Reviews of Mountain View Country Estate


"Friendly Welcome!"

(South Africa) Leana | 8 April 2019

"We where welcomed with a Smile!

The rooms are very neat it was like walking back in to time with all the beautiful old wooden furniture, time clocks and portraits.

With no television it allows you to reconnect with your family like in the old days just sitting and talking, somet..."

more

"We where welcomed with a Smile!

The rooms are very neat it was like walking back in to time with all the beautiful old wooden furniture, time clocks and portraits.

With no television it allows you to reconnect with your family like in the old days just sitting and talking, something that we never get the time for with are busy life's!

If you would like to reconnect with your love one this would be the place to stay."


"Had a nice stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2 October 2018

"It was a very nice stay, we had a nice time."


"exelent"

Veronica Mguga | 3 January 2018

"I loved the rooms and the kitchen is nice and quit
if you can maybe put a board on the road "


"Mountain view was lekka"

Andries Lombaard | 27 November 2017

"Thanks Jacques, it lekka, just the other guests that does not respect others. Will return if I am in the area "


"The Rhino Rally "

Natasha Prinsloo | 10 September 2017

"Room was clean and well prepared. Staff were friendly and accomodating. "


"Peace"

John Stander | 2 July 2017

"A quiet working farm away from the madding crowd. Excellent hospitality and service. Clean, clean and clean. Small rooms, but okay for singles or couples. No TV ! (Deo Gloria). I am going back again."


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Durani Barnardo | 28 March 2016

"

We had an amazing time at Mountain View Guesthouse. and Jacques the owner was very kind and forthcoming. very reasonable priced too.Êwe will definitely be back!



"


"I really enjoyed my stay."

(South Africa) John Black | 19 January 2016

"Mountain View is awesome. From the bedding to the furniture, just amazing !Ê I think Jacques should put his prices up.













"


"Very, Very nice !"

(South Africa) Kobus Harnan | 30 October 2015

"This place is a gem. Low prices for what you get. Clean and neat. Will use them next visit to Parys.

"


"Unpretentious Place"

(South Africa) Bridget Walton | 6 October 2015

"

This isÊ a comfotable, unpretentious place in which to spend two nights. The place is comfortable and clean, well furnished ..."

more

"

This isÊ a comfotable, unpretentious place in which to spend two nights. The place is comfortable and clean, well furnished also. The welcome from the proprietor / owner was special and his friendliness and care for all guests visiting over the weekend is to be complimented. Beds are very comfortable. All in all, we enjoyed the stay although we actually only spent the nights and breakfast in the lodge. Because we were travelling on, we were not prepared for self-catering and so went into Parys for dinner each night. If there is a downside, it is perhaps that one needs to know the area better than we did so as to make better use of what Parys and the environment has to offer. We take full responsibility for this and would do our homework more thoroughly prior to a future occasion.ÊThank you, Jacques, for being the perfect host.
Sincerely
Bridget Walton
"


"Beautiful "

(South Africa) Kaylene Bernardo | 22 September 2015

"Lovely charmed home , great place to stay. Thank you for having us. we will return! Ê"


"A nice weekend getaway"

(South Africa) NONHLANHLA MOKOENA | 13 April 2015

"We had a nice time at A Mountaun view Counrty Estate. The place is clean and and Jacque is friendly. The only problem I had is that there are no toilets in the rooms."


"Brian & Mags"

(South Africa) Brian de Jager | 7 April 2015

"

Really enjoyed my stay. Just one concern for Mags though. She feels the Ablutions should be in the en-suite. Other than that, the atmosphere is tranquil and it is a venue I would recommend to my friends.

From a Fisherman's viewpoint, I would like Jacque to develop the Fishing area and possi..."

more

"

Really enjoyed my stay. Just one concern for Mags though. She feels the Ablutions should be in the en-suite. Other than that, the atmosphere is tranquil and it is a venue I would recommend to my friends.

From a Fisherman's viewpoint, I would like Jacque to develop the Fishing area and possibly make a Picnic spot with Braai and Lapa above the Fishing area. Good River fishing with nice size specimens for Fly Fishermen as well as conventional River Bank Anglers.

"


"Tranquil surroundings"

(South Africa) Thabo Ramphore | 24 March 2015

"I liked my stay at Mountain View Country Estate because of how peaceful and tranquil it was. I felt relaxed and well rested after the 4 days I stayed there."


"Great spot"

(South Africa) dave ingram | 24 March 2014

"We stayed here while doing the Vaal Eden Challenge, the first day start was 1km away but we it was a 27km drive to get there. We could see some of the route from our room. Great place to stay, will be back next year. Thanks to Jacques for going out of his way to make our stay comfortable."


"A pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Naiomi Benn | 17 February 2014

"Jacques was very helpful and we had a pleasant stay."


"Family overnight stay"

(South Africa) Johan van Rooyen | 2 January 2014

"Basic yet clean and comfortable accommodation on a budget."


"Baie netjies"

(South Africa) Basie Le roux | 11 November 2013

"Baie netjies en Skoon, die plaas atmosfeer was baie lekker, sal weer daar oornag. Die antieke meubels is pragtig. Sal aanbeveel vir n lekker nag rus."


"Accomodation near Parys"

(South Africa) Johan van Eeden | 28 October 2013

"I will say that accommodation was satisfactory. Jacques tried his best."


"Budget accommodation in Parys"

(South Africa) izelle labuschagne | 14 October 2013

"I have stayed here three times during business trips. The owners are friendly and helpful. Good option if you are looking for budget accommodation close to Parys and surrounding areas."


"Very nice place!"

(South Africa) Combrinck Lombard | 11 March 2013

"Ons het die verblyf hier baie geniet! Jacques was baie behulpsaam en vriendelik, en dit was net n plesier om daar te wees! Dit is lekker naby aan Parys en die stukkie grondpad to by die ingang is kort en netjies. Sal verseker weer van hul gebruik maak!"


"Excellent service"

(South Africa) Carol Smit | 5 March 2013

"We were very comfortable and had everything we needed. Service and help is excellent."


"Pragtig!"

(South Africa) Susan Pienaar | 31 January 2013

"Met my aankoms by A Mountain View Country Estate was Jacques so behulpsaam en vriendelik dit het gevoel asof ek 'n jare lange vriend van hom is. Ek het baie lanklaas 'n gastehuis gesien wat so op standaard skoon en netjies is, en 'n bonus is die pragtige meubels, ek sal te bang wees om dit in my hu..."

more

"Met my aankoms by A Mountain View Country Estate was Jacques so behulpsaam en vriendelik dit het gevoel asof ek 'n jare lange vriend van hom is. Ek het baie lanklaas 'n gastehuis gesien wat so op standaard skoon en netjies is, en 'n bonus is die pragtige meubels, ek sal te bang wees om dit in my huis te sit, wat nog aan te bied vir die gaste. Die uitsig by die rivier en die koppe is net wat ek nodig gehad het om my kop skoon te kry. A Mountain View Country Estate sal my defnitief weer sien!!!"


"Fair to good"

(South Africa) Brian Barry | 5 November 2012

"Not bad for the amount you pay, toilets are far from your room. Rooms are very clean and neat."


"Farmstyle sleepover"

(South Africa) Hermann Loubser | 15 October 2012

"Good night's sleep. Very quiet except for nature night sounds. Jacques was very helpful and pleasant. Clean and tasteful furniture and secure parking."


