Reviews of Avoca River Cabins


"Beautiful and blissful "

(South Africa) Tevin | 23 April 2019

"What a tranquil weekend spent at Avoca river cabins. Such a beautiful stay for both couples and families with a great range of facilities to accommodate everyone. I will definitely return. Thank you "


" Avoca "

(South Africa) LAETITIA | 11 January 2019

"We had a nice stay. The accommodation is pleasant and fabulous environment, between well maintained grass and lemon fields. Close to the reserve, perfect.
Laetitia"


"River view"

Tom & Mien Bruwer | 14 April 2018

"Loved the agricultural views and tranquility.

Shared kitchen not ideal

Establishments response:

Good Evening Tom & Mien

Thank you for coming to stay with us. It was great to be your hosts. I am glad that you could enjoy the surrounding landscape. Safe Travels and everythi..."

more

"Loved the agricultural views and tranquility.

Shared kitchen not ideal

Establishments response:

Good Evening Tom & Mien

Thank you for coming to stay with us. It was great to be your hosts. I am glad that you could enjoy the surrounding landscape. Safe Travels and everything of the best for the future! We look forward to hearing from you again. Enjoy your day!"


"great pool, very nice and friendly staff"

Christine Reichl | 26 February 2018

"we loved our holiday at your site, you were very helpful... dinner would be nice, but not a big problem as there are a few restaurants around..."


"Paddling on the river"

Neil Randall | 10 January 2018

"Sewrage smell outside room 4 @ Thommies Place needs to be addressed"


"Peaceful"

Erin Davids | 9 October 2017

"Peaceful & beautiful. The most loveliest smell lingering in the air"


"peaceful place with family "

Gang Liu | 6 June 2017

"I loves the flowers the rivers the farm and very friendly farm owners and lots fun with my family there. Only one thing is the wifi function is very weak in my room "


"Peaceful"

Dave Prentice | 28 May 2017

"Super getaway on the Sundays River. Bonus being an orange farm. "


"Great accommodation for a reasonable price"

David Roberts | 8 May 2017

"We loved the friendly reception, the beautiful rooms and the natural setting. Lovely birdlife in the early morning, a well equipped shared kitchen in Uncle Townies."


"Avoca cabin"

Annelien Van Zyl | 5 March 2017

"Beautiful gardens make such a good impression. Housing was clean and neat. Shower drain a bit blocked. Water all over the bathroom floor.
Suggest however that it must clearly be stated that the 4 sleeper is for 2 adults with kids and not 4 elderly adults.
Braai grid must definitely be replace..."

more

"Beautiful gardens make such a good impression. Housing was clean and neat. Shower drain a bit blocked. Water all over the bathroom floor.
Suggest however that it must clearly be stated that the 4 sleeper is for 2 adults with kids and not 4 elderly adults.
Braai grid must definitely be replaced!! It is in a very bad state."


"Our weekend 18-20 November 2016"

(South Africa) Shaun Wallace | 21 November 2016

"From the minute me arrived at the resort, we were greeted with warmth and very happy and excited staff. We have stayed there a few times already, and Everytime it's such a blissful experience. The beautiful gardens, landscaping and lovely bird life makes it the perfect getaway. The new lady at recep..."

more

"From the minute me arrived at the resort, we were greeted with warmth and very happy and excited staff. We have stayed there a few times already, and Everytime it's such a blissful experience. The beautiful gardens, landscaping and lovely bird life makes it the perfect getaway. The new lady at reception was so helpful and kind, and Riaan was his usual happy, professional self, as always. Such a pleasure to have been there. We look forward to our next getaway. Regards. Shaun Wallace and family "


"What a fantastic place!"

(England) Adrian King | 30 August 2016

"We had four nights at Avoca - the castle was really comfortable, breakfasts perfect and the attention to detail was extraordinary. The birdlife was just brilliant - kingfishers, Fork tailed drongos, sunbirds, mousebirds and all seen from the patio. I would recommend Avoca for visits to the ADDO are..."

more

"We had four nights at Avoca - the castle was really comfortable, breakfasts perfect and the attention to detail was extraordinary. The birdlife was just brilliant - kingfishers, Fork tailed drongos, sunbirds, mousebirds and all seen from the patio. I would recommend Avoca for visits to the ADDO area with no hesitation!"


"Great peaceful surroundings"

(South Africa) Amanda Allers | 10 August 2016

"Due to our late booking, only shared accommodation at Old Townies was available. We met amazing South African- and overseas visitors, all of whom who shared very interesting experiences. We have had a super long weekend, enjoyed the scenery at the venue and nearby Addo elephant park, Zuurberg Mounta..."

more

"Due to our late booking, only shared accommodation at Old Townies was available. We met amazing South African- and overseas visitors, all of whom who shared very interesting experiences. We have had a super long weekend, enjoyed the scenery at the venue and nearby Addo elephant park, Zuurberg Mountain Village andThe Lookout restaurant. We have also had a variety of dishes and drinks at the Africanos restaurant just a few kilometers away from the venue, where friendly, efficient service is the norm. Our accommodation was comfortable, clean and affordable. A huge thank you to Francois and Riaan for their quick responses to our enquiries."


"great stay"

(South Africa) Greg Wylde | 30 June 2016

"Had a great time, kids had fun and Mom & Dad could relax."


"DEIDRE JACOBS AVOCA STAY"

(South Africa) DEIDRE JACOBS | 16 May 2016

"Thankyou for a lovely break away, the Avoca Chalets are beautiful, very neat and homely. Stunning gardens and beautiful walkway. We are soooo happy to have had this experience. Thankyou once again !!!"


"'"

(South Africa) Anita Robinson | 21 February 2016

"What a delightful place to stay. Our chalet(gymnogene) was tastefully decorated, with a balcony/stoep overlooking the river. An added bonus was the outdoor shower and we enjoyed using it to cool down. It had everything we needed for self-catering including a built-in braai.It's very private, peacefu..."

more

"What a delightful place to stay. Our chalet(gymnogene) was tastefully decorated, with a balcony/stoep overlooking the river. An added bonus was the outdoor shower and we enjoyed using it to cool down. It had everything we needed for self-catering including a built-in braai.It's very private, peaceful and relaxing. We were only there for one night but will definitely go back. There is a restaurant on the premises for supper and breakfasts, but we opted to braai instead. Highly recommended!
"


"Peace perfect peace"

(South Africa) Peter Broster | 27 November 2015

"One night and two meals at this peaceful place near to Addo National Park. Very welcoming and relaxed hosts."


