Reviews of Lilac Lodge/Purple House


"Very friendly"

Kerryn Thomas | 2 May 2018

"We were met with a very friendly greeting. The cottage was lovely, but just one issue - the bed needs replacing as the mattress is not supportive any more"


"The friendly place"

Jenny Tweehuijsen | 22 April 2018

"Susan was so welcoming on the day we arrived and spent a lot of time explaining where everything in the district was. We followed her recommendations and had a most enjoyable stay."


"Great place"

Leonardo Giampani Morita | 9 October 2017

"Great place in the Drakensberg area. Very close to supermarkets for self catering. The cottage is large and comfortable. The outdoor area is also very nice. The host was very nice. The only negative point is that the place was smelling smoking, despite the many signs saying it is forbidden to smoke ..."

more

"Great place in the Drakensberg area. Very close to supermarkets for self catering. The cottage is large and comfortable. The outdoor area is also very nice. The host was very nice. The only negative point is that the place was smelling smoking, despite the many signs saying it is forbidden to smoke inside."


"Convenient and comfortable"

Sonja Bohnsack | 31 July 2017

"Our room was large and warm and the beds were very comfortable. We were also able to check out much later on the day of departure than usual."


"Down to earth accommodation "

(South Africa) Hugh Goosen | 10 October 2016

"Needed a place to lay my head and Lilac Lodge served my needs. Super friendly. Went out of their way to cater for me, even though I was the only one present for breakfast."


"Stay At Lilac"

(South Africa) Rohit Gulati | 13 July 2016

"Hi, we stayed at Lilac Lodge for a night and it was a very good experience. Susan was very kind and helped us with all our queries. Our room was also good and was well heated to keep the cold away. Will surely recommend this place to all the travellers !!"


"'"

(South Africa) Tracy Parker | 28 December 2015

"throughly enjoyed our stay! Everything was wonderful. Susan was so friendly and helpful. Will definitely recommend this beautiful country lodge."


"Adequate for our night's stay"

(South Africa) Robyn Van Ginkel | 14 December 2015

"We had a wedding in the area, so needed a place to stay for the night. It was VERY basic and old, but clean and suited our needs.We were disappointed that we had paid for bed and breakfast, only to find that they had no restaurant. Advice to others- there is an awesome spot called the Pig and Plough..."

more

"We had a wedding in the area, so needed a place to stay for the night. It was VERY basic and old, but clean and suited our needs.We were disappointed that we had paid for bed and breakfast, only to find that they had no restaurant. Advice to others- there is an awesome spot called the Pig and Plough for breakfast, just down the road."


"'"

(South Africa) Deshnee Samson | 30 November 2015

"My family and I absolutely enjoyed our stay. The place is very well maintained."


"great value for money"

(South Africa) Claire Frances Falconer | 5 October 2015

"A lovely place. Great value for money. So much space and things to do for kids (trampoline, playground, pool)."


"Convenient and comfortable"

(South Africa) Warren Banks | 14 July 2015

"A very pleasant 5-day stay at Lilac Lodge. Conveniently situated at the gateway to the Central Drakensberg. Units have all mod cons and are comfortable, well-equipped and set in a lovely garden.There were a few issues with heating and plumbing, but nothing serious. Very good value for money."


"'"

(South Africa) Gavin Norton | 18 June 2015

"Very friendly and accommodating!
"


"'"

(South Africa) Loretta Bonney | 5 January 2015

"Susan is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area which really helped us. Except for the infrequent trucks that passed during the day, it was a peaceful stay. Citronella oil helped in keeping the cats away which contributed to a more pleasant stay. "


"Convenient "

(South Africa) Dave keefer | 23 December 2014

"We were in and out for the night and it was a close by and easy to get to and from accommodation."


"Magical Place in Winterton"

(South Africa) Donna McCallum | 19 December 2014

"We loved our one night stay in this Magical Lodge. The setting and gardens is beautiful and we loved walking around, the pool area and the trampoline. The accommodation is basic but good and just what we needed as a stop-over place in the Berg!"


