Reviews of Riverplace Guest House


"Beautiful guesthouse!"

(South Africa) Helen | 29 September 2018

"What a lovely experience.. everything was five star! Very friendly staff, BEAUTIFUL decorated rooms and a lovely view on the Orange River. Breakfast was stylish. Recommended and will stay there again! "


"The view of the Orange river"

Christopher Page | 2 June 2017

"The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room is stylishly decorated and quite luxurious with great attention to detail."


"Absolutely beautiful :-)"

(Namibia) Ingrid Glover | 19 December 2016

"This was the last night of our 5 000kms road trip through Namibia and it was an absolute spoil!! It was lovely to have a view of green trees and the river after many days in the desert.



The room was beautifully clean, bed was super comfortable.



The best part wa..."

more

"This was the last night of our 5 000kms road trip through Namibia and it was an absolute spoil!! It was lovely to have a view of green trees and the river after many days in the desert.



The room was beautifully clean, bed was super comfortable.



The best part was having a romantic dinner set up for us just outside our room. The wine from the farm was divine. "


"Exceeded expectations "

(South Africa) Kumendra Naidoo | 16 December 2016

"Fantastic place! Great service, friendly staff and spectacular views. "


"'"

(South Africa) Nols Odendaal | 5 October 2016

"Friendly, comfortable, relaxing"


"'"

(South Africa) Peter Ling | 4 November 2015

"A pleasant surprise awaited us after travelling through the barren sun scorched landscape.

The room was spotless clean and contained everything one could wish for, ultra comfortable king bed, a private balcony to compliment the magnificent view of the garden and river.
The tranquil sur..."

more

"A pleasant surprise awaited us after travelling through the barren sun scorched landscape.

The room was spotless clean and contained everything one could wish for, ultra comfortable king bed, a private balcony to compliment the magnificent view of the garden and river.
The tranquil surroundings make River Place an ideal place to switch off and chill for a weekend or a few days away
"


"Review of River Place Manor"

(South Africa) Willem Joubert | 14 July 2015

"Our second stay at River Place Manor was as wonderful as the last. Thanks to Ronel who waited up for our late arrival!


"


"River Place Manor - Excellent"

(Namibia) Gerald Dobson | 8 January 2015

"We would just like to say that our 4 night stay at the River Place Manor was great. The service is very good, always someone around to assist and Esta very friendly and helpful. The views and serenity is out of this world. We will definitely stay there again in our special room when we come through ..."

more

"We would just like to say that our 4 night stay at the River Place Manor was great. The service is very good, always someone around to assist and Esta very friendly and helpful. The views and serenity is out of this world. We will definitely stay there again in our special room when we come through Upington again. Thanks guys.

Dobson family"


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Tini Hoekstra | 20 August 2014

"This guest house really deserves a five star rating. Perfect rooms and setting plus warm and friendly owners."


"Extremely satisfied"

(Australia) Gwen Enzlin-Taylor | 25 April 2014

"Service, hospitality and accommodation was excellent - close to town with wonderful views over the Orange river - would definitely recommend"


"Beautiful spot and well maintained Guest house"

(South Africa) Ute Thies | 28 February 2014

"everything here is nearly perfect: the garden with the beautiful views and the spacious room, the breakfast etc.

But - unfortunately we have been accommodated in a room with no views- and that makes a big difference although the price is the same and on booking in Safari Now that is not shown..."

more

"everything here is nearly perfect: the garden with the beautiful views and the spacious room, the breakfast etc.

But - unfortunately we have been accommodated in a room with no views- and that makes a big difference although the price is the same and on booking in Safari Now that is not shown. So if you book better ask for a room with a view to the river."


"Excellent place to stay"

(Namibia) Ruth Britze | 29 October 2013

"We just loved it!! Clean rooms, luxurious furnished and super beds!! The view was magnificent. And we enjoyed the good breakfast."


"Wonderful stay - what a view!"

(South Africa) Leoni Kruger | 27 September 2013

"The best guest house in Upington with the rooms all facing the river, what a view!. The bed was very comfortable and linen clean, well equipped with a top of the range TV, lovely spacious and clean bathroom. We will be back!"


"Convenient and comfortable"

(South Africa) Natalie Bruce | 10 April 2013

"The rooms were clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. River Place serves a very good breakfast but they seemed to struggle with having the guest house full and everyone having breakfast at a similar time. We would happily stay there again."


