Reviews of Elephant Walk Retreat


"Spectacular Experience "

(South Africa) Gloria | 21 October 2019

"My daughter and I arrived late we were met by the host who is so pleasant. He provided loads of information. We also had a few calls during the day checking on our progress - I was travelling with my infant grandson which took a lot longer than expected.

The venue is stunning and we were gr..."

more

"My daughter and I arrived late we were met by the host who is so pleasant. He provided loads of information. We also had a few calls during the day checking on our progress - I was travelling with my infant grandson which took a lot longer than expected.

The venue is stunning and we were greeted by a pride of lions taking down a buck at the fence 50 odd meters from our balcony it was extraordinary.

Loved every minute at the lodge thank you, will definitely refer others and return ourselves."


"'"

(South Africa) Francois Pretorius | 5 September 2016

"We enjoyed it very much. Everything was clean and nice. Wish we could have stayed longer."


"We loved Elephany Walk Retreat"

(South Africa) Robin Smith | 11 October 2015

"This place is a find. The room was much more spacious and with better facilities than anything available within Kruger Park itself (excluding the donor houses of course). It's a stone's throw from the Crocodile Bridge gate where there is a fast track system for entry so getting in and out of the par..."

more

"This place is a find. The room was much more spacious and with better facilities than anything available within Kruger Park itself (excluding the donor houses of course). It's a stone's throw from the Crocodile Bridge gate where there is a fast track system for entry so getting in and out of the park is a doddle. The staff are friendly and helpful. I will be going there again and telling my friends about it."


"Cheap, well situated"

(South Africa) Johan Steyn | 29 November 2014

"Elephant Walk is not fancy but is quite cheap. Its close proximity to Crocodile Bridge (300m) makes it super convenient.

The unit we used (three beds) had an en-suite bathroom and a small communal kitchen. We also had an air-con which is a big plus point."


"Awesome Stay"

(South Africa) Keith Oxford | 2 October 2013

"My family and I had a fantastic stay at the retreat. Mike helped with directions to the retreat and shortcuts, missing roadworks. The accommodation was very pleasant, clean and neat. Awesome view overlooking the Kruger Park.

Will definitely be going back for some pleasant R&R."


"Great"

(South Africa) Peter Bouwer | 5 May 2013

"Very convenient for access to the park. The place needs a bit of maintenance work done but otherwise great stay was had by all."


"Just okay"

(South Africa) Valery Yiptong | 6 January 2013

"The chalet we were in would benefit from a bit of modernisation. Not luxurious but adequate. What you really pay for is proximity to the crocodile bridge gate which is across the bridge."


"Nice"

(South Africa) Frans Meyer | 30 December 2012

"It is nice to came home and have aircons in rooms thanks."


"Pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Elizabeth Douglas | 31 October 2012

"Most convenient for Kruger Park entry. Lovely views of the park and Crocodile River. Wonderful night sounds. Grounds a little unkempt. Accommodation comfortable, but a few problems like a fan that couldn't turn off and no key for the fridge door which was on the verandah and we were concerned abou..."

more

"Most convenient for Kruger Park entry. Lovely views of the park and Crocodile River. Wonderful night sounds. Grounds a little unkempt. Accommodation comfortable, but a few problems like a fan that couldn't turn off and no key for the fridge door which was on the verandah and we were concerned about the monkeys gaining access. On the whole a restful, pleasant stay."


"Perfect setting - very private"

(South Africa) Janet Alexander | 18 October 2011

"We enjoyed the wonderful view and privacy of the chalet. Very convenient to Crocodile Bridge gates. Lovely, rustic dŽcor, yet very comfortable and well equipped. We were very glad we opted for the two-bed, two-bath unit with air-conditioning in both rooms - at 36 degrees, this was most welcome!"


"Time of my life"

(Australia) candice D'Silva | 9 October 2011

"I had the most amazing stay at Elephant Walk. You would be crazy not to stay here! The lodge shares a fence with the Kruger Game Park so at night you can hear all the animals and during the day you can see them from your balcony. The lodge was clean and town isn't far away. Mike and Stephanie are ..."

more

"I had the most amazing stay at Elephant Walk. You would be crazy not to stay here! The lodge shares a fence with the Kruger Game Park so at night you can hear all the animals and during the day you can see them from your balcony. The lodge was clean and town isn't far away. Mike and Stephanie are wonderful people and very hospitable."


"Holiday"

(South Africa) Ricky Bodmer | 6 October 2011

"Very nice. Can suggest chopping the trees a bit lower in front of unit 3 as the view is a bit limited."


