we left.

Accommodation highly recommended. Very neat and clean. Suitable for fam..."

more

"Pleasant stay at Kure Kure. Mupeti is an excellent host and welcomed us with open arms. Very knowledgeable about Hermanus, a pity we only stayed for one night. He even baked us scones on the morning before we left.

Accommodation highly recommended. Very neat and clean. Suitable for family of 4.

"


"Warm welcoming feels like home!"

(South Africa) Mr Cho | 2015-04-13 09:01:26.0

"4 people were staying for 2nights.
It was really fantastic time with kurekure.
They had prepared glass of wine and chocolate for hospitality with warm welcoming.
They have got every information in their guest booklet. That was quite helpful to us who do not know Hermanus that well.
T..."

more

"4 people were staying for 2nights.
It was really fantastic time with kurekure.
They had prepared glass of wine and chocolate for hospitality with warm welcoming.
They have got every information in their guest booklet. That was quite helpful to us who do not know Hermanus that well.
The Sandbaai beach was also surprisingly great!"


"Excellent Service, Relaxed and Clean Environment."

(South Africa) Simpson | 2015-03-16 15:19:03.0

"Initially greeted by Mr Mupeti who gave us such a friendly and warm welcoming. The stay was lovely, clean & very relaxing. Would definitely recommend this place! "


"Will be back soon"

(South Africa) Ms japhta | 2015-03-13 00:33:14.0

"We had a awesome time at Kure Kure it was much better than we expected it to be its relaxing and peaceful perfect place to get away from home the scones for breakfast were nice and we were welcomed by the manager and cleaner they where friendly and even gave my kid toys we already planning on going ..."

more

"We had a awesome time at Kure Kure it was much better than we expected it to be its relaxing and peaceful perfect place to get away from home the scones for breakfast were nice and we were welcomed by the manager and cleaner they where friendly and even gave my kid toys we already planning on going again we wanted to write in the guest book but had no pen was really great and definitely deserves five stars see you guys soon!
"


"Kure Kure @ Van Haven"

(South Africa) du Plessis | 2015-02-09 00:00:00.0

"We had a very warm welcome. We had a lovely time and enjoyed every moment. We had breakfast outside even under the trees. We received warm and personal care from host and he was very friendly."


"Kure kure"

(South Africa) Mr germishuys | 2015-02-02 08:06:26.0

"The welcome was exceptional. The cottage was clean and is well kept. Beautiful garden. We had a wonderful weekend."


"Great times"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2015-01-26 00:00:00.0

"We had an absolutely fantastic stay here. The place was very relaxing and we can't wait to go back again."


"Holiday"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2015-01-19 10:26:51.0

"It was clean and it had everything we need. Near to the beach and very quiet."


"Great Host"

(South Africa) Bushula | 2014-12-12 00:00:00.0

"The owner at Kure Kure was very friendly and welcoming, I didn't hesitate when I needed to know something, he would help me to the best of his ability. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. Thank you for making my stay great."


"FABULOUS"

(South Africa) matjan | 2014-11-24 07:38:38.0

"The welcoming event the day we arrived was amazing. Mupeti and his wife let us feel so welcome and it felt as if we know each other for years. I will promote Kure Kure @ Van Haven for others to see and hear that there is a place you can feel free and safe. May God bless Kure Kure @ van Haven and its..."

more

"The welcoming event the day we arrived was amazing. Mupeti and his wife let us feel so welcome and it felt as if we know each other for years. I will promote Kure Kure @ Van Haven for others to see and hear that there is a place you can feel free and safe. May God bless Kure Kure @ van Haven and its management.

"


"Weekend at Kure Kure"

(South Africa) Abegail Schwartz | 2014-11-18 07:27:02.0

"Thank you very nice stay. Quiet, comfortable and relaxed."


"Bliss"

(South Africa) Adams | 2014-11-10 11:05:47.0

"Lovely place and so peaceful. Perfect get away for some family time."


"Good basics"

(Belgium) Heyrman | 2014-11-01 20:55:59.0

"Quietly located in a beautiful street in suburban of Hermanus.
All basic equipment you need is available."


"Warm Welcome at Kure Kure"

(South Africa) Cathy Thomas | 2014-10-11 13:46:45.0

"We received a very warm welcome at Kure Kure. It's ideally situated close to the beach in Sandbaai. Neat and tidy and an excellent spot to stay to visit Hermanus, the Hemel-en-Aarde wine region and surrounding countryside. Lovely fresh scones - mmmm!"


"Compliment"

(South Africa) Sizeka | 2014-10-09 08:41:58.0

"Our stay in Kure Kure was marvelous. The hospitality and caring from the manager Mupeti was beyond expectation. We feel at home. Even my kids were enjoying to be there. They want to go back there. We promise to visit that place again.

Thank you Mupeti, much appreciated"


"Good value for money"

(South Africa) Mrs Mienie | 2014-10-05 10:16:45.0

"Very nice welcoming and friendly greet when we arrived. The place was neat and clean. Although we only stayed one night we enjoyed it thoroughly. Would recommend it to anyone and will stay there again. Thanks again for the great service."


"Weekend stay"

(South Africa) knutsen | 2014-09-29 07:50:22.0

"Great stay, Great welcome from Mbeti. Felt at home straight away.
Definitely will recommend to my friends. Will visit again."


"Our Kure Kure Getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs scholtz | 2014-09-25 00:00:00.0

"As regards our six day stay at Kure Kure (Seagull Cottage)from 18-23 September 2014, there were several highlights, chief amongst which was the understated but brilliant service by Mupeti. Mupeti always treated our concerns as his own and often went beyond the call of his normal duty to facilitate o..."

more

"As regards our six day stay at Kure Kure (Seagull Cottage)from 18-23 September 2014, there were several highlights, chief amongst which was the understated but brilliant service by Mupeti. Mupeti always treated our concerns as his own and often went beyond the call of his normal duty to facilitate our needs. The facilities at the Seagull Cottage were adequate with one or two minor exceptions. The kitchen had all the necessary utensils, however, the mini stove/oven had only one functional plate. Also, the one cupboard was inadequate to provide sufficient space for two let alone four people. A better enclosure around the shower too, will improve the bathroom facilities. Despite these flaws, management at Kure Kure were willing to alleviate discomforts suffered in these instances. The Kure Kure establishment is ideally located within the Sandbaai area with easy access points to whale viewing spots, beaches, shops and restaurants. All these factors combined and made our stay at Kure Kure (Seagull Cottage), an unforgettable experience, a memorable pleasure, ensuring certainty of our return. "


"Excellent value "

(South Africa) Ann Bown | 2014-09-07 09:53:09.0

"We thoroughly enjoyed the environment and open friendliness of the manager, Mupeti. Excellent value for the money, plenty of space - could hear the sea and see the mountains. Best in Sandbaai, Hermanus. "


"Kure Kure"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2014-08-11 20:34:21.0

"We had a very friendly reception and great service. Everything was up to standard and we enjoyed the evening we stayed very much."