"Good"

(South Africa) Geoff Botes | 26 September 2012

"Very neat. jacques was an excellent host."


"Weekend stay at Mountain view"

(South Africa) Bathandwa Fikeni | 18 September 2012

"1. I arrived later than scheduled however the staff waited for my arrival. 2. The room was spacious and neat. 3. I took a walk to see the Vaal River which is very close by and spent some time by the river. The place is nice, quiet and safe."


"Mountain View"

(South Africa) Anina Myburgh | 18 September 2012

"The facility was clean and comfortable. Even though you do not have your own toilette, you have your own shower in the room. Jacque was very helpful and friendly and interesting to to talk to. The guest house is on a beautiful peace of land."


"Absolutely the best so far"

(South Africa) Lance Voges | 3 September 2012

"We arrived to a very warm and sincere welcome Friday evening. We were greeted by Jacques who runs the place.



The cleanliness and neatness of the establishment was breathtaking, nothing out of place. It was definately worth every cent. Our intention was to get away from our busy city ..."

more

"We arrived to a very warm and sincere welcome Friday evening. We were greeted by Jacques who runs the place.



The cleanliness and neatness of the establishment was breathtaking, nothing out of place. It was definately worth every cent. Our intention was to get away from our busy city life to some serenity, peace and quiet and that is exactlly what we got. Not to mention Jacques very accomodating and kind nature.



We sincerely recommend A Mountain View Estate for anyone and everyone needing a timeout."


"Comfortable"

(South Africa) Riaan van Biljon | 3 September 2012

"Venue was basic, clean and comfortable. Ideal for an overnight stop and Jacques went out of his way to make the stay comfortable"


"Mountain View"

(South Africa) Jacques Martins | 9 July 2012

"We had a great stay. The place is very clean and the reception and greeting were great."


"Fantastic!"

(South Africa) Yvette van der Westhuizen | 23 April 2012

"My husband and I had a wonderful time at Mountain View Country Estate. Jacques was very friendly and helpful at all times. We will definitely stay there again. Thank you!"


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Talitha Share | 23 April 2012

"A lovely venue for self-catering, quiet and very clean and tidy. Friendly host - will definitely recommend."


"Enjoyed the stay"

(South Africa) Adrian Pienaar | 27 February 2012

"We all enjoyed the stay, even though it was a very short one. The service was great and the atmosphere friendly. Thanks, we will come again."


"Friendly"

(South Africa) Xolani Nhlapo | 30 January 2012

"Jacques was so friendly toward us, you would think that we had known him from a long time ago."


"Nice"

(South Africa) Heidi Bothma | 13 December 2011

"The accommodation was very nice. Thank you."


"A weekend to remember"

(South Africa) Lerato Makgamatha | 17 November 2011

"Time well spent in comfort. Made new friends. Thank you to the most wonderful host, Jacques."


"Excellent place"

(South Africa) DIRK ROOS | 7 November 2011

"It is an excellent place to stay for a stopover or weekend, especially to play golf in town. It is very clean and has a relaxed atmosphere."


"Pleasant"

(South Africa) Dirk van Kampen | 4 November 2011

"Baie netjiese gastehuis met 'n baie vriendelike, aangename gasheer, Jacques, wat alles in sy vermo‘ gedoen het om ons verblyf aangenaam te maak. Baie dankie dat u ons na Mountain View Country Estate verwys het.



Very neat guest house with a very friendly and pleasant host, Jacques, who..."

more

"Baie netjiese gastehuis met 'n baie vriendelike, aangename gasheer, Jacques, wat alles in sy vermo‘ gedoen het om ons verblyf aangenaam te maak. Baie dankie dat u ons na Mountain View Country Estate verwys het.



Very neat guest house with a very friendly and pleasant host, Jacques, who did everything capable to make our stay pleasant. Thank you for recommending Mountain View Country Estate."


"Excellent host"

(South Africa) Lynette Human | 10 October 2011

"Jacques is an excellent host. We had a very pleasant stay."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) CHRISTINE GREYLING | 26 September 2011

"Overall a very nice experience. Nothing spectacular, yet peaceful and great service by Jacques. Some finer touches on accommodation may be recommended in time, but thumbs up for the antique furniture. Makes it a very special experience."


"Great"

(South Africa) kim van wyk | 18 September 2011

"Great hospitality. Peaceful surroundings, and comfortable sleeping arrangements. We will enjoy a longer stay on the next visit. Thank you."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Len Dames | 10 April 2011

"Friendly people, clean and quiet."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 22 March 2011

"Jacques very friendly and helpful."


"Friendly and comfortable"

(South Africa) Amanda de Wet | 14 March 2011

"Friendly reception, comfortable stay. "


"Great"

(South Africa) Amanda Mncube | 10 January 2011

"It was very calming, away from the city noise and fast life. The only noise that we could hear was the birds singing and that was divine."


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Clive Cordon | 4 January 2011

"My wife and I enjoyed the stay! The facilities are splendid and the self-catering setup/kitchen is nicely setup. Definitely a place to tell your friends about."


"Very friendly"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 6 December 2010

"The facility is clean and comfortable. Jacques was very helpful and friendly. Mountain View is ideal for a business stay, accommodation when touring the surrounding area or a farm holiday for city kids."


"A Mountain View"

(South Africa) Alida Rademeyer | 15 November 2010

"Very nice. Very relaxing atmosphere and the rooms are very clean and neat. Will definitely be returning.



Baie lekker. Baie rustige atmosfeer en kamers is baie skoon en gerieflik. Sal beslis weer terug gaan."


"Beautiful"

(South Africa) Barbara Sorgdrager | 23 October 2010

"We found the setting beautiful and the room was very comfortable. Jacques went out of his way for us. It was just a pity we had to cut our visit short because of medical reasons, but I would definitely recommend it as a peaceful home away from home to anybody wanting a restful time.



..."

more

"We found the setting beautiful and the room was very comfortable. Jacques went out of his way for us. It was just a pity we had to cut our visit short because of medical reasons, but I would definitely recommend it as a peaceful home away from home to anybody wanting a restful time.



Thanks again Jacques. You really go more than the extra mile for your visitors."


"Restful place"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 18 October 2010

"Nice and quiet, restful, clean and friendly place to stay. "


"Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) Johnie Oosthuizen | 11 October 2010

"Enjoyable stay, no complaints!"


"A Mountain View"

(South Africa) Peter Richards | 11 October 2010

"Not really my cup of tea."


"Great service, comfortable lodgings and gay-friendly"

(South Africa) Kyle Carson | 23 August 2010

"A Mountain View Country Estate offers accommodation that is affordable yet comfortable, perfect for a romantic couple or visitors to Parys. The guest house is not far from town, the Vredefort Dome and other sights and attractions in the area. The service was a delight. We were only able to check in ..."

more

"A Mountain View Country Estate offers accommodation that is affordable yet comfortable, perfect for a romantic couple or visitors to Parys. The guest house is not far from town, the Vredefort Dome and other sights and attractions in the area. The service was a delight. We were only able to check in late in the afternoon and we were met with a smile. When our car broke down, Jacques (the owner) drove us to Potchefstroom without any hesitation. I highly recommend Mountain View Country Estate to any travellers to Parys. Gay and straight."


"A Mountain View"

(South Africa) Freddie Kruger | 16 August 2010

"Jacques was an excellent as host. The room was very good. The food was excellent (regte 'boere' kos)."