"Enjoyable"

(United Kingdom) Peter Coles | 5 August 2011

"Highly enjoyable and would recommend

the accommodation and the spectacular view from the balcony. Thank you for an enjoyable stay."


"A true African sunset"

(South Africa) Daniel Mans | 30 June 2011

"What a scene! We were welcomed by a true African sunset at Elephant Walk Retreat. It's not often that you find affordable accommodation and get to see two of the Big 5 while having breakfast on your private deck overlooking the river. The service was friendly and the facilities clean and truly South..."

more

"What a scene! We were welcomed by a true African sunset at Elephant Walk Retreat. It's not often that you find affordable accommodation and get to see two of the Big 5 while having breakfast on your private deck overlooking the river. The service was friendly and the facilities clean and truly South African."


"Our stay in paradise"

(United Kingdom) Ena Furber | 25 May 2011

"This is the most gorgeous place right at the entrance to Crocodile Bridge. The views from our accommodation were fabulous. We could watch elephants, rhinos, giraffe, hippos, etc. Magic. Highly recommended."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Dean McKeone | 23 March 2011

"Mike is a fantastic host, just as the stay for the long weekend. Will definitely visit again in the near future. The view and accommodation was fantastic. The booking process were made so easy. Thanks for a lovely weekend break."


"Elephant Walk Retreat"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 18 October 2010

"We enjoyed the stay. Quiet, peaceful and near the National Park."


"Perfectly postioned"

(South Africa) Natalie Erasmus | 18 October 2010

"Elephant walk is ideally located. You could not hope for a closer location if not staying in the park. The units was very well equipped, with everything a guest could need, neat and clean with very friendly and helpful staff. We will go back for sure."


"What a view!!!"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 10 June 2010

"The Elephant Walk Retreat was an amazing experience. Friendly and helpful staff. What a great place to stay for a visit to the Kruger Park. Very clean and tidy. Met all our needs and more."


"Excellent stay at Elephant Retreat"

(Netherlands) Robert Moerman | 15 December 2009

"We very much loved the spaced and nicely decorated accommodation, especially the kingsize bed and we enjoid the nice and wide views. The personnel was very friendly"


"Elephant view retreat "

(---Not Specified---) Anonymous | 4 March 2009

"The stay was very nice. The rooms were very comfortable and a lot nicer than it seems on the internet. Lovely view of the river.

We really enjoyed our stay and had a lovely relaxing time."


"We had a wonderful time! "

Claudia Marques | 15 January 2009

"The lodge's location is great, the sightseeing beautiful, the chalet was perfect and the pool was a blessing on a very hot day! I would definitely recommend this place, "


"Great location next to Kruger gate"

(Lesotho) Kameko Nichols | 23 June 2008

"Cabin was great location (overlooking river and right outside entrance to Kruger). The only thing we would point out is lack of in-room kitchen (it was in a separate open-air building shared by a couple of cabins and not incredibly well stocked). But otherwise, it was a great place to stay for Kru..."

more

"Cabin was great location (overlooking river and right outside entrance to Kruger). The only thing we would point out is lack of in-room kitchen (it was in a separate open-air building shared by a couple of cabins and not incredibly well stocked). But otherwise, it was a great place to stay for Kruger - just would have bought more food that did not require cooking (there was a microwave in the room)."


"Excellent stay with wonderful hospitality and service"

(South Africa) Markos Davias | 5 May 2008

"The position of the lodge is excellent and allowed easy access to a very busy Croc river gate. Michael and his wife were excellent in ensuring we had early entrance and were very hospitable. The view from the chalets is fantastic and my whole family loved the stay!"


"Most enjoyable"

(South Africa) Alan Fletcher | 2 April 2008

" - we will be back in the future"


"Nice"

(Germany) Axel Dropmann | 3 March 2008

" IMVUBU Log Cabin Bungalow No.4 with great river view!

The bungalow was spacious with big verandah to braai and sit, our impressions we had at Kruger were stunning....

Will consider to come back..."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Hanyani Monnakgotla | 14 January 2008

"My stay at The Elephant Walk retreat was Great, the hospitality and the serenity of the lodge and our hosts was truly welcoming.

The view of the Kruger National Park from the lodge is amazing.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and would like to thank Happy and co for the great hospitality."


"Good place to stay!"

(Austria) Doris Wolkinger | 10 January 2008

"Basic accomodation, located in great surroundings; very close to kruger park; all in one a very good place to stay!"