"Quiet and relaxing Self catering venue"

(South Africa) Ena Welgemoed | 2014-02-11 11:48:03.0

"We really enjoyed a wonderful quiet and relaxed stay over at Kure Kure. Mupeti and his wife were very friendly and helpful, and it was really very nice and clean (and I appreciated the cleanliness!!)

I can only give them positive feedback about our stay! Mupeti also put out a bird feeder for ..."

more

"We really enjoyed a wonderful quiet and relaxed stay over at Kure Kure. Mupeti and his wife were very friendly and helpful, and it was really very nice and clean (and I appreciated the cleanliness!!)

I can only give them positive feedback about our stay! Mupeti also put out a bird feeder for me in the garden, as I am a fond bird watcher. We really enjoyed our stay, and will definitely make use of this accommodation in future. "


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Mr de Beer | 2014-02-01 09:49:33.0

"Staying at Kure Kure was great. The rooms are spotless, and well decorated. There is every appliance needed and the soft touches like complimentary chocolate and liquor, are really fantastic. I will be staying there again in the future."


"Kure Kure"

(South Africa) mrs illonke du pessis | 2014-01-02 11:01:19.0

"Friendly, affordable, clean and great for a long holiday! Very private a little home away from home! Have a great 2014."


"Quaint and Cosy"

(South Africa) Jonathan Myburgh | 2013-12-17 20:55:52.0

"We want to thank Mupeti for his warm hospitality during our stay at Kure Kure. We were very happy with the 3 nights we spent in the Gannet cottage. It had everything we needed in a self catering establishment. The on-suite bathroom, kitchenette, the little stoep for those night braai's sipping the c..."

more

"We want to thank Mupeti for his warm hospitality during our stay at Kure Kure. We were very happy with the 3 nights we spent in the Gannet cottage. It had everything we needed in a self catering establishment. The on-suite bathroom, kitchenette, the little stoep for those night braai's sipping the complementary Maskadel. Having access to the little braai was a treat. We were able to park our vehicle right in front of the cottage so it made hauling bags from the car easier and an outside shower for beach days as well.

We really enjoyed our stay at Kure Kure and we really do recommend it to anyone staying in the area. Thank you Mupeti for the lovely complimentary scones and the phone call to make sure we had arrived at our destination after departing Kure Kure."


"Kure Kure accommodation"

(South Africa) Velma Marshall | 2013-10-28 08:06:38.0

"We had a fabulous time at Kure Kure. The place is cosy, neat, beautiful with lots of character. What an amazing, peaceful place and the reception from the manager, Mupeti is amazing. He is such a perfect host and we would like to thank Mupeti for being so friendly and thank you for your hospitality...."

more

"We had a fabulous time at Kure Kure. The place is cosy, neat, beautiful with lots of character. What an amazing, peaceful place and the reception from the manager, Mupeti is amazing. He is such a perfect host and we would like to thank Mupeti for being so friendly and thank you for your hospitality. We will definitely see you soon. Such peace and quiet in such an awesome, neat place is priceless.. Thank you Mupeti."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Marisa Barnett | 2013-10-17 10:02:32.0

"We had an excellent stay at Kure Kure. It was very clean and comfortable and we felt welcomed as soon as we arrived.



Would gladly stay here again and would recommend to others as well. "


"Comfortable stay"

(South Africa) Mr barry | 2013-09-18 00:00:00.0

"We had a comfortable stay with no problems.Enjoyed the time away.We found everything to be satisfactory."


"1 - 3 March 2013"

(South Africa) Ms Brown | 2013-03-06 16:36:51.0

"Such a clean and homely place.
Thanks for the special touches of sherry & nice coffee!
Our stay was awesome."


"OUTSTANDING ACCOMMODATION"

(South Africa) Mrs Storm | 2013-02-11 09:34:13.0

"We were warmly welcomed by our hostess and taken to our accommodation which was very clean, spacious and had everthing that one would need for a stay away from home.

The extra touches included a welcoming sherry, flowers on the bed and chocolates. The tea, coffee,sugar and fresh milk were m..."

more

"We were warmly welcomed by our hostess and taken to our accommodation which was very clean, spacious and had everthing that one would need for a stay away from home.

The extra touches included a welcoming sherry, flowers on the bed and chocolates. The tea, coffee,sugar and fresh milk were most welcome.

The accommodation is close to all the tourist spots that we wanted to visit but secluded enough to be quiet and peaceful.

The delicious hot,freshly baked scones and jam on Sunday morning was unexpected but sealed the deal for us.

We will be back next time we visit Hermanus."


"Warm Hospitality"

(South Africa) Mrs Edgar | 2012-10-29 15:57:17.0

"The little cottage exceeded our expectations. The price was low at R 500 a night and it was not just very clean, but provided exceptional extras such as flowers, filter coffee, milk, sugar, soap, chocolates etc. Very well thought out and seldom found these days."


"Excellent stay"

(South Africa) Mr Bothma | 2012-07-11 08:55:02.0

"What a wonderful place to come and relax for a few days and explore Hermanus! Very reasonable price. Melodi welcomed us with a smile and made us feel welcome immediately. The cottage is very well appointed, with some cherry waiting to chase the cold away, the decor is very tasteful and lovely. We l..."

more

"What a wonderful place to come and relax for a few days and explore Hermanus! Very reasonable price. Melodi welcomed us with a smile and made us feel welcome immediately. The cottage is very well appointed, with some cherry waiting to chase the cold away, the decor is very tasteful and lovely. We loved the fresh scones that was personally delivered the first morning of our stay. There is even lovely filter coffee for the coffee connoisseur. And for the book worms there is a selection of books that you can buy!"


