Reviews of Merino Inn Hotel


"The cool pool"

Laura Dos Santos | 1 January 2018

"Bedding needs to be upgraded, it is old & our dated."


"Comfortable"

Peter Brooks | 22 December 2017

"Comfortable room but restaurant menu disappointing."


"Dinner"

Piet Moller | 5 June 2017

"The rest must be upgraded not complete"


"Colesburg stopover"

(South Africa) Gillian Hugo | 9 January 2017

"Room small but comfortable. Lovely pool and room to run for children needing a break after a long journey "


"Restful stopover"

(South Africa) Johan Neethling | 6 January 2017

"We received friendly and efficient service, everything we asked for was supplied and the food was top notch!"


"Good overnight spot"

(South Africa) Gerhard Labuschagne | 4 January 2017

"Good, clean overnight accommodation. Very friendly and helpful staff. Even arranged for our restaurant dinner to be brought to our room. Excellent food! Aircon was great in the room. Only minor gripe is the very thin door separating us and the room next door. Would definitely return. "


"1 night stay on 23 Dec 2016"

(South Africa) Patrick Leslie | 3 January 2017

"We were impressed with this gem in the Karoo!"


"Basic but very comfortable"

(South Africa) Jon Gunning | 29 December 2016

"Despite have the smallest shower and lowest toilet, the stay was good. Beds were comfortable, air con was welcome, a very good stop over stay."


"Merino Inn Review"

(South Africa) Thomas Potgieter | 20 October 2016

"Nice place for a stay over after a long day on the road.

Nice food in restaurant"


"value for money"

(South Africa) Herman Grobler | 14 January 2016

"Thank you for a comfortable stay. It was our second year and we found it ideal for overnight between The Western Cape and North-West. Will see you next year again."


"Overnight stay"

(South Africa) johannes van den berg | 5 January 2016

"Meet all the basic requirements. Swimming pool clear, big and well maintained. All staff we encountered were friendly and assisted us. Very nice bar and supper was pleasant"


"'"

(South Africa) Diane Moorhouse | 28 December 2015

"Veru enjoyable stopover after a long drive from cape town"


"Great time "

(South Africa) Arthur Webber | 22 December 2015

"Worth every cent paid
"


"Good place for night halt"

(South Africa) Amit Awasthi | 5 May 2015

"It is strategically located on N1 if you are travelling between Johannesburg and Capetown almost midway. It was a big room with 2 double beds, neat and tidy had microwave and DStv sports.
Considering small town prices are on higher side as I got better place at less price in Capetown and Knysna.<..."

more

"It is strategically located on N1 if you are travelling between Johannesburg and Capetown almost midway. It was a big room with 2 double beds, neat and tidy had microwave and DStv sports.
Considering small town prices are on higher side as I got better place at less price in Capetown and Knysna.
Overall not bad."


"Overnight enroute to KKNK Festival "

(South Africa) Johan Munnik | 10 April 2015

"Good and clean facilities. Restaurant served good food!"


"Friendly & welcoming"

(England) Anna Thomas-Scheepers | 7 April 2015

"We had 2 rooms to accommodate 7 of us for an overnight stay whilst travelling from Johannesburg to the Eastern Cape; we arrived early to be welcomed by friendly happy staff, we were able to check in early and provided with everything we needed for a comfortable stay."


"Merino Inn Hotel"

(South Africa) Mari Rudman | 8 January 2015

"First stay at Merino Inn Hotel and cannot believe that we have driven past this little jewel so many times!! The staff are all awesome and so friendly, rooms are stunning & full compliments to the chef for the 'boere kos' menu!! Thank you!! Will most definitely stay there again!!"


"Good stop-over place"

(South Africa) Shabir Madhi | 5 January 2015

"Ideal midway stop over. Spacious accommodation for travelling family of 4 and clean premises."


"'"

(South Africa) Elizabeth Gillis | 5 January 2015

"We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast very reasonably priced and very tasty. Good value for money. "


"'"

(South Africa) Charmaine Adamson | 23 December 2014

"Very clean, good price, friendly staff, entertainment for the kids."


"Good"

(South Africa) Thomas Hodges | 12 December 2014

"Comfortable stay."


