Reviews of Lindisfarne B&B


"It was awesome"

(South Africa) anonymous | 10 December 2018

"The best hospitality, has beautiful and comfortable rooms.The garden is also amazing. "


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Kgabo | 8 October 2018

"Lindisfarne is a really nice place. I loved the privacy afforded to me, the rooms was clean, had everything I needed and have enough space to breathe.
Jane was an excellent host. My flight was delayed and she waited up for me. Thanks a lot .
The grounds are well kept, I would recommend this..."

more

"Lindisfarne is a really nice place. I loved the privacy afforded to me, the rooms was clean, had everything I needed and have enough space to breathe.
Jane was an excellent host. My flight was delayed and she waited up for me. Thanks a lot .
The grounds are well kept, I would recommend this to anyone.

"


"Wonderful stay at Lindisfarne"

Norman Dent | 9 April 2018

"We only stayed for one night, so did not spend much time at Lindisfarne. The room was lovely though, and met all our requirements. The gardens and surroundings are beautiful.

Our car battery died while we were out for the evening, and we were very kindly offered a jump-start so that we could..."

more

"We only stayed for one night, so did not spend much time at Lindisfarne. The room was lovely though, and met all our requirements. The gardens and surroundings are beautiful.

Our car battery died while we were out for the evening, and we were very kindly offered a jump-start so that we could get going on check -out day. Thank you for this!

We will definitely be returning should I need to stay in the area again."


"Well equipped cottage!"

Santa du Toit | 24 February 2018

"Excellent value for money! Fresh linen, immaculately clean and extremely well equipped cottage set in a beautiful garden. Helpful, friendly hostess! Definitely to be recommended! Thank you Jane! "


"Comfy and did the job"

Helen Harper | 11 December 2017

"Beautiful area, comfy accommodation."


"Very nice"

Eve Higgs | 13 August 2017

"Hi there - thanks to Jane for the stay. Room was very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. Hosts were pleasant, very obliging and helpful."


"Wish I Could Have Stayed Longer"

(South Africa) Janet | 21 July 2017

"Really a lovely room and a welcoming host. Wonderfully comfortable big bed. All the goodies I needed. Impeccably clean. Grounds looked lovely from what I could see in the dark. Space to explore and enjoy the outdoors. "


"Thanks Lindisfarne B&B"

(South Africa) Lesley | 12 June 2017

"Ideal for sporting weekend supporters of touring sides to Kearsney College.
Jane was the perfect host with a comfortable spotless room, welcomed by a magnificent winter sunrise through the shower window that over looks the valley of 1000 hills. Breakfast was delicious."


"Nice Stayover"

(South Africa) Basia | 24 May 2017

"The hostess was friendly and helpful. The bedroom was clean, well equipped and everything was in place. It was a pleasant stay."


"Relaxing and quiet"

Gavin Tweddle | 2 April 2017

"Lovely place, lovely owner, clean neat and tidy. Very peaceful.
Ideally situated for 1000 hills, Kearsney Striders running events starting right next door, and also comrades accommodation."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Yvonne | 19 March 2017

"Spotless rooms, beautiful tranquil position, friendly and attentive host - would definitely stay there again."


"Very comfortable and cosy"

Andiswa Sotsaka | 2 March 2017

"Lovely place and the owner is just too sweet. Our stay was just too great but the place was hard to find. We couldn't go without gps"


"Tyne Cottage has potential"

(South Africa) Sandy Campbell | 2 February 2017

"We booked the Tyne Cottage to celebrate our anniversary but were a bit disappointed with the outdoor area which had very uncomfortable furniture and offered no privacy at all. The unit looks straight onto the main house and parking area. I also think that they should offer a better rate for just 2 ..."

more

"We booked the Tyne Cottage to celebrate our anniversary but were a bit disappointed with the outdoor area which had very uncomfortable furniture and offered no privacy at all. The unit looks straight onto the main house and parking area. I also think that they should offer a better rate for just 2 people as it definitely is not worth it for a couple at R600 per person per night (if 4 people went it would only be R300 pppn which is reasonable). Otherwise the shower was great and the bedding very comfortable.



Establishment Response:



Hi Shiloh

Thank you for your review. Most complaints received by guests are as a result of their expectations not being met. This was clearly the case regarding your expectation and requirements for privacy and for that we apologise. We did send several photos of the property to you prior to your arrival. After checking the description on Safari Now we have requested they change their wording and use our wording which appears on all other websites as we are not exactly a Òhoneymoon style establishmentÓ although all our honeymoon couples do like the idea that the cottages are separate from the main house. The outside furniture is adequate with a bench, a table with two benches and loungers on the main patio which could have been moved on request. We do not supply a huge amount of outdoor furniture due to the inclement weather in our area. With regard to the price here is my response to your initial enquiry which is self-explanatory. ÒI was quite surprised you booked the two bedroom, 4 sleeper for only 2 people as it does work out quite expensive.Ó Unit prices are common in our industry when booking a 6 or 4 sleeper. I trust we did meet the requirements that we advertise ie: quiet comfort, a courteous friendly welcome, good service and above all cleanliness.