"Amazing Family Destination"

(South Africa) Justione Raitt | 11 August 2015

"We stayed at treetops, the rooms and the view are incredible. We all had a fantastic time plenty of activities, canoeing, fishing and a lovely kids play area. Everything is so well kept and neat and the staff are extremely friendly. We will definitely be back. Thank you so very much "


"Tree Tops - Avoca"

(South Africa) Debbie Longhurst | 6 August 2015

"We stayed for 3 nights, and the whole experience was delightful. Friendly and hospitable staff, very comfortable accommodation and a beautiful spot in which to relax. We all loved it.

Establishments Response:
Thank you for such a lovely review, always happily received. Our aim at Avoca is to make our guests feel at home and special. Your suggestion is a good one and we will certainly add a shelf for toiletries."


"'"

(South Africa) Heather Johnson | 21 July 2015

"Beautiful setting and a relaxed environment with a warm welcome.  Thank you for a lovely stay!
"


"Great, stunning place."

(South Africa) Johlene Muller | 20 July 2015

"Great, stunning place.Friendly people. Stunning scenery."


"Central and comfy "

(South Africa) Mike Parker | 20 July 2015

"We had an awesome stay at Avoca , well priced and great value for money. Only wish we could have stayed there longer. An ideal launch pad for visiting Addo. Will certainly be back !!!"


"Great stopover near Addo"

(South Africa) Greg Stothart | 18 April 2015

"Perfect stopover after a day in Addo, lovely setting amongst citrus farms overlooking the valley and reasonably priced."


"A family resort"

(England) Karl Svendsen | 17 April 2015

"We spent 3 nights recently in the mud hut, which was pleasant. "


"'"

(South Africa) Chantell Harmse | 26 January 2015

"Spent an amazing weekend at Avoca! It felt like the hottest weekend and we enjoyed the pool with other guests. Tried to do some fishing but had no luck. After seeing the other accommodation we decided to move from our mud hut to a room in Uncle Townie's House without any problems. Would definitely r..."

more

"Spent an amazing weekend at Avoca! It felt like the hottest weekend and we enjoyed the pool with other guests. Tried to do some fishing but had no luck. After seeing the other accommodation we decided to move from our mud hut to a room in Uncle Townie's House without any problems. Would definitely recommend Avoca to anyone who wants to get away from the city"


"Nice location at the river "

(Finland) Corinna Machnow | 14 December 2014

"We rented the Gymnogene chalet which they also call their Honeymoon chalet. It's big, and nicely located above the river with a good view to the river and the farmland on the other river bank.

We didn't engage in any local activity - you can e.g. get kayaks for paddling on the river - as we ..."

more

"We rented the Gymnogene chalet which they also call their Honeymoon chalet. It's big, and nicely located above the river with a good view to the river and the farmland on the other river bank.

We didn't engage in any local activity - you can e.g. get kayaks for paddling on the river - as we only had the Addo Elephant N.P. in mind which is easy to reach from there.

Breakfast costs 50 ZAR extra but it's worth it because you get the full continental choice and eggs, bacon etc that you can order additionally."


"Nice stay at Avoca"

(South Africa) Joan Koen | 18 August 2014

"We enjoyed our stay at Avoca. Very nice cabins. Beautiful gardens. Owners Judy and Dave were very friendly. Riaan, who assisted us with the bookings, was very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back to Avoca for our next weekend away. "


"'"

(South Africa) GREG WYLDE | 3 July 2014

"Good family get away destination"


"Overnight stay in River Cabin"

(South Africa) Adam Gerber | 12 April 2014

"A beautiful place to stay. Lovely scenery and well equipped rooms."


"Pleasant stay"

(Netherlands) Peter Leersnijder | 8 February 2014

"We stayed in the forest cabins. The cabins are very nice. The swimming pool is near and the meals on the terras at the swimming pool were superb. The shared lapa has only one fridge for two cabins and the stove has only two pits. Since we were the only guests that used the stove, this was no problem..."

more

"We stayed in the forest cabins. The cabins are very nice. The swimming pool is near and the meals on the terras at the swimming pool were superb. The shared lapa has only one fridge for two cabins and the stove has only two pits. Since we were the only guests that used the stove, this was no problem."


"Nice stay"

(South Africa) Wim Dalen | 16 December 2013

"We enjoyed our stay, but we had hoped we good have a braai or something like that with other guests. The chalet was clean but very basic. The swimming pool was very nice and also the people who work here."


"A perfect place for Addo NP"

(South Africa) Birgit Elsner | 23 November 2013

"It was a dream to stay in this wonderful river cabin gymnogene and also in cabin sunbird. We would only be too pleased to come again to Dave with his dog Maximus."


"Great atmoshphere for kids"

(South Africa) carlee corse | 2 October 2013

"Playground was great and great place for families."


"Tree Tops Cabin"

(South Africa) Allan Brunt | 25 September 2013

"Comfortable accommodation in great farm location convenient for Addo Elephant Park."


"Beautiful"

(Netherlands) Annemiek van Kampen | 15 September 2013

"Beautiful accommodation overlooking the river. We enjoyed it very much."


"Very pleasant"

(South Africa) Erika Roberts | 5 July 2013

"Very pleasant stay. Riaan was very helpful and friendly. The resort is very well kept with beautiful gardens and chalets/huts."


"Nice"

(South Africa) patricia england | 6 April 2013

"After a few problems with our bookings, everything sorted out to our satisfaction We will certainly use Avoca cabins again.

Patricia England."


"Beautiful grounds, friendly hounds!"

(South Africa) Jade Jacobsohn | 20 February 2013

"We loved it. Plenty to do in addition to relaxing on the stoop. Paddling, swimming - lots of fun."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Robin Scott | 10 January 2013

"Worth every cent."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) David Stemmett | 10 January 2013

"Overlooking the Sundays River, not too far from Addo Elephant park.

We stayed in the Castle. The rooms were nice, good kitchen facility, great bathroom. The manager - Riaan was very helpful. "


"Super spot"

(United Kingdom) Alan Lewis | 30 November 2012

"We were kindly upgraded and had a lovely stay in 'Kingfisher' by the river and the citrus trees on the farm.

Everyone was very friendly (including the cats) and its very convenient for ADDO NP."


"Net 'n plesier"

(South Africa) John le Roux | 24 October 2012

"Ons was daar toe die rivier lekker vol was en die water het die hele tyd gekabbel. Die huisie was wonderlik en ons eht dit terdee geniet! Dankie!"


