Reviews of Witteberg Nature Reserve


"'"

(South Africa) Ilana Sossen | 25 September 2016

"Thank you. Had a fantastic time. Will definitely be back to explore and hike."


"Excellent and Peaceful"

(South Africa) Brendon Rink | 2 May 2016

"Had an extremely relaxing two nights here. The indoor fireplace makes it perfect for the relaxing colder evenings as well. Frik was an excellent host as well. Would strongly recommend to anybody wanting a break from the modern rat race."


"'"

(South Africa) Candice Neke | 26 April 2016

"The perfect getaway and adventure and best host, Frik Linde!


Dankie Ridder op die wit perd.

Candy & Kobie


"


"'"

(South Africa) Ida Smith | 5 January 2015

"Totally an awesome experience. We loved taking this 'road less travelled' and were well rewarded with the beauty of nature. Thank you very much Frik."


"Pure bliss"

(South Africa) Mrs Rooyen | 11 October 2014

"Absolutely pure bliss. Quiet, clean, good equipped. Gorgeous nature, never seen so many stars. Lots of wild life. Will definitely visit again!"


"Briljant"

(South Africa) Phia Marais | 11 August 2014

"Absoluut uitstekend. Ek bevel dit aan vir almal wat rus vir sy gees wil he. Die organisasie is onverbeterlik en pynlik netjies.

Dankie aan Frik, wat so uit sy pad gaan om alles net in orde, gerieflik en skoon te hou. Jou diens wat jy gelewer het is baie skaars en word baie hoog op prys gestel..."

more

"Absoluut uitstekend. Ek bevel dit aan vir almal wat rus vir sy gees wil he. Die organisasie is onverbeterlik en pynlik netjies.

Dankie aan Frik, wat so uit sy pad gaan om alles net in orde, gerieflik en skoon te hou. Jou diens wat jy gelewer het is baie skaars en word baie hoog op prys gestel.Jy het ten alle tye jou gaste op die hande gedra. Jy is ongelooflik kosbaar.

Ek kan net met lof praat oor alles wat vir ons aangebied was. Daar is absoluut niks om oor te kla nie.

Dit is n vyf ster motel in die veld. Die avontuur en skoon heid van die veld kan nie in woorde vas gele word nie.

Witteberg Privaat Natuur Reservaat sal my beslis weer sien. Ek het groot vrymoedigheid om dit vir enige persoon aan te bevel. Dankie Frik, jy is n meester.

Pieter en Phia Marais"


"witteberg"

(Australia) Mr Tranter | 20 December 2013

"Good location. Suggest a sturdy car or hire car to access the road.
Friendly host. "


"Clean, Comfortable & Peaceful."

(South Africa) Pieter & Verencia Benade | 27 November 2013

"Beautiful environment. Very friendly and helpful host. Clean, well equipped and real comfortable chalet. Unfortunately we spent only 1 night and did not had time to explore the area, which we think is a must. Therefore we do recommend at least 3 nights."


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Marius Smit | 1 November 2013

"Wonderful place full of surprises! Nothing comes served on a platter you have to go look for all the gems that lies abundantly strewn all over the place. Had a lovely time with a exceptionally good host!"


"Wonderful"

(South Africa) Anscha Zietsman | 25 September 2013

"We had a wonderful time at Witteberg. It was quiet and peaceful and the cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The owner made a big effort to welcome us and we felt part of 'the family'. "


"Witteberg Private Nature Reserve"

(South Africa) Donna-Lee Kaschula | 24 September 2013

"We had a lovely stay over at Witteberg Private Nature Reserve after a long days travelling. Frik was so helpful, friendly and really made sure we wanted for nothing. It was a super gravel road getting there as well. Highly recommended."


"Stunning"

(South Africa) Elize van Wyk | 28 August 2013

"Stunning scenery, peace and quiet made this one of our best stays ever! We loved the accommodation, a flat with 2 bedrooms,where we felt at home immediately and which had everything you could ask for. Very clean, tidy and comfortable, well-equipped,a file with lots of information on the reserve. A s..."

more

"Stunning scenery, peace and quiet made this one of our best stays ever! We loved the accommodation, a flat with 2 bedrooms,where we felt at home immediately and which had everything you could ask for. Very clean, tidy and comfortable, well-equipped,a file with lots of information on the reserve. A super place to spend quality time together,to relax and to enjoy the special beauty of the Karoo. We will be back as soon as we can! Thank you Frik, for being such a lovely host and letting us share your knowledge and love for Witteberg PNR."


"Fabulous"

Terry Bell | 26 March 2013

"Fabulous would like to spend more time there, one rushed night definitely not sufficient !"


"My Score"

(South Africa) Mr Moore | 1 October 2012

"Beautiful and comfortable. It would be nice if there was a stoep to sit on with comfortable chairs to see the end of the day."


"Perfect place"

(South Africa) Janet Stamper | 10 July 2012

"Witteberg was the perfect place for us to meet up with the rest of the family after our long drive down from Johannesburg! And Frik was such a wonderful host! We loved the peace and quiet, the relaxed friendly management, and the amazing scenery and night skies.