"Vanhaven"

(United Kingdom) Mrs du Plessis | 2012-04-18 11:47:06.0

"We really enjoyed our short stay. The apartment was very clean and spacious at a reasonable price, and had lots of thoughtful touches, such as coffee and fresh milk, and fresh flowers. We will certainly be back!"


"nice apartment/ sympatic host"

(Germany) Mrs Schlüsche | 2012-03-10 19:20:35.0

"We enjoyed our stay at Vanhaven self catering. We were surprised, when Mrs. Van Der Merwe served fresh scones at the first morning."


"Vanhaven Self Catering"

(South Africa) Ms De Beer | 2012-01-09 07:40:40.0

"I do not have words to say how wonderful it was. It is a very quiet and neat place to stay - will visit them again. The personal touch of the owner was fantastic. I have never felt that important as when I arrived at here. They make you feel like a VIP.

The flowers and chocolates that they ..."

more

"I do not have words to say how wonderful it was. It is a very quiet and neat place to stay - will visit them again. The personal touch of the owner was fantastic. I have never felt that important as when I arrived at here. They make you feel like a VIP.

The flowers and chocolates that they put in the chalet were excellent. It felt like we were very special for them to have made it so personal. I will visit them when we in Hermanus again because of the personal touch.
"


"Nice little place"

(South Africa) Mr Dilet | 2011-12-12 18:54:18.0

"Nice little flat to discover the area at a reasonnable price. Lovely scones in the morning before we left."


"Amazing"

(South Africa) Mrs Karelse | 2011-12-05 10:00:28.0

"Good morning,

We stayed at Vanhaven Self Catering on the 3rd December 2011. Lauren was so kind as to allow us to have an early check-in. His mom checked us in, I signed for the key and we were off. When we stepped into the unit my husband and I were dumb struck. The apartment was so clean a..."

more

"Good morning,

We stayed at Vanhaven Self Catering on the 3rd December 2011. Lauren was so kind as to allow us to have an early check-in. His mom checked us in, I signed for the key and we were off. When we stepped into the unit my husband and I were dumb struck. The apartment was so clean and so cozy. On arrival you get freshly baked goods' and what seemed to us home made strawberry jam too. Everything was just so nice and welcoming.

After being there for 5 min we made up our minds to revisit Vanhaven in the near future. When walking in there you get the sense of really being home from home. You dont have to be in each others way - the place is big enough that everyone has his or her own space. What really caught us was the detail in everything. The way the port was standing there and welcoming you. The way the paintings were set out. Even the detail on the key holder. Everything in the apartment made you feel special and welcome.

Like I said we will be going back to Vanhaven in the near future."


"More than home"

(South Africa) Chantelle Willemse | 2011-12-01 12:54:17.0

"We arrived at Van Haven, not knowing what to expect, and was blown away by the warm welcome and excellent accommodations. We had an amazing stay and the warm scones on our last day has made our trip something special. We will definitely be back soon!"


"Outstanding hospitality"

(South Africa) Mrs Elsabey Luus | 2011-10-31 13:31:02.0

"To be treated to hot, freshly baked scones in a self catering apartment - this has never happened to us before! The apartment was beautifully decorated and clean! What a pleasant stay! "


"Vanhaven Self Catering review"

(South Africa) Mrs Smit | 2011-10-30 12:56:57.0

"The reception, location, service and cleaniness is of the highest standard and made us feel at home. We will certainly revisit Vanhaven Self Catering."


"The perfect escape"

(South Africa) Mrs Govender | 2011-10-10 08:53:29.0

"My husband and I recently found out that we would be having a baby - the surprise baby news coupled with stressful careers made us realise that a get-away was just what we needed - A LITTLE ALONE TIME BEFORE TWO BECOMES THREE ;). With the Whale festival underway, I searched for 'self-catering' apar..."

more

"My husband and I recently found out that we would be having a baby - the surprise baby news coupled with stressful careers made us realise that a get-away was just what we needed - A LITTLE ALONE TIME BEFORE TWO BECOMES THREE ;). With the Whale festival underway, I searched for 'self-catering' apartments in Hermanus and stumbled across 'Van Haven.' Just a mere hour and a half away from home/work/stress, we arrived and immediately got completely 'lost' in the scenery around us, the beautiful beaches and of course our cosy little apartment at Van Haven Self Catering. We were on honeymoon again. The apartment was neat, comfortable and perfect. The owners have, without a doubt, got an eye for fine detail. Beautiful paintings on the wall. Red decor throughout. Tiny chocolates greeted us throughout the apartment- and fresh milk provided in the fridge. On our last day, the owner provided us with fresh warm 'melt-in-your-mouth' scones with butter and jam. She had perfected the recipe. The perfect Sunday breakfast. Just two days away from home - my husband and I could not believe how rejuvenated we both felt. Thank you, thank you, thank you to Van Haven Self Catering for your hospitality. We will be back early next year...The Govender THREE ;)"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Mrs Erasmus | 2011-09-19 17:01:11.0

"I would recommend Vanhaven Self Catering to my friends any time. Our stay was excellent."


"Great stay at Vanhaven Self Catering"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2011-08-09 16:30:55.0

"Vanhaven Self Catering was a wonderful place to stay. It was very comfortable and we were surprised with many little treats. Will definitely recommend it to others."


"Vanhaven Self Catering review"

(South Africa) Ms Hendricks | 2011-06-20 10:10:53.0

"I would like to commend Vanhaven Self Catering Accommodation on providing an excellent stay at their establishment, the service obtained exceeded my expectations above and beyond. It was my second visit to Vanhaven Self Catering and second time round there was still no disappointment in service deli..."

more

"I would like to commend Vanhaven Self Catering Accommodation on providing an excellent stay at their establishment, the service obtained exceeded my expectations above and beyond. It was my second visit to Vanhaven Self Catering and second time round there was still no disappointment in service delivery, they are close to the Hermanus town and all amenities and their units are fitted with everything required for a perfect relaxing holiday, therefore Vanhaven would be a definite recommendation!"


