Reviews of Rose and Ale


"Great accommodation "

(South Africa) David | 12 September 2019

"Great stay at the Rose and Ale good value for money."


"Blue Room"

(South Africa) Hayley | 30 July 2018

"The room was clean and comfortable. The rusks were minuscule. I was actually looking to forward to that. The place was quiet and easy to find. "


"Beautiful, spacious and homely"

Anele Rapiya | 3 April 2018

"We had a wonderful stay at the Rose and Ale and are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Diane for your great hospitality."


"Lovely, comfortable stay"

Amy Palmer | 20 March 2018

"Convenient location, very clean and comfortable. Perfect little garden for our dogs"


"Amazing stay"

Christine Lines | 25 February 2018

"Friendly service, clean and neat, great bed, nice decor, close walking distance to the beach and such a friendly cat "


"the room and a great hostess"

Siyabonga Bangani | 16 January 2018

"had a free upgrade and the room was lovely with antique furniture. it was beautifully decorated and the appliances all good."


"The ocean view n walking distance to the beach."

Manisha Jamnadas | 7 January 2018

"Everything was perfect.Would love to come again."


"Overnight stay"

Hazel Bohnen | 19 November 2017

"Very comfortable. Everything we needed was provided. Great beds in no5 Gonubie Sands."


"Residence close to the sea"

Tsepo Majake | 9 October 2017

"I loved the setting, quiet space, friendly staff, clean surroundings and a generally nice place."


"Enjoyable stay"

Edmund Knevitt | 15 April 2017

"The accommodation was clean and neat and the staff helpful and friendly. Enjoyed out stay"


"Excellent!"

Lerato Ramotsamai | 3 April 2017

"A lovely quaint place. It exceeded my expectations in every way. I'd definitely recommend it to someone else"


"The beach was minutes away "

Megan Marais | 2 March 2017

"Clean place with such a nifty little kitchen "


"'"

(South Africa) SalomŽ Nel | 2 November 2016

"Perfect location. Lovely self catering unit with privacy for us and our dogs. Had a lovely stay. "


"Feedback on our stay at The Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) Riaan Taylor | 26 July 2016

"Short stay, but extremely friendly, even the dog and cat came to say hello.

Clean and everything one needs.

Thanks

Riaan & Colleen"


"'"

(South Africa) Graeme and Felicite Bamford | 21 July 2016

"Enjoyed short stay. Very comfortable, well organised and clean
"


"A Good Stay"

(South Africa) Duncan Biggar | 3 May 2016

"We were kept well informed of our booking. The accommodation good and we will definitely stay here again if in the area"


"Lovely Break away"

(South Africa) Ceriska Van Rooyen | 9 February 2016

"Initially the communication wasn't very good from Cindy, as I struggled to get hold of her in terms of having to settle the balance and where to get the key. When we arrived we were still unsure. But the lovely little self catering unit made up for that. It was neat and tidy. Big enough for a couple..."

more

"Initially the communication wasn't very good from Cindy, as I struggled to get hold of her in terms of having to settle the balance and where to get the key. When we arrived we were still unsure. But the lovely little self catering unit made up for that. It was neat and tidy. Big enough for a couple and consist of everything you will need during your stay. There is a pool just around the corner as well.
Establishments Response:
Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the unit, we do try really hard to make the units as comfortable as possible. I do apologise if the communication seemed difficult for you. All information regarding outstanding payments, directions and arrival info is sent out via email, with the original booking. Our banking details were sent to you as requested, but I understand you had problems with the bank in getting payment through and I do know how frustrating that can be. So once again I do apologise for any inconvenience. Warm regards Leigh and Cindy."


"'"

(South Africa) Nonzwakazi Ngqaqhu | 19 October 2015

"It was my second time staying at The Rose and Ale. I had enjoyed my first stay as much as I had enjoyed my second stay. This past week I had gone with my friends. I had recommended the place to them. They were so impressed with the place.Thank you guys. "


"Jerry Coetzee"

(South Africa) Jerry Coetzee | 27 July 2015

"Only spent the one nightand enjoyed the facilities. "


"Good"

(South Africa) Sipho Mahlake | 10 March 2015

"We had a wonderful stay at The Rose and Ale, enjoyed our 4 days and we felt it was to short. We will definitely go back."