"Good"

(South Africa) Jai Gunda | 4 August 2014

"Good"


"'"

(South Africa) Jai Gunda | 4 August 2014

"Good"


"Awesome"

(South Africa) shaista | 18 March 2014

"Had an awesome time and so did the kids, the playground just needs a little work while my 3 year old was on the swing it did break luckily she didn't get hurt n slides are too narrow! the place is beautiful and very relaxing cant wait to be back"


"Enjoyed the privacy"

(South Africa) Kholiwe Soafo | 3 January 2013

"An excellent venue to bring family. Susan and her staff were very friendly. We also enjoyed the privacy.

Highly recommended. "


"Lovely"

(Germany) Sabine Heldt | 15 August 2012

"Great hospitality and a lovely place to stay. Only the bathrooms need a renovation!"


"Relaxing atmosphere"

(South Africa) Sandra Nurasiaha | 16 July 2012

"Lilac lodge is very relaxing. The 8 sleeper was spacious and very neat. The fire place kept the home cosy and created a good atmosphere. Thanks to Angel, the help, who was very helpful. Thanks Susan for keeping the cats away. We had a enjoyable weekend at the Lilac Lodge."


"Lilac Lodge is excellent"

(South Africa) Enrico Casaleggio | 10 July 2012

"Lilac Lodge is situated at the foot of the majestic Drakensberg and is the ideal place if you are looking for rest and peace. Susan is an excellent host and made sure that we enjoy our stay. Wether you are the Lone Ranger or the Brady Bunch, this is the place for you."


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) Dhaven Nair | 10 April 2012

"We had a very pleasant stay. The facilities were really good and well appointed. The gardens were well kept with more than adequate garden furniture."


"Excellent"

(United Kingdom) Carole Holliday | 13 February 2012

"Fantastic very friendly and helpful thank you it is a beautiful place has everything you need for a break."


"Lilac Lodge"

(South Africa) Petro Combrinck | 1 November 2010

"Very nice. Very clean. We asked for a key to be left because we came late. Everything was perfect. Thank you."


"Warm, simple, easy."

(South Africa) Chrissie | 4 June 2018

"We enjoyed our stay and especially the warm shower and lovely warm duvets and electric blanket, when we had mates at the race village half freezing. All we needed was at Lilac Lodge, and it was easy to come and go as we needed.

Thanks so much.
Regards
Chrissie"


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) NELLA | 27 November 2017

"The owner was very friendly in welcoming us when we arrived. The place had a beautiful natural surrounding. It was peaceful and quiet. The room was spacious. It was clean and tidy. Everything we needed was there. The owner went out of her way to help us in any way that she could. I was happy with my..."

more

"The owner was very friendly in welcoming us when we arrived. The place had a beautiful natural surrounding. It was peaceful and quiet. The room was spacious. It was clean and tidy. Everything we needed was there. The owner went out of her way to help us in any way that she could. I was happy with my stay. I'd recommend this resort to anyone. "


"Lovely!"

(South Africa) Chrizelda | 27 November 2017

"Our stay was short but loved the open space and the beautiful gardens. Our host was helpful and will definitely stay there again!"


"Comfortable"

(South Africa) Carolyn | 23 October 2016

"Comfortable, squeaky clean accommodation with kitchenette.
Owner friendly and accommodating.
Easily accessible. We used the Lilac Lodge so that we could attend a family wedding in the Winterton area."


"Delightful Accommodation"

(South Africa) Terence | 7 January 2016

"My stay was a great one. 100%, no problems were encountered. I will highly recommend this establishment and will definitely re-visit."


"very nice stay"

(South Africa) Debbie | 3 January 2016

"Reception was very friendly and I was in my room in no time. Everything was clean and enough pure drinking water was supplied. The breakfast the next morning was 5 stars. I loved my stay and the owners were great.


"


"Had a lovely time "

(South Africa) Zelda | 5 October 2015

"I would stay again because I had no problems at all and the duration of the stay was totally fine."


"a good stay"

(South Africa) Cheryl | 7 July 2015

"Purple house accommodated us and our dogs. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. Staff were pleasant. "


"Excellent Value"

(South Africa) Colleen | 1 July 2015

"Everything one could need for a comfortable stay. Lovely 2 bedroom house for just 2 people - more than we needed. Friendly helpful owners. Shaded treed garden. Would recommend."