"Good experience"

(South Africa) Sandra Scheepers | 15 October 2012

"We slept in the Castle and it was really a good experience! The area is wonderful and birdwatchers would love to visit this place. There is a wonderful playground for children. The atmosphere is tranquil and enjoyable. I would stay there again."


"A great place!"

(Lesotho) Wendy Fath | 1 August 2012

"Dave and Judy have a wonderful spot along the Sundays River! We've stayed in many self-catering/B&B's in South Africa and it's one of the nicest. They've obviously put a lot of passion, planning and work into creating such a lovely, relaxing spot. The gardens, even in winter, are such a complement t..."

more

"Dave and Judy have a wonderful spot along the Sundays River! We've stayed in many self-catering/B&B's in South Africa and it's one of the nicest. They've obviously put a lot of passion, planning and work into creating such a lovely, relaxing spot. The gardens, even in winter, are such a complement to the already gorgeous setting. And if you've got children, they'll find the well-designed playground areas lots of fun! Dave is also a wealth of interesting historical information regarding the development of Sundays River Orange Co-op.

We stayed in a small cabin that shares a kitchen with one other cabin and our view was looking down to the Sundays River as it meanders by and across the river to orange orchards: a great foreground for the most spectacular African sunset! It's close to Addo too, so if elephants are your favorite African animal, you'll see LOTS within a 20-minute drive.

The only improvements I'd recommend are two:

- the old-fashioned double bed really does need an upgrade;

- a heater should be provided in winters as the rooms are chilly."


"Gymnogene"

(South Africa) Angela Murphy | 30 April 2012

"Most beautiful experience, I will definately come again."


"Cabin 3"

(South Africa) Sandra Nicholls | 8 April 2012

"Thank you all for yet another great time. The children really enjoyed the canoes and play areas, and we of course enjoyed everything at Avaco. Thanks again Judy, Dave and Riaan. Hope to see you all again soon."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Sandra Nicholls | 26 February 2012

"Had yet another wonderful stay at Avoca, can't wait until 30 March when we will be back again. Many, many thanks to Judy, Dave and Riaan."


"Great"

(Germany) Beate Buergel | 25 February 2012

"We liked our stay. The cottage is big, clean and comfortable, although the chairs on the balcony could be replaced with some more comfortable ones. A very quiet and beautiful place. "


"Beautiful"

(United Kingdom) Anna Manley | 17 February 2012

"We had a great stay here. We had our own room over looking the river, peaceful and beautiful. Comfy, clean rooms and easy to find. The staff were great, they even made us a packed lunch as we had a long drive the next day! Thank you for a lovely stay."


"Beautiful"

(United Kingdom) Anna Manley | 17 February 2012

"We had a fantastic time staying here. We had our own room right on the river with great views. The room was comfy and clean.

Easy directions to find and friendly staff, they even made us a packed lunch since we had a long trip the next day! Thank you Avoca!"


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Klaus John | 16 February 2012

"Gymnogene Cottage was a very nice place to stay for three nights and the hosts were very friendly."


"Fun place for family holiday"

(South Africa) Cathryn Hodgkinson | 29 December 2011

"This is a wonderful place to stay, on the river and close to the Addo national park. Extremely friendly staff, well organized and a very pleasant experience. Thank you."


"Nice hideaway"

(Switzerland) Roland Stucki | 28 December 2011

"Nice hideaway, very friendly and helpful staff."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Siobhan Mc Millan | 5 December 2011

"We at JSH had an awesome time at Avoca this last weekend. Avoca is sooo beautiful! We'll be back before you know it."


"Wonderful"

(Netherlands) Dirke van der Veen | 30 November 2011

"We stayed for three nights and it was just wonderful. The cottages located in the middle of nature are beautiful, with wonderful views. The service was just outstanding. It's just a great place to relax and enjoy South Africa. Highly recommendable."


"A children's paradise"

(South Africa) Christine Collins | 14 November 2011

"Dave and Judy have created a children's, and adults', paradise. From jungle gyms and trampolines to a swimming pool, the free use of the boats on the river and a fantastic garden full of flowers and birds."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Annette Waagemans | 13 November 2011

"Relaxing place to be. Nice pool, close to Addo."


"Most welcoming"

(South Africa) Sandra Nicholls | 26 October 2011

"As always Judy and Dave made us most welcome and our accommodation was great as usual. See you again in March or even February."


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Dawn Berry | 22 October 2011

"Although we only stayed for one night and did not get to see and experience all that is on offer we were really impressed with the comfortable accommodation and how neat the property was and the friendly welcome from Riaan. We will be back for a longer stay!"


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Yolanda strumpher | 5 October 2011

"Yes it was amazing, thank you very much. We enjoyed every moment, the nature, the river, the plants and everything else. The castle house is wonderful and yes, we will most highly recommend Avoca River Cabins to all our friend and family. It's a must stay and yes, we will come back for a stay. T..."

more

"Yes it was amazing, thank you very much. We enjoyed every moment, the nature, the river, the plants and everything else. The castle house is wonderful and yes, we will most highly recommend Avoca River Cabins to all our friend and family. It's a must stay and yes, we will come back for a stay. Thank you very much."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Sandra Nicholls | 5 October 2011

"Excellent, as always. See you again in two weeks."


"Beautiful, relaxing, hospitable, enjoyable"

(United States of America) Samantha Mockford | 8 August 2011

"Our group of 14 spent the weekend here (in Uncle Townie's house) and loved it. Dave, Judy, and Riaan are generous, hospitable hosts who took great care to make our weekend memorable. I'm so glad that we opted to pay R100 per person for catered dinners. The food was excellent, and it was a pleasant b..."

more

"Our group of 14 spent the weekend here (in Uncle Townie's house) and loved it. Dave, Judy, and Riaan are generous, hospitable hosts who took great care to make our weekend memorable. I'm so glad that we opted to pay R100 per person for catered dinners. The food was excellent, and it was a pleasant break to not have to prepare our own meals! The property is vast and lovely, and we enjoyed the Schotia Safari game drive we booked through Avoca."


"Fab family holiday spot"

(South Africa) stephanie Forbes | 3 July 2011

"This was my first trip to the Eastern Cape and the Addo area. Avoca is a fabulous place for a family. It has everything you need to keep kids busy but still has adult sophistication. Will definitely be back. The setting is just stunning. Big thumbs up."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Donovan Robinson | 4 May 2011

"Avoca is well managed, and the stay was wonderful. The place was spotlessly clean, breakfast was good. It is a lovely stopover to use as a base for exploring the whole area. Thank you!"