"Good"

(South Africa) Donna Dawson | 12 December 2014

"We were very impressed with the Blue Room at the Rose and Ale, the facilities were top class, the room more than adequate, clean and well maintained. The owners and staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. We will definitely recommend staying here."


"'"

(South Africa) Gloria Morgan | 27 October 2014

"We had a lovely five day rest in Rose Cottage with the company of Gaby, the resident poodle.

This accommodation is far enough from the town but close enough to walk to shops, restaurants and the beach."


"Family time"

(South Africa) Jamie Quadrado | 29 September 2014

"What a lovely surprise. Didn't expect to facing the ocean with a amazing sunrise. This gave us time to be a family, time for my husband to spend time with the kids. Walking on the beach, finding shell and just relaxing, what more could we ask for. What a perfect time of year to go. We not the time t..."

more

"What a lovely surprise. Didn't expect to facing the ocean with a amazing sunrise. This gave us time to be a family, time for my husband to spend time with the kids. Walking on the beach, finding shell and just relaxing, what more could we ask for. What a perfect time of year to go. We not the time to go away in the busy season. Lovely and quite. The apartment was much more than we expected. Perfect will defiantly be booking again. Thank you for you hospitality..

Jamie Victor Oliver & Megan lee"


"Complete with warm welcome!"

(South Africa) S Heiling | 18 August 2014

"Our first visit to Gonubie was a lovely surprise. Gaby, the friendly establishment poodle, welcomed us at the gate. The Blue Room had everything that one could possibly need and the facilities were of a very high standard. We hope to return one day and stay a bit longer."


"Lovely place"

(South Africa) Lisa Suter | 14 October 2013

"We stayed in Cider Place, very nicely decorated and comfortable in every way. My children loved playing in the Wendy house.

We really enjoyed our stay, thanks Leigh."


"Overnight stay"

(South Africa) Deirdre Moll | 3 June 2013

"We had a really enjoyable stay at the Rose and Ale in the Rose Cottage. What a delightful surprise the cottage was and extremely tastefully furnished with everything that we needed. Within very easy reach was the beach and hotel for us to have a meal out. The directions were also very user friend..."

more

"We had a really enjoyable stay at the Rose and Ale in the Rose Cottage. What a delightful surprise the cottage was and extremely tastefully furnished with everything that we needed. Within very easy reach was the beach and hotel for us to have a meal out. The directions were also very user friendly. Will definitely recommend this venue and stay here ourselves again should the need arise to visit East London."


"Very pleasant stay"

(South Africa) Jonette Lee | 17 November 2012

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was perfect for our needs and I have already recommended it to my family who travels through EL."


"Overview review"

(South Africa) Gugu mosalanyane | 25 September 2012

"We really had an awesome time at The Rose and Ale, just three things that I'd like to recommend:

- We slept in the Blue Room and we though it would have been ideal to have a microwave in that room as it is a self catering lodge after all.

- On Sunday we left our room after 10h00 but be..."

more

"We really had an awesome time at The Rose and Ale, just three things that I'd like to recommend:

- We slept in the Blue Room and we though it would have been ideal to have a microwave in that room as it is a self catering lodge after all.

- On Sunday we left our room after 10h00 but before 11h00 when we came back just after 14h00 our room was not clean, not a pleasant site after you've gone out and wanting to take a Sunday nap.

- As a result of the above our towels didnt smell good coz they had not been taken out to dry properly in the sun.

Otherwise we really enjoyed ourself there, the owners were friendly and the area is very safe. Thank you.