"The best break away in a long time"

(South Africa) Mrs Teitge | 4 May 2015

"I want to thank Susan for the most wonderful time ever. Her rooms were inviting and her gardens were healing for the soul."


"The Purple Hous in Winterton"

(South Africa) anonymous | 3 January 2015

"We enjoyed our stay. The cost was reasonable. Everything we needed was available. The room was clean and comfortable. The decor was good. All the little touches made us feel at home. We were made to feel welcome by everyone including the house cats. We will definitely recommend the purple house to f..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay. The cost was reasonable. Everything we needed was available. The room was clean and comfortable. The decor was good. All the little touches made us feel at home. We were made to feel welcome by everyone including the house cats. We will definitely recommend the purple house to friends and family."


"Nice"

(South Africa) seanego | 2 January 2015

"It was nice and quiet, the staff were friendly. The place was clean and neat.
"


"Content"

(South Africa) Mr Boonzaaier | 4 August 2014

"The stay was totally fine. I have no complaints at all. I can recommend a stay here to others."


"Roelien"

(South Africa) Mrs Van Wyk | 28 July 2014

"Susan is an excellent homemaker, her guesthouse provided in all our needs, this is our 3rd stay with the Lilac Lodge/Purple House . I will make sure I stay there again next year. We are bikers that stay in that house every year supporting the LOCKK RIders rally which is a yearly event. Susan is frie..."

more

"Susan is an excellent homemaker, her guesthouse provided in all our needs, this is our 3rd stay with the Lilac Lodge/Purple House . I will make sure I stay there again next year. We are bikers that stay in that house every year supporting the LOCKK RIders rally which is a yearly event. Susan is friendly and very helpful, we slept warm and wow what a lovely homely place to stay. It is a home away from home. You rock Susan!"


"mrs"

(South Africa) Mrs Jooste | 13 August 2013

"We enjoyed it; the place is very neat and clean. Even if it was only one night, it was nice."


"Epic"

(South Africa) Ms van der Laarse | 18 July 2013

"Loved it, the service was great and breakfast was amazing."


"Refreshing Retreat in Lilac"

(South Africa) Mrs Jansen | 31 October 2012

"My parents and I were on a stressful journey, and found the 2 nights in the Lilac Lodge very calming and refreshing. We enjoyed the privacy, peace and quiet. The "little house" we stayed in was spacious and fully equipped with whatever we could need. We all had two fantastic nights of sleep on the c..."

more

"My parents and I were on a stressful journey, and found the 2 nights in the Lilac Lodge very calming and refreshing. We enjoyed the privacy, peace and quiet. The "little house" we stayed in was spacious and fully equipped with whatever we could need. We all had two fantastic nights of sleep on the comfortable beds! The coffee at breakfast, especially, was a treat! We would love to make use of the Lilac Lodge's accommodation again!"


"Lilac Lodge Berg & Bush"

(South Africa) Mr van Heerden | 1 November 2010

"We booked at Lilac Lodge as we were competing in the Berg and Bush mountian bike race. After some confusion with our booking we were happy to find that everything had been sorted out upon our arrival. The establishment was clean and we were very comfortable . Susan also was very accommodating in all..."

more

"We booked at Lilac Lodge as we were competing in the Berg and Bush mountian bike race. After some confusion with our booking we were happy to find that everything had been sorted out upon our arrival. The establishment was clean and we were very comfortable . Susan also was very accommodating in allowing us a late checkout on Sunday.
We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.
"


"Great Stay in Winterton"

(United Kingdom) Steve Duncan | 3 April 2010

"Excellent Stay from the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we stayed (6 Adults) in a 3 bedroomed cottage which was very spacious, clean & very well serviced. Breakfasts in the main house were great & everyone was so friendly. Will definitely book again on our next visit to Winterton.
"


"Lilac Lodge / Purple House comments"

(South Africa) Mrs Dick | 11 January 2010

"Management very friendly and very well organised. Room was very comfortable and well maintained. Lovely gardens and very well maintained."