Reviews of Hawkshead Guest Farm


"Thank you"

Hlophe Skosana | 6 November 2017

"Yes we did.will be back again next year"


"LOVELY ENVIRONMENT"

Sipho Mahlake | 10 October 2017

"We did enjoy our stay, we were warmly welcomed."


"Affordable and comfortable"

Ruben de Klerk | 29 May 2017

"Each room was neat, the beds were so comfortable and the kitchen area was fully equipped. A very nice stay and Val was very helpful and understanding.
An overall great stay with a very affordable price. "


"'"

(South Africa) LILLIAN VAN VUUREN | 4 July 2016

"Warm welcome on arrival. Secure premises with neat and tidy rooms. Good value for money and an overall nice stay. "


"What a weekend!!! "

(South Africa) Peter Lehabe | 4 October 2010

"The only complaint I have is how short the weekend was and still so much to do, see and visit. I had one of my best weekends ever. My family enjoyed the care free weekend and itÕs worth another longer visit."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Dian Visser | 4 October 2010

"Was a great stay, Mike and Val always helpful, great value for money!"


"Hawkshead Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Paul Bester | 7 September 2010

"Very peaceful, farm atmosphere. We loved the dogs, horses, pig and little goats. Val was very friendly and when we booked in we still owed her money and she said we can worry about that later because we were tired. That was nice to just go straight to our bungalow and chill."


"Hawskhead Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 22 July 2010

"Good location just outside Nelspruit, and accomodation that also suits well for groups (we were 11 people). "


"The price is a steal!"

(South Africa) Gary Frayne | 24 August 2009

"We had a wonderful evening at Hawkshead, on our way to the Park. The facilities, both inside and outside the bungalow were ideal for us adults and for our 6-year old. The price is a steal!

Many thanks

Gary"


"We had a great stay "

(South Africa) Henry Chavunga | 20 July 2009

"Its home away from home. Very quiet and nice and you can be yourself. Will always want to go back"


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Peter Morris | 8 June 2009

"Both Brenda and I enjoyed the overnight stop at Hawkshead. We slept soundly and snugly until I awoke at 5.00am. then I wanted to get a move on as we had to get to Kruger, Mpumalanga International to meet our friends arriving from Cape Town. Thanks for everything."


"Enjoyable"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 7 October 2008

"I enjoyed my stay and surroundings. The children played and enjoy the farm live."


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Reyneke Du Preez | 18 March 2008

"Die personeel was baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Die omgewing was baie goed ingerig en skoon. Baie dankie aan almal wat bygedra het."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Rita Moolman | 17 February 2008

"We stayed for two weeks and we had a lovely time. Val is a excellent host and always willing to help. We sure will go there again and our friends and family to go there to. "


"Thanks a million"

(South Africa) sunette scott | 29 October 2007

"Truly enjoyed the accommodation. Well maintained rondavels and we enjoyed the peace and quiet as we were the only guests. Val is a very caring person and the hospitality was great. Thanks for making our holiday a memorable one."


"It was lovely!!!!"

(South Africa) Amanda Greyling | 25 September 2007

"It was a wonderful weekend. We enjoyed it a lot. Val and her husband are so comfortable with people. My grandson also enjoyed the animals on the farm so much. The place where we stayed were so neat and clean. Will do it again."


"Great stay"

(South Africa) kobus steyn | 6 August 2007

"Thanks for a great stay,it was just what me and my pregnant wife needed.Next time we will definitely be staying for longer.It is very peaceful and a Bird watchers joy."


"Magnificent"

(South Africa) Neels Lombard | 25 March 2007

"Thank you for your hospitality and we really enjoyed the farm. All the luxuries were their that we needed. Hopefully we will make use of the Guest farm in the future if we travel to the Lowveld again."


"Hawkshead - Great"

(South Africa) Alan GAtley | 9 March 2007

"Excellent value like home from home. Val is a great hostess and I would recommend it to anyone looking for that quiet well situated accommodation be it for business or a break away in the Lowvweld"


"SNQA - Holly"

(South Africa) Vera Olivier | 1 October 2006

"What a pity we only discovered Hawkshead now, because we would have loved to go there again but we are moving back to the Cape to enjoy our retirement and time unfortunately does not allow us another enjoyable stay with Val and her pets. We want to give Scamp (maltese) and Nelson(labrador) a specia..."

more

"What a pity we only discovered Hawkshead now, because we would have loved to go there again but we are moving back to the Cape to enjoy our retirement and time unfortunately does not allow us another enjoyable stay with Val and her pets. We want to give Scamp (maltese) and Nelson(labrador) a special thanks for looking after us.Thank you Val for your friendliness and making us feel welcome. At least we have beautifull photos of Sunset rock. "


"Stay at Hawkshead Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Sonja Weideman | 26 September 2006

"We enjoyed our stay at Hawkshead. Everything was organised well. Thank you!"