"Friendly and welcoming"

(South Africa) Ms De Klerk | 2011-04-11 11:14:37.0

"We had an excellent time at Vanhaven's in Sandbaai. We loved the small details - from the chocolates next to our beds to the welcoming sherry. As we were wondering what we shall have for breakfast, a basket of freshly baked scones was delivered to our door. We really felt spoilt!"


"Very, very neat"

(South Africa) Mr Mostert | 2011-04-03 17:02:42.0

"Very neat and clean. Good value for money. All that you need, friendly hostess and the scones on Sunday blew us away. Thank you."


"Vanhaven Self Catering - Review by Mr & Mrs Benjamin"

(South Africa) Mr & Mrs Benjamin | 2011-03-22 17:08:49.0

"My husband and I wanted to get away from our crazy, busy work schedules and just kick back and relax somewhere not too far from Cape Town. We both wanted to go to Hermanus but were not sure where we wanted to stay. I happened to come across Vanhaven self catering while looking at places to stay in H..."

more

"My husband and I wanted to get away from our crazy, busy work schedules and just kick back and relax somewhere not too far from Cape Town. We both wanted to go to Hermanus but were not sure where we wanted to stay. I happened to come across Vanhaven self catering while looking at places to stay in Hermanus. We looked at the photographs on the website and we decided to make a booking.

Our stay at Vanhaven was most delightful! Everything was so clean and homely. We really felt at home and relaxed. Nobody bothered us and the owner was really sweet! She even brought us delicious warm scones early on Sunday morning. There are just so many extra's that we didn't expect. We were 5 minutes away from the beach and it simply felt like heaven.

My husband and I would definitely recommend Vanhaven and we will most definitely go back one day soon! The service is outstanding all you need to bring is yourself and your food!

Vanhaven is one of a kind, a gem! We are really happy and we definitely felt as though we had a holiday!

Vanhaven is the best!
"


"Breaking Away"

(South Africa) Mrs Swanepoel | 2011-03-14 12:49:41.0

"We have experience the most wonderful relaxing weekend at Vanhaven Self Catering. I have done my research about accommodation in Hermanus/Sandbaai and I was so, so glad we decided on Vanhaven. It's very beautiful outside and the grass was so nice and green it felt even better underneath your feet t..."

more

"We have experience the most wonderful relaxing weekend at Vanhaven Self Catering. I have done my research about accommodation in Hermanus/Sandbaai and I was so, so glad we decided on Vanhaven. It's very beautiful outside and the grass was so nice and green it felt even better underneath your feet than the sea sand. We had a wonderful braai that evening and my 8 year old took care of the braai. He loved it. The webers were the right size for him to manage. I must say the decoration of the rooms were very impressive. We loved everything from the chocolates next to our beds to the beautiful little stoop in front. It was very private and we were spoiled with the fresh hot scones in the morning. We will definitely come back."


"Lives up to the promise"

(South Africa) Mrs Sulter | 2011-01-10 13:04:59.0

"It sometimes happens that an advert, through a photograph or words, creates an impression of a place that, upon actual inspection can leave one with a disappointed feeling. Not so at Vanhaven Self Catering. On arrival, the greeting was welcoming, the service quick and the facilities - tasteful & tho..."

more

"It sometimes happens that an advert, through a photograph or words, creates an impression of a place that, upon actual inspection can leave one with a disappointed feeling. Not so at Vanhaven Self Catering. On arrival, the greeting was welcoming, the service quick and the facilities - tasteful & thoughtful. The layout is comfortable & well planned. Set in a quiet neighbourhood, peace & quiet reigned. The freshly baked scones delivered by our host in the morning was symbolic of the care and the lengths they go to. Excellent value for money."


"I would prefer it where ever I’m go to people"

(South Africa) Mr Le Roux | 2010-12-28 11:41:22.0

"It’s the cleanest, secureliest, neatest, friendliest holiday place in South Africa were we ever stayed. I would prefer it where ever I’m go to people who wanted to go on holiday or for a weekend rest. The scons were always fresh and still warm when it came to the door while we just stood up in the m..."

more

"It’s the cleanest, secureliest, neatest, friendliest holiday place in South Africa were we ever stayed. I would prefer it where ever I’m go to people who wanted to go on holiday or for a weekend rest. The scons were always fresh and still warm when it came to the door while we just stood up in the morning. We will surely come back. Thanks a lot for your hospitality."


"Van Haven is Heaven on Earth"

(South Africa) Ms Fritz | 2010-12-01 16:42:54.0

"Van Haven is a very peaceful and quite setting. Just the perfect place to go and relax and have a quiet time. The personal touches to the cottage makes it even more special and the service is excellent. The scones and muffins is something to look forward to. Thank you very much Melodi for making us ..."

more

"Van Haven is a very peaceful and quite setting. Just the perfect place to go and relax and have a quiet time. The personal touches to the cottage makes it even more special and the service is excellent. The scones and muffins is something to look forward to. Thank you very much Melodi for making us feel special and will return soon. "


"Van Haven"

(United Kingdom) Robinsons | 2010-11-13 13:17:24.0

"Very comfortable & convenient cottage in a quiet garden setting. We were extremely well looked after by the most generous of hosts."


"Stunning"

(Namibia) Mr van Wyk | 2010-10-18 10:46:06.0

"Vanhaven is the best choice we could make to stay over for a night. The warm welcome and friendly greeting on arrival warmed us up, just to find that the cottage itself was perfectly suited in every way!

The freshly baked scones, made and brought to us by surprise in the morning, made the s..."

more

"Vanhaven is the best choice we could make to stay over for a night. The warm welcome and friendly greeting on arrival warmed us up, just to find that the cottage itself was perfectly suited in every way!

The freshly baked scones, made and brought to us by surprise in the morning, made the stay even more special. We will surely visit again for a longer period of time! With the beach close by and your safe, private, beautifully equipped cottage- this is the perfect place to sit back, relax and to make yourself at home!"