Establishment response

Dear Gugu

I am so sorry, there must have been a misunderstanding. When I asked my staff as to why your unit was not serviced (we do service every day) she said she had gone to your unit to service it, saw you through the door and thought you had meant that you did not want a service at all, not to come back later. So I am sorry about that, all staff have now been instructed to ask at what time they should return, to avoid this happening again. As far as the facilities that are available, and just as you said, it is self catering and there is a microwave available as well as a 2 plate stove with all the utensils necessary in the cupboard, in the kitchenette, you must just have missed it. I am sorry that your stay was short of perfect. I do hope we will see you in the future and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Kind Regards

Leigh"


"The Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) Elza van der Walt | 4 October 2010

"We enjoyed our stay at Rose and Ale very, very much. Thank you once again Leigh, for your hospitality."


"Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) Joy Hanrahan | 2 August 2010

"Leigh is the most generous and accommodating hostess. The blue room is very comfortable, clean and well furnished. A very pleasant stay and will definitely revisit."


"The Rose Cottage at The Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) Paul Faller | 11 January 2010

"Spent ten days holidaying in Gonubie.

The cottage was neat and tidy, well-equipped and serviced regularly. Owners and staff welcoming."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Tish Charlton | 5 January 2009

"The rose and ale was fantastic!!!! Their hospitality is amazing and the beer on offer was so welcome after the long journey. keep up the friendly service because that is what you look forward to after many hours in a car!!"


"Perfect"

(South Africa) Siviwe | 10 April 2018

"Spacious, comfortable, clean ,convenient and within a 2 minute walk to Gonubie beach and also close to shops. Rose & Ale is great value for money. Comes highly recommended."


"most wonderfull and peaceful accomodation for a break away."

(South Africa) JUANITA | 12 February 2018

"My husband is a breakdown driver and as u know that means no rest at all. The minute I heard about his weekend off I realized I must take him out of town. I searched and come across the most relaxing, peaceful place. Rose and Ale accommodation is the best for a break from all worries and household c..."

more

"My husband is a breakdown driver and as u know that means no rest at all. The minute I heard about his weekend off I realized I must take him out of town. I searched and come across the most relaxing, peaceful place. Rose and Ale accommodation is the best for a break from all worries and household chores. I must say the staff and manageress (Diane) were very friendly. You can be assured that I will definitely book again soon!


"


"A Pleasant Stay"

(South Africa) Cor | 2 January 2018

"We stayed in the Aztec Room.
On the positive side the kitchen utensils cookware was top quality and the fridge freezer kept the drinks cold and the steaks frozen.
The beds have good quality mattresses and bedding and it is in a quiet area so we slept very well.
Bathroom is clean and ..."

more

"We stayed in the Aztec Room.
On the positive side the kitchen utensils cookware was top quality and the fridge freezer kept the drinks cold and the steaks frozen.
The beds have good quality mattresses and bedding and it is in a quiet area so we slept very well.
Bathroom is clean and neat.
It is spacious enough for a family of 4 but the kitchen section was disappointing. The layout could be a lot more functional if it had a bigger kitchen table, currently it can only sit 2 people comfortably.
The facilities are adequate for a couple of days."


"Wonderful Stay"

(South Africa) Peter | 14 August 2017

"Had a wonderful stay would recommend it. Quiet, easily accessible and close to all amenities and highways."


"Lovely place."

(South Africa) Sarah | 17 July 2017

"Thank you. We had a lovely stay and very helpful staff. It had everything we needed and more."


"Satisfying Stay"

(South Africa) anonymous | 13 February 2017

"The rooms was really nice, it was clean and the quality of the bedding was really good. It was a good value for money and I was happy with my stay."


"Satisfied"

(South Africa) anonymous | 3 February 2017

"We received good service, the rooms was comfortable and the set-up of the place felt homely. We had such a lovely stay and would recommend the beautiful Guesthouse to anyone."


"Peaceful"

(South Africa) Nwabisa | 4 September 2016

"My stay was great, started from arrival date; the warm and friendly welcome we received. In arrival to the room, was neat and clean - tranquil. Our stay was comfortable, enjoyed every moment of it; if possible could make Rose & Ale our annual vacation destination."


"Glorious"

(South Africa) Schamelle | 29 July 2016

"We had and absolutely glorious stay. We loved the calmness of the place, we had no disturbances and no noise. It had a great atmosphere, it was like a home away from home. Dianne was really lovely and she made us feel welcomed and at home. Thank you for the lovely stay."