"Overnight stay"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 28 April 2010

"Arrived late overnight before hike from johannesburg, Jacques made us very welcome, simple accommodation, tidy, nice bedding and very clean. would visit again."


"Enjoyed it"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 22 February 2010

"We enjoyed our stay and it is was great and a quite place for an outing. Would love to go back in the near future."


"Perfect"

(South Africa) Lindiwe Msibi | 15 February 2010

"The place was perfect and the hospitality was perfect."


"Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) Moeketsi Majoe | 4 January 2010

"What a pleasant atmosphere was created for us. At first we thought it was an old redundant place but to our surprise it exceeded our expectations. You will never get a festive getaway at that cost (R) with professional and friendly service rendered to you and your partner day and night. Jacque, you ..."

more

"What a pleasant atmosphere was created for us. At first we thought it was an old redundant place but to our surprise it exceeded our expectations. You will never get a festive getaway at that cost (R) with professional and friendly service rendered to you and your partner day and night. Jacque, you rock - keep it up."


"Enjoyable stay"

(South Africa) ivodia Mtetwa | 31 December 2009

"Thank you for the quiet, the sheep, the cows, the cats & snails in your garden. We enjoyed our stay .

Love & light "


"A Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) Tiens Barnard | 16 December 2009

"Apart from the rain - Most Enjoyable!!"


"Superb time "

(South Africa) Val Lopez | 24 August 2009

"This is the spot for a nice time out of the city, relaxing!

the river is just 10 min walk away from the place and Jacques is just so helpful and welcoming!

We spent just over 24h in Parys but it was enough for a super refresher :))"


"SUPER SUPER"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 17 June 2009

"We had a great time, the owner was awesome and assisted us in locating some great site seeing areas.Thanks for the hospitality......and the people are very friendly in this little town."


"Recommended"

(Netherlands) Anonymous | 2 March 2009

"I had a pleasant stay at the Mountain View Country Estate outside Parys. We were made welcome by the host and it made me really want to extend my stay or go back again in future. I would really recommend it to any travellers that would like a homely atmosphere."


"Holiday at Mountain View Country Estate "

(South Africa) dorah | 18 June 2018

"Jacques was so welcoming, we really had a good time and enjoyed the stay.
The place is quite clean and so peaceful and beautifully filled with antiques.
Would really love to return in summer. It felt like I was at my own place.
The week end was so short, wished I could stay longer away f..."

more

"Jacques was so welcoming, we really had a good time and enjoyed the stay.
The place is quite clean and so peaceful and beautifully filled with antiques.
Would really love to return in summer. It felt like I was at my own place.
The week end was so short, wished I could stay longer away from the noise in the city.
"


"Rejuvenating "

(South Africa) Olivia | 17 April 2018

"Jacques gave us a warm welcome and made us feel right at home. The place is clean and all the antique furniture gives a beautiful look to the place. Nice and quiet atmosphere, ideal for people who just want to get away from it all and relax or have some 'me time'. We absolutely loved it and will be ..."

more

"Jacques gave us a warm welcome and made us feel right at home. The place is clean and all the antique furniture gives a beautiful look to the place. Nice and quiet atmosphere, ideal for people who just want to get away from it all and relax or have some 'me time'. We absolutely loved it and will be visiting again.

Thank you Jacques.
"


"Excellent "

(South Africa) Anita | 26 March 2018

"Had a wonderful stay and great friendly service from Jacques. "


"Not to happy customer"

(South Africa) Elize | 3 January 2018

"Very beautiful furniture and owner was accommodating
but there was no sign boards so it was difficult to find the place
The place smelt like urine when he opened the door and the rest of the place smelt mouldy
there is no flow of natural air only a toilet window with a small window abov..."

more

"Very beautiful furniture and owner was accommodating
but there was no sign boards so it was difficult to find the place
The place smelt like urine when he opened the door and the rest of the place smelt mouldy
there is no flow of natural air only a toilet window with a small window above the door that opens in the passage which is not very private
Although it was raining it was uncomfortably hot with a fan that wasn't working properly
The one room had 2 x single beds which was hard and squeaky
What you see if not what you get I was really disappointed seeing that I took my sister from America for a treat to Parys





"


"DSTV in the rooms"

(South Africa) sello | 4 December 2017

"I would like to thank the management of Mountainview for thier hospitality we really enjoyed ourself.

The only proposal i would like to give the management is to have TV's in each rooms and those TV's to have DSTV's.

Hope you find the above in order.

Thanks "


"Refund"

(South Africa) Anna | 14 November 2017

"Hey good day

I didn't stay at the place. The guy there was very rude.
How do I get my refund?

Regards
Anna Lekata
"


"Enjoyable Stay"

(South Africa) Hendri | 14 February 2017

"I had a good stay. The set-up was very decent, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and had no complains."


"Peace and Tranquility "

(South Africa) Maggie | 10 January 2017

"Just what the soul ordered, peace and tranquility. After a busy year we had the chance to just relax and enjoy a quiet and restful time in beautiful surroundings. The house is filled with stately antique furniture, decorated with taste, immaculately clean; and sheer joy to just be part of the setti..."

more

"Just what the soul ordered, peace and tranquility. After a busy year we had the chance to just relax and enjoy a quiet and restful time in beautiful surroundings. The house is filled with stately antique furniture, decorated with taste, immaculately clean; and sheer joy to just be part of the setting. We were welcomed and treated with friendliness and warmth and our stay was most enjoyable. Will definitely make it a yearly retreat.
Thanks to Jacques for making it so enjoyable.
"


"My First Night in SA After A Long Trip"

(South Africa) Sechaba | 6 December 2016

"At the place i found such a lovely gentleman Zach a very nice person, he made me feel at home. The room was lovely clean and spacious. It is quiet homely. I liked the place. "


"Disappointing experience"

(South Africa) anonymous | 17 November 2016

"At first we couldn't find the place as there are no signs on the road. No toilets in the rooms which make it very inconvenient. Owner not accommodating at all and treated us like school children. "


"Wonderful Place"

(South Africa) Mothogobeng | 7 November 2016

"I loved the set-up of the whole place and how accommodating the owner was at the Mountain View Country Estate. I really had no complaints."


"Ideal Place In Parys"

(South Africa) wiseman | 4 October 2016

"We enjoyed the stay at Mountain View Country Estate, the place is situated about 10 km outside town. Nice and quiet, ideal place to rest. You are woken up by singing birds on the country side away from busy noisy town life. Definitely will book again in the future. The manager was always available f..."

more

"We enjoyed the stay at Mountain View Country Estate, the place is situated about 10 km outside town. Nice and quiet, ideal place to rest. You are woken up by singing birds on the country side away from busy noisy town life. Definitely will book again in the future. The manager was always available for assistance when needed."


"Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 September 2016

"My stay was very good, everything went well. I like the fact that you can take a walk to river for nice peace and quiet and to just chill. It’s very relaxing and the bushveld is so nice. The only thing that I had a problem with was that there is no television in the room and also no toilet. I got th..."

more

"My stay was very good, everything went well. I like the fact that you can take a walk to river for nice peace and quiet and to just chill. It’s very relaxing and the bushveld is so nice. The only thing that I had a problem with was that there is no television in the room and also no toilet. I got the impression that the toilet was inside the room, but I still enjoyed everything.

Mountain View Country Estate emailed: Fri 2016/09/30 7:15 PM

Dear Janey

Please note that at no time do we advertise a toilet or a television in any room.