"'"

(South Africa) Andries Wessels | 8 December 2014

"Large clean room, nice strong shower, parking in front of the door - a very nice stay thank you! Oh, and the lamb cutlets for supper were delicious."


"'"

(South Africa) Ingrid Fouche | 13 January 2014

"WE can very definitely recommend Merino Inn as a stopover en route to JHB. "


"Thank you"

(South Africa) marlise de vos | 7 January 2014

"Staff were friendly and rooms basic but comfortable.

Kids enjoyed the cinema room, but would have been good if a selection of movies was available to watch.

Dinner portions was good , for hungry teenagers.

Good for a stop over. Thank you."


"Nice"

(South Africa) mark chetty | 6 January 2014

"As a sleepover during a journey will visit again."


"Fantasties"

(South Africa) Elmarie Melcher | 6 January 2014

"Die kos was fantasties. Die oorslaap was ook great. Sal weer daar oorslaap en kan dit vir almal aanbeveel."


"Gemaklike verblyf"

(South Africa) Rene van Vuuren | 5 January 2014

"Goeie oornag punt oppad Kaap toe. Goeie waarde vir geld. Beddens is van goeie kwaliteit en daar is lugverkoeling wat altyd n bonus is.

Die ontvangs/ administrasie gedeelte kan bietjie verbeter. Hulle reageer glad nie op eposse of stuur nie bevestiging van verblyf nie. Die kos is ook nie wat ..."

more

"Goeie oornag punt oppad Kaap toe. Goeie waarde vir geld. Beddens is van goeie kwaliteit en daar is lugverkoeling wat altyd n bonus is.

Die ontvangs/ administrasie gedeelte kan bietjie verbeter. Hulle reageer glad nie op eposse of stuur nie bevestiging van verblyf nie. Die kos is ook nie wat wonders nie. Ons sal verseker weer oorslaap by Merino Inn oppad Kaap toe. Gemaklike verblyf vir een aand."


"Perfect"

(South Africa) Piet Moller | 1 January 2014

"Perfect and good value for money."


"Heerlik"

(South Africa) Suzette Pietersen | 28 December 2013

"Die ontvangs was vriendelik en hartlik. Die swembad hemels, en die aandete onverbeterlik! Baie geluk Merino Inn, ons bly volgende keer weer daar.

The reception was warm and friendly. The pool is heavenly, and the dinner was superb!!! Congratulations Merino Inn, next time we stay there again."


"Excellent accommodation and food"

(South Africa) Kreson Sathiah | 21 December 2013

"We had a great experience at Merino Inn Hotel.

The staff were friendly. The meals were delicious. "


"Pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Hemant Nowbath | 17 December 2013

"Comfortable. Pleasant staff. Very good value for money."


"Pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Hughie McLelland | 6 December 2013

"Hotel used as one night sleepover during travel. Check in and out was a no hassle friendly experience. Outwardly looks like an army camp with rows and rows of rooms accessible from the expansive courtyard with HUGE brass numbers leaving no doubt as to the room numbers. You are able to park your car ..."

more

"Hotel used as one night sleepover during travel. Check in and out was a no hassle friendly experience. Outwardly looks like an army camp with rows and rows of rooms accessible from the expansive courtyard with HUGE brass numbers leaving no doubt as to the room numbers. You are able to park your car right in front of your room door under cover. This is handy if you forget something in the car. The family room (C-block) was larger than usual with two double beds and the usual amenities that one would expect to find in an hotel. Although the rooms are not as modern as say a Southern Sun hotel, they are pleasant. A lot of construction work is currently taking place on the N1, but there were no noticeable disturbances due to this. Need better signposting as routes are still not available on the GPS. Room service is excellent with a family meal being served for us in the room. Food prices are reasonable, the menu choice is commendable. The only complaint that I have is that the (shag pile) carpet in the room had been washed before our arrival and was still damp. Overall experience is old school, but comfortable, clean and friendly. "


"Friendly and dependable"

(South Africa) Jac Messerschmidt | 26 April 2013

"We stayed overnight on the way to Cape Town and found the Merino as dependable and friendly as usual. The rooms were clean, with a decent bathroom and we were able to spend a restful night. My wife left a book a behind in a bedside table. It was found, logged and kept for our return a week later. "


"Thank you "

(South Africa) LEOMI MATHEE | 17 January 2013

"Thank you for the enjoyable stay at the Merino Inn Hotel. My mom and I had a very pleasant stay and I must recommend your hotel for the clean rooms. The food was some of the best we had in a long time. Keep up the good work. Will be staying here again."