"Lovely Stay"

(South Africa) Zethu | 18 July 2016

"We had a really lovely stay, we enjoyed our time there. It’s a really beautiful place, the rooms were amazing, and the staff was great. Thank you for the pleasant stay."


"Wonderful and Peaceful Stay!"

(South Africa) pearl | 4 July 2016

"Me and my family had a wonderful and peaceful stay, we even extended our booking. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean and bedding is well set! Thanks for accommodating us. We surely coming back!
"


"Loved it"

(South Africa) Jacqui | 13 June 2016

"It was an absolutely wonderful, wonderful and more wonderful stay. We were so pleased and happy with our time spent there. We truly loved it and I would most definitely go back and stay again."


"Rose and Ale Review"

(South Africa) Wayne | 4 May 2016

"Excellent Value. Very Friendly. Rooms is very clean. Personnel very Friendly. Highly Recommend."


"Awesome stay. Felt like home away from home for a weekend."

(South Africa) wendy | 15 February 2016

"For a room that accommodates 2 people comfortably, it was paradise. The flat was open planned which was vibrant and elegant. The view of the sea from the balcony was to die for. It's a perfect place for people who want self catering because all one could need was there. The consultant with whom I've..."

more

"For a room that accommodates 2 people comfortably, it was paradise. The flat was open planned which was vibrant and elegant. The view of the sea from the balcony was to die for. It's a perfect place for people who want self catering because all one could need was there. The consultant with whom I've been communicating is so friendly, her and her family too. I sure will come back to Rose and Ale...the place is chilled."


"Pure bliss"

(South Africa) Colleen | 2 February 2016

"My stay was good, lovely actually. It was very nice accommodation. It was modern and clean and tidy and just a pure bliss. I will recommend and re-visit."


"Incredible Stay"

(South Africa) kikki | 6 January 2016

"We had a wonderful time at this establishment. The staff were friendly, the service received were excellent. They went the extra mile to make our stay pleasant. "


"Happy Happy Client"

(South Africa) Mark | 24 December 2015

"The room was very clean and spacious at this establishment. This place is beautiful and I will recommend it to anyone. The views over looking the sea was awesome. Really value for money. I will visit this establishment anytime."


"Nice accommodation"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 December 2015

"Nice accommodation"


"3 Gonubie Sands"

(South Africa) Ian | 9 October 2015

"Nice clean apartment with all the necessary requirements. Will definitely be back."


"Thank you"

(South Africa) jj | 26 August 2015

"Thank you for a lovely stay. The rooms were really clean. We will certainly recommend this guesthouse."


"Lovely accommodation"

(South Africa) Chantal | 4 June 2015

"What a lovely place. Such a pity we were only staying over for one night. "


"Perfection"

(South Africa) Olifant | 2 March 2015

"Had another great stay at Rose n Ale, the room was clean, well equipped for self catering, perfect location, safe parking for your vehicles, And the owner is friendly...Gonubie sands is a nice place to stay to get some piece of fresh breeze and peace of mind with your loved one or family. "


"Fantastic, high quality, excellent guest house"

(South Africa) Olifant | 27 January 2015

"My fiancée and I loved the place, we had a great night at Gonubie Sands, the room was very clean and spacious, and viewing the sea on the balcony was marvellous. It felt like a proper home, will definitely recommend Rose and Ale to a friend. Thanks Rose and Ale for making us feel at home."


"Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 January 2015

"I had a nice stay at Rose and Ale. It was clean and comfortable. We only stayed for one night but would've liked to stay longer. I will recommend them to others."


"Great"

(South Africa) Robyn | 20 January 2015

"Clean, comfortable and centrally located. We were happy with our room and our stay. Thank you!"


"Great time here"

(South Africa) anonymous | 19 January 2015

"The duration of the stay was so lovely. The place is beautiful and it's closer to the beach than I thought (I liked this fact). I will definitely come back here again."


"Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) Ms Xhakaza | 24 October 2014

"The establishment exceeded my expectations! It was clean, spacious, and friendly and value for money. I always appreciate crisp white linen as it emphasise cleanliness, I will most certainly visit this establishment next time I am in East London."


"Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) qulu | 26 September 2014

"We had a lovely stay. Really enjoyed it. Would recommend to family and friends and make use of again."


"fantastic"

(South Africa) Gallant | 8 September 2014

"Unexpected and amazed. The place makes you feel relaxed couldn't have asked for a better place. Thanks for accommodating us."


"Amazing seaside stay"

(South Africa) Ms Wray | 21 May 2014

"Friendly service, beautiful decor, will be looking forward to my next stay at Rose and Ale."


"Our overnight stay"

(South Africa) Mr & Mrs Van Jaarsveldt | 26 February 2014

"It was the second time we stayed over and will do so again.
We were welcomed at the gate by a very friendly staff member.
The cottage was great and very clean. The bed comfy with crisp clean linen, which left us well rested to continue our journey the next day.
Andre only missed his Ale ..."

more

"It was the second time we stayed over and will do so again.
We were welcomed at the gate by a very friendly staff member.
The cottage was great and very clean. The bed comfy with crisp clean linen, which left us well rested to continue our journey the next day.
Andre only missed his Ale this time with the braai.
"


"home away from home"

(South Africa) Mr ravhanna | 25 January 2014

"We have been travelling and sleeping in different hotels and B&B’s but that was the best, the service was excellent, we were even offered a cot bed for the baby without even asking for it. We will definitely consider the place if we happen to come back to East London and we will refer our friends an..."

more

"We have been travelling and sleeping in different hotels and B&B’s but that was the best, the service was excellent, we were even offered a cot bed for the baby without even asking for it. We will definitely consider the place if we happen to come back to East London and we will refer our friends and family to the place as well."


"Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) Mrs Maclaurin | 11 November 2013

"Lovely accommodation. Everything we wanted was on hand. Lovely people and super duper playful poodle. Thank you very much."


"Nice and cosy"

(South Africa) Ms Botha | 3 September 2013

"The cottages were well kitted and well looked after.
Everything worked and we did not have to contact reception for anything at all. Staff on site went out of their way to make us feel at home and helped with extra goods we needed.
Premises are nice and safe and access in and out was a breez..."

more

"The cottages were well kitted and well looked after.
Everything worked and we did not have to contact reception for anything at all. Staff on site went out of their way to make us feel at home and helped with extra goods we needed.
Premises are nice and safe and access in and out was a breeze.
A great location with no hassles at all during our stay.
Will definitely stay there again.
"


"Peaceful Rose and Ale"

(South Africa) Ms Landman | 12 August 2013

"Rose and Ale is situated in the best place possible, Gonubie. Rose and Ale is the best place to put your feet up and relax. It is spacious, comfortable and equipped with all you will need. The coffee and rusk was just great to put a start in our day. The cleaning staff as well as the owner is friend..."

more

"Rose and Ale is situated in the best place possible, Gonubie. Rose and Ale is the best place to put your feet up and relax. It is spacious, comfortable and equipped with all you will need. The coffee and rusk was just great to put a start in our day. The cleaning staff as well as the owner is friendly. They clean every day that is just great because who still wants to clean when they are on holiday. The garden is colourful and fresh. We were welcomed by their lovely dog, Gabby what a sweetheart. We really enjoyed our stay at Rose and Ale. We surely went home revitalized and stress free. If you need a break go to Rose and Ale."


"Fantastic..."

(South Africa) Ms Vorster | 7 January 2013

"If you ever visit East London please make sure that you make a booking at Rose and Ale. We had a great time there and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Fantastic hostess and owner and the place is very neat and inviting. Close to all amenities and a warm and welcome feeling every time we arrived at our..."

more

"If you ever visit East London please make sure that you make a booking at Rose and Ale. We had a great time there and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Fantastic hostess and owner and the place is very neat and inviting. Close to all amenities and a warm and welcome feeling every time we arrived at our little haven. We stayed in the Blue Room. Fantastic... We will definitely go back and will tell our friends to do the same too…"