Warm regards

Jacques


"


"Absolutely Awesome "

(South Africa) Barry | 23 June 2016

"We had and absolutely awesome stay, it was so great and we had a really good time. The owner was amazing, very respectable and friendly. The whole environment of the establishment was great, a very easy and friendly environment, we really felt at home. Thanks for a great stay and we’ll definitely be..."

more

"We had and absolutely awesome stay, it was so great and we had a really good time. The owner was amazing, very respectable and friendly. The whole environment of the establishment was great, a very easy and friendly environment, we really felt at home. Thanks for a great stay and we’ll definitely be back."


"Stay over at Mountain View"

(South Africa) Lou | 21 April 2016

"I booked Mountain View in Zastron randomly for a one night stay on our route from Volksrust to Port Alfred.
I was extremely happy with the very nice room and friendly staff.
I would like to recommend the Mountain view at Zastron to anybody. It is a very nice place with the best view of the m..."

more

"I booked Mountain View in Zastron randomly for a one night stay on our route from Volksrust to Port Alfred.
I was extremely happy with the very nice room and friendly staff.
I would like to recommend the Mountain view at Zastron to anybody. It is a very nice place with the best view of the mountain. "


"Good nights rest!"

(South Africa) Georgie | 21 April 2016

"Thank you for a good nights rest! Will certainly be back."


"Lovely Stay"

(South Africa) Goodwill | 8 April 2016

"I had a lovely time at the Mountain View Country Estate. Thank you for the warm and welcoming service, we had an enjoyable stay."


"Awesome Stay"

(South Africa) Joe | 31 March 2016

"We had an awesome time at the Mount View Country Estate. Everything was really lovely; the room was comfortable, neat and tidy. The owners were very pleasant really very welcoming, which makes all the difference. Great place wish I had stayed longer."


"Loved the place!!"

(South Africa) Marie | 20 March 2016

"We loved to stay at the Mountain View Country Estate and were welcomed by Jacques and felt very much "at home". Will visit again if we need to go to Parys surroundings."


"compliment"

(South Africa) Roslin | 11 January 2016

"We really enjoyed our stay. The hospitality was awesome, the owner of this estate really knows how to make his guest feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay. Roslin & Charmer as the owner names him (laughs)"


"wow what a stay surrounded by mountains"

(South Africa) sibongile | 4 January 2016

"My stay at the place was okay. The owner is very welcoming and friendly. In general the place is clean, beautiful and very calming and relaxing which is what I was looking for really."


"Fine"

(South Africa) Van Rensburg | 16 April 2015

"Everything went alright at Mountain View Country Estate and my stay was fine."


"My stay"

(South Africa) JO | 11 March 2015

"I stayed at Mountain View Country Estate in February 2015, and it was alright."


"Not impressed or happy at all"

(South Africa) van der Walt | 9 March 2015

"Dear Jaqcue and the Woman who answered when I returned Your call which You either dropped or we lost signal. This is my review and the time is 18h00 on Monday the 9th of March 2015. Your Place is not close to what you have on the website. A Signboard or something with Your name on might help. When I..."

more

"Dear Jaqcue and the Woman who answered when I returned Your call which You either dropped or we lost signal. This is my review and the time is 18h00 on Monday the 9th of March 2015. Your Place is not close to what you have on the website. A Signboard or something with Your name on might help. When I drove down that road and around the pellepadated wall and onto the lawn under the shade port where an oldish dirty car greated me I thought I was on somebodys private proprty. I drove back to the road And called You and You said it is the right place. I could not believe it but went back.

On meeting You,You came across very unfriendly and immediatley confronted me with what do You Mean it is not the same as the website. I had a look inside and the inside is nice but the atmosfere is very Dark and somber. I told You thanks but no thanks but no thanks I
will not be staying here. And You said Well Ok and You walked away.
Wel Young man You have a lot to learn and Goodluck.
And stop posting deceitfull images on your website.

Est responded:Mon 2015/03/09 04:49 PM
I'm totally shocked that Mr van der Walt had these silly remarks. Mr van der Walt came here with a horrible attitude. Shocking !!!

1 Rooms for Africa took 360` pictures of my place.
The place actually looks better than the pics on the website since I change it all the time. Look at www.mountainview.mvce.co.za even these pics don't show how good it looks now.

2 The wall next door belong to the neighbours and have nothing to do with the guesthouse.

3 I did not show Mr van der Walt his room. How can he say his room was dark and dreary ?

Please inform Mr van der Walt he's very welcome to go to the Argus. As a matter a fact I would give one room for free for their accommodation for 2 nights. I will give no refund to Mr van der Walt.

The place looks a lot better than advertised….

Best regards

Jacques 072 694 7857

client:09 March 2015 06:08 PM
I am extremely annoyed. I have just had a call from Jacque accusing me of a review that I have not even written Yet. Attacking me verbally because I think his place MOUNTAIN VIEW COUNTRY ESTATE, is nothing close to what is on Your Website and hen the conversation was stopped either by him putting the phone down or maybe a lost signal. When I returned the call a lady answered also accusing me of saying in my review which I still have not written yet, that the place is not what they show on the website. Well I would Like to go meet this Woman because she is of the opinion that the place is better than on the website.

Well I have no time for this bullshit, I travel extensively and book rooms on the website at least 4 times a month. If she thinks the place is better than the website then she should have herself tested.

I booked through You ROOMS FOR AFRICA and my dealings is with You.

If they want to take this further it will be in person. The telephone and e mail is a very safe way to attack people.

I will write my review now and will be surprised if You post it
Regards
client:Tue 2015/03/10 02:44 PM
Good Day

I have not had any response from Rooms for Africa Yet.

Is there a remote chance of getting My Deposit Back ??
client:: ?Tuesday?, ?10? ?March? ?2015 ?03?:?44? ?PM

Dear Sir

Following our not so good telephonic discussion.

Are you going to refund my Deposit ??

Kind regards

Est responded:Est:10 March 2015 16:06
Dear Sir

No Sir.

Regards

Jacques

Client:10 March 2015 04:17 PM
Funny Enough I did not expect You too.

It puts You in the category of our government and majority of South Africans.

Go Well, Sleep Well and watch out for the Blinde Sambok it has a way to get you when You don’t expect it.

And Sarah I will certainly not use Rooms for Africa again and I will tell people as far as I go about this experience.

"


"DREAM HOLYDAY"

(South Africa) Bosman | 5 January 2015

"I enjoyed the stay so much at Montain View, very beautiful view. Quiet and peaceful place. Staff very friendly. I truly recommend. "


"Thanks"

(South Africa) Ms Kay | 9 December 2014

"We only stayed one night, it was a short but pleasant stay. I would recommend it to others. I will be using Rooms for Africa in the near future. "


"What a Shocker!"

(South Africa) de Wet | 20 October 2014

"We arrived at the Mountainview Country Estate (after having missed the small dirt road from the Fochville tar road). Upon arrival, the host was not there to meet us as he was dropping off one of the maids.
We waited in the reception area which was furnished with antique furniture, detracting fro..."

more

"We arrived at the Mountainview Country Estate (after having missed the small dirt road from the Fochville tar road). Upon arrival, the host was not there to meet us as he was dropping off one of the maids.
We waited in the reception area which was furnished with antique furniture, detracting from the more modern yellow face brick interior.
Once our host arrived ten minutes later, we were shown into a single room large enough for a double bed and a make shift shower and small wardrobe. The toilet was in the outside passageway to be shared with other guests.
Since the venue is about 10km outside Parys, we enquired about meals, to be told we had to arrange this well in advance. Booking a breakfast for the next morning was too short notice. This was definitely not remotely what we expected
We did not unpack; we left immediately and went to find alternative accommodation in Parys. We forfeited the deposit and thankfully found more suitable accommodation in Parys town.