Regards Jane"


"'"

(South Africa) Paul Burton | 13 January 2017

"Great hospitality, spacious room, delicious breakfast"


"Tranquil and Satisfying"

(South Africa) Ndumiso | 14 December 2016

"The scenery away from the busy lifestyle and city was a great experience. The place was quiet and so very peaceful. I was impressed with my room that was spacious and well equipped. The owner Jane is a wonderful lady and she really made me feel at home."


"Satisfied"

(South Africa) Shawn | 11 October 2016

"We were accommodated very well. The rooms are neat and smart. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to whoever would like to go."


"Outstanding, Tranquil, Affordable."

(South Africa) Graeme | 11 October 2016

"Outstanding, tranquil, affordable. Had a great stay, thank you Jane."


"Quiet & Comfy"

(Turkey) Charmaine van Rensburg | 12 September 2016

"My husband and I spent one night at Lindisfarne on our way up to the KZN Midlands, and found it to be very comfy, peaceful, neat and clean. Jane was very welcoming and we can definitely recommend a stay at this venue."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) anonymous | 8 September 2016

"My stay was fantastic, everything was in order. The rooms were very neat and tidy. The service was good, I really had no complaints."


"'"

(South Africa) Suzette Kruger | 15 August 2016

"Lovely B & B. Beautiful setting and friendly service. Enjoyed our stay."


"Absolutely awesome"

(South Africa) Lindi Meyer | 9 February 2015

"I was very impressed with everything. I slept like a baby. The place is gorgeous. And even with load shedding and water being disconnected the issues were handled very professionally and I would stay there again any day."


"Lindisfarne"

(South Africa) Ms Gumede | 20 January 2015

"I had a good stay at Lindisfarne. It was clean and had spacious rooms. The staff were helpful and welcoming. I will recommend them to others. "


"Homey cottages in expansive garden"

(South Africa) anonymous | 27 December 2014

"Lindisfarne was the ideal place for our group when we needed accommodation close to other family members in Botha's Hill. We stayed in Tyne Cottage and the Studio Cottage for two nights and found them both very comfortable and well-equipped (down to having an iron and ironing board in the Studio). ..."

more

"Lindisfarne was the ideal place for our group when we needed accommodation close to other family members in Botha's Hill. We stayed in Tyne Cottage and the Studio Cottage for two nights and found them both very comfortable and well-equipped (down to having an iron and ironing board in the Studio).

We especially loved the expansive lawn and garden features, which makes for such a peaceful atmosphere. We also appreciated the 'at-home' feel of the cottages, and we're sorry we didn't have time for breakfast in the main house because it certainly smelled very good!"


"Happy"

(South Africa) Korf | 4 December 2014

"The time here was very nice. The hostess was very friendly and offered us plenty. The accommodation was neat and clean. Recommended. "


"Review of Lindesfarne B&B"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 October 2014

"Excellently located, good breakfasts, and a very clean establishment. Room we stayed in was spacious. Huge bed which was very comfortable."


"'"

(South Africa) Sibongile Mbatha | 23 September 2014

"Lindisfame B&B made my husband and I fall in love with living next to the coast. Our stay was short, but enjoyed every moment. Wish we had stayed longer."


"A pleasurable stay"

(South Africa) Mr Williams | 11 June 2014

"Our time here was very nice. We would recommend a stay here as we thoroughly enjoyed it."


"'"

(South Africa) Mbuyisi Ndoloshe | 3 June 2014

"Thanks, we enjoyed our stay at Lindisfarne B&B. Jane is very friendly, unfortunate for us we missed the concert that we were invited to attend."


"Lindisfarne B&B"

(South Africa) Mr Grinwis | 27 January 2014

"I had a lovely stay at Lindisfarne B&B and will recommend this B&B to others."


"Home away from home"

(South Africa) Ms bodibe | 10 January 2014

"We had a lovely stay. Its a great environment and gives you the feeling of being at home. We will definitely revisit."


"Lovely stay"

(South Africa) Mr Rauch | 12 November 2013

"My wife and I stayed in the studio cottage. Private, clean and neat. The atmosphere and hospitality was excellent."


"5 star"

(South Africa) Cobie Basson | 30 September 2013

"Very good. We were very impressed with house keeping. Very clean rooms, it was a pleasure to stay there."


"Great hospitality"

(South Africa) Mrs Thomas | 10 July 2013

"Paul was an excellent host and accommodated our breakfast needs adequately. The suite was comfortable, homely and spacious. The facility is well-kept, with lovely, maintained gardens. I would definitely recommend Lindisfarne B&B to my friends and family."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Debbie de Jager | 27 June 2013

"Our stay at Lindisfarne was very pleasant. The breakfast ever morning - delicious. Enjoyed it very much...thank you, Jane!! A home far from home."