"Very good,"

(United States of America) Ty Flewelling | 8 January 2008

"We love the location."


"View of Kruger park is great"

(South Africa) Ravi Bhat | 12 December 2007

"Excellent"


"Elephant Walk"

(South Africa) Bruce Rhodes | 31 July 2007

"Plain and basic but we were not expecting luxury. Its location is its main feature being so close to the Kruger gate. Cooking facilities and crockery were very basic and rustic although we didn't use it much."


"Good time "

(South Africa) leon verster | 2 April 2007

"It was great, we couldn't have gone to a better place. Good value for money and great hosts as well. I'll be going back as soon as possible"


"Great place"

Anonymous | 3 November 2006

"Elephant Walk is a great place from which to launch your exploration of Kruger and the surrounding area. The huts are beautiful and reasonably priced. Elephants are right outside your door!"


"Calm and relaxing"

(South Africa) Brendan Maguire | 26 September 2006

"Thank you for a calm and relaxing stay. The views are spectacular and accomodation is very comfortable. We will definitely be back.

The queues into the park are the only set back."


"Great Holiday"

(South Africa) Dean Van | 17 July 2006

"I must say what a great holiday we had. Next time we will only try and book in the summer as we only had two great days of the whole week, we will be back soon!!!!"


"AWESOME"

Nadia Le Roux | 2 May 2006

"Thanks for a wonderfull stay - the unit and grounds was so neat and we enjoyed our stay tremendously!"


"Animals come to drink"

(South Africa) Sello Mafisa | 19 April 2006

"Please know that we have enjoyed Elephant Walk very much.

Every afternoon we enjoy watching the animals when they come to drink water. Mike at the Elephant Walk was so kind to us.

Thank you.

"


"Wonderful Time"

Joseph Dean | 7 March 2006

"We had wonderful time in Elephant Walk Retreat. The place is near the Crocodile Bridge Gate, comfortable accommodation, hospitality of the owners (Mike and Stephanie) is wonderful, good food, successful games Ð highly recommended.

"


"Nice Place"

Anonymous | 10 January 2006

"I did enjoy the place. It was very good."


"Elephant Walk Retreat Review"

Anonymous | 3 January 2006

"I won't stay in the budget boma again (rather poor conditions), but would stay in the other houses/chalets any time. Perfectly situated!"


"Out of Africa"

(Netherlands) Bas Terlouw | 21 December 2005

"My first time in South Africa. I spent 4 days in the Elephant Walk Retreat. I had a wonderful lodge with a very nice view. The breakfast and dinner was wonderful. Thank You Dominique. The game drives with Mike and Stephanie were really impressive. I can really refer this place, the people are warm ..."

more

"My first time in South Africa. I spent 4 days in the Elephant Walk Retreat. I had a wonderful lodge with a very nice view. The breakfast and dinner was wonderful. Thank You Dominique. The game drives with Mike and Stephanie were really impressive. I can really refer this place, the people are warm and friendly."


"Fantastic lodge!!!"

(South Africa) Marlein Greeff | 19 November 2005

"View is supurb! Chalets are modern, clean and spacious. Hosts are friendly and caring. Chef is too modest . . . . for he is indeed a marvelous chef!!"


"Elephant walk retreat"

(South Africa) Elmie Theron | 14 November 2005

"Very neat. Staff friendly. Good game viewing from the deck."


"Location, Location, Location!"

(United States of America) Hamid Eskandary | 28 October 2005

"Mike and Stephanie are very nice and helpful. Lodges location can't get any better for anyone who is planning to stay outside the park. look for their new dinning area overlooking the river."


"EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE!"

(United States of America) Ron Gholston | 27 October 2005

"Location was 'perfect'---just outside the gate of Kruger Park!

Mike, the owner and manager, treated us like a king and queen! Full-day safari drive was excellent! Dinners and breakfasts were absolutely delicious! The experience could not have been better!"


"Nice and calm entering point for Kruger Park"

Anonymous | 26 October 2005

"We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the very good service of the hosts. "


"Elephant Walk Review 09/10/05"

(South Africa) Craig Ryan Jones | 17 October 2005

"The resort is a value for money resort, although the utensils and fittings could do with an upgrade. The viewing deck is a welcome addition to the resort."


"What a pleasure!"

(South Africa) Peter Canning | 2 September 2005

"The description says it all. What a great experience. Would recommend this place to anybody."


"Elephant Walk retreat Aug 2005"

(United Kingdom) David Carter | 25 August 2005

"Really enjoyed this lodge, extremely near the park and all round good value and a great location"


"Elephant walk retreat"

(South Africa) karin ebersey | 20 June 2005

"Very nice stop over when visting the Kruger Park.