Est responded: Tue 2014/10/21 10:18 AM
Hope you are very well. Let me put some light on this....

1 We arrived at the Mountainview Country Estate (after having missed the small dirt road from the Fochville tar road).

Who is to blame if the person don’t find Mountain View Country Estate ? I have directions, GPS and my phone number. Overseas guests finds this with ease. Makes you wonder about the South Africans.



2 Upon arrival, the host was not there to meet us as he was dropping off one of the maids.

Why is the guest even mentioning this. He spoke to me on the phone before he came and I told him I’m just dropping the maid and will be back in 10 min. I told him to wait for me in the sitting room.



3 We waited in the reception area which was furnished with antique furniture, detracting from the more modern yellow face brick interior

Ok what is the guest point here ? Useless info...



4 Once our host arrived ten minutes later, we were shown into a single room large enough for a double bed and a make shift shower and small wardrobe

The room is 6 m by 3 m. that’s not small. The bed is a queen-size with a 70 cm wide 45 cm deep chess of draws with 3 x draws on the one side of the bed and a 45 cm by 45 cm table plus a chair on the other side of the table. The chair is next to the table to give you an idea of the space. The shower is a standard size shower. The wardrobe is a double door imbuia wardrobe. That’s not small. So theirs more than enough space for clothes.
Why is the guest misleading you ??? Please note that Your people { Rooms for Africa } was at Mountain View and know the seizes of the rooms and wardrobes.



5 The toilet was in the outside passageway to be shared with other guests.

The toilets 4 x toilets and one urinal is not outside the house like the guest makes it sound but in the house 10 m from the room. I clearly state on the Rooms for Africa website that the toilets are shared { The facilities we have available are: nine elegantly furnished rooms with en-suite shower and basin, six rooms with twin 3/4 beds and three rooms with double beds. Please note the toilet facilities are shared. }



6 Since the venue is about 10 km outside Parys, we enquired about meals, to be told we had to arrange this well in advance. Booking a breakfast for the next morning was too short notice. This was definitely not remotely what we expected.

I clearly state on the website { Our establishment is self catering but breakfast, lunch and dinner available per arrangement } I get a chef to make the food. It wont be viable to to get him for 2 people. My Mom refuses to make breakfast if no arrangement was made with her way in advance. That’s her right.


Hope this helps.

Mr de Wet still owes the rest of the money R 495 and should pay it immediately.

ABSA Parys
Account holder J du Preez
Account number 4050737659
Amount R 495-00

Please e-mail proof of payment to mvce@vodamail.co.za

"


"Exactly what we needed"

(South Africa) Mr Sigauke | 11 August 2014

"Jacques is an amazing host and he is very welcoming into his home. We enjoyed the peace, quiet, brilliant facilities and the freedom to cook as well as the convenience of being able to request meals beforehand. Enjoyed the 5 minute countryside drive to Mountain View to and fro from town. Perfectly s..."

more

"Jacques is an amazing host and he is very welcoming into his home. We enjoyed the peace, quiet, brilliant facilities and the freedom to cook as well as the convenience of being able to request meals beforehand. Enjoyed the 5 minute countryside drive to Mountain View to and fro from town. Perfectly situated for a peaceful, hassle free get-away."


"Not satisfied"

(South Africa) Mr Lee | 23 April 2014

"Just arrived at Mountain View very disappointed with Accom. Not at all what we expected. Still have a problem with toilets. Approx 30 metres from our room. Room very uninviting. No Fridge etc in unit. In another room. No tv. Cant see how we can spend time there until Sunday. No credit card . No sig..."

more

"Just arrived at Mountain View very disappointed with Accom. Not at all what we expected. Still have a problem with toilets. Approx 30 metres from our room. Room very uninviting. No Fridge etc in unit. In another room. No tv. Cant see how we can spend time there until Sunday. No credit card . No signage to hotel. Still feel website not clear re no toilets in unit. Will not be staying. If we have to we will pay balance. Feel you must also take some responsibility for the problems. please advise hotel.

Establishment responded:Tue 2014-04-22 06:40 PM
Dear Cyrilene

Thanks for forwarding Mr Lee’s e-mail.

1 ] Just arrived at Mountain View very disappointed with Accom. Not at all what we expected
Mr Lee knew exactly what to expect from Mountain View.Not only did I explain to him about the toilets that’s shared but also about the kitchens and what he could expect to f in his kitchen and that its not in the room.I also ask Mr Lee in this telephone conversation to bring cash since we do not have credit card facilities.

2 ] Still have a problem with toilets. Approx 30 metres from our room.

Don’t really understand this comment.Did anybody promised Mr Lee a toilet in the room ?
The toilet is 11 m from Mr Lee’s room not 30 m.

3 ] Room very uninviting

Mr Lee had a choice of 2 rooms.The green room on page 3 photo number 4 and on page 4 photo number 4 and 5. I suppose it’s Mr Lee’s right to like or dislike a room.

4 ] No Fridge etc. in unit. In another room.

As I explained to Mr Lee in our telephone conversation the fridge etc. can be found in his kitchen.

5 ] No tv

We do have tv in some rooms and full DSTV in the lounge.

6 ] No credit card
I told Mr Lee in our telephone conversation we do not have credit card facilities he should bring cash.

7 ] No signage to hotel


Address: Farm Brakfontein
Fochville Road
Parys Latitude: -26°50"19.00' (-26.838612)
Longitude: 27°29"42.60' (27.495167)

Directions: From Johannesburg: Take the N1 South and at the R59 turn right. Follow the road for 20 kilometres into Parys. Follow Bree Street. Turn right at van Coller Street at the traffic light. Follow the road for about 10 kilometres, at the orange wall in green text reading - "gesondheids sentrum" turn right. About 700 metres you will reach an electric gate. Enter through gate to the right of the electric gate. Follow road around to the back and park under shade ports.

What is the point of having all this if the guest don’t read it ?????????
I don’t want signage at my gate for safety reasons.What do I do when people arrive at my place 2 o clock in the morning from the road and it’s trouble ? I only do business through the internet so if someone want to stay at my guest house they should follow the directions on the website.

7 ] Still feel website not clear re no toilets in unit

Please note the toilet facilities are shared.
+
Max guests: 2 guests
Bed: Double bed
Bathroom: Ensuite Bathroom (Shower only)
Single: R375 to R515
Double: R275 to R415




Description: Three elegantly furnished rooms with ensuite shower and basin. Three rooms with double beds



Plus a 360 degree view of the room shows no toilet.If you are still unclear after all of this and the reviews saying there are no toilets in the room Then what will make it clear to Mr Lee ?

Hopes this helps

Kind regards

Jacques 0726947857

"


"Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) Mr madisha | 14 March 2014

"Thank you for a wonderful stay. I will let others know about you."


"Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) Mr Horey | 4 February 2014

"Thank you for a pleasant stay. I will recommend to others."


"Unique little venue"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2 December 2013

"Beautiful farm venue with a view of roaming livestock. Pleasant staff and decent night stay over."