"Special Touches!"

(South Africa) Natasha Minnaar | 17 August 2006

"The stay at Hawkshead was spectacular. I mostly appreciated the special touches that Val added to the stay, as well as the friendly welcome!Thank you for everything- I couldn't have hoped for better!!"


"Great stay"

(South Africa) Jo Barkhuizen | 14 August 2006

"I've read the comments on the dogs and I myself prefer cats, but these dogs are a pleasure to have around. Val and her family are great, we had a pleasant stay, will do this again"


"Wonderfull !!"

(South Africa) Vinesh Kessopersadh | 24 July 2006

"I had a great time at Hawkshead. The owners are extremely friendly and polite. It is a great place if you just want to get away and have quality family time. It is also really entertaining for the children. The animals are friendly. I most enjoyed the company of one of the dogs who decided to adopt ..."

more

"I had a great time at Hawkshead. The owners are extremely friendly and polite. It is a great place if you just want to get away and have quality family time. It is also really entertaining for the children. The animals are friendly. I most enjoyed the company of one of the dogs who decided to adopt us as parents for the weekend..

Thanks to SafariNow.. I have only had great experiences from booking with SafariNow. I am looking so forward to my next adventure at the end of August.."


"Hawkshead"

(South Africa) Gerhard Pool | 14 July 2006

"The party arrived just after sun set and could'nt have a look at the surroundings. We stayed for one night and left before sun rise as we had to drive almost a thousand km that day.

The accommodation was excellent and lived up to expectations. Val had some late bookings for a sport tournamen..."

more

"The party arrived just after sun set and could'nt have a look at the surroundings. We stayed for one night and left before sun rise as we had to drive almost a thousand km that day.

The accommodation was excellent and lived up to expectations. Val had some late bookings for a sport tournament but made altenative arrangements that suited everybody.

Although short it was an enjoyable stay."


"A 10/10 for Hawkshead Guest Farm "

(South Africa) Pieter Brits | 11 July 2006

"Thank you Val and family for your hospitality at your beautiful place.

We enjoyed it tremendiously and will recommend 'Hawkshead Guest Farm' anytime. Very good quality in the overall standard of furnishings and service. The road needs some patching "


"Hawkshead"

(South Africa) Kanyi Xundu | 28 November 2005

"Great but needs to improve on housekeeping. "


"Lovely"

(South Africa) Keri Govender | 2 November 2005

"I thought that Hawkshead was a lovely place. The owners were friendly and accommodating. It is also good value."


"Will Come Again"

Koos Wilsnach | 16 September 2005

"Overnight facilities were good and recreational facilities. We enjoyed it. Will come again."


"Pleasant Stay"

(Zimbabwe) Sharon Wilson | 4 September 2005

"Lovely thatched accommodation. Self catering made easy with the addition of microwave and toaster.

There are permanent residents there with yappy dogs which does not make for a quiet lie in in the morning. The race way can be heard loud and clear on the weekends so make plans to go and watch..."

more

"Lovely thatched accommodation. Self catering made easy with the addition of microwave and toaster.

There are permanent residents there with yappy dogs which does not make for a quiet lie in in the morning. The race way can be heard loud and clear on the weekends so make plans to go and watch the races or go out for the day.

Children are welcome but there is little there for them to do. There is a TV with poor reception but no DStv, and no video or DVD machine, so take these with if you are staying for a while.

Gates are locked at night, which was not mentioned on arrival. Ensure you get a gate key with your house keys.

Credit cards are not accepted so ensure you have cash to pay for your stay.

Due to lack of watchable TV it would have been great to have a radio in the house.

There are 4 friendly dogs roaming the yard belonging to owners so be aware if you don't like dogs. "


"Great Stay"

(South Africa) Ntuthuko | 4 July 2017

"The service I received was excellent. I felt welcome and enjoyed my stay. The place was quiet, I had a lot of privacy and relaxed my entire stay. It was such a pleasant experience and I would go back again."


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) HERMAN | 4 April 2017

"We had a wonderful stay. The bedroom was comfortable, all facilities was clean and in good condition and we can definitely recommend."