"River Place Guest House"

(South Africa) Annetta van der Westhuizen | 2 April 2013

"We have enjoyed out stay. Very friendly people and beautiful views. We had the smallest room, but it was still comfortable. It has been our second stay and we will recommend the guest house."


"Beautiful & luxurious"

(South Africa) Nicola Comninos | 30 January 2013

"Fantastic stay in a luxurious room with a beautiful view of the dam. Had lovely swim in small pool in beautiful garden setting, overlooking dam. Lovely breakfast."


"Perfect"

(South Africa) Shirley Benney | 21 September 2012

"Everything was absolutely perfect. The room was luxurious, dinner (on request) and breakfast were delicious. Setting is tranquil."


"Great experience"

(South Africa) Johan Kok | 10 September 2012

"What a great experience, what setup and attention to detail!! Not a single thing could be faulted."


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Pieter Venter | 17 August 2012

"A lovely place to stay en route to Kgalagadi, Namibia, etc. The rooms are very well equipped, comfortable and very nice. The views, especially at sunset, are great. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating with respect to different special dietary requirements for three of the six memb..."

more

"A lovely place to stay en route to Kgalagadi, Namibia, etc. The rooms are very well equipped, comfortable and very nice. The views, especially at sunset, are great. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating with respect to different special dietary requirements for three of the six members of our party. We'll be back."


"Fabulous guest house and accommodation"

(South Africa) Nic Els | 26 June 2012

"This must surely be one of the most delightful guesthouses in southern Africa. The accommodation was 5 Star, the bed was very comfortable and linen clean. Top of the range TV, lovely spacious, clean bathroom. Exquisite views and general ambiance was one of luxury comfort."


"River Place Guest House"

(South Africa) Paul Rose | 26 June 2012

"We stayed twice; once on our way to Nambia and once on our return. Accommodation is excellant and postioning on the Orange River outstanding. First stay we were made to feel very welcome by the owner and her assitant Stephanie.



Someone there makes one first-rate chicken pie for suppe..."

more

"We stayed twice; once on our way to Nambia and once on our return. Accommodation is excellant and postioning on the Orange River outstanding. First stay we were made to feel very welcome by the owner and her assitant Stephanie.



Someone there makes one first-rate chicken pie for supper. If you do not want to go out, it can be brought to your room to eat on your balcolny overlooking the river.



Our second stay was on a weekend and we saw no one other than the cook/domestic worker who, very nicely, did her best but seemed slightly overwhelmed seeing that the B&B appeared a full.



No supper is offered over weekends so I lost out on my chicken pie! Which I had been thinking about for the last 24 hours. A great stay."


"Excellent accommodation"

(South Africa) Roan Wolvaardt | 11 April 2012

"Thank you for the excellent accommodation. River Place truly deserves all the stars it has. This is premium accommodation and I will definitely recommend it. Thank you!"


"Beautiful"

(South Africa) Rona Marshall | 22 February 2012

"Absolutely beautiful and definitely somewhere that I will recommend to my friends. So peaceful and the scenery is beautiful. Thank you Ronel for making our stay here so pleasurable. As the saying goes, I'll be back!"


"Lovely rooms at the riverbank"

(South Africa) Martin G Hess | 17 February 2012

"The superior rooms are modern, spacious and very well equipped - excellent beds, air-conditioner, TV with DStv and kitchenette. From a private terrace one has a beautiful view across the Orange River. Our welcome was very friendly and competent. We had requested dinner in advance. Upon arrival, we w..."

more

"The superior rooms are modern, spacious and very well equipped - excellent beds, air-conditioner, TV with DStv and kitchenette. From a private terrace one has a beautiful view across the Orange River. Our welcome was very friendly and competent. We had requested dinner in advance. Upon arrival, we were offered a choice of chicken or steak which were a tasty home-cooked style meal, at an acceptable price. Overall highly recommended."


"What a wonderful time"

(South Africa) Vic de Kock | 6 February 2012

"We had an awesome stay at the River Place Guest House. The beautiful surroundings and the luxurious accommodation really did it for us. Well done guys!"


"Just super"

(Switzerland) Heidrun Huwyler | 18 January 2012

"Beautifully situated, comfortable and impeccable, friendly service. Absolutely recommended."


"Nice"

(South Africa) Amiel Maritz | 16 September 2011

"Very nice. No complaints."


"Remembered with appreciation"

(South Africa) Piet Scholtz | 6 July 2011

"River Place Guest House is the one place we'll always come back to. Every comfort is taken into consideration in the most beautiful setting imaginable. Warm, generous hosts make it a memorable experience.