Mike extremly helpful friendly"


"Good stopover"

(South Africa) Hein Ueckermann | 30 May 2005

"This was a weekend to remember , the log cabin was fantastic . Mike and his wife Stephanie are one of the Best. The food was brilliant , prepared by Domingo , we will be there again "


"Wonderful stay"

(South Africa) Richard | 2 January 2018

"We had a really good stay at this accommodation. The experience of been among the animals was lovely and exciting. The area was peaceful and calming. The place itself was beautiful and well structured. Very unique with lovely decor and style. It was very comfortable. The people were all lovely and f..."

more

"We had a really good stay at this accommodation. The experience of been among the animals was lovely and exciting. The area was peaceful and calming. The place itself was beautiful and well structured. Very unique with lovely decor and style. It was very comfortable. The people were all lovely and friendly. I would go back again and I'd recommend the resort to others. "


"Satisfied stay "

(South Africa) Ntsako | 19 December 2017

"I was very surprised to see what I had got when I arrived at the establishment. For the money I paid it was more than what I had expected. It was definitely a great value for money. Everything I needed was there. The place was spotlessly clean. I liked the lodge type cabin style. It was very unique ..."

more

"I was very surprised to see what I had got when I arrived at the establishment. For the money I paid it was more than what I had expected. It was definitely a great value for money. Everything I needed was there. The place was spotlessly clean. I liked the lodge type cabin style. It was very unique and well decorated. The service was good. The owner was friendly and made me feel welcome throughout my entire stay. I was actually very comfortable. I'd go back again anytime. "


"What a Beautiful and Peaceful Place"

(South Africa) Dumazile | 18 July 2017

"Loved every second of this place, the cabins were so clean and lovely to stay in.
I have never been this close to nature and loved every second of it and my whole family loved it. The lady Esmeralda was so helpful and friendly.
Woooow thank you so much Elephant Walk Retreat.

"


"Stunning Place"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 3 July 2017

"My experience was out of this world. Something I’m not used to, but I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The surroundings as well as the environment was therapeutic and the view was spectacular. The cabin was well situated, well equipped and all the facilities was in perfect condition. I cannot compla..."

more

"My experience was out of this world. Something I’m not used to, but I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The surroundings as well as the environment was therapeutic and the view was spectacular. The cabin was well situated, well equipped and all the facilities was in perfect condition. I cannot complain and would love to go back."


"Good Experience"

(South Africa) Connie | 20 December 2016

"Our stay was very nice and the children enjoyed all the facilities. They especially enjoyed the swimming pool. The staff was friendly and the place was well set-up. We had a good experience."


"Fantastic Experience"

(South Africa) Natalie | 27 October 2016

"Thanks the units were amazing and it was great. Fantastic Experience."


"Awesome Spot! "

(South Africa) anonymous | 23 October 2016

"Absolutely loved staying at Elephant Walk Retreat. It was everything we had hoped for and more. Thanks to RoomsForAfrica for their service as we would not have found this place if it weren't for them!! :) "


"Nice Rooms"

(South Africa) Joseph | 21 September 2016

"It lived up to my expectations and would go back anytime. Thanks Michael for the good advice about the Kruger Park. "


"Serene Bush Retreat "

(South Africa) Bongi | 5 September 2016

"We had a wonderful holiday with my family. The venue was a perfect getaway. Will do it again!
Thanks to the Elephant Walk Retreat staff.
10/10."


"Spectacular"

(South Africa) Boitumelo | 17 August 2016

"The chalet was very warm and accommodating, we could view some of the wild animals like springbok, baboons from our windows. The caretakers made sure that our place spotless, upon our arrival we had a welcoming check in with information on how to enjoy ourselves.
The place was immaculate."


"Nice place to stay."