"Good service, nice place"

(South Africa) Donne Carson | 8 January 2013

"Clean and comfortable. Food was delicious and staff very helpful."


"Impressed"

(South Africa) bongani phakathi | 5 January 2013

"This was perfect stop for my family driving from Cape Town to Johannesburg, I wish they had a shower instead of bath tub though. The pool area was excellent."


"Friendly and welcoming"

(South Africa) Morga Moodley | 29 December 2012

"Good all round, friendly welcome and neat and clean rooms."


"Good"

(South Africa) Pam Olivier | 21 December 2012

"Good clean rooms. But buffet dinner was very expensive! R560 for four people!"


"Three star accommodation"

(South Africa) Fritz Kloppers | 17 December 2012

"Pleasant stay. Clean room. "


"Shower"

(South Africa) Gareth Vernon | 15 December 2012

"The hotel was very nice and clean but to not have a shower and only a bath in the room was disappointing."


"Really retro"

(South Africa) Carol Hewitson | 4 October 2010

"We found the rooms spacious and comfortable. Decor was quaint yet charming. The friendliness of the staff was really appreciated."


"Merino Inn"

(South Africa) Amanda Vorster | 9 August 2010

"We had a lovely stay. Thank you for your hospitality and friendly service. Meeting the owner added a special touch to the meal, which was of the highest quality."


"Merino Inn"

(South Africa) Tony Wilson | 12 July 2010

"Thank you, we had a lovely meal, breakfast and stay at the Merino Inn Hotel."


"Recommended"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 16 March 2010

"It was good, Thank you."


"Country Charm"

(South Africa) Richard Lightfoot | 2 November 2009

"Warm and hospitable country charm and manners make this a unique and personal get-away from the city and corporate identity hotels."


"Satisfying Stay"

(South Africa) Andre | 20 April 2017

"The venue is located perfectly and the service was satisfying. The bedrooms was clean, neat and everything was in place. I got what I expected and can recommend the place to anyone."


"I’m Always Satisfied"

(South Africa) Caryl | 15 February 2017

"I love staying at the Merino Hotel Inn. It’s convenient, near to places you can eat out and it’s clean. I’ve been there many times before and I’m always satisfied with everything."


"Good Stay"

Jenni | 4 January 2017

"It was really nice at Merino Inn Hotel. The service was good and the people working there was pleasant. The food was great and they also allowed my dogs to stay."


"Always Nice To Revisit"

(South Africa) Verna | 7 December 2016

"I’ve been at Merino Inn Hotel a few times and it’s always been pleasant. What I like about the place is the quietness, it’s a good stop over and always clean. I would always go back and highly recommend the place to anyone."


"Great Place to stay Colesburg"

(South Africa) Ada | 9 November 2016

"Thank you very much to Miriam and her Team. Had a great comfortable stay and breakfast was really awesome.
Keep it up guys.
"


"Great Accomodation"

(South Africa) Logan | 12 January 2016

"My stay at Merino Inn Hotel was perfect for an overnight. The rooms were clean. The parking facilities were good. I will recommend and revisit if I'm ever in this area again."


"SLEPT LIKE A DREAM"

(South Africa) LOUISE | 4 January 2016

"Surroundings quiet and peaceful. We slept like a dream in the comfy beds and woke up refreshed for our long trip ahead. The air-con in the room was a great cool down after the long hot day on the road. Supper was most enjoyable. Thank you to all the staff that was most helpful and friendly at all ti..."

more

"Surroundings quiet and peaceful. We slept like a dream in the comfy beds and woke up refreshed for our long trip ahead. The air-con in the room was a great cool down after the long hot day on the road. Supper was most enjoyable. Thank you to all the staff that was most helpful and friendly at all times. Happy new year to you all!"


"2nd generation 40 years on and still happy"

(South Africa) Mrs Geel | 6 August 2010

"My mother and late father used to stay at the Merino Inn 40 years ago and my mom has said on many occasions that my husband and I should too when we drive up to Mpumalanga, as her memories are all good. Well, now we have and so are ours.