"Very Convenient"

(South Africa) James | 19 February 2017

"The Guest Farm was very convenient & comfortable, it met ALL our requirement, as a stop over to Kruger.
"


"Perfect For Overnight Stays!"

(South Africa) Shelby | 7 November 2016

"My family and I stayed at Hawkshead Guest House the night before a marathon in Nelspruit. The host was friendly, the place was conveniently situated and we were allowed a late check out which was very much appreciated! I would definitely recommend this for a quick pit stop or overnight stay!
more

"My family and I stayed at Hawkshead Guest House the night before a marathon in Nelspruit. The host was friendly, the place was conveniently situated and we were allowed a late check out which was very much appreciated! I would definitely recommend this for a quick pit stop or overnight stay!

"


"Second Time Around!"

(South Africa) Lesley | 26 September 2016

"This is the second time we stayed over. It ticks all the boxes! Clean, well equipped, nice shower, comfortable beds and the price is right! The communal kitchen is great with everything necessary. The hosts are also very helpful. Can highly recommend Hawkshead."


"An Excellent Overnight Stay"

(South Africa) Herman | 18 September 2016

"Hawkshead Guest Farm is well appointed. A nice kitchen and comfortable bedroom, with all the needy basics.
Can recommend it with pleasure. Herman"


"All good here"

(South Africa) anonymous | 5 August 2015

"We really have no complaints as our requests were accommodated at this establishment."


"July 2015"

(South Africa) anonymous | 6 July 2015

"Myself and a couple of friends spent two nights at Hawkshead Guest Farm. Val Graham is very friendly and welcoming. We were all very happy with the rooms we received. We had a lovely stay. Thank you."


"lovely stay"

(South Africa) Ms Habib | 9 October 2013

"We had a wonderful time at Hawkshead Guest Farm. Would definitely revisit and recommend."


"Uitstekend"

(South Africa) Mr Pretorius | 29 September 2010

"Diens het fantasties gewees.Val is baie gasvry. Dankie vir 'n wonderlike naweek."


"Great stay"

(Australia) Ms Andrews | 29 June 2010

"We had a lovely stay. Val was helpful and pleasant, the room was comfortable and pleasantly furnished, the communal kitchen was great, clean and useful, and it provided a good opportunity to meet with others. It is a little out of town so transport is necessary. We enjoyed our stay very much, we we..."

more

"We had a lovely stay. Val was helpful and pleasant, the room was comfortable and pleasantly furnished, the communal kitchen was great, clean and useful, and it provided a good opportunity to meet with others. It is a little out of town so transport is necessary. We enjoyed our stay very much, we were relaxed and comfortable. We would certainly love to come back again."


"Great vibe…"

(United States) Ms Djordjevic | 24 June 2010

"I spent two nights at Hawkshead during the World Cup. The "master" Hippo Lodge room was great - nice comfy bed, separate bathroom and living area next door. The family that owns the farm is really nice and happy to chat about life. The only thing to know is that you really do need a car if you want ..."

more

"I spent two nights at Hawkshead during the World Cup. The "master" Hippo Lodge room was great - nice comfy bed, separate bathroom and living area next door. The family that owns the farm is really nice and happy to chat about life. The only thing to know is that you really do need a car if you want to stay here, as it is out of town and all of the attractions nearby are accessible by car.
"


"Nice farm in green surroundings"

(Sweden) Ivar Grimstad | 12 January 2010

"Nice and clean huts in a green environment. Friendly and helpful staff. Dogs that guard you while you braai. Apparently "fat Nelson" has been an especially frequent braai guard dog."


"Beautiful surroundings"

(Botswana) Ms Hamid | 7 January 2009

"We had a wonderful reception from Valerie despite our late arrival due to rain and poor weather conditions and she also kindly provided us with a frozen meal and a fresh salad even though we hadn't booked it.

The place is beautiful and we wish we could have stayed longer than one night to ..."

more

"We had a wonderful reception from Valerie despite our late arrival due to rain and poor weather conditions and she also kindly provided us with a frozen meal and a fresh salad even though we hadn't booked it.

The place is beautiful and we wish we could have stayed longer than one night to enjoy it all. The room, though small and compact, was clean and comfortable.

We left after a hearty breakfast and a lovely chat with Valerie. Will definitely stay there again if passing in that direction.
Thank you."


"Relaxing"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 November 2008

"Stayed in the hippo rooms, they were great, clean, and comfortable. Val was great, friendly and inviting. Overall we enjoyed our overnight stay."


"The greatest get away... for pleasure or business ever!"