"Vanhaven Review"

(South Africa) Mr Lawrence | 2010-10-13 08:13:01.0

"The rooms were great. The breakfast scones were the cherry on top"


"Excellent"

(Uruguay) Mr Tucci | 2010-09-17 22:36:21.0

"Very nice and clean. Very friendly and helpful people. Awesome homemade hot scones for breakfast! "


"Visit June 2010"

(Germany) anonymous | 2010-07-15 14:38:10.0

"Very nice room in a separate little house in the garden, with sitting opportunity on a terrace. It has a very homely and individually decorated living, bed and bathroom. We felt very much at home and would have preferred to stay longer if possible, we might come back again."


"Wonderful!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2010-07-05 12:34:34.0

"We had a very relaxing time at Vanhaven Self Catering! It was the perfect getaway to recharge our batteries. The hosts were very friendly and provided us with delicious free muffins. It was a home away from home - very neat and tidy. We can't wait to go again!"


"Home from Home"

(South Africa) Mr Govender | 2010-05-24 12:49:22.0

"The accomodation was very neat and cosy. The special attention given with the little gifts was much appreciated. Will recommend others to stay there. "


"Home from home"

(South Africa) Mr DITSOANE | 2010-04-29 09:28:10.0

"Staying at Vanhaven has left us with a great impression to return for another much longer relaxing time. The facilities and the service are outstanding. The hostess made us feel to be home by spoiling us with her courtesy. Vanhaven is one of South Africa's rare germ and a must visit in ones lifetime..."

more

"Staying at Vanhaven has left us with a great impression to return for another much longer relaxing time. The facilities and the service are outstanding. The hostess made us feel to be home by spoiling us with her courtesy. Vanhaven is one of South Africa's rare germ and a must visit in ones lifetime."


"Lovely garden flat"

(United Kingdom) David and Pam Redfearn | 2010-04-26 15:42:33.0

"The accommodation was excellent in a very peaceful setting. We had a lovely warm welcome and Melody was the most wonderful hostess. We would highly recommend Van Haven to anyone. We certainly hope to visit again. "


"A warm welcome"

(South Africa) Ms Murphy | 2010-03-17 13:42:15.0

"Loved the prompt reply to my booking enquiry. We were warmly welcomed into this well-equipped accommodation. Lots of extra touches added to make guests feel valued. Description and photos online were an accurate representation. Excellent value for money. "


"Relaxing"

(South Africa) Ms Sopotela | 2010-03-15 10:24:49.0

"Warm, a home away from home. You are given your space and let you make up your own mind on what to use in the house. The little incentives in the house were a cherry on top and fun to play with.

Thanks
"


"Peaceful."

(Netherlands) Mr Dankbaar | 2010-02-19 16:54:00.0

"We really enjoyed our stay at Vanhaven. It is very close to Hermanus. The accommodation is beautiful, clean and complete. We were very kindly welcomed and got some nice fresh scones for breakfast.

Thank you!
"


"Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Ms Salie | 2010-02-16 17:56:10.0

"We want to once again thank Melodie. We had a very enjoyable stay. The place is neat and smart, with every convenience. She is very thoughtful, providing little extras that were really great! Especially the scones! Yum! My husband and I will recommend and stay there again ourselves. "


"The Best by Far!!"

(South Africa) Mr Kleynhans | 2010-02-15 11:07:36.0

"This was the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. I am not sure if they are Tourism rated but should get a five star rating. The facilities were comfortable, spacious, peaceful and quiet. Melanie spoiled us with chocolates, sherry, flapjacks, and scones.

We were able to go our own wa..."

more

"This was the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. I am not sure if they are Tourism rated but should get a five star rating. The facilities were comfortable, spacious, peaceful and quiet. Melanie spoiled us with chocolates, sherry, flapjacks, and scones.

We were able to go our own way without interference from the caretaker. We have stayed in other 4 star rated places but they were not even close to Van Haven's accommodation. Definitely a place I will recommend to my friends."


"Van Haven Accommodation"

(South Africa) Mrs Conradie | 2010-02-08 16:30:24.0

"We had a very enjoyable stay at Van Haven's. The place is clean, neat and modern. Besides the extras, which included sherry, chocolates (not only two next to each bed, but a bowl with quite a couple extra), not only coffee, tea & milk, but also biscuits, we were also unexpectedly treated to fresh sc..."

more

"We had a very enjoyable stay at Van Haven's. The place is clean, neat and modern. Besides the extras, which included sherry, chocolates (not only two next to each bed, but a bowl with quite a couple extra), not only coffee, tea & milk, but also biscuits, we were also unexpectedly treated to fresh scones & jam one morning. We stayed for seven days, and it was also nice to receive clean towels midway through the week.

We especially took our mosquito repellent plug in units with - only to find that they had one available for each room. Due to the length of our stay, we took quite a bit of meat with (what is a holiday without a braai?), and they were more than willing to keep that which didn't fit in our freezer in their freezer for us. Our hosts were friendly and we felt quite at home. I would definitely recommend Van Haven's to others! "


"Out of this world"

(South Africa) Mr wagenaar | 2010-02-08 08:27:17.0

"It was a total tranquil experience, a home away from home. They received us with such warmth. I felt so comfortable and became friends with the owner. I’m definitely going to go back to VAN HAVEN. Love the place, love the place......"


"To go beyond..."

(South Africa) Mrs McLaren | 2010-01-25 17:53:58.0

"Firstly, we arrived lateish, approx. 18:00 on a Friday, from Cape Town. Our hostess greeted us with a friendly smile and our key. The apartment was a feast for the eye, with so much detail in the decor, resulting in the visitor feeling at home and away somewhere exotic at the same time! We only sta..."

more

"Firstly, we arrived lateish, approx. 18:00 on a Friday, from Cape Town. Our hostess greeted us with a friendly smile and our key. The apartment was a feast for the eye, with so much detail in the decor, resulting in the visitor feeling at home and away somewhere exotic at the same time! We only stayed one night, but were spoiled rotten, with hot from the oven scones, information about the resident owls, places of interest in the area, etc. There were so many hidden extras not mentioned before, like magazines next to our beds, as well as chocolates. The linen is good quality, the towels fresh and fluffy, the coffee percolated, flowers fresh, etc. Everything reminded me that this is what going the extra mile for your client is about. Let's hope that more and more South Africans will adopt this attitude to make our country even greater! Thank you for a wonderful stay!"