"We enjoyed our stay, thank you"

(South Africa) Ryan Chen | 11 April 2011

"Thank you to all Avoca's staff and their help during our stay. We really enjoyed it and will come back for sure. "


"A gem of a place"

(Canada) Denis Desharnais | 27 March 2011

"The entire experience was most enjoyable. Made to feel special."


"Our stay at Avoca"

(South Africa) Janet Schwulst | 19 December 2010

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you at Avoca. Your facilities are wonderful and we will be returning."


"Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 4 November 2010

"I can highly recommend it. I stayed in the Gymnogene Chalet for 5 nights and enjoyed it very much. The view is beautiful. You have your private terrace overlooking the river with braai. The chalet is very comfortable and the staff extremely friendly."


"Brilliant, what a pleasure!!"

(South Africa) Elaine Beyers | 4 October 2010

"This is definitely one of the best accommodations we have ever encountered. The chalet is very well equipped, clean and comfortable. There were lovely views with great birding. Dave and Judy go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and cared for."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Saras Naidoo | 15 April 2010

"We loved Avoca River cabins, the setting, the canoes. Riaan the manager very helpful and friendly. Kids loved it. Thank you for a lovely stay. Saras"


"Awesome weekend getaway"

(South Africa) Sidi Cassim | 7 April 2010

"Fishing excellent, accommodation excellent, hospitality excellent.

We will definitely be going back. Special thanks to Riaan........................."


"Amazing! Would highly recommend!"

(South Africa) Bret thompsett | 29 March 2010

"Beautiful view from our cabin, comfy beds, great staff and love the dogs! Well priced and close enough to Addo for us! Will visit again for sure."


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Sandra Nicholls | 9 March 2010

"We had a wonderful stay our hosts were very welcoming and because they thought that the accommodation we had booked was not really suitable for my brother in law who is slightly disabled, they moved us to a more suitable accommodation, we will definitely be back when we travel that way again."


"Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Val Sing | 13 January 2010

"Riaan, the manager was very helpful with our requests for information on hiking and sightseeing, even though he was obviously very busy.

Our room was lovely and spacious, but the self-catering area and facilities were perhaps just a little tight, though not unmanageable for 2 people. It would..."

more

"Riaan, the manager was very helpful with our requests for information on hiking and sightseeing, even though he was obviously very busy.

Our room was lovely and spacious, but the self-catering area and facilities were perhaps just a little tight, though not unmanageable for 2 people. It would have been good if the kitchen area lighting worked, and a light on the patio/dining/braai area would have been marvellous. Next time we go, we'll take a candle or two."


"Surprisingly pleasant"

(South Africa) Giovanni Dolph | 6 January 2010

"mystery, very enjoyable, definitely do it again, and recommend others."


"Awesome place"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 4 January 2010

"Nice chalets, nice view."


"Avoca - quite a (re)treat"

(South Africa) Jan Morren | 22 December 2009

"Great accommodation in a wonderful setting.

Having stayed a full week we could have easily done another one with so much to see and experience in close vicinity of the farm as well as the surrounding region.

The canoes were an absolute hit with the kids."


"HONEYMOON SHAWN AND MARLENE 8 AUG-11 AUG 2009"

(South Africa) Marlene Vorster | 12 August 2009

"We had a ball. The farm is a great escape. The scenery is breath taking and the photos on the Internet does not do any justice to Avoca. We didn't want to go back to the everyday life. Wish we could have stayed for a month. Dave, Judy and Riaan where so helpful. We even had rose peddles and champagn..."

more

"We had a ball. The farm is a great escape. The scenery is breath taking and the photos on the Internet does not do any justice to Avoca. We didn't want to go back to the everyday life. Wish we could have stayed for a month. Dave, Judy and Riaan where so helpful. We even had rose peddles and champagne that was waiting on our arrival. We will definitely be visiting again. And the best of all...........there is no TV."


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) Jos Te Braake | 21 July 2009

"As a party of six we enjoyed our stay in the 6-birth cabin. It was sufficient for our requirements and we enjoyed the hospitality and general friendliness of everyone on the farm. Avoca is well placed for sight seeing at Addo Elephant Park and the many other local sites. We also drove to Addo Elepha..."

more

"As a party of six we enjoyed our stay in the 6-birth cabin. It was sufficient for our requirements and we enjoyed the hospitality and general friendliness of everyone on the farm. Avoca is well placed for sight seeing at Addo Elephant Park and the many other local sites. We also drove to Addo Elephant Back Safaris (1.5hrs) and enjoyed riding elephants. We visited Daniell's Cheetah Breeding Project and the Crocodile Farm. Excellent bakery at Lenmore and good food from Africanos, all within easy reach. Best wishes. Jos te Braake 16-18 July 2009 "


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Albert van der Merwe | 18 July 2009

"It was nice."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 29 November 2008

"Lovely venue. Adequate accommodation"


"Thanks for the lovley stay."

(South Africa) Annamarie Ditlow | 24 November 2008

"It's been absolutely wonderful, want to book again with some friends.. They dont even know about Avoca, so will definitely book again."


"Beautiful surroundings"

(South Africa) Jennifer Steyn | 11 August 2008

"Avoca is a lovely establishment! What a great family get away, peaceful and beautiful surroundings. We will definitely be back! "


"Great place."

(Germany) ina greenshields | 8 January 2008

"Had a lovely stay at the River Cabins, the kids loved sleeping in the rafters. It was a special treat to get oranges and lemons out of the orchard. The breakfast was memorable! "


"Wished we could have stayed longer!!"

(United Kingdom) Liz Lythaby | 19 March 2007

"Dear Dave & Judy,

Thank you for welcoming us ... we LOVED the Avoca River Cabins, and so wished that we could have stayed longer with you and seen more of the surrounding area, which was so beautiful... absolutely perfect !

Kind regards

Liz, Pete, Sue & Keith"


"Perfect!"

(South Africa) Dominique | 5 February 2018

"Beautiful, peaceful, home away from home. Very helpful staff that booked my activities for me! Definitely a place to stay and will definitely be coming back. "


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Yolands | 13 November 2017

"We had a great stay very peaceful and relaxing. The staff at the venue are very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back in the near future ."


"Amazing Place"

(South Africa) Nicky | 27 July 2017

"We were checked into Avoca by the friendliest staff, what an amazing and informative greeting!!
We stayed in Uncle Townies in the most beautiful en suite room. Self catering facilities were more than adequate and the surrounds were really beautiful.
We will be returning."


"Satisfied With My Stay"

(South Africa) Jazlyne | 17 May 2017

"My stay was absolutely enjoyable. I could not find fault anywhere, the accommodation was as I expected and have definitely recommended the place to friends."