(South Africa) anonymous | 4 November 2008

"This is by far the best place ever, I booked the accommodation for 4 of my employees and they have not stopped praising the place...they said that everything has been more than satisfactory.

I would definitely want to book this accommodation for my Fiancé and I and if it lives up to the won..."

more

"This is by far the best place ever, I booked the accommodation for 4 of my employees and they have not stopped praising the place...they said that everything has been more than satisfactory.

I would definitely want to book this accommodation for my Fiancé and I and if it lives up to the wonderful reputation my employees gave it...then it may just become my Honeymoon destination!

Thanx again for the wonderful assistance...in a time of need!"


"A gem in Nelspruit"

(South Africa) Mrs Arnold | 30 September 2008

"We arrived at Hawkshead Guest Farm not knowing what to expect, since the booking was done over the internet. We were pleasantly surprised to find the owners waiting for us at the gates, as were arrived quite late. We found the accommodation to be way above our expectations as the costs were quite in..."

more

"We arrived at Hawkshead Guest Farm not knowing what to expect, since the booking was done over the internet. We were pleasantly surprised to find the owners waiting for us at the gates, as were arrived quite late. We found the accommodation to be way above our expectations as the costs were quite inexpensive. The rooms were tastefully furnished and spotless. One could feel that extra care was given to each aspect of one's stay. The owners were always available but never hovering. I was quite surprised to discover that the establishment had a two-star rating and definitely feel that it deserves more than that. I would recommend Hawkshead to anyone - we stayed for four days but could easily have spent a week there."


"Hawkshead Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Mrs Janson | 2 September 2008

"We stayed in the Hippo unit at Hawkshead for two nights. We were warmly greeted by Val and then left to our own devices - so we immediately felt right at home, especially with the dogs visiting us! Our room was comfortable and we made use of the kitchen and braai facilities - everything was clean ..."

more

"We stayed in the Hippo unit at Hawkshead for two nights. We were warmly greeted by Val and then left to our own devices - so we immediately felt right at home, especially with the dogs visiting us! Our room was comfortable and we made use of the kitchen and braai facilities - everything was clean and well presented. As we were doing business in Nelspruit and Kruger Park, we came and went at odd hours and we had the freedom to do just that without feeling guilty. We would stay there again without hesitation and would definitely recommend it to our friends."


"Perfectly suitable"

(South Africa) Ms Sharon. G | 26 August 2008

"Excellent hospitality, service, view, ambiance and freshly clean. Perfect value for money."


"Value for Money"

(South Africa) Mr Freeman | 17 June 2008

"Thank you for a pleasant stay. The units are fully furnished and very comfortable indeed. For what we paid, we definitely got more than we expected."


"What more do you need?"

(South Africa) Mrs Lotter | 5 May 2008

"Thank goodness, there are still guest houses/farms that cater for affordability! I slept in a very clean and utterly comfortable queen sized bed. I was able to bath or shower in hot water with nice clean big towels. The location is ideal and the surrounding grounds nicely kept. What more do you ..."

more

"Thank goodness, there are still guest houses/farms that cater for affordability! I slept in a very clean and utterly comfortable queen sized bed. I was able to bath or shower in hot water with nice clean big towels. The location is ideal and the surrounding grounds nicely kept. What more do you need? And it did not cost me an arm and a leg! More establishments should follow Hawkshead's lead and they would be permanently fully booked."


"Hawkshead Guest Farm - A haven off a highway"

(South Africa) Mrs Urbani | 19 November 2007

"Albeit brief, we had a very pleasant stay at Hawkshead Guest Farm. The service was warm and friendly, special requests met without a murmur and the quiet was wonderful. It is not possible to imagine that a quaint and peaceful place such as this can exist just off an extremely busy highway it felt ..."

more

"Albeit brief, we had a very pleasant stay at Hawkshead Guest Farm. The service was warm and friendly, special requests met without a murmur and the quiet was wonderful. It is not possible to imagine that a quaint and peaceful place such as this can exist just off an extremely busy highway it felt as it we were miles away from civilization yet it was just around the corner. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with thoughtful little touches adding to the pleasure of being there. We will definitely visit them again."


"A Venue Compared to Paradise"

(South Africa) Mrs Malan | 21 September 2007

"We enjoyed an extremely pleasant visit to Hawkshead Guest Farm. Our accommodation was completely to our taste and we found it an ideal venue from which to take day trips to various parts of the lowveld. Unfortunately being winter the surrounding foliage suffered from lack of rain and we are certai..."

more

"We enjoyed an extremely pleasant visit to Hawkshead Guest Farm. Our accommodation was completely to our taste and we found it an ideal venue from which to take day trips to various parts of the lowveld. Unfortunately being winter the surrounding foliage suffered from lack of rain and we are certain given first spring rains this venue could be compared to paradise.