"Good value"

(Germany) anonymous | 2010-01-14 14:04:15.0

"We stayed at Vanhaven with our 4 year old daughter, who slept on the sleeper couch in the lounge/kitchen. The apartment is a little bit small for 3 people, however garden is big and we always ate breakfast on the patio outside.
Apartment was VERY clean and everything we needed was there, even fr..."

more

"We stayed at Vanhaven with our 4 year old daughter, who slept on the sleeper couch in the lounge/kitchen. The apartment is a little bit small for 3 people, however garden is big and we always ate breakfast on the patio outside.
Apartment was VERY clean and everything we needed was there, even fresh milk, complimentary chocolates, biscuits, salt, sugar, olive oil and balsamic vinegar etc etc. Certainly much more than we have ever seen at other self catering apartments. Fridge and microwave as well as flat screen and DVD player all new.
Thank you we will certainly return."


"Vanhaven Self Catering"

(South Africa) Ms Barnard | 2009-12-02 05:55:56.0

"We were very fortunate to be accommodation at the Vanhaven Self Catering Unit in Sandbaai the weekend of 27th - 30th November 2009. It is a little jewel in the midst of a lovely little coastal town. We were surprised at the unit and how well equipped it was and catered for all our needs. It was extr..."

more

"We were very fortunate to be accommodation at the Vanhaven Self Catering Unit in Sandbaai the weekend of 27th - 30th November 2009. It is a little jewel in the midst of a lovely little coastal town. We were surprised at the unit and how well equipped it was and catered for all our needs. It was extremely neat and tidy and accommodated 4 people with ease. It is a private setting in a lovely garden and within walking distance from the beach and the shop's. Our stay was just too short and we would have loved to extend our visit. We will definitely make use of the accommodation again in future as our course at the Jubilee Christian Centre is held twice a year.
This is really the best accommodation at a very fair price and I rate our stay with 5 stars. The hospitality and extra treats we received made it a very memorable stay and we can most definitely recommend Vanhaven Self Catering at anytime.
God Bless
Charlotte Barnard"


"The Unknown Jewel of Sandbaai!"

(South Africa) Mrs Webb | 2009-10-05 14:46:04.0

"Wow - what a surprise - what looked from the outside as two small little rooms proved to be the nicest self-catering chalets where we have ever stayed - and we have had many vacations! From the smallest little detail in the decorating of the bedrooms and living areas to the scones the next morning ..."

more

"Wow - what a surprise - what looked from the outside as two small little rooms proved to be the nicest self-catering chalets where we have ever stayed - and we have had many vacations! From the smallest little detail in the decorating of the bedrooms and living areas to the scones the next morning before we had to leave - the experience of staying at Vanhaven was absolute bliss. We received assistance with our booking to go on a whale watching trip and everything that we needed to stay over was available and more! There were nice books and up-to-date magazines to read, candles to be lit and chocolates waiting on the bed and in the living area! Our hosts (the van der Merwe family) were truly gracious! We would recommend the chalets to anyone visiting Hermanus and looking for a place to stay for a weekend or even longer! I believe that staying at Vanhaven is better value for money than staying at a B&B or a guest house that would be more expensive! Vanhaven is where we will be staying again when we want to see the whales!"


"Vanhaven Vanheaven!"

(South Africa) Mr AUSTIN | 2009-10-01 21:29:39.0

"This was self catering with a capital L for Luxury! We enjoyed 3 lovely nights at a clean and spotless little cottage at Vanhaven. We were well provided for and we were spoilt with wonderful little touches such as beautiful freshly baked scones, little chocolates and snacks for our little girls. The..."

more

"This was self catering with a capital L for Luxury! We enjoyed 3 lovely nights at a clean and spotless little cottage at Vanhaven. We were well provided for and we were spoilt with wonderful little touches such as beautiful freshly baked scones, little chocolates and snacks for our little girls. The rooms were so clean and fresh that it just made you relax immediately. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return there! All our needs were met and we were never in want! Well done, Vanheaven!"


"All the Comforts - and more - of Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Temmers | 2009-08-18 14:13:41.0

"Everything was perfect. From the moment we stepped into the apartment; it felt warm and comforting. We loved all the personal touches - the chocolates, the muskadel, the flowers- it just made the place seem so homely. The warmly baked scones the Saturday was just what we needed to start our day. The..."

more

"Everything was perfect. From the moment we stepped into the apartment; it felt warm and comforting. We loved all the personal touches - the chocolates, the muskadel, the flowers- it just made the place seem so homely. The warmly baked scones the Saturday was just what we needed to start our day. The friendliness and kindness we experienced made our stay a positive experience that we will be sure to convey to others.

We lacked nothing and have no complaints at all. Everything we needed was there which meant we could travel with only our essentials. The DVD was a real winner with my 2year old son, since he could watch his beloved Barney!

Thank you for a neat and comfortable stay. Next time we will be sure to make use of the braai facilities and the inviting garden furniture - it was just to cold this time around.
"


"Happy Customers"

(South Africa) Mr Rossouw | 2009-07-08 21:05:19.0

"My wife and I arrived late afternoon after traveling more than 1000km. On arriving we were very friendly greeted and felt welcome from the beginning. The stay was most enjoyable and it is amazing all the special little things that were added to the room. We stay in guest houses quite frequently a..."

more

"My wife and I arrived late afternoon after traveling more than 1000km. On arriving we were very friendly greeted and felt welcome from the beginning. The stay was most enjoyable and it is amazing all the special little things that were added to the room. We stay in guest houses quite frequently and must say that there were more special items added to the room at Vanhaven Self Catering than most guest houses. I have already forwarded Vanhaven Self Catering’s details to a number of friends that visit the beautiful Hermanus from time to time. We will defiantly visit Vanhaven Self Catering again. They are most highly recommended. Thanks for spoiling us and respecting our privacy."