(South Africa) Patrick | 31 July 2016

"We stayed 2 nights in Inkombe luxury 4 which is one of the chalets located just next the fence that looks out of the river, from where you can see animals. The chalet is made of a big room with a big double bed very comfortable. There is also a folding bed, there is an another double bed which our s..."

more

"We stayed 2 nights in Inkombe luxury 4 which is one of the chalets located just next the fence that looks out of the river, from where you can see animals. The chalet is made of a big room with a big double bed very comfortable. There is also a folding bed, there is an another double bed which our son used delightfully.
It is a full catering accommodation but you can drive to the little town Komatypoort restaurants easily.
The location just next the Crocodile Gate is a plus also.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
Definitely, we'd recommend this place.
"


"Excellent place and ambience"

(India) Dr. Abhinanda | 13 October 2015

"It's definitely a very good place to stay if you have plans linked with Krocodile gate. The location is perfect as it's just across a river forming a boundary between the game and resort. We even witnessed herd of elephants the night we checked in, just across the security fence.
The owner speci..."

more

"It's definitely a very good place to stay if you have plans linked with Krocodile gate. The location is perfect as it's just across a river forming a boundary between the game and resort. We even witnessed herd of elephants the night we checked in, just across the security fence.
The owner specially Darrel, was the perfect host who is often fondly called as small Mike. He shared some of his personal experiences about the game that were worth knowing. In all a wonderful place to stay ideal for self catering."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 July 2015

"We had a lovely stay. The rooms were well equipped for our stay. We would recommend to others."


"Elephant Walk"

(United Kingdom) Ms Murray | 29 June 2009

"Great base for touring the Kruger from Crocodile Bridge Gate.

Good sized clean room with large bed. Great shower with lots of hot water."


"Highlight was the viewing deck"

(South Africa) Errol and Veronica Tucker | 28 April 2009

"We recently spent 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The chalet was comfortable and more than adequate, but the highlight was sitting on the viewing deck with a herd of elephants about 30m away in the reeds below. We also saw a huge buffalo on the sandbank trying to get comfortable for the ..."

more

"We recently spent 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The chalet was comfortable and more than adequate, but the highlight was sitting on the viewing deck with a herd of elephants about 30m away in the reeds below. We also saw a huge buffalo on the sandbank trying to get comfortable for the night but then deciding that he should find himself another sleeping place in the reeds. We watched as he waded through the water seeking the right spot for his snooze. Having the entrance gate to the Kruger Park just a stones throw away is also a bonus. What more could you want! Thank you for a lovely weekend."


"What a Real Retreat"

(South Africa) Mr Tlhatlogi | 13 November 2008

"This was a real retreat. Very quiet and peaceful environment. Excellent service and hospitality. Happy Mnisi was just Excellent. He really pushes beyond boundaries!"


"We enjoyed it a lot!"

(Germany) Mr Pfennigschmidt | 17 June 2008

"It’s a nice place and a good place to start exploring the Kruger Park. The view is amazing and the cabins are in good shape and beautifully furnished.
The service was good and we had no complaints.

Would stay there again!"


"Two nights in paradise"

(Reunion (French)) Mrs florence | 22 January 2007

"We are pleased to spend ours holidays in a wonderful country with kind people.

Thanks for all

Family rodor"


"Nice. It could do with some work"

(South Africa) not fussy | 2 January 2007

"When coming to the Kruger on holiday you know not to expect 5 star accomodation so i was not too surprised by Elephant Walk's simplicity. The chalets are just that - simple. What they do have is a magnificent loacation right at Crocodile Bridge gate and a beatuful view into the Kruger. Game viewing..."

more

"When coming to the Kruger on holiday you know not to expect 5 star accomodation so i was not too surprised by Elephant Walk's simplicity. The chalets are just that - simple. What they do have is a magnificent loacation right at Crocodile Bridge gate and a beatuful view into the Kruger. Game viewing right from your bedroom window is great. "


"memory"

(Belgium) Mr Imbrechts | 14 September 2006

"Good food and pleasant people.
Rooms need a little more luxury"


"Review of Elephant Walk Retreat"

(Germany) Dr Roberts | 13 September 2006

"We had an excellent time.
Accommodation was comfortable and the location was fantastic, right across from the park and a very short drive to the elephant gate.
The staff was very friendly and Mike the owner was great.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone."


"A gem of a place"

(Australia) Mr Kassel | 13 September 2006

"This is a great place to stay!

After a 20 year hiatus, I decided to return to South Africa to rekindle the experience of a game park.

The park did not disappoint - neither did the accommodation which is a big part of an enjoyable trip.

My son and I arrived quite late and t..."

more

"This is a great place to stay!

After a 20 year hiatus, I decided to return to South Africa to rekindle the experience of a game park.

The park did not disappoint - neither did the accommodation which is a big part of an enjoyable trip.

My son and I arrived quite late and the owners very kindly waited up for us and helped guide us at night.

Service was warm and friendly, the accommodation was very comfortable and it was well priced. As an added bonus, not only does this place afford a wonderful view of hundreds of buffalo crossing the river towards the end of the day, but it is right next to the Crocodile Gate - what more can I say - highly recommended.
"