We were warm and comfortable..."

more

"Witteberg was the perfect place for us to meet up with the rest of the family after our long drive down from Johannesburg! And Frik was such a wonderful host! We loved the peace and quiet, the relaxed friendly management, and the amazing scenery and night skies.

We were warm and comfortable in the accommodation - loved the fireplace and plentiful wood supply. Plenty of hot water and everything worked well. Loved the chats with Frik about the history and the things to see. Wish we could have spent longer there to explore the reserve more! Beautiful fynbos, and lovely walks. All in all, a great find!"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Mrs Terblanche | 4 January 2012

"Excellent, immaculate little gem. Highly recommended. Worth turning off on the gravel - a must see!!"


"Witteberg Private Nature Reserve"

(South Africa) anonymous | 3 May 2011

"We stayed at the self-catering rooms for four persons at the Witteberg Private Nature Reserve. Although the units are attached to each other, they are very comfortably furnished and equipped. We had an excellent time and appreciated the very comfortable set up. Cold nights were made cosy with a bea..."

more

"We stayed at the self-catering rooms for four persons at the Witteberg Private Nature Reserve. Although the units are attached to each other, they are very comfortably furnished and equipped. We had an excellent time and appreciated the very comfortable set up. Cold nights were made cosy with a beautiful fire, and excellent braai wood was also provided. We were extremely well looked after by the manager, Frik Linde. The reserve is beautiful and peaceful, and we especially appreciated the freedom to just walk out of the front door and into the mountains.

Will definitely be returning to this haven!"


"Hidden treasure"

(France) Mr Farmery | 29 March 2011

"Witteberg is literally off most maps, and we think we were very lucky to have discovered it via RoomsForAfrica. We were welcomed warmly by the owner, Frik Linde, and by a superb photo opportunity presented by two klipspringers posing on the rocky ridge above. The reserve stretches from edge to edge ..."

more

"Witteberg is literally off most maps, and we think we were very lucky to have discovered it via RoomsForAfrica. We were welcomed warmly by the owner, Frik Linde, and by a superb photo opportunity presented by two klipspringers posing on the rocky ridge above. The reserve stretches from edge to edge of a deep rugged valley. Frik is deeply rooted in its history, with a fund of stories about the people, the places and the history of Witteberg, which has been in his family for generations. We would recommend a stay to anyone looking for peace and quiet in stunning scenery. We would love to return in a few years to see how Frik's work in regenerating the native fauna is progressing."


"Witteberg Private Nature Reserve"

(South Africa) Adre Marshall | 22 June 2010

"We spent a wonderful weekend in the Witteberg Private Nature Reserve. The accommodation was good, and our hosts exceptionally welcoming, helpful, and happy to advise us on the best hikes etc. They are extremely well-informed about the flora and fauna and did everything they could to make our stay e..."

more

"We spent a wonderful weekend in the Witteberg Private Nature Reserve. The accommodation was good, and our hosts exceptionally welcoming, helpful, and happy to advise us on the best hikes etc. They are extremely well-informed about the flora and fauna and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be back to spend more time in this lovely area in the Little Karoo. "


"Witteberg Private Nature Reserve"

(South Africa) Mr Hennie Ferreira | 17 June 2010

"Outstanding natural site! An excellent hiding place, peaceful and filled with nature's voice. Frik and his partner are outstanding hosts with an eye for detail.

The accommodation is wonderful.

We will definitely see you again for a longer stay!

Hennie Ferreira
"


"My stay was absolutely wonderful."

(---Not Specified---) Anonymous | 7 June 2010

"It was exactly what I was looking for. Very calm, peaceful with stunning vistas and night skies. Our host was also extremely helpful. Definitely a gem and ideal weekend getaway!"


"It was excellent"

(South Africa) Fanie van der Westhuizen | 29 April 2010

"We enjoyed it very much. The place was well looked after and spotless clean."


"Witteberg Private Nature Reserve"

(South Africa) Mr Hesom | 15 March 2010

"Very nice quiet place in the country. Frik a good host. "


"Witteburg"

(South Africa) Adrian Diss | 2 January 2010

"It was fantastic!"


"Karoo tranquility at its best"

(South Africa) John Volsteedt | 11 August 2009

"We had the perfect weekend getaway. The natural beauty of Elandskloof will definitely lure us back. The attention to detail and concern about our wellbeing by the hosts was always appreciated.



Thank you.



John, Lizelle & Nikalau"


"A Karoo - mountain experience!"

Carl Lombard | 17 June 2009

"Stayed for 3 nights - too short to explore everything on offer. Accommodation very good and well equipped. Environmental friendly - energy comes from wind, solar and gas - no Eskom connection. Friendly reception with lots of advice of what to do and see.

Lots of places to walk and hike, cycl..."

more

"Stayed for 3 nights - too short to explore everything on offer. Accommodation very good and well equipped. Environmental friendly - energy comes from wind, solar and gas - no Eskom connection. Friendly reception with lots of advice of what to do and see.

Lots of places to walk and hike, cycle (mountain bike) and drive. The mixture of Karoo and fynbos vegetation makes it and interesting environment. Anysberg nature reserve 1 hours drive away but you need a high clearance vehicle. Elandskloof farm itself is easy to reach via the Witteberg access road."


"Recommended"

(United Kingdom) Anonymous | 25 November 2008

"Very good"