"Avoca Called For A Revisit"

(South Africa) Liz | 2 May 2017

"We had a lovely stay at Avoca. Friendly, welcoming and very helpful with a lot to offer. Room very comfortable and kitchen well equipped. We had an awesome time rowing down the river with a lot of laughter thereafter my hubby had a swim in the pool. Very peaceful. Short drive to Addo and Kirkwood. W..."

more

"We had a lovely stay at Avoca. Friendly, welcoming and very helpful with a lot to offer. Room very comfortable and kitchen well equipped. We had an awesome time rowing down the river with a lot of laughter thereafter my hubby had a swim in the pool. Very peaceful. Short drive to Addo and Kirkwood. Will definitely visit again. "


"Wonderful Stay"

(South Africa) Barbara | 28 February 2017

"Its a beautiful place. My surroundings was beautiful and the set-up of the whole place was admirable. It was a great value for money and we are definitely going back."


"Fantastic Stay at Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Lucinda | 23 February 2017

"We had a great stay at Avoca River Cabins, after it was recommended to me by my parents who had stayed previously. It is located approximately 20 minutes from Addo Elephant Park, which meant that we could participate in the Night Drive and still return home safely afterwards. We stayed in Tracy's Ro..."

more

"We had a great stay at Avoca River Cabins, after it was recommended to me by my parents who had stayed previously. It is located approximately 20 minutes from Addo Elephant Park, which meant that we could participate in the Night Drive and still return home safely afterwards. We stayed in Tracy's Room, which was simple but suited our needs. The bathroom facilities were comparatively more modern. We opted to pay extra for breakfast on arrival and were glad we did as it was brilliant. In particular we enjoyed the homemade jams and marmalade's, cooked breakfast and fresh still lemonade. "


"Awesome "

(South Africa) Albie | 29 January 2017

"We stayed in one of their beautiful river cabins. Equipped with all the necessary items.
Staff friendly and helpful.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.
We will defiantly go back.
"


"Beautiful Place"

(South Africa) Loutjie | 21 November 2016

"It is a beautiful place at the river. It is tranquil, have a fantastic view and the location is special. The people who works there are friendly. Our stay was amazing."


"Enjoyable and Satisfying"

(South Africa) Lisa | 16 September 2016

"I had absolutely no problems, the service was good and the rooms were lovely. It had everything we needed. I will go back again."


"Excellent family accommodation close to Addo"

(South Africa) Erina | 21 August 2016

"We stayed for 6 nights in the Castle and we had a wonderful stay. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. It is close to the Addo Elephant Park (20-25 minutes’ drive) and a perfect place to use as basis to explore the area.
The accommodation is good value for money, spacious and we..."

more

"We stayed for 6 nights in the Castle and we had a wonderful stay. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. It is close to the Addo Elephant Park (20-25 minutes’ drive) and a perfect place to use as basis to explore the area.
The accommodation is good value for money, spacious and well equipped for self-catering with a wonderful private feel. There is a shower and towels are provided. The Castle has good furnishings and it is very clean. There are no wardrobes, but the chests of drawers provide more than enough space for storage of clothes.
The front porch, from which one has a lovely view of the river and the farm’s citrus orchards, is equipped with a braai. There are opportunities for breakfast and dinner, which we did not use, as we enjoyed our Castle and the lovely braai area too much. The area is beautiful and prefect for children. There is enough space for children to play, with a beautiful garden, swimming pool, jungle gym, trampoline and river canoes. One can enjoy walks along the orchards and river and it is a lovely place to enjoy a city break away and to listen to the sounds of nature.
We will definitely return in the future.
"


"Good"

(South Africa) anonymous | 19 July 2016

"Staying at Avoca River Cabins was good and very nice, the staff was friendly and very nice. The Tree Tops Cottage had everything we needed for the stay and it was clean.
Thank you."


"Very Happy"

(South Africa) James | 8 July 2016

"We were very happy with our stay. Everything was perfect, it was clean and neat. We enjoyed the braai area. We had a really lovely overnight stay. Thanks"


"Awesome Establishment"

(South Africa) Brandon | 6 January 2016

"My stay at Avoca River Cabins was excellent. The service was up to standard and the staff was amazing. It really was a great getaway. I will highly recommend this establishment and will definitely be back again!"


"Delightful Accommodation"

(South Africa) Alessandra | 31 December 2015

"We had a great stay at this establishment. The scenery was beautiful. The atmosphere was peaceful and calm. The staff were very friendly and service was great. "


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) Colleen | 20 August 2015

"I only stayed for one night but I had a lovely peaceful stay. The bird life was amazing. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Highly recommended."


"What a pleasure"

(South Africa) Mandy | 22 July 2015

"Our family had such an amazing stay at Avoca. The setting is stunning, the accommodation ranges from basic to beautiful, all within a really reasonable price range. The children had a blast on the ziplines and in the play areas and picking their own oranges. I would definitely come again!"


"Fabulous family time"

(South Africa) Janet | 17 June 2015

"We booked into Avoca River Cabins for 1 night as a family. It was a very special time for us. The rooms were comfortable and enjoyed a braai at the lapa. I would recommend it to anyone. Really good value for money!"


"#chillaxing#mind blowing#total stress relieve#total family time#moerse lekker"

(South Africa) Monre Viljoen | 28 April 2015

"Where to start, well from the booking at Avoca right through to the reception booking in into our Chalet. Total professional from all staff.

Was so stressed out when we arrived, spend 2 nights and 3 days and it was magical. The scenery and majestic views was brilliant. So much to do if you ..."

more

"Where to start, well from the booking at Avoca right through to the reception booking in into our Chalet. Total professional from all staff.

Was so stressed out when we arrived, spend 2 nights and 3 days and it was magical. The scenery and majestic views was brilliant. So much to do if you want to from fishing, hiking, canoeing or just relaxing at the fire.

I have to compliment Avoca for getting the setup 100% correct. The balance was picture perfect.

You can assure that my family and I will return and bring some friends with next time.

Regards and many thanks.
"


"Pleasant experience"

(South Africa) Mrs Hill | 16 April 2015

"It was our first stay in Addo and the establishment was very conveniently located. We really enjoyed our time here."


"Avoca"

(South Africa) Ms K | 23 February 2015

"The establishment is close to Addo. The people were very accommodating and we had a pleasant time."


"No problems at all"

(South Africa) Gentry | 19 January 2015

"The stay here was very nice. It's a lovely place. Certainly a place to be recommended and I will stay here again too."


"Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Ms Steynor | 12 January 2015

"I had a good stay at Avoca. The rooms were neat and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The kids enjoyed the pool and the slide. I will recommend them to others. "


"Great Escape into Nature"

(South Africa) Lynn Hendricks | 12 January 2015

"We had a wonderful time at the Avoca River Cabins. We stayed in the mud hut that could accommodate 3 with single beds. We simply pushed the beds together into a double bed for my sweetheart and me. The communal kitchen and lapa area was beautiful right next to the lake, where we could sit and braai,..."

more

"We had a wonderful time at the Avoca River Cabins. We stayed in the mud hut that could accommodate 3 with single beds. We simply pushed the beds together into a double bed for my sweetheart and me. The communal kitchen and lapa area was beautiful right next to the lake, where we could sit and braai, roast marshmallows and listen to the rustling of the reeds below, watching the sunset of the African sky. Simply amazing. And only 20 minutes away from Addo National Park. The canoes were free for guests to use, we just paid R100 per hour as a deposit and this was returned to us. We spent one of our days just lazing by the pool, reading, swimming and tanning and the facilities are clean. Another great feature is that there are not a lot of guests at the same time. We were there during December 2014 but still felt like we had the place to ourselves. Makes for a great romantic stay. Good value for money and we will definitely be back. "


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 12 January 2015

"I had a good stay at Avoca. It was peaceful and had a nice atmosphere. the rooms were spacious and clean. I will recommend them to others. "


"Mud huts - Avoca river cabins"

(South Africa) Milner | 5 January 2015

"The mud huts are very rustic with only beds inside. The ablutions are shared with an adjacent hut.

It would be better if the locks on the doors could be improved.

Great communal cooking area, note no separate/secluded braai area for the mud hit users unlike the other accommodation ..."

more

"The mud huts are very rustic with only beds inside. The ablutions are shared with an adjacent hut.

It would be better if the locks on the doors could be improved.

Great communal cooking area, note no separate/secluded braai area for the mud hit users unlike the other accommodation which all has their own braai facility.

Close to Addo and relaxing on the river!

Management was very helpful."


"Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Ms tillett | 2 January 2015

"We stayed in one of the forest cabins, and although the accommodation was adequate it would have been ideal for two. The communal kitchen was great and had all the equipment and utilities we needed.
We paid for breakfast up at the main house, and although it was only bacon and eggs, the eggs wer..."

more

"We stayed in one of the forest cabins, and although the accommodation was adequate it would have been ideal for two. The communal kitchen was great and had all the equipment and utilities we needed.
We paid for breakfast up at the main house, and although it was only bacon and eggs, the eggs were good.
Overall a pleasant stay."


"Glad"

(South Africa) Ms Roberts | 5 December 2014

"We can recommend this place to others as we had a very pleasant stay. We would revisit too."


"Very happy"

(South Africa) Madinga | 3 November 2014

"The stay was very nice and the place is exotic. I have already recommended it to people and I want to stay here again very soon."


"lovely stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Alexander | 21 October 2014

"We were pleasantly surprised and very happy with the accommodation. The kids could play around and the bird life is incredible. Would recommend to others and stay again."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) anonymous | 10 October 2014

"We have been there just for one night, but it really deserves more time. The room is spacious and clean. The owners are lovely and the place is relaxing. :-D"


"Beautiful location"

(Australia) anonymous | 24 September 2014

"Really friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast and delightful location on citrus-growing estate. Accommodation was a river-side chalet. Overall a very peaceful night in amazing location close to Addo elephant park."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Mr Fisher | 12 September 2014

"Really enjoyed our stay. Will be returning for another visit. Have already recommended to friends and colleagues. "


"BLISS!"

(South Africa) Ms VAN EYK | 8 September 2014

"My family and I had an absolute blast! The service was professional and the staff very friendly and helpful. Sitting around the camp fire at night and waking up to the sounds of nature was a treasure we would keep with us forever. Don't know who enjoyed the kids play area more, my 4 year old or my h..."

more

"My family and I had an absolute blast! The service was professional and the staff very friendly and helpful. Sitting around the camp fire at night and waking up to the sounds of nature was a treasure we would keep with us forever. Don't know who enjoyed the kids play area more, my 4 year old or my hubby.
Great place to stay and will visit again soon!
Thank you Avoca
"


"Magnificent stay"

(South Africa) Mrs Berg | 18 August 2014

"We had a wonderful stay at Avoca River Cabins. The place is lovely and the kids especially enjoyed the the mini zip line."


"Repeat"

(South Africa) Ms Gordon | 14 July 2014

"The stay was very good. I've been there twice and will certainly revisit when I travel this way again. I would also suggest a stay here to others."


"Avoca River Uys Review"

(South Africa) Mrs Uys | 11 July 2014

"We spent 3 nights at Avoca River Cabins. At reception we immediately felt welcome. The stay was marvellous, the cottage was very neat and the personnel were very friendly. We are bird lovers and enjoyed the variety we could see. We could recommend any body to stay at the Avoca River Cabins"


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) Mrs Rebello | 24 June 2014

"I had a very nice stay at Avoca River Cabins. I would certainly return for another visit and recommend to others as well. Rooms For Africa is convenient so I would utilise them again."


"Excellent and comfy"

(South Africa) Mr Kruger | 1 June 2014

"Very neat, comfy and good value for money. Would recommend this to anyone."


"Good value for money"

(South Africa) Annette | 11 May 2014

"It is a beautiful farm and we enjoyed our stay in Uncle Townie’s house. The kitchen has everything necessary for the self-caterer. "


"Selfcatering units at Avoca river cabbins near Addo"

(South Africa) Mr van zyl | 4 April 2014

"The units are well equipped with everything you need. We enjoyed the beautiful scenic views and the farming activities. There are playgrounds for small children.
The canoeing experience was the best!
Our Hostess Dave, Judy and Riaan are wonderful people.
We will definitely come again! ..."

more

"The units are well equipped with everything you need. We enjoyed the beautiful scenic views and the farming activities. There are playgrounds for small children.
The canoeing experience was the best!
Our Hostess Dave, Judy and Riaan are wonderful people.
We will definitely come again!
"


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Mrs Baartman | 12 March 2014

"We had a wonderful stay. We will be revisiting soon. I have already recommended it to family and friends."


"Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Ms Fortune | 5 March 2014

"Thank you for a lovely stay. We will make use of you again and let others know about you."


"Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Mr Blom | 19 February 2014

"Thank you Avoca River Cabins for a wonderful stay. We will definitely try to revisit and will recommend to others."