"


"Elegant and restful"

(South Africa) Jessie Fraser | 29 June 2011

"We spent a delightful day at River Place. It was quiet and luxurious, just what we wanted after a long journey. I was sorry we could not stay any longer."


"Excellent"

(South Africa) Anita Kleynhans | 2 May 2011

"Thank you for having us! We were treated like royalty and made to feel so very much at home! What a splendid and well appointed guest house. I would encourage everyone that I know to have a stopover and stay with you. We will most certainly be coming back very soon. This is what you call a top notch..."

more

"Thank you for having us! We were treated like royalty and made to feel so very much at home! What a splendid and well appointed guest house. I would encourage everyone that I know to have a stopover and stay with you. We will most certainly be coming back very soon. This is what you call a top notch guest house. I would award it 5 Stars any day of the week! What friendly service and we had a most wonderful stay. Wish it had been for longer! Thanks once again for superb service and a very well appointed luxury stay. We even enjoyed the excellent company of the dogs, especially the Worsie at breakfast, she is an excellent goodwill ambassador for the guest house! We will be back soon."


"Great!"

(United Kingdom) James Glanville | 12 March 2011

"If you want a 5 Star stay this is not for you. This is a 10 or 20 Star stay. Cannot fault anything. The most perfect stay anywhere. Would stay there again and again. Thanks River Place, you are the perfect place to stay."


"Great location"

(New Zealand) David Cairns | 1 November 2010

"An oasis in the desert. A great location down by the river so quite I thought I would sleep through the day."


"Very nice"

(South Africa) Pierre Coetzee | 29 September 2010

"Beautiful views over the river. Very stylish bedroom with nice bed."


"Overnight stay."

(South Africa) Reuben ndaba | 7 April 2010

" The accommodation was brilliant and certainly value for money. Oh, the location is unsurpassed. The host was very kind. Breakfast was good. Certainly a place worth revisiting."


"River Place Guest House"

(South Africa) Tess le Roux | 13 July 2009

"Ons het baie lekker gebly. Hulle het n pragtige uitsig oor die Oranje rivier. As jy verblyf soek wat nie geraas om jou het nie is dit die regte plek. Die kamer is van die beste toegerus. Ontbyd was baie lekker gewees. Net jammer ons kon nie so baie eet soos vir ons voorgesit is nie. Ronel (gasvro..."

more

"Ons het baie lekker gebly. Hulle het n pragtige uitsig oor die Oranje rivier. As jy verblyf soek wat nie geraas om jou het nie is dit die regte plek. Die kamer is van die beste toegerus. Ontbyd was baie lekker gewees. Net jammer ons kon nie so baie eet soos vir ons voorgesit is nie. Ronel (gasvrou) laat jou gou tuis voel en sal uit haar pad gaan om jou te help. Sal beslis die River Place Guest House aanbeveel en ons sal beslis weer daar gaan oornag as ons weer in Upington is.



Dankie vir als

Tess en Raiel Le Roux"


"Fantastic Stay"

(South Africa) Peter | 22 September 2016

"I had a good stay, everything was excellent. The staff was very friendly, the rooms was superb and the breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend it to anyone at anytime."


"Riverplace Guest House"

(South Africa) Ramailane | 30 March 2015

"I had such a good stay at Riverplace. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and fully furnished."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Mrs Boisacq | 6 January 2015

"We were travelling through the Northern Cape and stayed here for one night. The stay was really great and I'd come stay over here again."


"Beautiful Guest House"

(South Africa) Mr Portwig | 21 October 2014

"River Place Guest house is absolutely stunning. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and spotlessly clean. Este was a fantastic host and the breakfast was the most perfect we have ever been served in any guest house or hotel we have stayed in. The guest house is situated on the Orange River with b..."

more

"River Place Guest house is absolutely stunning. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and spotlessly clean. Este was a fantastic host and the breakfast was the most perfect we have ever been served in any guest house or hotel we have stayed in. The guest house is situated on the Orange River with beautiful views and borders their vineyard. We were only there for an overnight stay but wished we could stay longer.
Will definitely stay there again.
"


"Excellent establishment"

(United Kingdom) Cathy Harris | 22 September 2014

"We stayed overnight at the Riverside after spending nearly 3 weeks camping in the Central Kalahari and Kgalagadi Game Reserves and it was an excellent way to end our holiday. Lovely, large, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Would definitely recommend!"