"Awesome"

(South Africa) Hanneliese Oberholzer | 13 July 2013

"I would recommend Mountain View Country Estate to anyone and will certainly visit Jacques again. Thank you for a lovely stay. It was awesome there amongst nature, especially the Fish eagles call. Everything was neat and lovely. The hospitality was excellent and very friendly."


"A quiet place with a lot of nature"

(Germany) Mr Tofte | 15 April 2013

"If you are looking for a quiet place with a lot of nature around, this might be the right place for you. A friendly and helpful host and a very big breakfast.
For me, living and working in a big town, it was very spectacular to look at the sky at night. It was great to see so many stars!
"


"Home from home"

(South Africa) Daan Hattingh | 5 April 2013

"What a relaxing stay. The Host Jacques was very friendly and committed to make our stay to be remembered.
He did everything to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
We will be back."


"Mountain view with nothing else"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2 April 2013

"There is no signage at all to make things easy to get there. They had been painting all day. Do not like the idea of bathrooms so far from the rooms. The Manager? was up and down and in our face. Did not enjoy that. If we could have found another place and not come back for the night, we would have...."

more

"There is no signage at all to make things easy to get there. They had been painting all day. Do not like the idea of bathrooms so far from the rooms. The Manager? was up and down and in our face. Did not enjoy that. If we could have found another place and not come back for the night, we would have. The kitchen facilities were poor. The fridge was not even on. I would not go back there again.

Est called in 03/04/2012- 14h30

sd why is client only complaining now
directions on website
said had to paint and keep up maintenance-don't even see people who paint,door was closed-wants to know why its bothering the client
said he has to be up and down to make sure guest are happy
everything is in the kitchen
said if

est replied via email: Wed 2013-04-03 03:54 PMDear Cyrilene

Hope you are very well.My answer to the review of Mrs Johnson.
1 There is no signage at all to make things easy to get there.
I made the effort to put the directions clearly on the website.I do not want a signboard at my entrance for safety reasons.I had visitors from all over the world and they said my directions was spot on.
2 They had been painting all day.
Mrs Johnson and company visited me on 26 Feb 2013 Tuesday.When am I suppose to do maintenance ? When will be the correct day and time ? The painting did not interfere at all with My visitors.I had one painter and he closed the door of the kitchen or toilet where he was painting.How was this effecting Mrs Johnson if she could not even see how the painter was working ?
3 Do not like the idea of bathrooms so far from the rooms.
Mrs Johnson had a choice of rooms.Why did she not take a room closer to the bathrooms ? The furthest room is less than 30 m from the bathrooms.
4 The Manager? was up and down and in our face. Did not enjoy that.
I had to be up and down until 5h00 the afternoon.I had a painter and my cleaning ladies.If I’m here it’s not right if I’m not here it’s also not right ???
5 The kitchen facilities were poor.
The kitchen consist of a fridge,toaster,microwave,kettle,stove,crockery,cutlery.What more should I have to make it suitable for Mrs Johnson ?Please keep in mind she paid R 225 per person sharing and she was staying only one night.
6 The fridge was not even on.
I put the fridge on if the guest is going to use it.We all try our bit to save power.Mrs Johnson could plug it in if she needed it or even asked me.I was here to do it for her.That is precisely why I’m here.
Have a great day.
Jacques


"


"Thank you"

(South Africa) Bennie | 18 February 2013

"The quiet and peaceful surroundings made our short stay relaxing. Jacques is a wonderful host, thanks for all the help and smiles. "


"One night stay at Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) Mrs Greyling | 12 February 2013

"Jacques is an excellent host. Very friendly with a warm welcome. Very cosy, beautiful views and a really peaceful surrounding made the one night stay too short. Enjoyed waking up to the sound of farm animals. Having the house furnished with lovely antique furniture created that real South African Fr..."

more

"Jacques is an excellent host. Very friendly with a warm welcome. Very cosy, beautiful views and a really peaceful surrounding made the one night stay too short. Enjoyed waking up to the sound of farm animals. Having the house furnished with lovely antique furniture created that real South African Freestate feeling. "


"Disappointed"

(South Africa) Ms Siepel | 5 February 2013

"Booked bed and breakfast, but on arrival were told that it wasn't booked. Website mentions en suite, but there isn't a full bathroom with toilet en suite. Mountain view you can only see through a tiny window. Didn't enjoy our stay.

5/2/2013 - forwarded review to est

Est replied: ..."

more

"Booked bed and breakfast, but on arrival were told that it wasn't booked. Website mentions en suite, but there isn't a full bathroom with toilet en suite. Mountain view you can only see through a tiny window. Didn't enjoy our stay.

5/2/2013 - forwarded review to est

Est replied: 05/02/2013 - 11:04:
Dear Diana

Please see correspondence with Ms Siepel.No breakfast was booked.Also note that I clearly state on website { Our establishment is self catering but breakfast, lunch and dinner available per arrangement.}
Ms Siepel had a choice of rooms.She chose that room.May I add the window is 1 m 16 cm by 96 cm.That’s not small.A room with a huge window was available with a lovely view......

If the window was a problem, why did she not choose the other room ?

Please note that it clearly states on website { Description: Three elegantly furnished rooms with ensuite shower and basin. Three rooms with double beds }
{ The facilities we have available are: nine elegantly furnished rooms with ensuite shower and basin, six rooms with twin 3/4 beds and three rooms with double beds. Please note the toilet facilities are shared.}

Hope this helps.

Kind regards

Jacques "


"Baie lekker verblyf"

(South Africa) Mr Pienaar | 8 January 2013

"Ons het vir een nag daar gebly vir ons 28ste Huweliks herdenking. Die uitsig met die plaas atmosfeer was wonderlik veral met die trop meerkatte op die gras wat jou verwelkom.Die Kamers self is baie goed ingerig,met die fantastiese outydse meubels wat oral karakter aan die verblyf gee. Ek beveel defi..."

more

"Ons het vir een nag daar gebly vir ons 28ste Huweliks herdenking. Die uitsig met die plaas atmosfeer was wonderlik veral met die trop meerkatte op die gras wat jou verwelkom.Die Kamers self is baie goed ingerig,met die fantastiese outydse meubels wat oral karakter aan die verblyf gee. Ek beveel definitief Mountain View Country Estate aan vir n lekker rustige verblyf.

RoomsForAfrica translation:

We stayed there for one night for our 28th Marriage Anniversary. The farm atmosphere was great, especially with the meerkats on the grass. The room itself is very well equipped, with fabulous antique furniture that gives character to the setting. I definitely recommend Mountain View Country Estate for a nice quiet stay."


"Review"

(South Africa) Mr Ramcharither | 20 December 2012

"A lovely and quiet place away from motor noise, but still within reach of the city. "


"A Mountain View Without a View"

(South Africa) Mr Sparrow | 9 December 2012

"This was without a doubt the worst and least cost effective establishment that I have stayed in, in South Africa.
The costs were equivalent to a 4 four star very pleasant establishment in Pretoria. The ablutions and general state of the accommodation was shocking to say the least.
The rooms ..."

more

"This was without a doubt the worst and least cost effective establishment that I have stayed in, in South Africa.
The costs were equivalent to a 4 four star very pleasant establishment in Pretoria. The ablutions and general state of the accommodation was shocking to say the least.
The rooms had no ventilation, and no windows, the plumbing for the walled off shower in the room, was all visible and the shower was a plastic tray.
I would like to add that I stay in accommodation on average one to two nights per week, this was dreadful.
"


"Neat and Affordable"

(South Africa) anonymous | 30 September 2012

"The guesthouse is simple, affordable, peaceful and clean. The owner is very friendly and helpful. There isn't much privacy as the rooms are quite near to each other and you can hear the guests in the next room. If you looking for affordability and you don't mind sharing the toilets then it is perfec..."

more

"The guesthouse is simple, affordable, peaceful and clean. The owner is very friendly and helpful. There isn't much privacy as the rooms are quite near to each other and you can hear the guests in the next room. If you looking for affordability and you don't mind sharing the toilets then it is perfect."