"great place, fantastic setting"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Gibson | 17 February 2014

"Amazing setting. Really peaceful and relaxing. Excellent for children- ours didn't want to leave. Lots of wildlife to spot. Interesting, quirky accommodation, including good basic self-catering facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. And a great breakfast."


"Home away from Home"

(South Africa) Mrs Flanegan | 2 February 2014

"We used this venue for a family re-union. What a lovely experience for family all the way from the UK."


"Avoca River Cabins"

(South Africa) Mr Jones | 10 January 2014

"We had a great stay and would recommend to others."


"Helpful in every situation"

(South Africa) Mr Schiffmann | 7 January 2014

"We had a fantastic stay at Avoca and Rian made us feel at home. The room were spacious and overlooking the river was awesome. We could use the Barbecue facilities as well. Breakfast was enough. Everything you needed for a good start in the morning. The swimming pool area was lovely to relax. The B&B..."

more

"We had a fantastic stay at Avoca and Rian made us feel at home. The room were spacious and overlooking the river was awesome. We could use the Barbecue facilities as well. Breakfast was enough. Everything you needed for a good start in the morning. The swimming pool area was lovely to relax. The B&B was close to the Addo Elephant Park. We would always stay at this wonderful place again. Happy New Year to Rian."


"Realy great idea!"

(Germany) Mr Coniglio | 24 December 2013

"Riaan was a very gentle host, even our names were written on a welcome signboard. The idea of sleeping in a guesthouse in the tree tops is really great. The guesthouse was equipped nicely and it was neat and clean. We enjoyed the privacy of our own terrace and had a fantastic braai. Also the garden ..."

more

"Riaan was a very gentle host, even our names were written on a welcome signboard. The idea of sleeping in a guesthouse in the tree tops is really great. The guesthouse was equipped nicely and it was neat and clean. We enjoyed the privacy of our own terrace and had a fantastic braai. Also the garden is very well maintained and the whole premises is beautiful. Recommendable."


"AVOCA RIVER CABINS"

(South Africa) Mrs HAZELL | 11 November 2013

"It was a very nice place to stay with lots for the kids to do. Overall it was great and we would visit again."


"Lovely time"

(South Africa) Mrs Kromhout | 3 October 2013

"We had a lovely stay at Avoca River Cabins. This is a guesthouse we would revisit."


"Serenity @ Avoca"

(South Africa) Mr Du Preez | 15 July 2013

"The facilities and location of Avoca was magnificent. It is such a tranquil environment, a place where one forgets about the hustle and bustle of city life. "


"Restful"

(South Africa) Mr Theron | 8 May 2013

"We came late at night and they were still understanding and awaiting our arrival.
The food was ready and we could just relax and enjoy the evening.
The chalets are situated in a quiet place on the banks of the Sundays River in a beautiful area.
The rest was peaceful and the scenes as we..."

more

"We came late at night and they were still understanding and awaiting our arrival.
The food was ready and we could just relax and enjoy the evening.
The chalets are situated in a quiet place on the banks of the Sundays River in a beautiful area.
The rest was peaceful and the scenes as we awake refreshing.
I definitely recommend it.
"


"Avoca"

(United Kingdom) Mr Gibb | 1 February 2013

"Excellent setting and accommodation. Staff extremely helpful. Very good breakfast"


"Lovely Family Getaway"

(South Africa) Mrs Ambler | 7 January 2013

"My family travelled from Durban to holiday in Addo, and decided not to stay in the national park. After a bit of research on the internet, I discovered Avoca River Cabins, a reasonably priced self-catering accommodation, which appeared to have a lot to offer. We were not disappointed. We were pro..."

more

"My family travelled from Durban to holiday in Addo, and decided not to stay in the national park. After a bit of research on the internet, I discovered Avoca River Cabins, a reasonably priced self-catering accommodation, which appeared to have a lot to offer. We were not disappointed. We were professionally welcomed and checked in, and after a rocky first night (another guest was having a party with loud music which went on past midnight - which the owner sorted out once we alerted him to it) we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay. The river was fabulous, both kids and adults canoed and swam, and walked around in the citrus orchards. The farm cats visited us every night and were most friendly. We took pity on one and bought him some tick dip and spent the evening feeding him table scraps so that he would let us pull the ticks off him. I hope he is looking better now :-) Avoca Cabins are ideally and centrally situated to provide quick access to Addo Elephant National Park, Addo Elephant Back Safaris and Daniell Cheetah Breeding Sanctuary, all of which we visited during our stay. If you just want to chill, the cabins and river are an ideal place to do so."


"Family Time and True Farmstyle Tranquility"

(South Africa) Guillaume Smit | 9 October 2012

"Avoca River Cabins definitely is a place to return to again and again. We used it as an overnight break-out during our visit to family who lives in PE after driving through Addo Game Park. We immediately regretted the fact that our booking was made for a single night.

Over-looking the river..."

more

"Avoca River Cabins definitely is a place to return to again and again. We used it as an overnight break-out during our visit to family who lives in PE after driving through Addo Game Park. We immediately regretted the fact that our booking was made for a single night.

Over-looking the river, we spent this night in what the boys dubbed “The Tree House”. It actually is a log cabin built at the top of the ground-fall to the river, but the impression of being in the top of large trees was overwhelming.

The next day we didn't immediately leave Avoca. Instead, we enjoyed their delicious breakfast and, after confirming with the owner that it's okay, we went back to the river side for another two hours to ride in the canoes, play with the zip-line facilities provided and relax in nature.

With no television and internet our family of four played guessing games, looked at stars, and had some dad and son bonding time with mom taking picture upon picture with her digital snappy machine. Yet, the facilities itself were elegant, well looked after, and neat. Our cabin was a fully equipped self-catering unit. The decision to reserve breakfast (a delectably delicious service Avoca provides) was a wise one, as it extended our short time at Avoca to have a true farm holiday crammed into one day.

The next time we go to PE to visit the family; we will definitely include a two-night stay at Avoca!
"


"avoca"

(Italy) Mr massimiliano | 31 August 2012

"Wonderful place to stay, friendly persons, good experience. The owner is a very helpful person for information about the area."


"good resting place for addo visiters"

(Belgium) anonymous | 4 May 2012

"The rondavels are located in a very nice setting in the middle of a nice citrus farm, on the margin of a river. The rondavel was very basic. The bathroom is in a separate rondavel and shared with another room. The staff was friendly and welcome. Overall still a good choice."


"Stunning!"