"Chris and Sue"

(South Africa) Chris and Sue Edwards | 10 September 2014

"Everything was tastefully done with the minimum of fuss. The accommodation was to a high standard, so much so that my wife wants to come for a week's holiday. The location could not be better, right on the river and with outdoor living should you require it."


"Upington utopia"

(South Africa) Mrs Koekemoer | 20 July 2014

"After a long drive it was an absolute joy to walk into beautiful rooms with superb bathrooms. Underfloor heating was bliss! We enjoyed a fantastic braai on the patio overlooking the river while the kids enjoyed running in the nut orchard, scavenging as they played.

The most enjoyable breakf..."

more

"After a long drive it was an absolute joy to walk into beautiful rooms with superb bathrooms. Underfloor heating was bliss! We enjoyed a fantastic braai on the patio overlooking the river while the kids enjoyed running in the nut orchard, scavenging as they played.

The most enjoyable breakfast before departure the next morning sorted us out for the journey forward.
Last but not least was the friendly welcome by staff. Thank you to you all!"


"Accommodation"

(South Africa) Mrs Rayner | 13 July 2014

"Had a most enjoyable and comfortable stay, will definitely be back when next in this part of the country again! No complaints at all!"


"Riverplace Guest House"

(South Africa) Mrs Wiid | 30 April 2014

"Thank you for a pleasant stay. We would recommend to others and revisit."


"Riverplace Guest House Review"

(South Africa) Mr Tompkins | 13 January 2014

"2 nights on the banks of the orange river with a tastily breakfast, was great. Friendly staff, plus a vineyard. What else can a wary traveller ask for."


"Birdsong and superb accomodation on banks of Orange River"

(South Africa) Margie | 3 November 2013

"This superb, peaceful and relaxing accommodation, filled with birdsong, is situated in secure and beautiful surroundings on the banks of the Orange River, yet a stone's throw from the centre of Upington. An ideal stopover en route to Kalagadi Park from Johannesburg, or to Namibia.
Accommodation ..."

more

"This superb, peaceful and relaxing accommodation, filled with birdsong, is situated in secure and beautiful surroundings on the banks of the Orange River, yet a stone's throw from the centre of Upington. An ideal stopover en route to Kalagadi Park from Johannesburg, or to Namibia.
Accommodation is a superb, spacious and modern suite with bedroom, lounge area, kitchenette and covered patio overlooking lush gardens and the Orange River. Huge, modern bathroom with view of river. Spotlessly clean, light and airy. Kitchenette with mini-bar, sink, microwave and fridge allows for self-catering.
Beautiful garden area with shady trees overlooks the Orange River, with tables and chairs which allow guests to relax and enjoy the view, and drink in the stunning sunsets. Rim flow pool. Floating river platform/boat for sundowners on the river. Exquisite dining area with view of river, in dining room or on outside patio. Delicious breakfasts and dinners served daily. Interiors are beautifully decorated
Sheer luxury and peace for a very reasonable price. Excellent value.
"


"Riverplace Stay"

(South Africa) Mr Sharp | 3 January 2013

"Beautiful river view with very good facilities. Breakfasts in the mornings were a feast."


"Riverplace Guest House"

(South Africa) Mrs van Oordt | 25 September 2012

"What a pleasant stay with beautiful decorated clean rooms. They were very nice and comfortable."


"Orange River"

(Netherlands) Mr Merck | 8 October 2011

"Riverplace Guesthouse was one of the great B&B's during our 4 week trip. The house is modern and well equipped and is situated at the boarders of the Orange River. The hosts were really helpful to find our way in Upington. A place worthwhile to come back. "


"Paradise on the river"

(South Africa) Prof Bloch | 9 October 2010

"Riverplace Guest House must rank as having one of the best positions in the Northern Cape. Green lawns lead down to peacefully flowing Orange River, tall shady palms filled with birds, and all comforts provided. The owners were very welcoming and provided great support and help when we discovered a ..."

more

"Riverplace Guest House must rank as having one of the best positions in the Northern Cape. Green lawns lead down to peacefully flowing Orange River, tall shady palms filled with birds, and all comforts provided. The owners were very welcoming and provided great support and help when we discovered a flat tyre, sending their sons along to smooth the way on a busy Friday afternoon. This was much appreciated after a very long hot and dusty drive. The only slightly jarring note was the fact that a good deal of building was currently in progress, although luckily all the workmen had gone home by the time we arrived. This rather spoilt the view of the river from the room we were given, but this will only be temporary. Our request for a packed breakfast was noted and 2 boxes placed in the refrigerator in the room for an early start the next morning. We would certainly recommend this guest house."