"


"Peace in the city"

(South Africa) Ms Upfold | 25 August 2007

"A lovely stopover or longer enroute to ones destination. Idyllic gardens and birdlife. Country life close to the city surrounds. Will definitely visit again. "


"Fantastic Weekend away"

(South Africa) Ms LORIMER | 13 August 2007

"Had a fantastic stay and was pleasantly surprised - the chalets are super and clean and very nice.

Will definitely come back.
"


"Hawkshead Guestfarm"

(South Africa) Ms Verrinder | 30 July 2007

"Hawkshead was just what we needed. Very friendly and welcoming."


"Honest opinion"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2 July 2007

"The self catering unit was very nice and tidy inside, I was impressed by that.

But for the yard outside, it didn't leave an impression at all by me, it made me think of some sort of "maplotter" ."


"Hawkshead Review"

(South Africa) Ms Muller | 2 July 2007

"Thank you very much, Val for a pleasant stay. She made us feel very welcome.
It was peaceful, quiet and relaxing. The unit was very comfortable and well equiped. The garden and birds were amazing. Although there was a power cut during our stay our hosts made our stay very comfortable.

..."

more

"Thank you very much, Val for a pleasant stay. She made us feel very welcome.
It was peaceful, quiet and relaxing. The unit was very comfortable and well equiped. The garden and birds were amazing. Although there was a power cut during our stay our hosts made our stay very comfortable.

Regards Charmaine Muller"


"Hawkshead shortcomings"

(South Africa) anonymous | 24 June 2007

"We stayed only one night. We thought it was a guest farm, suggesting that there would be animals on the farm, like cows, free ranging animals, since we went with our kids, and they were excited to see animals.

Our neighbour in the apartment next to us for the night commented that her kids ..."

more

"We stayed only one night. We thought it was a guest farm, suggesting that there would be animals on the farm, like cows, free ranging animals, since we went with our kids, and they were excited to see animals.

Our neighbour in the apartment next to us for the night commented that her kids see more animals on the way to school everyday.There were 2 pigs, 2 goats with 2 babies, 2 chickens and a few rabbits in the goat enclosure. That was extremely disappointing for a "Guest Farm".

However the owners were very friendly on arrival. We cannot comment further since we had no special requests from the owners to rate their services."


"Hawkshead guest farm visit: 2007-05-25 to 2007-05-27"

(South Africa) Mrs Kleinbooi | 28 May 2007

"Manager and co-owner, Val Graeme very cooperative in sending all relevant information and directions when requested.
Reception on Friday night very warm, escorted to chalets and informed about environment and attractions.
Chalets cleaned, warmly and well equipped.
Children enjoyed activi..."

more

"Manager and co-owner, Val Graeme very cooperative in sending all relevant information and directions when requested.
Reception on Friday night very warm, escorted to chalets and informed about environment and attractions.
Chalets cleaned, warmly and well equipped.
Children enjoyed activities such as trampoline, pooltables, soccer game and rock-climbing tremendously. Coming from city environment they thoroughly gave themselves a ball of a time. Husband enjoyed watching the rugby on DSTV and I enjoyed the pottery.

Hawkshead guest farm will surely be recommended to all friends and family visiting.

Thank you also for the facilities on the website.
"


"Serene Surroundings"

(South Africa) Mrs Horne | 8 May 2007

"Hawkshead is conveniently situated close to Nelspruit, Kruger National Park and many tourist attractions. Accommodation is comfortable and all self-service facilities are above average. Val Graham the owner is extremely friendly and hospitable. "


"Highly recommended"

(Australia) Mrs Neilson | 26 April 2007

"Beautiful surroundings. helpful and pleasant hostess. Enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to others."


"Wonderful Hideaway minutes from Nelspruit"

(Swaziland) Mr Poe | 4 March 2007

"Hawkshead is a wonderful establishment just minutes from Nelspruit. The owners were very welcoming, generous, and helpful. The accomodations were wonderful and the pets lovely. Thank you for making us feel at home in your establishment."


"Great time in Nelspruit"

(Belgium) Ms akkermans | 6 November 2006

"Hawkshead Guest Farm is a nice accomodation. People are very friedly and helpful. We can recommend this accomodation absolutely."