(South Africa) Ms Horner | 6 February 2012

"I had the pleasure of staying at Avoca in Feb - and what a treat! We were treated like queens! The food was incredible, but nothing compares to the beautiful setting of this place! The cabins are well decorated, clean and really placed in gorgeous surroundings. The people at Avoca were so helpful..."

more

"I had the pleasure of staying at Avoca in Feb - and what a treat! We were treated like queens! The food was incredible, but nothing compares to the beautiful setting of this place! The cabins are well decorated, clean and really placed in gorgeous surroundings. The people at Avoca were so helpful and friendly and I will definitely recommend this place to anyone that will listen! I cannot wait to return!"


"Review Avoca"

(Netherlands) Mr de Bas | 18 October 2011

"Great service and hospitality by the owners! Excellent breakfast. Apartment nice and unique in an special atmosphere.
"


"Little piece of paradise"

(South Africa) Mrs & Mr Lobjoit | 17 October 2011

"What a beautiful place. Tastefully decorated in a stunning location over looking the river. Hosts were fantastic. Friendly and engaging. Lovely breakfast. Pity we only booked for one night and had reservations elsewhere. We would have loved to spend a few more days. "


"Lovely pool, excellent knowledgable and helpful staff"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 2 April 2011

"The pool is lovely, the advice and organisation for the nearby wildlife park was excellent. The castle was very comfortable and the owners friendly too. A word of warning if you are staying in the river cabins - be prepared for lots of bugs!"


"Pleasant stay"

(Germany) Mr Reddig | 23 March 2011

"One of the finest places in SA. Fine breakfast, early morning call from all the birds around. Close to Addo. We will try to come again."


"Perfect service"

(Germany) anonymous | 16 January 2011

"It was very well organised and the staff did more than expected."


"Heaven on earth"

(South Africa) Mrs Barbara Porter | 15 January 2011

"Avoca River Cabins is a little piece of heaven on earth! A fantastic place for both young and old. Lots to do if that's what you want or just relax and listen to nature surrounding you. Time spent here is time well spent!"


"Avoca Review"

(United Arab Emirates) Mr Redwine | 31 December 2010

"A little difficult to find but owners were very helpful. Beautiful place and rooms were clean and comfortable. No internet and had to pay cash. By and large we would stay there again."


"Avoca"

(Netherlands) Arjen en Nel | 4 October 2010

"A very good establishment! Nice people and very nice views of the citrus fields. Very good breakfast for R15 - unbelievable!! Excellent stay."


"Family stay was an unexpected delight"

(South Africa) Ms Brower | 30 September 2010

"My husband, 2 children aged 12 & 14 needed an overnight near Addo. Avoca River Cabins was an unexpected delight. We stayed in the log cabin which was newly decorated - great beds, beautiful decor, and a lovely strong shower. Clean and just wonderful! Had a lovely walk and discovered a few more lov..."

more

"My husband, 2 children aged 12 & 14 needed an overnight near Addo. Avoca River Cabins was an unexpected delight. We stayed in the log cabin which was newly decorated - great beds, beautiful decor, and a lovely strong shower. Clean and just wonderful! Had a lovely walk and discovered a few more lovely houses to stay in. Foofy slide for the kids - my son had a ball! Lovely lawn to walk on, right on river - just a treat!

I would recommend the oranges available to purchase or taste - as it is a citrus farm after all. Lovely hosts and a wonderful stay! Thank you to all at Avoca for all their effort and making it worthwhile. Excellent value for money. A great place to stay for a big group for family reunion or similar events. Sleeps 60 in total across all houses/cabins."


"A peaceful break away in a wonderful farm."

(United Kingdom) Joanne Zeelie | 3 June 2009

"This is our third time visiting Avoca River Cabins but the first time bringing our active 2 years old daughter. We had not been back to South Africa for a visit for three years and needed a peaceful break from the hectic schedule of visiting family and friends. Avoca was just the place for our break..."

more

"This is our third time visiting Avoca River Cabins but the first time bringing our active 2 years old daughter. We had not been back to South Africa for a visit for three years and needed a peaceful break from the hectic schedule of visiting family and friends. Avoca was just the place for our break away.

The setting and views are amazing and beautiful. Our daughters enjoyed the freedom of running around on the grass area and exploring the jungle gym. Our cabin was comfortable and clean. The staff were also very accomadating and friendly.

Avoca was also a good base to explore the Elephant Game park, Crocodile ranch and surrounding areas. I would highly reccomend Avoca."


"Cecile"

(South Africa) Ms Breytenbach | 11 February 2009

"Its a great place with stunning river views and settings... would like somebody to make a nice big fire at the communal areas to create atmosphere...we will recommend it to everybody we know and would advise them to go there... we had a great time..."


"Breathtaking"

(South Africa) Henning party | 1 December 2008

"Thank you for an absolutely amazing stay. The one night there was like a whole holiday's rest, we had great service, nice clean place to stay and so restful! I would definitely come back here again and recommend anyone else to try Avoca out! You won't be disappointed. Thank you once again."


"Country feeling"

(South Africa) Mr Morren | 24 September 2008

"Our stay was absolutely fantastic - the only complaint that I have was that the sprinkler went most of the night so we could not hear the river - otherwise very very good."


"The most amazing getaway"

(South Africa) Ms Potgieter | 2 June 2008

"Our unforgettable weekend away at Avoca River Cabins started on our departure to this amazing getaway. We unfortunately missed our turn-off and what was supposed to be a 45min drive ended up being two hours. We called Riaan and got excellent and spot on directions. I think I called him ten thousand ..."

more

"Our unforgettable weekend away at Avoca River Cabins started on our departure to this amazing getaway. We unfortunately missed our turn-off and what was supposed to be a 45min drive ended up being two hours. We called Riaan and got excellent and spot on directions. I think I called him ten thousand times and every time he answered I got a very warm reception - so a big thanks to you Riaan! On arrival Riaan was waiting for us and the warm welcome, hospitality and generosity we got was out of this world. The chalet that was given to us was way beyond our expectations which is normally very high as we love to travel and nature is our second home. Riaan settled us nicely into our chalet and gave us info and his expert knowledge about the farm and surrounding areas. The cherry on the cake was my then boyfriend proposed to me and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting than Avoca River Cabins. So thank you Riaan and Avoca for making my engagement to the most wonderful man a very very special one. We will definitely be back soon! You definitely get our stamp of approval and I rate you 100 out 10. Thanks for everything Riaan and Avoca! This was definitely the most memorable stay of all the trips we've been on."


"Pleasurable Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 May 2008

"We had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay at Avoca River Cabins. The view from the patio of the self-contained flat was good for the soul. The hosts were most inviting. The peace on the farm was just what we needed for a mid year break."