Upon arrival we were greeted by an efficient and fri..."

more

"My mother and late father used to stay at the Merino Inn 40 years ago and my mom has said on many occasions that my husband and I should too when we drive up to Mpumalanga, as her memories are all good. Well, now we have and so are ours.

Upon arrival we were greeted by an efficient and friendly front desk lady who was charming and a total delight to deal with. We headed to our room to find, while not the most modern or up to date room, but one that was clean, tidy and very comfortable.

We had dinner in the dining room that while also not an example of modern times, had an old world charm that was completely overshadowed by the FANTASTIC FOOD, and the charming staff that attended to us. Even now, a week later, we are still talking about that lamb, and those veg…
We left early the next morning with nothing but good things to say about the Inn.

My husband and I are the 2nd generation in my family to come to the Merino Inn, and will definitely be using the Inn again. We were MORE then happy.
"


"Football group"

(United Kingdom) Mr Young | 28 June 2010

"The staff were very helpful and the food was good. Reasonable. "


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Wareham family | 10 June 2010

"A great halfway spot between Durban and Cape Town. Very comfortable and suited our needs perfectly."


"Merino Inn review"

(South Africa) Mr Patrick | 10 June 2010

"It was our 2nd visit to Merino Inn. It is quiet and the rooms are always clean and the grounds are well maintained. We would also mention the always cheerful assistance provided by Mirian at reception."


"Great Stop Over"

(South Africa) Mr Thomson | 1 January 2010

"It is not easy these days to find good quality accommodation at affordable rates these days.
We planned a trip to the Kruger Park and the plan was to break the drive into two days.
It was difficult to decide where to stopover. I remember that some 10 years ago we stayed at the Merino Inn so ..."

more

"It is not easy these days to find good quality accommodation at affordable rates these days.
We planned a trip to the Kruger Park and the plan was to break the drive into two days.
It was difficult to decide where to stopover. I remember that some 10 years ago we stayed at the Merino Inn so I thought it would be nice to see if it had changed at all.
We were in for a pleasant surprise.
On arrival the reception was efficient and friendly. The rooms were neat and clean.
After a short rest the kids went for a swim in the pool and we relaxed in the beautifully kept garden. At dinner the manager made sure that all the guests were happy and also enquired as to where we were going to. Very nice touch. The food is as good as ever as well as plenty to eat. Will not hesitate to return when the need arises."


"Stay at the Marino Inn Hotel, Colesberg"

(South Africa) Mr Beley | 23 December 2009

"The room was clean but had clearly seen many years of use. The dinner very tasty and enjoyable after a long days traveling. Compared to other places I have stayed and for the value I received I thought the night was VERY expensive though. "


"Good value"

(South Africa) Mr Turner | 11 August 2009

"The facilities were perfect for our overnight stop on the way to Cape Town.
Good food and great pool area."


"Pleasant stay at the Merino Inn Hotel"

(South Africa) Ms Mathee | 16 March 2009

"We stayed over at the Merino Inn Hotel on our way to Cape Town on Thursday, 5 March 2009. We were welcomed at the Reception by friendly staff who offered us refreshing fruit juice. Our booking, which was done electronically, was in order and the administrative side was dealt with swiftly and profess..."

more

"We stayed over at the Merino Inn Hotel on our way to Cape Town on Thursday, 5 March 2009. We were welcomed at the Reception by friendly staff who offered us refreshing fruit juice. Our booking, which was done electronically, was in order and the administrative side was dealt with swiftly and professionally. Our room was lovely, clean and very neat. All electrical equipment was in a good working order. We could watch TV and enjoy coffee and tea early the next morning before our departure. I will most definitely stay over at the Merino Inn again! "


"Comfortable Overnight Stop"

(South Africa) Mr de Klerk | 4 January 2009

"The room was comfortable and afforded me a good night's rest after a long drive. Regarding the bathroom, I would have preferred having a shower. Unfortunately there was only a bath that tends to use far more water than a shower. "


"1960s Inn"

(South Africa) Mr Penhall | 4 January 2009

"For a quick stop over the Merino hotel was ok. I would not rate it 3 stars as I don’t think they have upgraded the rooms for 40 years!
But it was clean and the beds comfortable."