"Pleasant stay in Botha's Hill"

(South Africa) Riana Simms | 18 March 2013

"We received a very warm welcome and felt instantly at home. Our suite was lovely, clean and spacious. A BIG plus was the comfortable bed and pillows. A highly recommended B & B, for a cosy break away."


"Will's visit "

(France) will lathouwers | 18 February 2013

"we stayed 2 nights in Tyne Cottage, good beds, bad kitchen needs refurbishment, they will start with this shortly, very friendly owner.





Establishment's response





I thank the Lathouwers for their constructive criticism as it is often difficult ..."

more

"we stayed 2 nights in Tyne Cottage, good beds, bad kitchen needs refurbishment, they will start with this shortly, very friendly owner.





Establishment's response





I thank the Lathouwers for their constructive criticism as it is often difficult to

monitor every aspect of the self-catering cottages unless people tell us what is faulty etc.

The two blackened pots have been replaced. The linoleum floor in the kitchen has been lifted and is currently being replaced with tiles

as part of our planned refurbishment for Tyne Cottage this year.

I think the term Òbad kitchen in need of refurbishmentÓ is a little harsh as the walls, tiles, cupboards, counter tops, sink area

etc are all in good condition. There was a little dust from the press board at the top of the cupboard under the sink which has been addressed.

We have no doubt when you visit us again next time you will be very pleased with the result.










"


"Lindisfarne - wonderful B & B experience"

(South Africa) Mr Hellyar | 27 November 2012

"We only spent one night at Lindisfarne B&B, but the owners, Paul and Jane Candow, went out of their way to make us feel at home and to help us with our arrangements. Lovely accommodation: spacious, clean and comfortable with an excellent breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend Lindisfarne B&B t..."

more

"We only spent one night at Lindisfarne B&B, but the owners, Paul and Jane Candow, went out of their way to make us feel at home and to help us with our arrangements. Lovely accommodation: spacious, clean and comfortable with an excellent breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend Lindisfarne B&B to anyone wishing to stay in the Hillcrest area."


"Great"

(South Africa) Shivani Naidoo | 19 October 2012

"Great room!"


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Mr Watkins | 18 October 2012

"Thanks for a great overnighter. A great quiet little place to relax and it is nice and close to restaurants.
"


"Thank You."

(South Africa) Ms Tabane | 23 January 2012

"Dear Jane

I would like to thank you so much for the accommodation. We really felt comfortable, welcomed and relaxed. You have a beautiful warm home and we will not hesitate to book our stay when we come over to Durban again.

I wish you all the best with the business. May it continu..."

more

"Dear Jane

I would like to thank you so much for the accommodation. We really felt comfortable, welcomed and relaxed. You have a beautiful warm home and we will not hesitate to book our stay when we come over to Durban again.

I wish you all the best with the business. May it continue to expand.


Warm regards
Rori
"


"Great"

(South Africa) Nick Baikoff | 16 January 2012

"I had a great time. Comfortable and hospitable."


"Durban trip"

(South Africa) Anna Gqamane | 21 January 2011

"The accommodation at Lindisfarne B&B was perfect; the hosts very friendly and accommodating. I could definitely recommend the B&B to other people.



"


"Great location."

(South Africa) Trevor Meyer | 4 February 2009

"Very pleasant & comfortable stay. Great host. Good value for money. Will definitely return when the opportunity arises."


"Place, hosts and area great"

(South Africa) Karen Olivier | 14 April 2008

"We really had a good time. Place was great. Hosts were great. Area great."


"Hospitality was out of this world!"

(South Africa) Marlien Boucher | 12 January 2008

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jane is a lovely person with a big heart and it truly felt like home away from home. The Sweet was absolutely beautiful, staff was very friendly, and breakfast was divine! ... Just what is needed to start ones day! I would truly recommend it to all my friends and fami..."

more

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jane is a lovely person with a big heart and it truly felt like home away from home. The Sweet was absolutely beautiful, staff was very friendly, and breakfast was divine! ... Just what is needed to start ones day! I would truly recommend it to all my friends and family! Hospitality was out of this world! We would definitely go back again soon! Please do Thank her for us once again. Regards Marlien & Aus. "


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Lorna Rutter | 26 November 2007

"A very happy and clean environment, we had a fantastic time."


"To be recommended"

(United Kingdom) Ms Oats | 28 April 2007

"Jane and Paul couldn't have done more to help, and make us feel welcome. Everything was superb, and we went back later to their self-catering cottage.

We will definitely recommend Lindisfarne to everyone, and we will be back."


"Tranquility"

(South Africa) Ms Davey | 19 September 2006

"Lindisfarne is home from home, the host and hostess ensure a warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend Lindisfarne."


"Sulize - Lindisfarne stay - September 2006"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 September 2006

"The property is beautiful and I think it is a good idea to be able to stay in the cottage - always more private."