"My amazing overnight stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Lottering | 2009-06-15 08:06:38.0

"After making an enquiry over the internet, I found this website where I could book accommodation - which I proceeded to do and within minutes, received a reply back that accommodation was available. Only after booking did I sit back and think - Have I done the right thing? I don’t even know this p..."

more

"After making an enquiry over the internet, I found this website where I could book accommodation - which I proceeded to do and within minutes, received a reply back that accommodation was available. Only after booking did I sit back and think - Have I done the right thing? I don’t even know this place - will it be clean, comfortable and most of all secure? The price was so reasonable one would wonder what type of place it is.
Well the time arrived for us to take the route to Hermanus - arrived there during knock off time - traffic was busy!
We used the Garmen to get us to our destination and were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who called me by my name - this impressed me as he knew exactly who to expect. He gave me the keys to our "cottage" and welcomed us and said anything we need, just ask.
We opened the door to our cottage - called Gannet - and what a most beautiful sight met out eyes - the place was immaculate.
There was everything one would need for an overnight stay or even for a few days. On a small table stood this decanter - and shot glasses - even that was on the house. The fridge was on - milk and water supplied and ice made. After a long days travel, what a nice surprise to get there and have something to drink with a few ice blocks added. The bed was comfortable and next to the bed a few chocolates for the sweet toothed person. The corner bath offered a most relaxing soak in bubble bath supplied by Newhaven. There are a few things inside the cottage that are for sale - books, wine, bottled olives and on the patio a weber should the need be for you to have a braai. The place is secure as you have a key to the gate - which is locked at night.
I recommend this place to everyone - you will definitely NOT be disappointed.
To the owners of Van Haven - congratulations on the most immaculate and friendly place - you have taken the time and effort to make our stay comfortable and I am sure everyone else's stay comfortable."


"Uitstekende Verlbyf Te Vanhaven Self Catering – Outstanding stay at Vanhaven Self Catering"

(South Africa) Ms Pretorius | 2009-05-26 14:58:01.0

"Asemrowend! Ons het die plekkie as lekker warm en knus ervaar. Smaakvol gemeubileer met die pragtigste skilderye wat deur die eienaar geskilder is. Alles wat ons nodig gehad het om ons verblyf aangenaam te maak, was beskikbaar. Ons het die Dinsdagaand 'n kragonderbreking gehad en die gasvrou het..."

more

"Asemrowend! Ons het die plekkie as lekker warm en knus ervaar. Smaakvol gemeubileer met die pragtigste skilderye wat deur die eienaar geskilder is. Alles wat ons nodig gehad het om ons verblyf aangenaam te maak, was beskikbaar. Ons het die Dinsdagaand 'n kragonderbreking gehad en die gasvrou het ons onmiddellik te hulp gesnel met 'n gaslamp. Melodi het ons bederf met die heerlikste warm, varsgebakte skons en heerlike vyekonfyt. Twee keer. Met ons aankoms was die yskas met melk en koue water toegerus. Die eenheid is ook lekker privaat en ons kon kom en gaan soos ons wou. Ons privaatheid is te alle tye gerespekteer. Die feit dat ons ons troeteldiere (in my geval lovebirds) kon saamneem, was 'n groot bonus. Die bekommernis van jou diere agterlaat by die huis, bederf 'n vakansie en ons kon met 'n geruste hart ons voëls bedags in die huisie laat. Die heerlike sjokolade, sjerrie en komplimentêre sepies, shampoo, ag sommer alles het ons verblyf 'n onvergeetlike ervaring gemaak. Selfs die haardroër dien vermeld te word. Ons innige dank en waardering vir die wonderlike rustydjie wat ons daar kon deurbring. Ook vir die spesiale aanbieding gedurende Mei. Nogmaals baie baie dankie. Ons sal julle naam te alle tye hoog hou.!
Rentia Pretorius, Welkom (15 - 22 Mei 2009)


(RoomsForAfrica translated)
Breathtaking! We found the place nice and warm. Tasteful furniture and paintings that were painted by the owner. Everything we needed to make our stay a happy one was available. On Tuesday there was a power failure and the hostess quickly helped us out with a gas lamp. Melodi offered u swarm, freshly baked scones with fig jam..twice! On arrival, we found our fridge packed with milk and water. The room was very private so we could come and go as we pleased. Our privacy was respected at all times. The fact that we could bring our pets (my Lovebirds) along with us was a big bonus! The great chocolate, sherry and complimentary sops and shampoos…actually everything made our stay unforgettable. Thank you very very much. We will keep your name high.
Rentia Pretorius, Welkom (15 - 22 Mei 2009)"


"Cosy and friendly"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2009-05-22 13:39:03.0

"We found the owners very friendly and attentive. Everything that is needed for self catering is provided including fresh milk, coffee tea and sugar as well as braai facilities."


"Tranquil & Peaceful!"

(South Africa) Ms Clavaux | 2009-05-11 11:17:36.0

"Our stay was really lovely. The accommodation was quaint & cosy and had all the necessary amenities available. It was really peaceful & relaxing. Lovely place to stay and relax to a glass of wine or to use as a base to explore the beautiful serene surrounds of Sandbaai & Hermanus etc.

Will..."

more

"Our stay was really lovely. The accommodation was quaint & cosy and had all the necessary amenities available. It was really peaceful & relaxing. Lovely place to stay and relax to a glass of wine or to use as a base to explore the beautiful serene surrounds of Sandbaai & Hermanus etc.

Will definitely recommend to others and visit again:)"


"Home away from Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Samuel | 2009-05-04 09:17:24.0

"The cottage was absolutely clean. It really felt very homely and comfortable. We went for a relaxing week-end and that is exactly what we had. It has all that was necessary. We really enjoyed our stay and plan on coming back."


"Vanhaven you are a 5 Star Self-Catering"

(South Africa) Mrs Xube | 2009-04-28 09:54:30.0

"The place is so clean, good atmosphere, well organised. When you get there, all is there and ready for you to use. We have been to other establishments all over South Africa but we found VanHaven excellent and the price for the unit per night was very good. We are even planning to go there again ne..."

more

"The place is so clean, good atmosphere, well organised. When you get there, all is there and ready for you to use. We have been to other establishments all over South Africa but we found VanHaven excellent and the price for the unit per night was very good. We are even planning to go there again next time. We kept the details to give it out to friends and family members who will visit Hermanus. It was a good and a relaxing weekend. Well planned and organised place.