"Cozy and neat"

(South Africa) Sharon-Rose Lindeque | 24 September 2012

"The room is cozy and neat. The entire house has a warm and homely atmosphere and furnished with antiques. If an affordable room is needed and you quite like a farm environment then Mountain View is perfect. The river is literally 700m from the house and we had a pleasant sundown ride on our mountai..."

more

"The room is cozy and neat. The entire house has a warm and homely atmosphere and furnished with antiques. If an affordable room is needed and you quite like a farm environment then Mountain View is perfect. The river is literally 700m from the house and we had a pleasant sundown ride on our mountain bikes down to the river and back. We also enjoyed generous portions of breakfast and dinner in true farm home baked / cooked style. Beautiful views, nature sounds and peaceful. All round a pleasure."


"Mountain View country eastate 11 Sept 2012"

(South Africa) Mr Zietsman | 13 September 2012

"Thanks to a very friendly and clean overnight at Mountain View county estate.
Jacques really try his best to let everybody feel at home
Will visit you again"


"Disgusting and dissapointing - Be warn do not book at this place"

(South Africa) Leandra Carelsen | 30 July 2012

"The owners or whoever they are , are RUDE Sarcastic not helpful at all, the photo's on the website are NOT at all what it looks like at Mountain view country estate, what it actually is , is a looooong dark hallway with rooms next to each other like a dormroom and all the guests (9 rooms) share one ..."

more

"The owners or whoever they are , are RUDE Sarcastic not helpful at all, the photo's on the website are NOT at all what it looks like at Mountain view country estate, what it actually is , is a looooong dark hallway with rooms next to each other like a dormroom and all the guests (9 rooms) share one bathroom which is in the passage. We ended up not sleeping over because of the false advertising. We found a LOVELY place just before Parys absolutely amazing, the owners are stunning , friendly and very helpful, their place is out of this world its called THE KLIPHUIS.

(est called, and replied on 6 August 2012)
(rejected - no false advertising)

Ms Carelson was rude and sarcastic from the word go.She asked me where is the Mountain ? You look into the Mountain for 700 m as you drive down the road towards Mountain View.Ms Carelson asked me where’s the bar ? She said the place was not as I advertised, It was dead.
I never advertised the place as a bar or that we have a bar.

Yes it is a long passage with rooms next to each other,like most hotels and certainly not dark.The guests don't share one bathroom.The facilities we have available are: nine elegantly furnished rooms with ensuite shower and basin, six rooms with twin 3/4 beds and three rooms with double beds. Please note the toilet facilities are shared.

When Ms Carelson and husband left they littered our gardens with their beer bottles........No wander.
Mr Carelson screamed{ this is a kak place }

{False advertising} I dare Ms Carelson to proof this.......
"


"Affordable accommodation"

(South Africa) Mrs Nieuwenhuis | 2 July 2012

"If you are looking for affordable accommodation which is also clean and tidy, this is the place. Booking went extremely smoothly and a friendly welcome awaited us upon our arrival. By being able to save on accommodation made it possible for the family to enjoy a get-away weekend by being able to a..."

more

"If you are looking for affordable accommodation which is also clean and tidy, this is the place. Booking went extremely smoothly and a friendly welcome awaited us upon our arrival. By being able to save on accommodation made it possible for the family to enjoy a get-away weekend by being able to afford other activities in and around Parys. Although not luxurious, it was quite acceptable and had everything you really need to still enjoy a pleasant stay away from home. Thank you to Mountain View Country Estate for making this possible. "


"Heerlike Naweek"

(South Africa) Mrs Greeff | 3 May 2012

"Ons het daar aangekom en Jacques het ons baie vriendelik ontvang. Alles was skoon en netjies. Die regte plekkie om heen te gaan as jy wil rust.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

When we arrived we were received very warmly by Jacques. Everything was clean and neat. This is the perfect p..."

more

"Ons het daar aangekom en Jacques het ons baie vriendelik ontvang. Alles was skoon en netjies. Die regte plekkie om heen te gaan as jy wil rust.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

When we arrived we were received very warmly by Jacques. Everything was clean and neat. This is the perfect place to go to if it is rest you seek.
"


"Disappointed"

(Botswana) Mr Viljoen | 23 April 2012

"I was very disappointed. The whole place could do with some TLC.

To me the biggest problem was that you do not have a toilet in your room and need to walk up to 50m to get to the toilet. It did not do it for me.

Sorry but I was very disappointed.

(rejected due to listing ..."

more

"I was very disappointed. The whole place could do with some TLC.

To me the biggest problem was that you do not have a toilet in your room and need to walk up to 50m to get to the toilet. It did not do it for me.

Sorry but I was very disappointed.

(rejected due to listing clearly states that toilet facilities are shared)
"


"Easter break away 2012"

(South Africa) Ms odendaal | 11 April 2012

"First of all booking through Rooms for Africa was a breeze, if the booking process goes smoothly your half way there already :-) Arriving at Mountain
View Country Estate we where welcomed immediately and in a friendly manner. (GPS coordinates were spot on). Our rooms were very neat and tidy and..."

more

"First of all booking through Rooms for Africa was a breeze, if the booking process goes smoothly your half way there already :-) Arriving at Mountain
View Country Estate we where welcomed immediately and in a friendly manner. (GPS coordinates were spot on). Our rooms were very neat and tidy and everything was nice and clean. Hot shower and warm bed, what more could a girl ask for. Will definitely book there again as they go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thanks for the personal touch."


"Pleasant stay at Mountain View Country Estate"

(South Africa) Mr Helmchen | 25 March 2012

"We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful country environment. Our host Jacques was very friendly and we felt welcome.

There are a few small things though that needs to be addressed but, we discussed it with him.

It would be nice if someone can welcome guests with a cup of coffee(made..."

more

"We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful country environment. Our host Jacques was very friendly and we felt welcome.

There are a few small things though that needs to be addressed but, we discussed it with him.

It would be nice if someone can welcome guests with a cup of coffee(made for them), or just an offer.... If someone can bring your luggage in it will also be nice.

Rooms are nice and clean with showers and basin, but toilets further down in passage. Then, we were only issued with 2 bathtowels - had to ask for more and no bath soap were supplied - luckily we took some.(its in the country no shops around for about 10 km)

For a one night stay it might be ok for ladies, but there is not really enough light to do ones' make-up(a shelve near basin will be nice to put ones' make-up and toothbrushes, etc. And a rack or something to put your luggage on.)

The room we were in doesnt really have space but, a plan can be made.

Please, this is a constructive review and meant to help them - not to criticise.

The place is lovely and theres plenty of potential and the better the service, the more the people will come back.