"Good en route stay"

(South Africa) Mr Thompson | 29 September 2010

"Very pleasant position between vineyards and the river. Really lovely room with excellent decor, and a great "kitchen" area by the entrance and lovely bathroom. They are in the middle of building a new block of bedrooms which will have a river view, so a little noisy and messy in the gardens at pres..."

more

"Very pleasant position between vineyards and the river. Really lovely room with excellent decor, and a great "kitchen" area by the entrance and lovely bathroom. They are in the middle of building a new block of bedrooms which will have a river view, so a little noisy and messy in the gardens at present. When these are complete they will be an excellent addition. Helpful, friendly service and pleasant breakfast."


"Peaceful"

(Botswana) Mr Leach | 27 September 2010

"5 Star room, good service, peaceful surroundings. I will recommend to others to visit."


"What a delightful haven!"

(South Africa) Mr Rendall | 11 August 2010

"After a very dusty tour through Namibia and Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park we found Riverplace Guest House to be a refreshing haven. The accommodation was top-class, very clean and modern, with many personal touches e.g., crystal sherry decanter in room, milk in fridge, welcome drink on arrival, quali..."

more

"After a very dusty tour through Namibia and Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park we found Riverplace Guest House to be a refreshing haven. The accommodation was top-class, very clean and modern, with many personal touches e.g., crystal sherry decanter in room, milk in fridge, welcome drink on arrival, quality shampoo and other toiletries in bathroom etc. Ronel the owner was most obliging, even allowing us to spray down our sand-covered car with the garden hose-pipe. We found the tariff reasonable for what is offered e.g., sublime percale bed-linen, stocked mini-bar fridge and sufficient utensils and appliances to create a light meal and prepare coffees etc.....there was even a portable braai on our patio which over-looked the vineyards. We had full access to the pretty gardens and patios, overlooking the Orange River too. If you are looking for a quiet, restful night amidst fine furnishings, upon an exceptionally comfortable King-size bed, you've come to the right place. Our breakfast the next morning was well presented, serving good wholesome food. Thanks to Ronel and staff for a lovely overnight stay!"


"A Haven in Upington"

(South Africa) Graham Bird | 4 January 2010

"Upington is far from anywhere, so by the time we found the Riverplace Guest House we were ready to be spoiled ... and so we were.

The setting on the bank of the Orange River was beautiful. The sunset was gorgeous.

Our room was very comfortable - king size bed, crisp clean linen, s..."

more

"Upington is far from anywhere, so by the time we found the Riverplace Guest House we were ready to be spoiled ... and so we were.

The setting on the bank of the Orange River was beautiful. The sunset was gorgeous.

Our room was very comfortable - king size bed, crisp clean linen, stocked fridge et-al.

Breakfast was served exactly on time - wholesome and delicious.

Highly recommended."


"Elegance on the Orange River"

(South Africa) Mrs Shaw | 3 January 2010

"This establishment has to be on of the best Guest Houses we have pleasure of visiting in South Africa.
The rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and decorated, and the gardens stretching down to the banks of the Orange River are perfectly manicured and maintained. The establishment gives..."

more

"This establishment has to be on of the best Guest Houses we have pleasure of visiting in South Africa.
The rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and decorated, and the gardens stretching down to the banks of the Orange River are perfectly manicured and maintained. The establishment gives one the feel of an upmarket hotel, but in beautiful Guest House surroundings.
The food is excellent and well presented, and all this is rounded off by caring and friendly hosts.
An establishment definitely worth visiting on a trip to Upington, whether it be for business or pleasure reasons."


"Friendliest stay in Upington"

(South Africa) Mrs Jacobz | 23 August 2009

"Ronel and Piet are the most accommodating hosts in Upington. I made a wrong booking and she accommodated us the next day. Immediately broad us tea and served that on the stoop, the most beautiful view over the Orange River. She granted my request for a take away breakfast as we needed to leave early..."

more

"Ronel and Piet are the most accommodating hosts in Upington. I made a wrong booking and she accommodated us the next day. Immediately broad us tea and served that on the stoop, the most beautiful view over the Orange River. She granted my request for a take away breakfast as we needed to leave early on Sunday morning. That was great! Thanks Ronel. Hope to see you again one day!"