Thanks again"


"Van Haven Self Catering Accommodation"

(South Africa) Ms Coetzer | 2009-03-23 07:38:57.0

"I loved the place! The hosts were fantastic and all the little extra's was a bonus."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Ms Mostert | 2009-03-16 08:51:53.0

"It is situated in a quiet, nice suburban. Friendly people. The unit decorated in a beach style decor. Very clean, homely, quiet, pretty with lots of extras and complimentary sweets and eats to spoil. Everything was provided and you don't have to bring anything. Everything you need has been thou..."

more

"It is situated in a quiet, nice suburban. Friendly people. The unit decorated in a beach style decor. Very clean, homely, quiet, pretty with lots of extras and complimentary sweets and eats to spoil. Everything was provided and you don't have to bring anything. Everything you need has been thought of. This is a SC unit with everything you'll need. Close to shops and walking distance to beach.

It is a must to visit this place and experience what we did!"


"Baie Dankie / Thank you"

(South Africa) Mrs Conradie | 2009-03-09 12:10:13.0

"BAIE DANKIE vir 'n heerlike tydjie by julle. Ons het heerlik gebly. Baie dankie vir jul vriendelikheid, gasvryheid en heerlike bederf ! Ons sal weer by jul inloer en ander ook verwys.

(RoomsForAfrica translated)

Thank you very much for a lovely time. We really enjoyed our stay. ..."

more

"BAIE DANKIE vir 'n heerlike tydjie by julle. Ons het heerlik gebly. Baie dankie vir jul vriendelikheid, gasvryheid en heerlike bederf ! Ons sal weer by jul inloer en ander ook verwys.

(RoomsForAfrica translated)

Thank you very much for a lovely time. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you for your friendliness and hospitality. We will come and visit again and also recommend to others."


"Vanhanven well priced"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2009-02-08 14:38:36.0

"I was able to find accommodation at Vanhaven for one night with very short notice and at a good price. It is a beautiful establishment with lovely soft touches and a cosy feel. The hostess is very friendly and made us feel at home. It is definitely worth the cost."


"Perfect accommodation"

(Suriname) Ms Gangaram Panday | 2008-12-01 16:02:40.0

"Van Haven is a nice and cosy place in an quiet residential area, with very warm and personal care by the hostess."


"One night of absolute comfort"

(South Africa) Ms Apolles | 2008-10-13 08:59:51.0

"Response time to accommodation request & queries thereafter was excellent - I had been unsuccessful in finding accommodation in Hermanus either because most places were booked or because they do not encourage "one nighters" over week-ends so just before giving up completely I decided to try Sandbaai..."

more

"Response time to accommodation request & queries thereafter was excellent - I had been unsuccessful in finding accommodation in Hermanus either because most places were booked or because they do not encourage "one nighters" over week-ends so just before giving up completely I decided to try Sandbaai & because of the almost immediate response it made for an excellent reunion with two old friends - one from Pretoria.
The reception we received both from Lauren & the complimentary surprises all over the show in the so liveable quaint apartment was an indication for us of the excellent weather for whale-spotting that was to follow.
The apartment filled our every need in terms of space, comfort, cleanliness & basic requirements but also so surprisingly affordable.
I think unless you experience Vanhaven yourself you can't begin to appreciate all the personal touches.
As we were leaving on Saturday morning we were still discussing if we could possibly fit in another night knowing it was virtually impossible as one of us was going back to Pretoria on the Sunday."


"Good Accommodation"

(Belgium) anonymous | 2008-09-02 17:43:47.0

"Vanhaven Self Catering is a comfortable place to stay, with all the facilities you need. It's was pleasant to sit on the terrace and use the braai facilities.
Vanhaven is relatively far away from the centre of Hermanus, this might be a problem for some."


"Great value for money"

(South Africa) Ms Coetzee | 2008-07-15 07:31:32.0

"Very enjoyable stay. Outstanding value for money. Great hosts & personal touches. The accommodation was very neat and fully equipped for comfort."


"Fantastic hospitality"

(South Africa) Ms Pietersen | 2008-06-17 07:51:16.0

"Dear Rooms for Africa,
We had such a warm welcome. The stay was so much more than we could have imagined. The rooms were perfectly positioned with everything that you needed. There was attention to detail. It was indeed cosy giving you the outdoor feel. I would indeed recommend Vanhaven Self Cat..."

more

"Dear Rooms for Africa,
We had such a warm welcome. The stay was so much more than we could have imagined. The rooms were perfectly positioned with everything that you needed. There was attention to detail. It was indeed cosy giving you the outdoor feel. I would indeed recommend Vanhaven Self Catering to anyone and will definitely go there again.

Thanks a million for having such a fantastic establishment on your site."


"Vanhaven weekend review"

(South Africa) David van Schoor | 2008-03-03 10:46:49.0

"Prior to my arrival I received a call which I unfortunately missed, to find out what time I'd be arriving and whether I needed further directions to the establishment. This was a really good personal touch, which we found lots of during the stay; little chocolates, complimentary home made raisin bre..."

more

"Prior to my arrival I received a call which I unfortunately missed, to find out what time I'd be arriving and whether I needed further directions to the establishment. This was a really good personal touch, which we found lots of during the stay; little chocolates, complimentary home made raisin bread and even some sherry to warm up during those cold nights, of which there weren't any! The room was really well designed with all the comforts of home with a little bit extra added in for good measure. We loved the bath and specifically the soap! If you stay over, you'll know what we're talking about. All in all, a really good stay."


"Perfect for us!"

(South Africa) Mrs Haughton | 2008-02-13 09:12:01.0

"We felt very welcome - hostess very friendly and professional - champagne in the fridge for us and a chocolates added a personal little touch (to our anniversary) and delicious freshly baked scones on the Sunday morning was a real treat. The unit was spotless and tastefully decorated - we had every..."

more

"We felt very welcome - hostess very friendly and professional - champagne in the fridge for us and a chocolates added a personal little touch (to our anniversary) and delicious freshly baked scones on the Sunday morning was a real treat. The unit was spotless and tastefully decorated - we had everything we needed to be comfortable, surroundings very pretty, quiet and within walking distance from the beach (Sandbaai), 5minutes drive to Hermanus. We will definately recommend Vanhaven to our friends and will stay there again without hesitation. We thought the tariff was reasonable for the unit. Enjoyed our stay very much and have no complaints. Thank you very much."