Marthie & Manfred Helmchen "


"Mountain View Estate"

(South Africa) Mr Russell | 9 April 2011

"Dit was heerlik om hier te kon tuisgaan. Jacques het ons so hartlik ontvang en deurgaans gesorg dat alles goed gaan met ons. Alles is skoon en netjies. Die plaasatmosfeer het bygedra tot n rustige verblyf.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

It was great to be there and we felt at home..."

more

"Dit was heerlik om hier te kon tuisgaan. Jacques het ons so hartlik ontvang en deurgaans gesorg dat alles goed gaan met ons. Alles is skoon en netjies. Die plaasatmosfeer het bygedra tot n rustige verblyf.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

It was great to be there and we felt at home. Jacques so warmly received us and consistently ensured that all went well. Everything was clean and neat. The farm atmosphere contributed to a peaceful stay.
"


"MOST OVER RATED WEBPAGE"

(South Africa) Mr MOOLMAN | 1 March 2011

"IT WAS THE MOST DEPRESING ACCOMMODATION I EVER STAYED AT. THE ROOMS GIVE YOU THE FEELING THAT YOU ARE LOCKED UP IN JAIL. THERE IS ON TV OR RADIO AND ALSO NO OTHER ENTERTANMENT OF ANY SORT. THE KITCHEN IS POORLY EQUIPED AND THE TOILETS IS DOWN THE PASSAGE. I HAVE TO GIVE THEM CREDIT FOR CLEANISS BUT ..."

more

"IT WAS THE MOST DEPRESING ACCOMMODATION I EVER STAYED AT. THE ROOMS GIVE YOU THE FEELING THAT YOU ARE LOCKED UP IN JAIL. THERE IS ON TV OR RADIO AND ALSO NO OTHER ENTERTANMENT OF ANY SORT. THE KITCHEN IS POORLY EQUIPED AND THE TOILETS IS DOWN THE PASSAGE. I HAVE TO GIVE THEM CREDIT FOR CLEANISS BUT THAT IS ALL. THERE IS NO ROAD SIGNAGE AND THE ROAD TO THE SITE IS A TWO SPOOR FARM ROAD. NO LIGHTS IN THE CARPARK. THIS ESTABLISHMENT WILL NOT DO WELL FOR YOUR COMPANY'S REPUTATION AND I WILL ADVISE YOU TO TRY IT YOURSELF. YOU ARE WELCOME TO CONTACT ME ON 0832268480."


"Poor accommodation"

(South Africa) Mr Dreyer | 13 December 2010

"We had a very disappointing stay at Mountain View Country Estate (Don't let the name fool you, it is very far from an Estate and it does not have much of a mountain view either). It is an old farm house which was converted into a place where people can sleep (don't know what else to call it, because..."

more

"We had a very disappointing stay at Mountain View Country Estate (Don't let the name fool you, it is very far from an Estate and it does not have much of a mountain view either). It is an old farm house which was converted into a place where people can sleep (don't know what else to call it, because it does not deserve to be called a guest house / lodge or anything of that sort). A basin and shower were cramped into the room, but not in separate bathroom, just into a tiled corner. There is no toilet in the room, you share 2 toilets and a bath with the rest of the guests. Some other rooms in the house were converted into kitchens. There is no sink in the kitchen, only a tiny basin. The host was not even sure whether there was coffee, tea of Cremora in the containers when we arrived. There was no one to clean the room after the first nights stay, it feels like staying in a hostel and the place is very old. Rather go camping: A tent is an upgrade on this place...

ResAfrica
Est responded: 26/10/2010 - 00:29:
I'm very disappointed in Mr. Dreyer unfounded remarks.

1 (Don't let the name fool you, it is very far from an Estate

If you would look it up in the dictionary one of the meanings for an Estate would be a large piece of land owned by one person or a group of people.

Mountain View certainly can be called an Estate since it is a large piece of land owned by one person.

2 it does not have much of a mountain view either).

The Estate is surrounded with mountains from three sides so the estate definitely have mountain views.

3 A basin and shower were cramped into the room, but not in separate bathroom, just into a tiled corner. There is no toilet in the room,

The room is 3m wide and 6m long.The tiled area with basin 94 cm by 1 m 80 cm.This is open plan.The built in shower 1 m 10 cm by 1 m 4 cm .Does this sound cramped in to you ?....
I think not....

4 There is no toilet in the room.

I clearly state that toilets are shared on your WebPages.{ Please note the toilet facilities are shared. }

5 you share 2 toilets and a bath with the rest of the guests.

This is a blatant lie.We have 4 toilets and a urinal for the men.

6 There is no sink in the kitchen, only a tiny basin.

We do have a basin and a big bucket for lots of dishes.

7 The host was not even sure whether there was coffee, tea of Cremora in the containers when we arrived.

8 I always make sure that my guests have coffee,tea,sugar when they arrive. I check again just to make double sure when I show them the kitchen.I don't have to supply this service but I do.

9 There was no one to clean the room after the first nights stay,

At R 175 pp a night you don't get room service please......

10 it feels like staying in a hostel and the place is very old.

If making your own bed makes you feel like living in a hostel,yip this is it......If you pay more you get more......This is no Rocket science......

Yes Mountain View is an old farm house with lots of valuable antique furniture and original oil paintings.I had guests from Canada at the same time as Mr. Dreyer's stay back for the 4th time.They ramp and rave about the place.....Strange how Mr. Dreyer sees it.....Maybe its better for him to stay in a tent where he feels more at home......."


"Satisfactory"

(South Africa) anonymous | 31 August 2010

"If you need a room to sleep over, it is satisfactory. The rooms are clean."


"Very adequate accommodation"

(South Africa) Mr Copley | 16 August 2010

"We stayed at Mountain View for 1 night. The accommodation was clean and very adequate for a short stay. Jacques was very hospitable and produced a first class breakfast before we moved on."


"Amanda's Opinion."

(South Africa) Mrs Gilmour | 6 April 2010

"We had an enjoyable stay, relaxed, quiet and fresh farm air. It was clean and the host very hospitable! "


"Mountain View"

(South Africa) Mrs Parker | 13 October 2009

"The place is nice and clean, and Jacques is very kind and friendly. I was a bit uncomfortable with not having a toilet in the room. Otherwise, the accommodation was good."


"Quiet experience"

(South Africa) Mr de Villiers | 17 May 2009

"The farm is very peaceful and the food was SPLENDID! Perfect for men, but women who prefer a full-length mirror should consider an alternative. But there is really nothing that can bother you in the simplicity. And may I add again...The food that one can request is divine."


"Peace and Tranquillity"

(South Africa) Mr Sansom | 11 May 2009

"My family and I had a wonderful stay at Mountain View Country Estate - so peaceful and quiet! Did not want to go back to the hustle and bustle of City life!"


"Over-Night-Stay"

(South Africa) Mr Smith | 28 April 2009

"The accommodation is very clean and provide quite a lot for the kids to do if you need to stay for longer than a night. The only constructive criticism I have is please make it clear that the toilet facilities are shared by all the guests."


"Quaint get -a-way"

(South Africa) Ms Myers | 6 April 2009

"Overall I appreciated the attention to detail, the hospitality of the host, Jacques, and the cleanliness of the establishment.
I would though suggest on the website to make it clear that these are rooms in the main house as for a romantic getaway the rooms are quite on top of each other, and thi..."

more

"Overall I appreciated the attention to detail, the hospitality of the host, Jacques, and the cleanliness of the establishment.
I would though suggest on the website to make it clear that these are rooms in the main house as for a romantic getaway the rooms are quite on top of each other, and this might be a problem for some seeking privacy.
Other wise a place I will visit again."